More breaking news...rvp's north london apartment has been engulfed in flames..at this minute police suspect arsene!!

Awful

Awful
        Go write a letter to the Indo about it.

What do United fans think of the transfer? I'm indifferent. Obv hugely talented but with age & injuries and the strikers we have I'm not too excited by it. Doesn't help that I think he's a huge cunt.

Fin whales are stoopid

What will they do with the carcass? SP, maybe you should head down to Baltimore for some freebie whale burgers.

I got 385 without trying as hard as I should have. I buy the fact that you would have a far superior ability to organise the task at hand, but I'm not sure six months with no classroom routine is enough to get back into the knots of certain subjects.
              I'm with Denny on this. Any university educated adult of reasonable or above average intelligence should be able to get 500 through: History, English, Home Economics, Religious Education, Classical Studies and any other. A science subject would probably be do-able given a 6 month run in but over 6 weeks I'd probably go for Business personally. Geography may also be a runner.

Apathy accounts for Leaving Cert results FAR more than actual aptitude. Some of the smartest people I have ever met did pretty average in their LC. In adult life and particularly post-graduate life that level of study apathy is usually gone. 385 without trying as hard as you could means you are a 385 student. Your potential intelligence/knowledge isn't measured by the LC; your actual workrate and capacity to take exams is. (Ending with "is" there on purpose to stick it to my old English teacher)

Still baffles me that Paul McShane is paid to play football.

What do United fans think of the transfer? I'm indifferent. Obv hugely talented but with age & injuries and the strikers we have I'm not too excited by it. Doesn't help that I think he's a huge cunt.
                  Excited by it for sure! A proven premier league goalscorer that gives us great options up front with Roony, Kagawa, Chico & Welbeck. Berba will go for sure now though and Macheda probably too.
                  Obv Welbeck will be a bit pissed at it as his game-time will reduce but competition for spots can only be good.

Why do you think he's a huge cunt anyway?

Probably fail the medical anyway - bad back from carrying a whole team last year.

He's a pretty dirty player imo!

Originally posted by kakak1 View Post
                        Only one casino in Waterford.............not allowed discuss them here for very good reasons. Their best game of the week is a €30 FO or their DEEPSTACK for €20

My advice is don't go near the place.

If you want a decent game, reasonable standard, good craic the Showboat is the spot on a Wednesday night at 8pm for €50 + €5.run by Staffy who used be in The Poker Lounge and where most of their players now play as well.
                        Posting from blaaah country, fitting in well even thrown a few ''Well boy'' & ''blaa's are grat aren't they, def not bap's!'' out
                        Getting crushed by the Waterford wizards ATM

On the break, no blaaah's being severed.... Very disappointed i am!!

He's a pretty dirty player imo!
                          Really? Any examples come to mind?

Fin whales are stoopid

What will they do with the carcass? SP, maybe you should head down to Baltimore for some freebie whale burgers.
                            They dig a big hole.

Originally posted by bantee View Post
                              Yeah, I can't think of a single one

Originally posted by bantee View Post

Looking for restaurant recommendations for the Bantry / West cork area preference for fish and vegetarian.

I have eaten here and found it excellent.Also have relations who holiday in Goleen that rave about the place.

None in particular come to mind but I have a strong opinion that he's a dirty player so I must have seen a good few dirty challenges, elbows, etc from him. Maybe Flushdraw could clarify? Would be surprised if I was completely wrong!

Brian Kerr enjoying himself.

Lol, any on the pitch? On a side note, there's a knob-jockey on the Arsenal thread in the other place wishing injury on him for leaving Way OTT.

None in particular come to mind but I have a strong opinion that he's a dirty player so I must have seen a good few dirty challenges, elbows, etc from him. Maybe Flushdraw could clarify? Would be surprised if I was completely wrong!
                                          He knows how to look after himself against centre-halves but that just came with experience of playing for years in the EPL. Maybe shano or FD can clarify but they're probably feeling a bit shite at the moment.
                                          He has rarely gotten sent off in my memory and AFAIK he rarely gets booked too. Just excited about United's potential for a bag-full of goals this season if he can stay fit

In June 2005, while in Rotterdam with the Dutch national team for the 2006 World Cup qualifiers, Van Persie was arrested on suspicion of rape by Dutch police.[95] Sandra Krijgsman, a former Miss Nigeria Holland winner, claimed that she was attacked by Van Persie in a hotel.[96] He was held for fourteen nights in prison while the police investigated the allegations made against him[97] but was then released without charge, though he was still under suspicion.[98] In February 2006, the case against Van Persie was dismissed by the Dutch Public Prosecution Service after they completed their investigations stating that no sexual contact with coercion happened, with Van Persie's accuser later admitting she had made up the story to gain publicity.[99][100] Van Persie admitted being unfaithful by having sex with Krijgsman, but he was forgiven by his wife.[101] Van Persie spoke of his ordeal several months later, saying how degrading the experience was and how he was treated like a criminal despite his innocence. He revealed that conditions in the prison were so hot that they caused him to lose consciousness. It also emerged that more than 200 Rotterdam police officers had attempted to view his case files, with the vast majority of them unauthorised to do so.[7][102]

Arsenal have taken over West Ham as the best feeder club in England.

He's not exactly the player we need, but fairly pleased to get him if it's confirmed tomorrow. Would much rather have spent money getting a deep-lying defensive mid in. We do have a ton of options in midfield but still missing that one player there imo.

Van Persie
                                                  when a girl says no
                                                  Molest her!

as the chant went.

Arsenal have taken over West Ham as the best feeder club in England.
                                                    True but for once they're not feeding the blue half of Manchester

Can anyone remember what the old CAO points allocations were? I'm thinking back in the mid 1980's. I remember somewhere about 36 being the maximum available, though I can't find anything to confirm this vague memory

What are peoples predictions for the season?

Rain.

Leaves will fall off the trees again

Lots of banter.

He's not exactly the player we need, but fairly pleased to get him if it's confirmed tomorrow. Would much rather have spent money getting a deep-lying defensive mid in. We do have a ton of options in midfield but still missing that one player there imo.
                                                                Carrick?

Can anyone remember what the old CAO points allocations were? I'm thinking back in the mid 1980's. I remember somewhere about 36 being the maximum available, though I can't find anything to confirm this vague memory
                                                                  80-100 range would have been the swots iirc...40 sounds about right...lol

The Cabin In The Woods was pretty crazy but I think I liked it.

I'll be optimistic: United > City > Chelsea > Arsenal to keep fourth spot.
                                                                      Wigan, Soton, Reading for the drop.

Sunderland for the drop if they dont sign a new striker.

Carrick?
                                                                          Yeah, I'd agree that a DM isn't the main priority.
                                                                          A young Scholes would be ideal as quarterback spraying passes around, but from what I've seen of Cleverly since his return to fitness, it's looking promising. Anderson is another good option in that role but very inconsistent to be fair.

If we can hold onto Agger and the news is true about Sahin I'm much more optimistic that we have a shot at top 4 this season. This wouldn't be a bad starting 11.

--------------Reina--------------

Johnson---Skrtel---Agger---Enrique

--------------Lucas--------------

-----------Allen-----Sahin--------

Gerrard--------Suarez--------Borini

Last season after we lost Lucas we had awful midfield options which will have been completely transformed in the coming season.

Probably a repost, but this made me chuckle

Carrick?
                                                                                Not really. I'm thinking of a player like Lassana Diarra would have been ideal. Always liked him. Or Chiek Tiote wouldn't have been a bad bet either imo.

If we can hold onto Agger and the news is true about Sahin I'm much more optimistic that we have a shot at top 4 this season. This wouldn't be a bad starting 11.

--------------Reina--------------

Johnson---Skrtel---Agger---Enrique

--------------Lucas--------------

-----------Allen-----Sahin--------

Gerrard--------Suarez--------Borini

Last season after we lost Lucas we had awful midfield options which will have been completely transformed in the coming season.

Wouldn't be great either.

Can't see Liverpool challenging too closely for the top 4, will always be just out of reach.

It is getting annoying seeing Chelsea youth products making it around Europe. Borini could become a very good player.

The LC talk has reminded me of something I have wanted to know for a while. I read somewhere that when communism in Soviet Union ended that there was some manner of apology for the decades of lies that were taught to students in the history books, and they cancelled the finals history exams that year.

I would like to know what the children were taught about history that was different, but I have never come across it anywhere. I always assumed we didn't have a history person here. I am now appointing Ionapaul as our official history expert (i.e. he has to do our history Googling for us).

Does anyone know what kind of stuff the Ruskies taught the kids about history?

Fin whales are stoopid

Being brought to WIT for research purposes according to the news.

Second guessing Fergie is idiotic, but here goes anyway:

RVP is a sensational player, but spending 22-24M (and a modest 225k p/w) borders on the perverse given the paucity of options in midfield. United's front 6 next year will be pretty sexy, but against newcastle away, and against city home and away the problem wasn't a lack of firepower - the problem was that the midfield was completely dominated and rvp won't make much difference in similar games next year.

It also seems strange to have signed him without having wellbeck's contract sorted out ... losing him on a free next summer would be dreadful business.

I think the signing of RVP may determine who wins the league this season. I think it's massive for United.

edit:
                                                                                          Originally posted by dazzler View Post
                                                                                          United's front 6 next year will be pretty sexy, but against newcastle away, and against city home and away the problem wasn't a lack of firepower - the problem was that the midfield was completely dominated and rvp won't make much difference in similar games next year.
                                                                                          United and Fergie are a mystery in respect of central midfield. I genuinely have no idea how United manage to play 2 in the centre in this day and age and still do as well as they do, even with Rooney dropping deep. If you put any of the 2 that United played in central midfield in the last couple of years in another team they would be in trouble. Being United seems to double their worth in games.
                                                                                          Last edited by hotspur; 15-08-12, 22:09.

I'm with Denny on this. Any university educated adult of reasonable or above average intelligence should be able to get 500 through: History, English, Home Economics, Religious Education, Classical Studies and any other. A science subject would probably be do-able given a 6 month run in but over 6 weeks I'd probably go for Business personally. Geography may also be a runner.

Apathy accounts for Leaving Cert results FAR more than actual aptitude. Some of the smartest people I have ever met did pretty average in their LC. In adult life and particularly post-graduate life that level of study apathy is usually gone. 385 without trying as hard as you could means you are a 385 student. Your potential intelligence/knowledge isn't measured by the LC; your actual workrate and capacity to take exams is. (Ending with "is" there on purpose to stick it to my old English teacher)
                                                                                            I was thinking mandatory subjects like Maths, Irish and the Language tbh.

Signing of RVP changes sweet feck all.

The Cabin In The Woods was pretty crazy but I think I liked it.
                                                                                                Really enjoyed it when I caught it at the cinema, totally out of left field but left the cinema happy.

The version you watched did it have Korean subs?

I’ve written before in certain threads about the importance of zone 14 in the modern game. This is the area immediately outside the penalty area, as indicated on the diagram below.

The importance of operating ‘between the lines’ isn’t a secret in football, as players who operate in ‘the hole’ have been around for a long time, and their value well recognised. However, the tactical make-up of the best teams in the world over the last 10 years have been structured to maximise the effectiveness of zone 14 in attack, while providing the necessary defensive system to prevent opponents operating in this zone.

At Euro 2004, over 50% of all successful passes into the penalty area came from zone 14, and evidence from the Premier League in the middle of the last decade suggested that about 75% of goals were scored either directly from zone 14, or from a final pass played from this zone.

The 4-2-3-1 system (which can also look like, or be adapted to, a 4-4-1-1, 4-3-3, 4-5-1 or 4-2-2-2) has become the formation of choice for the tactically astute manager over the last decade, particularly in big games. There are a number of very good reasons for this:

1. Double pivot - two defensive midfielders to the layman. With possitionally aware midfielders, you can prevent the opposition operating in zone 5. (their zone 14). This allows a pressing team to control the most dangerous areas effectively, while still allowing the front 4 to work together and hunt in packs.

2. Progressive full backs - with a back 4 comprising of the CBs and CMs, the full backs are able to join attacks with confidence a mistake can be covered.

3. Multiple players are able to operate in zone 14 as width can be provided by the full-backs and added freedom to have runners ahead of the ball provided by the double pivot

My view is we are neglecting the importance of zone 14 both in attack and defence (zone 5).

Our opponents get a lot of time and space in this zone when they attack, particularly when Lucas and Spearing are missing. It often looks too easy for opponents to get good possession in this zone facing our goal (Campell dropped off and turned on the ball before shooting against the post for Sunderland's goal today).

In attack, we do not operate in this zone very effectively. We either build too much of our play down the wings or rarely have options ahead of the ball on the few occasions we do get good possession in zone 14.

As for our crossing, it is ineffective, not purely because of execution, but because of how we get the ball into crossing areas. It isn’t just about getting bodies into the box.

Research carried out looking at the style of play of successful teams at the highest level indicates that the best teams construct attacks in an outside-inside-outside fashion, where the ball is played wide as it enters the attacking third, whereas less successful teams play up the wings into the final third before crossing the ball.

If a ball is played wide late, it could go to either wing, which means the man who then crosses it is likely to have more time and space. It also means that the opposite full-back is less likely to be in position to cover the back post, and the centre backs less likely to be in position to clear the cross.

Van Persie’s first goal against us is a great example of how to work a crossing opportunity. Rosicky cuts into the centre of the pitch before spreading it wide into the final third to Sagna, who had space as Enrique had moved across to pick up Walcott’s run, while Downing tracks Rosicky as he carries the ball infield. (Incidentally, Walcott’s move off the right could be covered by a holding midfielder if we had a double pivot).

Really enjoyed it when I caught it at the cinema, totally out of left field but left the cinema happy.

The version you watched did it have Korean subs?
                                                                                                    No it's a version that went up yesterday.

Has a slight cropping issue at the bottom of the screen but very watchable.

Pseudo is the name of the ripping group if your looking for it.

Actually just thinking that must be what is cropped out down the bottom, duh.
                                                                                                    Last edited by Starvin Marvin; 15-08-12, 22:12.

The LC talk has reminded me of something I have wanted to know for a while. I read somewhere that when communism in Soviet Union ended that there was some manner of apology for the decades of lies that were taught to students in the history books, and they cancelled the finals history exams that year.

I would like to know what the children were taught about history that was different, but I have never come across it anywhere. I always assumed we didn't have a history person here. I am now appointing Ionapaul as our official history expert (i.e. he has to do our history Googling for us).

Does anyone know what kind of stuff the Ruskies taught the kids about history?
                                                                                                      One concrete example: Trotsky was removed from photos, narratives, etc - essentially wiped from the history books.

True, title is still up in the air between the Manchester clubs, and likely Arsenal/Chelsea will fight it our for 3rd/4th with Liverpool/Spurs doing similar for 5th/6th. Personally I think Newcastle will have a more difficult season ahead than last season, but who knows. If I could predict these things accurately I would be rich.

@Zod - Where did you find that post? The whole thread it's taken from has some great posts.

The storm arrived eventually, although not up to some of the hysterical hurricane predictions. Waterford's coastal areas some of the worst hit. Some great pics

Newtown, Tramore

The Cove, Tramore

Boatstrand

More Tramore

One concrete example: Trotsky was removed from photos, narratives, etc - essentially wiped from the history books.
                                                                                                                Pft, fuck the details of their domestic history. I was thinking more along the lines of what fantastical bastards the USA were and the shocking things they got up to, possibly involving aliens.

United and Fergie are a mystery in respect of central midfield. I genuinely have no idea how United manage to play 2 in the centre in this day and age and still do as well as they do, even with Rooney dropping deep. If you put any of the 2 that United played in central midfield in the last couple of years in another team they would be in trouble. Being United seems to double their worth in games.
                                                                                                                  Ah Carrick, Cleverly and Fletcher are all fine players imo - the problem is that form in Carrick's case and injury/illness in the case of the other two means they have been unselectable for a large chunk of the past few seasons. After those three the quality tails off dramatically though - and when united did play 5 in midfield last year it really showed.

Pft, fuck the details of their domestic history. I was thinking more along the lines of what fantastical bastards the USA were and the shocking things they got up to, possibly involving aliens.
                                                                                                                    North Korea might be more interesting to you!

He'll fit right in with the rest of the squad so.

I think it makes a huge difference. Last season there was nothing between Utd and City, this signing makes united a lot stronger, and City have the same team.

Having two world class strikers will be a huge benefit to UTD

Originally posted by dazzler View Post
                                                                                                                          Ah Carrick, Cleverly and Fletcher are all fine players imo - the problem is that form in Carrick's case and injury/illness in the case of the other two means they have been unselectable for a large chunk of the past few seasons. After those three the quality tails off dramatically though - and when united did play 5 in midfield last year it really showed.
                                                                                                                          I would like to subject them to "The Sunderland Test" whereby every Man Utd player under suspicion of being average has to play for Sunderland for a season to assess their true worth.