Can't beat a proper croissant and coffee for breakfast. Bacon and eggs a close second

TBH I don't want Mayo to win.
      At this stage I'd cheer on Dublin in a final against them. Their tears are so sweet

I must be the only old-school eejit enjoying a bowl of cereal each and every morning - god I love that stuff! I would always have at least four or five different types of cereal in our cupboard, as I like to mix and match. For breakfast, I'd usually go for a Shredded Wheat, with a sprinkling of Special K (Aldi knockoff of the older, nicer recipe) on top, tastes amazing with ice-cold semi-skimmed milk. If I ever eat after 9pm (maybe half the time, the other half we've eaten our dinner late enough so that would be it before bed), it would also be a bowl of cereal, maybe a Weetabix covered by Rice Crispies or similar.

I'm well aware that all of these, apart from the Shredded Wheat, are probably swimming in added sugar and salt! But they taste so, so, so good. It's the habit of a lifetime so I can't see my love for cereal ever dying down.

Small town Irish competitive fishing seems great craic though. Definite echos of:

No word of a lie, the cow equivalent of this was on the six one news yesterday near the end. It was a bit surreal.

If I ever eat after 9pm (maybe half the time, the other half we've eaten our dinner late enough so that would be it before bed), it would also be a bowl of cereal, maybe a Weetabix covered by Rice Crispies or similar
              I am with you there. Cereal for supper has been a thing for me since I was a child. Only have it once or twice a week now but I can't see the pleasure ever being lost. Weetabix, corn flakes & bran flakes is my usual mix!

Anyone else annoyed by this happy clappy lets be friends bullshit every year, its against the very ethos of sporting rivalry.
                And its completely wrong also, I'd say Keane would go all Goodfellas Pesci on you given the chance and if I know Careca at all (which I don't) I'd reckon he takes defeat very badly and would like to crack a few Dublin skulls.
                2011 still keeps me awake at night.

Old age mellows a man though. There were times when I wouldn't set foot outside the door for a week if the dubs beat Kerry (didn't happen that often in fairness ) and likewise if Liverpool lost to Utd. Now I just say "fuck it", I'll have a few pints.

I am a bad loser though. I record every Kerry game and will watch it 2 or 3 times if they win. If they lose I delete the thing as soon as I get home

/insert Kevin Keegan 'love it' clip for Sunday/

Whats the deal with betfair sportsbook?

I always see it represented on oddschecker as a separate bookie (with different prices).

But it only occurred to me that I've no idea where those prices are

Whats the deal with betfair sportsbook?

I always see it represented on oddschecker as a separate bookie (with different prices).

But it only occurred to me that I've no idea where those prices are
                    It's just a normal bookies so the prices will be close to what you get from PP/b365 etc.

And the exchange prices are the exchange prices.

They seem pretty quick to restrict betting on the SB side - i'm the dictionary definition of a mug punter and they set my betting limits really low and push me to bet on the exchange instead

It's just a normal bookies so the prices will be close to what you get from PP/b365 etc.

And the exchange prices are the exchange prices.

They seem pretty quick to restrict betting on the SB side - i'm the dictionary definition of a mug punter and they set my betting limits really low and push me to bet on the exchange instead
                      I figured that it was regular bookie from how it's grouped on betfair. And seen that the prices are usually worse that the exchange so I've never looked further.
                      But just not I wanted to use it and realized I've no idea where it is.
                      How do I place a bet there, or access those prices?

I figured that it was regular bookie from how it's grouped on betfair. And seen that the prices are usually worse that the exchange so I've never looked further.
                        But just not I wanted to use it and realized I've no idea where it is.
                        How do I place a bet there, or access those prices?
                        Just click on Sportsbook in the menu and its like a different site.
                        I assume they will merge it or run it as a skin of PP at some stage.

Chinese lad I work with is trying to plan about schools for his kid. There is a good NS right in his neighbourhood who run an enrolment policy that leaves them on the bottom of the list behind all Catholics and it sounds like they have a severe pressure on numbers, if there is they will have to go elsewhere.
                          Tempted to tell him to forge a baptismal cert from a chinese church or even go and get the child baptised but it would be good to know just how many people the school are turning away. Anyone know if there is a way of finding that out?

Chinese lad I work with is trying to plan about schools for his kid. There is a good NS right in his neighbourhood who run an enrolment policy that leaves them on the bottom of the list behind all Catholics and it sounds like they have a severe pressure on numbers, if there is they will have to go elsewhere.
                            Tempted to tell him to forge a baptismal cert from a chinese church or even go and get the child baptised but it would be good to know just how many people the school are turning away. Anyone know if there is a way of finding that out?
                            you'd have to FOI it from the DoE, but that would depend on if they actually collect those statistics. You could always write to the school directly and ask for them.

Just click on Sportsbook in the menu and its like a different site.
                              I assume they will merge it or run it as a skin of PP at some stage.
                              Maybe this is a geolocking thing. but I've never seen Sportsbook as an option. To be fair, that would have been the first thing I checked.

Sometimes on betfair, it flips between a blue colour scheme, and a yellow and black one. Depending on whether or not it redirects to .com.au. I've never seen sportsbook option in either though

Solicitors contacted in case of some defamation claim from the accused. We have been advised that we are OK as we sent them a letter and offered them an option to appeal in writing and that they then have to then prove they are 'not guilty' but we can adhere to our club constitution where discplinary action can be taken if foul play is 'suspected'.

At Pokerhand's request for more stories of skullduggery....

PPL have been known to freeze fish and thaw them for competition days. One giveaway for this is that when fish is hung upsidedown it 'bleeds' from arse as fluids inside thaws slower and leaks out!

Recently a milk carton was seen floating on Lough Erne and person went to lift it a large live trout was attached

Well known chancer guy fished a border lough for salmon and only allowed to keep 2 fish during season. He was going out at dawn for couple hrs and leaving with salmon and selling them to a restaurant. All ended when he was met on Lough by another boat with a couple of 'gentlemen' who advised him he had reached his limit and didnt need to return again...............

As long as there is money to be had you will get cheats I suppose.

Will say no more as I dont want to carp on about eely bad people and hake talking about them.

What do they achieve by pretending they caught the fish on a different day?

Was looking at this French school in Dublin as very possible we'll have to move back to Dublin in maybe two years due to the wife's work and the innanity of tax in France after you pass over about €100k family income (we're not there yet, but should be when the wife's work takes off). Nice to see the school is run along proper French lines with childcare available in the school until half six in the evening, and absolutely oblivious to the fact that religion exists based on the application form.

Think that should fully break the link with religion in the family chain, as we just won't tell the elder one she was baptised, and the younger one will obviously not set foot in a church absent the unfortunate demise of the elder generation.
                                        Why a French school hitch?

Anyone else annoyed by this happy clappy lets be friends bullshit every year, its against the very ethos of sporting rivalry.
                                          And its completely wrong also, I'd say Keane would go all Goodfellas Pesci on you given the chance and if I know Careca at all (which I don't) I'd reckon he takes defeat very badly and would like to crack a few Dublin skulls.
                                          Your description is accurate. My best mate (who I believe I have now been living with for as many years as I lived with either of my parents) occasionally talks about setting up a camera to record my fury of one hundred thousand suns rants about things like radio djs and the abstract notion of Western democracy when I'm hungover.

With Kayroo on Kerry-Dublin I'm ambivalent. On the one hand Dublin fans elsewhere on the Internet come across as extremely unreasonable, hair trigger defensive and bitter despite once in a generation success. Kayroo is obviously sound by comparison and always goes for the Kerryman weak point - telling us we're great. It's about as pleasent a way to be told we're second best as I've come across.

On the other hand fuck him and the dirty rotten navy rock he crawled out from under. Obviously that goes for the rest of ye as well. Except Vinnie Murphy, he's one of our own.

Having said that I'll obv be cheering for the Dubs in the final because the Mayo thing is the gift that keeps on giving.

Just to soften that a small bit, I still prefer all of ye to anyone from Stacks. Even Zod.

I'll actually be in the desert somewhere when the Semi-final is on. Unless the jeeps have wifi I probably won't even be able to get a text about it until after it's finished. I'll probably be glad after.

We've continued our good run from South Africa by getting a decent upgrade in the first hotel over here. I can do a bit of a trip report if anyone is interested as it's too hot for outside for parts of the day? I know I probably won't bother after I get home.

Having said that I'll obv be cheering for the Dubs in the final because the Mayo thing is the gift that keeps on giving.

Up north visiting JamieCarra for a few days. Survived a stroll around Belfast on my own yesterday. Went to giants causeway and some GoT spots today. Red hot chilli peppers tonight. Pretty good trip up here so far. Currently in bushmills distillery. Now where's those free samples....

Just bought two dota mugs at 35 a pop, what am I doing.

I imagine thiey catch a whopper fish before competition day and use it to win said competitiion.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 25-08-16, 13:41.

cool video posted by McGoat on his facebook

Just to soften that a small bit, I still prefer all of ye to anyone from Stacks. Even Zod.
                                                          you misspelt "especially"

One + 3 review:

seriously excellent piece of gear. Do not hesitate if you are considering getting one.

example;

One of biggest yearly competitions has a £10 entry with heaviest Brown Trout winning £300 and other prizes.
                                                              Fishing is on Sunday between 10am and 6pm and fish are tagged and hung on a trestle and weighed.
                                                              It is thought/suspected that some ppl will fish days before as well as competition day and if they get a large fish keep it alive and present it as caught on competition day hoping to win decent cash.

but seriously, hearing the bleating about "the curse" is even better than the end of January crash and burn of of the hopes of the Arsenal fan.

Just bought two dota mugs at 35 a pop, what am I doing.

I imagine thiey catch a whopper fish before competition day and use it to win said competitiion.
                                                                  But what does the winner of fishing competition get?
                                                                  He already has a big fish. Surely there's more than offer than bragging right?

cool video posted by McGoat on his facebook
                                                                    https://www.facebook.com/thenotoriou...3888989012730/

I knew it was a savage brutal game but I didn't know you are allowed knee lads in the face and use elbows to the head.
                                                                    Thats horrible to look at; yiz are all sick fucks if that's what turns ye on.

It's national Burger Day

I knew it was a savage brutal game but I didn't know you are allowed knee lads in the face and use elbows to the head.
                                                                        You took and active and profitable part in a sport that whips, drugs, injures and kills horses for pleasure/money.

Swings and roundabouts innit

but seriously, hearing the bleating about "the curse" is even better than the end of January crash and burn of of the hopes of the Arsenal fan.
                                                                          They really do do that curse thing... I've already heard it twice in the last week.

the was more about Keanes implicit 'Ah shure we've no hope, its hardly worth turning up on Sunday' shtik

You took and active and profitable part in a sport that whips, drugs, injures and kills horses for pleasure/money.

No comparison at all, pisspoor effort by your standards.

example;

One of biggest yearly competitions has a £10 entry with heaviest Brown Trout winning £300 and other prizes.
                                                                              Fishing is on Sunday between 10am and 6pm and fish are tagged and hung on a trestle and weighed.
                                                                              It is thought/suspected that some ppl will fish days before as well as competition day and if they get a large fish keep it alive and present it as caught on competition day hoping to win decent cash.
                                                                              That explains it a bit more.
                                                                              It sounds doomed from the start tbh. If I'm gonna have a bet with some bollox over who can catch the biggest fish. I'd want something more solid than stick it on the table next Sunday.
                                                                              If you can't trust the lads you play with, the game's fucked imo

It's national Burger Day
                                                                                When are 5Guys opening here?
                                                                                Am thinking of going to London next week, not all that keen to go but a trip to them could seal the deal.

No comparison at all, pisspoor effort by your standards.
                                                                                  You are right there. No comparison at all. A fighter gets in there of his own free will.
                                                                                  The horse however...

They should use different colour fish for the big tournaments than they use for the daily fishing, otherwise you are just inviting people to put a few in their pocket and bring them to the big game.

So what you're saying is: The results of the competition are somewhat.........fishy?

Indeed and saying that a guy who would do this is a real piece of carp

They really do do that curse thing... I've already heard it twice in the last week.

the was more about Keanes implicit 'Ah shure we've no hope, its hardly worth turning up on Sunday' shtik
                                                                                            I'm on a phone - the 'if' is implicit you redneck

Up north visiting JamieCarra for a few days. Survived a stroll around Belfast on my own yesterday. Went to giants causeway and some GoT spots today. Red hot chilli peppers tonight. Pretty good trip up here so far. Currently in bushmills distillery. Now where's those free samples....
                                                                                              Dobby with a balanced diet of black bush and a 10 yr bushmills.

Going to take him for a stroll down the Shankill in the morning. #prayfordobby

I can't have a wank anymore without watching someone bleed from the head.

What, after the troubles?

But what does the winner of fishing competition get?
                                                                                                    He already has a big fish. Surely there's more than offer than bragging right?
                                                                                                    Come now, if something can be monetized it will.
                                                                                                    They should use different colour fish for the big tournaments than they use for the daily fishing, otherwise you are just inviting people to put a few in their pocket and bring them to the big game.
                                                                                                    Lmao. Maybe they could release one fish and whoever catches it wins.

Solicitors contacted in case of some defamation claim from the accused. We have been advised that we are OK as we sent them a letter and offered them an option to appeal in writing and that they then have to then prove they are 'not guilty' but we can adhere to our club constitution where discplinary action can be taken if foul play is 'suspected'.

At Pokerhand's request for more stories of skullduggery....

PPL have been known to freeze fish and thaw them for competition days. One giveaway for this is that when fish is hung upsidedown it 'bleeds' from arse as fluids inside thaws slower and leaks out!

Recently a milk carton was seen floating on Lough Erne and person went to lift it a large live trout was attached

Well known chancer guy fished a border lough for salmon and only allowed to keep 2 fish during season. He was going out at dawn for couple hrs and leaving with salmon and selling them to a restaurant. All ended when he was met on Lough by another boat with a couple of 'gentlemen' who advised him he had reached his limit and didnt need to return again...............

As long as there is money to be had you will get cheats I suppose.

Will say no more as I dont want to carp on about eely bad people and hake talking about them.
                                                                                                      a letter in the post is not nearly as epic as I would hope.

Bring them into the hall for the exile, break their rods, straighten their hooks and ban them from all bait shops or fishmongers before sounding a gong and excommunicating them from the club.

Not nearly dramatic enough for my liking.

Lmao. Maybe they could release one fish and whoever catches it wins.
                                                                                                        only fair way to do it

Pffft

Where did you go for the GoT spots? Apart from the tour I did I went to the Carrick a rede rope bridge. Belfast is a lovely place. I stayed at Cathedral quarter after I did the GoT tour.

Dobby does Down

I'm on a phone - the 'if' is implicit you redneck

We all know the true worth of the Kerrymans negativity about a Semi Final.

Where did you go for the GoT spots? Apart from the tour I did I went to the Carrick a rede rope bridge. Belfast is a lovely place. I stayed at Cathedral quarter after I did the GoT tour.
                                                                                                                  Kings road and the rope bridge. They're both close to the giants causeway so they were the handiest.

What, after the troubles?
                                                                                                                  It was touch and go for a while m8. Had to cross the street when I was walking past The Europa Hotel but I made it safely.

Southampton keep on smashing it in the transfer market, offloaded Mane for silly money and signed one of the best young talents in Europe for almost half the fee, who they'll presumably sell for triple that price to United or Liverpool next season.

It's national Burger Day
                                                                                                                      That looks disgusting. Does nothing for me!

Could have been a lot worse for the Premier League teams

Group A: PSG, Arsenal, Basel, Ludogorets Razgrad.

Group B: Benfica, Napoli, Dynamo Kiev, Besiktas.

Group C: Barcelona, Manchester City, Borussia Monchengladbach, Celtic.

Group D: Bayern Munich, Atletico Madrid, PSV Eindhoven, FC Rostov.

Group E: CSKA Moscow, Bayer Leverkusen, Tottenham Hotspur, Monaco.

Group F: Real Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Sporting Lisbon, Legia Warsaw.

Group G:Leicester City, Porto, Club Brugge, FC Copenhagen.

Group H: Juventus, Sevilla, Lyon, Dinamo Zagreb.

Group G:Leicester City, Porto, Club Brugge, FC Copenhagen.
                                                                                                                          As much as we all enjoyed the fairytale of Leicester winning the league, this is not the group that a part of us may have wished for such as a Messi inspired Barcelona for a Pat Hickeyesque "putting back in their box".