Yeah, I was just pointing out the obvious weather difference between Dallas and Heidelberg. Did you get a chance to pop into the Dubliner yet?
    I was actually sitting on a bench across the street from it last night having some gelato contemplating going in but it was 11pm on a saturday and after the door opened and i could see inside i changed my mind quite quickly.

i start painting the new apartment tomorrow and then have some time free so maybe at the end of the week

No Paulina?
      The cameraman will be warned to show pg clips after last year, such a shame.

Jaysus
        I edited after, I obv copped it. should have deleted post obv

Grand, carry on so!

It's an awful shock, after 27 years' - Ex-RTE journalist evicted from home over mortgage arrears

Nothing prepared him for the shock of being woken at 6am last Thursday morning to find a team from the Dublin County Sheriff's Office and gardai in his hallway.

He had been forewarned that they were coming - three notices from the Dublin County Sheriff's Office that a court order for possession was about to be enforced had come through his door in the last five weeks.

He had purchased two properties in Kildare, and planned to turn one of them into the family's "dream home" and sell the Shankill house. "But the crash happened and destroyed everybody," he said.

Mr Tiernan said he was going through the process of personal insolvency and had been meeting part of the €5,000 monthly repayments.

That he didn't cooperate with the Sheriff's Office in the last five weeks is one of his regrets. Mr Tierney is now speaking out to encourage others who have or are facing eviction, to do the same. He hopes to start a "movement".

"I know this sounds like a big-headed thing to say, but I would like to become the new Michael Davitt.

I was actually sitting on a bench across the street from it last night having some gelato contemplating going in but it was 11pm on a saturday and after the door opened and i could see inside i changed my mind quite quickly.

i start painting the new apartment tomorrow and then have some time free so maybe at the end of the week
              The owner Niall is away in Greece at the moment but if you ever get talking to him let him know that you were recommended the place by Gordon in Spain.

top marks for creativity

A US priest claimed he was trying to get revenge on God for poker losses when he collected child abuse images at his weekend home, according to his lawyer and court records.
                Rev Kevin Gugliotta was sentenced to between 11-and-a-half and 23-and-a-half months in jail, receiving credit for 10 months already served.

He pleaded guilty in March to a single count of disseminating child pornography after prosecutors dropped dozens of other charges that he possessed and distributed

Pre-trial records show the 55-year-old told probation officers he felt God was attacking him when he lost poker tournaments and games, and got "revenge" by collecting the porn.

would a 50 x 50 cm mirror fit in parcel motel locker yokes???

The largest Parcel Motel locker size is 41 × 38 × 64 cm.
                  Yes it would fit with room to spare.

GoT Season FInale

Well, nothing too unexpected there. Good to see Theon getting back to his old self, funny but with the guy kicking him down below to no effect!

Good to see the ole spark still alive with Brienne and Jaime, stuff Tormund and her (well, he may be dead anyways) always wanted to see the other two get together. And I suppose with all Cersei has done to Jaime and mentioning marriage still to Euron the bloke must be feeling pretty pissed off right now!

Not sure how a Bran/Jaime get together wil go down, but then again Bran will know what happened with the Mad King and all the other decent shit he did too

Glad to see Littlefinger getting his comeuppance, As soon as I saw Bran sitting there I called it to Tony. Was good to see him become a begging mess and good to see Arya waste no time drawing out the sentence!

Finally we get Bran to spill da beans! so he tells no one, not even his sisters about Jon and he blurts it out to Sam! but I suppose we needed the 2+2 thing there for confirmation. Amazing how they found a guy very like Harry Llyod to play Rhaegar. Although I had seen a photo of someone who they thought would do it, some blond singer. Good resemblance anyway to make it beleiveable that they were brothers.

Good to see Kit Harrington's butt, and what a lovely one it was too!
                    hope he didn't need a body double for that scene

And the wall comes tumbling down. Hope Beric and Tormund survived the destruction of the wall, knew it was going to happen somehow.

So let's hope it is Autumn 2018 for Season 8 and not 2019 which has been predicted. Filming starting October for it so hopefully it wont be a 2019 showing for it.

1k EP tickets on done deal. Duran Duran obv not a crowd pleaser.

There's 4 in my house at present I could deal with the backlash for a 3k profit

Ah my bad, I thought you meant each. I figured demand couldnt be that high
                        Last edited by Guest; 28-08-17, 09:39.

any streaming links (rather than torrents) for the Mayweather/McGregor fight?

Haven't been since 2013 where i done 7 in a row to that.
                            Would still love to go. It's a great weekend.

The forecast is good and getting better so that could mop up plenty of tickets.

Now that they are selling so many tickets (Is it 50k+?) you'd think they'd have to improve the quality of acts.

But with more popular acts comes the scald. It's a tough situation.

Looking forward to the WhatsApp discussions all week for bands/times, Public Service Broadcasting will figure, Le Galaxie I love for live partying. Fangclub Interskalactic have seen recently, will be like a child in a sweet shop all weekend. I am excite

Nothing really grabbing me this year. B&S skimped on the acts this year, but at least there were still acts I actively wanted to see.

Looking forward to the WhatsApp discussions all week for bands/times,
                                I don't think anyone I know has ever been that organised!

I am ordering slabs of craft beer cans to go into the 12v portable Fridge I got from Halfords after booking a Yurt with electricity, carpet and a bed. I can be totally spontaneous as long as its all planned to the nth degree

Heading along to EP aswell this weekend. Really think they've taken the piss with the lineup tbh. There's definitely some bands I want to see but given how much they're charging for tickets and the sheer size of there's a pretty clear disparity in the quality of acts compared to previous years.

I can't make it this year as I'm heading to Greece on Saturday but I think the line up is pretty good. I think they have a tough times (as SilverTiger mentioned) getting that balance right between really big acts and keeping the scrots away - I'd hate it to turn into an Oxygen/Longitude type event.

All of the below would be on my 'really want to see' list plus a few others that I wouldn't mind checking out. It's a fair amount of music to fit in.

The xx
                                      Elbow
                                      Interpol
                                      Tribe Called Quest
                                      Run The Jewels
                                      Father John Misty
                                      Duran Duran
                                      Chaka Khan
                                      Band of Horses
                                      Birdy
                                      Le Galaxie
                                      Mano le Tough
                                      All Tvvins
                                      Everything Everything
                                      Japandroids
                                      Parquet Courts
                                      Real Estate
                                      Jagwar Ma
                                      King Kong Company
                                      The Riptide Movement
                                      Fangclub
                                      Dublin Gospel Choir - 'cos it's not Sunday afternoon at EP unless you chill out and listen to them while sipping a beer in the sunshine
                                      New Jackson
                                      Donal Dineed (TAND)
                                      Elaine Mai
                                      Saint Sister
                                      Booka Brass

It's a bit of a musical first world problem for me tbh as a ton of the acts playing are ones i've seen multiple times and have seen about half of what you've listed in the past year.

Just struggle to compare that lineup to something like primavera and not feel like it's a rip off. (booked primavera for next year!)

In before Dom doesn't know any of em.

It's a bit of a musical first world problem for me tbh as a ton of the acts playing are ones i've seen multiple times and have seen about half of what you've listed in the past year.

Just struggle to compare that lineup to something like primavera and not feel like it's a rip off. (booked primavera for next year!)
                                            Primavera in Porto was redic value, think the ticket was EUR€105 for three nights this year which is excellent value. Although, there was no camping there so I presume there is less cost on their part compared to having to set up camp facilities.

Even with that though, Ireland is a rip off full stop, not just for concerts / festivals. We went to Madrid last year to see Foals, savage gig, tickets were dirt cheap and they served beer in 2 pint measures, what's not to like

He's a lost cause in fairness

Primavera in Porto was redic value, think the ticket was EUR€105 for three nights this year which is excellent value. Although, there was no camping there so I presume there is less cost on their part compared to having to set up camp facilities.

Even with that though, Ireland is a rip off full stop, not just for concerts / festivals. We went to Madrid last year to see Foals, savage gig, tickets were dirt cheap and they served beer in 2 pint measures, what's not to like
                                                Got the primavera Barcelona tix for 150

This is the right level of slav...

Floor is capitalism.

I'm at 5 in the list Lao Lao posted, excluding the gospel choir.

Thirty years ago today i went to my first live gig, Def Leppard supported by Tesla in the Ulster Hall, Belfast.

I was 15 and fell in love with the energy, the noise, the colour and the community.

What a rollercoaster ride that started. I've played in bands, been a music journalist and promoter, collected records, been a dealer, DJ'd, thrown parties, organised raves, danced from dusk till dawn in manys an exotic (and not so exotic) location and seen thousands upon thousands of artists.

I made a conscious decision very early on not to pursue a career in the music industry in case it would ruin music for me. I only every got paid as a journalist, everything else cost me money and my spare time which made it even more worthwhile.

And I still get the same thrill discovering new sounds and artists and rediscovering the music that time occasionally left behind.

One day it will all fall silent but until then i see no reason to not keep on turning it up.

2 pint measures are terrible in a hot country in summer surely? youll be drinking a pint of really warm flat beer at least. Half pints at a hot festival like that is the only way.

Theres plenty to see this year for me if was going to EP but its till a shit lineup. Of the headliners I'm not sure Chaka Khan can still sing, Tribe Called Quest is missing their main rapper and Pete Tong Ibiza Classics - what the fuck is that for a headline act??
                                                        Last edited by eamonhonda; 28-08-17, 14:08.

Elbow
                                                          Interpol
                                                          Tribe Called Quest
                                                          Duran Duran
                                                          Chaka Khan

?

I was disappointed at first with lineup, but as i thought about it more its a positive thing. Makes me more likely to go do fun stuff and get exposed to things that wouldn't normally feature on my radar. That epic oxygen lineup 2010/2011 ish would have had my head wrecked trying to fit in a load of stuff from FOMO. The soundtrack to the weekend is merely that, its the experiences that last in the memory. The crew that's going we will have a blast no matter if the power dies and we have to sing all weekend.

Well that was some weekend

Was in a pub for sw4 festival and McGregor fight

Saturday 14:30 till 7:00
                                                              Pub full of people who thought he would win; told everyone ref would stop it between 6 & 10, they all agreed while still saying McGregor

Fight was over once he threw the first jab and Mayweather smiled!

Sunday 15:00 till 2:00
                                                              Great festival for a publican, zero trouble, lovely crowd!

Monday slept till 15:00 off to madness fest in a free ticket

Whole street full of bald old men in stretched Fred perries

2 pint measures are terrible in a hot country in summer surely? youll be drinking a pint of really warm flat beer at least. Half pints at a hot festival like that is the only way.
                                                                Foals in Madrid was in winter, wasn't part of a festival. 2 pint measure was great to cut down on trips to the bar. Would be horrible in hot weather

Thirty years ago today i went to my first live gig, Def Leppard supported by Tesla in the Ulster Hall, Belfast.

I was 15 and fell in love with the energy, the noise, the colour and the community.
                                                                  That must have been electric.

I'm at 6 or 7, and that's bands I've only heard the name of once, no idea who they are really, apart from Duran Duran and Interpol (who have two good songs and infinite shite ones.)

Foals in Madrid was in winter, wasn't part of a festival. 2 pint measure was great to cut down on trips to the bar. Would be horrible in hot weather
                                                                    Went to the Pogues Xmas gig in Brixton few years ago, 2 pint glasses, sorry that was two 2 pint glasses every trip to bar!

I may have gotten a tad tipsy at that one

RTG will be fucking amazing.
                                                                      Official art video for “Close Your Eyes And Count To F*ck (feat. Zack De La Rocha)” from Run The Jewels 2. For info on RTJ music, merch, tour dates & more, p...

7.15-8.15 at the main stage though....
                                                                      fuck me, how are phoenix higher up that running order

Higher up the running order = better act seems to be an irish festival thing

Oxlade Chamberlain off to Chelsea

Elbow
                                                                            Interpol
                                                                            Tribe Called Quest
                                                                            Duran Duran
                                                                            Chaka Khan

?
                                                                            Yes ..but do you know Father John Misty??? Cuz more people need to!

Willie Duggan died today a great player for Ireland in the early 80s. He hated training but on match day performed brilliantly. One international match he had a head wound was drinking a bottle of beer and smoking a fag and was asked is that it Willy ah no I'm getting stitched up and going back on. Another cold night the manager came over Willy are you not warming up he was smoking in the car sure I had the heat on coming to training. He was an electrical contractor and I worked on a job with him he chain smoked he was such a presence nobody ever told him to put it out.

Elbow
                                                                                Interpol
                                                                                Tribe Called Quest
                                                                                Duran Duran
                                                                                Chaka Khan

?
                                                                                Close. Take out number 3 and put in the priest. In fairness I only know of him from hearing people talk here.

Also, I should clarify, that I don't actually think that he is a priest, although he could be.

My Dad brought me to Def Leppard in the point in 92 - I loved it.
                                                                                  Get tickets to Def Leppard's 2020 Stadium Tour with Mötley Crüe and special guests Poison & Joan Jett here: https://defleppard.comSubscribe to our channel fo...

Keita to liverpool NEXT year.
                                                                                    Liverpool apparently going to announce Thomas Lemar later.

We only deal with confirmed stories here m8. Come back with something solid

Keita is confirmed. Deal done and essentially loaning him back to Red Bull for the year.

Ox going is a fantastic piece of business.

1) We get £35m or whatever for a headless chicken squad player
                                                                                          2) He can't be selected by Wenger, so less chance he fucks up his team selection.

Turns down £180k a week at Arsenal. He's not worth half of that. Joker.

There's no way Liverpool are even close to signing Lemar. Probably just trolling Arsenal by inquiring in the first place. Will probably angle shoot the Gunners by rejecting his terms after the teams agree a fee, just so Arsenal don't have time to sign him

Speaking of scummy angleshoots. Not a fan of this one.

Twitch is the world's leading video platform and community for gamers.

Applied for a job a bit above what I'm currently doing in the off chance they would respond given the closeness in functions yet the scope being different. i.e. I'm in an operational improvement role now for a SaaS company yet the job was for product owner in an app development company.

Applied online - and got a reply about two days later asking me to do a case study. Its at this point I realised I was a little out of my depth yet persevered and answered honestly. Case study involved developing an app for a BeerFestival. I was product owner/project manager.

Got an interview request today - should be good banter if nothing else.

They gave me 48 hours to do the case study last week which was a little annoying and have requested some time over the "next couple days" for the interview. Swift GTFO as a) fuck you and b)Im in Arizona.

One time for the job though. It'd be pretty awesome given the scope of the work the company does.
                                                                                            Update on this for anyone interested. Strange oul goings on.

So the interview was scheduled (Video call) yet I never received the invite. I emailed and called the HR Person, lets call her "Mary" 4 times in the days before the interview confirming my details, my email, my hangout settings were correct etc and she never responded.

Day of interview comes and still no invite, I call again... no answer. Well! Thats me then.

Cue 10 mins after proposed start time she called me in a panic saying the interviewer is waiting on me and why didn't I show...

I tell her that I'd taken another meeting because nothing was confirmed and that she will need to reschedule now. Told her about the 4 emails and that I didn't get a response.
                                                                                            She called me back shortly with a new time, the next day at 10am. I agree.

Met the interviewer the next day, and it went very very well. She was good banter and we got on excellently. Signed off with her telling me Mary will be in touch to organise the next stage, an interview with the Director of Projects. K sweet.

No email.
                                                                                            I follow up two days later.
                                                                                            Response comes with request for me to give some times over next 5 days Im available.
                                                                                            I reply immediately.
                                                                                            No response.
                                                                                            I follow up (under cover that my availability had changed).
                                                                                            Comes back with "I sent an email to the interviewer for Thurs at 11am MST. - I'll let you know when she confirms"
                                                                                            I say "No worries, let me know"
                                                                                            No follow up from her as of yesterday at 11am, I send a mail asking about it.
                                                                                            No response.
                                                                                            Interview day 8am. I follow up - "Is this still on?"
                                                                                            Interview day 9:10am "Hi, yes she agreed, still on, sorry for not getting back to you sooner"

I log into video call at 10:55 to test my connection. Nothing.
                                                                                            Wait til 11:10am. Nothing.
                                                                                            11:15 am I call and leave a voicemail saying "Am in video call, no sign of interviewer, gonna give it 5min more and log out, let me know about the reschedule"

Its gas. I would be somewhat skeptical if a) I didn't get on so well with the technical interviewer the first time. and b) if they weren't a pretty reputable company.

The worst part is, there is another stage of interviews (with someone from the leadership team) after this interview... if it ever happens. I don't want to go through all this again

Mad Ted.

I do want the job though... or at least the leverage.

Update on this for anyone who cares!

Met the Director of Projects/Product. She pushed me onto next stage.

Nothing for a month and then an email saying the project was pulled by client.

2 months later I get a call from their Managing Director and he asks me to come in for an interview with him and two others from leadership team. Apologises for the mishaps, the HR person I was initially dealing with was fired. Apparently she as useless...

That was last week and just closed the negotiations for the job today, 47% pay rise!

Ship it.

excellent uplift

My Dad brought me to Def Leppard in the point in 92 - I loved it.
                                                                                                https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BO1Nae_EBvQ
                                                                                                Haha.. that's cool. I never took you for having a secret hard rock past!

I saw an ad for the 30th anniversary record re-issue of Hysteria in a magazine earlier this month which led me to Google the date of the gig.

Another quick Google says 12 million copies sold, seven hit singles, was partly recorded at Windmill Lane in Dublin by Robert 'Mutt' Lange who was the master of high gloss hard rock back then.

It cost a staggering $5 million to make and apparently is not available on digital streaming services cos, like me, the Leppard hate that shit.

I still have a soft spot for them of course but recall being more into Tesla - who were a little more fast and furious - on the night.

I saw Def Leppard play Belfast again the next April in the King's Hall and by then they had fully blown up in America and the rest is history.

Courtauld -40

Shepard is a smaller younger RDIII with glasses

How the fuck did anyone other than DeBock get through the audition

Worst teams evah

Solid handicapping!

Courtauld -40

Shepard is a smaller younger RDIII with glasses
                                                                                                        Em, compliment of sorts I am guessing\hoping.

Watching the last ep in last Chance u.

Ollie...."fuck Buddy Stevens"......guy needs his bell rang, coach that is. Horrible human. Hopefully someone lays him out before it over...lol

6 days to work and a whopping 10 days off. The most iv took since I started cause I need time out! Can't fucking wait!

Actually bought 5 days hols from sky too which is quite handy. Not sure how it works. But I do know iv 33 days hols now.

RTG will be fucking amazing.
                                                                                                              Official art video for “Close Your Eyes And Count To F*ck (feat. Zack De La Rocha)” from Run The Jewels 2. For info on RTJ music, merch, tour dates & more, p...

I saw El-P (and Murs) 16 years ago at All Tomorrow's Parties. Damn, he was good then. Just as Company Flow was splitting up i guess. He's still got that unique flow though.

All this talk is making me wanna go see a band.

Have Pet Shop Boys and Alice Cooper lined-up and a few smaller shows i need to get tickets for in the next week or two (Jane Weaver, Shellac, Andrew Weatherall).

I feel like such a neckbeard saying this but Game of thrones
                                                                                                                is fucking shit now.that whole littlefinger plot,ugh.
                                                                                                                We'll always have those first 3 seasons and the Mcgregor trouncing mayweather sized chance that Martin will stop enjoying his success and finish the series properly

Actually shit is a bit harsh ,they were given a fairly impossible task
                                                                                                                Last edited by Guest; 28-08-17, 21:38.

How the fuck did anyone other than DeBock get through the audition

Worst teams evah
                                                                                                                  Will we see people like Monk and Seagull in it this year or is it a one-shot thing?

There is an audition process so yeah...
                                                                                                                    By the quarter finals there is always someone who catches the imagination, usually because they are very smart and 3/4 of the way along the autistic spectrum or, god forbid, have breasts but sometimes just because they are very good.
                                                                                                                    DeBock tonight was good enough to be a star but you have to have a good with you team to get through.

How many buy-ins in PLO Zoom do I need before I can say that I'm shitting on everyone?
                                                                                                                        Low stakes bankroll building videos now on my Youtube channel
                                                                                                                        Also check out my live twitch streams

God Fucking Damnit! Over 1300BBs in the pot. Sick!

Low stakes bankroll building videos now on my Youtube channel
                                                                                                                          Also check out my live twitch streams