Stayed on a family dairy farm for the weekend. Just about stopped myself from riding on the kitchen table and pissing in the parlour even though their kind are responsible for mass graves in the trillions.

#prayforlazare
    Let's not forget the sexual abuse of poor innocent sheep.

Religion is still the main subject taught in primary school and you have to be baptised to go to school. It's far from in the background.
      I take it you just mean the schools in Ireland?

Malta is a very religious country and poor Laz wouldn't know where to walk without bumping into a church. But the kids do their religion lessons at a church class ran by teachers once a week for 45 minutes. They do have a book in school, but it is not a core subject.

They have ethics classes as well for those who don't want their kids to do Catholicism. There are other religions in the Catholic school and no one cares or bats an eyelid.

@Laz It is the IRISH Catholic church you hate, not every place has the same history as they have in Ireland.
      But you really let it get to you. You are worse than a No supporter sometime with your personal hate vendetta

It is no one else business what your beliefs are, and others should not ridicule you for not agreeing with them. I agree it has caused many wars/fights. But I wont berate someone for believing in something.

Our kid starts in Sept. St Killians. Not baptized. Won't be unless he wants it himself. We've been over this . Times they are a changing

I don't berate or belittle people of faith MrsF. I have no issues with anyone believing whatever they want or living their life whatever way they want.

I am anti catholicism not anti catholic.

It is no one else business what your beliefs are, and others should not ridicule you for not agreeing with them. I agree it has caused many wars/fights. But I wont berate someone for believing in something.
            Catholicism, like any religion, is an idea. Ideas must be challenged, tested and, when shown to falter or fail in the face of scrutiny, discarded.

Catholicism, like any religion, is a stupid idea. It has no basis in fact or logic. It is internally and externally flawed. This is just the idea of the religion as apart from adherents to it. I’m saying the idea is dumb, not the people. However, Sam Harris has a good point in this regard. When we express a belief in the divine resurrection of Christ - in spite of all lack of evidence - we pay no social price for that. None. When we express a belief that Elvis is still alive and happily living his life somewhere - on the basis of just as much evidence - we pay an immediate social price. We would mock that person for what they believe or we would think less of them for it.

If someone expressed a belief that Zeus, Athena and Poseidon were real and sat on high in Olympus meddling in our lives - they would pay an immediate social price. Despite the same evidence existing for this, we would think less of them or scorn their beliefs.

So it’s not true to say we shouldn’t or wouldn’t think less of someone or berate them for their beliefs. Of course we would. And should. Modern religions are just the thing we will look back on in future and wonder how we were ever so stupid.

Catholicism, like any religion, is an idea. Ideas must be challenged, tested and, when shown to falter or fail in the face of scrutiny, discarded.

Catholicism, like any religion, is a stupid idea. It has no basis in fact or logic. It is internally and externally flawed. This is just the idea of the religion as apart from adherents to it. I’m saying the idea is dumb, not the people. However, Sam Harris has a good point in this regard. When we express a belief in the divine resurrection of Christ - in spite of all lack of evidence - we pay no social price for that. None. When we express a belief that Elvis is still alive and happily living his life somewhere - on the basis of just as much evidence - we pay an immediate social price. We would mock that person for what they believe or we would think less of them for it.

If someone expressed a belief that Zeus, Athena and Poseidon were real and sat on high in Olympus meddling in our lives - they would pay an immediate social price. Despite the same evidence existing for this, we would think less of them or scorn their beliefs.

So it’s not true to say we shouldn’t or wouldn’t think less of someone or berate them for their beliefs. Of course we would. And should. Modern religions are just the thing we will look back on in future and wonder how we were ever so stupid.
              I just don't like being a dick to people because of what they believe.

I would much prefer Zeus and Co though, loved Greek and Roman pantheons. Way more interesting.

I just don't like being a dick to people because of what they believe.

I would much prefer Zeus and Co though, loved Greek and Roman pantheons. Way more interesting.
                Would you think less of someone if they told you they thought the earth was flat?

Only about 7 m8. The several day sessions are a rarity these dayys.
                  I found I went straight off a cliff once I hit 30

Would you think less of someone if they told you they thought the earth was flat?
                    Thinking is one thing, but telling them in another. That is the difference. I was good friends with a girl who is into all the conspiracy stuff and anti Vax etc. I may think she is as mad as a brush, but I have never ever said a word about it. I let her get on with her life as her belief system does not affect me in any way,
                    Last edited by MrsFlushdraw; 07-05-18, 12:10.

Saw a thing on Facebook a while ago which gave me a lol. The flat earth society.

Under the heading on their page they had this beautiful line..

'Members all around the globe"

Thinking is one thing, but telling them in another. That is the difference. I was good friends with a girl who is into all the conspiracy stuff and anti Vax etc. I may think she is as mad as a brush, but I have never ever said a word about it. I let her get on with her life as her belief system does not affect me in any way,
                        Anti vax idiots do affect you, their idiocy affects all of us.

It actively, harmfully and significantly affects you and your children.

Any time these bullshit ideas go unchallenged hurts us but of them all Anti-Vax might be the single most dangerous and hurtful of the lot

Anti vax idiots do affect you, their idiocy affects all of us.
                            My point is I am not going to be a dick to someone.

It actively, harmfully and significantly affects you and your children.

Any time these bullshit ideas go unchallenged hurts us but of them all Anti-Vax might be the single most dangerous and hurtful of the lot
                            It won't affect my kids as they are all vaccinated up to date. I agree it is very dangerous, but there is no arguing with an anti-vaxxer. They are rabid on the subject. They think we are all clueless. I don't get drawn into disputes. BUT if I had a sick kid with no immune system, I would not visit any of these crazy folks.

My point is I am not going to be a dick to someone.

It won't affect my kids as they are all vaccinated up to date. I agree it is very dangerous, but there is no arguing with an anti-vaxxer. They are rabid on the subject. They think we are all clueless. I don't get drawn into disputes. BUT if I had a sick kid with no immune system, I would not visit any of these crazy folks.
                              Gil, anti vax people affect you and your kids regardless of whether yours are vaccinated or not.

Vaccination success depends on herd immunity, your friend persuading people not to vaccinate renders your daughters vaccination useless.

Gil, anti vax people affect you and your kids regardless of whether yours are vaccinated or not.

Vaccination success depends on herd immunity, your friend persuading people not to vaccinate renders your daughters vaccination useless.
                                It was a bad example, I dont talk to the person as we fell out 18 months ago. I was just describing someone with different views. It was religion we had been talking about. You and Kayroo just jumped on my bad example. I am not getting into a fight about it. We dont even live in the same Country! (My friend and I)

/out
                                Last edited by MrsFlushdraw; 07-05-18, 13:50.

We dont even live in the same Country! (My friend and I)
                                  Not really relevant. Whether they live 10 minutes or 10 hours away. Their pontential contribution to evolving a virus is the same. If a strain emerges that you or you kids arent protected against, it travels very easily.

Jesus, do I have to break everything down. I mean I wont argue about it with her as

A) I dont talk to her anymore
                                    B) Not in the same Country.

Now would you all please back the fuck off. I explained I used a bad example and you are just peeing me off at this stage

Decent weekend for our first foray into camping. Don't think I'd want to do it for more than a long weekend though.

Kids utterly fucked tired.

Adopting a policy of 'why can't we just let idiots be idiots' is a dangerous one. UK and US are at endgame of this nicey-nicey policy of live and let live and it's ruining them. If a view is against the broader interest of society (racism, non-scientific healthcare, religion-where-it-interferes-with-others) it should be actively fought against. None of this 'I respect your right to have a different opinion'. Some things are just wrong and need to be stopped before they infect the herd.

As an Irish example - I'd say there's a nearly 100% correlation between anti-pylon idiots and anti-vac idiots. But we let the anti-pylon idiots cement their views by not pointing out how stupid it is and then those people mutated into something much more dangerous with the anti-vac.

Same way as the useful union-jack-underpants-wearing-canon-fodder idiot mutated into pure racism and economic destruction for UK.
                                          Adopting a slightly more advanced position: we teach people through cautionary tales.

The UK is in the process of turning itself into a giant cautionary tale. "This is what happens when you allow the national discourse to be dominated by xenophobia, lies and buffoons like Farage".

Jesus, do I have to break everything down. I mean I wont argue about it with her as

A) I dont talk to her anymore
                                            B) Not in the same Country.

Now would you all please back the fuck off. I explained I used a bad example and you are just peeing me off at this stage
                                            Don't worry these boys will be dead and into oblivion in a decade or three, whereas you and I will have our angel wings forever. . Remember they are not arguing with you , it's just an intellectual pissing competition. .

Great bit o weather this weekend.

Just to be clear - I have no gripe with you at all MrsFD. I'm just talking about the broader point.

A somewhat negative encounter with geese on the post-dinner amble. Those little guys can look really quite intimidating when they choose to be. Running at you with their necks full flush forward and screaming.
                                                    Similar experience with a gaggle of vote No merchants Zero sense of humour.

Is there somewhere good to go? (with maybe a chalet option). Brother was saying about somewhere maybe in Monaghan.

These Western Brittany camps are class. Seem to be full of pasty Irish people presumably attracted by idea of having a bit of sun but not too much sun.

Food of this part of Brittany is ridic good.
                                                      This place in Kilkenny. Would be ideal for your age cohort.

Lots of animal-related activity. Wouldn't be good for teenagers but u-10s all loved it and the sun obviously sealed the deal.

Our kid starts in Sept. St Killians. Not baptized. Won't be unless he wants it himself. We've been over this . Times they are a changing
                                                        wtf? kids needs a soul you know.

Getting sent out of the country for referendum day (only found out now checking work emails). Assume far too late to do a postal ballot?

Those lads cutting your hair on the Sabbath are soulless.

Adopting a policy of 'why can't we just let idiots be idiots' is a dangerous one. UK and US are at endgame of this nicey-nicey policy of live and let live and it's ruining them. If a view is against the broader interest of society (racism, non-scientific healthcare, religion-where-it-interferes-with-others) it should be actively fought against. None of this 'I respect your right to have a different opinion'. Some things are just wrong and need to be stopped before they infect the herd.

As an Irish example - I'd say there's a nearly 100% correlation between anti-pylon idiots and anti-vac idiots. But we let the anti-pylon idiots cement their views by not pointing out how stupid it is and then those people mutated into something much more dangerous with the anti-vac.

Same way as the useful union-jack-underpants-wearing-canon-fodder idiot mutated into pure racism and economic destruction for UK.
                                                              I'd say there is a 95% correlation between anti-pylon people and 'they want to put a pylon on my land or near my house' people. I don't believe any negative things about illness causing or whatever, but I'd much prefer not to see one from my house. I'm definitely a NIMBY.

Getting sent out of the country for referendum day (only found out now checking work emails). Assume far too late to do a postal ballot?
                                                                Far too late, plus I think someone else on here said recently that it is difficult enough to get a postal ballot anyhow.

Just to be clear - I have no gripe with you at all MrsFD. I'm just talking about the broader point.
                                                                  I just wish I had said chemtrails! I hate all the crap about vaccinations, I have argued with folks till I am blue in the face. With some, you just give up. The world is fucked!

Just back from Infinity War

OMG!

Far too late, plus I think someone else on here said recently that it is difficult enough to get a postal ballot anyhow.
                                                                      Bollix. I'm sure jack will do the decent thing and sit this one out as part of our pairing arrangement.

I'll be in Brooklyn. Full of hipsters I believe so I should fit in nicely.

Check out this link . They got no soul.

Fecked up the link. Checkout #gottoddlered on twitter
                                                                        Last edited by Solksjaer!; 07-05-18, 19:45.

Pair your vote with Jack

Fair play to Higgins, that is some comeback, well set up for a grandstand finish

...This final is shaping up to be a nail biter... From 14-7 Williams to 15-15...

Easy enough to get postal vote if it's work-related. But you'd need a letter from your boss. No idea of deadlines though. They do their absolute best to deprive modern working folk of their right to vote.
                                                                                  27th of April was deadline

Easy enough to get postal vote if it's work-related. But you'd need a letter from your boss. No idea of deadlines though. They do their absolute best to deprive modern working folk of their right to vote.
                                                                                    Lol. Yeah cos having polling stations open from 7am to 10pm is very depriving.

He's on about the registering system.

That's not exactly depriving either. People had plenty of notice. It's fill out a form, send it back. Rd3 company should have known he was gonna be out of the country and advised him to sort a postal registration.

Lol. Do you think he works for the civil service? A trip to Brooklyn with a fortnights notice is doing well!

Jaysus I didn't realise it was that close to your heart. Printing and filling out a form to then to be brought to a Garda station then get a stamp and post seems like a lot of effort for these times. A change of address should he handier

Lol. Do you think he works for the civil service? A trip to Brooklyn with a fortnights notice is doing well!
                                                                                              Nice life. It's still not the gubberment doing their level best to deprive people voting, which was the original point.

In other news, scenes in the snooker. Williams on for a nice clearance for the championship and misses one he's been.potting all match. Higgins should get back to within one for anyone not watching. Should go 16-17 and first to 18

Jaysus I didn't realise it was that close to your heart. Printing and filling out a form to then to be brought to a Garda station then get a stamp and post seems like a lot of effort for these times. A change of address should he handier
                                                                                                  I take everything to heart m8. I'm an emotional guy.

What a clearance by Higgins, ok they were laid out well for him but that took balls of steel

That was fucking class. Really happy i sat down to.to watch the evening session now.

Not sure how to fix

OMG thats fking hilarious .

To think how good Tony Drago could have been at snooker if he didn't have to put as much time into learning Maltese.

Read a ton of comments on that tweet and seeing your reaction here I've discovered that I'm the only one that thinks that guy is a cretinous cunt.

Football is ugly shit.

Read a ton of comments on that tweet and seeing your reaction here I've discovered that I'm the only one that thinks that guy is a cretinous cunt.

Football is ugly shit.
                                                                                                                    You're not the only one, he is a tosser. Football is beautiful. I love it. Some fans are morons, not the sport. Typical paddy power "lad banter"

Desecration of a church is funny but mocking soccer fans isn't

World of difference.

One is a case of a man taking advantage of a kind hearted soul's goodwill, depriving a young girl in the process and then being a nasty vindictive cunt afterwards.

The other is two people engaging in a natural act causing annoyance to child rapist apologists.

Looked up the hashtag, scrool down to videos and lose an hour

Full of shit like this

Last edited by Guest; 07-05-18, 22:57.