I kinda knew the lesson before I started, but if I dont need to absorb the cost of a UX Designer because the devs are reasonably UX/UI minded, Ill spend it on another Dev!

It was a fun test anyway and like I said, I expected it to be bad, just not so... hilariously bad. It had a pale yellow background.

Your example re train stations is actually excellent naming convention practices from a code standpoint!
    Yeah most devs find it hard to dumb things down for end users, to think that people don't think like them or have the underlying understanding that comes about from creating something. Was told before to not bother putting effort into the UI as my android app prototype was too polished, I had just googled for some free assets and spent a long time on fancy transitions. Main point was that that the customer can pay our UI engineer if they want a good UI. Their whole job is just making things pretty. They can make awesome custom assets tbf.

Sky shut up shop today... This was my journey home up a tiny hill lol

https://www.facebook.com/mgavigan1/v...3246358647357/
        you shoud've got a pair of spikes but a bit dear for just one day!!!!!

Originally posted by Frossach View Post
          you shoud've got a pair of spikes but a bit dear for just one day!!!!!

http://www.spikes-spider.ie/index.html
          I will not be leaving the house or attempting to drive again till its gone. No chance lol. Loads of food and drink in. Be grand!

It occurs to me that perhaps there is something going on to do with the ubiquity of porn that makes what were the easy ways to use sex to sell crap might not be nearly as effective as it was for previous generations.
            Everything seems to be sold with nostalgia instead.

Will go full circle when we become nostalgic for scantily clad women draping themselves over car bonnets.

iPhone's great UI was a major factor in its adoption. Windows mobile was around for a long time before that, I had one of those xda yokes years ago and could see the potential. I was happy to work around the graphical Limitations etc, but it took the shiny UI to drive mass popularity. Balance is dead right, but the happier people are to use something the more tolerant they are of bug fixes etc Ugly but effective might not see the average end user even try to any great extent.

John Major being a much better statesman than I believed. Well said Grey Man.

Over many years, the Conservative party has understood the concerns of business. Not over Brexit, it seems,.....This is not only grand folly. It’s also bad politics.

.....Our self-imposed ‘red lines’ have boxed the government into a corner, they are so tilted to ultra Brexit opinion, even the cabinet cannot agree them, and a majority in both houses of parliament oppose them. If maintained in full, it will be impossible to reach a favourable trade outcome. None of it has yet been properly explained to the British people.

No one voted for higher prices and poorer public services, but that is what they may get,..The emerging evidence suggests Brexit will hurt most those who have least ... This isn’t ‘Project Fear’ revisited, it is ‘Project Know Your History’.
                  It is not my purpose to stir controversy, but the truth must be spoken. The ultra Brexiteers have been mistaken – wrong – in nearly all they have said or promised to the British people.

The promises of more hospitals, more schools, lower taxes, more money for transport were electioneering fantasy. The £350 million a week for the NHS was a ridiculous phantom: the reality is if our economy weakens – as is forecast – there will not only be less money for the NHS, but for all our public services.

We were told that nobody was threatening our place in the Single Market. That tune has changed.

We were told that a trade deal with the EU would be easy to get. Wrong again: it was never going to be easy, and we are still not sure what outcome will be achieved.

We were told “Europe can whistle for their money” and we would not pay a penny in exit costs. Wrong again. Europe didn’t even have to purse her lips before we agreed to pay £40 billion to meet legitimate liabilities.

I could go on. But suffice to say that every one of the Brexit promises is – to quote Henry Fielding – “a very wholesome and comfortable doctrine to which (there is) but one objection: namely, that it is not true.”.

People should pause and reflect: if the Brexit leaders were wrong in what they said so enthusiastically before – are they not likely to be wrong in what they say now?

The view that "Devs are the real talent" is misguided and pretty "old school". It takes a team to make strong software.

Bad UI/UX wont sell anymore.
                    Non functional code won't solve the problem.
                    They wont get it done unless someone is driving it.

The rare rare rare person can do all three.

Each member of the tam people should be expected to be good at their primary function, and awareness of the others. UX/UI/BA's have a level of awareness of the limitations/tech debt that they might be imposing with a design and some business acumen about the metrics that are used to measure the solution.

Product Managers should be aware of all and make an informed decision.

This forum here is biased towards logic, rationale and problem solving in the ultimate way - thats not how humans interact with software or behave in general.

Flying to Lanzarote on Wednesday morning. HOLD.
                      Trip cancelled :-/

Car also died yesterday, is a write-off. Real shit few days.

Everything seems to be sold with nostalgia instead.

Will go full circle when we become nostalgic for scantily clad women draping themselves over car bonnets.
                          I'm nostalgic for the good auld days when you could casually throw rubbish out your car windows, everyone over the age of 6 smoked and you could safely leave young children in the care of the parish priest.

'dem were de days

Proper blizzard conditions now

...Will you take your cat back from LSB...Thijnk you should leave her with him until this blizzard is over...

– “a very wholesome and comfortable doctrine to which (there is) but one objection: namely, that it is not true.”.
                                Major was going so well until that line. More politicians need to take on the lesson from Trump. Simple is more effective (bit like the UI discussion!)

The airport was good craic today.

working from home today has been infinitely more stressful than being in actual work.
                                    Birthday + snowday does not equate to day off sadly.

Air con isn't working in our office. Must have the warmest offices in Dublin right now.

How's everyone been? Long time, same old usernames still posting away I see��

I can see this from both sides. There is a certain art to good UI / UX design, but it is often the simplest, smallest part of the overall build equation. Give me a clearly designed, robustly built, scalable and flexible solution. Changing the UX / UI then becomes a relatively trivial matter. In your example above, a well built solution would make the name changes relatively trivial. Like everything else in life, there's a balance to be struck.

In the working environment, you need to bring the Dev guys who don't have a clue about the end customer along with you - ultimately they're the actual talent who make it happen because typically the UI / UX visionary guy can't do the work.
                                          The view that "Devs are the real talent" is misguided and pretty "old school". It takes a team to make strong software.

Bad UI/UX wont sell anymore.
                                          Non functional code won't solve the problem.
                                          They wont get it done unless someone is driving it.

The rare rare rare person can do all three.

Each member of the tam people should be expected to be good at their primary function, and awareness of the others. UX/UI/BA's have a level of awareness of the limitations/tech debt that they might be imposing with a design and some business acumen about the metrics that are used to measure the solution.

Product Managers should be aware of all and make an informed decision.

This forum here is biased towards logic, rationale and problem solving in the ultimate way - thats not how humans interact with software or behave in general.
                                          We're saying the same thing. However your original post was 'look at those silly devs with their shitty design'. The oft cited Apple example about UI is grand and all, and if you're a true visionary like Steve Jobs you can probably be a total cunt without being able to do the work and get away with it. At the end of the day, there's a core technical skill or set of skills underpinning anything to do with software development. If left with half the team, the techies or the business / product team; one half would build something. The other half would leave you with some wireframes.

That will eventually change no doubt with automation / tooling / etc, but until it does I try (as a business / product part of the equation) to respect the guys who are necessary to delivering something. Tends to get the best out of them too, as you might expect.

working from home today has been infinitely more stressful than being in actual work.
                                            Birthday + snowday does not equate to day off sadly.
                                            I find I'm less productive at home.

We're saying the same thing. However your original post was 'look at those silly devs with their shitty design'. The oft cited Apple example about UI is grand and all, and if you're a true visionary like Steve Jobs you can probably be a total cunt without being able to do the work and get away with it. At the end of the day, there's a core technical skill or set of skills underpinning anything to do with software development. If left with half the team, the techies or the business / product team; one half would build something. The other half would leave you with some wireframes.

That will eventually change no doubt with automation / tooling / etc, but until it does I try (as a business / product part of the equation) to respect the guys who are necessary to delivering something. Tends to get the best out of them too, as you might expect.
                                              lol, If was obviously a tongue in cheek post and if anything the underlying tone of it was a lot more inclusive and aware of the value of the whole team than your post above... your tone is one of almost disdain for the other half of the team.

something is nothing if it doesn't sell.

Glad to see this got you out of your cave though!

How's everyone been? Long time, same old usernames still posting away I see��
                                                Bored and snowed in Percy?

Welcome back!

Percy and Lloyd, therell be pics of beer lineups before the week is out.

Does anyone here work with a development team?

I gave the lads some leeway to create a feature for our client and what they handed back was the most hilariously complicated UI I've ever seen.

It does do the job its supposed to though. And if you think really hard logically you'll be able to navigate it without hanging yourself.

But I can't let real people use it!
                                                    You 'gave the lads leeway'. Talks about "disdain". Anyway.

You're stretching now Lloyd.

I find I'm less productive at home.
                                                          +1, although three screaming demons on the premises half the day may well have something to do with this.

As if you were planning on being productive now anyhow with less than 2 weeks left.

Literally not doing a tap unless asked for something and even then it depends who's asking

This is a pretty wild forecast from the met.

Settled now but jaysus the last hour was the wildest blizzardy shit I've ever seen.

Shackeltonesque.

Edit, 'ever seen' includes once in '82, maybe three times in the mid eighties, and 2010.

Wait until tomorrow night by the sounds of things. Also, I doubt you can remember much of the actual snow showers in 1982, you were only 5.

16 degrees here at 10pm. Freezing outside so sitting here with the electric fire on. I got extra bread just incase

Wait until tomorrow night by the sounds of things. Also, I doubt you can remember much of the actual snow showers in 1982, you were only 5.
                                                                            Yeah, I suppose. Do remember the snow though, quite vividly.

Not much that time in the north west, so I don't have any memory of it. I do remember some heavy falls but nothing mad. My mother was telling me earlier again about her memories of the 1947 snow,and the 20 foot drifts in places. Sounds apocalyptic.

Had a really great day today, a Polaroid day.

Got up at 7 for work, the 3 year old like a freak with excitement, house buzzing. Her first time witnessing this.
                                                                                I'm hoping I can get home in time to have a bit of craic with her in the snow. She'll be housebound all day, playschool off and wife can't bring her out with the baby, she can't even go out the back garden as it's full of kitchen rubble awaiting a skip.

Get a message from the boss to stay at home. Boom.

Got a wooden sled off my friend yesterday, we headed out on that. She tumbled off it into the snow and loved it, wanted me to topple her again.

We came across a bunch of 9 year old kids having a snowball war. We joined a side. I was like the giant in GOT, a big kid, she was firing snowballs about the place at people. Good hour and a half at that craic before the war fizzled out.

We made a snowman with twigs for arms and leaves for ninja eyes. Headed home then on the sledge for a carrot and some coal. Back again to finish him off, and the whole neighbourhood were out, they built four m8s beside our guy.

Purely magical day. Impromptu magic.

Bad weather me hole. Awesome weather.
                                                                                Last edited by Lazare; 28-02-18, 21:36.

Sorry Andy.

I was at work, gfy

Where my folks live on the top of a hill we got snow every year. Basically it’s like living near the Sally gap. Anyway I have a great memory of being sent home from primary school on a snow day on 1987 or so. Only us idiots from the top of the hill went to school and the teachers told us to fuck off home as they went home themselves. No phones to ring home and no one took responsibility for us getting home.

This basically resulted in 5 kids who were 7-10 years of age walking home about 8km to the top of the hill in the snow. It took us about 3 hours including helping some guy with a front wheel drive car get traction by lying across his bonnet.

Another world.

Best thing about this weather is time off with pay. Went for two walks today and the place looked savage in fairness.

Missus baked soda bread, GFY careca

This is like Christmas but without all the boring rubbish. 10/10. I don't eat bread anyway, GFY Brennan's.

Major was going so well until that line. More politicians need to take on the lesson from Trump. Simple is more effective (bit like the UI discussion!)
                                                                                            Wat the wat?

You don't think hes wrong do you

Sometimes the truth is more complex than pea brains like Trump and the gimps that voted for him can handle.

Walking in the snow today i felt like a soldier in Iraq. Everyone I met was a potential snow ball attack. I had to dish out a pre-emptive attack twice . 8 year olds deserve what they get.

Remote access is a pain in the hole.

Ruining this experience.

Walking in the snow today i felt like a soldier in Iraq. Everyone I met was a potential snow ball attack. I had to dish out a pre-emptive attack twice . 8 year olds deserve what they get.
                                                                                                    This is when all those years of cricket pay off. Boom, headshot. My own kids know better than to attack me with balls of snow but neighbouring child took a savage shot to the back of the head 20m out.

The mother was mentioning about the 1982 snow as the youngest brother was born right in the middle of it. Led to discovering that I'd attended a school in Shankill for four years that had been hitherto unaware of. Had assumed it was a school in Kilmacanogue from start-to-finish. Just goes to show how many of these special memories you're building with the kids will actually be remembered given you can entirely forget something substantial you'd done from ages 4-8.
                                                                                                      I can understand memories in junior/senior infants being a bit hazy. But 4 years Hitch, that's a bit mad!
                                                                                                      Four years of primary school takes you up to your communion. I can remember who played Jesus in a first confession narrative, and specific details about kids form my class (who weren't in older classes. I think this is a you problem Hitch.

I personally feel most memories we believe we remember are either from photographs or anecdotes that were told to us.

Unless its fairly traumatic, we aint remembering shit before 7 or 8.

I can understand memories in junior/senior infants being a bit hazy. But 4 years Hitch, that's a bit mad!
                                                                                                            Four years of primary school takes you up to your communion. I can remember who played Jesus in a first confession narrative, and specific details about kids form my class (who weren't in older classes. I think this is a you problem Hitch.
                                                                                                            I have only snapshot memories of primary school, and only slightly more rounded memories of secondary.

Met a guy at parkrun last Sat who I knew I knew but couldn't for the life of me place, he remembered my name, was asking me how I was, what I was working at etc, all the while I'm trying desperately to remember where I knew him from. Was only when he said 'so do you ever see anyone from our class?' that I realised I went to school with him. For the leaving cert.

Looked his name up in the results later that day and realised I hung out with him for about three years, was in his gaff and all. We were best mates for a while.
                                                                                                            Last edited by Lazare; 01-03-18, 00:15.

It might be! Can only properly remember one person I went to school with across the entire 13 years. Can't remember a single person I did my degree or Masters with. Had no memory of that 4-8 years of age school even happening. Have just no memory of past events but do seem to have a great different type of memory. Like I'll read 100 papers on a research area, seemingly forget them all in their entirety, and then sit down and write something smart that links them very well. Same with the lectures which are a bit of a bizarre unplanned freeride but normally interesting for the listener. Maybe it's a different type of memory that is strong on making connections between things while the 'remember things' memory is very weak. Not sure though, it might just be all those years of excessive drinking and there's no alternative memory upside

I think I have a similar brain. In terms of how it deals with memories.

Read an interesting factoid today.

The brain is the only organ in the body that has named itself.

I personally feel most memories we believe we remember are either from photographs or anecdotes that were told to us.

I am glad I am not the only one I have very little memories of up to aged 10, I only have these listed below, all bad shit ! I grew up in the UK till 10.

This is all up to aged 10, Id imagine I was 8 /10 actaully , no memories of when younger than that

I remember:
                                                                                                                      biting a girls leg in primary school , I can even remember her name Bridget Rockliffe

stealing a round tub of handcream in a shop called Clements down the road.

Getting a box of matches while my friend Tiddles was his name got paper and we burned down the woods across the road from where we lived. ( They built houses there after)

Getting on a bus on my own and going to woolworths and stealing sweets and the cops brought me home

An old war bunker me and my friends played in , I really remember that well as it was class

I must have been letting myself in home after school as I remember stealing all the biscuits and inviting all my friends around to have some ( both parents were working at the time)

Its odd thats about all I can remember ,

dont remember school , first day , or any school actually only biting that girls leg

Yeah, there must be something like that. I'd say it's big in music - your thing - because thats about taking a myriad of ideas and creating something new but which is indirectly connected to what you've heard.
                                                                                                                        Maybe it is synonymous with creativity, I'd like to think so.

Maybe it's the result of a narcotical twenties.

Remember plenty
                                                                                                                          ...may have been traumatic.