Hows about that bald-headed Chester lad who plays in the Fulham midfield, Murphy I think his surname is.
    yeah i could imagine him in a Liverpool jersey, could see him wearing it with pride. Big game player no problem scoring at Old Trafford and places like that. Prob be good mates with Stevie G.

Originally posted by aodea View Post
      yeah i could imagine him in a Liverpool jersey, could see him wearing it with pride. Big game player no problem scoring at Old Trafford and places like that. Prob be good mates with Stevie G.
      well able to score from free kicks around the area too.

Originally posted by bubbleking View Post
        This is what happens when mathematicians overly complicate a simple problem by getting bogged down in irrelevant pieces of information.

The statement "one of whom is a son born on a Tuesday" is a piece of information relating to the first component and has nothing to do with the unknown component i.e. the solution to the problem
        Did you read the article?

Everything depends, he points out, on why I decided to tell you about the Tuesday-birthday-boy. If I specifically selected him because he was a boy born on Tuesday (and if I would have kept quiet had neither of my children qualified), then the 13/27 probability is correct.
        "I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes art. You read a book and the writer touches something in you that you would not have brought out of yourself. He makes you discover something interesting in your life. If you are living like an animal, what is the point? What makes the day interesting is that we try to transform it into something that is close to art." - Arsene Wenger

Originally posted by aodea View Post
          Ah get a grip, Benitez is quality but gone, Liverpool aint going to be smart and get Hitzfield or someone like that so big Roy will do a job. I would take him in a milisecond, although im sure Coventry will wave at liverpool on there way down as Mcsheffery fires us back to the promised land.

He comes from Coventry and he is better than Henry, McSheffery ohhhhhhhhhh McSheffery ohhhhhhhhh.

On a serious note would Liverpool fans be happy with any fulham players coming with him, Hangeland? Zamora?. From point of view of general Knowledge if Euroupean teams Hodgson is very close to top and he may discover few gems for Liverpool.
          Yeah, so I'm angry!!

From the Fulham squad we could use Hageland, Duff and Dempsey but it is unlikely we get any of them for differing reasons...

Its shit like this that has the Rigger living in a cardboard box

I have two children, one of whom is a son born on a Tuesday. What is the probability that I have two boys?
            Liable.
            ExPect a letter from my lawyer.

Originally posted by eight-ball View Post
            thought rigger is living in no.17 which is a lucky no. and he is waiting for a no.39 to become vacant before moving, as this is another lucky no.
            Actually, I had it wrong yesterday, #33 is most unlucky.

Waiting for a #76!
            Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 29-06-10, 12:09.

Originally posted by Wreck View Post
              Did you read the article?
              yeah but then got me thinking - and I really dont want to waste time working this out because I have work to do. but I wonder if the problem was "a son born on Tuesday in December" would that shift the probability back to the correct value of 1/3?

What Im saying is that providing irrelevant information may shift the results when looking over a short time period - a bit like a downswing in the HM graph. but over the longer period statistical anomalies should be ironed out.

Anyone got any recommendations for a nice restaurant in town tonight? Have been to MPW, Shanahans, FXBs. Something with steak and fish on the menu would be good. Not into oriental food!! It's for me and gf, have to bring her somewhere nice as I am off to vegas tomorrow for 2 weeks!!

I've heard Le Bon Crubeen on Talbot St is very good, but there are people around here better equipped than me to answer that for ya.

yeah but then got me thinking - and I really dont want to waste time working this out because I have work to do. but I wonder if the problem was "a son born on Tuesday in December" would that shift the probability back to the correct value of 1/3?

What Im saying is that providing irrelevant information may shift the results when looking over a short time period - a bit like a downswing in the HM graph. but over the longer period statistical anomalies should be ironed out.
                    ok feck it I worked it out because I'm bored.

If you add in the December piece of information the chances of 2 boys if the 2nd boy is born;

On Tuesday not in December 1/2.77

In December but not on Tuesday 1/2.86

Not in December OR Tuesday 1/2.12

The crux of the answer really lies in how one interprets the question - which underlines why both answers of 1/2 and 1/3 are correct. Unless you specifically state what relevance a peice of information has in the question then it has to be discarded.

I think Il e-mail this to them and pwn maths geek souls

anyhow i have been doing a bit of "reflecting" as regards the interweb thingy and have decided that it has cost me a shed load of loots over the last 10 years.

paddy power online bookies= -ev for me
                      online pokers= definetly-ev for me
                      ebay= -ev for me bought some load of useless crap of this site

and then there is the online scams

take porn for instance (this is before so much free porn became available)
                      i was a sucker for signing up for the 3day trial things for $2.99, but the catch was if you didn't unsubscribe before the 3 days were out your credit card got charged the monthly subscription of $100 per month. but where was the unsubscribe button!!!! and of course when you rang the cards customer service they couldn't stop the direct debit from their side i mean WTF.

any how after about 6mths of being completely embarassed paying your credit card bill at the banks counter, where it was planely visible to tthe girl working behind the counter that you were only using your credit card to get internet porn by the list of names ,huge knockers, i like it up the ass, thight pussy, i want bigger cocks and such names, you eventually get the brainwave to ring the c/c company and report the card stolen. so they immediately cancel that a/c and send you out a new a/c and hew presto all your direct debits have stopped.

but you would have thought that i would have learned after the first time or maybe the second time not even the third time but four fucking times i had to cancel my credit card over those porn sites.

all i can say now is thank god for free porn. it has made my life so much easier, and the girls working the counter in my local bank think iam after getting over that oversexed/porn type phase i was going through. a few of them have even started talking to me again

haven't read any of it - but if ur wrong TG will let you know - the other math geeks are probably too busy

I'm waiting for the Tommygunne / Redjoker counter before I actually post my theory to the author

Anyone got any recommendations for a nice restaurant in town tonight? Have been to MPW, Shanahans, FXBs. Something with steak and fish on the menu would be good. Not into oriental food!! It's for me and gf, have to bring her somewhere nice as I am off to vegas tomorrow for 2 weeks!!
                            Trocadero is a nice spot on St Andrews Street.

New restaurant run by Conrad Gallagher. Its stupidly cheap for the quality of food you get. You have to order a tasting menu for the whole table, ie you can't pick and choose.

I've had menu 1 and 4. 4 is really good, 1 is good. The wine tasting is good but will leave you quite drunk!

http://www.salondessaveurs.com/

New restaurant run by Conrad Gallagher. Its stupidly cheap for the quality of food you get. You have to order a tasting menu for the whole table, ie you can't pick and choose.

I've had menu 1 and 4. 4 is really good, 1 is good. The wine tasting is good but will leave you quite drunk!
                                nice chap, they think very highly of him in South Africa

(not)

Is that where sixty6 was HJ?

2 of the pictures of horrible run down Ireland are where I live

Im surprised Conrad can get a supplier in Dublin tbh (ooh the stories etc)

as for the maths question

meh!
                                      as someone who walked the tightrope of maths geekdom for a short period of time let me point out that most maths geeks are actually quite thick, like to complicate everything and the answer is bout a 1/2!

all the rest is just me hole!

as for the maths question

meh!
                                        as someone who walked the tightrope of maths geekdom for a short period of time let me point out that most maths geeks are actually quite thick, like to complicate everything and the answer is bout a 1/2!

all the rest is just me hole!
                                        not the kind or refute I was hoping for

anyhow i have been doing a bit of "reflecting" as regards the interweb thingy and have decided that it has cost me a shed load of loots over the last 10 years.

paddy power online bookies= -ev for me
                                          online pokers= definetly-ev for me
                                          ebay= -ev for me bought some load of useless crap of this site

and then there is the online scams

take porn for instance (this is before so much free porn became available)
                                          i was a sucker for signing up for the 3day trial things for $2.99, but the catch was if you didn't unsubscribe before the 3 days were out your credit card got charged the monthly subscription of $100 per month. but where was the unsubscribe button!!!! and of course when you rang the cards customer service they couldn't stop the direct debit from their side i mean WTF.

any how after about 6mths of being completely embarassed paying your credit card bill at the banks counter, where it was planely visible to tthe girl working behind the counter that you were only using your credit card to get internet porn by the list of names ,huge knockers, i like it up the ass, thight pussy, i want bigger cocks and such names, you eventually get the brainwave to ring the c/c company and report the card stolen. so they immediately cancel that a/c and send you out a new a/c and hew presto all your direct debits have stopped.

but you would have thought that i would have learned after the first time or maybe the second time not even the third time but four fucking times i had to cancel my credit card over those porn sites.

all i can say now is thank god for free porn. it has made my life so much easier, and the girls working the counter in my local bank think iam after getting over that oversexed/porn type phase i was going through. a few of them have even started talking to me again
                                          There was ALWAYS free porn on the internet.
                                          Porn now caters for the technically illiterate like bebo catered for people who couldnt code HTML.

2 of the pictures of horrible run down Ireland are where I live
                                            would be worse if you were a D4 head though

Does anyone know what information I need to know to ring up to cancel my phone?

The title says it all really but the conversation at the end is funny.
                                                You can skip to 30 seconds if your not a boy racer.
                                                http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGCR9...layer_embedded
                                                Along the same lines

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmhxiabQiTM[/ame]

LOL all this talk of probability reminds me of the game I used to run at lunch times back when I was in school. I would give the punter 2 dice and the game was they would pay me €1 for a spin and if they got a 10 or higher I would pay out €5. was a nice little earner until I got busted by the dean.

even back then I was a degen

Had a little stroll into town, was gonna buy the Germany jersey but it seems to be sold out everywhere so i ended up getting the Argentina away jersey.

It is pretty nice today some beautiful women in town

Bumped into a bloke i use to go to college with he is doing really good for himself just finished up his coarse in DIT and got full honours and has been lucky to fall into a pretty sweet job, kinda makes me think i should of done something like that but i was never the most academic, fair play to him thou his brain was like a computer ridiculously good.

For those of you into cinema, The Screen Cinema are doing a 2 month 80's movies revival showing some classics i would defo like to see on the big screen. They are showing The Goonies/Predator/Top Gun/Terminator and loads others. Hopefully gonna be able to snag tickets to The Goonies

feckin' weather is turning, I blame Flushdraw

also, bubblekind, what sort of quasi-American school did you go to that you had a 'dean' enforcing discipline?

Sorry for dragging this up again. Can someone stick up a link to a working download for Champ 01-02. Like I want to click it and it to download. No other nonsense. Fook you computers and technology I detest you.

WTFOOKING FOOK ARGHHHHHGHHGGHHHGHHGGHHHGH FOOK OFF YOU PIECE OF CRAP! MANAGED TO FIND THE LINK FORM THE OFFICIAL SITE AND ITS STILL WONT DOWNLOAD. WHAT IS THIS BULLSHIT? CAN YOU DOWNLOAD IT TO A LAPTOP?. Help needed asap before another laptop bites the dust.

Ok Life you win. So incredibly tilted by this-I surrender. I wonder what its like to be a normal person and figure out anything remotely linked to computers or technology or have things work normally. Must be a peaceful exsisitance.

Hopefully when Ive stopped punching the wall manically and screaming at an inanamte object Ill be able to appreciate that fate has conspired to not allow me to actively sabotage my life by taking up Champ again .
                                                        Last edited by Closed_Account; 29-06-10, 13:12.

anybody here from Wicklow care to share with me what your fascination with Mick O Dwyer is all about?

Personally I think he is the biggest spoofer in GAA history and that is some achievement in itself!!
                                                          Hes a money grabbing lil fcuk, whom the only thing he has improved for wicklow football is the following. Every match wicklow play sees us with the majority of the fans. I was in breffni park saturday and it was announced at 3500 in attendance. Without gettin my abacus out i estimated there was 2.5k from wicklow at the match.
                                                          Then to watch the bullshit that went on when we ha a two man advantage. Seanie Johnson is undoubtedly one of the most tallented forwards in the game and deffo got score of the year in that match. But to stick the 2 loose men in the full back line when we were being killed in midfield was suicidal. O'Dwyer and co hid in the fuckin dugout unable to call out any sort of directions. It was a shambles and thus the reason our year is now over. All because they were that braindead and unable to see what was going on. It looked a great comeback from cavan but in fairness it was handed to them.They crowded midfield and won every breaking ball and when johnson kicked that wonder point the could only ever be one outcome.
                                                          The object when micko started with wicklow was to win a championship game and improve our then status from the worst team in ireland. He did this and well we actually had a few successes throughout his tenure. However we're still in division 4 which is a bag of shit because the panel that we now have deserves to playing in at the very least division3. He even united the clans throughout the county and we actually are a match for any team in the country at the moment.
                                                          Where do we stand now though, our year is over because of i feel decisions made in the westmeath game and also the crap that went on in our loss to cavan. Louth and taking nothing away from them are now the fairytale side in the country and this is a massive missed opportunity on our part as we should have easily disposed of westmeath and imo we have improved past louth since our marathon battle with them a few years ago and thus missing out on a possible tilt at a leinster champo.
                                                          The mistakes being made by the management are endless and the players that left the squad after the westmeath game really speaks for itself. Dean Odlum left the panel after the decision to start paddy dalton corner forward in the westmeath match. There had to be other factors in him leaving but this i will say dean odlum is one of the most feared attackers in wicklow football and shouldve started this match. Don Jackman as left the panel and is a solid midfielder and a man i thought would be the ideqal partner for James Stafford but this never materialised.
                                                          Also factor in that we played kilkieeny in the league last year and no subs were used and a full strength team was played. This is just pure thick. How can you possibly know what you have on your panel if you dont use them.

Thats my rabble and its all over the place but O'Dwyer can now leave us be.He got his 100k a year for long enough and now its time for us to employ a youthful manager more adept and knowledgeable about the new style of football.
                                                          The confidence and belief has been instilled in us by O'Dwyer which is what we'll thank him for but he is now holding us back an its time for us to push on after this disastrous year.
                                                          "Quitters never win, Winners never quit."

a phone

Have to agree with you whyno as a Cavan man myself. Wicklow lost them moreso than Cavan won it.

Johnston is one of the best players in the country, but they way Wicklow handled the two man advantage was retarded.

Have to agree with you whyno as a Cavan man myself. Wicklow lost them moreso than Cavan won it.

Johnston is one of the best players in the country, but they way Wicklow handled the two man advantage was retarded.
                                                                If johnson doesnt get score of the year its a joke. The sheer cheek of him to even attempt going for that score imo. If i was marking him and he done that i'd have kicked him into the terrace and walked off in disgust.
                                                                We used the two man advantage to make it look like cavan had 3 extra men

Sorry for dragging this up again. Can someone stick up a link to a working download for Champ 01-02. Like I want to click it and it to download. No other nonsense. Fook you computers and technology I detest you.

WTFOOKING FOOK ARGHHHHHGHHGGHHHGHHGGHHHGH FOOK OFF YOU PIECE OF CRAP! MANAGED TO FIND THE LINK FORM THE OFFICIAL SITE AND ITS STILL WONT DOWNLOAD. WHAT IS THIS BULLSHIT? CAN YOU DOWNLOAD IT TO A LAPTOP?. Help needed asap before another laptop bites the dust.

Ok Life you win. So incredibly tilted by this-I surrender. I wonder what its like to be a normal person and figure out anything remotely linked to computers or technology or have things work normally. Must be a peaceful exsisitance.

Hopefully when Ive stopped punching the wall manically and screaming at an inanamte object Ill be able to appreciate that fate has conspired to not allow me to actively sabotage my life by taking up Champ again .

My name and date of birth was all I needed.

feckin' weather is turning, I blame Flushdraw

also, bubblekind, what sort of quasi-American school did you go to that you had a 'dean' enforcing discipline?
                                                                      boarding school in Mulingar ran by the christian brothers. Doesn't do boarding any more though

That link wont work for me. Im on a laptop with an insanely bad connection-maybe thats why I dont know. Thanks,just going to accept Im not supposed to let the Champ back in my life.

That new Road Safety Authority ad is so strange.

'Always expect the unexpected.'

I can't help but imagine drivers white knuckling their steering wheels as they expect mad stuff like UFO abuductions and falling giraffes to occur at any given moment.

a phone
                                                                            Ye but it's not worth a fukk without a number

boarding school in Mulingar ran by the christian brothers. Doesn't do boarding any more though
                                                                              obviously 'boarding' is some sort of euphemism

how you poor lads must have suffered

RE micko; disgracefully over - paid poor tactician and doesn't seem to have very good personnel skills either. the fact that more than one player has left/been removed from the panel speaks for itself.

Re two man advantage; terrible to place the 2 lads in the full back line. one could argue that it was the least effective place to put them. If I was the manager I would have put one extra man at midfield to pick up breaking ball or at the very least disrupt some ball going into the full forward line. Secondly I would put the other spare man in the full forward line. Yup you heard me correctly. Cavan cant afford to leave a free attacker up there so he has to be marked. this leaves one less player in your danger area to attack you.

All imo of course but then again im not the great Micko - Give this man the Ireland job!! He said himself he cant understand why he keeps getting overlooked for it

Originally posted by jackyback View Post
                                                                                  Trocadero is a nice spot on St Andrews Street.
                                                                                  http://www.trocadero.ie/
                                                                                  Booked this one, passed by it a few times so will give it a go tonight, thanks for the other suggestions.

Has Micko not been told to move on yet?

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QS0m9A3iQCI[/ame]

Also bought Band of Brothers on bluray, I dont think I will ever get sick of watching it

Does anyone know of any (preferably free) software which merges a bunch of avi files into 1 file. I can convert it to some other file format if needs be if that helps.

RE micko; disgracefully over - paid poor tactician and doesn't seem to have very good personnel skills either. the fact that more than one player has left/been removed from the panel speaks for itself.

Re two man advantage; terrible to place the 2 lads in the full back line. one could argue that it was the least effective place to put them. If I was the manager I would have put one extra man at midfield to pick up breaking ball or at the very least disrupt some ball going into the full forward line. Secondly I would put the other spare man in the full forward line. Yup you heard me correctly. Cavan cant afford to leave a free attacker up there so he has to be marked. this leaves one less player in your danger area to attack you.

All imo of course but then again im not the great Micko - Give this man the Ireland job!! He said himself he cant understand why he keeps getting overlooked for it
                                                                                            The problem with the tactics on saturday was that cavan had a one man ffl. ie Seanie Johnson. They then proceeded to crowd midfield with their half forward line and half back line. Midfield was just a case of crowd it out and win all the dirty ball. The team didnt know what to do so just proceeded in every kickout straight down the middle and cavan absolutely devouring up every ball. When we brought on paddy dalton he was supposed to be there to try pick up all loose ball and be free for kick outs but being the headless chicken he is he stayed in the middle and lost/fouled pocession on 3 occasions resulting in easy scores.
                                                                                            What we needed to do instead of being so lax was to up our workrate and win the short kickouts and carry it out of defence. We were not capable of doing this. All we needed to do to kill cavan off was get a few scores to match there period of dominance and they wouldve ropped there heads. Instead we pancked and didnt know what to do which is where the problem lies at the feet of the manager.
                                                                                            I wouldve played Ciaran Hyland man marking johnson which is half of what they done except dara o hannaidh and alan byrne were in his way most of the time.
                                                                                            We took off darren hayden who is a wingback and a main ball carrier. Brought on stephen canavan whos a centre back. Just the chances they made were so silly. O'Hannaigh should have been replaced. Alan Byrne shouldve pushed out the field an leighton glynn shouldve been brought back between the fullback line and half back line as a loose man and also a ball carrier.
                                                                                            Ah fcuk it all anyway

the cunt trumpets sounds like a swarm of bees.

Anyone know are Apres Match covering the 3rd place playoff this year?

Originally posted by Rigger View Post
                                                                                                  the cunt trumpets sounds like a swarm of bees.
                                                                                                  No Wai.

It's true.

Originally posted by Rigger View Post
                                                                                                      That new Road Safety Authority ad is so strange.

'Always expect the unexpected.'

I can't help but imagine drivers white knuckling their steering wheels as they expect mad stuff like UFO abuductions and falling giraffes to occur at any given moment.
                                                                                                      Not to mention the Spanish Inquisition.

All these complaints about the ball...meanwhile the Japs just bam out whopper long distance effort after whopper long distance effort.

Anyone know are Apres Match covering the 3rd place playoff this year?
                                                                                                          those dudes are well past their sell-by date

meanwhile the Japs just bam out whopper long distance effort after whopper long distance effort.
                                                                                                            effective use of aircraft carriers imo, got overextended in the end though

All these complaints about the ball...meanwhile the Japs just bam out whopper long distance effort after whopper long distance effort.
                                                                                                              thats due to their low center of gravity imo.

been using it in japanese football since it came out so just more used to it same as germany.

Things are getting weird around here.

Bubbleking is now a Noun?

he asked to have the b changed to a captial letter and was given his wish - strange guy

those dudes are well past their sell-by date
                                                                                                                        Ah there are still some quality ones...last nights was great and the one taking the piss out of the rugby guys was brilliant too.
                                                                                                                        Also the Con Murphy impression is just amazing.

Ever see these fellas going into work Ifsc/grand canal dock suited up except for wearing white runners. Walking in with suit pants and asics with dignity seemingly in tact, not a bother on them. Waiting till they get into work before changing into their shoes those sly punks. This is a more widespread practice with the women but theyre a law onto themselves. Seems to be creeping in though. Some of them just off the train so not like theyve walked 3 miles or anything. Those fellas have a hard neck, a hard neck.
                                                                                                                          I bet/hope you wouldnt be one of these culprits Raoul Duke III would you?.