I mean connected to a wifi router.
    I don't know

We have an eircom box (I would have called it a modem but it might be that you're referring to?)

It was connected earlier but was restricted to "Local Only" but now it says it's connected to an unidentified network but has "no internet access"

Apologies for my total idiocy

interesting.....

Hotspur, how does one find out how hypnotisable one is, prefferably without visiting a hypnotist? And are there any good resources for learning the kind of self hypnosis that David Spiegel was talking about in the video you posted the other night?

QQ: anyone know if I could use one of those pre-paid Mastercards (the like of which you get in Dundrum / Jervis / Blanchardstown shopping centres as gift cards) to fund poker accounts? I want to open a new account or two and take advantage of deposit offers, but am unwilling to use my credit card as I don't want my bank recording any online gaming transactions. Or any other ways of getting cash onto poker rooms without using my CC or setting up a Moneybookers-type account (had to give up on Neteller as the hassle was not worth it after a while of them demanding more and more ID documents, am guessing MB is the same)?

On that point, does anyone know if an online gaming transaction recorded on your credit card with BOI would be accessible to say, AIB, if you were to look for a mortgage from the latter in the future?

I think PaySafe Card are used in alot of poker rooms.

Hotspur, how does one find out how hypnotisable one is, prefferably without visiting a hypnotist? And are there any good resources for learning the kind of self hypnosis that David Spiegel was talking about in the video you posted the other night?
            eye roll test?

I don't know

We have an eircom box (I would have called it a modem but it might be that you're referring to?)

It was connected earlier but was restricted to "Local Only" but now it says it's connected to an unidentified network but has "no internet access"

Apologies for my total idiocy
              Ok,
              restart the eircom box.
              look at the name underneath it'll be something like eircomxxxxxxxxx
              make sure the laptop is connecting to that (double click on the WIFI icon and click view available networks)

I think PaySafe Card are used in alot of poker rooms.
                Yep almost all, Boylepoker would probabaly be the only room I play on that doesn't
                I remember asking Paul Spillane would he consider accepting them & he looked into it & said the fee's were to much

I know bluesquare/ GCasino charge a % for you to deposit with them but cant remember what % it was

Ok,
                  restart the eircom box.
                  look at the name underneath it'll be something like eircomxxxxxxxxx
                  make sure the laptop is connecting to that (double click on the WIFI icon and click view available networks)
                  Yeah sorry I've got that far. It's recognising it but just not going the extra step of allowing access to the internet.

Edit for screenshot of connection status

Last edited by sligoboi; 03-08-11, 13:44.

DP, are UPC wifi keys easy to overcome? Probably a ridic general question but might as well ask!

Are you talking ones that are just used when UPC install it themselfs? AFAIK no, they werent like the Eircom ones which were easily hackable but I would always change the stock key to one of your own choosing.

WEP yes
                        WPA2, harder but not impossible

The provider has nothing to do with it
                        it's the security on the router

Has WPA2 being cracked yet?

Is there a generator out?

Has WPA2 being cracked yet?

Is there a generator out?
                            Not one I'd trust
                            The old hard way is still the way afaik
                            aircrack, airodump (windows will donly do it passivly)

ie. more hassle than it is worth unless you are determined to be a stingy fuck

I too gave up on Neteller after they locked my account at one point but I find MB to be grand. I can't recall their original setting up procedure but I think it was pretty painless.
                              Ah, might give Moneybookers a look this week so, fecking hate the hassle of opening new bank accounts, I've got so many on the go in these times of uncertainty (half with precisely €0.01 or $0.01 in them!) and am always worried about losing track of them and leaving $$$ wasting away for years as a result. Plus going to the cop shop to get them to sign the form is a real pain in the arse.

Yo Uncle BBV, whats my desired salary starting off as an analyst? Trying to make sure I dont alienate Recruiters by overshooting, but don't wanna sell myself short.

Anyone who has an inkling care to check my cv and let me know?

Golf course next door to work.
                                  Just found out they have opened a driving range.

Dreams do come true kiddies

Dana to seek backing to enter the race to be President

sigh

Michael D for President.

An Evening with Micheal D in the Red Cow wasa roaring success.
                                          As a candidate for the Office of President, I offer a vision of a radically inclusive citizenship, in a creative society, worthy of a real Republic, one which will make us proud to be Irish in the world.

I'm flying to New York tomorrow. My flight departs at 10.45 but the gate closes at 9.00. Do I need to be at the airport two hours before the gate closes for customs and all that jazz?

Thinly veiled brag obv.

Michael D for President.
                                              Doubt the muckraker are far away from their first controversy involving D.
                                              Would love him to get in but can't see it happening.

Yeah I would actually like to see him drive over a Rolls Royce or Ferrari, load of bollox.

Im going to vote for her out of spite now.

Doubt the muckraker are far away from their first controversy involving D.
                                                    Would love him to get in but can't see it happening.
                                                    seen a few hints of allegations about sexuality already being thrown around and deleted...

Yeah I would actually like to see him drive over a Rolls Royce or Ferrari, load of bollox.
                                                      Shameless publicity stunt. You know your Mayor is a waster if this is the kinda crap he is getting up to. Would have been funny if it rolled over and squished him.

seen a few hints of allegations about sexuality already being thrown around and deleted...
                                                        Lol at using the word allegation here. I'm not accusing you of being a homophobe it's just interesting that you'd choose such a pejorative word. Shows how deeply ingrained some of our ideas on sexuality really are.

Michael D Higgins gay is the 3rd option in google's predictive search

He might be done on:
                                                            Israel views
                                                            Anti War and US imperialism views
                                                            Pro commie views from the past
                                                            Drink
                                                            Lechery
                                                            General left liberalism

Closet full of skeletons for sure. If you haven't got some at his age you were wasting your time all along IMO.

Man after my own heart but won't be allowed go much further.

the word use was deliberate, to convey the mood of those posting, not my own views!

@Kayroo: Do you think Dublin are correctly labelled favourites for the game against Tyrone?

Originally posted by carlop View Post
                                                                  I'm flying to New York tomorrow. My flight departs at 10.45 but the gate closes at 9.00. Do I need to be at the airport two hours before the gate closes for customs and all that jazz?

Thinly veiled brag obv.
                                                                  Immigration queues are sick in T2 thanks to some work to rule by the immigration muppets. I would be at the airport by 8 at the latest.

@Kayroo: Do you think Dublin are correctly labelled favourites for the game against Tyrone?
                                                                    Yes from a bookies perspective and no from a realistic outcome perspective. Dublin are like England in major championships. The weight of money that goes on them pushes the market into silly prices.

Dublin haven't played in over a month and their last outing was, at best, mediocre. Tyrone, meanwhile, are looking in good shape with a strong mix of youth and experience and a devastating bench to call upon when needs be.

Historically when these teams have played at this stage the team who comes through the qualifiers has won the match. A lot will depend on how the Dublin team lines out. If it's as below I think we have a chance but I think that the strength of Tyrone's bench may win out in the end.

Tyrone by 1 or 2.

Possible Dublin team:

---------------------------Cluxton-------------------------
                                                                    Fitzsimmons----------------O 'Carroll------------- Conlon
                                                                    McCarthy------------------Brennan -------------Nolan
                                                                    ---------------McAuley--------------Cahill------------------
                                                                    Flynn-----------------------McMeanamin-----------Cullen
                                                                    Brogan----------------------Connolly---------------Brogan

Wow

[NSFW="!"][/NSFW]

Playing my first competitive soccer match in about 2 years tonight. Im actually nervous!

Yes from a bookies perspective and no from a realistic outcome perspective. Dublin are like England in major championships. The weight of money that goes on them pushes the market into silly prices.

Dublin haven't played in over a month and their last outing was, at best, mediocre. Tyrone, meanwhile, are looking in good shape with a strong mix of youth and experience and a devastating bench to call upon when needs be.

Historically when these teams have played at this stage the team who comes through the qualifiers has won the match. A lot will depend on how the Dublin team lines out. If it's as below I think we have a chance but I think that the strength of Tyrone's bench may win out in the end.

Tyrone by 1 or 2.

Possible Dublin team:

---------------------------Cluxton-------------------------
                                                                          Fitzsimmons----------------O 'Carroll------------- Conlon
                                                                          McCarthy------------------Brennan -------------Nolan
                                                                          ---------------McAuley--------------Cahill------------------
                                                                          Flynn-----------------------McMeanamin-----------Cullen
                                                                          Brogan----------------------Connolly---------------Brogan
                                                                          Nice one, pretty much my exact thoughts on it. Like yourself I had the four week layoff for Dublin and the strength of Tyrone's bench as the two biggest swing factors when I was pricing it up.

Can't see a way to make Tyrone any longer than evens at a stretch, while they're available at 6/4 most places.

I'd prefer to be cheering for Dublin (a potential Kerry/Dublin final would be some craic) but I think Tyrone are serious value.

Dublin have had 3 really good competitive games over the last 3 weeks

Also Phily McMahon is rumoured to be starting corner back

Dublin have had 3 really good competitive games over the last 3 weeks

Also Phily McMahon is rumoured to be starting corner back
                                                                              Who did they play?

How would you price it up?

Who did they play?

How would you price it up?
                                                                                A team v B team - 60 min matches behind closed doors but fully officiated. only been a couple of points in it each time (savage intensity for the one I got a sneaky look at )

Dry day - Dublin by 2
                                                                                Wet day (which it will be) Tyrone to win out by 4/5 points

all imo of course

What did you buy Noel?

Please tell me it was an hoss and you'll be taking the bus to work until it wins

What did you buy Noel?

Please tell me it was an hoss and you'll be taking the bus to work until it wins
                                                                                    A BMW obv!

Living in Dublin is so great for my inner nerd!

Yo Uncle BBV, whats my desired salary starting off as an analyst? Trying to make sure I dont alienate Recruiters by overshooting, but don't wanna sell myself short.

Anyone who has an inkling care to check my cv and let me know?
                                                                                        How much do you think you are worth? How much money will you make for the company and how quickly will you get up to speed?

Finger in the air stuff. A package with a 32 - 40k range. Tell them you don't mind a smaller basic provided excellent performance is rewarded with a non standard bonus.

Actually 30k plus a CFA study package/support would probably represent better value to you.
                                                                                        Last edited by V for Vendetta; 03-08-11, 16:57.

How much do you think you are worth? How much money will you make for the company and how quickly will you get up to speed?

Finger in the air stuff. A package with a 32 - 40k range. Tell them you don't mind a smaller basic provided excellent performance is rewarded with a non standard bonus.
                                                                                          Pretty much this. If pitching to recruiters try the 35-40 mark but if in direct contact with companies be willing to accept 30.

I think it's going to be hard to get a non standard bonus though - I've never worked for a company that offered this. Also bonus packages are standard at 10% now especially without years of experience

a horse of a different kind. http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ferrari...t?channel=CARS

pfft. A car for a man who knows everything about the price and nothing about the value.
                                                                                            buying ferarris?

Feck sake I'd better ramp up the charges for fixing the laptop so! :P

Make sure to add a 'Why would you buy a Ferrari in anything but red' surcharge.

a horse of a different kind. http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ferrari...t?channel=CARS

pfft. A car for a man who knows everything about the price and nothing about the value.
                                                                                                I really hope you did buy that car. Post a pic of you cruising around Offaly in it soon!! I need the joy in my life that would give me!!

Originally posted by The_Chopper View Post
                                                                                                  Pretty much this. If pitching to recruiters try the 35-40 mark but if in direct contact with companies be willing to accept 30.

I think it's going to be hard to get a non standard bonus though - I've never worked for a company that offered this. Also bonus packages are standard at 10% now especially without years of experience
                                                                                                  Jack Welch is with me on this. Standard bonuses are such bullshit. Also 10% is a load of crap as well. I'd prefer a smaller basic but a 30% potential upside it keeps you motivated.

In fairness Ricky you are probably right and I'm just railing against the stupidity of what I see in a lot of places. Emmet you are probably better off playing the corporate game BUT if they are that stupid then don't be surprised when they do all sorts of stupid stuff down the line......

I will be 30 in December. It was my time to buy one... Also, much like V4V and his BMW 'they will know i is a serious business man when i arrive in my 5 series, yo!' look, I will be going for the 'they will know I am a proper cunt when I pull up in my Ferrari' look.
                                                                                                    Fucking brilliant. New thread title for the BBV methinks!!! WP Noel.

Ferrari's are for balding middle aged men with small cocks

Milan Jovanonic Best ot Liverpool FC, Jovanovic Tribute, Jovanovic Header

Prem predictions comp time.

next it will be hair transplant surgery and a gym membership. does paddy pay that well?
                                                                                                            Last edited by CheckRaise; 03-08-11, 17:46.

Bah I'm gonna get this so

Look at the extras, two cars for the price of one.

Bah I'm gonna get this so

Look at the extras, two cars for the price of one.
                                                                                                                would be interesting to find out how to insure that thing.

Originally posted by CheckRaise View Post
                                                                                                                  would be interesting to find out how to insure that thing.
                                                                                                                  Changes are all cosmetic so for insurance purposes its just a 406 coupe.

That's how you can describe most Ferrari's

The Jackpot this evening me thinks

I doubt that. Some insurers are fairly picky about minor changes. That yoke would not be as safe or as roadworthy as an unmodified 406. I have to admire the work the mechanic put into it.

The Jackpot this evening me thinks
                                                                                                                          I'd love to, I'm in the mood
                                                                                                                          but I'm 3 weeks waiting for an invoice to clear, pain in the hole