Would anyone know a tax accountant they would recommend?

- need to sell the sideplot and want to be sure to minimise the tax bill as there's a whole lot of vagueness on what is the acceptable implied purchase value of the sideplot, which then determines the taxable gain.

I was arguing with the estate agent that given the neighbours had already got planning for their equivalent plot by the time we bought, then our purchase price heavily implied that planning would be awarded. So the fact that planning was eventually awarded shouldn't have massively created extra taxable value. He was shrugging saying he doesn't know, but thinks we might have 100k of taxable gain, which seems like madness.
    Are you trying to argue that you overpaid on your house with the notion that you were paying for a plot of land as part of that, which was just your garden then and that you would get planning permission but be able to sell but offset the tax bill by implying that you had already paid extra for it knowing you'd get planning to get another house there and sell the plot with actual planning permission?

That might not make sense to read, tbh. Seems a bit mad on your part though, which is fairly standard (you being mad, that is).

If I'm taking you up correctly, I very much doubt you have any leg to stand on with revenue on this one.

The problem with appeasing fascist regimes, of which Russia most certainly one, is:
      1. it may look like success for a brief time - the guns stop firing but then
      2. the fascists break any treaty they may have signed and push forward again
      3. the appeasers scratch their heads and wonder what happened (like you in Feb 2022)
      You may remember the Minsk Accords. That were supposed to settle this conflict way back in 2014-15. Russia broke them by seizing Crimea and then invading Ukraine. They will break any future peace treaty too as the lesson they take from recent history is that the west is weak and through a combination of bribable politicans, misinformation campaigns and useful idiots, will always the the road of appeasement. The next stop for Putin is the Baltics.

Fascist regimes have to be confronted and defeated. We should supply any and all aid needed, seize all Russian offshore assets and give them to Ukraine as compensation, continue to isolate the Russian fascist regime and, most importantly, stay united. Russia presents an existential threat and you can't wish that away.

Not sure its all that complicated or unusual?

Paid 590k for the house. Some of the value was due to the fact that it had a sideplot that could potentially be developed due to DLR in-fill policy and the direct neighbours having previously gotten permission. So there was clearly implied value to the fact that what we bought included a sideplot.

The question then is working out what was the implied value of the sideplot when we bought, as that matters in terms of working out the taxable gain due to the fact that the sideplot now has planning permission.

E.g. if the implied value was 450k for the house then that means we paid 140k for the site. If we sell the site for 250k, then thats a taxable gain of 110k, minus 10k architect fees, equals CGT tax due of 35k. While if we can reasonably claim the house was 400k and site was 190k, then the taxable gain would be 50k and therefore 17k tax due. Its quite a big difference.

Not sure its all that complicated or unusual?

Paid 590k for the house. Some of the value was due to the fact that it had a sideplot that could potentially be developed due to DLR in-fill policy and the direct neighbours having previously gotten permission.

The question then is working out what was the implied value of the sideplot when we bought, as that matters in terms of working out the taxable gain due to the fact that the sideplot now has planning permission.

E.g. if the implied value was 450k for the house then that means we paid 140k for the site. If we sell the site for 250k, then thats a taxable gain of 110k, minus 10k architect fees, equals CGT tax due of 35k. While if we can reasonably claim the house was 400k and site was 190k, then the taxable gain would be 50k and therefore 17k tax due. Its quite a big difference.
          Tell revenue about your implied thinking. I'm sure there is a section of the tax code that deals with "implied" and "surely" or maybe it's filed under "c'mon now".

huh? If the full amount is taxable gain then the implied value of the site is zero. In no situation is there not an implied value for the land.

Well you have nothing to worry about then.

call around various estate agents - surely after talking to a few you will find out whether what you are saying is reasonable or not.

Anyway, in entertainment news, the Trump trial proper opens today after they eventually seated a jury last week.

I doubt you could buy any form of fictional entertainment that would match this.

I also see there's a biopic coming out that looks fun too - young Trump and the relationship that formed his worldview.

Kinda interesting how self-driving taxis are starting to become mainstream. Didi in China talking now about getting a million robotaxis on the road after successful trials. SanFran has recently approved an expansion of their robotaxis - where the taxis are now allowed to use motorways. Clearly the tech fundamentally works - its now just about persuading people that its safe. It would be fairly handy just about anywhere in Ireland. Massive shortage of taxis in Dublin, but then rurally theres a lot of routes where you would benefit from a taxi, but an actual person wouldn't be able to justify the frequencies of use to make up a full salary.

I'm not sure robotaxis are equipped to deal with narrow boreens where you have to pull in at a house because you see a car coming 50m away, or you have to back up 50m to find a place to let someone pass you.

or auld fellas driving on the wrong side of a blind corner because 'sure everyone knows I go up to town at this time'

Grand Armchair General RDIII loves sending other peoples kids to get chopped down in a muddy Ukrainian ditch.

you’d think he would have learned his lesson after his glorious offensive predictions last year

Irish people should shut the fuck up about what other countries should /shouldnt be doing unless we have skin in the game ie unless we are in a position where we are sending people off to die

Hitch I'd be of the opinion that unless you bought the house with planning permission already in place, and hence with the implied added value built in, all you've done now is overpaid for a garden.
                            Have you even overpaid through?
                            What are neighbouring houses selling for recently?

Hitch I'd be of the opinion that unless you bought the house with planning permission already in place, and hence with the implied added value built in, all you've done now is overpaid for a garden.
                              Have you even overpaid through?
                              What are neighbouring houses selling for recently?
                              overpaid would be relative to the original price paid at the time, rather than the current neighbouring prices? There was houses in the neighbourhood the same size as ours selling for 400-450 when we bought, the only difference being that we got a bigger garden with ours that had presumed permission to build.

This is an odd one. Was jogging through the park earlier and it's worse than i thought. It must have taken him/them ages. What kind of lunatic goes to such lengths. Obviously infuriating. Hard to get your head around. 40+ trees!

Last edited by Silver-Tiger; 22-04-24, 11:33.

jesus, there's so many people seem to have innoculated their crazy over covid. we'll be dealing with this for a decade. thats psychopathic level stuff.

This is an odd one. Was jogging through the park earlier and it's worse than i thought. It must have taken him/them ages. What kind of lunatic goes to such lengths. Obviously infuriating. Hard to get your head around. 40+ trees!

Need to get the special branch involved imo.

also a chain of evidence, to see who saw what. a chain-saw if you will.

of course 6star would probably say it had no implied value

Irish people should shut the fuck up about what other countries should /shouldnt be doing unless we have skin in the game ie unless we are in a position where we are sending people off to die
                                          Ireland and Europe very clearly have skin in this game.
                                          Like it or not the realpolitik is that we are at war with Putin's Russia. If Putin is not stopped it is only a matter of of time before it's escalated to a level where we are directly involved.

Anyone who thinks this can end in a deal around giving him some partial surrender of bits of Ukraine is either a deluded fool or actively working to support the Kremlin.

Need to get some boots on the ground, interview witnesses and axe some questions.

You can call the revenue and put the scenario to then and that will be straight with you about how they will calculate it and what evidence you'll need to back up your estimates.
                                              If you don't like what you hear you can pay a tax accountant to try and bring the bill down, but you'll more than likely be pissing in the wind.

Like it or not the realpolitik is that we are at war with Putin's Russia. If Putin is not stopped it is only a matter of of time before it's escalated to a level where we are directly involved.

Anyone who thinks this can end in a deal around giving him some partial surrender of bits of Ukraine is either a deluded fool or actively working to support the Kremlin.
                                                It is 100 percent nailed on that the US is currently advising Ukraine on how to arrive at a workable deal and there is no chance the deal involves Ukraine first winning back its land as - and this bears repeating as its so obviously vital - as Ukraine already tried to win back the land with the full might of international weapons and the only result was more dead Ukrainians. It should be fairly obvious that if you lose all your trained soldiers then you are vastly weaker in the medium-term. You can't have all your soldiers wiped out and then hope to hold the defence line with 47 year old accountants.

Here's an NBC article from November on the tentative peace talks. https://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/u...ces-rcna123628

Probably some organised group of residents worried about sun being blocked out by maturing trees , very forward thinking ? Or perhaps a splinter group. .

It is 100 percent nailed on that the US is currently advising Ukraine on how to arrive at a workable deal and there is no chance the deal involves Ukraine first winning back its land as - and this bears repeating as its so obviously vital - as Ukraine already tried to win back the land with the full might of international weapons and the only result was more dead Ukrainians. It should be fairly obvious that if you lose all your trained soldiers then you are vastly weaker in the medium-term. You can't have all your soldiers wiped out and then hope to hold the defence line with 47 year old accountants.

Here's an NBC article from November on the tentative peace talks. https://www.nbcnews.com/news/world/u...ces-rcna123628
                                                    This is always the kicking the can down the road approach when it comes to Russia.

I have no idea how this will all pan out, I'm no geopolitical hawk, but if there is a deal that involves Russia keeping large parts of the bombed out eastern ukraine it'll likely be accompanied by Ukraine joining NATO and the EU as part of it, and those are all things that are very difficult to happen individually, never mind together.

This is always the kicking the can down the road approach when it comes to Russia.
                                                        Totally - I do love the innocence of anyone advocating this approach in that they assume Russian good faith after any Treaty is struck. Usually dressing it up with pretend concern for Ukraine.

Putin wants all of Ukraine and is prepared to play the long game to get it. He also wants all the Baltic republics. He needs stopping now - the Ukrainians know this full well, hence why they are fighting so hard.

Pretty sure they are fighting hard because the people who are annexed, conquered or whatever will be robbed, raped and butchered by the Russian army as soon as they lay down their weapons.

The idea that the people of eastern Ukraine will just be welcomed into Russian society, treated as equals and will all hold hands on the way to the ballot box is hilarious.

Russian shills are making a good fist of memeifying the idea that anyone who doesn't want to capitulate to Vlad is a warmonger luxuriating in the suffering of young Ukrainians.

You are literally buying a line from that Trump jnr advert. Cop the fuck on would ya.

Pretty sure they are fighting hard because the people who are annexed, conquered or whatever will be robbed, raped and butchered by the Russian army as soon as they lay down their weapons.
                                                              You don't need to be 'pretty sure'. You can be 100% sure - because it's what the Russians have already done in Bucha, Irpin, Mariupol and a hundred other places.

I don't call them fascists for no reason! This is the same playbook the Nazis used in their occupied lands.

overpaid would be relative to the original price paid at the time, rather than the current neighbouring prices? There was houses in the neighbourhood the same size as ours selling for 400-450 when we bought, the only difference being that we got a bigger garden with ours that had presumed permission to build.
                                                                I meant recently in the errr geological sense

Got lucky this morning and walked into the kitchen when the radio presenter was saying they had just unearthed a recording of Sinead O'Connor doing a version of 'Nothing Compares To You' for the RTE Radio Rattlebag show in the early 00s.

She had to have her arm twisted a bit to do it but her and the pianist/arranger rehearsed for 10 mins and this is what came out (go to 45 mins)

Hasn't been heard in public for all those years until today apparently.

Stunning.

Poignantly coincidental as I am listening to her read her bio Rememberings at the minute - and would highly recommend that too!

Some weekend up in Donegal, perfect weather, decent buzz around but far from overcrowded. Perfect.
                                                                    Best life choice I made in a long time moving to Donegal 5 years ago.

Russian shills are making a good fist of memeifying the idea that anyone who doesn't want to capitulate to Vlad is a warmonger luxuriating in the suffering of young Ukrainians.

You are literally buying a line from that Trump jnr advert. Cop the fuck on would ya.
                                                                      All I'm seeing on the meme side is ye guys with no skin in the game and talking in absolute truths when only relative realities exist, while I linked to an NBC article talking about how the NATO alliance is currently trying to work out how best to reach a reliable peace deal. Memes are easy for you when you aren't on the ground - while the people on the ground are trying to work it out. All this 17bn does is kil more Ukrainians. its not supposition, we literally have the evidence of all of last year - not an inch of ground gained despite the promise of new weapons enabling this, and you want to do the same stupid thing all over again.

I have no idea how this will all pan out, I'm no geopolitical hawk, but if there is a deal that involves Russia keeping large parts of the bombed out eastern ukraine it'll likely be accompanied by Ukraine joining NATO and the EU as part of it, and those are all things that are very difficult to happen individually, never mind together.
                                                                        Yeah, thats the difficult thing and thats what needs to happen. as it needs to be an enforced peace. so its going to need peacekeeping troops on the ground and a huge amount of them.

But sure its grand. We'll have the exact same conversation in November (just like last November) when there has been another summer of slaughter to zero effect and the conversation turns once again to what the solution is. Ukraine at that point with maybe 10k less trained soldiers. And we can chat about any attempt to note the pointlessness of the whole thing is a meme and makes you a stooge and what we really need is a few more months of fighting as that will absolutely definitely work.

Need to get some boots on the ground, interview witnesses and axe some questions.
                                                                            I would go out on a limb and say the root of the problem is drugs. Hard to beleaf.

So the first witness in the Trump porn star trial is called Pecker.

Who says the law doesn't have a sense of humour?

You can’t invoke realpolitik and then say anyone talking of a deal is a Russian shill- you sound like Armchair Marshall Raoul Duke III- there’s already been peace talks in 22 where concessions were on the table
                                                                                A deal or escalation to world war 3 (or defeat of Ukraine by Russia) are the only outcomes here- Ukraine are not going to turn the tide- this isn’t a marvel movie or a Hollywood history movie- murderers an rapists are going to get away with it as they often do

So the first witness in the Trump porn star trial is called Pecker.

Who says the law doesn't have a sense of humour?
                                                                                  Your task now is to persuade him to take up golfing as a career.

I guess we could always ask Ukrainians (you know, the ones engaged in an existential war with a ruthless invader) what they think.

Interesting to note that Ukrainians themselves are totally implacable and very united in their just cause. Why would anyone seek to undermine this? It's baffling.

Thinking of it another way, I guess the best historical analogy I could think of would be if the USA had decided to leave the Brits in the lurch in September 1940.

Thankfully they didn't do this. And we shouldn't do it now.

I guess we could always ask Ukrainians (you know, the ones engaged in an existential war with a ruthless invader) what they think.

Interesting to note that Ukrainians themselves are totally implacable and very united in their just cause. Why would anyone seek to undermine this? It's baffling.

I can only presume that neither you nor the four gombeens that liked your post, actually read the article.

Your point all day has been that only Trump and Marjorie Taylor Green freaks are in favour of a ceasefire, while the article itself literally starts on the very first line by talking about the widespread western view that its time for ceasefire, and then goes on later in the article just to breakdown exactly how widespread this view is.

Like - you just need to read your own nonsense once in a while. Even articles like this written by a guy who spouts the most unbelievable nonsense*, disagree with your premise.

* his current tweet claims that "460,260 Russian soldiers have died since the invasion." - The BBC has kept a widely-viewed-as-reliable estimate of deaths and puts it at a bit over 100,000 deaths.

Is a drivers licence still acceptable on flights with Aer Lingus to and from UK does anyone know?
                                                                                          Yes completely fine. Only Ryanair demand passports.

Thinking of it another way, I guess the best historical analogy I could think of would be if the USA had decided to leave the Brits in the lurch in September 1940.

Thankfully they didn't do this. And we shouldn't do it now.
                                                                                            your entire historical lessons are a 100 years old. there has been endless individual conflicts in the intervening 100 years that have been solved through unpleasant agreements - the vast overwhelming majority of all conflicts are solved in this way - which is why you need to go back a century to make out of date points. the UN's day job is brokering these peace agreements all over the world, quite successfully.

but most importantly:

you said the exact same stupid things last year and were proven completely wrong. you need to suck it up in 2024 and choose to learn from a pro.

yorkie bars have such a dismal history. they seemed to be everywhere when I was growing up, but now they are the silent chocolate bar sitting in the corner that nobody loves. its horrendous brand neglect by whoever owns them.

Got lucky this morning and walked into the kitchen when the radio presenter was saying they had just unearthed a recording of Sinead O'Connor doing a version of 'Nothing Compares To You' for the RTE Radio Rattlebag show in the early 00s.

She had to have her arm twisted a bit to do it but her and the pianist/arranger rehearsed for 10 mins and this is what came out (go to 45 mins)

Hasn't been heard in public for all those years until today apparently.

Stunning.

Poignantly coincidental as I am listening to her read her bio Rememberings at the minute - and would highly recommend that too!
                                                                                                Absolutely incredible

I can only presume that neither you nor the four gombeens that liked your post, actually read the article.

Your point all day has been that only Trump and Marjorie Taylor Green freaks are in favour of a ceasefire, while the article itself literally starts on the very first line by talking about the widespread western view that its time for ceasefire, and then goes on later in the article just to breakdown exactly how widespread this view is.

Like - you just need to read your own nonsense once in a while. Even articles like this written by a guy who spouts the most unbelievable nonsense*, disagree with your premise.

* his current tweet claims that "460,260 Russian soldiers have died since the invasion." - The BBC has kept a widely-viewed-as-reliable estimate of deaths and puts it at a bit over 100,000 deaths.
                                                                                                  Wow. I think you should go to Kyiv and educate these recalcitrant Ukrainians as to their best course of action. Silly fools, fighting for their existence!

'Give up lads, it's pointless. Just give Putin what he wants and he might go away.'

Might be a short conversation.

You don't need to be 'pretty sure'. You can be 100% sure - because it's what the Russians have already done in Bucha, Irpin, Mariupol and a hundred other places.

I don't call them fascists for no reason! This is the same playbook the Nazis used in their occupied lands.

Now do Israel!

Or is more forgivable to just keep deliberately bombing hospitals and playgrounds, as the Israelis do in their occupied land.

'whatabouterry' he cries, as if it is somehow illogical to question someones moral stance when they cheer on slaughter in one realm and view it as fascism in a different realm.

Wow. I think you should go to Kyiv and educate these recalcitrant Ukrainians as to their best course of action. Silly fools, fighting for their existence!

'Give up lads, it's pointless. Just give Putin what he wants and he might go away.'

Might be a short conversation.
                                                                                                      wait did you just copy and paste the same post as last year - I seem to remember this exact post 25000 dead ukranians ago. But luckily the actual adults in the world are trying to work out what the solution is - as linked to earlier - rather than listening to the grown adult who still thinks like he's eight years old reading a heavily thumbed copy of Biggles.

You can’t invoke realpolitik and then say anyone talking of a deal is a Russian shill- you sound like Armchair Marshall Raoul Duke III- there’s already been peace talks in 22 where concessions were on the table
                                                                                                        A deal or escalation to world war 3 (or defeat of Ukraine by Russia) are the only outcomes here- Ukraine are not going to turn the tide- this isn’t a marvel movie or a Hollywood history movie- murderers an rapists are going to get away with it as they often do
                                                                                                        Genuinely believe that any concession to Putin will result in greater violence in the areas ceded to him and also further expansion into the Baltic and Eastern Europe.
                                                                                                        There are no good options, surrendering now is the worst one.​

There’s an insane amount of arrogance required to call lads gombeens for liking a post. A term i’ve only ever heard applied exclusively to the Healy Raes. Well i’m in good company at least.

Haven’t seen that level of arrogance since someone was saying that there was no way that Russia would invade right up to the point that they did. Despite insurmountable evidence that they would. Everyone was a gombeen then too, until they weren’t.

Anyhow, I presume that you are correct in saying that this will end in cease fire eventually. What form, who knows. But i’m fairly sure that it’s still a long way off. Ukraine don’t want to give up their land to a despot who is murdering and raping and pillaging. And the despot see’s the pillaging as his birthright. It’s going to take something significant for him to stop.

Until then it’s vital to hold him off, with the aid. People will die, yes, but they’ll die without it also. But Putin can’t win.

But what do us gonbeens know

Bennyhifi - nice.

. Thanks for that. Im playing in a bar in Zagreb on Friday (if Putin doesn't invade) and seen as it was Princes birthday this week too. Thats a perfect song to tribute both of them . Cheers . Nothing exotic just an invite whilst I'm visiting to play some twee stuff.

Maybe there are levels within levels going on but this might be the funniest thing I've ever seen.

Fairly sure that if the camera swung around you'd see no more than a half dozen people in the room. Is he a bit pissed?

There’s an insane amount of arrogance required to call lads gombeens for liking a post. A term i’ve only ever heard applied exclusively to the Healy Raes. Well i’m in good company at least.

Haven’t seen that level of arrogance since someone was saying that there was no way that Russia would invade right up to the point that they did. Despite insurmountable evidence that they would. Everyone was a gombeen then too, until they weren’t.

Anyhow, I presume that you are correct in saying that this will end in cease fire eventually. What form, who knows. But i’m fairly sure that it’s still a long way off. Ukraine don’t want to give up their land to a despot who is murdering and raping and pillaging. And the despot see’s the pillaging as his birthright. It’s going to take something significant for him to stop.

Until then it’s vital to hold him off, with the aid. People will die, yes, but they’ll die without it also. But Putin can’t win.

thats what happens when you spill a can of heinz

Would anyone have any experience with crunchyroll.com? - its grand is it? eight-year-old wants to enter his anime stage of life.

This is Hitch style debating 101. Once it's obvious you're losing and literally no-one else supports your argument, then resort to ad hominem attacks and flooding the zone with shit. It's a good thing to see.

He does seem pretty triggered by the aid package being approved for Ukraine and the refusal of those pesky Ukrainians just to hand over their country to the fascist Tsar. You would have to wonder why.

Genuinely believe that any concession to Putin will result in greater violence in the areas ceded to him and also further expansion into the Baltic and Eastern Europe.
                                                                                                                      There are no good options, surrendering now is the worst one.​
                                                                                                                      Totally. If you just give him Eastern Ukraine, there's no way he's stopping there.

Just as Hitler didn't stop with the Sudetenland.

Totally. If you just give him Eastern Ukraine, there's no way he's stopping there.

Just as Hitler didn't stop with the Sudetenland.
                                                                                                                        ah we're still stuck with WWII, as the only global conflict over the last 100 years.

Where else since '45 has there been anything even close to resembling Putin's march against democracy?