250 a month when you could just have a plex server that auto updates with new shows/films, I'll get access to one for a mere 200!

250 a month on subs

You sure there’s not some onlyfans /npc streamer subs in there?

dunno how people end up on those figures but they were on about this on some Irish show recently and apparently people having Netflix , prime , Disney and 1 or 2 others at the same time is quite common- where do people get time to watch the absolute shite these platforms serve up - like Netflix have nothing essential that they themselves have produced and prime even worse.

hmm, seems I've no idea how much I spend on anything. Its not €250 a month, but it was €133 a month until this morning and is now an absolute bargain at €68 a month.
      Subscription Was (monthly) Now
      Netflix €21.00 €9.00
      Disney+ €9.00 €0.00
      Amazon Prime €8.70 €8.70
      Dropbox €17.00 €17.00
      Google One €10.30 €8.30
      Overleaf €9.00 €0.00
      Youtube Premium €3.00 €3.00
      Revolut Premium €8.00 €3.00
      HP Instant Ink €4.00 €1.00
      Irish Times €25.00 €0.00
      Spotify Family €18.00 €18.00
      Total €133.00 €68.00
      edit: easier to just downgrade HP Ink to 10 pages a month rather than cancel and have to buy a new cartridge
      Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 29-08-23, 12:20.

I’ll occasionally pay 5er a month for now tv entertainment as it’s the only one that has shows for adults and cancel as soon as they look for full whack
        Hey Shill - do you have a discount code for NOWTV Sports extra ?

And cancelled that stupid Irish Times subscription. There's no actual way to cancel the subscription on their website but the glory of Revolut is you can just block a payment and move on.
          Get irish times free with my college email. Surely the same for staff?

hmm, seems I've no idea how much I spend on anything. Its not €250 a month, but it was €133 a month until this morning and is now an absolute bargain at €68 a month.
            Subscription Was (monthly) Now
            Netflix €21.00 €9.00
            Disney+ €9.00 €0.00
            Amazon Prime €8.70 €8.70
            Dropbox €17.00 €17.00
            Google One €10.30 €8.30
            Overleaf €9.00 €0.00
            Youtube Premium €3.00 €3.00
            Revolut Premium €8.00 €3.00
            HP Instant Ink €4.00 €1.00
            Irish Times €25.00 €0.00
            Spotify Family €18.00 €18.00
            Total €133.00 €68.00
            edit: easier to just downgrade HP Ink to 10 pages a month rather than cancel and have to buy a new cartridge
            How are you getting Youtube Premium for 3 quid? Is it the foreign version or something. It’s like 13 quid here and while the free version is a pain in the hole 13 quid seems overpriced to me.

Premium plus YouTube music is 13e , and is decent value for that imo, as I don't use Spotify

Yeah use VPN. It is annoying to pay them for making their product worse, but paying Argentinian prices reduces it.

That plus Spotify and annual Readwise is all I have.

yep, Turkish version. As denny says you just VPN it. YouTube obv knows what you are doing, but seems not bothered at this stage.

I have youtube family account via India, just over 2 euro a month.

Surely you don't need spotify if you have youtube music, which comes with youtube premium? Another easy saving to be done there, but maybe you need features and content spotify has that youtube music doesn't.

I have youtube family account via India, just over 2 euro a month.

Surely you don't need spotify if you have youtube music, which comes with youtube premium? Another easy saving to be done there, but maybe you need features and content spotify has that youtube music doesn't.
                      That would be a nice saving if so. Feel we might be over invested in our spotify lists at this stage though.

2nd time in a couple of days now someone has rang me saying that they had a missed call from me, but I never rang them....anyone familiar with that?!

Same . Our numbers are simply being used in a scam of some sort. Frustrating

Could it be 5star finally making his move for a cushy prison position?

That robodialler is finally coming in handy. Send $1 to Happydude at 743 Evergreen Terrace.

Any recommendations for restaurants that could take a booking of about 30 people with a budget of about 50-70 bucks per head between ranelagh and the liffey
                                Had an unexpectedly excellent group meal in Monty's of Kathmandu a few months ago - had the whole downstairs to ourselves, 3 or 4 courses, group menu, good selection and very tasty. Think it was €50pp maybe a bit more incl beers and wine.

Actually I had a funny fitness garmin watch thing. My watches voice announcer is now suddenly the voice of some Indian woman. Huh? When did this change ? I was out walking the other day and it periodically announces the pace you were going, so she said, current pace 8.35 (which is a fast walking pace for me) so I was walking over the crossover bridge over the N7, stopped to watch the traffic zooming beneath when the voice changed to current pace 10 minutes but it was said in a derisory tone , comical, laughed my ass off.

yep, Turkish version. As denny says you just VPN it. YouTube obv knows what you are doing, but seems not bothered at this stage.
                                    strange. i've got netflix for 3 quid a month, but just can't get you tube premium with a vpn, it just says, nope, you're not allowed . really annoying. same with spotify, i just can't seem to get the vpn to work

You need to select some foreign address bits in your youtube account or something. I have a random postcode in chennai I think, and the country set to India. Works so I'm not questioning it. I did get a message saying that my payment card was being declined after working perfectly for a couple of years as the card was issued in the wrong country. Worked then with my revolut visa number.

YouTube premium is the only one of those type of services that I pay for, although we do have sky. Random TV shows though I just get to my NAS and watch from there, or else use the CinemaHD app.

I get this about 4-5 times a month from my aul lad

'Did you ring me?'

'No, you called me earlier and I spoke to you'

'Shows a missed call from you - must be something wrong with the phone'

*In My Head* 'Yup, it's definetely the phone that's the problem here...'

Thankfully, we've replaced the panic alarm on his phone with a wrist bracelet that also has a fall feature built in and is connected to a 24/7 monitoring station so I no longer get 20 'Help Needed' text messages a month which used to put the shits up me every time even though I kind of knew he had just knocked it off by accident.

All the cool kids are going to Netherlands

'Did you ring me?'

Thankfully, we've replaced the panic alarm on his phone with a wrist bracelet that also has a fall feature built in and is connected to a 24/7 monitoring station so I no longer get 20 'Help Needed' text messages a month which used to put the shits up me every time even though I kind of knew he had just knocked it off by accident.
                                            Well if it stops him ringing up me and Zut , its a good move

All the cool kids are going to Netherlands

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/e...-wanted-to-do/
                                              His name is Uisca?

I have been planting this seed with my now 5th year student. Might take her over to NL for a trip to let it germinate further.

All 3 kids in secondary as of today. Another mile/mill stone.

There's a new energy company Yuno
                                                  Doing residential only at the moment but
                                                  24 hour urban is @ 38.04C per KWH (inclusive of vat)
                                                  Standing charge @ €265 for the year I think

Seems decent

He tried to imply that the Govt PSO rebate was a discount that they were offering though so don't like that type of bolloxology from sales staff.

Might try and acquire them as a supplier if they do commercial later

Obviously double check all figures.

The crankiest, cheapest, kindest and last great purveyor of the art of bartending passed this week. Rumored to have told Ronnie Wood he couldn’t sing in his pub. Held out against the TV in his pub for years. Rode a bike to work every day and always gave young lads a from the town a job(for pretty bad money )

My father met him just a little while back when our for a walk and found him breathless and slow. Purple arms and a withered old man. He told my mother that might be the last time he spoke to Tommy and regretfully he was right.

I’ve a big soft spot for the man, he was incredibly kind to me always, we shared many a chat while I was out walking the Tipper road.

Any of ye from the Parish, or surrounds of Nás would have probably sipped a pint in his pub. RIP Tommy Fletcher. I hope that pub carries your name til it crumbles.
                                                    Tommy was my next door neighbour growing up, he was a young man when I was a boy and he was always a kind decent gentleman and friend. As a neighbour and friend he was caring, interested and sincere. Socially a bit awkward, after his education which I believe included some time in a seminary he came home to work in the family business he was never a natural publican but he managed the himself and the business in a way that he became a genuine legend.
                                                    The employment one is a strange one, it took a special type to be hired by Tommy, my theory was that he had a special tree out the back where he plucked them from when they were properly ripe... I could go on all night about some of the characters who worked there over the years but that's a different days work.

I say Tommy was a legend and I could easily fill a book with 'Tommy Stories' but unlike most legends these would all be true!
                                                    The Ronnie Wood one is true but the TV one isn't , there was a discreetly placed TV at the end of the long bar since the early 70's but only for racing. Later there was a video recorder so that the recording of the days racing could be played to the post work crowd and we'll say nothing about the night he was persuaded to re run the days racing tape and instead of the racing a pornographic movie came on the culprit was never identified.
                                                    So many stories... my stag night when he gave me a bottle of champagne at 9PM and barred me for life before11!

Perhaps my favourite one of all was one night in the early '80's I was sitting at the bar with another lad, when a friend of mine, Liam, who wouldn't have been a regular there came in looking for me . Liam was a striking looking individual with a shock of long red hair and an impressive beard, anyway we were chatting away and I ordered three pints off Tommy... I guess we were finishing up our own drinks and it must have been nearly ten minutes before I noticed he hadn't pulled the pints and being fairly busy it took a few attempts to catch his eye, eventually I did and he nodded 'right Michael... hee hee I mean Tony' he says and fired off down the bar(This was standard to call me by my Father and Brothers name , take two or three steps away and turn around and correct himself. It was in no way an affectation or private joke it was simply the way his mind worked and on the occasions where he got my name right he would smile to himself in satisfaction at getting it right. Actually now that I think of it I'm fairly sure he never called me Michael in the ten years since Mick died! ). Another few minutes passed and I had to nod at him again ,... ' oh right , Michael...' and he finally comes back with two pints and without me really noticing he strategically places them in front of me and the other lad. He takes the money off the counter and has the change and is gone before I've even noticed he left us short a pint, by now Liam is gagging for a pint but It took another few attempts to catch Tommy's eye and when I do and tell him we were waiting for another pint he sidles up to me leans over the bar, looking only at me and never making any eye contact with Liam he says 'Tony, we don't serve people with long hair'.

To whet yer appetite. Great story from Bayfield.

Prob posted before .

Another oldie. What a craftsman.

Holland is great on paper but I dont like it at all in person.

His name is Uisca?
                                                            uisca by day, an ice cold killer by night.

Good shoutout today from Golf Sidekick.

I found that Johnny Football docu on Netflix very funny.
                                                                Yes, blah, blah, wasted talent but we definitely need more talented George Bestlike lunatics in the entertainment industry that is sport and less robot automatons.

There's a new energy company Yuno
                                                                  Doing residential only at the moment but
                                                                  24 hour urban is @ 38.04C per KWH (inclusive of vat)
                                                                  Standing charge @ €265 for the year I think

Seems decent

He tried to imply that the Govt PSO rebate was a discount that they were offering though so don't like that type of bolloxology from sales staff.

Might try and acquire them as a supplier if they do commercial later

Obviously double check all figures.

BG obv want to keep customers they got from a massive OneBigSwitch deal last year.
                                                                  Offering better discounts closer to renewal, showing me at 38% off both gas and elec now, and hope to get more over the next two weeks.

Gas
                                                                  Unit rates14.61 9.06 cent per kWh
                                                                  Annual Standing Charge€169.40
                                                                  Carbon Tax€0.00877/kWh

Electricity
                                                                  24 hour rate48.19 29.88 cent per kWh
                                                                  Annual Standing Charge€281.12
                                                                  PSO levy€-7.43

Prices include VAT at 9%. Prices are effective from 1 May 2023 and are subject to change.

Luckily still on a 24hr regular tariff.

Those smart meter plans don't seem to be value at all?
                                                                  Loads complaining they were switched to a smart plan and there's no going back then.

Ran 16 miles (well 8 miles out 8 miles back) of the Waterford Greenway this morning.

Holy fuck it's absolutely stunning. Waterford Co Co deserve a massive pat on the back. A fantastic amenity.

Am tempted to drive to Dungarvan every Sunday morn to run it.
                                                                    Beautiful amenity isn't it! Presumably you went from Dungarvan Harbour as far as Ballyvoile Tunnel: it is the best section by far.

Sticking the aul lad in the ground in the morning, the way things went so qucikly over the last couple of months its for the best for him tbh

Feels strange being the last person standing in the family at my age. Comes at ya fast really
                                                                      Sorry to hear that Ciaran: mind yourself

BG obv want to keep customers they got from a massive OneBigSwitch deal last year.
                                                                        Offering better discounts closer to renewal, showing me at 38% off both gas and elec now, and hope to get more over the next two weeks.

Gas
                                                                        Carbon Tax€0.00877/kWh

Electricity
                                                                        PSO levy€-7.43

Prices include VAT at 9%. Prices are effective from 1 May 2023 and are subject to change.

Loads complaining they were switched to a smart plan and there's no going back then.
                                                                        Put in their smart electricity and it's so bad even at the 15% off:
                                                                        Day units (8am to 11pm) 43.77 cent per kWh
                                                                        Peak units (5pm to 7pm) 53.29 cent per kWh
                                                                        Night units (11pm to 8am) 32.32 cent per kW

I see on boards getting 39% off and it's still just about as good as EI normal price.
                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 29-08-23, 22:33.

Hey Shill - do you have a discount code for NOWTV Sports extra ?
                                                                          There's a thread in the other place in bargain sheets on it here.

I managed to fail to sign up to Disney Plus from Turkey last week, despite being in fecking Turkey.

Gas
                                                                            Carbon Tax€0.00877/kWh

Electricity
                                                                            PSO levy€-7.43

Hopefully more follow suit. Good to have new company in.

'Did you ring me?'

Had one of those wrist alarms for my Mam when she was in sheltered accommodation from 2015-2019. She'd press the button and the monitoring station (some firm in Stamullen) would contact her to work out if it was an accidental switch or if we needed to head down. Generally worked well and limited how often we got called out.

Anyway, she went into a home proper in 2019, wrist alarm removed and sub cancelled. Thought nothing more of it until I got a random call from them at 3am in early 2021 to say the alarm had gone off, they were trying to contact by Mam via the wall speaker, she wasn't responding. I explained it wasn't her, but pretty grim stuff when I thought about it the following morning - clearly they'd given the alarm to someone else but the address details hadn't been updated throughout the system. So presumably some old person was lying on the bathroom floor somewhere frantically pressing their wrist alarm and not getting any response. And the Stamullen crowd were seeing an alarm go off but had no idea where it was coming from.

Gas
                                                                                Carbon Tax€0.00877/kWh

Electricity
                                                                                PSO levy€-7.43

Where are you seeing that? The Bord Gais website seems to be only saying 47c for electricity. 30c a unit would be glorious. Think we're on 40c a unit at the moment including tax.

It's a renewal offer, they are doing a mad thing of trying to keep customers rather than just enticing new ones!

Anyway the trick is to run the electric stuff off the gas, and the gas stuff off the electric.

We've an electric only house and its looking like with the new rates and the benefits of insulation the full annual bill will be around €1,500, including the solar rebates. It was €3,500 last year - but with 40c elec (am assuming it will be 30c this year) and no insulation. That €1,500 includes the cost of running the car. Seems mad cheap given its the main household utility, even if it was an incredibly expensive journey to get here.

An evening course in Bridge. A fantastic idea or wtf?

This is a hell of an argument - dear government please increase the number of three-seat constituencies as it benefits non-government parties.

“Three-seat constituencies also have mixed results in terms of women being elected, but 3-seaters are not good for smaller parties generally and it's smaller parties that have much better gender representation among candidates and elected TDs,” he said.

“More 3-seaters means the potential pool of women TDs lessens if that inhibits the electoral chances for smaller parties.

“We would urge the Government to change the Electoral Reform Act 2022 to allow for six-seat constituencies, which will increase proportionality and the possibility of more women in Dáil Eireann,” he said.

Had one of those wrist alarms for my Mam when she was in sheltered accommodation from 2015-2019. She'd press the button and the monitoring station (some firm in Stamullen) would contact her to work out if it was an accidental switch or if we needed to head down. Generally worked well and limited how often we got called out.

Anyway, she went into a home proper in 2019, wrist alarm removed and sub cancelled. Thought nothing more of it until I got a random call from them at 3am in early 2021 to say the alarm had gone off, they were trying to contact by Mam via the wall speaker, she wasn't responding. I explained it wasn't her, but pretty grim stuff when I thought about it the following morning - clearly they'd given the alarm to someone else but the address details hadn't been updated throughout the system. So presumably some old person was lying on the bathroom floor somewhere frantically pressing their wrist alarm and not getting any response. And the Stamullen crowd were seeing an alarm go off but had no idea where it was coming from.
                                                                                            Jesus, that is grim.

We're with the same crowd in Stamullen. I tested it when it went in though so everything works OK and touch wood, haven't needed to be called so far.

I do think we're getting closer to a nursing home though but it's very tough. Dad wants to stay living independently and we want that for him too. There is days when he is fully with it and then days when he's all over the shop.

Only recently, he got notice of an increase on his life assurance policy and was able to deal with them all on his own to rework it so that he kept paying what he currently pays each month but his pay out at death would be less. The payout is still more than enough to cover all funeral expenses and then some so he was compos mentis to know he didn't need to pay more while also not leaving any financial burden when he's gone.

The flip side is I was in with him two weeks ago and he couldn't operate the remote control for the TV. It was like I gave him a manual on how to build and launch a rocket into space.

Most of us struggle to use a remote control

I'd put you in the same category as my aul lad actually

The worst is when you are visiting somewhere you aren't as familiar with (in-laws, etc...) and you are presented with a remote control with no obvious button for 'source'. How the fuck do I get to the fire stick/dodgy box/Chromecast etc...?! The source button should be the most important one IMHO, in red right in the middle, not hidden away somewhere with a random icon on it.

One of the best card games you could learn.

Somewhat, by which I mean 'totally', lacking in the essential ingredient of degeneracy.

So I vote wtf.

The worst is when you are visiting somewhere you aren't as familiar with (in-laws, etc...) and you are presented with a remote control with no obvious button for 'source'. How the fuck do I get to the fire stick/dodgy box/Chromecast etc...?! The source button should be the most important one IMHO, in red right in the middle, not hidden away somewhere with a random icon on it.
                                                                                                        Do some sluething . Magnifying Glass . Watson this button here is worn , see the imprint thats the source button ? Now who hit the old man on the head with it ?

Bridge teacher AJ.

Second Mammy story of the day was, during a regular episode of manic depression in her late 60s, she was recommended to take up bridge by her doctor who knew that the local old-dears had a weekly club in the community centre. I got roped into being her teacher by my sisters who played superbly on my hubris (Hey John, you play poker and you are so clever, you could teach her).

Well, I knew nothing about bridge whatsoever, which was but a minor stumbling block compared to the next discovery that my Mam had never really looked at a card-deck before. I was literally starting from introducing her to Spades, Diamonds, Clubs, Hearts, these are numbered cards, K>Q>J. And yet somehow with a few library books, perseverance and the blind leading the blind, it actually worked.
                                                                                                          Spent the guts of a weekend with me playing 3 sides in a 4-sided game going through the bidding and game-play, coming up with rudimentary tactics on the fly.

She went to the community centre that Tuesday, came back a bit shaken because people were giving out to her for playing slow, making wrong calls etc, but by the following week she was flying. By about week 4 she told me that I was a bit stupid at cards and that most of what I had taught her was very wrong. Basically got about a year out of it before she was politely asked to leave and join a bigger club where they took it more serious as her local club was strictly social/beginner level. She just gave it up in a huff.

This could be your redemption story AJ. You come out of retirement and train me up. I'll go back to that school and win hearts and minds and then right as I'm elected Bridger-in-Chief I'll reveal that actually all along I was from the renegade AJ dojo, and maybe with reflection they should have learned from your mother rather than casting her out. This could be the greatest caper in Irish bridge history plus a heart-warming story for generations to enjoy.

The Bord Gais deals are quite bizarre now that I look into them, they are willing to offer current customers 44% off and free electricity on Saturdays, but for new customers they offer 10% without the free day, so are way more expensive than competitors, what is the angle with that?

Somewhat, by which I mean 'totally', lacking in the essential ingredient of degeneracy.

So I vote wtf.
                                                                                                                Not true. Bridge tournaments run like poker tournaments. You pay the loots you win big loots if you bink. Serious amount of skill involved.

This could be your redemption story AJ. You come out of retirement and train me up. I'll go back to that school and win hearts and minds and then right as I'm elected Bridger-in-Chief I'll reveal that actually all along I was from the renegade AJ dojo, and maybe with reflection they should have learned from your mother rather than casting her out. This could be the greatest caper in Irish bridge history plus a heart-warming story for generations to enjoy.
                                                                                                                  Don't forget it's a team game. Shame I'm in Donegal we could have morphed into the dream team I can even relate to the manic depression given I'm bi polar. My dad was an excellent player and taught me when I was 12. Went to boarding school then and there was a bridge club. Haven't played in years. Thanks for planting the seed. Poker 3 nights a week and bridge tournaments once or twice sounds like an excellent balance. Cheers hitch and don't listen to horse head plough on and keep us posted. Gl gl​​​​​

Currently updating my linkedin profile to try to make it clear to everyone except people I work with that there's nothing i'd like more in life than to get the fuck out of where I work. Tis a delicate balancing act and I've the tact of an elephant.

Do academics use linkedin? Always imagined it to be pure word of mouth stuff.

I want to leave academia actually. Feel I've done all there is to do in it and don't really want another 20 years of it. Its a difficult one though as I'm well paid and possibly not qualified for anything outside of academia at the right salary level. Plus there might also be actual accountability in real jobs which is a no-go for obvious reasons. So might try to get something but take a career break when the brutal reality of the outside world shows its ugly self.

Its getting a bit Groundhog Day teaching the same courses for the 10th time this year but its still a golden ticket. I ain't ever leavin! Good chance I wouldn't leave for 2x salary. Imagine being answerable to someone.....Eeeew!