Brilliant win. Chasing down 300+ always a great achievement. 3 brilliant batting performances, 2 great bowling performances and all round great team Fielding performance. Definitely worth staying up for. Now for an hour or so kip before work..

Well done Ireland yet again.

wonderful wonderful wonderful

bedtime

happy

That was a proper professional performance

Best win thus far!

Poor auld Dukie and SP

Then again, ive had a hard weekend in work, was falling asleep, checked on here, saw the score and here we are

Have to get on a train to work in two hours

I've always been a big Irish cricket fan, me.

TMS FTW
              was drifting in and out of sleep all night.
              Jon Kenny was top class on it.

Great stuff altogether

So how does the cricket now work? If we beat UAE, who are presumably the football-Leichenstein of the cricketing world, then we make the next stages?

Is it known who we would likely face in the QF?
                We have to beat uae and Zimbabwe at least.

You'd have to be unlucky to win three games and not progress.

Great win. And to think those fucks didn't want us involved.

Fell asleep in the 42nd over of the Windies innings, fantastic result. Next game against the UAE is on a Wednesday morning at 3.30am Irish time from what I can see.

The ICC should get down on their knees and give us a collective blow job for deigning to get involved in their tournament. Time after time we provide the Big Story in the interminably boring group stages. Everyone's favourite second team.

Sorry I went to bed now but never in doubt. Thanks for seeing us home Sitch, el S, Kev, sickpuppy. Marvellous knocks all round.

They'll most likely get their way next time round with the tournament dropping to 10 teams. Ian Bishop went on a few brilliant anti ICC and anti ECB rants during commentary last night. Giving out bout ECB robbing Irish players but then not playing them(Rankin), about the next tournament being reduced in team numbers and about how few ODIs Ireland have gotten from full members since the last world cup in 2011

Now we'll see what Raoul's captaincy legacy is made of
                          Not bad. He was a little bollix to captain though. About four foot nothing, 14 years old and perennially calling the opposition cunts. Threw his bat through the dressing room window in a tantrum once.

"Where will that attitude get you?" I asked. Now we know.

Not bad. He was a little bollix to captain though. About four foot nothing, 14 years old and perennially calling the opposition cunts. Threw his bat through the dressing room window in a tantrum once.

I blame you for the farcical run out tbh, and credit you with none of the good stuff

ESPN tells it like it is

Originally posted by ESPN
                              There was immense joy as Ireland's discipline and nous stood in a two-finger salute to the administrators' plans to keep them and other smaller cricket teams out of the World Cup.

You can kind of see the ICCs problem though, its like a 1/10 shot that Group A will see Australia, NZ, England and Sri Lanka qualify with the 21 games in the group being purely about who qualifies 1,2,3,4 which is relatively meaningless anyway.
                                    They've been around the houses on trying to come up with formats that give a give a competitive group stage, and also guarantee enough TierA v TierA games to satisfy TV/sponsors.

It's not the only sport that has a few outstanding teams that dominate though. Like its a 1/10 shot that just four of the premiership football teams will contest the top slots. Footballs attitude though seems to be about inclusiveness.
                                          No

Threw a cricket bat at his head? Whiplash 2?

was Better Call Saul on last night?

How long does the cricket world cup drag on for? Will have to temporarily put a few posters on ignore to enjoy reading the bbv

Its a sprint - just the 42 group games, then 7 knockouts, all over before you know it on the 29th March.

Have looked into Malta as per previous comments in the BBV. So for the lads there, can somone PM me a couple of recruiters on Linkedin in the Finance industry. I can search their conenctions for more specific areas then.

Tuesday is Netflix day for it anyway. Check Shush.se, usually gets uploaded shortly after. Some reason i think its Monday in the US doh.

Tonight in the US

Amazing stuff in the cricket. I'm rather worried I chose the wrong game. Only 2 of our games held in New Zealand with the rest in Australia.
                                                            On plus side just purchased my ticket for other game in Kiwiland against India. Looking at stadium it's similar to one we played today with a grassy bank where I sit where I want. A few beers and the cricket. Sweet.

with this sort of drive you will have yourself a job in jig time.
                                                              Haa it's a down the line event. From browsing the main jobsites, have a few questions for someone in recruitment.

The ICC should get down on their knees and give us a collective blow job for deigning to get involved in their tournament. Time after time we provide the Big Story in the interminably boring group stages. Everyone's favourite second team.

Sorry I went to bed now but never in doubt. Thanks for seeing us home Sitch, el S, Kev, sickpuppy. Marvellous knocks all round.
                                                                Finally passed out with 13 overs left was in the bag though.
                                                                Won 22 euroin the fitz got 6 hours of value
                                                                Shocked nearly got a sports prediction right Sterling nearly hit a 100.
                                                                Bandwagons are good for games more bums on seats more interest more revenue for cricket ireland.

I'm paid to watch these things, don't think I can take as much credit as the lunatics stalworths that were up in an hour for work.

is there a bandwagon to jump on?

You can kind of see the ICCs problem though, its like a 1/10 shot that Group A will see Australia, NZ, England and Sri Lanka qualify with the 21 games in the group being purely about who qualifies 1,2,3,4 which is relatively meaningless anyway.
                                                                      They've been around the houses on trying to come up with formats that give a give a competitive group stage, and also guarantee enough TierA v TierA games to satisfy TV/sponsors.
                                                                      Well in fairness if they didn't continually rig the format to make sure India get thru the groups they wouldn't have that problem

I'm paid to watch these things, don't think I can take as much credit as the lunatics stalworths that were up in an hour for work.
                                                                        Can of monster for breakfast, shaking like a crack whore on the train, don't think any of the girls on that carriage will be the future Mrs Elshambles

They'll most likely get their way next time round with the tournament dropping to 10 teams. Ian Bishop went on a few brilliant anti ICC and anti ECB rants during commentary last night. Giving out bout ECB robbing Irish players but then not playing them(Rankin), about the next tournament being reduced in team numbers and about how few ODIs Ireland have gotten from full members since the last world cup in 2011
                                                                          Surely at this point we have established ourselves as best non test playing team and probably better or least on par with Zimbabwe and Kenya. A lot could change in 4 years but still be hopeful we can get to final 10.

Well in fairness if they didn't continually rig the format to make sure India get thru the groups they wouldn't have that problem
                                                                            2007 burned them so badly with Bangladesh knocking out India and us knocking out Pakistan on the same day

Originally posted by cooker3 View Post
                                                                              Surely at this point we have established ourselves as best non test playing team and probably better or least on par with Zimbabwe and Kenya. A lot could change in 4 years but still be hopeful we can get to final 10.
                                                                              Kenya are barely top 20 now. A warning of how it can all go wrong in fact.

Problem with the new qualification is the top 8 ranked sides qualify automatically, we could be one of these but we don't get enough ODIs so its practically impossible. It'll be off to a tournament in Bangladesh with most likely Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and the top associate teams playing off for 2 places, Bangladesh likely to get one by virtue of being at home, that leaves one huge scramble for t'other

Surely the Rugby World Cup is the prime example of an inclusive tournament with twenty teams in which at a stretch only six teams ever really have a chance of winning it. Seems to work.

Originally posted by Mickey Rosa View Post
                                                                                    Surely the Rugby World Cup is the prime example of an inclusive tournament with twenty teams in which at a stretch only six teams ever really have a chance of winning it. Seems to work.
                                                                                    Two top nations like Ireland and NZ have played once in 8 competitions, and presumably there are other such top combos who've met rarely.
                                                                                    Cricket rightly or wrongly has decided not to accept that.

Could also point out that the Fijis and Romanias are accepted into the RWC which is great but then get hit with horrible 2 games in 4 days blocks, whilst the tier 1 boys get nice Saturday/Sunday/Sunday/Friday rotations. So it's not perfectly fair either but at least making more effort than the cricket people.

Haven't they ended the unfair fixture congestion for the up-coming World Cup?

Originally posted by cooker3 View Post
                                                                                        Haven't they ended the unfair fixture congestion for the up-coming World Cup?
                                                                                        They've improved it but there are still some notable losers, and then winners like us with 4 weekend games.

Losers would include - Fiji play England then Aus with a 4 day gap.
                                                                                        USA play SA then Japan with a 3 day gap.
                                                                                        Romania play France then Ireland with a 3 day gap.

edit: to be fair a handful of the Tier1 teams (e.g., Australia) also face 3 day gaps. But most get it good like us.
                                                                                        Last edited by ArmaniJeans; 16-02-15, 14:41.

You'd give the Danish PM a go...

She's the Danish Mila Kunis.

She's no polish presidential candidate

Kenya are barely top 20 now. A warning of how it can all go wrong in fact.

Problem with the new qualification is the top 8 ranked sides qualify automatically, we could be one of these but we don't get enough ODIs so its practically impossible. It'll be off to a tournament in Bangladesh with most likely Bangladesh, Zimbabwe and the top associate teams playing off for 2 places, Bangladesh likely to get one by virtue of being at home, that leaves one huge scramble for t'other
                                                                                            Until we start getting big attendances at our home ground, we'll always be a third tier team. That is basically never going to happen in our lifetime.

Unsure if its come up here before but Friday Night Tykes is a great watch. Season 2 in progress at the moment. Youth football in Texas intense stuff.

Clearly a potato-based diet offers some genetic advantages
                                                                                                  is Ireland the exception that confirms the rule?

RYANAIR FR1977 / Riga-Dublin 10.02.2015Drunken passenger accident.Emergency landing in Denmark.

Does anyone know the name of the site where you can get hotel rooms 'blind' at a cheaper rate if it's still around? It just gives you certain info eg. 4 star 10 minutes from city centre. Coming up empty on google.

Originally posted by NiceandcoolTrig View Post
                                                                                                          Does anyone know the name of the site where you can get hotel rooms 'blind' at a cheaper rate if it's still around? It just gives you certain info eg. 4 star 10 minutes from city centre. Coming up empty on google.
                                                                                                          Think that was a lastminute thing

Originally posted by NiceandcoolTrig View Post
                                                                                                            Secret hotels on lastminute.com?

I've found some great deals recently on Skyscanner Hotels.

Cheers folks. Since discovered Hotwire was the original apparently, will have a look at last minute and sky scanner too.

What if telekinesis was real? How would you react? Our hidden camera experiment captures the reactions of unsuspecting customers at a New York City coffee sh...

Clearly a potato-based diet offers some genetic advantages
                                                                                                                    At this stage I consist of mostly potatoes and have the rugged jawline to prove it. Seems legit. We stopped having poitin and they started having more vodka, only difference in our looks now. Dammit.

I think I'll replace my xperia z with a moto g second gen, any experience?

Oh ffs. http://www.the42.ie/david-bentley-cr...42043-Feb2015/
                                                                                                                        Apparently this is an experiment to "see if gaa games are the toughest in the world"
                                                                                                                        I guess it might help Cross replace players who "went abroad" recently
                                                                                                                        Last edited by Guest; 16-02-15, 16:57.

Businessman who put away bonds was told by bank that accounts were closed
                                                                                                                          Dublin businessman awarding €17,400 and his legal costs

It strikes me that Danske had absolutely nothing to argue and were just using the courts as a bluff to try and steal the money from their customer who had the balls and the cards to call with.
                                                                                                                          Shame on the legal geniuses that allowed them get that into a court.