yo, hows the feet.

that quote devil ad guy is an annoyingly smug Devil.

I don't really like drinking at home at current prices, it feels very knackery. Now that the alcohol will be expensive it's less knackery and so at those new prices I will most likely drink at home. Cheap beer runied us socially. Now I'll accept a can when offered during house visits. In the past it was, meh, tis a it knackery.
    Off to Shanahans on Saturday so just eyeing the wine list there. Why did i say id pay. Sigh.

#WeAreBack

Need to find that Asian lads number asap

Fucking match is on at the same time. FML.
    Last edited by Dice75; 09-11-17, 20:27.

I'd imagine there will be a lot less street drunks as they just won't be able to afford to be as drunk.
        This bit is defo wrong I'm afraid. No matter how expensive you make it, the people who are hooked on it will always find a way.

We have one woman who comes to the soup run every week and she is always absolutely ossified.

Twice in the last three weeks, she has openly urinated in the middle of the street. Once right outside the GPO and once at the top of the street that runs inbetween the GPO and Penny's. No attempt to be discreet or anything, just went in front of dozens of people going about their business of a Monday evening.

A couple of weeks ago, the Guards, over a three hour period, stopped her three times and confiscated a total of 14 cans from her on the grounds that she was drinking in the street. Despite this, she was completely out of it by 9:30.

An extra euro on a can isn't going to stop or slow her down and she is just a microcosm of a much larger problem.

My big issue is they don't do something related with the money. E.g. would be cool if they ringfenced extra alcohol and sugar revenue for 'desired' activities like running / cycling routes, alternative evening entertainments.
          There is no extra revenue with the governments plan, other than a small VAT portion.
          The difference between current price and new minimum price gets divvied up between brewer and retailer.
          Its a very inefficient way of meeting their purported aims, compared to say an increase in excise duty. Almost as if, you know, there's a hidden motive in there.
          Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 09-11-17, 21:10.

We already have some of the most expensive booze in Europe, with declining consumptions. Can't see anything positive in this other than for vintners.
            That bit is very tilting also.

The stats are showing Irelands drinking rate dropping consistenly particularly among the young demographic but still bringing this in. Young kids more afraid of the dodgy pics on Facebook or looking fat on instagram to be hitting the booze really heavy these days.

Harsh pen against the Nordies, but the commentators aren't half sour about it

In fairness Irish drinking is fairly catastrophic compared to most other countries. The analysis they are working off is that this will save 150 lives a year due to cutting down on binge drinking and save about €5m in policing costs. Whether its worth the impact on everyone else is another thing, but 150 lives is a decent amount.
                  You and me both know that any study of savings in lives and money would be highly open to massive assumptions in the particular model used.

Also have they factored in that drugs and alcohol are substitute products for some. So drug consumption is likely to increase as alcohol gets more expensive potentially negating any savings elsewhere or even making it worse.

Harsh pen against the Nordies, but the commentators aren't half sour about it
                    A fun exercise is to guess how (and how quickly) it would have been rationalised if given the other way. Very soon it would have been that the cowardly defender should have kept his hands by his side like a man and thus it deserves to be a pen.

Noticed today that they have cans of Duff beer in Lidl. 2 500ml cans for €3, 4.9% alc. It just seemed wrong though.

Its gas how every single health professional working in the area is fully behind these measures as a small step in the right direction and every single lush who will be out of pocket by a few quid a month is certain that its the worst thing since the rod licence

There is no extra revenue with the governments plan, other than a small VAT portion.
                            The difference between current price and new minimum price gets divvied up between brewer and retailer.
                            Its a very inefficient way of meeting their purported aims, compared to say an increase in excise duty. Almost as if, you know, there's a hidden motive in there.
                            This is the crux of the problem for me, increase the excise and at least I get some return on better health or policing etc, minimum pricing and Tesco's and obriens have fancier shareholder meetings

Just looked at Facebook for the first time in 8 years.

Seems like everyone's been having a great time.

Its gas how every single health professional working in the area is fully behind these measures as a small step in the right direction and every single lush who will be out of pocket by a few quid a month is certain that its the worst thing since the rod licence
                                I own a pub so win win

In fairness Irish drinking is fairly catastrophic compared to most other countries. The analysis they are working off is that this will save 150 lives a year due to cutting down on binge drinking and save about €5m in policing costs. Whether its worth the impact on everyone else is another thing, but 150 lives is a decent amount.

Stop. The only reason this is getting through is that the VFI think it’s going to be good for business.they have managed to rope in some neo Puritan loons in to do some spadework for them too
                                    Hope it backfires on them and people cut back more on shit nights out in pubs too

God be with the days in the 1980's, when it seemed grand to spend £25 on a shite bottle of Rosé d’Anjou in a 'club' on Leeson street. Cause like the pubs were closed.

Clearly doesn't take account of degens who buy all their booze abroad on their holidays.

Fake News.

God be with the days in the 1980's, when it seemed grand to spend £25 on a shite bottle of Rosé d’Anjou in a 'club' on Leeson street. Cause like the pubs were closed.
                                            Only place you'd ever find Bulgarian wine.

Even now I suspect.

The World Health Organisation hardly wrote that?
                                              That your only objection?

It's from their stats. CSO/Who/Euro stats are fraudulent?

The binge drinking numbers are silly. 3 pints? Really?

Heavy drinking defined as having more than six units on one occasion. Gtfo

Ah this is the famous thing where if denny ever links to something that seems like scientific proof then the truth is definitely the opposite of what he is trying to claim.

That talks only about teenagers and other misleading facts.

Ireland has one of worst binge drinking habits in Europe for adults, and binge drinking is whats most likely to cause problems.

Your first source is 7 years out of date. The second is 3 years, the second study is also laughable. What 30 days was it? Didn't happen to cover March 17th?

The definition of binge drinking is just ridiculous.

Are you aware that the image from denny that you thanked is compiled from the same source? All the drinking data in the first image comes from WHO. I just thought I'd point this out so you wouldn't inadvertently look stupid to be both thanking and criticising the same source data in the space of ten posts.
                                                                      Your WHO data is from 2010 the other image has information from 2016. That's quite a difference in time.

and yet it seems to very accurately capture the most problematic drinking countries: Ireland, Lithuania, Finland, Moldova, and there's no obvious countries with drinking problems left out.
                                                                          Quoting for ridiculousness.

and yet it seems to very accurately capture the most problematic drinking countries: Ireland, Lithuania, Finland, Moldova, and there's no obvious countries with drinking problems left out.
                                                                            All countries with tiny Muslim populations who as teetotal will drag down the averages in other countries. If we had more Muslims we wouldn't be as high on the list but it wouldn't mean those who do drink would have drank any less.

Some circular reasoning there hitch!

It's impressive that it used WHO data from 2016, given the last report by WHO on this is in 2014 - which is the data in my second image. There is no 2016 data.
                                                                                When did anyone say WHO is the only one who can do a study on this?

No, the biggest logo being from reputatable sources is by design so as to give the appearance its a claim supported by authority. In fact what they've done is very selectively use information from these sources to put out a deceptive argument.

They know people look at the sources to see who provided the data. You'll notice the fuzzy bit of writing at the bottom of the image which is apparently the people who put it together. Why do you think they didn't put their own logo there? Because they knew it would weaken the argument.
                                                                                    Weaken what argument? That Irish consumption has reduced and is before the European average?

We're only behind on a fairly nonsense stat that you pulled out? Surely young people drinking less is more meaningful than how many adults have drunk three pints recently?

I didn't even notice the WHO logo until you pointed out, pretty weak objection.

I'm not sure where this conversation is going. But i'd say anyone can do a study on this if they want.

It's reasonable enough though for the World Health organisation to do a worldwide study on this health issue.
                                                                                        Well if selecting a random 30 day period and asking people if they had three pints in that is the best they can do they should probably leave it to someone else.

You and me both know that any study of savings in lives and money would be highly open to massive assumptions in the particular model used.

Also have they factored in that drugs and alcohol are substitute products for some. So drug consumption is likely to increase as alcohol gets more expensive potentially negating any savings elsewhere or even making it worse.
                                                                                          Presume the availability of substitutes is also the reason for falling alcohol consumption rates for younger demographic.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 09-11-17, 22:57.

Didn't realise the problem was binge drinking. Why are the proponents of the bill using consumption as their metric?

Ireland has one of worst binge drinking habits in Europe for adults, and binge drinking is whats most likely to cause problems.

Gotta think the Polish just said fuck off I'm busy drinking.

Can we get a show of hands for who looked at the graphic, spotted the WHO, ESPAD and CSO logos at the bottom and presumed it was produced by them as a joint effort?

And the concentration on overall alcohol consumption levels, given that the health problems with drinking is largely associated with binge drinking rather than overall consumption spread over a year.
                                                                                                        Where do you get that from? I generally assume that overall consumption over an admittedly shortened lifetime, is the more important thing.

@Hitch a nicer obit for Sean Hughes

The recent death of comedian, actor and writer SEAN HUGHES, at the age of just 51, came as a shock to most people. OLAF TYARANSEN pays tribute to a genuine t...

The bill is about binge drinking Here's Leo saying exactly that in a politico article entitled "Ireland aims to put a cork in binge drinking"

And here's Simon Harris saying its about binge drinking
                                                                                                              Nothing there about metrics.
                                                                                                              The Public HealtPublic Health (Alcohol) Bill 2015 iconh (Alcohol) Bill was approved by Government on 8th December. The bill aims to reduce alcohol consumption in Ireland to 9.1 litres per person per annum by 2020

Hitch (of all people) claiming that 3 pints is binge drinking is possibly the craziest think I've read in the BBV.

And I include Cat-gate, Dice-gate and the great whinge of 2012 in that.

Just back from watching Alice Cooper in the Olympia and what a cheery romp it was.

90 mins of well-choreographed vaudevillian rock 'n' roll from one of the world's biggest former chaz and booze fiends.

I'm Eighteen, Billion Dollar Babies, Poison, Only Women Bleed and a climatic sing-a-long Schools Out with Another Brick in the Wall interlude were the highlights.

Surprisingly fantastic for a 69-year-old born-again Christian who was once part Iggy, part Bowie part Bolan and part Steve Tyler. And sort of still is.

And all he did was sing and play act. No slabbering about politics or religion or golf or any of that.

Class.

top of the pops old grey whistle test 1965 1966 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988...

What more can you get than the health minister and the former health minister now leader, saying it is about binge drinking

Hitch "binge drinking is the problem"
                                                                                                                          Denny "why is the measurement for the bill consumption?"
                                                                                                                          Hitch "Vlad said something about binge drinking"