This is Cabra we're talking about.
      notorious redoubt of the Nazi party

Sinn Feins tactic in Cabra a couple of elections ago was to offer people a lift to polling stations on election day.

Originally posted by carlop View Post
          People should just sit back and enjoy the footballing porn Barca produce week-in, week-out.

Love them or hate them, their current team is the best footballing side of all time, and in the future those who were too bitter or concerned with 'justice' to appreciate it will regret it.
          Not close to the best footballing side of all-time imo. Slightly biased perhaps but i think I would put both of the legendary milan teams ahead of them for a few reasons.

Modern day la Liga has virtually turned into the spl. The smaller teams dont try, the competitive teams arent as competitive and their only challenger is a shambles of a madrid team that is getting better but still needs work.

If we are to compare them to the first Milan side of 89/90, they had competition in the likes of a maradona lead Napoli, Fiorentina with Baggio, Matthaus at Inter and a very good sampdoria who were cup winner cup champs and league champs with Mancini and vialli as the strikers. They also went on to win the champions league undefeated twice in four years.

I'd also say the current team hasnt won 2 champions league's, I would maintain that the players involved have changed so much that barca have had 2 teams in recent years, one spearheaded by ronnie and eto'o this current one by messi.

They are the best pure footballing team in years and a joy to watch but dont get caught up in the hype by which modern football seems to thrive off these days

Sinn Feins tactic in Cabra a couple of elections ago was to offer people a lift to polling stations on election day.
            jaysus bohsman, all parties do that!

This is Cabra we're talking about.
              Up with fascists!!!!

I can see the doorsteps of DC now....
                It's not a campaign point he's running on, but good on you for disregarding everything else I said

Originally posted by Happy Dude View Post
                  Up with fascists!!!!
                  yes, right up

Will Carrolls price in FF stay at 6m, if so surely he is a must have
                    Im fairly glad i didnt sell him now. Surely he'll be back very soon.

It's not a campaign point he's running on, but good on you for disregarding everything else I said
                      sorry, I just picked out the blatantly stupid bit

what does Perry stand for then? what will he do if elected?

Fair enough, more meant most arent going to be too interested in your ESPTSFGs and more interested in local stuff, same reason the Shinners do so well in poor areas.

Ya but most parties dont bring you to 3 or 4 polling stations on election day

Not close to the best footballing side of all-time imo. Slightly biased perhaps but i think I would put both of the legendary milan teams ahead of them for a few reasons.

Modern day la Liga has virtually turned into the spl. The smaller teams dont try, the competitive teams arent as competitive and their only challenger is a shambles of a madrid team that is getting better but still needs work.

If we are to compare them to the first Milan side of 89/90, they had competition in the likes of a maradona lead Napoli, Fiorentina with Baggio, Matthaus at Inter and a very good sampdoria who were cup winner cup champs and league champs with Mancini and vialli as the strikers. They also went on to win the champions league undefeated twice in four years.

I'd also say the current team hasnt won 2 champions league's, I would maintain that the players involved have changed so much that barca have had 2 teams in recent years, one spearheaded by ronnie and eto'o this current one by messi.

They are the best pure footballing team in years and a joy to watch but dont get caught up in the hype by which modern football seems to thrive off these days
                            They would certainly be the other outstanding candidate, the problem is that I'm just too young to have properly seen them, as I began to follow football in 94 or so. I also may be biased as my parents brought me up to hate Milan, though that hatred as subsided.

I don't think though that teams don't try against Barca, they just get blown away. It's the manner that Barca go about winning that is impressive, it's now at the point where a 3-0 win is considered a fairly average performance for them.

Your point on CL won is valid, but I feel it won't be anymore come May.

VOTE EARLY, VOTE OFTEN

etc

I used to be dubious about this, until a girl from the Falls Road joined our job and clarified it was standard practise for SF to call around the night before an election to collect 'any polling cards going to waste?'.

Originally posted by Fun Bobby View Post
                                    Can can you not have a vote in the general election bohs? Thought you'd been here for most of your life.
                                    Only the last 24 years. As far as I know I dont have a vote.

Started using this
                                      , this week its makeshift for the moment as its a flat screen tv link via hdmi cable rather than a monitor.

Would like some tips on how to get a suitable resolution on the screen to make tables smaller, is there any software that can help with this or is it just a matter of messing around with the settings?

Only the last 24 years. As far as I know I dont have a vote.
                                        check the register

Just after reading through 100 posts or so this morning and have noticed that there is another 300 BBV posts since 9.37 this morn. Do you fcking people not work?

Anyways now to catch up, sigh

sorry, I just picked out the blatantly stupid bit
                                            pffft. Stupidity is all in the eye of the beholder.

what does Perry stand for then? what will he do if elected?
                                            Here's his website, which gives a good indication of the issues he's worked on as a councillor.

I'll ask him to put tax rebates for degenerate poker players as a main campaign policy.

I used to be dubious about this, until a girl from the Falls Road joined our job and clarified it was standard practise for SF to call around the night before an election to collect 'any polling cards going to waste?'.
                                              When you go to vote the clerk will cross your name of the copy of the register (in case you come back in again). After elections the parties can get copies of the 'marked' register to see what areas voted and indeed who voted in what areas (you'd think this was against privacy laws but its not for some reason).

There have been numerous reports of people voting who had been dead at the time of the election. Course this does not mean that SF were to blame as any of the parties or individuals could have done it.

Its probably one reason why you should vote or at least receive your ballot paper, because if you ever go to Joe TD and say "I need such and such and I have always voted for you" then they could look up the register to check if you have actually voted (not who you voted for of course).

Im definitely not registered, not being an Irish passport holder Im only allowed to vote in local elections afaik.

we should organise a GE2011 sweep for the BBV

total seats per party, nearest wins all the loots. $50 a head.

interest list?

Originally posted by carlop View Post
                                                    They would certainly be the other outstanding candidate, the problem is that I'm just too young to have properly seen them, as I began to follow football in 94 or so. I also may be biased as my parents brought me up to hate Milan, though that hatred as subsided.

I don't think though that teams don't try against Barca, they just get blown away. It's the manner that Barca go about winning that is impressive, it's now at the point where a 3-0 win is considered a fairly average performance for them.

Your point on CL won is valid, but I feel it won't be anymore come May.
                                                    I spoke about this before but if we were to take la liga ten years ago and beyond when Madrid were dominating in europe there were the likes of Valencia who made back to back CL finals, Deportivo who did well each year and won la liga in 02 iirc, mallorca and celta vigo who both qualified for the CL at times. There was genuine challengers and competition and im sure this current barcelona side would still win it just wouldnt be a case of teams consigning themselves to defeat before. Everytime there is a close game there seems to be actual shock that a team has gone out and attacked them and tried to go for the game as opposed to just turning up and that attitude would not be present if there was actual competition.

I'm not sure about them winning the champions league this year either, Inter nullified them completely last year and chelsea should of gone through against them the year before. When it comes to the big games in europe they play great but they just seem to miss that little something extra to put them over the edge. Perhaps Villa will be the difference but we wont really know until the time comes

I know this will be treated like heresay here, but I genuinely believe La Liga is weaker in terms of strength and depth. From an anecdotal perspective, watching Barca and Madrid at the weekends is usually dull because they usually aren't under real threat. I firmly believe that Chelsea / Utd / Arsenal etc are in trouble more often in the Premiership from season to season, and the Bundesliga (this year aside it seems) and Seria A genuinely provides a more exciting league from a competitive perspective.

Watching them in the CL is far more interesting because they don't have things their own way as often.

Meh, jinx Gordon. I would prefer if you didn't make my point more eloquently while I'm typing.

cowen giving his final speech in the dail on radio1 atm

Arsenal v Everton and Man U v Villa.

Are Sky really showing West Brom v Wigan or is it some kid of sick joke

Browsing the thread this morning and love the way it's like max power never even posted. Trying to say hello to someone twice and then looking for a link, but nothing back. Have a vision of him sitting at home cursing at the screen saying "fuck y'all anyway"

Anyway here it is: http://pokernewsboy.com/pnb-news/vot...ws-writer/5580

yep they are showing west brom v wigan, really was hoping espn would of shown a game tonight but dont think they are

like that should stop you watching?
                                                                  it'll be streamed without doubt.
                                                                  And considering mrs fd's brand spanking new laptop has HDMI out you are laughing

They reckon there are at least 2 million people in Central Cairo now and maybe more out on the streets in the rest of the city.
                                                                    One Time*

*terms and conditions apply

cowen giving his final speech in the dail on radio1 atm
                                                                      "three pintsh of guinnesshh for meself, ten barcady breezersh for O'Dea, a naggin a' vodky for Coughlo an' eh, eh fouteen packesh a' dhry rhoashted"

She is a manufactured piece of crap.

Isn't there a rule that every team has to be shown X times at home and X times away during the season. Sky probably just killing two birds with the one stone tonight by picking this game.

all teams have to get tv time from sky, much better they show the likes of wigan / baggies play each other than against the bigger teams. you never know it could be a classic west brom havn't kept a clean sheet in over 20 games

Whatever about how bad he was and all the rest, I can only imagine how good it feels for Cowen today to be free of it all!

[/QUOTE]

This was the last window in which you could spend money without it effecting the club negatively going forward under the new financial rules. Basically all clubs will start on some sort of equal footing in the new fiscal term with regards transfers. This means while Man City won't start by having to try and recover a deficit of 20 billion or however much they have spent, on the flip side Liverpool can't carry the profit of £50m from this window into the next to be spent in whatever way they like without it negatively impacting on them under the new rules.

Once the money was spent within this window it didn't matter hence the reason for the rash nature of the purchase. This all sounds retarded to me but it does tie in with what I have read and its what people on other forums have been saying all day today.
                                                                                    I wasnt on about saving the money for financial reasons i was talking about keeping the 50 million so that clubs dont extort fee's due to the big windfall you just received. That coupled with the fact these new financial rules will be in place from the summer will mean there is a much stronger bargaining position for the clubs buying than those right now. I know what the owners are trying to do and it has worked judging by the upbeat and all round positivity by liverpool fans. By splashing out first chance they get they are showing as opposed to saying that they are going to be here to win and to invest instead of profiting ala hicks and Gillett.

It does show their inexperience at this level but withe the financial powers they have they are able to make some mistakes along the way. I just think they would of been better splashing out in other area's. David Luiz is the perfect example. All the talk about Torres, Suarez and Carroll yet he has slipped under the radar for what i consider and absolute steal at 25 million. He is possibly the best young available centre back around or was for that matter. Milan were interested in partnering him with thiago silva for many years to come and he was well worth the investment.

The pool of talent you mention has only one player who comes close to the kind of criteria Liverpool would have been trying to cover when look for a striker and I don't think he is even gettable.

Rossi -

Agüero - He has just signed a new contract so no chance at the moment and being realistic Liverpool would find it very hard to lure him given the watchful eyes from other clubs interested.

Forlán or Fabiano would never be sanctioned given that youth is now a key driving factor in how FSG have said they will be buying going forward.

Llorente is the only player on that list which would have been seen as a realistic option but reports suggest Real already have a gentlemens agreement to take him at the end of this season. Even if he does go anywhere else its going to be for in the region of at least £35m/£40m
                                                                                    the pool of talent there was just the first 5 names I saw that spurs had bid for on the guardian website, by no means a list that i thought up.

We got taken for a ride no two ways about it but if we were determined to buy a striker and it needed to be done within this window given that the Torres situation only arose a few days before the end of the window Carroll may have been one of very few options.
                                                                                    This was the point I was trying to make, They must believe they have a realistic chance of making the top 4 or else why would make such a bad deal. I think they could of just written the season off as another mediocre one and come out next season in a much better position long term wise. It is very american though to expect results and over achievements right away.

Its hard to get my head around the fact that he is the most expensive player ever under 23 but considering Torres, Alonso, Mascherano, and Reina were all around that age when they signed and the first three are now great examples of the potential resale value when you take a risk and buy the player young.

I have to say I am more worried about the fee due to his extra curricular activities than anything else.

Ye I doubt that carroll has the same resale value as those 4 mentioned just for the sheer amount of money he cost. Torres cost around 20 million so when you factor in jerseys sold, money recouped from sale to chelsea and the positive effect he had on the liverpool brand it is a good deal. i doubt carroll will sell as much jerseys, be sold for 2.5 times the amount he was bought in 3 years or be an advertisers wet dream.

It is a massive risk to take and one I would say is riskier than balotelli who is a complete loon.

Oh dear.

And TG was such a sound poster until just now.
                                                                                      I never bothered either. I'm only bothering to register this time so I can give everyone other than adams a preference.

Did I read CHD right earlier where he accused United of buying trophies? This coming from a CHELSEA fan?
                                                                                        No you read what you wanted to hear as usual . Chelsea did it too. Chelsea's last 3 titles are down to spending big just like every other club in the last 20 years.

As for the Barca thing, Chelsea can compete with them in a one off game but by all appreciable measures Barcelona are a level above Chelsea. In terms of history, achievements, set-up, youth system and, most importantly, style and success of football Barcelona are untouchable at the moment.
                                                                                        History has nothing to do with what I am saying. Youth setups are the same nearly now, ours is young theres is complete, also doesn't come into it. Achievements they are ahead, only recent achievements come into it though and they are slightly ahead. Style comes into it, their style is better but ours is top notch too.

Torres said there isn't another level. He is a new player coming to us to win trophies and we are capable of that, youth setups do not come into it, recent history does and ours is good. For him he is at a top level club now who can fulfill his ambitions, there is no level after that.

People will want to argue that Barca are Gods so rabble rabble they are above everyone else but I disagree. IMO they are the best of the best. The top of top level teams. People are creating a super elite level, I think this is needless but each to their own. Everyone pretty much agrees, it is just minor details we are debating.

CHD, your argument that Chelsea can give Barcelona a game and should have beaten them in the past is ridiculous. By that measure Southampton in the 1990's were on the same level as Manchester United and Sam Allardyce's Bolton team were on the same level as the Arsenal side of the time.

To make any of these arguments in the context of a team so desperately off the level they hold themselves out to compete at that they had to break their stated transfer policy and bring in 2 big money signings to reinforce the team is just ridiculous.

Chelsea are an excellent team. Barcelona are just at another level to that.
                                                                                        My argument is not ridiculous it is a perfect example of why Barca are not the Gods they are portrayed to be, they are just the best of the best (same level).

Chelsea did not break the transfer policy. If there is a player we think we need we will buy the right price. Our new policy is to not to pay over the odds on wages and not be taken to the cleaners on transfer fee's. Torres is worth 50M if Ronaldo is worth 80M and Bent 24M. I think they money could have been spent better myself.

Thank you for your compliment of Chelsea I will pass it on.

Meh, jinx Gordon. I would prefer if you didn't make my point more eloquently while I'm typing.
                                                                                          This mean i can have your self appointed title?

No, I agree with you completely.

When we got to the final in '09 I desperately wanted it to be Chelsea again rather than Barca (although had we shown up and kept playing after the first 5 minutes it might have been different)

last year was no different, I really wanted Chelsea to get Barca but they were knocked out and then I was counting on Inter beating Barca for much the same reason. Unfortunately United fell short, one of the worst nights of football I've ever felt.

Chelsea have definitely been the team to beat Barca over the last few years.
                                                                                            People who know what they are on about will agree now I think about it. I listen and read too much nonsense these days.

You beat Barca in the midfield imo and we can do that . Unfortunately we did ourselves in last time and when faith threw us the lifelines we deserved the poxy ref disagreed

Found a €5 Merrion chip at the back of my bookcase last night. Throw out?

People who know what they are on about will agree now I think about it. I listen and read too much nonsense these days.

You beat Barca in the midfield imo and we can do that . Unfortunately we did ourselves in last time and when faith threw us the lifelines we deserved the poxy ref disagreed
                                                                                                Barca are better now then they were in 09 though. And from what i've seen Chelsea have really struggled at times in midfield this season.

I don't really agree La Liga is a weak league. Villareal are a much improving team, A.Madrid have the players but don't seem to have the backbone a lot of the time, ditto Sevilla. The quality is there but Barca are just leagues ahead of anyone right now. Real are a shambles atm, Higuain injured, Benzema failing and Adebayor isn't the solution imo. Lots of injuries in defence has left them vulnerable there too.

Originally posted by Fun Bobby View Post
                                                                                                  Cheers. Just trying to plan out the whole thing, and have no idea of the work involved tbh. Looking like its going to have to be 300 pages a week though. Starting to get a bit nervous, but obv nothing like your situation(s). Saw the cheat sheets last night btw, although my work colleague used them and ended up in the bottom 2 decile for the CFA in December! Will try and upload them tonight.
                                                                                                  I was just wondering how he got on! Started myself yesterday. Gonna be a long hard slog.

Originally posted by Moneymaker View Post
                                                                                                    Barca are better now then they were in 09 though. And from what i've seen Chelsea have really struggled at times in midfield this season.

I don't really agree La Liga is a weak league. Villareal are a much improving team, A.Madrid have the players but don't seem to have the backbone a lot of the time, ditto Sevilla. The quality is there but Barca are just leagues ahead of anyone right now. Real are a shambles atm, Higuain injured, Benzema failing and Adebayor isn't the solution imo. Lots of injuries in defence has left them vulnerable there too.
                                                                                                    I think they are the same. Lampard, the best midfielder in England, being out for so long and taking his time coming back to good form is a massive loss. He might be finished. Losing Terry and Drogba for a bit aswell made the midfield problem even worse as we were light everywhere then. Chelsea will come good again, its not about the last few months its about long term future.

Found a €5 Merrion chip at the back of my bookcase last night. Throw out?
                                                                                                      Think they are still in use in the Jackpot.

My last 3 posts have had more words in them than my last 100. I am dizzy.

I think they are the same. Lampard, the best midfielder in England, being out for so long and taking his time coming back to good form is a massive loss. He might be finished. Losing Terry and Drogba for a bit aswell made the midfield problem even worse as we were light everywhere then. Chelsea will come good again, its not about the last few months its about long term future.
                                                                                                          I agree, people writing off Chelsea are very very silly indeed. Luiz and Torres are huge signings for them. A real injection into that team. Shows they are 100% behind Carlo too, which is the right thing. I think they could use a real top class midfielder though, Lampard isn't getting any younger. Ramires is showing signs he's settling in though I think.

Barca are definitely stronger then they were in 09. Pedro, Villa, Biscuits have all come into the team. Messi is 2 years older and more experienced, ditto Iniesta. A couple of injuries could really put them in trouble though.

Without getting into the team v team debate, Barcelona are a far better team than '09 and '10 this year for a variety of reasons and their league shattering records and statistics this year back it up. Both in terms of simple man for man comparison and the fact that with further experience alot of the individuals have improved alot in those times too, Messi being the main example, look at his goal record in '09 compared to now. I've no idea where they rank on the all time great list fwiw as I'm simply not alive long enough to make that comparison.

And what Moneymaker said on the league. Worth pointing out for the SPL comparisons that Real are currently closer to Villarreal than they are to Barca and have almost all of their toughest away matches still to come.

Hey guys new blog post, my thoughts on transfer day and poker failures. Enjoy.

I held off on my usual Monday afternoon blog post until today due to the transfer deadline day being yesterday and what a transfer deadline ...
                                                                                                              http://carlmorrissey.blogspot.com/
                                                                                                              http://twitter.com/#!/Moro88

Originally posted by Moneymaker View Post
                                                                                                                I agree, people writing off Chelsea are very very silly indeed. Luiz and Torres are huge signings for them. A real injection into that team. Shows they are 100% behind Carlo too, which is the right thing. I think they could use a real top class midfielder though, Lampard isn't getting any younger. Ramires is showing signs he's settling in though I think.

Barca are definitely stronger then they were in 09. Pedro, Villa, Biscuits have all come into the team. Messi is 2 years older and more experienced, ditto Iniesta. A couple of injuries could really put them in trouble though.
                                                                                                                I think Ramires is too light. He might come good. You are right about needing another midfielder but I think they are hoping Lampard can do it for another few years and wait for 17 year old McEachran and 19 year old Clifford to make the step up.

I want Schweinsteiger so bad, he would be perfect and we will be some team then. We will probably be in for James McCarthy in the Summer with United. Imagine that, Ireland midfield future both at Chelsea, drool.

Luiz will be amazing imo, better signing than Torres.

Without getting into the team v team debate, Barcelona are a far better team than '09 and '10 this year for a variety of reasons and their league shattering records and statistics this year back it up. Both in terms of simple man for man comparison and the fact that with further experience alot of the individuals have improved alot in those times too, Messi being the main example, look at his goal record in '09 compared to now. I've no idea where they rank on the all time great list fwiw as I'm simply not alive long enough to make that comparison.

And what Moneymaker said on the league. Worth pointing out for the SPL comparisons that Real are currently closer to Villarreal than they are to Barca and have almost all of their toughest away matches still to come.
                                                                                                                  The competition has got worse in La Liga in last two years so the stats don't mean alot to me. I judge Barca in the CL, peoples opinions of Barca are misguided since they watch them play poor opposition week in week out. They are just as good as the 09 side imo.

My last 3 posts have had more words in them than my last 100. I am dizzy.
                                                                                                                    sit down take it easy, no need for that kinda crazy posting, you will give yourself an aneurism

Yeah I give in, my genius is lost on most of them angry-ball. They never appreciate people like us.

The competition has got worse in La Liga in last two years so the stats don't mean alot to me. I judge Barca in the CL, peoples opinions of Barca are misguided since they watch them play poor opposition week in week out. They are just as good as the 09 side imo.
                                                                                                                        No. They're not. And it's not even close. Whatever you make think of the league etc, they're a far better side than '09. '09 had a far weaker Messi playing, a less effective Iniesta, '09 had Rafa Marquez as first choice centre half for most of the season, '09 had Toure instead of Busquets in mid field, '09 had a finished Henry up front and no Villa or Pedro. Eto'o is the only player in that team not in this team who'd be a contender for a place in the team and almost every player has improved since then, Messi, Pique and Valdes especially but also Iniesta. '09 was also without Abidal for nearly half the season and has Gio and Sylvinho playing left back ffs!

Incidentally the European co-efficent rankings, a purely statistical ranking system used by UEFA and without bias based soley on European performance, also says La Liga was stronger in '10 and now than it was in '09 fwiw.
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Sledgejammer; 01-02-11, 15:59.

Luiz will be amazing imo, better signing than Torres.
                                                                                                                          Bet?