Wow , fair play ollieboy , take it down.
    Seems a bit of a character alright

I get ya .

Go on the ollieboy!

5th for 110k. Not a bad Easter.

So in this house right now, we have a fan whose team are in a tight race for the Premier League (Arsenal) and one whose team are in a tight race for the Championship (Ipswich).

Definitely the case that the latter race is far more compelling and dramatic. That City-Arsenal game yesterday was awful.

So in this house right now, we have a fan whose team are in a tight race for the Premier League (Arsenal) and one whose team are in a tight race for the Championship (Ipswich).

Definitely the case that the latter race is far more compelling and dramatic. That City-Arsenal game yesterday was awful.
              Would you not gladly sacrifice the Championship if offered a guaranteed Top 2 finish instead?

It was the only game of 10 over the weekend which was poor, so not sure it is in any way reflective of the EPL as a whole. Most of the other games had 2 goal swings, late winners/equalizers etc, top notch entertainment. But agree would be happy to not sit through anymore Arsenal City this year (could meet in ECL semi-final)

The Dubs Derry game had it all.

It was the only game of 10 over the weekend which was poor, so not sure it is in any way reflective of the EPL as a whole. Most of the other games had 2 goal swings, late winners/equalizers etc, top notch entertainment. But agree would be happy to not sit through anymore Arsenal City this year (could meet in ECL semi-final)
                    One thing that I really notice: the league without VAR has a far better rhythm and flow to the games.

Lisbon family trip on Wednesday - far too excited about those hilly streets. Cork with sunshine. Portugal seems to be very much a country that everyone seems to universally love.

What's going on in Fine Gael?

Lisbon family trip on Wednesday - far too excited about those hilly streets. Cork with sunshine. Portugal seems to be very much a country that everyone seems to universally love.
                          The people are so friendly, and it is wonderful with children as they are totally accommodating to families, much much better than we are here. I think there was some bad weather in Portugal last week though, saw some videos of crazy flooding, hope you avoid that!

Jumped before he was pushed.

Would you not gladly sacrifice the Championship if offered a guaranteed Top 2 finish instead?
                              Of course! 1st and 2nd are fungible.

Is there going to be anyone left in it at this stage? It's turning into post-crash FF.

Nina Carberry.

Apparently this piece and another he wanted to do on China are the main reasons he parted ways with Apple. They said that he should be more aligned with their values on the subjects. There is lots of dumb stuff in his take imo but one of the main issues that he does tackle is we have a political system the world over so out of touch with this sector that they don't even understand the issues let alone have plans to tackle them.

Last edited by Opr; 02-04-24, 10:56.

It feels like some of them at least
                                      - don't want the constant hassle of being a politician
                                      - can earn vastly more in a private sector position / non-Irish position

We might need to, at least, adjust our attitude towards always putting politicians down. Like even basic bus routes can result in dogs abuse. We'll just end up with obnoxious pricks as politicians. Essentially, we probably need to say thanks every now and again. And probably lay off some of the conspiracy theories.

This is your worst take on anything ever. Bloomin Col Jessup

There are very very very very few high achievers who would take the pay cut to divert into politics. There are numerous high achievers who take the political route to a greater opportunity for them. There are presently, have have been historically many incredibly capable people in politics. Leo and Harris two very good current examples who have achieved high office with incredible efficiency. They might not be perfect, but neither are useless or as incapable as certain quarters would have you believe. You simply can't ascend within party political structures like that unless you have something going for you. Thankfully, at least for now anyway, in Ireland that something remains within the realm of admirable qualities, rather than say what we have seen in recent years in other larger countries.

100k PA to be abused at will across all platforms by people who's pinnacle of success in life is learning how to optimise their social welfare benefits. Who'd sign up for it?

Its not really about the Salary is it. It's the leverage . I'd say Leo is a lot wealthier than before he came into power. It's a money making scheme for them all.

Saw a fun one yesterday. Bertie got a blank brown envelope as an April Fools joke.

Originally posted by Gimmeabreak View Post
                                              There are very very very very few high achievers who would take the pay cut to divert into politics. There are numerous high achievers who take the political route to a greater opportunity for them. There are presently, have have been historically many incredibly capable people in politics. Leo and Harris two very good current examples who have achieved high office with incredible efficiency. They might not be perfect, but neither are useless or as incapable as certain quarters would have you believe. You simply can't ascend within party political structures like that unless you have something going for you. Thankfully, at least for now anyway, in Ireland that something remains within the realm of admirable qualities, rather than say what we have seen in recent years in other larger countries.

100k PA to be abused at will across all platforms by people who's pinnacle of success in life is learning how to optimise their social welfare benefits. Who'd sign up for it?

It seems odd that we don't have good causes nailed behind these rises? I guess you could argue that the data isn't a statistically significant sample? The Journal seems to think it is rise in 'coke and drive'.

ireland-is-heading-towards-240-road-fatalities-in-2024-v0-wsy85aecy1sc1.png?width=1080&crop=smart&auto=webp&s=7e4ead85d2e38c91ab97719d6042af3cb4ffa1f8.png
                                                Last edited by Opr; 02-04-24, 14:04.

Richie Bruton called to the door last week and we had a grand chat about funding and research in general. Could have argued with him for hours, lovely bloke! All dignity goes out the window in online discourse and it just becomes a feather spitting mess.

It seems odd that we don't have good causes nailed behind these rises? I guess you could argue that the data isn't a statistically significant sample? The Journal seems to think it is rise in 'coke and drive'.
                                                    Haven't looked at the data recently but following one pearl clutching article I ran the numbers and the sample they wanted to use to ban wheels was within one standard deviation. There is so much context missing from that graph.

ireland-is-heading-towards-240-road-fatalities-in-2024-v0-wsy85aecy1sc1.png?width=1080&crop=smart&auto=webp&s=7e4ead85d2e38c91ab97719d6042af3cb4ffa1f8.png
                                                      More people on roads post-pandemic?

Driving skills depreciated during pandemic?

It seems like a fairly lazy use of stats without knowing what the equivalent rise in 'total km driven on Irish roads' is. Also which counties and driver age groups are most impacted.

Haven't looked at the data recently but following one pearl clutching article I ran the numbers and the sample they wanted to use to ban wheels was within one standard deviation. There is so much context missing from that graph.
                                                        Thanks, I was thinking it didn't look like nearly enough to be drawing these kind of conclusions. I am surprised we didn't see road deaths drop significantly during the Covid lockdown years?

ireland-is-heading-towards-240-road-fatalities-in-2024-v0-i1wxgpt172sc1.png?width=1297&format=png&auto=webp&s=859b97b6c4c3d72dfb1bbd788d9248c1115f1e41.png

More people on roads post-pandemic?
                                                          I'd guess you need to ignore pandemic years. The total number of licensed (taxed) vehicles recorded on Irish roads isn't hugely different, pre and post pandemic. I think its like 2% higher.

Driving skills depreciated during pandemic?

It seems like a fairly lazy use of stats without knowing what the equivalent rise in 'total km driven on Irish roads' is. Also which counties and driver age groups are most impacted
                                                          Personally I think its the vaccines.

book pont final

i Lisbon

Some 24 hours in Israel-Gaza conflict (conflict is probably stretching it at this point)

Ban al jazeera broadcasts
                                                              Bomb a hospital
                                                              Bomb an embassy in another state
                                                              Bomb foreign aid workers

Our kids will be learning about this.....​

Bombing the aid convoy feels like a significant moment.

If Bibi is not removed very soon a regional escalation looks inevitable.
                                                                Last edited by Strewelpeter; 02-04-24, 15:27.

Have you been following the XZ utils thing DP? It seems incredibly lucky it was caught before it filtered down into more stable versions of Linux. The guy who wrote the changes to enable the exploit has been a trusted contributor for a few years. I haven't heard or read much chat about it but there must be full scale panic going back through his work to make sure this is the first time he has introduced vulnerabilities. Do we just have to accept that every system is backdoored and we probably don't know about it?

Quick video for anyone who hasn't seen the story.

Last edited by Opr; 02-04-24, 15:09.

The Journal seems to think it is rise in 'coke and drive'.
                                                                    Got to be a factor, that and low levels of enforcement.
                                                                    I nearly got run off the road this morning by a car full of scummers on the N7 who were weaving in and out of lanes and then slowing down, going alongside and throwing what looked like empty cans and shit at anyone who got in their way. Crazy stuff, I don't have a dashcam but I'm sure anyone who did will have sent it to the cops so I guess either the car was stolen or they just don't care.

Bombing the aid convoy feels like a significant moment.

If Bibi is not removed very soon a regional escalation looks inevitable.
                                                                      Who's going to escalate? Not Iran.

He is certainly pushing hard to provoke them into it.

I drove to Connemara and back over the bank holiday weekend and the overal standard of driving that I saw was pretty poor - it's been this way for quite some time.

The worst episode was when a twenty year old Hiace van overtook three cars in the one go when there clearly wasn't enough space to do so without crashing into the oncoming traffic. The cars he was overtaking had to brake to allow him in or there would have been a head on collision.

Standard of driving is woeful at the minute and it's not just young people.

Have you been following the XZ utils thing DP? It seems incredibly lucky it was caught before it filtered down into more stable versions of Linux. The guy who wrote the changes to enable the exploit has been a trusted contributor for a few years. I haven't heard or read much chat about it but there must be full scale panic going back through his work to make sure this is the first time he has introduced vulnerabilities. Do we just have to accept that every system is backdoored and we probably don't know about it?

Quick video for anyone who hasn't seen the story.

Hiding in the tarbells and not the repo is mustache twirling villainy.
                                                                            Hard to know how much trouble it would have caused but I've been in some twitchy teams calls.
                                                                            It's not my area of expertise, I initially thought using OpenSSH instead of sssh meant you'd be clear but that's obviously not the case.
                                                                            It's a sneaky fucker of an exploit

I'll happily take anonymous dogs abuse.

ALMOST half of all TDs in Leinster House are worth more than €1m, according to the Sunday Independent's Political Rich List.

The first-of-its-kind research project has estimated the combined potential wealth of all 158 TDs to be in excess of €216m.

The analysis by this newspaper and financial expert Karl Deeter found that central to this wealth is the gold-plated public service pensions which TDs receive on retiring from politics.

wee snippet from 6 years ago now , probably .way more endowed now. The poor wee things.
                                                                              Last edited by Solksjaer!; 02-04-24, 21:29.

He is certainly pushing hard to provoke them into it.
                                                                                Bopping them on the nose to provoke a response so they can say... See?

I was co-judging a panel tonight of student politicians. About three fecking hours, but jesus it was lovely. Just the nice competent vibes coming off everyone. Although they'll presumably all end up in KPMG, such is the way.

ALMOST half of all TDs in Leinster House are worth more than €1m, according to the Sunday Independent's Political Rich List.

The first-of-its-kind research project has estimated the combined potential wealth of all 158 TDs to be in excess of €216m.

The analysis by this newspaper and financial expert Karl Deeter found that central to this wealth is the gold-plated public service pensions which TDs receive on retiring from politics.

wee snippet from 6 years ago now , probably .way more endowed now. The poor wee things.
                                                                                    thats pensions - they are reasonably elderly with pension pots, of course theres an implied million or so in the pot? that karl guys a gobshite also.

Just got planning permission for the side plot, issued tonight. Living the paying-down-the-mortgage dream. Fair play on the neighbours for being nice about the whole thing and not lobbing in objections.

thats pensions - they are reasonably elderly with pension pots, of course theres an implied million or so in the pot? that karl guys a gobshite also.
                                                                                        One mans gobshite...

The question as to why would you go into politics.

Exhibit A - thats pensions

We all well know the financial shenanigans that goes with the role also . very very very very very few dont do very very very well out of it. I have a relative who got elected in the 80s , just a mere independent . He did well I've been told.

One mans gobshite...

The question as to why would you go into politics.

Exhibit A - thats pensions

We all well know the financial shenanigans that goes with the role also . very very very very very few dont do very very very well out of it. I have a relative who got elected in the 80s , just a mere independent . He did well I've been told.
                                                                                          like theres just vastly better ways to build up a pension if you have the skills of most of these people.

I drove to Connemara and back over the bank holiday weekend and the overal standard of driving that I saw was pretty poor - it's been this way for quite some time.

The worst episode was when a twenty year old Hiace van overtook three cars in the one go when there clearly wasn't enough space to do so without crashing into the oncoming traffic. The cars he was overtaking had to brake to allow him in or there would have been a head on collision.

Standard of driving is woeful at the minute and it's not just young people.

It's all over the place Tailgating is basically the norm now
                                                                                            Breaking red lights has now become a game of chicken.
                                                                                            Genuinely no exaggeration I have counted 5 Mississippis on one I particular.
                                                                                            Bikes just sauntering across your path with you on full green.
                                                                                            E Bikes doing a proper clip going through reds at speed.

This morning I had two pedestrians just walk head down not looking towards traffic again with me on full green ..light went green and saw first one step out so waited and then the second one a bit after ..just utterly oblivious .completely in a different world

Was being tailgated in the far left lane today on the Naas Road. I was doing 85kph. For some reason a jeep decides my bumper was the preferred place on the road to be

Options
                                                                                            Brake check
                                                                                            Gesticulate
                                                                                            Ignore (default option... usually works ..don't speed up or slow down)
                                                                                            Education

Chose ignore for a mile or so then escalated to educate
                                                                                            Powered window down extended hand and pointed to the empty lane beside and twirled my fingers
                                                                                            They then either snapped out of Zombieland or realised that that was the end of getting their bully on and overtook.

I hardly drive anywhere and would see a minimum of 10 infractions on a 7 mile journey.

Thinking of getting a camera and recording this crap.

Think most of the deaths on roads are in rural areas Donegal,Galway etc. Cunts booting down 60KPH roads at 100/120
                                                                                            No cameras though.
                                                                                            Twisty mountain roads with dangerous bends and the limit is 60KPH (partially obscured by a hedge of course) where 40is about the maximum you should do
                                                                                            Stupid limits of 50 on wide double laned/huge verge and sidewalk roads (but of course cameras there)

But let's make everyone drive at 30kph eyes glued to the speedometer. Tailgater heaven that.

Eamonn Ryan admiring himself on his 3 gear bike complete with bread basket and a little bell as he arduously and virtuously completes the 3 miles into Leinster house.

​​​​​​​Zombies!

Really hate tailgating as its the kids in the backseat who would end up crushed if it all went wrong. just seems like a particularly cruel activity as a result of that. don't americans have a term for fixing tailgating - 'brake check' or something like that, where you quickly slow down.

It's all over the place Tailgating is basically the norm now
                                                                                                Breaking red lights has now become a game of chicken.
                                                                                                Genuinely no exaggeration I have counted 5 Mississippis on one I particular.
                                                                                                Bikes just sauntering across your path with you on full green.
                                                                                                E Bikes doing a proper clip going through reds at speed.

This morning I had two pedestrians just walk head down not looking towards traffic again with me on full green ..light went green and saw first one step out so waited and then the second one a bit after ..just utterly oblivious .completely in a different world

Was being tailgated in the far left lane today on the Naas Road. I was doing 85kph. For some reason a jeep decides my bumper was the preferred place on the road to be

Options
                                                                                                Brake check
                                                                                                Gesticulate
                                                                                                Ignore (default option... usually works ..don't speed up or slow down)
                                                                                                Education

Chose ignore for a mile or so then escalated to educate
                                                                                                Powered window down extended hand and pointed to the empty lane beside and twirled my fingers
                                                                                                They then either snapped out of Zombieland or realised that that was the end of getting their bully on and overtook.

I hardly drive anywhere and would see a minimum of 10 infractions on a 7 mile journey.

Thinking of getting a camera and recording this crap.

Think most of the deaths on roads are in rural areas Donegal,Galway etc. Cunts booting down 60KPH roads at 100/120
                                                                                                No cameras though.
                                                                                                Twisty mountain roads with dangerous bends and the limit is 60KPH (partially obscured by a hedge of course) where 40is about the maximum you should do
                                                                                                Stupid limits of 50 on wide double laned/huge verge and sidewalk roads (but of course cameras there)

But let's make everyone drive at 30kph eyes glued to the speedometer. Tailgater heaven that.

Eamonn Ryan admiring himself on his 3 gear bike complete with bread basket and a little bell as he arduously and virtuously completes the 3 miles into Leinster house.

Zombies!

I heard today that the dreadful crash that killed the mother and 2 daughters was a result of the driver with a tail load that was effecting the stability of the car which was a major cause of the accident. IE, the car was veering.

​​​​​​​This is heresay but came from a community in the west.

Really hate tailgating as its the kids in the backseat who would end up crushed if it all went wrong. just seems like a particularly cruel activity as a result of that. don't americans have a term for fixing tailgating - 'brake check' or something like that, where you quickly slow down.
                                                                                                  It's bullying .

I heard today that the dreadful crash that killed the mother and 2 daughters was a result of the driver with a tail load that was effecting the stability of the car which was a major cause of the accident. IE, the car was veering.

This is heresay but came from a community in the west.
                                                                                                    Hadn't heard about that and obviously tragic.

​​​​​​​

And not referring to that tragedy however..
                                                                                                    Don't know how a B licence allows anyone to tow anything and yet the great ER couldn't be bothered overhauling these basic oversights.
                                                                                                    Ridiculous that you can hook up a caravan (not having ever done so before) and just head out..All dynamics you are used to change. Brake times, visibility, stability, bends, reversing.

What big suprise are you pointing out?
                                                                                                      Surely anyone who has a twenty/thirty year career behind them and a paid off home would be approaching that level of net wealth?

​​​​Even the Sinn Feiners with their average industrial wage nonsense showboating would have nice gaffs in Goats town etc.
                                                                                                      Last edited by Micknail; 02-04-24, 23:39.

Brake checking is a very bad idea.Makes the whole kid crushing just a little bit more likely.
                                                                                                        They hit you over one of your tires can put you into a spin putting you sideways into other oncoming traffic

If we're taking the actuarial value of PS pensions into account when calculating wealth, then every single guard, teacher and nurse in the country is a millionaire.

It's good clickbait though.

When talking about road accidents don’t forget all the pedestrians in this country who love walking at dusk or at night (or even an average cloudy day) on national road hard shoulders with dark clothes and no reflective gear- mental stuff

The nearest I ever got to a road rage fist fight was when I brake-checked some tosser in a work van driving aggressively on my tail on Shelbourne Road in Ballsbridge many moons ago. Last time I did that!

Would love to get some kind of electronic message board for back window with messages like “you’re a shit driver” “please get out of my arse” etc

traffic corps need to get some of those kamikaze drones from Ukraine tbh

If we're taking the actuarial value of PS pensions into account when calculating wealth, then every single guard, teacher and nurse in the country is a millionaire.

It's good clickbait though.
                                                                                                                  The MAJOR difference being ? I'm amazed I have to point this out really.

They're banning chip riffling at the WSOP!
                                                                                                                    Nose picking, nail biting still allowed

They're banning chip riffling at the WSOP!
                                                                                                                      Nose picking, nail biting still allowed
                                                                                                                      you know that was an April fools yea?

Bad driving isnt policed really. I was nearly killed myself a few weeks ago but no way of reporting/proving it. Perhaps all cars should be fitted with a dash cam by default .

you know that was an April fools yea?