I was a bit curious about the Whoopi Goldberg thing a few days ago. Does anyone other than herself think she is Jewish in any way?

Obviously appropriation on her part back in the day...for whatever reasons she deemed fit.

Jimmy Carr doing his best to be cancelled
        His whole thing is being a shock comedian. Its incredibly missing the point to find his stuff offensive to the point of cancellability.

Managed to get compliments on my suit today in the country that makes good suits as 'their thing'. Money well spent. It is ridiculously well fitting.

Obviously appropriation on her part back in the day...for whatever reasons she deemed fit.
            I get that it's a better stage name than Caryn Johnson, but only heard in the last week that she identifies as Jewish despite never converting or practicing.

Comedian tells offensive joke. Shock.

He said the show as having "a few career enders" in it himself. Didn't he do a gag on the potato famine here a few years ago..insinuating it was mostly our fault so many died. We should have got him cancelled that time.
              Fairly sure that that 'joke' would fall foul of one or more of the UK laws around hate speech and racism if anyone was bothered giving him the extra publicity he's after.
              He's a really nasty piece of work who regularly goes out of his way to grab attention by creating offence because he's a wholly unfunny one trick pony who is too lazy and untalented to write anything funny.

In contrast I saw Tim Vine doing dictionary corner on Countdown this week and I'm sure he put more work into those couple of minutes of comedy than Carr has done in a decade and Vine was so funny you could even see through the layers of facelifts and botox that Ann Robinson was highly amused.

Is there anything to see in Malta? I'm going to be at something there for a week in May. Won't have much time to see stuff, but any tips appreciated.
                I thought this was stunning

Is there anything to see in Malta? I'm going to be at something there for a week in May. Won't have much time to see stuff, but any tips appreciated.
                  Its not too bad at all.
                  Ancient city of Mdina is worth a stroll around Mdina - Wikipedia. Nicely maintained/restored - was used for some Kings Landing scenes in GOT.
                  The capital Valetta is also fantastic to spend a day walking around. Valletta - Wikipedia
                  Couple of casinos run poker games as well if thats the sort of thing you do on holidays - Dragonara and Portamaso both in St Juliens which is the nightlife centre.
                  You may also seek the fabled moustached man of Ballymun and his definitely-a-werewolf-this-time wife.

Fairly sure that that 'joke' would fall foul of one or more of the UK laws around hate speech and racism if anyone was bothered giving him the extra publicity he's after.
                    He's a really nasty piece of work who regularly goes out of his way to grab attention by creating offence because he's a wholly unfunny one trick pony who is too lazy and untalented to write anything funny.

In contrast I saw Tim Vine doing dictionary corner on Countdown this week and I'm sure he put more work into those couple of minutes of comedy than Carr has done in a decade and Vine was so funny you could even see through the layers of facelifts and botox that Ann Robinson was highly amused.
                    But how do you really feel ?

Been a while since I listened to this

Want to hear something funny?
                        Ronnie Drew's son was rejected from that advert cause he didn't sound like Ronnie

That's just fabulous.

Managed to get compliments on my suit today in the country that makes good suits as 'their thing'. Money well spent. It is ridiculously well fitting.
                          I still have 2am as the line on when you end up in some BDSM dungeon, and not knowing what country you are in.

Been a while since I listened to this

Wyatt has done lots of other of great albums that didn't get a lot of attention, none better than 2007's ComicOpera which has over the years grown to become one of my favourite albums of all time. I don't know why but he hasn't made any albums since. Worth a listen to as a whole album.

We do the Poolbeg walk a lot . There is a nice tribute/mural to Joyce out at the lighthouse. Lovely alternative walk for those of you wishing to clear the head . . The sealink passes right by it about 2ish.
                              Surprised I've never bumped into you. We do that walk a bit at the weekends too.

Had a few days holidays left over from last year so decided to take off Thursday and Friday and head west. Just so happened to coincide with when the father in law would not be here...

Normally, we'd drive straight through but we stopped in Kai in Galway city for lunch yesterday. Food was very, very tasty. Am looking forward to getting an opportunity to hit it up for dinner.

Had a good few pints earlier and am about to get stuck into pizza that we got delivered from the Dough Boys.

Feels like we have been here for about a week already (in a good way).

Said it before but the pace of life out west is a beautiful change to chill out.

Seamus Power playing a stormer so far at Pebble.

Fingers crossed he can keep er lit.

Wyatt has done lots of other of great albums that didn't get a lot of attention, none better than 2007's ComicOpera which has over the years grown to become one of my favourite albums of all time. I don't know why but he hasn't made any albums since. Worth a listen to as a whole album.

I had thought he died long ago . From wiki
                                    Wyatt retired from his music career in 2014, stating "there is a pride in [stopping], I don’t want [the music] to go off."[

We're going to eat Wales tomorrow.

And Leona top of the LPGA event.

hon the lads

Are you that confident? Huge amount of talk about Wales missing so many players but 13 of the 15 starting tomorrow were in the team that beat Australia. Lack of leadership may be an issue for Wales but I'm not sure it'll be that much of a cake walk.

Seamus Power playing a stormer so far at Pebble.

Fingers crossed he can keep er lit.
                                            On fire- great story

Has a little bitta the McDowell accent about him. Some american seeping in. Need to get him back home for a bit.

Back to back 64s, 18 birdies through 36 holes, and playing the easiest of the 3 courses tomorrow.

might be his time.

Are you that confident? Huge amount of talk about Wales missing so many players but 13 of the 15 starting tomorrow were in the team that beat Australia. Lack of leadership may be an issue for Wales but I'm not sure it'll be that much of a cake walk.
                                                I think we'll win by the width of the track.

I also think England will stuff Scotland.

I agree with this. Just think Ireland/Wales will be closer than people think. Hope I'm right so we don't get carried away

I think I will place some wagers using your European money on the double with suitably large handicaps for both. Something like Ireland -25 and England -15.

I'll take Wales +25 for 50 quid?

Jaysus Raoul. Did you bang your head . Both of those matches will be tighter than that . Id back Scotland plus 10 and Wales minus 15 .

The only thing I know about Irish rugby is either the fans and media have no idea what they're watching or they're the biggest bottlers sport has possibly seen. It's likely the former.
                                                            Last edited by Charlie Sheen; 05-02-22, 01:08.

Tim is great. Did you see him on Taskmaster when he did that? Comes across as a top guy.

35-13 floating about my head last night in dreamland, its a sign.

I'll take Wales +25 for 50 quid?
                                                                  I can get my 50 to 150 of my local friendly turf accountant's satchel at that handicap.

For those of you who dont venture outside the bbv . There is a music thread with gems like this below.

If yiu spot any busking gems stick them in the thread . Be good to look back on .

This is GREAT . Anyone know where it is? The buses look london ?.

Some cards the next couple of days. Can't go unfortunately but will certainly go the Sunday next year with a banker on the Monday.

Anyone high on anything in the handicaps?

I should retire after this one

fY0I9QC.png​​​​​​

35-13 floating about my head last night in dreamland, its a sign.
                                                                          Feck ya now i have to back it as thats how i hurt my bankroll

Ireland win by 21-25 pts..13/2...free money after that dream...

I don't think Jimmy Carr's joke will get him cancelled - it's the kind of thing he always has in his shows and can't be that much of a shock to anyone who has paid him any attention over the years.
                                                                              His wonderfully patronising explanation of 'mansplaining' to a lady in the front row in the same show should see him forgiven anyway, absolute genius stuff.

Best Nazi joke of the year is heading to Frankie Boyle though - I loved his delivery of "Many Austrians have compared their government's compulsory Covid vaccine rule to living under Nazi occupation.......though some don't like it".

Hopefully Jimmy Carr survives at least another week as it looks like the last recorded ep of Cats Does Countdown with Sean Lock will be aired on Friday evening. Though sadly he was lumbered with the mostly unfunny Harry Hill and the unwatchable Rosie Jones, so there'll be fastforwarding to get to the Sean parts.

Bizarre stuff by Nadine Dorries, even by her batshit crazy standards of the last week.
                                                                                On the early shift on BBC News and possibly expecting a few difficult questions, but she decides to take umbrage with the soft opener.
                                                                                I'm not sure she's well so maybe shouldn't be laughed at, but on the other hand she's a cabinet minister with a reasonable amount of power and no-one seems to be saying "stop, she's clearly off her head on something"

Tickets acquired, boom.

Always have at least one journalist friend imo, they have the connections.

Windy out there this am, although I'm sure our jolly green giants will handle it.

Tickets acquired, boom.

Always have at least one journalist friend imo, they have the connections.
                                                                                      Ah, you lucky bastard - enjoy! Have a table booked in a lively bar in town, can't wait. This is the most exciting sporting day of the year from my perspective, so full of hopes, expectations and optimism at this point each and every year. Horrible reality might not impact this for another week, if the bookies can be believed!

Bizarre stuff by Nadine Dorries, even by her batshit crazy standards of the last week.
                                                                                        On the early shift on BBC News and possibly expecting a few difficult questions, but she decides to take umbrage with the soft opener.
                                                                                        I'm not sure she's well so maybe shouldn't be laughed at, but on the other hand she's a cabinet minister with a reasonable amount of power and no-one seems to be saying "stop, she's clearly off her head on something"

I've said it before and i'll say it again. Politicians across the sea make out lot look like absolute saints.

I don't think Jimmy Carr's joke will get him cancelled - it's the kind of thing he always has in his shows and can't be that much of a shock to anyone who has paid him any attention over the years.
                                                                                          His wonderfully patronising explanation of 'mansplaining' to a lady in the front row in the same show should see him forgiven anyway, absolute genius stuff.

Best Nazi joke of the year is heading to Frankie Boyle though - I loved his delivery of "Many Austrians have compared their government's compulsory Covid vaccine rule to living under Nazi occupation.......though some don't like it".

Hopefully Jimmy Carr survives at least another week as it looks like the last recorded ep of Cats Does Countdown with Sean Lock will be aired on Friday evening. Though sadly he was lumbered with the mostly unfunny Harry Hill and the unwatchable Rosie Jones, so there'll be fastforwarding to get to the Sean parts.
                                                                                          Yeah, i find Carr funny. I can see how he could rub people up the wrong way though cause when he's not on presenting duty he doesn't shut up. He was on Sunday Brunch a few times and he was verging on being annoying alright.

Don't get Harry Hill either; Rosie, and i don't know how to say this without being a prick, i think has her moments, but her delivery "spoils" it - through no fault of her own obviously.

Vic Reeves and David Baddiel are others that are mostly unfunny IMO. But it's all subjective isn't it?

She's an unstable lush, famously money grubbing and miserly. Insane level of piss take that she gets put in charge of culture and arts

Johnson seems to be running the show like it's Henry VIII's court, I would be most surprised if it turns out he's not banging her.

This is great

Last edited by Strewelpeter; 05-02-22, 13:56.

Conway for first tryscorer

And Leona top of the LPGA event.

hon the lads
                                                                                                Young wan got to meet and give her a few pointers when we were out in Florida. No wonder she is playing well

IMG-20220121-WA0010.jpg

Irelands call will never stop being a national embarrassment

COYBIG!!!!!

Oh sexton left his kicking boots at home.... Going be a long game,!

Sing it Loud.

Side by side
                                                                                                        We stand like brothers
                                                                                                        One for all and all together
                                                                                                        We will stay united through darker days
                                                                                                        And we'll be unbeatable forever
                                                                                                        Ireland, Ireland
                                                                                                        Together standing tall
                                                                                                        Shoulder to shoulder
                                                                                                        We'll answer Ireland's call!
                                                                                                        Come the day and come the hour
                                                                                                        Some will live in song and story
                                                                                                        We were born to follow our guiding star
                                                                                                        And to beat our destiny with glory
                                                                                                        Ireland, Ireland
                                                                                                        Together standing tall
                                                                                                        Shoulder to shoulder
                                                                                                        Hearts of steel and heads are bowing
                                                                                                        Vowing never to be broken
                                                                                                        We will fight, until we can fight no more
                                                                                                        'Til our final requiem is spoken
                                                                                                        Ireland, Ireland
                                                                                                        Together standing tall
                                                                                                        Shoulder to shoulder
                                                                                                        Ireland, Ireland
                                                                                                        Together standing tall
                                                                                                        Shoulder to shoulder

FA cup is genuinely a bit magic

Ryan Hardie disagrees with you!

Conway for first tryscorer
                                                                                                              Close!

It's such a pleasure watching Rugby and seeing how the officials decisions are respected - can you imagine an equivalent situation in soccor

I really don't get the Rosie Jones thing. Fully conscious that's my bad. But it's not comedy. Fair play to her for making it happen nevertheless.

Ireland win by 21-25 pts..13/2...free money after that dream...
                                                                                                                    Loleras. Always follow your dreams.

cheers Ole

Loleras. Always follow your dreams.
                                                                                                                        Squeeky bum that last 5 mins...lol

2 birdies in a row!

Wordle 231 3/6

⬜⬜