From my now extensive experience of living in Dallas (2 weeks) I can tell you good brisket is amazing if done well.
      Pecan Lodge, lockharts or slowbone?

Is the fitwilliam casino a dry casino, ie no drinking at tables?
        Correct

Sounds like there will be a VONC midweek which she will win essentially turning it into a vote of confidence. Why bother calling for it if you can't carry it?
          It's not about trying to take May out (yet). It's about destroying the Brexit deal she agreed.

I doubt any of the putative contenders actually want the job right now. Work and responsibility not really their thing.

An FG promise of €50k before paying the higher rate could get a lot of votes.
            It's a reasonably large promise and very clearly directed at the middle class who make up the bulk of the voting population. Good move imo.

One from me anyway

So after spending most of November in Hospital here and hoping that the Coronary CT scan got what it needed as I am not allowed CT Contrast EVER again. I got some disappointing news on Saturday.

After the scan on the 8th, I was to contact the Cardiologists secretary to arrange to get the results. Now I forgot the name and tried to make an appointment and was told April 2019. I called on Saturday as he sits at the Main hospital instead of the private ones on Saturday and they put me straight through! He said they couldn't find one of my arteries Now, I did the Nuclear scan in March twice, so assume the CT was because they were having difficulties. He said it was either blocked or "Couldn't make him out" and will have to have an echo and an Mri as CT is out of the question as next time could be Fatal.

So between now and April I will have these tests done. He said if I was feeling ill or anything just to contact and he will get me done sooner, but I feel fine. Couldn't believe I could pick up the phone and get the results from the horses mouth! He also asked how my rash was. Famous

They still haven't got back to me with blood results. They screening for various medical interactions and also Tryptase tests which have been sent overseas. So hopefully I will know more about what causes my body to react the way it does from medicines.

Waited 3 years to see an immunologist in Ireland, they wouldn't even do it private and left the Country before getting called. Bloody HSE

Request for an old pub name here. On the N2, close to Glasnevin cemetery and near the Ballyboggan road junction there was a big pub that closed about 15 years or so ago. Can anyone enlighten me as to the name of this place please? The site has been essentially boarded up since then.

The Royal Oak perhaps?
                  Last edited by 6starpool; 19-11-18, 10:16.

It's not about trying to take May out (yet). It's about destroying the Brexit deal she agreed.

I doubt any of the putative contenders actually want the job right now. Work and responsibility not really their thing.
                    That applies to both sides.
                    Corbyn is annoying me no end, my inner leftie is exasperated at his current plan. Which seems to be let the UK fall to shite before pointing a finger and saying I could have done better.
                    I do get his predicament of not alienating the Leave/Labour strongholds of the north east but I despair at absolutely no one willing to put country before party/personal ambition.

That applies to both sides.
                      Corbyn is annoying me no end, my inner leftie is exasperated at his current plan. Which seems to be let the UK fall to shite before pointing a finger and saying I could have done better.
                      I do get his predicament of not alienating the Leave/Labour strongholds of the north east but I despair at absolutely no one willing to put country before party/personal ambition.
                      He doesn't want the UK in the EU either, and it's not due to any referendum.

So after spending most of November in Hospital here and hoping that the Coronary CT scan got what it needed as I am not allowed CT Contrast EVER again. I got some disappointing news on Saturday.

After the scan on the 8th, I was to contact the Cardiologists secretary to arrange to get the results. Now I forgot the name and tried to make an appointment and was told April 2019. I called on Saturday as he sits at the Main hospital instead of the private ones on Saturday and they put me straight through! He said they couldn't find one of my arteries Now, I did the Nuclear scan in March twice, so assume the CT was because they were having difficulties. He said it was either blocked or "Couldn't make him out" and will have to have an echo and an Mri as CT is out of the question as next time could be Fatal.

So between now and April I will have these tests done. He said if I was feeling ill or anything just to contact and he will get me done sooner, but I feel fine. Couldn't believe I could pick up the phone and get the results from the horses mouth! He also asked how my rash was. Famous

They still haven't got back to me with blood results. They screening for various medical interactions and also Tryptase tests which have been sent overseas. So hopefully I will know more about what causes my body to react the way it does from medicines.

Waited 3 years to see an immunologist in Ireland, they wouldn't even do it private and left the Country before getting called. Bloody HSE
                        Chin up MrsFD, you seem to be having a tough run of it at the mo.

He doesn't want the UK in the EU either, and it's not due to any referendum.
                          It's the constant hedging that's annoying.
                          As you said, he doesnt want the UK in the EU yet he's saying he voted remain
                          and there are “reforms needed” in the EU.
                          The labour membership, the labour MPs all seem to have a desire to stop or vote again on Brexit.
                          The ambiguous leadership is in my opinion, hamstringing them.

They could do without this kind of presentation

Chin up MrsFD, you seem to be having a tough run of it at the mo.
                              Yeah, not been a great time! Between that and my job drying up as the Company pulled out of Malta, things have gone a bit downhill.

Going to spend December finding the right job and trying to stay positive. Did most of the Christmas shopping at this stage and that will help with the finances.

Going to be getting myself a lot fitter (as much as I can do) between now and any sort of surgery ahead. And def going to watch my diet and be more mindful of what I eat.

On the plus side, have another Caribbean Cruise booked for next Sept and that is something to look forward to

Request for an old pub name here. On the N2, close to Glasnevin cemetery and near the Ballyboggan road junction there was a big pub that closed about 15 years or so ago. Can anyone enlighten me as to the name of this place please? The site has been essentially boarded up since then.

The Royal Oak perhaps?

?

Large beer garden, part of Bertie the cunce be seen drinking tour of the North side!?

They could do without this kind of presentation

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dG9A02LFEw8
                                  Just part of their "we are still roasters at heart" reach out program to the midlands and north Kerry

Yeah, not been a great time! Between that and my job drying up as the Company pulled out of Malta, things have gone a bit downhill.

Going to spend December finding the right job and trying to stay positive. Did most of the Christmas shopping at this stage and that will help with the finances.

Going to be getting myself a lot fitter (as much as I can do) between now and any sort of surgery ahead. And def going to watch my diet and be more mindful of what I eat.

On the plus side, have another Caribbean Cruise booked for next Sept and that is something to look forward to

Are you saying a cruise isn't to be looked forward to? Ask FD. It was fucking awesome! we def caught the bug Royal Caribbean Oasis-class ships are the bomb. Fuck package holidays and trips to Spain

it was more the series of bad news and hardship then a fuck you I'm going on a cruise humblebrag at the end

Got to have something to look forward to after all that

SO FIL house has gone sale agreed for above asking. Bit of faffing regarding freeholds but hopefully sorted now.
                                            So the plan, such as it is calls for us to have a sizable kitty and apply for a mortgage for another 300/400k or so on top.
                                            This is the dream but it's out of reach I fear

This is looking a bit more likely

I've absolutely no idea where to go for a mortgage though. I know EBS do a cashback but dont really know if thats worth the business?
                                            Is a broker better than direct?

SO FIL house has gone sale agreed for above asking. Bit of faffing regarding freeholds but hopefully sorted now.
                                              So the plan, such as it is calls for us to have a sizable kitty and apply for a mortgage for another 300/400k or so on top.

I've absolutely no idea where to go for a mortgage though. I know EBS do a cashback but dont really know if thats worth the business?
                                              I'm at the contracts stage now and should be in new place before Xmas (Kildare 4lyf).

I used a broker and he was brilliant. Park Financial is the name of the company and Gerry is the man there. Looked after everything and couldn't recommend him enough.

There is no real upside to going direct to the bank so a broker is a no brainer for me.

Good luck with it!

Anyone frequent or know much about The Loft in Naas?

I frequented relatively often up until this year.
                                                  I think the last time I was there I had the pleasure of sitting beside GAB.
                                                  Give BallymoreChris a shout or I can send you the number they send out their texts on if you want.

Wednesday or Friday for tourneys is the most popular I think and the weekends for cash.
                                                  Last edited by Guest; 19-11-18, 13:21.

This house is for sale down home. Hell of a lot of house for the price tag. https://www.myhome.ie/residential/br...2-kd28/4276395
                                                    That is a lot of house. Bit out of the way though for a bus wanker

I frequented relatively often up until this year.
                                                      I think the last time I was there I had the pleasure of sitting beside GAB.
                                                      Give BallymoreChris a shout or I can send you the number they send out their texts on if you want.

Wednesday or Friday for tourneys is the most popular I think and the weekends for cash.
                                                      So the games are very soft. Great.

Cheers for the info.

Both houses look good, but I can't believe what you get for your money there. Not much! that house would be 200k in Donegal! it is just mental how expensive Dublin and surrounding areas are. How the hell do people afford to live? especially with the price of childcare etc as well as everything else.

lol, check out London!

I guess property in London is more expensive but Dublin was ranked as more expensive to live in earlier this year

lol, check out London!
                                                              Fell by an average 5k last month. That's an annualised 60k.
                                                              Or 120k in London.

Give Brexit a proper rattle and you'll be scooping up a new gaff with every packet of Coco Pops.

Salaries and wealth much higher in Dublin too. Double-edged sword....

It does always amaze me that public servants (teachers, guards) etc stay in Dublin. Would have thought it an absolute no-brainer to move down the country as a teacher's salary goes a very long way.

Spoken like somebody not from the country. You can't send me back!

It is funny how it's the same pay everywhere. My sister skipped a rung in the civil service and doubled her pay in Sligo this year, plans to keep going up the rungs and skip another in the next year or two, lives like a Queen.
                                                                  Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 19-11-18, 17:19.

Pecan Lodge, lockharts or slowbone?
                                                                    Not yet but I'll get to those eventually.

Morata in disguise

The Royal Oak perhaps?
                                                                        The Judge got gunned down there. Big fish back in the day. Place was dodge before this and didnt recover after it.
                                                                        Why did you want to know anyway?.

Spoken like somebody not from the country. You can't send me back!

It is funny how it's the same pay everywhere. My sister skipped a rung in the civil service and doubled her pay in Sligo this year, plans to keep going up the rungs and skip another in the next year or two, lives like a Queen.
                                                                          Yeah, the Brits (I guess they have to get something right) have a London premium for PS roles. We should too for Dublin.

Numbeo is pretty good for this stuff

Consumer Prices in London are 4.51% higher than in Dublin
                                                                              Consumer Prices Including Rent in London are 9.95% higher than in Dublin
                                                                              Rent Prices in London are 17.75% higher than in Dublin
                                                                              Restaurant Prices in London are 1.18% higher than in Dublin
                                                                              Groceries Prices in London are 1.70% higher than in Dublin
                                                                              Local Purchasing Power in London is 9.20% higher than in Dublin

I always find these things kindof off though, as it totally depends on how frugal you want to be and can possibly be.
                                                                              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 19-11-18, 19:37.

Not yet but I'll get to those eventually.
                                                                                No worries, Babes chicken is also very good

The Judge got gunned down there. Big fish back in the day. Place was dodge before this and didnt recover after it.
                                                                                  Why did you want to know anyway?.
                                                                                  Mostly because I used to live nearby-ish and remember it being there. Every time I pass the derelict site now I try to remember the name of the pub but couldn't really. That's all there is to it.

That answer smells of you were the gunman, ready to boast of your hits...

They have been caught for less.

The Dogs documentary series on Netflix is pure.

That answer smells of you were the gunman, ready to boast of your hits...

They have been caught for less.
                                                                                        No idea what you're talking about. It's OK, I have no twitchy bosses that I could say I was rumbled to, no sir I don't. No need for you to watch over your shoulder, nope, none.

Rounders, do you have any extra insight into this drogheda business?

I do love the way that, in politics, the word 'staunch' is code for 'mad raving'.

Any crypto investors left?
                                                                                              Dark days today

Salaries and wealth much higher in Dublin too. Double-edged sword....

It does always amaze me that public servants (teachers, guards) etc stay in Dublin. Would have thought it an absolute no-brainer to move down the country as a teacher's salary goes a very long way.
                                                                                                Its not really a choice.
                                                                                                Number of applicants for a teaching job in many dublin schools would be in single figures, a less secure prospect in the back of beyonds could have hundreds of applicants.

A woman I know was teaching in kildare and had spent years on the panel in Roscommon waiting for a job to come up. Once she started a family she was living down there, right up at the Mayo border and spent about 5 years commuting 2 hours plus each way until she finally got something down there.

I always thought that McCreevy's decentralisation plan was never given a fair shake, if there had been a government with the balls and imagination to drive it through it could have been very positive.

Any crypto investors left?
                                                                                                  Dark days today
                                                                                                  Not an investor, but been shorting the downtrend on large cap coins for the last 8 months. Needs another big shakeout before we get near the bottom I feel
                                                                                                  Dumb money getting fucked left right and centre

Its not really a choice.
                                                                                                    Number of applicants for a teaching job in many dublin schools would be in single figures, a less secure prospect in the back of beyonds could have hundreds of applicants.

A woman I know was teaching in kildare and had spent years on the panel in Roscommon waiting for a job to come up. Once she started a family she was living down there, right up at the Mayo border and spent about 5 years commuting 2 hours plus each way until she finally got something down there.

I always thought that McCreevy's decentralisation plan was never given a fair shake, if there had been a government with the balls and imagination to drive it through it could have been very positive.
                                                                                                    It makes sense to scale salary based on whatever cost of living metrics, I have teacher friends in Clare, Galway, Waterford, Limerick, Cork all of whom did 3 years or more while permanent roles were available in Dublin.

I know there was a slight lull in applications in places a couple of years ago as teaching colleges changed from a 3 year to 4 year degree so there was a break but it was small as demand is compounded by the relative ease of gaining acceptance to Hibernia to get your qualifications.

Can anyone suggest a regression model to choose from for this data? The dependent variable is a count of false memories with a possible range of 0 to 2. It is zero inflated as lots had no false memories and overdispersed with the standard deviation greater than the mean.

Since the upper end is bounded I cannot use zero inflated negative binomial regression.

If you have a suggestion please explain it to me like you were speaking to an 11 year old.

Can anyone suggest a regression model to choose from for this data? The dependent variable is a count of false memories with a possible range of 0 to 2. It is zero inflated as lots had no false memories and overdispersed with the standard deviation greater than the mean.

Since the upper end is bounded I cannot use zero inflated negative binomial regression.

If you have a suggestion please explain it to me like you were speaking to an 11 year old.

I went as far as image searching Jeremy Irons in this picture and didn't pull the trigger.

Now quasi-binomial distributions...

You've changed Bro.

You're probably better off using a binary classification model where the target is 0 if no false memories and 1 if count > 0 (or multiclass classification if you think you have three distinct classes {0, 1, 2}). Lots of open source tools and languages that can be used (Python, R, Knime, WEKA etc).

How can a false memory be identified?

Don't. I started down that mental rabbit hole after Bozzer posted and gave myself a migraine.

If I present a representation of a fake news event to you and you say you remember seeing or hearing that then it's a false memory. It's actually an interesting area, especially in respect of false autobiographical memories where people are induced to falsely remember, say, a childhood hot air balloon ride.

Thanks for the help folks. Wish I had asked here first. #SPSSftw