So many numbers and colours. Fucking class this is.

As much as I am trying to get into this the only thing I find myself thinking is how fucked up the sleeping patterns of the hosts must be after tonight.

Also, so many constituencies. Where do they get the reporters?

Jim Stop The Fiasco Wild was a candidates name. Wut.

When does this end ffs. I'm too committed or something.

Kay Burleys eyes are still very obviously not the same size.

People who got away with mad hairstyles....

Albert Einstein
              Boris Johnson

People who got away with mad hairstyles....

Albert Einstein
                Boris Johnson

Ooh ooh I know this one.... Jason 'pineapple' Lee, the footballer.

Politicians who lose their seats are way to nice.

Life needs to be more like football, try do it beautifully but if someone is better than you do everything you can to smash them.

Wait, that's politics.

Blue is the colour.

Ooh ooh I know this one.... Jason 'pineapple' Lee, the footballer.
                      Sponge Bob Square Pants.

Politics should be more like football. Throw all the top cunts into a constituency together. Fight it out.

Nick The Flying Brick is a candidate.

Wut

The excitement m8s

I find it weird how this is going against every projection.

Proddy bastards did Sinn Fein out of a seat.

ul Lloyd m8, theres always next time or something.

Proddy bastards did Sinn Fein out of a seat.

ul Lloyd m8, theres always next time or something.
                                Protestants*

I reckon my live bloggin challenges bbc and the likes.

Brought to you by metalman btw. American style pale ale influenced by knackers from waterford.

Lib Dems remind me of ManYoo.

No bullet proof limos for the Cameron lad.

I'm with Lazare. Brit elections are boring.

Jaysis, Harriet was fairly downbeat there, with the Tory whip bouncing earlier. Few pound down on Tory majority...
                                            Looking likely now.

Fair play chd on the overnight blogging.

Looks like that prick farage won't win his seat too

Does it look like paddy power saved you some money hotspur?

Latest suggestions is that torys are to win 329 seats.

Hitch and RDIII are hereby banned from talking about politics and elections as obviously haven't got a clue

Balls out.

All that reading of the BBV was worth it for that one comment "like someone who brushed their hair with a balloon". LOL.

Also, agree with pokerhand, stick to the..........trying to think of something ye are successful at punting

Still secretly rooting for Sinn Fein.
                                                          Didn't have a great election but to be expected when you're part of a government implementing austerity I suppose.

I have:

- warm coat
                                                            - thermal vest
                                                            - umbrella
                                                            - wooly hat
                                                            - scarf
                                                            - hipflask of whiskey

All the essential ingredients for attending an Irish cricket match.

I have:

- warm coat
                                                              - thermal vest
                                                              - umbrella
                                                              - wooly hat
                                                              - scarf
                                                              - hipflask of whiskey

No snacks?

Meanwhile, while we obsess over trivialities, 70 years ago today:

No snacks?
                                                                  Just polishing off a very large breakfast in Kennedys.

I have:

- warm coat
                                                                    - thermal vest
                                                                    - umbrella
                                                                    - wooly hat
                                                                    - scarf
                                                                    - hipflask of whiskey

Storms a brewin. You will be in the pavillion (gibneys) by lunch

You dont sound like a man who goes to work very often

Too often. The GAB man of leisure template is the dream.

Ah you'd need a few sausage rolls or a pork pie or two for the cricket.

As an established attendee of a single Ashes day one ever time in my life I feel like you should embrace the brit side a bit more.

Final comment on the UK election. Mad system where you can be a party that gets 4 million votes - UKIP -, be the third most voted for party in the country, and just get one seat. Or the Ulster Unionist party with 115.000 votes and get two seats. Seems like a fairly shite way of recognising the will of the people really.
                                                                              how else would ya do it?

It is only when you watch BBC for a while you realise just how irrelevant Northern Ireland is to the British public, hasn't been a mention of it in the last three hours of coverage.

Thank fuck the DUP nutcases have been kept out of a powerbroking position anyhow.

Ah you'd need a few sausage rolls or a pork pie or two for the cricket.

As an established attendee of a single Ashes day one ever time in my life I feel like you should embrace the brit side a bit more.
                                                                                  If the weather was more convivial, I would be embracing like a madman.

I do have a fairly chequered career when it comes to attending Irish games. Of the last three games, I've been to, I've seen the grand total of 12 balls.

Still, drinking on a Friday afternoon should be viewed as a Good Thing. Although previous misadventures with V are costing me in the abuse stakes.

Final comment on the UK election. Mad system where you can be a party that gets 4 million votes - UKIP -, be the third most voted for party in the country, and just get one seat. Or the Ulster Unionist party with 115.000 votes and get two seats. Seems like a fairly shite way of recognising the will of the people really.
                                                                                      jaysus, the reek of bitterness that the democratic will of the people doesn't align with your own opinions (stupid voters voting the wrong way, stoopid stoopid heads, stoopid system)

Move on.

Thank fuck the DUP nutcases have been kept out of a powerbroking position anyhow.
                                                                                        both the NI government parties underperformed and that is hardly a coincidence

Fairly misleading comparison there, those 115k votes correspond to about a 20% share of the vote ie a higher vote share than UKIP

One positive thing they have going for them is that the bloodbaths that a small swing in a FPTP system creates lower the risk of having the political dynasties we have.

Most annoying thing about their system is that they call it First Past the Post when its almost the opposite of such. Theres no actual post, no minimum amount or percentage of votes you need to get to win a seat.
                                                                                                  The ARV system they rejected where you needed 50%+1 to win each seat was more of a genuine FPP system.

When is Thanet expected, kind of rooting for Farage now just to add a bit of entertainment to Westminister proceedings.

Think of UKIP as being the Brit equivalent of the AAA\SP\Independents i.e. a safe way of expressing general dissatisfaction with a 0% risk that their nutty policies ever get implemented. Then it actually aligns quite closely with our own political model.

Is the boring stuff over now?

They got 0.4% of the national vote vs 12.6% for UKIP though. It just seems as if those UKIP voters aren't being fairly represented. Now we might all agree that's a good thing, but is it the right thing?
                                                                                                        ELI5 how this has happened

Nigel Farage leaving his hotel, when asked if he was still going to resign "you calling me a liar, have I ever broken a promise."

ELI5 how this has happened
                                                                                                            Easy example.
                                                                                                            2 Parties
                                                                                                            Consider 10 seats.
                                                                                                            100 voters in each constituency.

And of course, this could happen too

"A conservative government would be giving the security agencies and law enforcement agencies the powers that they need to ensure they're keeping up to date as people communicate with communications data. We were prevented from bringing in that legislation into the last government because of the coalitions with the Lib Dems and we are determined to bring that through because we believe that is necessary to maintain the capabilities of our law enforcement agencies so they can continue to do the excellent job day in day out of keeping us safe and secure"
                                                                                                              - May

Top jerb from the chdster during the early hours.

will organise shippage with horatio, sigh. never bet against the fear-of-otherness of the english. Remember having a conversation with a work colleague over there about Scottish independence. Nice middle class lady, bankrupting herself to send her kids to £20k a year secondary school so they'd never have to mix with the common people. She was always moaning about the Scots having everything, so I said 'wouldn't it be great if they left so?' (part-troll obv) and she goes: no, but its ours. As if the Scots were ingrate guests on land the english had won fairly and squarely, and fck em for being uppity.
                                                                                                                I wonder will Ashdown eat the hat or claim he was technically correct ?

You probably have enough banking crap going on with the move so I will suggest this as a way of turning a loss to a profit ;

Enter yourself and nominate a willing participant for entry to the GAA predictions comp . If you or the other entrant win I'll take 25% of the winnings which should be around € 50 ( if it's anymore I'll donate the extra to charity). If you lose your still a tenner ahead.

What you think?

Nigel Farage leaving his hotel, when asked if he was still going to resign "you calling me a liar, have I ever broken a promise."
                                                                                                                  Farage loses ...

Further to the example earlier. Consider a League in Football.

Team 1 wins 8 games 1-0, and lose 2 games 4-0.
                                                                                                                    Team 2 wins 4 games 4-0, and lose 6 games 1-0.

Farage (& Hitch by extension) is bitching about scoring loads of goals and having a better goal difference, but still losing on points.

Last edited by Emmet; 08-05-15, 09:59. Reason: Should probably have combined the two results properly first!

Further to the example earlier. Consider a League in Football.

Team 1 wins 8 games 1-0, and lose 2 games 4-0.
                                                                                                                          Team 2 wins 3 games 6-3, and lose 7 games 1-0.

Farage (& Hitch by extension) is bitching about scoring loads of goals and having a better goal difference, but still losing on points.
                                                                                                                          Think it's unfair to call it bitching, given the context.

Ukip get 4 million votes, 1 seat.
                                                                                                                          SNP get 1.5 million votes, 56 seats.

When the context is democracy, i.e. that in some sense the outcome should reflect the intention of the voters, then the 'votes per seat' required ratio is clearly skewed.

I'm not arguing that there should be an absolute relationship between votes and seats, but clearly '4 million to get one seat' for one party, and 30,000 to get each seat for another is disproportionate.

Obviously is unlikely to change in the near future as it has suited the two large parties for many decades. Even the LD influence in the last coalition was not enough to bring it about. But the outcome, as above, seems inherently unfair on considerable numbers of voters.