Whatever about alcohol, it can have a weird effect on performance. Could have a skin full and be grand, or 3 bottles and are ruined.
    I'm talking strength, stamina than hangover.

But chips. What's the issue there??
    They are burning a lot more energy than an average person. Trying to train like they do on salads would be a far worse imo.
    Last edited by Mellor; 02-08-16, 10:57.

Annual 'I bought a shitload of wine' pic:
      Do you have a plan before you go over or is it a case of rocking up to the nearest (French equivalent of an) off licence and buying anything that takes your fancy?

Any word on who the politician kicked out of independence and arrested for drunk driving and assaulting gardai is? Must be a former td\senator by the sound of it

Definitely not a young senator who's got previous for being unable to handle his pints and pissing off the gardai (and who also likely exercised his right to be forgotten by google)

Ouch - Dutch man waits 10 days in Chinese airport for online girlfriend

jaysus, that looks like a pain in the hole to set up. Can you put kodi on it?

I use kodi with the Pulse CCM build and ivue TV guide. Works a treat.
            I factory reset it, changed how it boot, then put in the package details again and reboot the thing and it finally worked! that took about 4.5 hours all in lol but the wee doll who just came back from summer camp, has found Cartoon Network and is currently beside me watching it!

Is this not truly bizarre?

Byron Burger were presented fraudulent documents by employees, called police on them, employees deported.

Byron Burger gets protested outside to the extent that they have to close for the day. Live insects released into the store.

What are they supposed to do differently in this spot?

Byron Burger were presented fraudulent documents by employees, called police on them, employees deported.

Byron Burger gets protested outside to the extent that they have to close for the day. Live insects released into the store.

Some real gems from the protestors there.
                "Immigration is not a crime"
                I think you'll when it's prefixed by "illegal", it is in fact, a crime.

I wonder how many of the protesters are over-compensating for Brexit.

Do you think you would have any holiday wine left by then ?
                  For your BBQ delights, I will break out the De Toren Fusion V (as recommended by luminaries such as KP and GAB)

Do you have a plan before you go over or is it a case of rocking up to the nearest (French equivalent of an) off licence and buying anything that takes your fancy?
                    I had a rough idea of what I wanted (approx 100 red and 80 white) and that I wanted plenty of St Emilion, Burgundy, Saumur-Champigny, St Nicholas de Bourgeoil, Cotes du Rhone (all red), Sancerre, Vouvray, Bordeaux, Burgundy, Alsace (all white). The split between 'good' and 'everyday' would be about 1:3.

Apart from that I'm a sucker for tastings in caves. Witness some peach liqueur.

72 page football season pullout is in todays Racing Post - official signal of the start of the season imo.
                      Last season when you posted this I hurried to the shop to purchase said item and/or service

Upon reading it I did chortle heartily that their headline pic was 2pts on Man City for the league

Some on here told me my chortling was mainly due to lack of knowledge of money and maths and such

Anyhu I read on and continued to chortle, until I happened upon their thoughts on top scorer in the conference, now i disagreed with their opinion so strongly that I had a bet on said market

P Amond I thought, EW single I thought, also stuck him in a trixie with Kane and their pick for League 2 top scorer

Amond finished joint top scorer, 12 minutes away from leading market on his own (+ he didn't play last game of season due to being saved for playoffs)

Kane did what Kane did

And their pick for League 2 was loaned out about 2 weeks into the season to a Conference club

Due to disagreeing with them while looking at a market I would never have touched, I picked up around €1800, would have been more if not for that one goal 12 minutes for end of season

Just purchased my copy for this season

Have started watching House of Cards (US version), about 5 shows in

Well good! Would recommend!

Getting bored with iRobot, up to date, all kinds of meh on the horizon...

Stopped watching Preacher about 5 shows in, while it was fun and all, the actual lack of a storyline was a bit of a problem
                        That and the Dub with the Offaly accent

Had this conversation with the missus yesterday - The news report I read said that Byron worked with the police to set up a fake meeting to get all the employees on site so they could then be arrested. Not 100% how true that is

My argument was if that was true, it was poor form by Byron. If they hired all the people in good faith and their documents all looked ok (even if they were later found out to be fake) then they could have given them a heads up as to what was happening

If Byron hired them all knowing they were illegal, then setting up the fake meeting was bang out of order and they probably just did it to try save their own ass

Then again, I've a large amount of tree hugger in me so take what you will of the above.

Either way, releasing live insects into the restaurant is way OTT. By all means, boycott it if you feel there is a genuine grievance but live insects is a bit cray cray

Had this conversation with the missus yesterday - The news report I read said that Byron worked with the police to set up a fake meeting to get all the employees on site so they could then be arrested. Not 100% how true that is

My argument was if that was true, it was poor form by Byron. If they hired all the people in good faith and their documents all looked ok (even if they were later found out to be fake) then they could have given them a heads up as to what was happening

If Byron hired them all knowing they were illegal, then setting up the fake meeting was bang out of order and they probably just did it to try save their own ass

Then again, I've a large amount of tree hugger in me so take what you will of the above.

Either way, releasing live insects into the restaurant is way OTT. By all means, boycott it if you feel there is a genuine grievance but live insects is a bit cray cray
                            Really?

legally?

Whatever about alcohol, it can have a weird effect on performance. Could have a skin full and be grand, or 3 bottles and are ruined.
                              I'm talking strength, stamina than hangover.
                              I was only talking about the alcohol and would have thought this. Dehydration etc, possibly even lack of sleep depending on the amount/individual involved. Course we all hear the stories about Paidi having 5 pints the night before an AI and the great quote about the offaly hurlers being off the drink since Tuesday but the question is whether they played to their optimum or just got away with it.

Also, why stop at 2/3 bottles if it isn't doing any harm. Some lads can handle more drink that others so why can't they have 7/8. And why 2 nights before the game, what harm having a few the night before if it doesn't affect performance.

My final point on this - I talked to someone in the know about this earlier and they were adamant James would have been dropped for the Clare match if management knew he was drinking 2 nights before the game.

Really?

legally?
                                Yeah really. For me it comes down to human decency.

These people didn't come from wherever they did to work (what most likely is) a shit job on (most likely) shit money for the craic. They did it as there wasn't any other real options open to them to make a life and survive.

Byron had to know that once arrested, they would be deported, possibly with no option to get personal belongings say good bye to friends / family, etc

So much wine and here I am looking at just getting this http://www.vinatis.co.uk/20125-chate...gnan-2014.html and they double the price per bottle on vinatis for Irish tax.

Yeah really. For me it comes down to human decency.

These people didn't come from wherever they did to work (what most likely is) a shit job on (most likely) shit money for the craic. They did it as there wasn't any other real options open to them to make a life and survive.

Byron had to know that once arrested, they would be deported, possibly with no option to get personal belongings say good bye to friends / family, etc
                                    I agree with all of that. But I think that Byron have very little option but to do pretty much exactly what they did in the situation.

Apart from that I'm a sucker for tastingsin caves. Witness some peach liqueur.
                                      Reminds me of years ago when I did a wine tasting trip in Canada. Quite surprised at some of the wines and the quality of them

Anyway, myself and the brother in law walked into one place to which we are greeted by a middle aged bloke, nobody else in the place. he explains to us that he will be back in one minute and nips out back. About 30 seconds later, the hottest blonde I have ever seen (like, literally, off the charts) comes out and offers to look after us. We tasted quite a lot of wine in that place and bought a few bottles each for some reason!

I was only talking about the alcohol and would have thought this. Dehydration etc, possibly even lack of sleep depending on the amount/individual involved. Course we all hear the stories about Paidi having 5 pints the night before an AI and the great quote about the offaly hurlers being off the drink since Tuesday but the question is whether they played to their optimum or just got away with it.

Also, why stop at 2/3 bottles if it isn't doing any harm. Some lads can handle more drink that others so why can't they have 7/8. And why 2 nights before the game, what harm having a few the night before if it doesn't affect performance.

My final point on this - I talked to someone in the know about this earlier and they were adamant James would have been dropped for the Clare match if management knew he was drinking 2 nights before the game.
                                        Ive had plenty of training sessions where I've felt fine the next day. But warming up took it out of me, was couldn't complete what I set out to do.

On the other hand, last month I went out ft dinner, drank a bottle of red, and ended up in the casino until 4 nearly getting in a fight along the way.
                                        Woke up at 10 for a BJJ company and put in my best performance to date.

Lucky he wasn't there so. We're literally talking a couple of bottles. 3 max. They arrived after me and left before me and I was only there just over 2 hours cos I had work the next morning. It's not like they were on the lash on Saturday night. It's bad if fellas can't go to a local function with their mates for a couple of hours and a couple of bottles after everything they sacrifice for a bloody game.

One was James, other was Fionn. Fionn actually played a couple of games in the 7 a side comp. Oh the horror. James was "manager" of his team due to just coming back from injury obvs.

I don't see the problem with a bag of chips or a couple of bottles. These are young men sacrificing more than they should be.
                                          I agree with your sentiment but I am suprised by this. I would have assumed this would have been a serious no no for any inter county player.

the raids, which a number of employees claim took place after they were asked to attend staff health and safety training sessions that had been set up as a "trap"...
                                            This is the crux of it.
                                            Staff were told to attend a course on health and safety. Course was then raided and surprisingly few of the attendees were legal. The rumour is that Byron knew who was illegal and shaped the classes to suit the raids (that they knew were coming) as it meant the stores wouldnt be raided.
                                            Effectively created a trap for the HO.
                                            Legally fine, morally a little fucked up

Ive had plenty of training sessions where I've felt fine the next day. But warming up took it out of me, was couldn't complete what I set out to do.

On the other hand, last month I went out ft dinner, drank a bottle of red, and ended up in the casino until 4 nearly getting in a fight along the way.
                                              Woke up at 10 for a BJJ company and put in my best performance to date.
                                              Body odor is an oft underused resource in MMA

You dont shower when hungover?

That cold water skirts the line between ultimate refresh and brain freeze

This is the crux of it.
                                                  Staff were told to attend a course on health and safety. Course was then raided and surprisingly few of the attendees were legal. The rumour is that Byron knew who was illegal and shaped the classes to suit the raids (that they knew were coming) as it meant the stores wouldnt be raided.
                                                  Yeah it was pretty scummy but they were presumably tipped off and agreed to fuck over the employees to stop them raiding each premise again and again.

Doesn't seem like much of a choice really but I dont know if you can say it was morally wrong to save the rest of your business from grinding to a halt and going bust as retained earnings get eaten up by down time and a lack of paying customers.

On the other side I have never heard of these guys but would probably try them now as it looks pretty tasty. Well once all the protesting goes away so PR boom.

HBO has confirmed David Milch is currently writing a Deadwood movie script for them

Hadn't seen this in ages and made me laugh. I remember we had a thread of very good ones in the other place back in the day.

This is the crux of it.
                                                      Why? What difference does it make?

The either comply and have the raids out of the restaurants, with the illegal immigrants caught.
                                                      Or don't, and have the raids in the restaurants, with the illegal immigrants caught.

Either way the outcome for the illegal workers is the same - Deportation. Once the Home Office was on their case, it was as good as over. Byron had the choice to comply and be in a bad situation, or not comply and be in a worse situation.

The either comply and have the raids out of the restaurants, with the illegal immigrants caught.
                                                        Or don't, and have the raids in the restaurants, with the illegal immigrants caught.

Either way the outcome for the illegal workers is the same - Deportation. Once the Home Office was on their case, it was as good as over. Byron had the choice to comply and be in a bad situation, or not comply and be in a worse situation.
                                                        0.001% chance HR dept for the restaurant chain did not know the status of the people they were dealing with.

Yup would have no problem believing that.

But again, what are we expecting Byron to do in the situation? That's what I'm asking Once Home Office get involved, what are you doing differently?

I can't find any other answer other than "Comply with the Home Office".

route one
                                                            organize company day for all staff for training, workers happy enough for doss day getting paid. halfway through manual handling course for condiments have large raid descend on grouped workers where the end result is a large % lose home, jobs and do not see family again.

Route two
                                                            Pretty much any other option available to them.

illegal workers although breaking the law are people too.
                                                            Setting them up as literal fish in a barrel just seems a little harsh.

Yup would have no problem believing that.

But again, what are we expecting Byron to do in the situation?
                                                              Give them a discrete heads up and time to disappear back into the system, throw the home office a curve ball by only sending people they think are kosher to the course. Most of all make sure that they have the the right visa's for their staff.

We got got caught out badly having a number of people on the wrong sort of visas working in the UK, it was a technical issue and HO assured us it could be straightened out quickly... that was I think 8 months ago and we are only now starting to get one or two of the people we need back. Fucking HO are a shower of cunce.

This is the crux of it.
                                                                Ok that's completely different.
                                                                That's what I get for just glancing through the article.
                                                                I blame emmets synopsis.

route one
                                                                  organize company day for all staff for training, workers happy enough for doss day getting paid. halfway through manual handling course for condiments have large raid descend on grouped workers where the end result is a large % lose home, jobs and do not see family again.

Route two
                                                                  Pretty much any other option available to them.

illegal workers although breaking the law are people too.
                                                                  Setting them up as literal fish in a barrel just seems a little harsh.
                                                                  Like?

Give them a discrete heads up and time to disappear back into the system, throw the home office a curve ball by only sending people they think are kosher to the course. Most of all make sure that they have the the right visa's for their staff.
                                                                    Seriously? Legality...

We got got caught out badly having a number of people on the wrong sort of visas working in the UK, it was a technical issue and HO assured us it could be straightened out quickly... that was I think 8 months ago and we are only now starting to get one or two of the people we need back. Fucking HO are a shower of cunce.
                                                                    Yeah exactly. Meaning I don't think Byron had any hope of doing anything like what you've suggested above.

Britain doesn't want immigrants. They took their country back. Byron are on the side of the majority. Losing a bunch of bleeding heart (likely vegans) as potential customers will hardly hurt them.

Right up there with Siemens and Volkswagen going with the wishes of majority....

Seriously? Legality...

Yeah exactly. Meaning I don't think Byron had any hope of doing anything like what you've suggested above.
                                                                        Twice you've asked (me and SP) if we are serious. Yes, we are both serious. Whether it is legal or not to give them a heads up is, in our opinion, irrelevant.

It's the decent and right thing to do (again in our opinion) - It's people lives that are being dealt with here, fuck the legality of it, not everything in the world is so black and white

Twice you've asked (me and SP) if we are serious. Yes, we are both serious. Whether it is legal or not to give them a heads up is, in our opinion, irrelevant.
                                                                          Well in my opinion, it's incredibly relevant, and that's why I asked it (twice).

I find it amazing that people are disappointed that a company did not break the law.
                                                                          It's the decent and right thing to do (again in our opinion) - It's people lives that are being dealt with here, fuck the legality of it, not everything in the world is so black and white
                                                                          That's not really how the world works. And especially not how a business can look at anything really.

Forget the heads up. It's an unrealistic ask.
                                                                            If they the the ability to distribute class events and organize large swaths of the working staff together at once, they have the ability to distribute at least some cursory information on citizenship and potential issues of non compliance.
                                                                            Given how slow these kind of services work, this had to be in the pipeline for quite a while. At least give people the opportunity to succeed.

Well in my opinion, it's incredibly relevant, and that's why I asked it (twice).

I find it amazing that people are disappointed that a company did not break the law.

That's not really how the world works. And especially not how a business can look at anything really.
                                                                              So, you've accepted the fact that it is most likely that Byron knew they were employing illegals but now it's no longer acceptable for a company to break the law?

I've got next week off and it would be a good self assessment for myself so sure.
                                                                                He's down the well m8s

Jaysus I get an unhealthy rage when chuggers knock on the on the door. Like super adrenalin I want to kill you rage. Managed to just say I'm not interested thanks and close the door in his face when he tried to continue the conversation.

So, you've accepted the fact that it is most likely that Byron knew they were employing illegals but now it's no longer acceptable for a company to break the law?
                                                                                    Well no I've not once suggested that it was acceptable in any way for them to be knowingly employing illegals.

Even if I had said anything like that whatsoever, I don't think I'd be advocating the 'in for a penny, in for a pound' approach to the law that has been suggested.

The protests weren't about a company employing illegals. They were about that company complying with the Home Office.

The protests were about a company not breaking the law when imo they had sweet fuck all other options.
                                                                                    Last edited by Emmet; 02-08-16, 17:15.

shrap, this might be an option Lenovo Yoga 300.

It is a refurb and isn't I don't think detachable but folds into a tablet. It has a decent amount of heat over on ukhotdeals which is usually a good indication that its a good deal. 30 hours battery life is a big selling point!

ended up buying this. it turns out they sent me the next model up, still foldable and touch screen, but which has the Intel N3540 2.16GHz chipset, 4 GB of RAM and a 500GB hard drive, all that for £105. absolute bargain!!

Watched this the other night.

What a woman. Great program as well. TG4 do get some things really very right.

Well no I've not once suggested that it was acceptable in any way for them to be knowingly employing illegals.

Even if I had said anything like that whatsoever, I don't think I'd be advocating the 'in for a penny, in for a pound' approach to the law that has been suggested.

The protests weren't about a company employing illegals. They were about that company complying with the Home Office.

The protests were about a company not breaking the law when imo they had sweet fuck all other options.
                                                                                          The protests are because Londoners are embarrassed to be shown up as little Englanders at the minute and are going out of their way to try and show their compassion. They'll be back to casual racism (like ourselves) soon enough and not giving two fucks about the souls who serve them fries and their treatment.

Mmmmmmm....fries.

Sounds good as I stand outside my (locked) house gazing in at my keys.

I'm sure the family will be home at some stage. Solid start back to the daily grind.

There is always options. There is the right and wrong thing to do.

Doing the right thing may not always be legal, doesn't mean it shouldn't be done

We've totally oposing views on this one so think it's safe to say we're not going agree anytime soon.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Sipping pints in the dail bar after a burrito the size of a small child in the city of the tribes.
                                                                                                Bill Burr shortly, it's a good day.

Mmmmmmm....fries.

Sounds good as I stand outside my (locked) house gazing in at my keys.

I'm sure the family will be home at some stage. Solid start back to the daily grind.
                                                                                                  Get back on the Dart and head up to Howth for some fish while you wait!

If they the the ability to distribute class events and organize large swaths of the working staff together at once, they have the ability to distribute at least some cursory information on citizenship and potential issues of non compliance.
                                                                                                    Given how slow these kind of services work, this had to be in the pipeline for quite a while. At least give people the opportunity to succeed.
                                                                                                    Forget the heads up. It's an unrealistic ask.
                                                                                                    That sounds like a heads up to me

This

I'm certain that the board of Byrons, like the boards of most companies, dedicate thousands of hours effort into finding ways to push the boundaries of the law to the absolute maximum in finding ways to reduce their taxes and other costs. I Wonderwhy they wouldn't do something similar for their people.
                                                                                                    You know the answer as well as I do and it has absolutely nothing to do with a moral responsibility to uphold the law.

I'm certain that the board of Byrons, like the boards of most companies, dedicate thousands of hours effort into finding ways to push the boundaries of the law to the absolute maximum in finding ways to reduce their taxes and other costs. I Wonderwhy they wouldn't do something similar for their people.
                                                                                                      You know the answer as well as I do and it has absolutely nothing to do with a moral responsibility to uphold the law.
                                                                                                      Of course not

It's pure unadulterated self-interest. I can't believe so many people expect anything else.

Emmett is not saying that rounding people up for deportation is a nice thing to do.

Emmet is saying that faced with the home office raiding your business repeatedly, pressing charges and hammering them with fines to get the same result of the people getting deported is the only logical business decision.

If people were saying that the home office using the company to do its dirty work with the reward of getting my off Scot free is terrible I can understand but being disgusted by a company strong armed into doing an unpleasant action is just a huge leap.

Yes it is terrible for the people concerned but there is an actual crime in employing illegals. Both company and workers are complicent so you can feel bad that the guys are getting deported (it is terrible that they were trying to make a life and contributing) but it is the law and hardly surprising in the new regime under May.

In short I feel bad for emmet being painted as a heartless bnp supporter and all of those protesters are clearly bell ends. I am sure you don't want the support of one of the more bollix posters Emmet and you are probably now reconsidering your position.

Decent punt by this guy! All games were 6-0 after 86 mins, and then a few mins later he's £58k richer

Dundalk 2-0 up in Champions League, 2-1 on agg now. Guaranteed group football if they see this out.

No way do they hold on though...

5 minutes + stoppages. impossible

Gonna regret not taking the chances for a third

Unreal fair play dundalk

Gonna regret not taking the chances for a third
                                                                                                                      Boom I even backed them to score again .
                                                                                                                      Great result for them Fair play

3-0 now

The brother in law will be going ape shit, he's at the game

It's play off next not group?