Carbon monoxide monitor starts beeping this evening and I see it says 97 as a reading. I paused briefly from chucking the kids out the window to a carbon-free safety to google the danger. 97 is indeed quite unsafe, but thank you to the anonymous person on Amazon who noted in response to a question as to why the alarm kept reading 97 - 'maybe you are reading it upside down and its actually 'lb' for 'low battery'. And so it was. Can't help feeling the alarm could find a better way of alerting its users to low battery... You'd be rather freaked out to be woken up the middle of the night to the warning of 'the silent killer' in your house.
    Pretty shocked to hear this.

That you own a carbon monoxide monitor. WTF?

Food blogger and social media consultant Niall Harbison was recruited by the HSE to address staff about his vision for healthcare in Ireland at a recent seminar

ha, I was in uni in the UK around the time when loads of students were dropping dead from carbon monoxide poisoning and the ads were very fcking hard-hitting. Even have a portable one to bring on holidays, such is the neurosis. Carbon monoxide and accidentally falling off a ferry are my two biggest - not letting these happen - fears. Well that and falling out of the balcony of a tall apartment, but guess everyone has that.
            Is there a portable alarm to ensure you don't fall off ferries also, or does it only go off on contact with water to make sure you realise that you have fallen off the ferry already and that you may want to do something about it?

Vonnegut is some man! Reluctantly read Slaughterhouse-5 (wow) and left a long break until someone recommended Cat's Cradle (fantastic), and just today got through Breakfast of Champions (lsb would be proud). I'd highly recommend any of those if you've heard the name loads but just never got around to him. Great mixture of almost sci-fi, dry humour, and bare storytelling.

Onwards and upwards to what is seemingly viewed as his best book: The Sirens of Titan.
              And so it goes

loved the Brits in the POW camp despairing of the yanks

Originally posted by Lplated View Post
                Absolute principle, in EU, that Nations have sovereignty over own tax affairs.
                Despite the reporting, what EU are actually doing is using 'State Aid' prohibitions to interfere with a tax matter - i.e. they are both 'observing' and abusing the absolute principle at the same time.

We should be appealing because - a) there is a finding that we engaged in a 'hidden deal' - the only evidence they have to support that are laws that applied not only to Apple but to any other Company, National or International who wished to avail of them - i.e. even if the EU were right on the point, there is no way they could hold it as a fact.

b) Letting the EU, or anyone else, interfere with our Sovereign powers directly, but using indirect means, is a a dangerous precedent, for Ireland, but also for any of the other EU States.
                The general agenda of the EU, as seen from Brussells (so more integration etc etc) would quite quickly be imposed unless they are held strictly to those limited matters over which we have voted to give them competence.

C) An appeal, even an unsuccessful one, will be of more general assistance to our reputation as a place for multinationals to invest - i.e. of those who would seek to come/stay in a European Country, they will still be able to view Ireland as a country who would stand up for them, even at our own cost, as against the behemoth that is Brussels.

I'd have thought the main reasons would be

D) Having a windfall of €13bn+ is going to create absolute havoc with Unions, opposition TDs and every other person looking for a slice of it.

Is there a portable alarm to ensure you don't fall off ferries also, or does it only go off on contact with water to make sure you realise that you have fallen off the ferry already and that you may want to do something about it?
                  just to add to the paranoia:

"Above 25°C the problem goes from cold to shark"

@hotspur:

Was stuck in Istanbul for a couple of days, and thought about Mustang (only film in turkish that i think i've seen (american express notwithstanding)), which led me to think of you and wondered if you'd watched it.
                    No I haven't, but just downloaded it there. Will watch it without any reading about it. But will be annoyed / titillated if it's Turkish camel porn...okay so midway through typing that sentence I stopped and thought "Wait, there aren't camels in Turkey are there?" Then I Googled that question. I advise doing the same. You will be surprised.

what the? how do they? what?

solid argument for not letting those bastards into the EU anyway

All these centurions on RTE are amazing.

ha, I was in uni in the UK around the time when loads of students were dropping dead from carbon monoxide poisoning and the ads were very fcking hard-hitting. Even have a portable one to bring on holidays, such is the neurosis. Carbon monoxide and accidentally falling off a ferry are my two biggest - not letting these happen - fears. Well that and falling out of the balcony of a tall apartment, but guess everyone has that.
                            Weirdly, every time I am on a high balcony/bridge looking down I almost get the urge to jump. Not in a suicidal way, but just in a "I want to fly" way.

Pretty depressing viewing imo.

I'm getting the absolute opposite from it.

That guy is a most odious knobhead.

Stuck it on. It's nothing to do with Rome.

Speaking of the elderly...there is a joke in my head along the lines of stinking of piss and the punch line is , The front row at Live at 3....whats got 60 feet and stinks of piss ?

That was a heartwarming show in fairness. Bessie from Drimnagh is awesome.

Surely those lads died from using gas camp stoves or similar in small unventilated rooms.
                                          They weren't attacked in their sleep by a flock of carbon monoxide. If you aren't having indoor barbecues you be fine.

So we're trying to talk hitch out of having a carbon monoxide alarm now?

David Luiz... I take it I flew into the past.

Spurs just spent £30m on Moussa Sissoko, so I'm assuming my tea was spiked with acid.

Newcastle made £70million on Wijnaldum, Sissoko and Townsend, a midfield that got them relegated last season. Worst part of it is you still can get great deals on foreign based players as Leicester and Southampton prove but there's certain teams who consistently opt for Premiership experience, even if it is a player with very suspect attitude.

What did you have?

What's a centurion?

Obviously not referring to this guy;

Sleeping with two ice blocks dreaming of Irish winter.

Jukin Media Verified (Original)* For licensing / permission to use: Contact - licensing(at)jukinmediadotcom

Yep - unventilated rooms is the main one. Maybe it's the idea that there's no warning, just feel a bit drowsy and then gonzo.
                                                              Heard of a family, here in sydney, that nearly died as they lit a charcoal BBQ type thing in he living room. The father was upstairs came down and couldn't figure why they were all alseep in the living room.

Start new job today. Literally have no idea what anyone is talking about.

Remember the MMA ice breaker we practiced, this is your chance.

Good article on the War on Cash. http://thelongandshort.org/society/war-on-cash

I go out of my way to pay by cash wherever possible,never gonna give up the "massive inconvenience of carrying a wallet" i'm sure there's some company out there that can read my soul based on my limited debit card use but can't be a total Luddite I guess.
                                                                    Apple pay,android pay etc can get fucked,although rollout in Ireland seems to be glacial as our banks want to figure out how they can get their cut.
                                                                    Cash is king

Quite the change of tune from a few weeks ago when you were talking about the scum in the Dublin accountancy firms!
                                                                      In fairness ,there's a difference between a company who creates a lot of employment employment (and associated taxes) dodging tax(and a lot of it outside our country) and scum Accountancy firms helping non employment creators siphon tax free loot out of the country using charitable vehicles.
                                                                      Pretty sure KPMG fix the lotto too

Gotta love starting a new job, "ha ha this is all great and I understand it all oh god what have I done"

In other news, brother got scholarship for his phd in Oxford, go on my son. That's essentially a swing of 50-100 grand or something, or a few beers after brexit. Was all ready to start without a penny and to go into huge debt so that's pretty great. He will fulfill my mothers dream of one of us doing a phd, even though she has no idea what they are. The amount of times she has suggested it to me is unreal, we're talking years here. I'm glad to have the heat off my back.

In other other news went out with a girl last night so fairly drunk in work, it was great but she's deadly allergic to all animals, even koalas, I did ask. This can not end well since I am a crazy cat lady.

Looks very statemanlike

You forgot the

In other other news went out with a girl last night so fairly drunk in work, it was great but she's deadly allergic to all animals, even koalas, I did ask. This can not end well since I am a crazy cat lady.

Good article on the War on Cash. http://thelongandshort.org/society/war-on-cash

I go out of my way to pay by cash wherever possible,never gonna give up the "massive inconvenience of carrying a wallet" i'm sure there's some company out there that can read my soul based on my limited debit card use but can't be a total Luddite I guess.
                                                                                  Apple pay,android pay etc can get fucked,although rollout in Ireland seems to be glacial as our banks want to figure out how they can get their cut.
                                                                                  Cash is king
                                                                                  The tin foil hattery is big in that one.

Well enough written and insightful in one narrow sense in that it understands the role that the payment networks play but he is so hung up on libertarian paranoia that he misses some crucial points.
                                                                                  The real driving force is the cost of cash, it is hugely expensive and the less we use the more expensive it becomes but he misses completely the genuine danger of overcharging we face in allowing proprietary payment systems a monopoly. He writes then about big data and how it will be used against us without any reference to either the reality of data protection laws or the possibility that algorithms parsing our data might even in some small ways actually be a good thing.
                                                                                  However what makes the whole thing come across as an utter piece of drivel is that despite his whole focus being on privacy and anonymity of cash he doesn't seem to understand that blockchain technologies like for instance bitcoin exist.

New company or not?

What's a centurion?

Obviously not referring to this guy;
                                                                                      Centenarians.
                                                                                      There was a programme on last night called Older than Ireland an hour of of interviews with people aged 100 and over. RTE player link

In IKEA. Divorce looming.

To celebrate, ill cook a ham.

Well, ill smoke a pork neck fillet, same animal.

Well it's September, summer gone, and a time for new beginnings in work and relationships with koala racists. It also means the month of the Fringe Festival and the start of the Dublin Theatre Festival. For anyone who may be interested these are the shows I am looking at going to in each.

Fringe:

Main:

I go out of my way to pay by cash wherever possible,
                                                                                              Out of curiosity, Why?
                                                                                              I carry cash most of the time. But I'll usually to opt my card, ironically so I can hold on the the cash.
                                                                                              Tap and Go is especially handy.

What's the story with koalas? Getting a lot of coverage in the BBV lately.
                                                                                                Did one escape from Dublin zoo and go on a rampage or something?

Weirdly, every time I am on a high balcony/bridge looking down I almost get the urge to jump. Not in a suicidal way, but just in a "I want to fly" way.
                                                                                                    L’appel du vide It's a well know thing, I have it myself. Translates literally as “call of the void” .

"Kierkegaard uses the example of a man standing on the edge of a tall building or cliff. When the man looks over the edge, he experiences a focused fear of falling, but at the same time, the man feels a terrifying impulse to throw himself intentionally off the edge. That experience is anxiety or dread because of our complete freedom to choose to either throw oneself off or to stay put. The mere fact that one has the possibility and freedom to do something, even the most terrifying of possibilities, triggers immense feelings of dread. Kierkegaard called this our "dizziness of freedom."
                                                                                                    US scientists have put the less cool sounding name of high place phenomenon on it.

What's the story with koalas? Getting a lot of coverage in the BBV lately.
                                                                                                      Did one escape from Dublin zoo and go on a rampage or something?
                                                                                                      Ireland is trying to steel itself for the invasion of drop bears

A bit of advice on the morning smoothie - is it decent, something missing, something that should be got rid of?

Have been making:
                                                                                                        Replace the fruit cocktail with frozen fruit. Not sure if the goal is eating healthy but nutella shouldn't be there if it is.

Ireland is trying to steel itself for the invasion of drop bears
                                                                                                          Contrary to their appearance, drop bears and Koalas aren't related.
                                                                                                          In fact Koala's aren't even bears.

This public service announcement was brought to you by the letter K

L’appel du vide It's a well know thing, I have it myself. Translates literally as “call of the void” .

US scientists have put the less cool sounding name of high place phenomenon on it.
                                                                                                              Cool. It's probably similar to my desire to wear a wing suit and fly from a cliff, while knowing that I will never be insane enough to actually do that.

Making it in the office, so frozen fruit isn't an option unfortunately. Yep healthy eating with energy to get through the morning.
                                                                                                                too much sugar

drop the nutella + fruit salad
                                                                                                                replace the peanuts with Brazil nuts (i would have said almonds but you already have almond milk)
                                                                                                                replace the nutella with greek yogurt if it needs thickening.

smoothies as a general rule of thumb are shite anyway and not healthy

scrambled eggs and bacon in a lunchbox = win. will give you energy and because it wont spike your insulin you wont get hungry as quickly

^^^^^

that actually got me thinking. when I become devoid of any remaining morals I need to come up with some sort of "magic" diet plan I can stick my name to. criteria;

1. needs to have rapid results
                                                                                                                  2. can only be sustainable for a short amount of time - facilitating the "it really works if you can stick with it.
                                                                                                                  3. Needs some pseudoscience behind it
                                                                                                                  4. a celeb to endorse it

will report on feeling of rubbing crisp fiddys on titties

smoothies as a general rule of thumb are shite anyway and not healthy
                                                                                                                    Isn't that a bit of a generalisation. So much so as to be a bit useless as a rule.
                                                                                                                    Some are perfectly healthy. Others are clearly not. Purely down to the ingredients. Blending makes no real difference.

A big scoop of Nutella is probably not a good start though.

I think the whole peanut thing is exaggerated at time. Might not be as good at almonds, but that doesn't make them bad imo.
                                                                                                                    Strict paleo peeps freak out at the thought of peanuts though.

Nutella is officially -

Segolene royale. ex wife of Hollande and former head of the PS tried to have it banned in France for its use of palm oil

Isn't that a bit of a generalisation. So much so as to be a bit useless as a rule.
                                                                                                                          Some are perfectly healthy. Others are clearly not. Purely down to the ingredients. Blending makes no real difference.

A big scoop of Nutella is probably not a good start though.

I think the whole peanut thing is exaggerated at time. Might not be as good at almonds, but that doesn't make them bad imo.
                                                                                                                          Strict paleo peeps freak out at the thought of peanuts though.
                                                                                                                          something something fibers already broken down something something more sugars something something?