Don't be eating protein yogurt, protein makes you feel full. Started seeing fucking protein Mars bars in shops. fuck off. Hit the carbs man, all the carbs. Its the dream. Pretty sure you could do this with bread alone

I definitely would not eat there after that phonecall.

I'd tell them to stick it up their bollix.
      Could be the answer to your diet problems

Rock up, ask for a table knowing they're full. Let them take your number and let you know when there is a table. Go skull a geansie load of pints round the corner, then come back later for a big feed [emoji2]

Pub life is the grimmest. Remember one afternoon working behind the bar and two hardliners are sitting at the bar. One is telling the other about how his doctor told him he must give up the drink.

His comrade says to him with not a hint of a joke 'Don't mind that fucker, those cunce only say that to keep you alive and get more money out of ye'
        That was a private convo mate.

Started reading that Leif GW Person guy RDIII recommended ... Some fairly class misanthropy going on there
          It's quality stuff tbf

Love his obsession with his"super salami".

And the servicing thereof

Need bbv's collective wisdom to come up with an eating plan that will help me put on a stone or slightly more. Lost too much weight recently and need to put it back on.

Work your magic guys.
            As per all the stuff above, just eat more. Get enough protein and do some resistance/weight training if you want to encourage muscle gain (as opposed to fat mass) as much as possible.

Eat real food with lots of natural fats (butter, coconut, avocado, olive oil, etc).
            Go for the less lean cuts of mean - ie the tasty stuff.
            Burgers, bread, pizza. Chips, rice, pasta with dinner
            Opt for drinks with calories instead of water. Milk is ideal, but juice and similar will do.
            Squeeze in an extra meal by having a breakfast smoothie (on top of your breakfast)
            Snack as much as possible, nuts are good. Breadsticks, toast etc with a creamy dip.

Keeping track of cals is a god idea. It will realize at 10pm that you are 300 cals short and raid the fridge to try figure out what you can make. That's could be the difference between gaining weight and staying the same.

Gaining weight is easy. A lot more enjoyable that dieting.
            Making sure it muscle over fat is the hard part. But at 60kg, you are probably quite lean so either will be a plus for you.

Pub life is the grimmest. Remember one afternoon working behind the bar and two hardliners are sitting at the bar. One is telling the other about how his doctor told him he must give up the drink.

His comrade says to him with not a hint of a joke 'Don't mind that fucker, those cunce only say that to keep you alive and get more money out of ye'
              Your pub clearly doesn't have anywhere near enough blond Fulham burds in short skirts!

Strange evening's film fare. Acquiesced to Finding Dory then went home and watched Shrap's Turkish film Mustang.

I also realised this week that I think Jonah Hill may be my favourite actor atm.

Gaining weight is easy.
                  Not always mate.

Proper build you up/ keep you going/ all you need smoothie.

Mix whatever ingredients and liquid you want and add complan. ( prefer strawberry myself)

Not always mate.
                      Fair enough. I meant for the general population. Excluding somebody with a wasting disease, condition or undergoing chemo etc. The laws of mass and energy apply to everyone. For the most part people who constantly struggle to put on weight are in all likelihood eating less than average without realising it.

But easy was probably the wrong word to be fair. As to them, it feels like that eat loads, that are genuinely full when ever they eat. The same way a person with the opposite problem, might naturally have a much greater appetite.

Replace easy with straightforward in that case. The rules are the same for everyone, how easy/hard you find it depends on your appetite/willpower/circustances.

went out of my way to visit a friend last month in namibia. long story short when i was going for a dip in the river there would be guys using stones to shave every hair/pube on their body. No women were allowed. I dont know if they like them hairy or but thats what they were at. Others were just having a swim like me. I never seen the need to shave anything bar my face but though not really hairy upon my return i ordered a multiple razor body shaving device. ( no plug because you could get better too many heads that dont fit not like your shaving a dog)

It came last week but only opened it earlier. Was thinking just get rid of a few stray chest hair or trim down anything out of place. Top of crack needed a trim job etc. After getting rid of most chest hair........i moved on to trim my pubes. This trim resulted in fuck it lets just shave everything down there..........oh ooooooo the growth back is bad apparently i think i need a stone too.

Long story short anybody else shave pubes for none gay reason

couldnt shave the ball sack but its trim. think im all in on that now and go to a pro......
                        Last edited by mugsy; 02-09-16, 01:39.

]Regarding Taylor Swift i think if you give people anything for free. They will take it for free.

Little girl learns important lesson. Don't take sweets from strangers and don't swim with them. Yis are all on the make. I trust you as far as she could throw you.
                          Last edited by Guest; 02-09-16, 02:52.

The cutie almost has it. Now she only needs to learn some sass and ball kicking techniques and to then sprint. As I am about to. Ciao.

Reminds me lazare of the woman who told her husband she wanted bigger breasts. He said rub some toilet paper down between your breasts every day. She said will that work.

He says well it did for your arse

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 02-09-16, 07:40.

Originally posted by mugsy View Post
                                    long story short when i was going for a dip in the river there would be guys using stones to shave every hair/pube on their body.
                                    I've been thinking about this for the last while. Trying to figure out is that where using the sharp edge of stone to shave the hairs off. Or a rough flat face to get rid via abrasion.
                                    Not sure which would be the least pleasant either.

Strange evening's film fare. Acquiesced to Finding Dory then went home and watched Shrap's Turkish film Mustang.

I also realised this week that I think Jonah Hill may be my favourite actor atm.
                                      did you enjoy it at least? thoughts?

I had a problem all my teen life till I was about 22 with my weight. No matter what I eat I could not get up a blooming pound. Saw nutritionist, drs, and anyone that could help and was just told it was genetics as my mum's family all the same. (My kids are extremely thin too)

I had a friend who took an ant depressant called seroxat and she was told a side effect was weight gain, bingo, answer to my prayers...

I used to get stopped in the street to ask if I was OK, hot pulled back from hopping on a train with a smart arse guy saying I could slip down the space between the platform and door.. got teased so much I was totally miserable. Because of my pale colouring people assumed I was pale and gaunt due to anorexia or something. I desperately wanted to gain a bit.

Went to the Dr and told her I was having panic attacks, which I was but said stuff so she would go in the direction of the tablets my friend had. Got them and within 3 months I gained 3 stone and regretted it ever since.

I did not expect that, thought a stone which I needed anyway. And fought with my weight ever since.

Careful for what you wish for. I wish I was still able to eat what I want with no consequence. I would have naturally filled out a hit when I had kids like my mum did. I was so desperate that I made a stupid decision. On them for 10 months just and I rue the day I heard of them

I'm an expert in putting on weight.

Been doing it for years.

Cider, white wine (liquid cake), white bread, carbs, sugar, sugar, sugar, no excersize & pizza. Basically up calorie intake to 3k per day. Avoid protein as it'll make you feel full (the Atkins diet). Lots of dairy. The low fat yogurts are full of sugar.

I just put on a stone and a half in two months with the above diet.

Now to take it off....

It's quality stuff tbf

Love his obsession with his"super salami".

And the servicing thereof
                                              I've started with Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End, it wasn't the first book he published but AFAIK its where Backstrom begins, he's a minor character in it so far

Hes some hero his best scene so far has been when he's called in to explain what was going on after a night on the piss he left a 2AM message on the answering machine of a domestic violence victim he was chasing.

“You were so fucking loaded you can hardly hear what you’re saying,” interrupted Jack Daniels. “Drunk,” Bäckström burst out indignantly. “I was cold sober and standing there, brushing my teeth. I was about to go to bed. It was just past ten, I guess. I was standing there brushing my teeth, and that’s no doubt why it sounds a little unclear.” Ingenious, thought Bäckström. “Yes, yes,” said Lindberg, raising his hands like some fucking Pentecostal preacher. “Then I believe we’re clear on this matter.”

I've been thinking about this for the last while. Trying to figure out is that where using the sharp edge of stone to shave the hairs off. Or a rough flat face to get rid via abrasion.
                                                Not sure which would be the least pleasant either.
                                                I think they bring the stones with them to wash. Found them whatever but the smooth part is yeah basically abrasion. It would be rough shaving any significant hair with a stones edges but i guess you have to start somewhere if not using a razor.

Out of curiosity, Why?
                                                    I carry cash most of the time. But I'll usually to opt my card, ironically so I can hold on the the cash.
                                                    Tap and Go is especially handy.
                                                    Putting less info out there. And just denying my bank the .20c charge to use my card out of sheer spite

Chilling post on the pin on the apple ruling by the same guy who did the section 110 stuff recently

. MNCs are only in Ireland for the EU TP rules - Period. If these EU TP rules are amended, then even if Ireland's tax rate is 0%, we are useless to MNCs. In fact we are worse then useless. Without EU TP rules, MNCs would be in a panic to re-locate their Irish jobs into Europe's highest tax countries, so as to maximise the tax relief on these costs.

i.e. (Repeating from earlier):

Sell iPhone in Germany for €500
                                                      Take away €150 (Apple China manufacturing) and €50 (German marketing).
                                                      You are left with German profit of €300.

Option A (current system in a reformed EU TP world):
                                                      Subtract German tax of €100 (33%) and send €200 Ireland.
                                                      Subtract Irish Costs of €100 and send €100 remainder to the US.

Option B (more likely system in a reformed EU TP world):
                                                      Move all Irish jobs to Germany.
                                                      Subtract another €100 (Irish costs moved) from earlier German profit.
                                                      You are now left with German profit of €200m.
                                                      Subtract Geman tax of €66 (33%) and send €137 to the US.

Which option will Apple take ?

2. Without the UK Veto, our days of abusing the EU TP (transfer pricing) system may be ending. In 2011, the EU Commission launched its proposal to kill aggressive EU TP of IP assets. It was called the CCCTB. While 8 countries voted against it, several were voting as favors to the UK (Poland especially, in return for social welfare payment

My local petrol station has started stocking Gakway Bay Brewery beers,including Full Sail. Drooool

Never been able to put on weight . even when eating and living unhealthy. Would love to try out being a fat cunt for a while

Dental hygienist visit with no injections there. Would happily give away state secrets rather than go through that torture again.

Kids these days though. Think i probably got an Enid Blyton book for my birthdays back at that age in order to pick up some handy tips on how girls should do housework, fat kids should be called Fatty, gypsies were thieves, and black kids were golliwogs

And soft cunts were called softy.

Melania trump suing Daily mail for claims she worked as an escort. Nothing but net with the Trumps

Had a conversation with a country publican recently

'How's business?'

'Terrible, they are all dying off, our last ten pinter died last week, only two eight pinters and a couple of oul wans keeping the fucking doors open'

can confirm - my parents own a country pub and if it wasnt for the "old regulars" the place would be shut long ago. I could never be an alcoholic I dont think. when I wake up after a heavy night the last thing I want to look at is another drink.

I've started with Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End, it wasn't the first book he published but AFAIK its where Backstrom begins, he's a minor character in it so far

Hes some hero his best scene so far has been when he's called in to explain what was going on after a night on the piss he left a 2AM message on the answering machine of a domestic violence victim he was chasing.

“You were so fucking loaded you can hardly hear what you’re saying,” interrupted Jack Daniels. “Drunk,” Bäckström burst out indignantly. “I was cold sober and standing there, brushing my teeth. I was about to go to bed. It was just past ten, I guess. I was standing there brushing my teeth, and that’s no doubt why it sounds a little unclear.” Ingenious, thought Bäckström. “Yes, yes,” said Lindberg, raising his hands like some fucking Pentecostal preacher. “Then I believe we’re clear on this matter.”
                                                                    I've only read that Sword of Justice one.

here is our hero meeting his new young colleague, daughter of his best friend:

A week later he had met her for the first time. She had come over to see him, and when she walked into his office she lit up the room with her smile as she held out her hand and introduced herself.
                                                                    ‘Jenny Rogersson,’ Jenny Rogersson said. ‘It’s good to meet Dad’s best friend at last.’
                                                                    ‘Please, take a seat,’ he said, pointing at his visitor’s chair. There’s no way you’re related to that hideous bastard, he thought. Must be candid camera, someone taking the piss, he thought.

Now she was sitting there again, with her skirt halfway up her thighs, leaning forward slightly, with her long blond hair, her red lips, white teeth and the deep cleavage between her pendulous breasts. A whole box of delights within easy reach, and all he had to do was lean forward and grab hold of her.
                                                                    ‘What can I do for you, Jenny?’ Bäckström asked. He leaned back in his chair and gave her his Clint smile. Just a half-Clint to start with, so she didn’t do the splits there and then, he reasoned.

I was dead set on doing endocrinology coming towards the end of college. I thought it was brilliant that you could work in a field that will realistically have a huge impact on health in the future - obesity, diabetes & heart disease will be the biggest detriments to health towards the middle and end of our lifetime.

Did a few electives in it and completely changed my mind. Put simply people will break your heart. Most arent motivated to change, most will lie straight to your face and they all want to tell you why it isnt their fault they are fat and have diabetes.

Point is - only a tiny % of the population actually "can't" put on our lose weight. Everyone else it just not bothered putting in the effort to try and thats the simple truth behind it (*runs for the hills)

this is partly why I changed track to do surgery.

I was dead set on doing endocrinology coming towards the end of college. I thought it was brilliant that you could work in a field that will realistically have a huge impact on health in the future - obesity, diabetes & heart disease will be the biggest detriments to health towards the middle and end of our lifetime.

Did a few electives in it and completely changed my mind. Put simply people will break your heart. Most arent motivated to change, most will lie straight to your face and they all want to tell you why it isnt their fault they are fat and have diabetes.

Point is - only a tiny % of the population actually "can't" put on our lose weight. Everyone else it just not bothered putting in the effort to try and thats the simple truth behind it (*runs for the hills)

what's your views on a fat tax BK?

Putting less info out there. And just denying my bank the .20c charge to use my card out of sheer spite
                                                                          Ah right, I don't get charged to use mine. I would use it as much if I did.

Agree 100% on what you are saying there BK.

It is not nice when you can not, no matter what you eat put weight on. My mum just used to say..

"You can't fatten a thoroughbred"

Didn't help me feel better

Chilling post on the pin on the apple ruling by the same guy who did the section 110 stuff recently

. MNCs are only in Ireland for the EU TP rules - Period. If these EU TP rules are amended, then even if Ireland's tax rate is 0%, we are useless to MNCs. In fact we are worse then useless. Without EU TP rules, MNCs would be in a panic to re-locate their Irish jobs into Europe's highest tax countries, so as to maximise the tax relief on these costs.
                                                                              It'll be fine.

And I refuse to panic about this until RD3 starts talking about impending foodshortage riots and suggesting moving money abroad. Even then it'll still probably be fine.

I .
                                                                                That might be controversial to some, but it's true imo.
                                                                                I wouldn't consider small or large appetites (even if hormonal), metabolism, etc to qualifier as can't, but definitely harder.
                                                                                Can't is the people with rare conditions, that don't grow cells or whatever.

what's your views on a fat tax BK?
                                                                                  A sugar tax would be just as much about raising awareness rather than acting as a real deterrent to unhealthy eating. There needs to be cultural change somewhat similar to what happened with smoking. Ireland is pretty progressive in that regard but first of all we need to decide on what actually is "healthy" and start delivering that message in schools.

I still think we are a long way off it though. Just look at the amount of resistance Michelle Obama is facing in the States trying to combat child obesity. The lobbying power these companies have is unbelivable

A sugar tax would be just as much about raising awareness rather than acting as a real deterrent to unhealthy eating. There needs to be cultural change somewhat similar to what happened with smoking. Ireland is pretty progressive in that regard but first of all we need to decide on what actually is "healthy" and start delivering that message in schools.

I still think we are a long way off it though. Just look at the amount of resistance Michelle Obama is facing in the States trying to combat child obesity. The lobbying power these companies have is unbelivable
                                                                                    Standing desks at schools, no homework and after school supervised sports would be a good start.

All this endless bs about health education and giving people the right info. Get the structures right and stop wasting money on meaningless health "campaigns".

At this stage I just despair at the insanity of the so called health and education planning combined with the power of inertia and lobbying for the failed status quo to be maintained.

Sell iPhone in Germany for €500
                                                                                          Take away €150 (Apple China manufacturing) and €50 (German marketing).
                                                                                          You are left with German profit of €300.
                                                                                          Maybe I'm confused about this but those figures make absolutely no sense to me.

Saying that is German profit is utter nonsense. There is a sales tax in Germany and that is theircut. The local distributors profits are subject to corporation tax in Germany but you simply cannot say that 300 profit has accrued in Germany just because something that can be manufactured in China for 150 was sold in Germany for 500.
                                                                                          The profit was made mostly in California and a little bit here where EMEA sales and distribution are run from surely

did you enjoy it at least? thoughts?
                                                                                            It's an interesting film. My energy at time of watching didn't quite match the energy of the film, but I still found it enjoyable. The lead actor was fascinating to watch. I didn't experience much emotion until the last camera shot, and then unexpectedly felt very emotional. I think a part of that was that it was a teacher and what that represents, and it reminded me of the Afghan girl Malala and her film from last year.

I thought the scene with the the married couple panicking over the lack of blood on the sheets really interesting.

It really did highlight the tyranny of response to the spectre of adolescent female sexuality in traditional, rural, patriarchal societies. Turkey is interesting in that it is at the frontier of the two worlds. Which I think is a reason Turkey gets a lot of animosity from within Europe. It's not sufficiently radically "other" to be dismissed, it's close enough to our modernity to be despised for the parts which are not. Hence the Istanbul v small rural town culture and ideology contrast in the film.

I thought the different responses to of the girls to the issue was really interesting, although there was a clear narrative agenda that the youngest one's was "the one to admire and root for". Easy enough for a writer / director who grew up in France as a cosmopolitan daughter of diplomat.

It got me thinking about the nature of the economic forces which underpin all of this, or at least are its origins. And the relationships between agrarian economics, female sexuality, cuckolding, gene propagation, and how they all interact to produce cultures which constitute power and freedom. And even the difficulties in historical cultural transitions when these things are refied as "values", and not understood as merely arising in dependence upon conditions, and when the conditions change then they will change (key Buddhist perspective).

As for Finding Dory, I was surprised by it. I don't watch children's films so there was lots that I didn't expect. Firstly I was surprised by how traumatic some of it was. Mostly films have some nuance and subtlety in evoking emotional responses, but obviously kids' films don't judging by this. It was like a sledge hammer in inducing emotions.

Because of what I do and how emotionally open and sensitive I have to be to do it, I am careful of what I expose myself to outside of work. So I avoid much news for example, wouldn't watch a gruesome horror, and would be touch and go seeing V for Vendetta in one of his ties.

I genuinely found some of Finding Dory emotionally unpleasant for me at times. It was too much. A ridiculously cute baby fish feeling shame due to a learning disability, and being alone and confused in the world was hard to watch.

I was also surprised at the message of the film, in that I didn't know Pixar films had these messages. It was a message not to kids, but to the adults watching - parents, teachers etc. to have faith in the abilities of neurologically atypical kids kids beyond their difficulty, and to not secret them away safe from the world out of fear, which also entails having faith in the spirit of generosity of those they will meet on their journey. Provide a safe base, not a safe.

They definitely made a strange decision with the humour of those sea lions bullying that strange other sea lion though, given that the bullies were not villains in the film, and the bullied one was a source of victim humour. I don't see how that fits in with the rest of it, as the final scene (post credits) was him still being bullied in the end.

You would never guess I am trying to procrastinate and avoid writing something today would you? Reviews of Finding Dory and feminist Turkish films that only Shrap has seen!

That might be controversial to some, but it's true imo.
                                                                                              I wouldn't consider small or large appetites (even if hormonal), metabolism, etc to qualifier as can't, but definitely harder.
                                                                                              Can't is the people with rare conditions, that don't grow cells or whatever.
                                                                                              Tottenham's new Kenyan midfielder Victor Wanyama who grew up in a tough place said something last week in an interview that really resonated with me and I thought was quite insightful - "Failing is just when you're not ready to fight."

I actually tossed him a bone with the gimme bet on the FTSE100 falling this year, as felt his economic predicting confidence took too much of a battering with the constant misfires during the financial crisis years. Feel he's now at the level to come back firing about how we're all doomed.
                                                                                                Nice of you to give a sucker an even break.

I don't think we're all doomed. How this plays out though is of critical importance to the balance of our economy which is very heavily weighted towards FDI and the success thereof. It's the MNC sector that pulled us out of the doom spiral after all. MNCs are great for Ireland

If MNCs leave due an externally-imposed 'tax shock', we are in deep doo-doo. We just don't have the native capacity to create growth on our own.

The difference between the last crisis and now is that the last crisis was internally created and was 100% certain (from about 2003 on) to end in disaster.
                                                                                                This one might not lead to a crisis at all, in fact I'm reasonably sanguine that it won't. I'd say it's a less than 25% chance.
                                                                                                But if it does, it will be ultra-doomy and there will be coming back from it as our key engine of economic growth will be gone.

So to summarise:

RD3 not doomy this but aware that this doom would be very doomish indeed if such doom came to pass

There's no fat kids in France.
                                                                                                  there were plenty of right porky native kids where we were on holiday

thats different, looking porky is the new nationalism and goes hand-in-hand with banning burkinis in an effort to stick it to the muslims
                                                                                                        Some of them were Muslims. There were in fact some porky burkini-wearers. My kids used to swim over to them and stare at them in amazement.

Which is probably the most rational response and the one most likely to lead to an outbreak of peace and harmony.

In fairness, she grabbed a ton of headlines with her campaign,when in actual fact she sold her ass to the large companies, at a point where she really could have done something

Self regulatory bodies me hole!

It's an interesting film. My energy at time of watching didn't quite match the energy of the film, but I still found it enjoyable. The lead actor was fascinating to watch. I didn't experience much emotion until the last camera shot, and then unexpectedly felt very emotional. I think a part of that was that it was a teacher and what that represents, and it reminded me of the Afghan girl Malala and her film from last year.

I thought the scene with the the married couple panicking over the lack of blood on the sheets really interesting.

It really did highlight the tyranny of response to the spectre of adolescent female sexuality in traditional, rural, patriarchal societies. Turkey is interesting in that it is at the frontier of the two worlds. Which I think is a reason Turkey gets a lot of animosity from within Europe. It's not sufficiently radically "other" to be dismissed, it's close enough to our modernity to be despised for the parts which are not. Hence the Istanbul v small rural town culture and ideology contrast in the film.

I thought the different responses to of the girls to the issue was really interesting, although there was a clear narrative agenda that the youngest one's was "the one to admire and root for". Easy enough for a writer / director who grew up in France as a cosmopolitan daughter of diplomat.

It got me thinking about the nature of the economic forces which underpin all of this, or at least are its origins. And the relationships between agrarian economics, female sexuality, cuckolding, gene propagation, and how they all interact to produce cultures which constitute power and freedom. And even the difficulties in historical cultural transitions when these things are refied as "values", and not understood as merely arising in dependence upon conditions, and when the conditions change then they will change (key Buddhist perspective).

As for Finding Dory, I was surprised by it. I don't watch children's films so there was lots that I didn't expect. Firstly I was surprised by how traumatic some of it was. Mostly films have some nuance and subtlety in evoking emotional responses, but obviously kids' films don't judging by this. It was like a sledge hammer in inducing emotions.

Because of what I do and how emotionally open and sensitive I have to be to do it, I am careful of what I expose myself to outside of work. So I avoid much news for example, wouldn't watch a gruesome horror, and would be touch and go seeing V for Vendetta in one of his ties.

I genuinely found some of Finding Dory emotionally unpleasant for me at times. It was too much. A ridiculously cute baby fish feeling shame due to a learning disability, and being alone and confused in the world was hard to watch.

I was also surprised at the message of the film, in that I didn't know Pixar films had these messages. It was a message not to kids, but to the adults watching - parents, teachers etc. to have faith in the abilities of neurologically atypical kids kids beyond their difficulty, and to not secret them away safe from the world out of fear, which also entails having faith in the spirit of generosity of those they will meet on their journey. Provide a safe base, not a safe.

They definitely made a strange decision with the humour of those sea lions bullying that strange other sea lion though, given that the bullies were not villains in the film, and the bullied one was a source of victim humour. I don't see how that fits in with the rest of it, as the final scene (post credits) was him still being bullied in the end.

You would never guess I am trying to procrastinate and avoid writing something today would you? Reviews of Finding Dory and feminist Turkish films that only Shrap has seen!
                                                                                                            Glad you liked it!

Personally loved the interaction of the 4 girls and how seemingly random the distribution of happiness / soul destruction can be. The wedding scene of the first two girls was heartbreaking in such a cruel way.

i think you have to root for the little girl, she sees everything from start to finish and knows exactly what is in store for her, one step at a time, year after year. she does not have time to be a child, and the only time the film manages to show us that she really is just a little girl is when she has that look of pure joy when driving the truck.

Only spent a day wandering around Istanbul and really liked it. Will definitely be going again as didn't have time to see much, but it is very much a "european" city, even if there are 1000 mosques and minarets everywhere. One thing that really bothered me though was seeing gangs of kids here and there walking around sniffing glue.

I've only read that Sword of Justice one.

here is our hero meeting his new young colleague, daughter of his best friend:

A week later he had met her for the first time. She had come over to see him, and when she walked into his office she lit up the room with her smile as she held out her hand and introduced herself.
                                                                                                              ‘Jenny Rogersson,’ Jenny Rogersson said. ‘It’s good to meet Dad’s best friend at last.’
                                                                                                              ‘Please, take a seat,’ he said, pointing at his visitor’s chair. There’s no way you’re related to that hideous bastard, he thought. Must be candid camera, someone taking the piss, he thought.

Now she was sitting there again, with her skirt halfway up her thighs, leaning forward slightly, with her long blond hair, her red lips, white teeth and the deep cleavage between her pendulous breasts. A whole box of delights within easy reach, and all he had to do was lean forward and grab hold of her.
                                                                                                              ‘What can I do for you, Jenny?’ Bäckström asked. He leaned back in his chair and gave her his Clint smile. Just a half-Clint to start with, so she didn’t do the splits there and then, he reasoned.
                                                                                                              Sounds like one of the Trent stories on boards.

He does actually solve the crimes and there is a lot of character development and sociological\historical content along the way

But mostly it's just about the hero. He does have a very entertaining relationship with his parrot who he frequently attempts to murder.

After a five-minute pause for people to stretch their legs, it was time for the concluding question-and-answer session, and once the participants had returned twenty minutes later the great silence had descended.
                                                                                                                  ‘No questions?’ their lecturer repeated for the third time as he gazed out at his audience.
                                                                                                                  ‘From the list of participants, I noted that I have the pleasure of having some of the country’s most experienced interviewers here today. Among others, I saw that Superintendent Evert Bäckström is here.’ The professor nodded amiably at Bäckström, who was sitting right at the back of the room.
                                                                                                                  Wonder who the others could be? Bäckström thought, simply nodding back. What the hell’s happened to lunch? He wasn’t alone in wondering, to judge by the expressions on the other participants’ faces.
                                                                                                                  ‘It would be interesting if you could share your experiences – from the field, I mean – when it comes to body language as a way of differentiating between truth and lies.’
                                                                                                                  ‘Well, it isn’t always easy,’ Bäckström said, nodding deeply. ‘So on that point we’re in complete agreement. But I daresay I’ve learned one or two things over the years. Things that show they’re lying, I mean.’ He nodded again. Even more deeply this time, to underline the importance of what he’d just said.
                                                                                                                  ‘Any tips? Could you give us any tips, Superintendent?’
                                                                                                                  ‘Well, I use a form of body language that’s completely infallible. Absolute proof that they’re sitting there lying, I mean.’
                                                                                                                  ‘That’s extremely interesting,’ the professor said, looking at Bäckström almost greedily. ‘I don’t suppose we could—’
                                                                                                                  ‘By all means,’ Bäckström interrupted, raising his hand to make a point. ‘On one condition, however: that it goes no further than this room.’
                                                                                                                  The professor nodded eagerly and from the silence in the room, he wasn’t alone.
                                                                                                                  ‘Their noses,’ Bäckström said, pointing at his own to avoid any misunderstanding. ‘Their noses grow when they’re lying.’
                                                                                                                  ‘Their noses? Like Pinocchio? Pinocchio’s nose grew when he told lies.’
                                                                                                                  ‘Exactly,’ Bäckström said emphatically. ‘It’s rock solid. The only sure sign we have, if you ask me. You must have thought about it yourself?’
                                                                                                                  ‘I’m afraid—’
                                                                                                                  ‘Their noses get longer when they tell lies,’ Bäckström interrupted again. ‘I’ve seen it many times, with my own eyes. I remember one interview in particular, a man who’d beaten his beloved wife to death and buried her in an old fertilizer bag as a final farewell. I suppose he wanted to save on funeral costs. Either way, he told so many damn lies that I remember thinking that it was lucky he didn’t have a cold, or he’d have needed a sheet to blow his nose.’
                                                                                                                  ‘You’re making fun of me, Bäckström,’ the professor said, looking affronted. ‘You’re making fun of me, aren’t you?’
                                                                                                                  ‘I don’t know how you can think that,’ Bäckström replied, shaking his head. ‘Take a look at my nose if you don’t believe me. It hasn’t grown a millimetre since I answered your question.’

That gave the stupid little poof something to think about, Bäckström thought as he stepped out on to the street and set off towards his lunch.

That is definitely Trent's author.

I think it's you SP that always goes on about Ethiopian food, had some there, it was class thanks
                                                                                                                    Discover the magic of the internet at Imgur, a community powered entertainment destination. Lift your spirits with funny jokes, trending memes, entertaining gifs, inspiring stories, viral videos, and so much more from users.

Also sounds like Frank Burly - John Swartzelder's antihero bungling detective.

That is definitely Trent's author.

I think it's you SP that always goes on about Ethiopian food, had some there, it was class thanks
                                                                                                                        http://imgur.com/eKvSCfv
                                                                                                                        Where did you get your sushi burrito from yesterday?

These people make it and bike it around dublin, menu changes each week:
                                                                                                                          Take A Veg, Dublin, Ireland. 4,435 likes · 89 were here. Vegan company

You send them a message with what you want and when.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 02-09-16, 14:07.