9/1 Tugendhat for next leader could be a decent punt feels like if Johnson goes there could be a purge of Brexiteers and Trumpists from a still fairly strong center
    It's difficult to keep the Brexiteer/ERG candidate off the ballot, and once they get on the ballot they are quite likely to win a vote amongst the membership.
    Remember the system is the MPs vote on a reducing list of candidates, and the top two go to the members. So in quota terms you need 33% of the MPs votes to be guaranteed to move forward.
    But a few percentage points less will probably still do it. The rabid lunatic wing of the party likely number around 100 MPs? And they'll vote in unison.

According to my kids, 'Facebook is for old people'.

Writing's on the wall. Good!
      Whatever they think is for young people is probably owned by Facebook too FWIW

except tiktok

Got some really great Indian cooking tips off BockTheRobber on twitter last week.

Had half a dozen curry base batches in the freezer on the back of it, and a jar of dry spice mix.

Made a Prawn Chilli Masala tonight and it was phenomenal. The first time ever after countless times cooking Indian that it actually tasted like an Indian takeaway. The smell in the house from it, ohmyjaysis.

So quick too once you've got those bases done. Curry itself, including prep was done inside 15 mins.
        This thread on the old place was great for Indian currys. Goes into details above the base in OP.
        But adapts then gives directions to turn in into Madras, Rogan Josh, Korma, Vindaloo, Balti, Saag Aloo, Tikka Masala

Nearly 10 years old now so a lot to sift through. But I've tried a few and found them great. (for the record, I perfer thai curry, but these were better than some of the late night indians I've had)

This thread on the old place was great for Indian currys. Goes into details above the base in OP.
          But adapts then gives directions to turn in into Madras, Rogan Josh, Korma, Vindaloo, Balti, Saag Aloo, Tikka Masala

Nearly 10 years old now so a lot to sift through. But I've tried a few and found them great. (for the record, I perfer thai curry, but these were better than some of the late night indians I've had)
          Oh that's a goldmine. Cheers Mellor.

I knew the base I made was a little basic, DP linked me one a little more elaborate, much like the OP's one in that thread. Looking forward to putting it together.

You can really understand now how an Indian takeaway can churn out so many different dishes in such a short time.

except tiktok
            Indeed. Although they seem to be struggling to make any money off WhatsApp, unlike how WeChat has been able to. I wonder if they've waited too long to commercialize it now given how we all have alternative money uses, so they can't turn it into a payment platform now like WeChat did. Insta is just a promotional platform, a glorified celebrity news place.

TikTok is also just so good, its hard to imagine it doesn't have a decent few years of absolute dominance. TikTok and YouTube, with their YouTube stars, seem to be all a younger generation know. Snap then as a messaging platform.

The interesting thing about the choices being made is that TikTok and YouTube are primarily platforms for feel-good content, while the likes of FB, Twitter, Insta, which are fading away, or popular just with an older population, seem to focus on arguing and fundamentally making people feel bad.

Ulysses getting a lot of coverage being 100 years old now. I've never read it. What are peoples opinions on it? Is it worth the slog it would be for me as a very slow reader.
              I've had a few attempts over the years but never found it enjoyable. Quite recently tried an audio version that's free on Audible to subscribers. Very well done, but still crap material imo.

Ulysses getting a lot of coverage being 100 years old now. I've never read it. What are peoples opinions on it? Is it worth the slog it would be for me as a very slow reader.
                My opinion would be no, seems like the marathon of books to me.

People set out to do it and have a sense of achievement for finally slogging their way through it but really didn’t enjoy much of the journey.

Would rather spend my limited reading time on something I will enjoy instead.

Dubliners is a great read Dobby if you want some accessible Joyce.

I've said it here before but Rounders' storytelling style came to my mind when I read it. No real story arcs, just observations of chunks of time.

Indeed. Although they seem to be struggling to make any money off WhatsApp, unlike how WeChat has been able to. I wonder if they've waited too long to commercialize it now given how we all have alternative money uses, so they can't turn it into a payment platform now like WeChat did. Insta is just a promotional platform, a glorified celebrity news place.

TikTok is also just so good, its hard to imagine it doesn't have a decent few years of absolute dominance. TikTok and YouTube, with their YouTube stars, seem to be all a younger generation know. Snap then as a messaging platform.

The interesting thing about the choices being made is that TikTok and YouTube are primarily platforms for feel-good content, while the likes of FB, Twitter, Insta, which are fading away, or popular just with an older population, seem to focus on arguing and fundamentally making people feel bad.
                    I think WhatsApp is too stripped back to get monetised. It has one purpose, it’s very good at it. There’s no more for a premium. I think WePay is capitalised on a gal in China that is filled by other services in the west.

I agree that Facebook and Twitter are aimed at older pop, and promote arguing and negativity more than fun or positive messages.

But I disagree about lumping Insta in there too. It’s a much more visual only medium. People choose to post whatever message they want. There’s much less interaction. They can post negative content if they want, same as Tiktok.

Tiktok was originally a lip sync app right? Seems to have moved away from that significantly. It’s a lot more video diary, telling stories, copying old YouTube videos. It’s becoming more like Insta, and Insta is adding features to be more like Tiktok.

I think WhatsApp is too stripped back to get monetised. It has one purpose, it’s very good at it. There’s no more for a premium. I think WePay is capitalised on a gal in China that is filled by other services in the west.

I agree that Facebook and Twitter are aimed at older pop, and promote arguing and negativity more than fun or positive messages.

But I disagree about lumping Insta in there too. It’s a much more visual only medium. People choose to post whatever message they want. There’s much less interaction. They can post negative content if they want, same as Tiktok.

Tiktok was originally a lip sync app right? Seems to have moved away from that significantly. It’s a lot more video diary, telling stories, copying old YouTube videos. It’s becoming more like Insta, and Insta is adding features to be more like Tiktok.
                      Maybe I'm wrong with Insta, I've never used it. But TikTok is literally everything out there right now. The algorithm is just a million miles ahead of everything. I think the idea that it is 'copying old YouTube videos' is mad. Its the central creativity of social media. Genuinely the next generation of social interaction. Everything starts by imitating what people are familiar with, hence FB was MySpace+, but its where it goes from there that makes it interesting.

I think for Ulysses its a bit like a poetry book. Don't expect to follow it like a gripping novel . Rather read passages to enjoy the novelty of the prose . For me anyway .

It sounds great read live - the one time i heard some of it orated .

except tiktok
                          I assume they're just watching porn, gambling furiously and cyber-bullying others.

I think for Ulysses its a bit like a poetry book. Don't expect to follow it like a gripping novel . Rather read passages to enjoy the novelty of the prose . For me anyway .

It sounds great read live - the one time i heard some of it orated .
                            Good call, even though I'm dead against audiobooks generally I think the stream of consciousness would actually sound better rather than read.

Well i heard a live person acting/ orating it , really was nice and atmospheric. . Id say for an audio book the voice would need to be easy on the ear . Dare i say eg David Norris .
                              hmm trolling myself with that but you know what i mean .

Well i heard a live person acting/ orating it , really was nice and atmospheric. . Id say for an audio book the voice would need to be easy on the ear . Dare i say eg David Norris .
                                hmm trolling myself with that but you know what i mean .

Good morning listeners and welcome to Anna Karenina, as read by Ronnie Drew.

"ask me bollix" said Prince Oblonsky as he scratched his hole one fine morning in Saint Petersburg

Can you visionaries hazard a guess what we might lump on in the coming years so we may accumulate riches and perhaps imbibe umpteen drams of vintage whiskey and gamble high stakes in the Emporium

Audiobooks are key for me. I enjoy running more, Look forward to a next listen more than i do an episode of something on TV and the notion of sitting down and peacefully reading a book with a very young family is just unrealistic.

Good morning listeners and welcome to Anna Karenina, as read by Ronnie Drew.

"ask me bollix" said Prince Oblonsky as he scratched his hole one fine morning in Saint Petersburg
                                      Ronnie had a brilliant voice for audiobooks. He would have made a fortune . Imagine him doing the Exorcist.
                                      your mudder suck cocks in hell sez she and the rossy proceeded to stab her own gee with the holy crucifix. JAYSUS Shocking bahaviour in front of Fr Karras .a dacent man of the cloth.

Ronnie had a brilliant voice for audiobooks. He would have made a fortune . Imagine him doing the Exorcist.
                                        your mudder suck cocks in hell sez she and the rossy proceeded to stab her own gee with the holy crucifix. JAYSUS Shocking bahaviour in front of Fr Karras .a dacent man of the cloth.

I've been reading the kids' bedtime stories in a thick Dublin accent, Ronnie Drewish.

Little Miss books and Mr. Men, it's real good craic and the two of them love it.

I've been reading the kids' bedtime stories in a thick Dublin accent, Ronnie Drewish.

Little Miss books and Mr. Men, it's real good craic and the two of them love it.
                                          Cool. My fav add is the Canary carbon monoxide alarm fellow . Its genius imo. He should have been the new Dubliners lead singer .

I think the idea that it is 'copying old YouTube videos' is mad. Its the central creativity of social media.
                                            Not mad at all. It’s trivial to find examples. Surprised you gave seen any. Obviously there is a lot of creative
                                            original content. But repost old videos is low effort spam. If the noise outweighs the good stuff it will get old fast.

Got some really great Indian cooking tips off BockTheRobber on twitter last week.

Had half a dozen curry base batches in the freezer on the back of it, and a jar of dry spice mix.

Made a Prawn Chilli Masala tonight and it was phenomenal. The first time ever after countless times cooking Indian that it actually tasted like an Indian takeaway. The smell in the house from it, ohmyjaysis.

So quick too once you've got those bases done. Curry itself, including prep was done inside 15 mins.
                                              I remember BockTheRobber from my old P45.net days
                                              Him and TwentyMajor (is he still going) were only gossins.

The just rush from one crisis to the next
                                                This is how Twitter is showing up for me. Anybody else?

Maybe I'm wrong with Insta, I've never used it. But TikTok is literally everything out there right now. The algorithm is just a million miles ahead of everything. I think the idea that it is 'copying old YouTube videos' is mad. Its the central creativity of social media. Genuinely the next generation of social interaction. Everything starts by imitating what people are familiar with, hence FB was MySpace+, but its where it goes from there that makes it interesting.
                                                  Tiktok is basically vine with bells on.
                                                  Or to expand on the WeChat/whatspap comparrison
                                                  Tiktok is Vine with music.ly/doodles/sound loops added.
                                                  It's much easier to create content on tiktok, and it already had an established userbase and platform in China to build on.
                                                  It's so much easier to get from "ha! that'd be funny" to posting fully realised content with tiktok. No spare phone/speakers/ video editing software required.
                                                  It's a toolbelt for content creators and it's success is based on having the most tools.

imo at least.

This is how Twitter is showing up for me. Anybody else?

Stupid macs

Cool. My fav add is the Canary carbon monoxide alarm fellow . Its genius imo. He should have been the new Dubliners lead singer .
                                                      Want to hear something funny?
                                                      Ronnie Drew's son was rejected from that advert cause he didn't sound like Ronnie

The 8/11 about Johnson didn't last long 2/5 now. Tory elder statesman Malcom Rifkind just gave an impassioned analysis on Newsnight that should have all true blue Tories sharpening their knives and making even that skimpy a price look generous.
                                                        9/1 Tugendhat for next leader could be a decent punt feels like if Johnson goes there could be a purge of Brexiteers and Trumpists from a still fairly strong center
                                                        Seems to be a bit of a purge of senior aides inside No 10 as well, giving the illusion of taking decisive action off the back of the Partygate report. Although worryingly at least 2 of these 'resignations' actually appear to be genuinely principled (rather than the usual 'stand down from here for optics and we'll give you a cushy number there in return' type efforts).

3 yellows guess one.
                                                          same 3 yellows on subsequent guess while eliminating common letters.
                                                          woukd be difficult to do if you knew the answer.

my starting word needs to piss off now

I change starting word every day based on prior results.

Stupid macs
                                                              Found the culprit it was a browser extension stopping it displaying properly.

Want to hear something funny?
                                                                Ronnie Drew's son was rejected from that advert cause he didn't sound like Ronnie

Grest clip. Da mudder sings thst one . Dempsey in the background like its the national anthem only in Irelandc

I watched Vertigo last night, it was absolutely incredible. Blew my mind. Definitely my favourite Hitchcock and one of my favourite films.

I love it.
                                                                    It's the only book you never finish reading, you can go on and on revisiting parts of it forever and while it never gets old you do tend to avoid some of the more opaque parts. It really isn't a novel but a collection of related stories that share time space and characters more like a TV Series.
                                                                    My tips for people coming to it for the first time are to listen to the RTE 1982 dramatisation you can even read along with it - it doesn't always work but for a lot of it you can can along with it. The first three episodes are a bit harder to get into than the next section, IMO starting reading the 4th section , Calypso where we meet Leo first is a better way to start then skip back to the first beginning.
                                                                    Enjoy.

A portrait of a young man a prequel of sorts

Reading portrait first means you come to Ulysses with a more sympathetic view of who Stephen is and that would be a help as you get to know him but not necessarily love him over the first three parts.

Grest clip. Da mudder sings thst one . Dempsey in the background like its the national anthem only in Irelandc
                                                                          And Steve Wickham keeping an eye on them all !

Have been working at TikTok the last few months, 'tis absolutely bonkers

We do the Poolbeg walk a lot . There is a nice tribute/mural to Joyce out at the lighthouse. Lovely alternative walk for those of you wishing to clear the head . . The sealink passes right by it about 2ish.

I asked on twitter about hard mode, wondering why anyone would be playing it any differently and a guy replied with an interesting scenario that would have helped you yesterday,.

In that situation you sacrifice a life and choose a word with all or most of those available letters, in your case something like BORMS would eliminate all of those and tell you it's LIGHT.
                                                                                I definitely used this method today. Includes answer.

I had xLEAx by step 2.
                                                                                But I felt that anything I tried after that would be just be inefficient guesswork, and I may run out of goes.

First letter could be B, C, F, G, P. Last letter could be K, N, M, R, D, T.

So abandoning the info I knew, and trying a completely new word which used 4 of those consonants seemed the most efficient way.
                                                                                I picked TROMP (ahead of BRINK thankfully) which gave me the yellow 'P' and 'T' for PLEAT.

Isn't it Paul Woodful doing his Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly character in that ad? He had a decent gig for decades ripping the piss out of Ronnie and his fanbois

Dublin Bus's 'Network Noel' was another good Dub voice about a decade ago - may actually be the same person as 'get yourself a Carbon Monoxide Alarm'.

could be a good side hustle for Solks although he might have moved a bit far from his roots at this stage

I had xLEAx by step 2.
                                                                                        But I felt that anything I tried after that would be just be inefficient guesswork, and I may run out of goes.

So abandoning the info I knew, and trying a completely new word which used 4 of those consonants seemed the most efficient way.
                                                                                        I picked TROMP (ahead of BRINK thankfully) which gave me the yellow 'P' and 'T' for PLEAT.
                                                                                        Yeah, It's kind of more fun when you are working backwards with a decent bunch of black tiles rather than stressful guesses.
                                                                                        Today I had
                                                                                        xxEAT after two and only SHWR black that left me three candidate words (there might be more I didn't think of)

unlike the other day where I missed with four guesses from 7 candidates I got it first time today for another 3
                                                                                        leaving me 5 under through 37

Have been working at TikTok the last few months, 'tis absolutely bonkers
                                                                                          fascinating! what are you doing there?

Never came across that before, The Finglas joke is good. now I've fallen in a Noel hole

Who is that playing him? I recognise the voice, don't think its the same lad as the Co2 ad.

Isn't it Paul Woodful doing his Ding Dong Denny O'Reilly character in that ad? He had a decent gig for decades ripping the piss out of Ronnie and his fanbois
                                                                                              I dunno. Hes funny good though. Cant help but be cheered when the ad comes on .

Lunch in the school before the course here in Turin consisted for 'borage' pasta. Was looking up borage afterwards.

Borage flower and leaves are used for fever, cough, and depression. Borage is also used for a hormone problem called adrenal insufficiency, for "blood purification," to increase urine flow, to prevent inflammation of the lungs, as a sedative, and to promote sweating.

That's surely an odd thing to put in pasta.

I had xLEAx by step 2.

Literally gave that method as an example to 5star and DP a few days ago.

Fucking game, it's like peer pressure of people mentioning it pulls me back in.

fascinating! what are you doing there?
                                                                                                    Similar-ish role to what I was doing for Stars, managing a team looking for people doing bad stuff

Eagle today - put one in the humour for a pint

Love pints me. I'm heading to the Wild Duck about 8ish.

Jimmy Carr doing his best to be cancelled

Is there anything to see in Malta? I'm going to be at something there for a week in May. Won't have much time to see stuff, but any tips appreciated.

Jimmy Carr doing his best to be cancelled
                                                                                                              He does have a pretty valid point though...

Awaiting Kevs triumphant returm !

fry.jpg
                                                                                                              Last edited by oleras; 04-02-22, 18:47.

That's absolute nonsense. Edit: and just to curtail the obvious argument, yes many times people get offended over nothing. This isn't one of those times though.
                                                                                                                Last edited by Hectorjelly; 04-02-22, 19:07.

First thing it put me in mind of are the bits in the TV show For All Mankind where a few people always greet each other 'Hi Bob' for years after a particular set of events which involves them watching a very small number of TV episodes over and over again which includes the phrase 'Hi Bob'.

For anyone who hasn't watched For All Mankind, I really recommend you do. Season 1 is very good, season 2 is fantastic. Season 3 hopefully released later this year, but I suspect it will be next year.
                                                                                                                  Enough with the smoking already, I get it...everyone smoked back then !

Half way through, really enjoying it.

That's absolute nonsense. Edit: and just to curtail the obvious argument, yes many times people get offended over nothing. This isn't one of those times though.
                                                                                                                    Why the 6 week wait to get outraged ? Anything to do with a C4 program starting Monday night on Travelers ?

I had xLEAx by step 2.

A clever lay up for a par, well played.

SP bravely went for the green and ended up in the lake.

Does anyone know the actor behind Dustin?

Comedian tells offensive joke. Shock.

He said the show as having "a few career enders" in it himself. Didn't he do a gag on the potato famine here a few years ago..insinuating it was mostly our fault so many died. We should have got him cancelled that time.