• Hectorjelly
    replied
    Newcastle PSG is great, Newcastle pressing like crazy, the French clearly upset they had to settle for English butter this morning.

Leave a comment:

• balfejohn
    replied
    Jaysus, thats a mad budget proposal from SF. They've clearly worked out that a certain percentage of people will vote for them no matter what they say, so instead want to concentrate on helping out richer people. Most of their 'housing budget' would be spent on mortgage-interest relief for people who already own housing. Even by lax standards thats brutal. https://www.independent.ie/irish-new.../a9022497.html

And you look through the proposals and nearly everything is about subsidising demand. While the problem that we very clearly have is that we need more supply.

I'm actually surprised at how bad the proposals are.
    A nation once again is their battle cry

Leave a comment:

• Hitchhiker's Guide To...
    replied
    Eoin Ó Broin outlined plans for a public housing programme delivering 21,000 social and affordable homes at a cost of €1.44 billion
    Missed this earlier. Homes for a mere €68,000 a pop.

Leave a comment:

replied

ah here this isnt HJ , who are you pedro?

Well my understanding of economics - you help the poor fkrs paying the bulk of the tax . Also the well off dont suffer the mortgage hikes as the working stiffs

Thought at least Hitch knew this stuff .
    The vast vast vast majority of their proposed mortgage interest relief would go to wealthier home owners, not those in peril.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    So here are the fruits of my homemade booze endeavours. Pretty heady stuff, nice after-dinner drink imo. Hic.

20231004_195649.jpg

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied
    Hope Spain have started investing in air conditioned stadiums

Leave a comment:

• MysteryGuest
    replied
    FIFA
    The 2030 World Cup is to be played on three continents after Morocco, Portugal and Spain won the race to host the 48-team tournament but Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay were gifted the opening three matches.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied
    Would you give the experience 5 wombats?

Leave a comment:

• Wombatman
    replied
    Walked the length and breath of the Ryder Cup Course, over 5 days, in the punishing heat, lugging this tripod around for HJ's viewing pleasure and what thanks do I get!

Once in a lifetime experience. Meters from the players for most shots, tee to green. With a mobile slow motion cameraman all week. Once the tee shot was hit we raced the players to the fairway to stand behind them for the fairway shots. Then another race to the green. Nearly killed me. 36 holes on the Friday and Saturday. Then running all over all over the course for the key events on Sunday. Normally have buggies but no buggies allowed on fairways for media at The Open and The Ryder Cup.

Reactions like this were what we were after.......

The scale of the event was mind boggling catering, security, transport, infrastructure etc, etc Delighted to be a small part of it. Even more delighted that we stuffed the yanks.

Played the better golf innit.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

if you help people in mortgage peril you are implicitly hurting those without mortgage peril - typically those with mortgages are better off than those without. Its like giving the dole to people who already have jobs
    ah here this isnt HJ , who are you pedro?

Well my understanding of economics - you help the poor fkrs paying the bulk of the tax . Also the well off dont suffer the mortgage hikes as the working stiffs

Thought at least Hitch knew this stuff .

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    FIFA have agreed that the Liverpool v Spurs game gets replayed.
    The game will be played at Wembley on Christmas Day as part of a double header with England v Argentina and the winner of that game will be awarded the 1986 World Cup after reviewing the Maradona Hand of God Goal that's a good decision. Now Ireland are looking for a replay against France due to the Thierry Henry's Handball that sent France to the World Cup.
    Hopefully the GAA have the ball's now to replay the 2021 under 20 Hurling all Ireland final.

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied

Odd take on it. How is helping those who are in mortgage peril bad?
    if you help people in mortgage peril you are implicitly hurting those without mortgage peril - typically those with mortgages are better off than those without. Its like giving the dole to people who already have jobs

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied

KK finish, or a 4 flush?
    KK turn river obvs. Max pain when you start fist pumping the flop and celebrating the title. Poker gods are a stern bunch

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied
    Great fun for 4 days down in Dingle/Killarney. Busted the Main when I felt I was going well enough to go a lot deeper, went on beer and mullered the Side Event

Got HU with a young Greek Lad and told him the only way I would play properly was if we played for all the loots (pint for second). He contemplated his 3/1 chiplead and decided against the gambool.

Ripped first hand with K2 off and he snapped with AJ. He did a dance something like yer man above in OPR's clip upon the JJ3 flop. Of course he had no hope of shipping the tourney by the river, poor lads head was gone. Much hilarity from the crowd watching
    KK finish, or a 4 flush?

Leave a comment:

• Murdrum
    replied
    Bert 'girafganger7' Stevens (Online poker crusher) started streaming on twitch a few months back, he looks like he is in the basement of a castle somewhere and while streaming he chain smokes cigarette's while often tilting out of his mind

He streamed winning the online WSOP for $2.7m on twitch.
    Young Irish guy finished 9th in that.

Leave a comment:

• Dice75
    replied
    Great fun for 4 days down in Dingle/Killarney. Busted the Main when I felt I was going well enough to go a lot deeper, went on beer and mullered the Side Event

Got HU with a young Greek Lad and told him the only way I would play properly was if we played for all the loots (pint for second). He contemplated his 3/1 chiplead and decided against the gambool.

Ripped first hand with K2 off and he snapped with AJ. He did a dance something like yer man above in OPR's clip upon the JJ3 flop. Of course he had no hope of shipping the tourney by the river, poor lads head was gone. Much hilarity from the crowd watching

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    As part of Sinn Féin’s plans, the opposition party would offer electricity to Irish households at the price it was before the energy crisis resulting from Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, by cutting how much suppliers could charge and then later reimbursing the companies.
    When did we become Iran? Good to see they learned their lesson from the cash for ash debacle.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Jaysus, thats a mad budget proposal from SF. They've clearly worked out that a certain percentage of people will vote for them no matter what they say, so instead want to concentrate on helping out richer people. Most of their 'housing budget' would be spent on mortgage-interest relief for people who already own housing. Even by lax standards thats brutal. https://www.independent.ie/irish-new.../a9022497.html

And you look through the proposals and nearly everything is about subsidising demand. While the problem that we very clearly have is that we need more supply.

Odd take on it. How is helping those who are in mortgage peril bad?

Leave a comment:

• Opr
    replied
    Bert 'girafganger7' Stevens (Online poker crusher) started streaming on twitch a few months back, he looks like he is in the basement of a castle somewhere and while streaming he chain smokes cigarette's while often tilting out of his mind

He streamed winning the online WSOP for $2.7m on twitch.

Leave a comment:

replied

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

Ahhh, The Mooch.

Yes another of those crazy things that really happened.

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied
    Republicans in the process of ousting their own Speaker right now. Unprecedented (almost).

Lunatics running the asylum.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Mad Vlad must be quietly sinking a vodka at this great news. And so cheaply bought too.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    Republicans in the process of ousting their own Speaker right now. Unprecedented (almost).

Lunatics running the asylum.

Leave a comment:

replied
    University rankings are stupid....Good on Utrecht for telling Times HE to GFY.
    Ah now. Higher ranked institutions are invariably better.

Leave a comment:

• dobby
    replied
    First of the LC grinds taking place here now - college student giving Child #1 Irish refresher after she realised she had forgotten it all during Transition Year.

Let's see how this plays out.
    If you need History or Geography grinds, i know a guy

IPB discount available.

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied
    First of the LC grinds taking place here now - college student giving Child #1 Irish refresher after she realised she had forgotten it all during Transition Year.

Let's see how this plays out.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Sorry I think you mean the Atlantic Technological University
    I struggled to not call it the RTC to be honest.

Leave a comment:

• zuutroy
    replied
    University rankings are stupid....Good on Utrecht for telling Times HE to GFY.

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied

Let the lad have a bit of Hyperbole. Not like he was trying to claim that Letterkenny IT was the premier educational institution in the country.
    Sorry I think you mean the Atlantic Technological University

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Trinity is 100 places ahead of them in the world university rankings. There's no comparison.
    Let the lad have a bit of Hyperbole. Not like he was trying to claim that Letterkenny IT was the premier educational institution in the country.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

Trinity is 100 places ahead of them in the world university rankings. There's no comparison.
    The Gretzky brothers . Tenous link.

Together, Wayne and Brent hold the NHL record for most combined points by two brothers - 2,857 for Wayne and 4 for Brent, and are second overall in points scored by any number of brothers (behind the six brothers of the Sutter family who combined for 2,934 NHL points - 73 more than Wayne and Brent.

Leave a comment:

replied

It's 2nd in the rankings, hardly that outlandish a claim, even if not factually correct.
    Trinity is 100 places ahead of them in the world university rankings. There's no comparison. One's an internationally acclaimed university, the other's an okay local university.

Leave a comment:

• 6starpool
    replied

Its an odd one. Its quite intriguing. You just have to try hard to suppress the memory of them describing UCD as our best university.
    It's 2nd in the rankings, hardly that outlandish a claim, even if not factually correct.

Leave a comment:

replied

Sound really shite
    Its an odd one. Its quite intriguing. You just have to try hard to suppress the memory of them describing UCD as our best university.

Leave a comment:

replied

I was about to post that this is Hitch levels of bad takes and then...

What did the French chef say to the foreign chef

Leave a comment:

• Lao Lao
    replied

French Rugby is like French food. Great in theory, disappointing in practice.
    I was about to post that this is Hitch levels of bad takes and then...

tbh I agree on French food. It's just fancy uses of butter.

Leave a comment:

• shrapnel
    replied
    Watching The Devils Plan on Netflix last night. Korean reality tv. Its a bit odd.

Starts by introducing one of the candidates: "here's Kim who graduated from Ireland's top university - University College Dublin. Like wtf?

There's then 20 minutes of everyone introducing themselves. Its not in any way a spoiler, but i'll put it in spoilers anyway.

There's two people sharing a room. One goes to the other - oh were you born in 1998 also, I thought you were older, thats great lets therefore address each other informally. Then - crisis - it turns out the other guy was actually born in 1997. Cue the original guy having a piece-to-camera: I messed up badly here, we have now reverted to addressing each other formally.

Essentially the competition is a serious of intelligent games. Below is a not-spoiler bit about the first episode game.

The first game is live werewolf. But they made it so ridiculously complicated it managed to take them about 30 minutes to explain the rules. Like the first round started with people drawing out charts in their notepads to work out all the complexity.

Started off hating it, but by the end of the first episode you'd be so caught up in the whole complexity of the thing. No idea whats going on.

There's also a bonus:

There's a Canadian guy who speaks Korean and really the attitude of everyone to him is madly condescending. Like that he has essentially escaped from a mixture of a lunatic asylum and special-ed class.
    We're really enjoying it tbh. Games are getting better as it goes on. I thought the werewolf game was great!

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    I remember years ago getting butter from the supermarket in those little parchment rolls. Not sure if it was Irish or French. Haven't seen it in years.

Is there any stockists of French butter were I can test Sharp's claims? F&B probably

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied
    Watching The Devils Plan on Netflix last night. Korean reality tv. Its a bit odd.

Starts by introducing one of the candidates: "here's Kim who graduated from Ireland's top university - University College Dublin. Like wtf?

There's then 20 minutes of everyone introducing themselves. Its not in any way a spoiler, but i'll put it in spoilers anyway.

There's two people sharing a room. One goes to the other - oh were you born in 1998 also, I thought you were older, thats great lets therefore address each other informally. Then - crisis - it turns out the other guy was actually born in 1997. Cue the original guy having a piece-to-camera: I messed up badly here, we have now reverted to addressing each other formally.

Essentially the competition is a serious of intelligent games. Below is a not-spoiler bit about the first episode game.

The first game is live werewolf. But they made it so ridiculously complicated it managed to take them about 30 minutes to explain the rules. Like the first round started with people drawing out charts in their notepads to work out all the complexity.

Started off hating it, but by the end of the first episode you'd be so caught up in the whole complexity of the thing. No idea whats going on.

There's also a bonus:

There's a Canadian guy who speaks Korean and really the attitude of everyone to him is madly condescending. Like that he has essentially escaped from a mixture of a lunatic asylum and special-ed class.
    Sound really shite

Leave a comment:

replied

There's also a bonus:

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    My last comment on linehan

https://archive.ph/6vYoX

"Then he goes on to argue that the transgender movement ‘produces no art’, adding, ‘There’s no great trans film. There’s no great trans creators of music. All the books that come out by trans authors are universally panned because of their incoherence.’
    I mean this is just insane, it's not rational it's just hatred.

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied
    Fk ye all. Now have to do a Lazare style late night feed with baked potato and some non French budda .

Beans on your baked Potato or is that the stuff of the rat head lower class ?

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied

Pretty sure they got the idea from Clarksons farm - cow juice on tap.
    Oh yeah the bottles look the same, I think there are a few places opening up doing it, seems to me like the key to it is the availability of the vending machine that does most of the work.

The place near me is on a bad bit of road that's busy enough but not a huge level of passing traffic and it looks like they don't even have a website but apparently are doing phenomenal business that is way ahead of their expectation.

Leave a comment:

replied

LOL French butter, unsalted shite, grand if you want to make pastry
    now i'm starting to doubt you on sf=terrorists and chavball. Like thats shocking.

The whole salted vs unsalted butter divides France - Brittany and surrounding regions pretty much only have salted, while Southern places have unsalted.

Famously when there was a great butter shortage around 2011 there was pictures from e.g. Bordeaux of "there's no butter left" showing an aisle of all the unsalted butter gone and the salted butter still stacked to the roofs, and the opposite for Brittany and surrounds.

I think though the demi-sel is widely considered the top butter.

Leave a comment:

replied

Thoughts and views on this, which I declare is the nicest Irish butter

https://www.glenstalfoods.com/produc...salted-butter/
    its phenomenal

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    important context in this is the journalist was murdered recently

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied

Who cares about Vapes? What are your thoughts on the great Irish/French butter debate?
    LOL French butter, unsalted shite, grand if you want to make pastry

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied
    I think if you witnessed a cow parlour in action you'd be hesitant to drink non pasteurised milk.
    Don't touch the stuff myself!

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied
    Speaking of quality Irish dairy products, I've had a revelatory experience in recent weeks after a neighbour opened a new business.

They put a vending machine in a small cabin in the yard of their farm where you can fill your own bottle with fresh milk , the milk is pasteurised but not homogenised and it is magnificent! It's hard to explain how great it is, there is no real comparison to be made the crap they sell in the shops bar they are both white liquids.

I poured and drank a glass of milk yesterday, it was as tasty as ice cream and as filling as as a meal and something I haven't done in probably more than thirty years since they stopped selling milk and replaced it with that watery chemical concoction you get in the shops!
    Pretty sure they got the idea from Clarksons farm - cow juice on tap.

Leave a comment:

• Micknail
    replied

That is so incredibly misinformed. Real French good quality butter is like nothing else in the world. Genuinely almost vomited when trying Kerrygold after moving back and even now we have Abernethy on bulk order. But Kerrygold is most definitely not good butter. Real French butter though is not President etc!
    Thoughts and views on this, which I declare is the nicest Irish butter

https://www.glenstalfoods.com/produc...salted-butter/

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied
    Speaking of quality Irish dairy products, I've had a revelatory experience in recent weeks after a neighbour opened a new business.

They put a vending machine in a small cabin in the yard of their farm where you can fill your own bottle with fresh milk , the milk is pasteurised but not homogenised and it is magnificent! It's hard to explain how great it is, there is no real comparison to be made the crap they sell in the shops bar they are both white liquids.

I poured and drank a glass of milk yesterday, it was as tasty as ice cream and as filling as as a meal and something I haven't done in probably more than thirty years since they stopped selling milk and replaced it with that watery chemical concoction you get in the shops!
    This stuff is good

http://rawmilkireland.com/where-to-buy/

Leave a comment:

• Denny Crane
    replied

Leave a comment:

• ComradeCollie
    replied

Divorced, limited time with your kids
    How best to spend your time?

That stand up was fucking awful btw.....Like really bad, drunken "thinks he's funny uncle" at a wedding
    Ah, sure the poor lad is such a sad place, that he's ended up having pints with the likes of me twice this year. He's no intentions of being a stand up comedian.

Leave a comment:

• Hectorjelly
    replied
    The absolute state of the fools trying to argue against banning disposable vapes that are targeted at children. Even our liberatardian wing here have given up on that one
    Who cares about Vapes? What are your thoughts on the great Irish/French butter debate?

Leave a comment:

• Murdrum
    replied

What would you recommend for the 'five mostly grown people plus a dog'-sized family? I'm ready to go E but haven't seen anything of the required capacity!
    https://youtube.com/@NobbyOnCars?si=zgvNPOBNH2TCFpGS

I think that guy is good for Irish based reviews.

Also a good site to check car dimensions: https://www.automobiledimension.com

Leave a comment:

• Strewelpeter
    replied

Leave a comment:

• pokerhand
    replied

For some reason a lot of Irish think their butter is good. It's not! It's awful.

French butter sold abroad is probably not great either tbh, but potentially still decent, and certainly better than others, but French butter sold in France is a whole other level.

Please don't compare Irish and French butter, it's like comparing the premier league and the airtricity league. There really is no comparison.
    Been to France a fair few times and don't remember anything particularly special about the butter

Leave a comment:

• Solksjaer!
    replied

Whereas you've lost your roots entirely. Looks at you jabbering on about rugby and golf.

Ronnie Drew would spit on you now. For shame.
    Rugger Union was my 2nd eggball love. Eddie Warring and his Rugby League commentary made up my Saturday sports menu. Seve was my sporting hero.( after Sean Kelly) Ronnie Understands

Leave a comment:

• Raoul Duke III
    replied

That is so incredibly misinformed. Real French good quality butter is like nothing else in the world. Genuinely almost vomited when trying Kerrygold after moving back and even now we have Abernethy on bulk order. But Kerrygold is most definitely not good butter. Real French butter though is not President etc!
    There's only one way to settle this.

Leave a comment: