Does pinker mention any family friendly breaks for mid April in his book ? If not , suggestions please.

Looks like HH has bbvd the no real news .

I'm expecting something big after the fecking Prodigy died.

Pic below is why Pinkers book is so popular. That and it gives a rubber stamp to the Davos elite to carry on as normal. For a board that prides itself on critical thinking the fawning over his book is dissapointing tbh there’s plenty of well argued counterpoints out there if you have a look but if you’re reading it for comfort reasons it probably won’t suit. Yeah science ! etc etc

I've read a couple of critiques of it including this:

I assume you've read some too, seems odd to read the critiques without having read the book but I'd be interested in the those who disagree with his findings.

I see next year will be the last year with clock changes. That'll be another thing to tell the kids!
            Is that confirmed now?

Soft regulation seems to be Irelands unique selling point to many industries from gambling to pharma, finance to bio tech. I'd say Google and Facebook between then run the Irish Data Protection Commission.
              "Data Protection Commission says it was 'categorically' never lobbied by Enda Kenny".

LOLz

Don't know what to make of This Time with Alan Partridge.
                    Steaming pile of dog poo springs to mind.

Was looking up the list of best-selling fiction authors of all time in order to demonstrate to the wife that Enid Blyton is a big deal.

Some surprising entries in the top 10. I'd say even a well-read person would be lucky to get more than three of the top ten. And one of those three is because I've mentioned Enid Blyton's name. Think there's no obvious fourth you'd pick off the top of your head unless you were a pub quiz specialist.
                        8 of the top 10, 9 of the top 11 and 10 pf the top 15 would be known bymost surely?

Yeah, watching the second one now. Haven't been this disappointed since Devid Bowie released a shite album in 1987.

I thought the first ep of This Time with Alan Partridge was brilliant.
                            Maybe it's one to watch at the weekend with alcohol like I did.

Highlights included 'Partridge you wanker' when walking down the street (a nod to the farmers on the riverbank in an IAP episode).
                            The double negative line with the hacktivist, the entire interview with the hacktivist.
                            The interviewee on screen who absolutely refused to agree with anything he said. His co-presenter blatantly robbing his jokes. The fluck/clunt malopropisms. His grandad story. His weird selfconscious walks around the stage. Creamy hands.

Negatives would be the Sidekick Simon cameo didn't work at all, and the hygiene routine was too long.

It probably does need more actually funny moments rater than just cringe comedy, but I did laugh out loud this episode. There is less scope in the format for implausible comedy situations than there was in his previous chat show TV, or for the sitcom comedy of his other shows.

The whole show being within a live real based show is quite challenging to balance the comedy and it not being farcically absurd altogether.

Was looking up the list of best-selling fiction authors of all time in order to demonstrate to the wife that Enid Blyton is a big deal.

Some surprising entries in the top 10. I'd say even a well-read person would be lucky to get more than three of the top ten. And one of those three is because I've mentioned Enid Blyton's name. Think there's no obvious fourth you'd pick off the top of your head unless you were a pub quiz specialist.
                                Koontz over King was a surprise

[QUOTE=Denny Crane;1092678]
                                  The paper, by leading pensions actuaries Tony Gilhawley and Roma Burke, found that the State's contribution to the pension of an average public servant recruited before 2013 is 29pc of their salary, rising to 53pc for gardaí./QUOTE] Jaysus.
                                  [QUOTE=Raoul Duke III;1092679]

Surprised it's not more tbh
                                  It kind of is as they assume long term investment returns with no de-risking as it’s all managed on a long term smoothed basis etc. Like a DB scheme would be run in the private sector except they don’t really exist for new hires these days.

For an individual punter saving for themselves and de-risking later in life it’s going to be a higher contribution rate to have an expectation of the same level of benefits. And then you’ll get fucked by the annuity rate on offer to an individual punter (people with large pension pots generally live longer so the insurance companies don’t want your business). So basically yeah but those leading pension actuaries don’t like to be too controversial in their tone.

Apologies for the pensions talk Lazare.

[QUOTE=V for Vendetta;1092710][QUOTE=Denny Crane;1092678]

It kind of is as they assume long term investment returns with no de-risking as it’s all managed on a long term smoothed basis etc. Like a DB scheme would be run in the private sector except they don’t really exist for new hires these days.

For an individual punter saving for themselves and de-risking later in life it’s going to be a higher contribution rate to have an expectation of the same level of benefits. And then you’ll get fucked by the annuity rate on offer to an individual punter (people with large pension pots generally live longer so the insurance companies don’t want your business). So basically yeah but those leading pension actuaries don’t like to be too controversial in their tone.

Apologies for the pensions talk Lazare.
                                        People still take out annuities?

Say you retire tomorrow with a €1m pot. Why on earth would you go down the annuity route?

One week to Cheltenham.
                                          Three weeks to Brexit.

Sooth your weltschmerz with some nag-nominating nonsense. And it's free!*

in that €50 is surely a trifle to pay for the privilege of being in such exclusive company

#Back

Take oversized empty suitcase to work-paid-for stay in posh hotel. EZ game

Best way to word this tweet (for Insights)?

the Bucks have now lost both of their games vs Phoenix in the 2018-2019 NBA season. Suns are now the only team that the Bucks have lost more than once to this season

***Tiny bit of background.. Bucks have the best NBA record currently - Suns had joint worst with Knicks until last night's win.
                                                Last edited by TheJiggaman; 05-03-19, 09:27.

[QUOTE=Hitchhiker's Guide To...;1092730][QUOTE=Raoul Duke III;1092719]

Do you not have to take out an annuity anymore?
                                                    No. You can take out an ARF.

the Bucks have now lost both of their games vs Phoenix in the 2018-2019 NBA season. Suns are now the only team that the Bucks have lost more than once to this season

***Tiny bit of background.. Bucks have the best NBA record currently - Suns had joint worst with Knicks until last night's win.
                                                      Went with the below

Maybe need to get across how sensational it is, so need to mention that the Suns are bad. No need to mention 2019/20, everyone knows you are referring to this season.

"Incredibly the #1 seed contender Bucks have lost both their games v Phoenix Suns this season - joint worst record Suns are the only team to beat the highflying Bucks more than once".

Take oversized empty suitcase to work-paid-for stay in posh hotel. EZ game
                                                          The things I've seen taken out of hotels over the years would surprise you.
                                                          Towels, shampoos etc you expect.
                                                          Lamps, duvets, kettles, remotes....not so much

Definitely would have attempted to double down after the Suns beat the Lakers the previous night ending LeBrons playoff streak and resigning the Lakers to missing the playoffs. Its the biggest story of the season. Something to the effect of:

The Suns deliver surprise back to back victories over the Lakers & Bucks, possibly ending LeBron's 13 year streak of playoff appearances and delivering the Bucks their only losing record of this season.

Never has a missing quote bracket caused so many issues.

Your choice of pillow depends on what way you tend to sleep. Worth getting silk cases #back

Never has a missing quote bracket caused so many issues.
                                                                  I didn't want to embarrass you in public but dude...

Bad karma man. Trump deffo going to get exposed today.

I love the old person flannel cases. There is some kind of pillow I find disgusting to sleep on, not sure what it is, sheeny shiny slidey stuff whatever it is.
                                                                    Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 05-03-19, 10:21.

Definitely would have attempted to double down after the Suns beat the Lakers the previous night ending LeBrons playoff streak and resigning the Lakers to missing the playoffs. Its the biggest story of the season. Something to the effect of:

The Suns deliver surprise back to back victories over the Lakers & Bucks, possibly ending LeBron's 13 year streak of playoff appearances and delivering the Bucks their only losing record of this season.
                                                                      No possibly's here as a lot of Media companies use my/our stuff - doesn't look great!

I wake up like someone with scoliosis after sleeping on those pillows you get in nice hotels - the ones that come 18 inches off the bed until you put your head on it at which point you're a centimetre off the mattress. Memory foam ftw.

No possibly's here as a lot of Media companies use my/our stuff - doesn't look great!
                                                                          Well you could use effectively/essentially/practically then. BPI and 538 had the Lakers at <1% chance of making the playoffs after that result.

I wake up like someone with scoliosis after sleeping on those pillows you get in nice hotels - the ones that come 18 inches off the bed until you put your head on it at which point you're a centimetre off the mattress. Memory foam ftw.
                                                                            best bed I've ever slept in was here, having stayed in a fair amount of 4 and 5 star hotels (prior to parenthood draining my coffers ), I was a little surprised that this was the winner but it was honestly amazing.

I love the old person flannel cases. There is some kind of pillow I find disgusting to sleep on, not sure what it is, sheeny shiny slidey stuff whatever it is.
                                                                              flannel cases and HEAVY sheets/duvet and I'm in hog heaven.
                                                                              Ill fitting duvet covers are my kryptonite

best bed I've ever slept in was here, having stayed in a fair amount of 4 and 5 star hotels (prior to parenthood draining my coffers ), I was a little surprised that this was the winner but it was honestly amazing.
                                                                                Both mattress and pillows are always way too soft for my preference in 5* places. I suppose you can probably ask for harder pillows at least? It's never occurred to me to ask before.

On another topic - I'm away in France next week, will I be able to get a few bets on with PP easily or will I need some VPN job? I have a vague memory of having trouble using the app in Spain a few years ago.

Ah heeor, they’re the best pillows!

On another topic - I'm away in France next week, will I be able to get a few bets on with PP easily or will I need some VPN job? I have a vague memory of having trouble using the app in Spain a few years ago.
                                                                                      France is regulated, have a VPN ready.

Ugh, dose! Thanks for the info.

Anyone suggest a cheap/free and easy to use VPN for my phone?

Don't most firms have good vpn trackers now? Don't think it's as easy as it once was.

Sign up to the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Comp for peace of mind.

No prior experience required.

Ugh, dose! Thanks for the info.

Anyone suggest a cheap/free and easy to use VPN for my phone?
                                                                                              It should be fine when using 3/4g I thought?

The things I've seen taken out of hotels over the years would surprise you.
                                                                                                Towels, shampoos etc you expect.
                                                                                                Lamps, duvets, kettles, remotes....not so much
                                                                                                Never understood why hotels don't have price tags on everything in the room with friendly signs telling people to help themselves.

Missing out on huge upselling opportunities.

It should be fine when using 3/4g I thought?
                                                                                                  He's not talking about speed he's talking of geo blocking. Like in the US regarding online poker being blocked in many states.

Yeah, thats why. When using data roaming you are appearing as an at home IP to the provider.

So it would work or wouldn't?

Used to work for me on 4g once location is turned off but that was a few years ago.

Down pillows, are yer only man. No point in paying ott (those half price 100 is more than double the price of M&S) for them because they need to be replaced regularly and on the same schedule whether they cost 33 or 200.
                                                                                                          Flannel cases are ok but cotton is better when you need something to be as cool as the other side of the pillow.
                                                                                                          silk pillowcases are a sick way to live!

They won't necessarily action your account if you're using a VPN but the probability that they will is definitely higher.

Best to limit the amount of situations that can cause an action to occur so deposit funds before you leave Ireland, only access using one device, only use one VPN, don't attempt a withdrawal and probably not worth flirting with close to your max LTL.

Yeah, works for me in Europe, would need a better hourly rate to be turning it on in Africa!
                                                                                                              Unblock US also works as its a dns changer rather than a VPN

Nerdfitness.com

Fun site , reminds me of those old magazine TV programmes.

I'm disapointed you thought I was that stupid!

Interesting thread on AAM where some intrepid home owner decided to to take up all the banks on their cashback offers in the space of ~6 months:

Does pinker mention any family friendly breaks for mid April in his book ? If not , suggestions please.
                                                                                                                      Kellys in Rosslare seems to be the go-to place with kids with plenty of people I know. However, if you win the IPB Cheltenham Tipping Competition the slightly more expensive Europe Hotel in Killarney is kid friendly with pool, spa, etc.

(You're welcome RDIII )

Interesting thread on AAM where some intrepid home owner decided to to take up all the banks on their cashback offers in the space of ~6 months:

https://www.askaboutmoney.com/thread...months.211443/
                                                                                                                        Eh...