PokerStars Game #39822897022: Tournament #285010811, $9.00+$0.90 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level XXXVI (17500/35000) - 2010/02/15 21:52:27 ET
    Table '285010811 32' 9-max Seat #5 is the button
    Seat 5: PokerDan1985 (275341 in chips)
    Seat 8: madseern (767297 in chips)
    Seat 9: FlushdrawIRE (398862 in chips)
    PokerDan1985: posts the ante 4375
    madseern: posts the ante 4375
    FlushdrawIRE: posts the ante 4375
    madseern: posts small blind 17500
    FlushdrawIRE: posts big blind 35000
    *** HOLE CARDS ***
    Dealt to FlushdrawIRE [Ts Th]
    PokerDan1985: raises 235966 to 270966 and is all-in
    madseern: calls 253466
    FlushdrawIRE: raises 123521 to 394487 and is all-in
    madseern: calls 123521
    *** FLOP *** [5s 3s 2s]
    *** TURN *** [5s 3s 2s] [Qd]
    *** RIVER *** [5s 3s 2s Qd] [Ad]
    *** SHOW DOWN ***
    madseern: shows [5d 5h] (three of a kind, Fives)
    FlushdrawIRE: shows [Ts Th] (a pair of Tens)
    madseern collected 247042 from side pot
    PokerDan1985: shows [Jd Ks] (high card Ace)
    madseern collected 826023 from main pot
    *** SUMMARY ***
    Total pot 1073065 Main pot 826023. Side pot 247042. | Rake 0
    Board [5s 3s 2s Qd Ad]
    Seat 5: PokerDan1985 (button) showed [Jd Ks] and lost with high card Ace
    Seat 8: madseern (small blind) showed [5d 5h] and won (1073065) with three of a kind, Fives
    Seat 9: FlushdrawIRE (big blind) showed [Ts Th] and lost with a pair of Tens

Fifa heater at the moment dont let it end, had some epic wins, finally scored a free kick!

I dont like the new image, looks nice but just doesnt fill up enough of the screen looks too empty.

Originally posted by carlop View Post
        Myself and a friend were doing a TEFL course recently, a qualification for teaching English as a foreign language. Though you don't need a degree to do the course, you do need to have a degree, along with the TEFL qualification, if you want to teach in Ireland or Britain.
        Is that just a throw back to the whole having a degree allows you to teach second level, night courses and part-time courses etc.

If I end up back in ireland soon, as the construction industry is still fooked, i'll probably give teaching a shot.

Originally posted by connie147 View Post
        and he proudly folds, turning 2 black aces face up on the table. "Sure you could have 88 and spike an 8 and take your chips back from me"!!!

I'm not making that up. i actually seen it happening. Anyone else got a story to match that?
        i saw lots of funny stuff there, but that one beat em all.
        Sure we get retardo advice all the time in those AA fold pre-flop and first hand of the WSOP ME threads.

Actually, we haven't head one here yet. *touch wood*

Originally posted by connie147 View Post
          Anyone else got a story to match that?
          Someone posted a hand on old boards before where they called a raise(for value) multiway with Qd9x and ended up folding on the flop of 8TJ with two diamonds when two other players went to war as they thought they were up against a set and a flush draw.
          (I'm fairly sure I'm not making that up)

Anyone got a link to watch the womens luge second run? bbc showing figure skating, and eurosport going between that and speed skating. I tried to find in on here: http://www.eurovisionsports.tv/olympics/hd which is a fantastoc stream, but not showing the luge either that I can see. It is on now afaik.

Originally posted by Eddie Durkin View Post
              Heya Danny

Do you know pgodkin IRL?
              Why do you think it is pgodkin? pgodkin is signed up here under that name too.
              I have no idea if it is im just guessing seeing as i havent seen him post yet

Originally posted by BobSloane View Post
                Someone posted a hand on old boards before where they called a raise(for value) multiway with Qd9x and ended up folding on the flop of 8TJ with two diamonds when two other players went to war as they thought they were up against a set and a flush draw.
                (I'm fairly sure I'm not making that up)
                Something like that happened in last years world series iirc

Looks like ZeeJustin has become 'JUST ANOTHER VICTIM'. Isildur has taken him for nearly 500k in the last 2 hrs playing 200/400 - If ONLY he could stick to HUNL!!!

Fifa heater at the moment dont let it end, had some epic wins, finally scored a free kick!

I dont like the new image, looks nice but just doesnt fill up enough of the screen looks too empty.

if you are on PS3 I'll play ya
                    PSN deadparrot99

i loved the abuse i got for this hand

PokerStars Game #39824083733: Tournament #242039441, $4.00+$0.40 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level IX (75/150) - 2010/02/16 3:28:01 WET [2010/02/15 22:28:01 ET]
                      Table '242039441 23' 9-max Seat #5 is the button
                      Seat 1: zlacker1 (3300 in chips)
                      Seat 2: mbceb (9040 in chips)
                      Seat 3: GRYNDOR12 (7440 in chips)
                      Seat 4: MKGB (12525 in chips)
                      Seat 5: TONY MODENA (4160 in chips)
                      Seat 6: MCMLXII (5610 in chips)
                      Seat 7: amaru1302 (3200 in chips)
                      Seat 8: BrewFlame (5185 in chips)
                      Seat 9: peteypop999 (4690 in chips)
                      zlacker1: posts the ante 20
                      mbceb: posts the ante 20
                      GRYNDOR12: posts the ante 20
                      MKGB: posts the ante 20
                      TONY MODENA: posts the ante 20
                      MCMLXII: posts the ante 20
                      amaru1302: posts the ante 20
                      BrewFlame: posts the ante 20
                      peteypop999: posts the ante 20
                      MCMLXII: posts small blind 75
                      amaru1302: posts big blind 150
                      *** HOLE CARDS ***
                      Dealt to peteypop999 [7d 7c]
                      BrewFlame: folds
                      peteypop999: calls 150
                      zlacker1: raises 400 to 550
                      mbceb: folds
                      GRYNDOR12: folds
                      MKGB: folds
                      TONY MODENA: folds
                      MCMLXII: folds
                      amaru1302: folds
                      peteypop999: calls 400
                      *** FLOP *** [4d 5c 7h]
                      peteypop999: checks
                      zlacker1: bets 900
                      peteypop999: raises 2100 to 3000
                      zlacker1: calls 1830 and is all-in
                      Uncalled bet (270) returned to peteypop999
                      *** TURN *** [4d 5c 7h] [Kh]
                      zlacker1 said, "gross"
                      *** RIVER *** [4d 5c 7h Kh] [7s]
                      *** SHOW DOWN ***
                      peteypop999: shows [7d 7c] (four of a kind, Sevens)
                      zlacker1: shows [Kc Ks] (a full house, Kings full of Sevens)
                      peteypop999 collected 6965 from pot
                      *** SUMMARY ***
                      Total pot 6965 | Rake 0
                      Board [4d 5c 7h Kh 7s]
                      Seat 1: zlacker1 showed [Kc Ks] and lost with a full house, Kings full of Sevens
                      Seat 2: mbceb folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                      Seat 3: GRYNDOR12 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                      Seat 4: MKGB folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                      Seat 5: TONY MODENA (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                      Seat 6: MCMLXII (small blind) folded before Flop
                      Seat 7: amaru1302 (big blind) folded before Flop
                      Seat 8: BrewFlame folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                      Seat 9: peteypop999 showed [7d 7c] and won (6965) with four of a kind, Sevens

i love being the donkey

Originally posted by cokedrinker View Post
                        Looks like ZeeJustin has become 'JUST ANOTHER VICTIM'. Isildur has taken him for nearly 500k in the last 2 hrs playing 200/400 - If ONLY he could stick to HUNL!!!
                        lolphilbabbcomebackaments

Originally posted by peteypop View Post
                          i loved the abuse i got for this hand

PokerStars Game #39824083733: Tournament #242039441, $4.00+$0.40 USD Hold'em No Limit - Level IX (75/150) - 2010/02/16 3:28:01 WET [2010/02/15 22:28:01 ET]
                          Table '242039441 23' 9-max Seat #5 is the button
                          Seat 1: zlacker1 (3300 in chips)
                          Seat 2: mbceb (9040 in chips)
                          Seat 3: GRYNDOR12 (7440 in chips)
                          Seat 4: MKGB (12525 in chips)
                          Seat 5: TONY MODENA (4160 in chips)
                          Seat 6: MCMLXII (5610 in chips)
                          Seat 7: amaru1302 (3200 in chips)
                          Seat 8: BrewFlame (5185 in chips)
                          Seat 9: peteypop999 (4690 in chips)
                          zlacker1: posts the ante 20
                          mbceb: posts the ante 20
                          GRYNDOR12: posts the ante 20
                          MKGB: posts the ante 20
                          TONY MODENA: posts the ante 20
                          MCMLXII: posts the ante 20
                          amaru1302: posts the ante 20
                          BrewFlame: posts the ante 20
                          peteypop999: posts the ante 20
                          MCMLXII: posts small blind 75
                          amaru1302: posts big blind 150
                          *** HOLE CARDS ***
                          Dealt to peteypop999 [7d 7c]
                          BrewFlame: folds
                          peteypop999: calls 150
                          zlacker1: raises 400 to 550
                          mbceb: folds
                          GRYNDOR12: folds
                          MKGB: folds
                          TONY MODENA: folds
                          MCMLXII: folds
                          amaru1302: folds
                          peteypop999: calls 400
                          *** FLOP *** [4d 5c 7h]
                          peteypop999: checks
                          zlacker1: bets 900
                          peteypop999: raises 2100 to 3000
                          zlacker1: calls 1830 and is all-in
                          Uncalled bet (270) returned to peteypop999
                          *** TURN *** [4d 5c 7h] [Kh]
                          zlacker1 said, "gross"
                          *** RIVER *** [4d 5c 7h Kh] [7s]
                          *** SHOW DOWN ***
                          peteypop999: shows [7d 7c] (four of a kind, Sevens)
                          zlacker1: shows [Kc Ks] (a full house, Kings full of Sevens)
                          peteypop999 collected 6965 from pot
                          *** SUMMARY ***
                          Total pot 6965 | Rake 0
                          Board [4d 5c 7h Kh 7s]
                          Seat 1: zlacker1 showed [Kc Ks] and lost with a full house, Kings full of Sevens
                          Seat 2: mbceb folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                          Seat 3: GRYNDOR12 folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                          Seat 4: MKGB folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                          Seat 5: TONY MODENA (button) folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                          Seat 6: MCMLXII (small blind) folded before Flop
                          Seat 7: amaru1302 (big blind) folded before Flop
                          Seat 8: BrewFlame folded before Flop (didn't bet)
                          Seat 9: peteypop999 showed [7d 7c] and won (6965) with four of a kind, Sevens

i love being the donkey
                          stuff like this happens very rare and is great rush, getting it in good with opponent dead to 2outs, bam and then you bink one outer

think this has only ever happened me once and i remember it, in a 12$ 180man turbo, i shove 33 button, SB reshove he has KK

Brag: 3xxflop, K turn and bam 3 on the river

Beat: still didn't cash

Cliffnotes: i suck
                          http://drjff.blogspot.com/

if you are on PS3 I'll play ya
                            PSN deadparrot99
                            Xbox 360, your lucky i would destroy you the way i am running

Yeah, you were miles ahead getting it in

I had my best ever "bad beat" last week.

Folded to SB who ships, I call from the BB 33, I say I have a pair
                              SB:Shit, me too. I have to be behind.
                              He flips 33 also. Mine are black, his red

Me:do you wanna just chop it to speed it up (hands were slow).
                              SB:What??
                              Dealer, at this point starts floping it out.
                              Me:4-flush please,
                              Flop is all spades, turn a blank, river a spade.

Cliff's notes: 33 vrs 33 AIPF, I scooped

Family arrived over the other day and brought them and my GM and assistant GM to dinner tonight. Some of the most gruesome hours of my life.

Had the best steak ever had in my life though. Truly epic. Bob's steakhouse and chop shop

Food wise it was phenomenal and service was outstanding and well worth the 400 it cost. If anyone ever has the chance to go to one of these then i highly recommend it.

Hey DrJFF, saw on stars you are going to LAPT Punta del Este. I'll be there too, probably the only two irish guys I'm assuming.

Also Eddie Durkin's helper needs to take his computer away from him.

Food wise it was phenomenal and service was outstanding and well worth the 400 it cost. If anyone ever has the chance to go to one of these then i highly recommend it.
                                    I really hope it was off the scale. I don't mind paying above average for good steak.

But there is no way I could justify paying $400 at the minute.
                                    I'd much rather a $30 steak (which is still above average price) and the change. It's that I don't think its "that" much better. It could be, but my bank account needs the extra cash more so than my stomach needs the extra steak

Also Eddie Durkin's helper needs to take his computer away from him.
                                      I have had more laughs from his posts than anybody else. I'm still trying to figure out who it is but I'm sure its just a level.

Well DRJFF, thoguht I'd throw ya my opinion as I was sort of in your situation few years back. I ended up repeating a year, finishing my degree and went onto to do a masters. I wasn't ever really gonna drop out to be honest but it certainly crossed my mind, I'm definitely happy with my decision now though. I'm playing poker fulltime with a good education to fall back on if it all goes tits up.

You can certainly do both though, I wasn't one for lecturers personally. Actuallly liked having something else alot of the time, pokers such pain at times .

I agree with your views on booksmarts not necessarily reflecting realworld job/life potentials. But as many have said it doesn't really work like that. Few years down the line, If you go for a decent job they look at your CV and see couple of college drop outs , and no job experience there not gonna be hanging around to hear about your great life experience.

The other side of it is that you only have one crack at this life (imo) and you don't want to end up doing stuff you dont want to do for most of it. Ya hear people saying how there just gonna do this so they can then do this , then I'll be getting paid well , then i'll be happy ............ then you'll be 60 and lifes past ya by. Reminds of great line from Ferris Beulers day off "life moves pretty fast, if ya don't stop and look around every once in a while you could miss it."

I remeber when I was picking my college courses I was talking to my brother and was saying well xyz would be a good job, and he said well your in college for four years (lol 6 in the end), you should do something you want to do not just the job prospects. So maybe changing courses could be an option for ya.

Another thing and take from this what you want as I've never played with you (to my knowledge anyway). I haven't been around that long myself, but you see it time and time again. Few young guys pop up, there the next big thing, go on a good rush. Then they just fade away presumably skint, as I don't know many who stopped playing even though they were winning, do you... I was just talking with my mate John saying it will be interesting to see who makes vegas this year, there's not that many who are there every year. Also you say you only play tournaments? theres even less who make it solely on tournaments. But that could be all irrelavent, sure you could be isildur himself for all I know.

Anyways thats just my hungover rambles on it, sounds like your going to give the poker a go, so best of luck with it and hope it goes well.

managed to play 2 live donakaments last nigth and still be home by Cinderella time

and my car got whacked by spud-throwing knackers

good night all round

Originally posted by BobSloane View Post
                                            On the stories of dense things done..
                                            A few years ago in Galway I needed four nuts and bolts to fix a steel top to a perspex box. I was told by a friend to go to a shop called tri-part. As far as I remember it was on the tuam road. So I pull up and go in the door of the shop which was located on the side near where I parked. The counter is just inside the door and I ask the mustachioed guy behind the counter if perchance he has suitable nuts and bolts to solve my problem. He looks at the holes in the steel and perspex and tells me he doesn't think he has anything to fit them but he will have a look. He disappears out the back of the shop for three or four minutes with my perspex and steel and eventaully returns with no nuts or bolts but tells me to try the place next door. Grand sez I. So I go back out and walk around the front to the seemingly much bigger hardware shop next door. I go in and up a long aisle to the counter. "Would you have four nuts and bolts to fix this steel top to this perspex box?" I ask the mustachioed man behind the counter handing him the sh1t that he had handed me less than 60 seconds earlier. As I was leaving I heard him relay the story to a colleague and some laughing and pointing ensued.
                                            (Obv I don't have a degree)
                                            Reminds me of the butcher shop in Tralee. Small one with just the owner behind the counter. He had a pigs head in the window and this yank was outside taking pictures and she then came in and asked "is that a real pigs head". "No thats a mirror" says the slightly hungover butcher. At this stage she gets very annoyed and asks to speak to the manager !!! Owner/Manager/Only employee says "hang on a sec, I'll get him for you". He goes into the storage area, takes off his white coat/apron, puts on a blazer and comes back out. "was someone looking for the manager ?".

Well I lol'ed anyway.

Icarus Carcea and Bob Sloanw have a good laugh at your posts this morning.

I have no comment on Durkingate as the old adage of people in glasshouses might get quoted to me. IN the main though I think he taking the piste (little Winter Olympic pun for ya)

I see My Sharona is dead.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVdnqEyToqg"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVdnqEyToqg[/ame]

maybe the time constraints for mtts are different, but i think there's enough time in the day to do college and poker at the same time pretty easily.

i think it'd be silly to stick out a course you don't want to do just for the sake esp. when you've only really started it, but i really don't think just devoting your life to poker is a good way to go. even most of the top guys at cardrunners are still in/finished college afaik.

DrJFF, finish your degree and then do whatever you want

poker will be around for ever but the odds are not great that you will be around it. Think of this as the backup plan.

And never, ever tell anyone at interview that you played poker professionally! I'd kick you out on the spot.

DrJFF, finish your degree and then do whatever you want

poker will be around for ever but the odds are not great that you will be around it. Think of this as the backup plan.

And never, ever tell anyone at interview that you played poker professionally! I'd kick you out on the spot.
                                                    I know why most people would take such an attitude. But why would you still maintain it?

I was thinking the same when i read that, can understand why people who don't understand poker would have that opionion but I wouldn't have that opinion myself.

Originally posted by smoothcall View Post
                                                        Well DRJFF, thoguht I'd throw ya my opinion as I was sort of in your situation few years back. I ended up repeating a year, finishing my degree and went onto to do a masters. I wasn't ever really gonna drop out to be honest but it certainly crossed my mind, I'm definitely happy with my decision now though. I'm playing poker fulltime with a good education to fall back on if it all goes tits up.

You can certainly do both though, I wasn't one for lecturers personally. Actuallly liked having something else alot of the time, pokers such pain at times .

I agree with your views on booksmarts not necessarily reflecting realworld job/life potentials. But as many have said it doesn't really work like that. Few years down the line, If you go for a decent job they look at your CV and see couple of college drop outs , and no job experience there not gonna be hanging around to hear about your great life experience.

The other side of it is that you only have one crack at this life (imo) and you don't want to end up doing stuff you dont want to do for most of it. Ya hear people saying how there just gonna do this so they can then do this , then I'll be getting paid well , then i'll be happy ............ then you'll be 60 and lifes past ya by. Reminds of great line from Ferris Beulers day off "life moves pretty fast, if ya don't stop and look around every once in a while you could miss it."

I remeber when I was picking my college courses I was talking to my brother and was saying well xyz would be a good job, and he said well your in college for four years (lol 6 in the end), you should do something you want to do not just the job prospects. So maybe changing courses could be an option for ya.

Another thing and take from this what you want as I've never played with you (to my knowledge anyway). I haven't been around that long myself, but you see it time and time again. Few young guys pop up, there the next big thing, go on a good rush. Then they just fade away presumably skint, as I don't know many who stopped playing even though they were winning, do you... I was just talking with my mate John saying it will be interesting to see who makes vegas this year, there's not that many who are there every year. Also you say you only play tournaments? theres even less who make it solely on tournaments. But that could be all irrelavent, sure you could be isildur himself for all I know.

Anyways thats just my hungover rambles on it, sounds like your going to give the poker a go, so best of luck with it and hope it goes well.
                                                        Solid post Andrew, I'd only take issue with that sentence. I'm not sure that getting over to Vegas is any barometer of success in poker really. For a lot of Irish all it means is that they are in action and had their run hot period of the year in the lead up to it. Plenty of lads who get over in successive years by the seats of their pants and return home broke. Plus I'm sure there are a few successful players who can't be bothered heading over for whatever reasons.

Infact, I'd say the Irish fascination with busting tanks in search of the big spin in Vegas is a symptom of our failures as a poker playing nation.

Some good advice above though, wp.

I've always consistently said that, it's not something new that I just came out with today. If you go back to some of the old 'going pro?' threads on Boards, you'll see the same comments from me.

eddie durkin = eddiehead imho

On the subject of college, for various reasons both within and without my control I didn't go to college straight after school. Instead I served my time as a plasterers apprentice, I had a pretty good social life because I had money to burn and there was nothing better for lifting a hangover than working in the cold at 7am the following morning and sweating it out of you. When I quit construction I went back to college and did my BA at night while working full-time, and while it's more than doable you pretty much say goodbye to your social life for 3-4 years as a result.

I think it's important that you if have the opportunity to get a degree that you take it, it's not so much that it opens doors but that it means you're not disadvantaged when up against someone else going for the same role. For much the same reason I'm now considering doing a masters part-time because my next step up career-wise is likely to put me in direct competition with others who have a masters in their armoury. So, while the idea of a masters isn't that appealing to me in and of itself, it's just one more tool towards where I'm looking to be.

edit: I think the key point I'm trying to make, and that I say to people who come to me for advice is that you should strive to give yourself options at all times. Create opportunities for yourself that allow you to pick and choose from options for any given scenario rather than be forced down a path. Getting a qualification is just another way of giving yourself more options.
                                                            Last edited by Iago; 16-02-10, 11:16.

Just in case anyone want's a different view of the UKIPT in Manchester,
                                                              This is the Scot's opinion on it
                                                              ( + if your over 35 your all crap at poker)

Its sad and pathetic that so many are trying to guess who Eddie Durkin used to be on boards.

mdwexford / richielawlor dual account imo.

further thoughts on why I wouldn't entertain a poker pro at interview:

1. Nature of the game; I would never be able to feel that a guy\gal who had played pro for a period of time could commit to being part of a corporate team culture. Poker players are loners (especially the online brigade), they're focussed solitarily on their own results - while this is great in the context of the game itself, this mentality doesn't lend itself to a collaborative culture.

2. Trust issues; sorry, I could not trust someone who had played poker full-time. I know the level of degeneracy that's out there and, without spending hours going through your results, your progression as a player and your psychological approach to the game, there's no way that I would be able to satisfy myself in a brief interview that you're not a total degen and thus, untrustworthy.

3. I believe that a lot of the guys who are playing full time are delusional in terms of their belief in their own ability and their long-term plan to earn a living. Poker can, literally, warp your mind - full time poker even more so. Sorry but I'd rather hire someone with solid credentials, solid experience and a demonstrably 'safe' track record. I have hired a nutter before (don't ask ) and it reflected very badly on my judgement

So while I might, as a poker player, admire many of the excellent pros knocking around Ireland these days - Doke, NFR, HJ etc, etc - guys who have been doing it consistently for a period of time and who have an exemplarary approach to the game, as a potential employer I wouldn't take a risk on hiring them for a job. No insult intended, they are all smarter individuals than me who are doing exactly what they want to in life!
                                                                  There's plenty who I won't name who wouldn't even get in the door!

hope these ramblings make some sense

I'd never hire an exprofessional poker player. If I didn't understand the game I'd think, meh I can't hire a degenerate.
                                                                    If I did understand the game I'd think he was simply looking for a job as he was looking to build his bankroll.
                                                                    Seen as I couldn't be sure I'm afraid the CV goes into the bin. Quite simple really, don't tell anyone if you want the job.

Solid post Andrew, I'd only take issue with that sentence. I'm not sure that getting over to Vegas is any barometer of success in poker really. For a lot of Irish all it means is that they are in action and had their run hot period of the year in the lead up to it. Plenty of lads who get over in successive years by the seats of their pants and return home broke. Plus I'm sure there are a few successful players who can't be bothered heading over for whatever reasons.

Infact, I'd say the Irish fascination with busting tanks in search of the big spin in Vegas is a symptom of our failures as a poker playing nation.

Some good advice above though, wp.
                                                                      Very true , it's certainly not a direct measure of success and there are many succesful players who have little or no interest in vegas . It was more to point out that it's such a hot n cold game. There's alot of people who have there rushs but not that many who are around year after year.

Can all change so quickly, even personally I had been on nice heater then last week did my absolute balls and you just wonder wtf is it worth i type thing. Glad I have back up is basically what my overall 'advice' to him I guess.

I've always consistently said that, it's not something new that I just came out with today. If you go back to some of the old 'going pro?' threads on Boards, you'll see the same comments from me.
                                                                        The key word was "maintain"! I'll go and dig out your reasoning again at some stage...

Originally posted by smurph View Post
                                                                          Just in case anyone want's a different view of the UKIPT in Manchester,
                                                                          This is the Scot's opinion on it
                                                                          ( + if your over 35 your all crap at poker)
                                                                          y do i find this so funny

Its sad and pathetic that so many are trying to guess who Eddie Durkin used to be on boards.

mdwexford / richielawlor dual account imo.
                                                                            5/4 Not a Level
                                                                            2/1 MD / RL / Random Wexford Account
                                                                            2/1 Tight Ted
                                                                            3/1 GL2Me
                                                                            4/1 P Godkin
                                                                            10/1 Cork People LOL

Is that just a throw back to the whole having a degree allows you to teach second level, night courses and part-time courses etc.

If I end up back in ireland soon, as the construction industry is still fooked, i'll probably give teaching a shot.
                                                                              Yeah I imagine it's something along those lines. Basically the organisation that regulate teaching English to foreign people in Ireland is called ACELS. To get their qualification, you have to have a degree and you have to complete a course which you can do part-time or full-time.

I did it full-time and it took 5 weeks, though it really is full-time as you have a lot of assignments and lesson plans to prepare and will basically have to give up any social life for the duration of those 5 weeks.

Happy to say I never knew what 'The Hills' was until this morning. Glad to see my 'filter that crap out' filter is working in this ocean of information we live in these days.

To DuffJr,

Having a degree or going to college has nothing to do with intelligence as intelligence is contextual. However in the context of the way our world is organised its a big help. College is an endurance test as Hitchhiker said. If you complete it you get the Willy Wonka good egg stamp. Nice to have but not the end of the world. Never too late to pick one up either.

9 out of 10 students in you spot, coming to the realisation the year is most likely fooked, got there through laziness, dilettanteism, partying, apathy etc.
                                                                                You are different right? It's your passion for poker and its demands that have brought you to this juncture. Right?
                                                                                Whatever you decide to do, college: poker:both, do it well. Don't do things in half arsed way.

Sticking with the course and getting your degree would be a great personal achievement at this stage because you perceive it as difficult. By the sounds of it is still not too late to get stuck in. Dropping out would be a small failure. We all have small failures in our lives. It's how we deal with them and move on that matters.

On the Eddie Durkin thing anybody seen sickpuppy round this site?

Bring back the old logo.

Mods , is there any way to keep the standard style as default when you log in . It's so annoying to have to select it every time .

further thoughts on why I wouldn't entertain a poker pro at interview:

1. Nature of the game; I would never be able to feel that a guy\gal who had played pro for a period of time could commit to being part of a corporate team culture. Poker players are loners (especially the online brigade), they're focussed solitarily on their own results - while this is great in the context of the game itself, this mentality doesn't lend itself to a collaborative culture.

2. Trust issues; sorry, I could not trust someone who had played poker full-time. I know the level of degeneracy that's out there and, without spending hours going through your results, your progression as a player and your psychological approach to the game, there's no way that I would be able to satisfy myself in a brief interview that you're not a total degen and thus, untrustworthy.

3. I believe that a lot of the guys who are playing full time are delusional in terms of their belief in their own ability and their long-term plan to earn a living. Poker can, literally, warp your mind - full time poker even more so. Sorry but I'd rather hire someone with solid credentials, solid experience and a demonstrably 'safe' track record. I have hired a nutter before (don't ask ) and it reflected very badly on my judgement

So while I might, as a poker player, admire many of the excellent pros knocking around Ireland these days - Doke, NFR, HJ etc, etc - guys who have been doing it consistently for a period of time and who have an exemplarary approach to the game, as a potential employer I wouldn't take a risk on hiring them for a job. No insult intended, they are all smarter individuals than me who are doing exactly what they want to in life!
                                                                                    There's plenty who I won't name who wouldn't even get in the door!

hope these ramblings make some sense
                                                                                    It's a tricky one alright, there is some solid quality traits in poker player but then they ussually do come with some bad ones too.

On your points,

1. I guess this is true to an extent , It is a very perosnal and individual game but just because they succeed in a individual task doesnt mean tehy can't in a group emviroment.

2. Wouldn't agree with this one, I think I trust pro poker players more than anyone. People lending money, swapping %'s on there word alone. etc

3. I'd agree with this, it's certainly a safer bet to hire a abc track record.

I think it really depends on the type of job, there are qualitys in poker players that are certainly very good. You'd want to have done your homework before mentioning it though, they could easily just strike your name from the list if some closed minded 'raoul duke alike' was interviewing...

On the Eddie Durkin thing anybody seen sickpuppy round this site?.
                                                                                      16/1
                                                                                      Not enough hate for the non nationals etc. and Mick did register to express his condolences to the General.

corporate team culture.
                                                                                        Possibly the most tilting phrase in the world. Honestly, the horseshit that gets dreamt up in multi-nationals these days is astonishing. They're just fueled by a perpetual motion engine of administrators and HR types designing increasingly complex and irrelevant ideals, organo-grams, phraseology, 'culture'.
                                                                                        I managed about 8 months in Intel before I was envisioning 'Falling Down' type scenarios. Thankfully the EU threw some money at me just in time.

Possibly the most tilting phrase in the world. Honestly, the horseshit that gets dreamt up in multi-nationals these days is astonishing. They're just fueled by a perpetual motion engine of administrators and HR types designing increasingly complex and irrelevant ideals, organo-grams, phraseology, 'culture'.
                                                                                          I won't deny you have a point there

5/4 Not a Level
                                                                                            2/1 Tight Ted
                                                                                            3/1 GL2Me
                                                                                            4/1 P Godkin
                                                                                            10/1 Cork People LOL

Ill have 50euro on A Cork person

Good tune...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_3x_GBA7u4"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_3x_GBA7u4[/ame]

Not Richie Lawlor as he hasn't had a proper go at myself just yet. He does have thick skin and a tenacity that I can only associate with DBC. I quite enjoy his OTT comments as the reactions on here are amusing to me. Much Like I like to watch knackers throw potatos at passing cars and watching the drivers getting flustered.

If he is half serious, I'd wager his age is <18 .

It's a tricky one alright, there is some solid quality traits in poker player but then they ussually do come with some bad ones too.

On your points,

1. I guess this is true to an extent , It is a very perosnal and individual game but just because they succeed in a individual task doesnt mean tehy can't in a group emviroment.

2. Wouldn't agree with this one, I think I trust pro poker players more than anyone. People lending money, swapping %'s on there word alone. etc

3. I'd agree with this, it's certainly a safer bet to hire a abc track record.

I think it really depends on the type of job, there are qualitys in poker players that are certainly very good. You'd want to have done your homework before mentioning it though, they could easily just strike your name from the list if some closed minded 'raoul duke alike' was interviewing...
                                                                                                This 100%. Maybe El S's judgement is clouded from hanging around the Irish live cash scene where obviously there are a substantial amount of degens but friends I've made through poker are far more trustworthy and honest than 90% of people I've met irl.

I really wouldn't mention it at interview but it's up to the person involved - I'd be interested in a trip report of someone who did

to be quite honest, If I asked someone what they'd been doing for the last year and they said one of:
                                                                                                  • I've been in therapy
                                                                                                  • I've been playing poker professionally

my reaction would be roughly the same to both!

I really wouldn't mention it at interview but it's up to the person involved - I'd be interested in a trip report of someone who did

to be quite honest, If I asked someone what they'd been doing for the last year and they said one of:
                                                                                                    • I've been in therapy
                                                                                                    • I've been playing poker professionally

my reaction would be roughly the same to both!
                                                                                                    lol,

I don't I would either unless I thoughti needed something extra, as in not likely anyway so might as well gamble. Be interesting to hear a few trip reports alright.

Anyone know if that club on leeson street called NV is open tonight? Heard great things about it for UFC fights etc.

Solskjaer the fact im going to it would cancel out the <18 years old guess you made as you have to be 23 to get into it

5/4 Not a Level
                                                                                                        2/1 Tight Ted
                                                                                                        3/1 GL2Me
                                                                                                        4/1 P Godkin
                                                                                                        10/1 Cork People LOL
                                                                                                        odds on dcb or whatever he was called??

I once interviewed a guy who had stacked me in the Fitz after calling all in with 79o about two months before hand. Luckily I didn't have any dilemma as he was even more clueless about IT than poker.

Originally posted by redzerdrog View Post
                                                                                                            odds on dcb or whatever he was called??
                                                                                                            Must be at least 5/1, its all just too subtle and sophisticated for him.

IMO its a three horse race, Not a level (some SE semi reg), Tight Ted and less likely but I would really love it to be GL2Me. If so WP, your greatest creation yet.

Another guy I haven't seen here yet is Chucky the tree, he is a sports bettor too.
                                                                                                              I've ruled out GL2ME because of the sports betting.

Originally posted by El Stuntman
                                                                                                                Good question. I work in an industry where the ability to make fast decisions under pressure based on an accurate pricing of risk is the most highly prized characteristic of any employee.
                                                                                                                Poker basically.

Would I ever bring up the fact that I play poker in an interview? No way, unless it was brought up by the interviewer and even then I would greatly play down my interest in it. It's just a question of perceptions; most non-poker players perceive us as being equally as bad as the bedraggled aul' fellas who hang around the bookies all day, blowing their social welfare on the horses. In some cases this perception is correct! I'm not going to argue with an interviewer about whether this perception is right or wrong. In fact if I was going for a job interview, I'd make every effort to cleanse my internet profile of any poker links first. I think anyone going for a job outside the poker industry would be mad to bring up poker at interview.

I interview people for positions occasionally and would be shocked if anyone ever brought up poker in an interview and I almost certainly would not consider them for the job. Reason being that I know that a high proportion (~50% imo) of poker players are degenerate gamblers and therefore are not to be trusted.
                                                                                                                even if I'm wrong, at least I'm consistent!

DrJFF. Stay in college. Poker mightn't be there forever, and you mightn't want to do it forever. Keep your options open. If you drop out of college then you've cut off options for any decent career outside poker. It certainly won't disadvantage you to a great extent (sure you'll lose a few hours grinding), and the upside to staying in college is tremendously big.

Chuckie is teddy is he not?

No chance Eddie is pgodkin imo. Not the same posting style among reasons. I'd lay the 4/1 pretty hard!

I managed about 8 months in Intel before I was envisioning 'Falling Down' type scenarios. Thankfully the EU threw some money at me just in time.
                                                                                                                      Middle managements job is to insure that middle management has a job at the end of the day

HR's job is to hire yes men, people who will stay at least 18 months and people who will treat them as management & not the pointless muppet who plays solitare all day in the corner office

Mate of mine is in Intel, when they had all the layoffs a few years ago, i asked him if he was affected
                                                                                                                      "sur im one of the few people who knows how the machines work lol"
                                                                                                                      He told me it was all middlemanagement and all they ever did for years was sit around drinking coffee talking company shyte

Watched 500 days of Summer, it was Meh, some quirky bint (although hot) who's fav beatle is Ringo (yeah right) gives some guy the run around. I'd give it 5/10. Although I did like the soundtrack. The bookends (old friends) song in it
                                                                                                                          was rather nice. The film alluded to the graduate but funnily enough the bookends song wasn't in the graduate Methinks the director was a Simon and Garfunkel fan. Anyway here is a nice unplugged version of old friends that I quite liked.
                                                                                                                          S&G had their clashes in their time but they sure did have some chemistry also.

Love this.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPTOY8FrvNw"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPTOY8FrvNw[/ame]