CHD should prepare himself, because RVP might well be taken off soon enough given how ineffective he has been. One of many EPL players too fatigued at this stage.
    Jaysus LVG, what a move.
    Can't wait for next season.

He shouldn't have been starting that keeper imo.

TBF to him the Dutch are pretty bad as top teams go so he has done well to get them to the last 4 but they have had a ridic good draw.

Mexico are shite and they robbed them. They scraped past Costa Rica on penos. Costa Rica. Australia were unlucky against them and they beat a good Chile who knew they were already through. They beat Spain who everyone eventually saw were crap in the second 45 minutes.

Holland aren't anything special and LVG will be proven as nothing special in the PL next year

Happy he is in charge of United tbh.

UFC should be class tonight.

best picture on daft so far

Looking at gafs in Dublin last month I wondered why this double room in the city centre was only €40/week. Then spotted the end of the description. Something like "must share bed with an Indian man(not gay)". As appealing as it was I moved on to the next gaf.

UFC should be class tonight.
          What time? Have ya got a link? I need things.

Originally posted by 72over View Post
            What time? Have ya got a link? I need things.
            Prelims on atm.

Faber up now on the prelims so tbh the card starts now.

Couldn't help it. Stuck €20 on this Alex afro kid at 5/1. He's just too funky.

Insert burning money gif here

...would anyone know exactly what time the tennis will Start at...

...2pm...

chasing 100pts on stars for $50 VIP thingy playing Limit $3/$6 Omaha H/L ..almost cost me $100 but managed to make $40 getting there

poker / degen / gambling = fun

now bed and .............wait maybe casino time

If there was a GOD and he loved me he would cause a powercut

That subbing keeper lark is a patented Sligo Rovers FAI Cup final move btw

2nd keeper Ciaran Kelly plays whole game against Shams did this:

Following seasons FAI Cup Final against Shelbourne
                        2nd keeper Ciaran Kelly is brought on with minutes left in injury time and does this:

Penalty shoot-out between Sligo Rovers and Shelbourne in the FAI Cup Final in Lansdowne Road 2011. Sligo win 4-1
                        Last edited by Guest; 06-07-14, 03:11.

that was some KO

Time to start fighting the men.

16 seconds. Lamb to the slaughter. I'm going to stop backing the underdog

Shame that round ended when it did. Very cagey match up until the last 30secs there.

Jesus that turned into a class fight!

Yeah, class last two rounds. Kind of saved the card. Seemed jinxed for a while!

Drinking Sierra Nevada draft.

In the Porterhouse central near the end of Grafton st.

Started back in early may after not going for lots of months, so lost a bit of the amount that I put on in the last year or so.
                                        I hear they have an excellent Waterford beer on cask also. Just saying.

Anyone who hails van Gaal a genius for the Krul move is borderline retarded.

'Borderline retarded' is what you're going with here? I was watching the match with a full time football coach and he reckoned it was a precedent setting move if nothing else. It is common sense to do it, but it hasn't been done before at the very top level.

EDIT: Good shout elshambles, should have been fairly commonplace before now I suppose.
                                          Last edited by LuckyLloyd; 06-07-14, 09:14.

He dived the right way for every pen, fair play.

Don't think it's that big a decision by LVH, he's by far their best pen saver, was an obvious call really.
                                            Yep, super obvious. Happens all the time sure.

'Borderline retarded' is what you're going with here? I was watching the match with a full time football coach and he reckoned it was a precedent setting move if nothing else. It is common sense to do it, but it hasn't been done before at the very top level.
                                              Saw the interview last night. It was pretty much pre planned before the game.

Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal reveals that he always planned to bring Tim Krul on for the penalty shootout against Costa Rica.

EDIT: Good shout elshambles, should have been fairly commonplace before now I suppose.
                                                Martin O'Neill did it in a play-off final with Leicester in like the mid 90s but Leicester scored with last kick of extra time just after the keeper came on.

Pokercharter is Barry Mcguigan and I claim my prize

Martin O'Neill did it in a play-off final with Leicester in like the mid 90s but Leicester scored with last kick of extra time just after the keeper came on.
                                                    Interesting. If the two examples of it happening we have are a Playoff final and an FAI Cup final I think it's a leap to claim it as a super standard decision in a WC QF.

Pokercharter is Barry Mcguigan and I claim my prize
                                                      Very mannerly

Interesting. If the two examples of it happening we have are a Playoff final and an FAI Cup final I think it's a leap to claim it as a super standard decision in a WC QF.
                                                        Agreed.

I'd still need convincing that not using a 3rd outfield substitute (especially in the draining climate in this World Cup) and choosing to instead sub the keeper for the shootout is a smart play. Not using a 3rd outfield substitute seems criminal.

In the Sligo game, it definitely was, was at least 2 players nearly out on their feet with about 20 minutes of extra time to go. Got away with it though.

Agreed.

I'd still need convincing that not using a 3rd outfield substitute (especially in the draining climate in this World Cup) and choosing to instead sub the keeper for the shootout is a smart play. Not using a 3rd outfield substitute seems criminal.

In the Sligo game, it definitely was, was at least 2 players nearly out on their feet with about 20 minutes of extra time to go. Got away with it though.
                                                          This.

It has to be situation dependent. If you get to the end of extra time and for other game reasons you have 1 sub left then it seems a really good ploy to have a specialist penalty keeper who has done nothing but work on them in advance.

However sacrificing an outfield substitution where it would otherwise be warranted (depending on the exact game dynamics and time of the required sub) to allow this seems really suspect.

Obviously any team with Dirk "the machine" Kuyt in it can last 120 mins on 2 subs though. Super standard call by LVH

Kuyt is 34 this month. Drugs obv. He's carved out some career considering his technical ability. Proof that stamina, grit and a great football mind can take a player a long way.

Who is LVH?

Am I missing something here, is it not LVG?

Dont know much about strimmers, but our old one is broke. Looking at 2 here on Argos site and dont know which one to pick, this :

or this:

Not a huge garden so corded or cordless is not a problem. I dont understand the line feed thing where you tap it??

also the front garden grass edging has come right over the concrete, will one of these tackle that? if ye see something better there for no more than 70 E let me know. ty

The corded one has good reviews, seems a better option

Last edited by SatNav; 06-07-14, 11:24.

Kuyt is 34 this month. Drugs obv. He's carved out some career considering his technical ability. Proof that stamina, grit and a great football mind can take a player a long way.
                                                                  You mean he'll be 35 next year.

Dont know much about strimmers, but our old one is broke. Looking at 2 here on Argos site and dont know which one to pick, this :

or this:

Not a huge garden so corded or cordless is not a problem. I dont understand the line feed thing where you tap it??

also the front garden grass edging has come right over the concrete, will one of these tackle that? if ye see something better there for no more than 70 E let me know. ty

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/1455434.htm
                                                                    I would go to a hire shop and see if they selling off any petrol strimmers. far better job. You can get them decent prices from there.

Couldnt be arsed, its only a small garden so not loads to do, a basic yoke will do. plus I want one now , tool hire shop is closed lol

Who is LVH?

Am I missing something here, is it not LVG?
                                                                        I think some people are taking the piss seeing how his surname is pronounced with a "H"

Like Hames Rodriguez.

Originally posted by dobman88 View Post
                                                                          I think some people are taking the piss seeing how his surname is pronounced with a "H"
                                                                          Or... just a simple error that didn't really need to be highlighted and only makes the pedant look like a cock.

@Llyod, you're right, I'm probably doing the guy a disservice. Surprised there hasn't been a stronger precedent. Think football at times can be behind other sports in terms of such logical calls.

Or... just a simple error that didn't really need to be highlighted and only makes the pedant look like a cock.

@Llyod, you're right, I'm probably doing the guy a disservice. Surprised there hasn't been a stronger precedent. Think football at times can be behind other sports in terms of such logical calls.
                                                                            Absolutely!! It only took coming on a century for the pyramid to be inverted sure.

Or it has been seen in numerous places and an inquisition mind might seek an answer.

Why don't you make an inappropriate attempt at humour?

The whole Holland/CR game leads into areas where its quite difficult to give mathematical analysis.

Presumably playing with 13 players rather than 14 for 120 minutes is a bad move as logically each tactical substitution by an above average manager should have a positive effect on the chances of winning the game. I've no proof of this but it seems reasonable.
                                                                                So does the benefit of saving the substitution for the penalty shootout outweigh the negative of not making a tactical outfield change at say 90 minutes?

Also as well as the perceived better ability of Krul over Cillessen for the task theres also a mental effect - the Costa Rican players must have assumed that some penalty saving expert was coming on and probably wouldn't have had time to become aware of his rather mediocre stats.

It'd be nice if someone from Sky/BBC/ITV did some actual analysis of it all but I suspect they'll stick to 'it worked, therefore its brilliant'.

The third sub is a good argument against it in most games but yesterday I'd question how much the game had taken out of most of the Dutch players for it to be of any relevance. They had the ball for nearly the entirety of the game, much of which was played at walking pace. I doubt the extra time was an overly physical exertion for most of the them.

Roger to win first set here and then get ground down by the freak at the other end.

Hope we get a cracker.

The whole Holland/CR game leads into areas where its quite difficult to give mathematical analysis.

Also as well as the perceived better ability of Krul over Cillessen for the task theres also a mental effect - the Costa Rican players must have assumed that some penalty saving expert was coming on and probably wouldn't have had time to become aware of his rather mediocre stats.

It'd be nice if someone from Sky/BBC/ITV did some actual analysis of it all but I suspect they'll stick to 'it worked, therefore its brilliant'.
                                                                                      On this part I presume that teams do loads of analysis on what way keepers dive on what penalties, how far they make it into the corners of the goal, how long they stand up etc to try and get an advantage in a shoutout.

Subbing the keeper of presumably takes this away and means they have to go up against the unknown.

Presumably playing with 13 players rather than 14 for 120 minutes is a bad move as logically each tactical substitution by an above average manager should have a positive effect on the chances of winning the game. I've no proof of this but it seems reasonable.
                                                                                        So does the benefit of saving the substitution for the penalty shootout outweigh the negative of not making a tactical outfield change at say 90 minutes?

Imo it's no different to bringing on a specialist penalty taker on 119, except that Krul has the opportunity to impact on ~5 attempts, whereas a taker can obv only impact once in the shootout.
                                                                                        Fresh taker vs match goalie you would expect an advantage for the attacker, cannot imagine it would not be similar for a fresh goalie vs tired cramping attacker.

Case for saying Cillessen would be mentally fatigued/zoned out after 120 of inactivity on a hot pitch?
                                                                                        Although comments that this was a pre match planned subsitution scenario would suggest not.

Agreed.

One thing about the Sligo Rovers substitution.

Not long before the Shelbourne cup final, Sligo Rovers lost the league cup semi-final on penalties and the 1st choice keeper afair didnt save one.

Still think 3rd sub was better play but shitty-ness of his keeper at penalties defo came into it and it was cool as fuck to see him come on

or this:

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produc...er/1455434.htm
                                                                                            I used to strim edges and around trees also...now...

people with beards - did you consciously set out to grow a beard or was it a case you just wern't arsed shaving and one day you had a beard?

You know you are growing a beard when you decide that you're not arsed shaving

As night follows day and all that shit!

Lolcork. Absolutely useless

hard to say whether cork are bad or kerry on fire! thats a strong wind so I expect a bit of a comeback in the 2nd half

That last game between Fed and Djok was class

I'd say a bit of both. I hate shaving with a passion. Had quite a bit of growth built up prior to my current job. Its quite a bit easier to just tidy a short beard once a week with a beard trimmer than maintain a thicker beard or indeed shave everyday. A full beard is a pain to manage.

Could be in for a cracker yet

Get in Rog.

I have a beard most of the time and rarely intend growing one. I dislike shaving and am bad at it. I have also never owned a beard trimmer so when beard gets too beardy it all comes off.

@Bray people, has the summer funfair arrived yet?

Pm chd

Don't think so.

So after ALL the help .............FU world cup
                                                                                                                      I ended up getting this one for 69 E in homebase.

Was dying to try it out and its starts pissing down ffs. also think I have the wheels on wrong, cant see how one would edge.

Don't think so.
                                                                                                                        Cheers, keep an eye out for it's arrival.
                                                                                                                        I like to bring the teenage niblings to DisneyEire as a treat, with added bonus of annual climb of Bray Mountain.

So much dislike for Hamilton.