lolsturridge

Swwwwwwwweeeeeeettttttt

lol Sturridge, stutter step bollox

quality of S.Korean penalties is amazing.
          Fucking unreal penos. Like five buses in a row.

Solid LOL at Strewelpeter. In my most drool worthy, rose tinted glass wearing, devoid of all common sense moments I still wouldn't for such a poor attempt at trolling.

In other news the best thing that happened to Dublin today was Andy Moran getting injured. Terribly unlucky for a truly excellent forward but it'll help Dublin's cause no end if he doesn't play in the semis.

They were some super pens by the Koreans, wp

Should have picked Sir. BeckhaDrrrrrooooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllll

Needs a soundtrack. But this is incredible footage

The footage was part of a CIE Dublin Bus training video shot in 1965Watch 'Dublin Town 1965' on this channel which includes the edited bits from this film wi...

Edit: Looks like the cinema (Savoy?) at the end was showing Ship of Fools http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0059712/
                  Last edited by ComradeCollie; 04-08-12, 21:27.

BBC coverage pisses all over RTE's
                    Apart from Gary Lineker. Something wrong about a 50 y/o who still looks so boyish. Bet he has some exceedingly deviant perversions.

Himself and Thorpe were definitely getting it on

In other news the best thing that happened to Dublin today was Andy Moran getting injured. Terribly unlucky for a truly excellent forward but it'll help Dublin's cause no end if he doesn't play in the semis.

He won't be playing.

Tabloids are sitting on a load of stories re this guy, standard feeling up the interns stuff but still.

Heat on Ch4 at 23.15..... may as well have another watch

What a fantastic day of sport. I'm fuckin bollixed after all that.

Quite and impressive arse groove in the couch too.

Roll on tomorrow.

Why Whats on tomorrow???

Roll on tomorrow.
                                    wp you and Denise Lewis are the biggest droolers of the games so far

Tabloids are sitting on a load of stories re this guy, standard feeling up the interns stuff but still.
                                      I'd have expected something along the lines of deflowering young goats in a room adorned solely with framed photos of Nigel Mansell.

Goose Island Honker's Ale....much better.

This site has been providing me with hearty LOLs for 2 years now. Not sure if I heard about it from here first. Hers the latest rticle about the "Batman shooting". Get the tinfoil hats out

Why Whats on tomorrow???
                                            Tell me more about how mad ducks are yo.

Needs a soundtrack. But this is incredible footage

The footage was part of a CIE Dublin Bus training video shot in 1965Watch 'Dublin Town 1965' on this channel which includes the edited bits from this film wi...

Good enough reason to repost my own amateur effort

Name: Peter *********

sex: please

political ideology: Irish Republican

Thing loved most: JESSICA ENNIS

dont give a shit if she sleeps on a union Jack, even the wife is getting jealous now, shes smoking hot!!!!!!!

wheres the spire

Heat on Ch4 at 23.15..... may as well have another watch
                                                    Albert Torena was huge in this film. How he wasnt picked up to go on to better things i dont know.

This guy was a massive weak link in the film. I can only think he was juiced in.

FAO Zod

Gerry Kienan should just fuck off and die Iv never seen such a negative miserable aul wretch
                                                        He just tells it as it is. He was right it was a slow time and not a great final compared to other recent Championships.

11 athletes have run under 27.10 for the 10k this year, 27.30 in the Olympics is awful. Its the slowest winning time since 1992 Barcelona. The last two have been very close to breaking 27 minutes.

Roll on tomorrow.
                                                          Do they have memory foam armchairs these days? Was thinking they'd be the nuts for two weeks like this.

Search after men spotted climbing down manhole near Dublin Castle

Today is Dublin's reckoning?

Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 04-08-12, 22:09.

Anyone ever try Nyotaimori? Its eating sushi off a naked female. Quite a fascinating idea, but not sure I fully get it.

[NSFW="Not really, but kinda NSFW"][/NSFW]
                                                                I love Japan..3 days on my own there wasn't even enough time to scratch the surface of their weirdness.

Kenneth Egan, not great on tv.

Well compared to Dunne anyhow.

I'd have expected something along the lines of deflowering young goats in a room adorned solely with framed photos of Nigel Mansell.
                                                                    Is that kind of thing still considered deviant?

Genuinely shocked to see Tipp are 6/4 v Kilkenny for the hurling semi final

Snappage.

Anyone ever try Nyotaimori? Its eating sushi off a naked female. Quite a fascinating idea, but not sure I fully get it.

[NSFW="Not really, but kinda NSFW"][/NSFW]
                                                                          I love Japan..3 days on my own there wasn't even enough time to scratch the surface of their weirdness.
                                                                          I wuz trying to ask a question re Japaeze porn. Then i eealixed I was Too drunk to type or think

Fantastic night of sport. Feeling so proud of our gingers, adopted africans and girls with men's stomachs.

Off to my hometown tomorrow to sample the atmosphere and cheer on Ben & the Irish girl.
                                                                            www.d4events.com

tg4 if ye wanna be reminded how embarrassing people of this country are

Would love to go there but seems a very expensive place for a holiday.

I wuz trying to ask a question re Japaeze porn. Then i eealixed I was Too drunk to type or think
                                                                                See above !

the jap porn, have heard they have vending machines for worn panties over there.

Dont get the pixilation on the mainstream stuff though...weird, some ratings rulw obv, just silly.

Originally posted by shortstack View Post
                                                                                  Fantastic night of sport. Feeling so proud of our gingers, adopted africans and girls with men's stomachs.

Off to my hometown tomorrow to sample the atmosphere and cheer on Ben & the Irish girl.
                                                                                  No one will even remember the gingers name in a weeks time. Poor timing sir.

As for the cyclists and rowers. Who are you? Life can be pretty fickle.

BUMP

That 10k race was simply amazing, one we will watch in years to come on you tube on how you execute the perfect race. Whats even more amazing is that training partners finish Gold & Silver, train with the best and beat the rest, they gave Rupp no chance but i knew his form was good. Delighted for Mo he works hard for it.

The finish to the ladies tri today was also fantastic, really unlucky for Aileen coming off the bike, the way the race developed on the bike she would have been in contention, perhaps not a medal with those runners today but a respectable top 6. At least 5 crashed on the same corner you would think the marshalls would have sorted that shit out.

A fantastic day in the Olympics escpecially for GB, delighted for them.

That 10k race was simply amazing, one we will watch in years to come on you tube on how you execute the perfect race. Whats even more amazing is that training partners finish Gold & Silver, train with the best and beat the rest, they gave Rupp no chance but i knew his form was good. Delighted for Mo he works hard for it.

The finish to the ladies tri today was also fantastic, really unlucky for Aileen coming off the bike, the way the race developed on the bike she would have been in contention, perhaps not a medal with those runners today but a respectable top 6. At least 5 crashed on the same corner you would think the marshalls would have sorted that shit out.

A fantastic day in the Olympics escpecially for GB, delighted for them.
                                                                                        Exactly that's what championships are about. Times are irrelevant. It's about delivering irrespective of what is thrown at you.

Good to see you back Fran. I hope the health is good.

Fucking poke in the eye, ugh

Exactly that's what championships are about. Times are irrelevant. It's about delivering irrespective of what is thrown at you.

Good to see you back Fran. I hope the health is good.
                                                                                            Cheers man well recovered after the events in Germany as shown in a 174k cycle in the Wicklow Mtns this morning

20 mins into watching Ted, i should have laughed by now, yeah ?

Context from above, race report below....you may need a few minutes to read I have not had an opportunity to post on here for a good while as not enough hours in the day with family/work/training.
                                                                                                Challenge Roth – Germany, Race Report

The bad ones are always tough to put down on paper particularly this one as it was my A race for the year.

Training had gone well with my season kicking off Back in Oct 2011 with this being my first season coached. IM specific work commenced after the completion of the Barcelona marathon back in March.
                                                                                                All the numbers were looking good with a 50watt improvement on the bike and my easy run pace on my long runs reduced by about 40secs per km.
                                                                                                Training could have been perfect but unfortunately a piriformis injury had hampered my final preparations in the peak phase. The goal was very much sub 10 all the way and I was prepared to throw the kitchen sink at it.

Travel

I was travelling over with my coach Dave and a friend Darren (aka Mr Tango). The trip got off to a terrible start with a cancelled flight with us eventually heading out some 12 hours later with the second flight delayed to add insult to injury.
                                                                                                To add further complication when we eventually arrived over to Frankfurt Airport we found out that the car rental company had given our van away even though we advised them of the delay and the fact it was pre paid. Their comeback was “tough luck” this would be a reoccurring theme as the Germans we encountered through the trip lacked basic manners and came across rude. I might add I know one German girl who is the exact opposite so don’t want to tar them all with the same brush. After much discussion and us not budging we finally got on the road nearly an hour and a half later. We were all pretty wrecked at this stage and what should be a 2hr drive became a 3.5hr drive as we had to take a detour due to road works on the Autobhan. We went cross country and I was nearly falling asleep behind the wheel, not fun and not the preparation you want 24hrs out from your race. We eventually arrived to the hotel at 3am on Saturday morning essentially a day late with no sleep and wrecked from the bad luck we endured on our travels over.

Pre Race
                                                                                                Saturday morning was spent unpacking the bike and building it up. I felt things a bit rushed as we needed to get our bike and run gear ready for when we registered, we were chasing our tails all day.
                                                                                                We arrived down in Roth and got registered straight away and done a short 20min stint on the bike to make sure everything was in working order and also help opening the legs out a little as I felt very stiff from the long day previously. Pace was decent enough at around 38kmph but I did notice the wind was picking up.
                                                                                                Once we got sorted and dropped the bags and bike off it was back to the hotel for a quick freshen up and out to get some food before hitting the bed wrecked at 10am.

Race morning

Woke up around 3:30am after an interrupted sleep thanks to some drunken Germans. Tried to get a decent amount of brekkie in and managed about 700kcals. We headed down to race venue and got the bike and nutrition sorted. Started to feel a bit queasy but put it down to race nerves.
                                                                                                They had some music blaring, the nerves and emotions were starting to rise, this is it 10 months of dedicated training leading up to this. Dave was off at 6.40am, I was off at 7am and Darren at 7.05am. We said our good lucks and off we went.

Swim
                                                                                                My wave was off at 7am and we got called in shortly before for a warm up. There was a 5min wait and the emotions were at fever pitch ready for the big day ahead.
                                                                                                Boom the cannon goes off! I had started off to the right along the bank. Straight into some strong swimming for the first 200mtrs until a bit of space opened up. I did not manage to get on feet much so just done my own thing. Hit the first 1500mtrs turnaround point and I felt I was swimming well and keeping my stroke long and strong.
                                                                                                As we turned back some of the uber swimmers from the later waves came flying by me. It was probably around the 2.5k mark that I started to feel a little off with a headache and what felt like dizziness. I knew I had started to slow and as we turned the 3.5k buoy I ended up having to swim over to the bank to get my head together as I was feeling ropey as hell and very dizzy. I reckon I lost about 2 to 3 minutes here whilst sorting my head out. With about 200mtrs to go I just swam easy to get it done. I came out of the water in 1:22 for the 3.8km swim. Not great but 10mins quicker than UKIM last year.

T1
                                                                                                I stumbled up the steps and walked through transition or should I say staggered my way through. I was starting to ask myself what is going on. As a volunteer was helping me off with my wetsuit I got sick all over it and her. In fairness the volunteer was fine about it and had later cleaned it and returned it to my bag. T1 was a very slow affair close on 6 minutes.

Bike
                                                                                                I gingerly got on my bike, 20mins in and I got sick again. Power was down around 30% and I just felt so weak on the bike. Took on some hydration and tried a gel but nothing would stick as I ended up getting sick another several times throughout the bike. I found it very tough on the bike as it’s normally me doing the overtaking as its one of my strongest disciplines so I could not comprehend what was happening to me as large groups overtook me.
                                                                                                I went through a whole range of emotions, why now, why on race day. At around 70k before the Solarberg climb I actually thought I am going to struggle to finish this. I broke down on the bike and emotions hit me hard. As we went up the Solarberg the crowds were 10 deep either side, I should have been enjoying this moment instead of looking blankly ahead. That’s the annoying thing the Solarverg climb is the most famous climb in triathlon and here I was not enjoying the experience.
                                                                                                After the first loop at 90km I was ready to call it a day as I felt lousy and my power was now down around 40% and 70-80 watts off. I also knew dehydration was becoming an issue as I could not hold anything down. My stubbornness and willingness to suffer kicked in and I kept going. The thought of letting my family, friends, coach and most importantly myself down would not let me stop.
                                                                                                The 2nd loop was carnage, I actually remember very little of the last 40k apart from me veering all over the road and I actually came off the bike having run off road at slow speeds. I also remember coming to a sharp descent at high speed with hay bales and the back wheel locking up and me near coming off. I knew this was getting dangerous as I trundled along I had to hold my head steady as I was feeling so dizzy and sick.
                                                                                                My throat was raw at this stage from puking and I was just willing the kms away. Thoughts started to drift to the run and how will I manage it. I had decided I would just go out and see what happens. The later stages were all about surviving and I essentially had to freewheel on any sort of downhill as I had no energy to turn the pedals.
                                                                                                As I rolled into T2 I stopped my watch at 5:58 and got ready to dismount off the bike. I don't remember much but I must have collapsed over another competitor at the dismount line.
                                                                                                Bike file - http://connect.garmin.com/activity/197727049 about 80watts off

Aftermath
                                                                                                I must have sparked out for a while as when I came around I was lying on a stretcher with two IV's and 4 bags of fluids in me with German doctors frantically rushing around me hooking me up to an ECG and taking blood pressure. I was trying to hold my head still as everything was whooshing around and I was having difficulty catching my breathe. I will be honest I was terrified and did not know what was happening, there was talk of rushing me to hospital. As the 4 bags emptied I started to come around a bit about an hour or so later (not sure). They transferred me down by ambulance to the main medical tent beside the finish area where they stuck on another two bags of fluids.
                                                                                                Eventually I came around enough for them to start giving out shit to me for not filling in contact details on the back of my race number, they had a point but with Michelle away on holiday what use could she have been apart from worrying her. I made out from the medical sheet that my hr was in the 180s which above threshold when the medical team got hold of me.
                                                                                                I finally was released after I told them I did not want to go to hospital. I grabbed a bottle of water, found somewhere quite and wept like a fucking baby. It has to be one of the lowest points I have experienced thus far. After a while I made my way to the finish area to see the guys cross the finish line which they did in style with Dave in 10.42 and Darren in a shade over 11 hours. I was trying to hide my disappointment so as not to take the shine off there fine performances.
                                                                                                We eventually got back to collect the bikes, fortunately mine was there as I was unsure what had happened to it. It took us an age to find the van and I just wanted to get out of Roth at that stage. We went out for something to eat later and got sick again so called it a night.
                                                                                                When I got back to the hotel I just crashed out I was physically, emotionally and mentally drained from the day’s events.
                                                                                                Flew home the next day, near collapsed in the airport again and flight was delayed so all in all a terrible weekend from start to finish apart from the company on the trip.

What now?
                                                                                                I am waiting on a cancellation today to see a Doctor as I am still not feeling right. I think my whole body has been compromised from Sunday and what happened. If it was a mechanical or a crash or could just about with live with it but it’s the not knowing what caused this is annoying me.
                                                                                                I love long distance tri but this is the huge downside when something like this happens all that preparation can down the drain if something is not right on race day. I want to do something to try salvage something from the season but what that something is too soon to tell as I need to recover first.
                                                                                                I always said I love to push myself to the limits, to the edge. Well having experienced what I did on Sunday I am just hoping it will not prevent that fighting spirit I know I have in future races. I have holidays to go on this weekend and catch up with Michelle and the kids who are already over there, I really miss them particularly so this week. This week has been a tough one to deal with but I need to remember it’s a race and there will be others.

I want to say a huge thank you to my coach Dave Tunney who is more than just a coach and someone I consider a very good friend despite all the piss taking that goes on between us. Darren (Mr Tango) for helping out with the swimming and after the weekend someone who I also consider a friend. Michelle and the kids who as always give me the support to undertake such a big training load and time commitment. Thanks to all my family and friends for the messages of support. Thanks to my running club DDAC who truly are an amazing bunch of people, I will not forget the card and support shown by you for a long time.

I will be back. You cannot keep a good man down!!

And outcome
                                                                                                Spent the guts of the following weeking getting tests and in hospital, blood tests, chest x ray, echo and stress test. The outcome a possible viral infection or likely food poisining (prawn starter the night before dont ask) and the body being compromised after 7hours of physical exertion with a strained chest muscle from vomitting. Doctor summarised by saying yoy fucked yourself up good, mental testing maybe required Scary stuff for a few days, bad timing and a rotten thing to happen when you out so much into something

Dont get the pixilation on the mainstream stuff though...weird, some ratings rulw obv, just silly.
                                                                                                  That's not a post-production thing. Japanese genitalia are actually pixelated.

For real ?

Want some jap snatch so much righ now !

Hairy and a light dew falling on it....hmmmmm, tasty !

All the writing looks so small after reading your report Fran

Sounds like a really really disappointing trip for you. Hopefully you haven't lost any of the drive for the next one, and you can crush it when it comes around

Speaking of Japanese porn, anyone see Shinji Kagawa's girlfriend?
                                                                                                        Not bad.

[NSFW="NSFW.. Much more NSFW stuff Google-able"]

[/NSFW]

Not bad ??

wowsers.

Not bread.

Just watched God Bless America.

Blown away, what a fantastic movie. And what a score!!

Enjoyed it immensely.

Thought it was really really good too. Was one scene thought was a bit out of place but overall very funny and no prisoners taken

Enjoyed it immensely.
                                                                                                                    so cool, wasn't it?!!
                                                                                                                    Downloaded it a couple of nights ago. Might throw it on soon.

All the writing looks so small after reading your report Fran

Sounds like a really really disappointing trip for you. Hopefully you haven't lost any of the drive for the next one, and you can crush it when it comes around
                                                                                                                      Oh it was, character building though. Well the thing in this sport is the years training is in the bank. Think of deposits and withdrawals in a bank, i have made the training deposits and now its time to make a race withdrawal sometime soon.

Doing Frankfurt IM next year and the goal either next year or year after is to qualify and race in IM Kona in the World Champs. Big lifestyle change from a few years ago, honestly cannot remember the last time i played a hand of poker in a tourney. Miss the poker people over the years but dont miss the lifestyle especially with a young family!!

Oh it was, character building though. Well the thing in this sport is the years training is in the bank. Think of deposits and withdrawals in a bank, i have made the training deposits and now its time to make a race withdrawal sometime soon.

Doing Frankfurt IM next year and the goal either next year or year after is to qualify and race in IM Kona in the World Champs. Big lifestyle change from a few years ago, honestly cannot remember the last time i played a hand of poker in a tourney. Miss the poker people over the years but dont miss the lifestyle especially with a young family!!
                                                                                                                        Fair play Fran, need to do the getting fit myself soon, 40 looming !

so cool, wasn't it?!!
                                                                                                                          It was just brilliant, I loved it.