Funny you should say that:

The Day The Labour Party Died

"Earlier in the week David Cameron called his ministers together for their political cabinet. It opened with some concerned analysis about the potential political consequences of a Corbyn victory. One minister pointed to the size of Labour’s potential activist base. Another noted how the enthusiasm for Corbyn amongst Labour supporters reminded him of the first stirrings of the SNP surge in Scotland. Then there was a pause. And then everyone started laughing. It was, they all agreed, a result beyond their wildest dreams."

IMO Labour had no realistic hope of winning the next election anyway, at least now they will provide a distinctive voice rather than Tory lite.
    The fact that a whole bunch of pro Tory newspapers have been 'concern trolling' the Labour party over their willingness to elect Corybyn is whatever. Your aim shouldn't be to ape your enemy or make decisions they approve of.

I'm not so sure tbh. To choose any of the other 'options' was tantamount to treading water tbh. I don't think 2020 is winnable for Labour given the Scottish situation, but any election thereafter is likely to see the Conservatives ousted considering the track record of the British electorate to eventually tire of one side. Labour had no clear vision of Britain back in May imo. Corbyn at least stands for something, and he'll force a reaction within Labour to shape a real Centre Left vision of British society - something that Miliband, Kendall et al were unable to offer.

Just as it suits people of a certain bent for Irish politics to involve FG / FF / Labour inhabiting the same ideological ground and pretending they're different; Conservatives would like a situation where it's them or a slightly lighter version of them as the options for the British electorate. So I'm sure some of the laughter is a bit put on. Will be interesting anyway, that much is inarguable.
      There is no way the laughter is put on. The same people who couldn't believe Labour lost the last election are cheering in this 'victory'. When the Tories win a stunning result the last thing you do is head off in the other direction! It's like they learnt nothing from the dream team of TB/Campbell/Mandelson. Labour are back to being irrelevant, principled opposition sure, but irrelevant. #TB4K

Labour got clobbered on the left in Scotland and are failing to ignite the under 40 activist base who are looking for a party of the left. In that context, moving further towards the Tories would not be sound strategy. Being honest, what's very irrelevant is the opinion of right leaning people on how a traditionally left leaning party should best go about their business! Being honest, Kinnock would have won in 1997 if he was still there. The Tories were getting dumped either way. People with a sense of political history see Corbyn as a throwback, but younger / less informed people might see him as a breath of fresh air.

Ultimately, becoming a shadow Conservative party makes getting elected pointless. Corbyn resets things, pushes Labour back to its roots and might mean that his successor in a couple of years time is someone who could offer a genuine Centre Left option. Kendall and Cooper are an irrelevance - they have nothing worthwhile to say.

I hear you Reggie I really do. Everyone has a right to form their own views on what was done etc and express them here. I certainly don't think GAB has covered himself in glory in this episode. I just don't think we can expect an explanation either given that this place is being actively stalked by people from other forums to try and glean ammunition. Others have done things which they aren't proud of and they got some stick over it and some of those people left.

Are we basically saying unless you post a detailed account of what happened you can't post here?? I don't know maybe we are and I'm 100% not objective in this case so there's that.

I liked Rag2gars posts and he was never a mate. I like GABs posts. Do we lose something if we keep a moral high ground? I'd like to see DannyDiamond back posting here if I'm honest and he was never a mate either. I get enough whiter than white stuff in my work and I like the whiff of cordite around here occasionally.

Hearing about the crazy shit people do and chortling away is part of the fun of IPB for me and maybe being part of the audience facilitates that poor moral behaviour but I'm only human.

It's a big part of why I used to play poker actually. Mixing with criminals and scumbags and people of the highest moral fibre. Basically all sorts. In no other sphere of my life would I mix with such an eclectic group and its quite liberating as well as eye opening. Living in a bubble is very dull and there is an honesty in some of the poor behaviour that you see in the poker world that is sort of charming actually. That last bit doesn't make sense and yet it's what I feel.

Thanks for the good wishes. In a lot of ways it's the fruition of 5+ years planning and yet we're so unprepared it's hilarious. She's great and my emotions are swinging off the charts at times here. Great times.
          Ah yeah the way I see it, everyone fucks up every now and again. They take the flak, serve their punishment if there is one for it and move on.

What Noel did was clearly wrong and would have angered quite a lot of people, regardless of whether they were involved or affected in any way. He has to live with any shit he gets as a result. I agree mostly with Lloyd(for a change) that badgering him for an explanation would be a step too far (and futile anyway I would guess).

As for the posters we have lost over the years; well it is a shame I guess. But they come and go. Legends lost like eagle_eye and kraken. And from the old boards days when there was a lot more strategy posted, the likes of bozzer and fuzzbox. Some others have sulked away because they can't handle a bit of stick. But as the old saying goes: fuck them if they can't take a joke.

‘But what has come home to me more than anything else is the utter futility of Opposition. I did not join the Labour Party to protest. I joined it as a party of government and I will make sure that it is a party of government’

The one bit of of advice is give is if the baby is nursing hammer home the benefits and bonding between baby and mother. The amount of time it will save from sterilising bottles is huge. Baby won't sleep as long though.
              So funny seeing all the men tips on rearing babies!

I agree that nursing is a great way for mother and baby to bond but IMO men can feel a bit left out as there is the bathing and nappy changing left for them if they want to join in. Although I don't agree on the babies not sleeping as long. I never had problems like that ever.

The lack of sterilising and making up bottles is a +++ benefit. When you go visiting you have a smaller changing back with travel pack wipes, couple of nappies and a change of clothes. I would also get hand sanitisers in the bag too. There are so many benefits to nursing. The savings are huge as well.

Labour got clobbered on the left in Scotland and are failing to ignite the under 40 activist base who are looking for a party of the left. In that context, moving further towards the Tories would not be sound strategy. Being honest, what's very irrelevant is the opinion of right leaning people on how a traditionally left leaning party should best go about their business! Being honest, Kinnock would have won in 1997 if he was still there. The Tories were getting dumped either way. People with a sense of political history see Corbyn as a throwback, but younger / less informed people might see him as a breath of fresh air.

Ultimately, becoming a shadow Conservative party makes getting elected pointless. Corbyn resets things, pushes Labour back to its roots and might mean that his successor in a couple of years time is someone who could offer a genuine Centre Left option. Kendall and Cooper are an irrelevance - they have nothing worthwhile to say.
                The world has moved on. People talking about 'traditional left' policies are stuck in a groove that is way past its sell-by date.

'Soggy middle/slightly right' is the only place to be if you want to govern in Europe these days. Even the Socialists know this.

Corbyn is as electable as Michael Foot or Neil Kinnock, both of whom were at least slightly in touch with the zeitgeist. Remember them? Nobody else does either.

What radio station would have match commentary?

Newstalk? Surely some radio in Manchester or Liverpool if you can get a long range signal or listen online?

Just tried talksport and wouldn't let me listen from Ireland. I'll see the second half anyway all isn't lost

Not missing much. Hopefully Martial gets a run out early in 2nd half.

'Soggy middle/slightly right' is the only place to be if you want to govern in Europe these days. Even the Socialists know this.
                          I think you're completely out of touch on this one. There is clearly a rapidly growing movement across the world who feel that capitalism has failed and an alternative approach is required. Corbyn, Sanders, Sinn Fein and Syriza are all part of a working class response to the financial crisis and shambling recovery.

Whether or not you think that approach is valid, if you think a huge portion of the electorate aren't right behind it and ready to vote then you've got huge blinkers on.

Not missing much. Hopefully Martial gets a run out early in 2nd half.
                            Glad to hear it's shite so far. Was working til 6. Just in the door now so gonna load up the second half.

Sanders is MILES away from Syriza and Corbyn!

Glad to hear it's shite so far. Was working til 6. Just in the door now so gonna load up the second half.
                                Beyond shite. Pool happy to sit back while United pass the ball around like a bunch of OAPs.

Sanders is MILES away from Syriza and Corbyn!
                                  So? His success still represents a rapidly growing leftist swing within his electorate.

I think you're completely out of touch on this one. There is clearly a rapidly growing movement across the world who feel that capitalism has failed and an alternative approach is required. Corbyn, Sanders, Sinn Fein and Syriza are all part of a working class response to the financial crisis and shambling recovery.

Whether or not you think that approach is valid, if you think a huge portion of the electorate aren't right behind it and ready to vote then you've got huge blinkers on.
                                    Should move to Venezuela

I'll remove the blinkers when their representatives get elected to govern, implement their policies and don't cut and run at the first sign of trouble.
                                      So that rules out Syriza.
                                      Corbyn has 4 years in Opposition to think about things.
                                      Sanders is a flash in the pan (like Trump on the other side), he is completely unelectable (he's a European liberal's wet dream of a US President).
                                      Sinn Fein won't be part of the next government either.

Otherwise it's student politics masturbatory fantasies.

Come back to me when these guys start getting real majorities and actually implementing their daft policies. Meanwhile, back in the world, the majority of the western world will continue to vote for politicians who give them what they want.

So? His success still represents a rapidly growing leftist swing within his electorate.
                                        what success? nobody has voted yet

I suppose we're going to see a Trump-Sanders runoff

I slightly think that Corbyn will surprise on the upside. He seems to have a very decent way about him. He'll be 70 though at next election.
                                            worked for Reagan (although he is clearly not a politician of the same stature)

That's goal of the season sewn up.

Herrera needs to be sacked for ducking and covering his head.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 12-09-15, 18:18.

That's goal of the season sewn up.

Herrera needs to be sacked for ducking and covering his head.
                                                  I dunno would I say goal of the season this early. But talk about making fools of the entire defence

Paging AJ. Watching the barca game and the sideline ads appear to be different depending on which camera is looking at them. Explain please!

A thought: the most successful Labour vote-getter of the last 40 years was.......Tony Blair.

What does that say about the British and their desired alternative to the Conservatives? Answers on a postcard to the usual address.

Paging AJ. Watching the barca game and the sideline ads appear to be different depending on which camera is looking at them. Explain please!
                                                        Wow, that is freaky. I can't stop looking at the changing ads now.

edit:
                                                        This crowd seem to have a contract with La Liga to provide different ads for different broadcast partners, so presumably thats what happening when we get the Betfair ad on the penalty box camera angle.
                                                        Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 12-09-15, 19:14.

Very occasionally when you see close ups of players on the far touchline it looks like bad green screen work. I assume it's something of that nature. Seems the ads in the stadium aren't scrolling at all.

I dunno would I say goal of the season this early. But talk about making fools of the entire defence
                                                            How did he make fools of them. A defender got a head on the cross and it fell for Benteke. Obviously it was a sublime piece of brilliance but not sure about making fools out of the defence with it.

And it will take something spectacular to beat that imo. The skill and agility involved is just sick.

How did he make fools of them. A defender got a head on the cross and it fell for Benteke. Obviously it was a sublime piece of brilliance but not sure about making fools out of the defence with it.

And it will take something spectacular to beat that imo. The skill and agility involved is just sick.
                                                              Martial m8

Martial m8
                                                                Meh. It was a good finish but all he really did was beat Skrtel and I'd expect a player like Martial to beat players like him for fun. He has a long way to go yet but I was happy to see that. For the price tag he better do that a few times this season.

@horatio. tickets.ie on Facebook now have a comp for tickets. Presume it be the same on twitter.

so sick of being tagged in this, it is not me like lol

In Neary's upstairs and possible aquarium donations later

Terry is past it.

Meh. It was a good finish but all he really did was beat Skrtel and I'd expect a player like Martial to beat players like him for fun. He has a long way to go yet but I was happy to see that. For the price tag he better do that a few times this season.

@horatio. tickets.ie on Facebook now have a comp for tickets. Presume it be the same on twitter.
                                                                        Cheers for all the help Dobby. Delighted that you have some sporting success to celebrate THIS weekend

Lol.I'd reverse the 3-1 scoreline for number 38.

No bother. I got sorted with a ticket from a member here last year so I'm only too happy to try and return the favour to this place and help another member.

First night in NYC yesterday, snapped this photo of Freedom Tower etc from the roof of where we are staying

New York City Skyline by Stephen Devine, on Flickr

In Neary's upstairs and possible aquarium donations later
                                                                                  Spent the last 2 hours with Rag2gar chasing Solks around the city to no avail. Currently in Houricans but dont have ur number in my phone anymore?

Heading to aquarium now
                                                                                    Last edited by elbows; 13-09-15, 10:35.

Met elbows. Lost elbows. Now in La Cave with Rag2gar. If i could post a pic i would......

A thought: the most successful Labour vote-getter of the last 40 years was.......Tony Blair.

What does that say about the British and their desired alternative to the Conservatives? Answers on a postcard to the usual address.
                                                                                          #TB4K

He seems a decent sort and personally I think the "left" needed a "leftie" to give it a shake but I cant get an answer to this simple question from anybody

If he is the guy to save/change everything, where has he been for the last 30 years?

He seems a decent sort and personally I think the "left" needed a "leftie" to give it a shake but I cant get an answer to this simple question from anybody

If he is the guy to save/change everything, where has he been for the last 30 years?
                                                                                              A lad I know who has been working with and known Corbyn through his job with an English trade union since the 80's has no time for him at all.
                                                                                              He has described him as a bit evil, someone will do anything to get what he wants. He says he has noticed in particular that he is only interested in engaging with people who are less educated and less clever than himself.
                                                                                              I was very surprised that he had such strong opinions against him.

Its going to be very interesting to see how it plays out. Obviously there is close to 0% chance he ever becomes PM.
                                                                                              I suppose 'New Labour' and whats left of LibDems will have to come together to form a centre left party but I doubt very much that they will get that point or even if they do get it well enough established in time to threaten the Tories next time around.

Might be of interest to all those with babies due soon. From next Thursday.

https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/thur-17-sept/

so sick of being tagged in this, it is not me like lol

You are so right, you don't have your tongue pierced! Other than that though...

Cocktails this weekend

What is the blind pig like, is it better than VCC?
                                                                                                    I dunno but I hate them already.
                                                                                                    Yeah both cocktail places are wankers as far as I know.
                                                                                                    Want to know which wanker makes better drinks, and plus I have to keep a hip profile.
                                                                                                    I don't know him personally but I've met the guy who owns the blind pig and he's a genuinely nice guy and very knowledgeable when it comes to making cocktails. Have drank a couple he made after asking what type of things you like and they were delish

The whole e-mail, secret thing is obviously a marketing strategy and I can see why some people wouldn't like it but if you want good cocktails, I'd say you'd struggle to do better in Dublin

Originally posted by Fiery Wasabi View Post
                                                                                                      Might be of interest to all those with babies due soon. From next Thursday.

https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/thur-17-sept/
                                                                                                      Chicken curry looks nice. Might stock up ☺

A lad I know who has been working with and known Corbyn through his job with an English trade union since the 80's has no time for him at all.
                                                                                                        He has described him as a bit evil, someone will do anything to get what he wants. He says he has noticed in particular that he is only interested in engaging with people who are less educated and less clever than himself.
                                                                                                        I was very surprised that he had such strong opinions against him.

Its going to be very interesting to see how it plays out. Obviously there is close to 0% chance he ever becomes PM.
                                                                                                        I suppose 'New Labour' and whats left of LibDems will have to come together to form a centre left party but I doubt very much that they will get that point or even if they do get it well enough established in time to threaten the Tories next time around.
                                                                                                        Pollytoybee sorts, who you would have thought would be loving this, have been very against him, the whole "he is actually a cunt" thing might be a big part of the reason!?

if what your mate says is true, the dropping of the mask should give plenty of popcorn moments

With regard to labour/libs etc
                                                                                                        Due to the first past the post system, none of the parties are who they should be!
                                                                                                        None would give up chance of power, maybe the Scottish thing will shake up a few parties and get a new balance to it, but as long as they keep voting like children it won't really matter

Big day in The Curragh today for GAB.

Hopefully Now or Never does the business for them, though it looks like a very strong race as you'd expect.

Whatever happened with the Hastings saga Noel has contributed so much joy to racing fans around here.

Originally posted by Sirtoyou View Post
                                                                                                            Big day in The Curragh today for GAB.

Hopefully Now or Never does the business for them, though it looks like a very strong race as you'd expect.

Whatever happened with the Hastings saga Noel has contributed so much joy to racing fans around here.
                                                                                                            On this, he was NEVER going to come on here and tell the tale, yet ye kept pumping that hastings fucking thread

What was gained from it?
                                                                                                            Nothing

What was lost?
                                                                                                            Horsie tips==cash money

can we drop this shit please and get back to what really matters, 33/1 shots pissing up in the 18:45 on a cold Tuesday night in Dundalk
                                                                                                            Last edited by Guest; 13-09-15, 10:19.

I was in the blind pig a few weeks ago. I'm probably a bit of a rube but I thought the whole fake speakeasy thing was good craic, enjoyable having a bit of banter with the lads standing at the pub alongside the entrance when typing in the code and opening the big gate to get in. A bit of a buzz walking down the dingy lane and worrying that you're in the wrong place and all that, and then when you actually get into the bar itself it's very cool.

I don't mind the gimmick side of it, we have a hell of a lot of drinking holes that are carbon copies of one another with their ghastly chrome bars and Chris fucking Brown soundtracks so something a bit different makes for an enjoyable change of scene the odd time.

The cocktails themselves were class tbf

Declan lynch delivering today, some good lines here re the rugby world cup and doping
                                                                                                                It is deeply interesting that the Toulon club, three-time winners of the European Club Rugby Championship, has been caught up in an investigation by French authorities in relation to allegations of doping.

Last edited by Guest; 13-09-15, 20:18.

Heard the Wolf of Wall Street gig was even worse than expected. After the early reg he didn't turn up til 3.30, ran through it as quickly as possible and was out the door. At some stage the attendees of those events should realise the easy path to success is running seminars.

I was in the blind pig a few weeks ago. I'm probably a bit of a rube but I thought the whole fake speakeasy thing was good craic, enjoyable having a bit of banter with the lads standing at the pub alongside the entrance when typing in the code and opening the big gate to get in. A bit of a buzz walking down the dingy lane and worrying that you're in the wrong place and all that, and then when you actually get into the bar itself it's very cool.

I don't mind the gimmick side of it, we have a hell of a lot of drinking holes that are carbon copies of one another with their ghastly chrome bars and Chris fucking Brown soundtracks so something a bit different makes for an enjoyable change of scene the odd time.

Do you have to book every time or can you just pop in now you know the details?

Heard the Wolf of Wall Street gig was even worse than expected. After the early reg he didn't turn up til 3.30, ran through it as quickly as possible and was out the door. At some stage the attendees of those events should realise the easy path to success is running seminars.
                                                                                                                        Anthony Robbins coming to Ireland in January for the pendulum summit, €445 for an early bird Premium ticket might seem a bit steep but then he has created a " 5 hour masterclass that will truly transform your life"

Meself and the missus have been to the VCC a few times.
                                                                                                                          Good craic in all fairness. We tried for the blind pig once or twice but always left it too late.