So, should we leave up all of HH's posts till he wakes up?
    Go for it,change the thread title too while your at it,imo.

In the absolute horror of horrors right now. What's a good idea for grub or some sort of hangover recovery type job?

I am spasticated beyond belief atm and have a mountain of repairs to get through

In the absolute horror of horrors right now. What's a good idea for grub or some sort of hangover recovery type job?

I am spasticated beyond belief atm and have a mountain of repairs to get through
        1 brandy and port, you'll feel as good as new

It's just called a carbomb here though. I had only ever heard of it here til someone told me about an irish carbomb. Same deal. It's a meh drink, wouldn't say nasty.
          Never ever came across the same drink in Ireland personally.

Originally posted by cardshark202
          imo
          Well those things are going to be debated for some time. Along with the obvious question of whether they will actually pull it all together next year and win despite the weakness of the roster around them.

Fried meats + bread + pot of tea + a couple of glasses of water + painkillers and you'll be able to function.

Or just start getting the beers in and you'll be feeling a lot better after five or six!

So I'm at home playing teh pokers, going ok in a couple of MTT's on stars and I hear a huge bang outside. I go outside and 50 yards from the house on the main road outside my estate there is a horrific scene.
                An artic truck and a transit van have collided head on and the front of the van is completely crushed. A couple of neighbors are coming out of their houses and calling the emergency services.
                Fearing the worst I go to the van and find the poor driver crushed in the cab but thankfully alive.
                He is conscious and screaming in pain. He is completely trapped, has head injuries and a broken wrist and God only knows what shape his legs are in.
                Tried to keep him calm for what seemed like an age until the emergency services got there which took about 15 minutes.
                It took about 40 mins for them to cut him out with the poor guy screaming the whole time. Fucking horrible.
                Hope he makes a recovery.
                Shocking stuff. Fair play to you though!

Pharmacy is like 3 doors down, I was thinking somewhere along the line of a large coffee and smoothie but Solpadeine is the nuts. Completely forgot about it.

So, should we leave up all of HH's posts till he wakes up?
                    Girl.php

So I'm at home playing teh pokers, going ok in a couple of MTT's on stars and I hear a huge bang outside. I go outside and 50 yards from the house on the main road outside my estate there is a horrific scene.
                      An artic truck and a transit van have collided head on and the front of the van is completely crushed. A couple of neighbors are coming out of their houses and calling the emergency services.
                      Fearing the worst I go to the van and find the poor driver crushed in the cab but thankfully alive.
                      He is conscious and screaming in pain. He is completely trapped, has head injuries and a broken wrist and God only knows what shape his legs are in.
                      Tried to keep him calm for what seemed like an age until the emergency services got there which took about 15 minutes.
                      It took about 40 mins for them to cut him out with the poor guy screaming the whole time. Fucking horrible.
                      Ugh, thats horrible. Where was it?

Go for it,change the thread title too while your at it,imo.
                        Girl.php
                        Done. Sorry Tony, your dubious reign on the thread title is over.

plan: going to have a few of the guys around to morrow to watch waterford kick corks red behind, beers, barbeque(which is highly optomistic to say the least atm) the best part is that they are bringing their kids and wifes as well so the wimmins think we are all great for spending some quality time with the family's (mega brownie points)........little do they know that all the men have the plan of fucking of to the pub at 7:00 to watch the WC and leave them to mind the kids and clean up the sorry mess that we will be leaving behind

Stag night in Banagher in Offaly tonight.Ugh,FML.

If I was to get public transport,I'd have to leave Waterford at 08.40 and I'd be in Offaly at 16.00 and still 4 miles from where I'd need to be.

I could travel from Dublin to New York in the same space of time.Fuck this country and fuck this stag.Banagher! FFS.

*cringe*

she's a cute girl though! Can just about work out the brain process behind a lot of those posts, although the pron post is kinda weird! But anyway, are we all agreed - cutest girl ever? amirite???!!!
                                great posting last night HH

go with the porn thing and post some photos

Eh I thought I had keys or something in my arse pocket after last night, but for whatever reason I have a power socket/outlet

nice!! what's the insurance like on that beauty, and do you have one that goes uphill as well?
                                    Thats the joy's of owning one of these babies , there is no hidden costs .

Gone are the days of worrying about Insurance premiums, Tax and fuel costs as there is none.
                                    You can make a one off payment or you can spread it over 12 easy to manage monthly instalments (Terms and conditions apply)

Just imagine yourself speeding by on your Racing Red Cooter Scooter . I can promise you that everyone will be staring at you on this enviromentally friendly chick magnet. Heck we will even throw in matching helmet and knee pads

Unfortunately we dont have one that goes uphill yet but our design team is working round the clock on a prototype and should be released within the year.

Eh I thought I had keys or something in my arse pocket after last night, but for whatever reason I have a power socket/outlet
                                      brilliant

the best thing i ever found in my pocket after a night out was 50quid

How many levels did you miss.
                                          Did you cash in any of them.

I know I know i just cant help it . I think its like keyboard tourettes or something.
                                          I really hope the driver is ok , it must have been an awfull shock for you .

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-niro6p2x4o[/ame]

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZfItlZG97Q[/ame]

Sorry, will stop with the updates now. But gave away the final Charles Bukowski book - Factotum - last night. Had previously given Post Office to a New York couple on the Barcelona-Zurich train. Weird thing was they were saying 'ah, beat generation' on seeing the book - apparently they learn about the beat generation in school over here - that's a quality English education! Correct me if i'm wrong, but we don't learn anything as fun as that in our English leaving cert?
                                                You obviously haven't read Amongst Women.

As if I can wake him now lol. The things he does for a long lie
                                                  Thanks for the lie in

I think that was the first MTT (non satellite) i've played on stars that didn't reach the guarantee. Played a Sunday Million sat ($11) with 1 ticket gtd aswel that kicked off with 3 runners and finished with 16

Originally posted by carlop View Post
                                                    You obviously haven't read Amongst Women.
                                                    Thats probably because he was stuck in the middle of them.

Sorry, will stop with the updates now. But gave away the final Charles Bukowski book - Factotum - last night. Had previously given Post Office to a New York couple on the Barcelona-Zurich train. Weird thing was they were saying 'ah, beat generation' on seeing the book - apparently they learn about the beat generation in school over here - that's a quality English education! Correct me if i'm wrong, but we don't learn anything as fun as that in our English leaving cert?
                                                      The plough and the stars
                                                      Amongst Women

Paddy Kavanagh

Cinema Paradiso

I only remember the names, I never read either of the books/plays or watched the film, still managed to ping an honour at higher level. I think I knew one poem and a couple of lines of Paddy K's stuff. The whole thing was a joke imo considering I was able to do nothing for 2 years.

Best one I heard lately was one of my mate's collecting junior cert paper's for Irish. A students entire paper 2 consisted of 2 A4 pages of BUDDHIST BUDDHIST.... etc. Another odd one was "leave a note for your dad at home telling him you are out with friends and will return later than expected" - The poor kid wrote to the dad that she bought him a new pair of shoes, she hopes he likes them and that they are the correct size.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 10-07-10, 11:19.

Thanks for the lie in

I think that was the first MTT (non satellite) i've played on stars that didn't reach the guarantee. Played a Sunday Million sat ($11) with 1 ticket gtd aswel that kicked off with 3 runners and finished with 16
                                                          did you get your , ahem 'iTouch' when you went looking for it at 5AM

Was listening to Tommy and Hector this morning - the mad whoooers! A real chest thumping good clean culchie show altogether.

Anyway when they finished and The Sportsbag came on, I heard this tune and thought of the LeBron saga:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3iav_eOcs8[/ame]

Added to amazon wish list! Sounds great.
                                                              McGahern is our version of a beat generation novelist, the rest were all poets who drank themselves to an early grave.
                                                              The Short Stories are magnificent, and That they may face the rising sun is IMO his best novel though most people would say either the Barracks or Amongst Women.

I quite liked Remains Of The Day for the leaving

The Catcher in The Rye is cool for school.

H2G2 - you are still everything I aspire to be. By the way it would be wrong and a little bit sick if you didnt throw it into that one at least once.

Anyway dream last night. The girlfriend gets pissed off with me for no reason so I say fcuk it and head to vegas to hook up with the Irish crew but nobody wants to go on the beer because they are all grinding away in Ceasers. So anyways I meet El Tren who is just as big a legend in dream life as he is in real life. Ended up going on a session with him instead which involved a flying car and a cop chase.

wake up this morning and for some reason the gf is pissed at me......think Il let this one ride out

These days, the Honours English at Leaving Cert has a lot of genuinely good works on it.

150/300 Blinds 25 Ante (9 handed) - Poker-Stars Converter Tool from FlopTurnRiver.com

saw flop | saw showdown

MP2 (t15785)
                                                                          MP3 (t16095)
                                                                          CO (t4450)
                                                                          Button (t1805)
                                                                          SB (t7425)
                                                                          BB (t19730)
                                                                          Hero (UTG) (t2755)
                                                                          UTG+1 (t25345)
                                                                          MP1 (t1150)

Hero's M: 4.08

Preflop: Hero is UTG with A, A
                                                                          Hero bets t2730 (All-In), 7 folds, BB calls t2430

Flop: (t5835) Q, 4, 4 (2 players, 1 all-in)

Turn: (t5835) 2 (2 players, 1 all-in)

River: (t5835) 7 (2 players, 1 all-in)

Total pot: t5835

BB had 4, 4 (four of a kind, fours).
                                                                          Hero had A, A (two pair, Aces and fours).
                                                                          Outcome: BB won t5835

What's on the reading list these days?

AUSTEN, Jane Emma
                                                                              BALLARD, J.G. Empire of the Sun
                                                                              BINCHY, Maeve Circle of Friends
                                                                              BOWEN, Elizabeth The Last September
                                                                              BRANAGH, Kenneth (Dir.) As You Like It (Film)
                                                                              BRONTË, Emily Wuthering Heights
                                                                              CHEVALIER, Tracy Girl with a Pearl Earring
                                                                              CURTIZ, Michael (Dir.) Casablanca (Film)
                                                                              FITZGERALD, F Scott The Great Gatsby
                                                                              FRIEL, Brian Dancing at Lughnasa
                                                                              FULLER, Alexandra Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
                                                                              GAGE, Eleni North of Ithaka
                                                                              HAMID, Moshin The Reluctant Fundamentalist
                                                                              HARDY, Thomas Tess of the D’Urbervilles
                                                                              HARRIS, Robert Pompeii
                                                                              HOSSEINI, Khaled The Kite Runner
                                                                              IBSEN, Henrik A Doll’s House
                                                                              ISHIGURO, Kazuo Never Let Me Go
                                                                              JOHNSTON, Jennifer How Many Miles to Babylon?
                                                                              KEANE, John B Sive
                                                                              MCDONAGH, Martin The Lonesome West
                                                                              MCEWAN, Ian Atonement
                                                                              MACLAVERTY, Bernard Lamb
                                                                              MEIRELLES, Fernando (Dir.) The Constant Gardener (Film)
                                                                              MURPHY, Tom A Whistle in the Dark
                                                                              NGOZI ADICHIE, Chimamanda Purple Hibiscus
                                                                              O’DONNELL, Damien (Dir.) Inside I’m Dancing (Film)
                                                                              PETTERSON, Per Out Stealing Horses
                                                                              PICOULT, Jodi My Sister’s Keeper
                                                                              QUINN, Marian (Dir.) 32A (Film)
                                                                              ROSOFF, Meg How I Live Now
                                                                              SALVATORES, Gabriele (Dir.) I’m Not Scared (Film)
                                                                              SHAKESPEARE, William Hamlet
                                                                              A Winter’s Tale
                                                                              SHIELDS, Carol Unless
                                                                              SOPHOCLES Oedipus the King
                                                                              TREVOR, William The Story of Lucy Gault
                                                                              WOLFF, Tobias This Boy’s Life
                                                                              ZUSAK, Markus The Book Thief

Would you put Brendan Behan in with the beat generation / drank to an early grave?

So obsessed by him, think i have all his first editions. (well all apart from the pron books he apparently wrote in Paris to fund his drinking habits - think he was writing a book per week over there)
                                                                                Its mainly him and Kavanagh I was thinking of, people might argue that McGahern doesn't fit in there at all but I don't agree.
                                                                                I don't count Beckett as he was playing on a different level.

Anyone hear about Ingrid Betancourt seeking damages for lost earnings and dristress from when she was kidnapped by FARC in Colombia?

My Ex is Colombian and they are all going mad over there, national hero to zero overnight.

The former Colombian captive Ingrid Betancourt has filed a law suit against Colombia’s government over her kidnapping.

Held hostage by FARC rebels for six years, Betancourt is seeking more than 5 million euros in lost earnings. Appearing in the Colombian capital Bogota last week at a two-year anniversary to mark the rescue, her decision has sparked outrage.

Colombia’s Vice-president Francisco Santos said:
                                                                                  ‘‘She went into a place after being told this would happen. It happened and now she wants to make the state responsible. I think this wins the world prize for hypocrisy, opportunism and ingratitude.’‘

Betancourt, a dual Colombian-French national, was campaigning for Colombia’s presidency when she was taken by Marxist guerrillas.

In 2008, her jailers were fooled into handing her and 14 other hostages over to soldiers masquerading as humanitarian workers, in an operation Betancourt described as perfect.

Following the rescue 48 year-old was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize and was also tipped as a possible presidential candidate in this year’s vote.

But the law suit is unlikely to help her popularity in Colombia with many arguing troops risked their lives to save her.

Copyright © 2010 euronews

SALVATORES, Gabriele (Dir.) I’m Not Scared (Film)
                                                                                    That should be on the book list, really good. Felt the film lost a hell of a lot of the feel of the book

looking outside is a great feeling when the main thing on your mind is

"Thank fcuk I didnt go to Oxegen"

For the last three seasons LeBron has inarguably been the best player in the NBA. He is a one man wrecking ball: gives a team offense single handedly and is one of the very best defenders in the league. He isn't particularly selfish either - he draws defenders and passes it off to players in better positions. The guy is unstoppable on a consistent basis.

However, the question of whether he has lived up to expectations is bigger than all that. To be the GOAT you need to win titles. LeBron might already be as good as Jordan in simple terms of how skilled they are, but in seven years he has failed to drag Cleveland to an NBA Championship. That has been a big part of the debate swirling around this decision: how best does he secure his legacy as one of the greatest / the very best player (s) in NBA history?

When a player is signed with an American sports team (NFL, NBA, NHL) that team has the rights to them. Those rights can be traded rather than sold. So big player swaps or swaps of players in return for future draft picks are regular occurrences. In those situations, the team who receives the player has to honour the contract they were signed to at the time. So:

- Miami Heat have LeBron James signed to a $14m / 5 year contract
                                                                                          - They make an incredible decision to trade him at the end of next season to New York
                                                                                          - Miami send LeBron James; receive Amare Stoudemire and 1st round picks for 2011 and 2013 draft;
                                                                                          - LeBron James now has 4 years left on a $14m per year contract with the New York Knicks;

In the above example New York would have made out like bandits. The Franchise system does not involve teams paying fees to other teams for players. Revenue is earned though tickets, sponsorship, memorabilia sales, etc. Obviously the better your team, the more money a franchise makes. Players are not considered salable assets that belong to an individual owner. Every team and every player ultimately belongs to the league.
                                                                                          Cheers for that Lloyd feel like i have a better insight into this story now and can at least follow it a bit.

Well played all round last night/this morning some absolute quality posting just sitting here with a smirk on my face from reading the last few pages. Hitchhiker absolute brilliant reading and yes your woman is very cute. Are you ever gonna tell that story you said the other week???

Would this be worth reading? Have been hearing a bit about him recently while reading Paul Theroux as he keeps on mentioning the lad.
                                                                                            Yes. It would be worth reading.
                                                                                            Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 10-07-10, 12:02. Reason: lol understatement

Even if it was the sunniest day of the year I'd be thinking the same tbh.

Can we get your weekend GAA thoughts on the GAA thread pls BK

Ugh, thats horrible. Where was it?
                                                                                                Newbridge. The driver was from Ballymore. Didn't want to put his name up in case someone knows him.

Oh fuck right off ipoker. They've only gone and reduced the guarentee in the 8.40 PLH game from 1.5K to 1K, all cause it was missing the guarentee by about $150-$200.
                                                                                                  I fear my career as a PLH player is a an end
                                                                                                  that $300 bucks was my main reason for playing it (that and the chimps)

FT is too much of a pain when you cannot shove the loots with shit(er i mean the AA obv)

Originally posted by whyno View Post
                                                                                                  got my insurance renewal quote today...€666...WTF...With my track record with cars i think i may be doomed if i pay that
                                                                                                  616 is the actual number of the beast, some gobsheen of an Italian priest changed it when doing translations as he thought 666 was more poetic and would look better

Actually there is no number of the beast as its a fairy story without fairies

Downloaded FM 2010 from steam for €9.99 earlier. ugh, like digging my own grave. Seems good so far.
                                                                                                  Laid up a bit ick t'other day, havent played fm in years, downloaded the demo, about 4 hours just to get thru pre-season
                                                                                                  IM cured, waste of a life imo

Originally posted by Rigger View Post
                                                                                                  Confessions of a Dangerous Mind starting on BBC 2 now, any use?
                                                                                                  Yes; yes it is a very watchable show

That was brillaint, have you any others that you recommend?

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9ScqAlwTrY[/ame]
                                                                                                  /
                                                                                                  [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wY3oEvaq71A[/ame]

First post from the desire. It's some piece of kit!

what does 616 actually stand for? like why is that the number of the beast?

It's Damos house number

First post from the desire. It's some piece of kit!
                                                                                                          Little jealous im still waiting on mine, are you with Meteor? If so when did you order it?

Hitchhiker, you should start a blog, would be epic. I wouldn't attach your real name to it though.

Even if it was the sunniest day of the year I'd be thinking the same tbh.

I'm just about to leave the house and head down now - I'm getting too old for this shit

No fear Gazza's here

Last edited by Maloney; 10-07-10, 13:31.

It's funny how times change, it used to be considered safe to have a moate around your village.

I know! it would be far too warm. The kids are out in there t-shirts and shorts and Tony is doing gardening.

Are you getting the same weather?

Fried meats + bread + pot of tea + a couple of glasses of water + painkillers and you'll be able to function.

Or just start getting the beers in and you'll be feeling a lot better after five or six!
                                                                                                                      You wanna do that today?

Was just rooting around the canteen and I found the appropriate hangover supplies:
                                                                                                                        1. Motilium
                                                                                                                        2. Paracetemol
                                                                                                                        3. Deorolyte

Win.

Went on the piss on Thursday after last tag game of the season, very hungover in work on Friday, decided to have one quick pint after work - ended up on the dancefloor in my suit and tie at 3 am. Got home at about 6.30 this morning, up at 8.30 cause I'd loads to do and have literally just sat down now. I'm in a total mess, have had to hit the beers just to try and even myself out so I can get a bit of sleep! My flatmate has now decided to nickname me Gazza as I'm an alcoholic mess.

After the talk of them in here yesterday, convinced a couple of the lads to try those carbomb drinks, man they destroy you, especially when followed by a jägerbomb as a chaser. Won't be doing that again in hurry, although it was an epic night's fun in the end.
                                                                                                                          "I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes art. You read a book and the writer touches something in you that you would not have brought out of yourself. He makes you discover something interesting in your life. If you are living like an animal, what is the point? What makes the day interesting is that we try to transform it into something that is close to art." - Arsene Wenger