Wolfe Tone or Ronnie Drew will walk this

cool broe story bro

I liked Breo too. I think it was kind of like Hoegaarden if I remember rightly.

he's not allowed on any lists that would paint him in a good light IMO. The crankiest man you'd ever meet.

He lived on my road up until very recently. Years ago, there was a group of us playing football on the road. Ball got knocked into his back garden. We knocked on the door like polite kids and asked for the ball back. He brought it out with, burst, with a very obvious knife mark in it.

That's just his sense of humour. He would have found that very funny.
          As the ol wans in Drimnagh used to say, get up yer own end Clynesey 'cause if the ball hits my roses I'll burst it.
          Ironically the thorns from Mrs Macs rose bushes burst my beach ball without her intervention, we were using It for a kickabout. I tried to repair it with a bycycle repair kit but the first kick sent it back to deflated mode.

Deadparrot you have excellent taste in great irishmen.

To add to this, I've seen a study before in investment which said that even Warren Buffett could just be a statistical anomaly.
            If that's the case he is running hotter then the sun....

No i dont think he knew. All he knew for sure was that he would be ostracized from the family which to him was a fate worse than death anyway and that was on the forefront of his mind more than getting whacked. I think he was such a nervous wreck by then it really didnt matter which fate it would be.

I loved the way he organised those Las Vegas parties, came to him like second nature. That was his true calling!.
              Although I reckon Sonny would have just kicked him around the shop like he did to his sisters wifebeating husband. A most excellent hiding. Michael was more cold hearted and clinical, he just whacks ya if you get in the way or bethray him. Sonny just kicked the bollx out of ya. I think Fredo would still be alive today if Sonny hadn't been riddled. I thought Fredo was also the victem in dog day afternoon, Pacino gets the thich end of the wedge against that fellow. If Pacino was the capt of the starship enterprise, Fredo wouuld be the guy in the red uniform who get's vaporised within seconds of landing. These lads usally have an Irish or Polish name and find it hard to get work.

Woke up late and missed the signup for WW2

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1zsqaSDZFc[/ame]

AskMen's Top 10 Channel offers you top 10 lists on a variety of topics: dating, entertainment, travel, fitness, video games, celebrity, sports and more.

interesting

Room for one more in the WW game?

doubt it, threads lock for a reason,
                        Not happy, will defo read game thread anyway

To add to this, I've seen a study before in investment which said that even Warren Buffett could just be a statistical anomaly.
                          I think it was Nicholas Taleb who said the only investor he believed in was George Soros as there existed evidence of enough active investment decisions to equate to statistical proof. He also said that Buffet may be a statistical anomaly.
                          Last edited by V for Vendetta; 23-03-10, 14:18.

Originally posted by dougee19 View Post
                            This actually was pretty interesting.

I dislike the name of the Brothel in Thailand, but I liked the description of haggling!
                            Unlike the formal brothel experience, however, men must negotiate with the female workers based on their mutual interest in sex and money. If a suitable arrangement can be made, you’re in business.

Originally posted by dougee19 View Post
                              LMFAO,

List was interesting.
                              The fact that number one is in Sydney, less than 20 mins from me is more interesting.
                              The fact that my housemate sitting beside me rsponded "Yeah, it's pretty good there" was the most interesting

Now, how feasible it would be to click such a concept with him in such a short space of time is another question entirely...
                                I think he essentially believes in there being a skill element to the game however that hardly makes ratings grabbing radio either....

It probably depends on the length of his program segment and how he wants to pitch it.

For instance if it was an "off the ball" style in depth look at the game then you could get into more aspects of the game but if it is a short mainstram piece then saying how much "fun" it is and emphasising the diversity of the players and the "craic" might be a better way to go....

Apparantly Stephen Taylor (Newcastle) is in hospital after Andy Carrol 'allegedly' punched him? Funny stuff.

Although I reckon Sonny would have just kicked him around the shop like he did to his sisters wifebeating husband. A most excellent hiding. Michael was more cold hearted and clinical, he just whacks ya if you get in the way or bethray him. Sonny just kicked the bollx out of ya. I think Fredo would still be alive today if Sonny hadn't been riddled. I thought Fredo was also the victem in dog day afternoon, Pacino gets the thich end of the wedge against that fellow. If Pacino was the capt of the starship enterprise, Fredo wouuld be the guy in the red uniform who get's vaporised within seconds of landing. These lads usally have an Irish or Polish name and find it hard to get work.
                                    I was thinking of Dog Day Afternoon writing that. Fredos linein that still sticks with me "Listen up Bastids"

Apparantly Stephen Taylor (Newcastle) is in hospital after Andy Carrol 'allegedly' punched him? Funny stuff.
                                      Have you seen Andy Carrol?

I'm surprised Taylor is still alive.

Andy Carrol had to have surgery on his hand...

Taylor is definitely lucky to be alive!

Woke up late and missed the signup for WW2
                                          yea gettin up ~ 1 is -EV for life - ugh

LMFAO,

List was interesting.
                                            The fact that number one is in Sydney, less than 20 mins from me is more interesting.
                                            The fact that my housemate sitting beside me rsponded "Yeah, it's pretty good there" was the most interesting
                                            lol i was looking at the picture in the article thinking that looks very fucking familiar. I went to their site seen the address(surrey hills) and low and behold i've been there a few years back.
                                            By the way your friends review is spot on! Pricey but classier imo!!!

Andy Carrol had to have surgery on his hand...

Taylor is definitely lucky to be alive!
                                              http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...049595,00.html
                                              Why couldn't this have happened to John Terry.

doubt it, threads lock for a reason,
                                                Not happy, will defo read game thread anyway

I made an offer near the end of the thread that if someone who hasn't played wants my place they can have it. Don't think you played it last time, so you can have that space if you want. Probably pm Phantom_Lord to tell him if the thread is locked.
                                                    Are u sure u dont mind though?

No probs. The new thread has reopened, so probably post it there about the change. I can forward you the PM of your role (already received it) when it gets okay'd.
                                                        Thanks Hitchhiker, sound man if ive ever met one

I'm bringing a radio sports journalist along to the Fitz tonight to try and help him understand poker before he goes and does a few interviews at the Irish Open over the Easter weekend.

I intend to briefly explain the rules of poker to him and to give him an idea of the basic concepts such as the importance of position etc.

After that overview what would you say to him to try to steer him towards promoting the game?

Talk about the life skills improved by playing poker?

The social aspects of live play?

The internet explosion in poker?

Any thoughts?
                                                          Organise a small friendly home game for him and his friends. He will love it, they always do. I did one of these recently with people who had never played before and they all loved it. Stress that Tournaments are a "Safe" way to play poker

As a Newcastle fan I wish he'd punched Guttierrez instead .

di canio pulling on the claret and blue one more time in may, im there.

So yesterday the Conservatives opened a social media site called 'Cash Gordon'. One of it's features was that it streamed peoples twitters with the #cashgordon hashtag onto the site.

Unmoderated...
                                                                Without sanitizing the content first...

So if you used a <font> tag you could shout in massive red letters that David Cameron was a knob.

Even better if you sent something in a <script> tag the persons browser would execute that bit of script. So tweet <script>window.location='http://www.labour.co.uk';</script> with the hashtag and suddenly the site starts redirecting people away from your site and off to the Labour Party one.

Full story here.
                                                                Uncovered: How the Tories recycled a US anti-health care site to attack Brown. By Jemima Kiss

I think the OAP Porn was when they took the site down.

(be very, very careful of opening any of the site redirects they list here. Especially any with goat...)

thats excellent

I remember someone asking recommendations for fragrances..........................

******************NSFW**************************

I remember someone asking recommendations for fragrances..........................

http://www.smellmeand.com/gb/
                                                                      yea fairly sure that was posted at the time.

The story first and then the comments are excellent here:

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/wi...on-gets-nasty/
                                                                          Nice. This is just pure pwnage:

Will – you’re the Telegraph’s Deputy Blogs Editor, so I presume you have some sort of understanding of web today and social media – though I’m not sure from your post on this.

Your headline clearly suggests there’s some sort of hit squad sent out by the Labour Party to bring down the site, or that there was some sort of direction from the centre.

Truth is, it wasn’t; enough people, me included, didn’t like the smear, don’t like the hypocrisy – especially being told by the party of Lord Ashcroft that the others are ‘bent’, and then lecturing us on fighting ‘vested interests’ like Cameron did at the weekend (and I dare say it works both ways btw); it’s insulting to our intelligence, and a cackhanded attempt by the Andy Coulson spin machine to bully and cajole the news agenda to fit his and the Party’s agenda. It may have worked for a Mr A Campbell, but it isn’t like that anymore. And it’ll only get worse for old-time media manipulators like Coulson.

The Twittersphere was simply used extremely effectively to draw attention to it by those who hated this smear, and any number of people then did enough to bring the whole project crashing down to earth. It also wasn’t helped by creators and advocates like @samuelcoates (presumably from Tory HQ) boasting that the open hashtag was all part of the plan, which just became an open invitation to anyone with a degree of knowledge of ‘hacking for beginners’ to bring the site crashing to earth.

In this sorry episode, the Tories failed to understand just how careful you’ve got to be with the nascent ‘Web 2.0′/Social Media as it can blow up in your face as much as be the heart of a great campaign.

I’d also add that people have had enough of the presumption that everyone will just do what they’re told like they’ve done before. This isn’t the UK election where social media became a central campaigning tool, but it is the election where everyone – the Tories in this case – learned some valuable lessons for the future. IMO of course

Originally posted by percy007 View Post
                                                                              i remember someone asking recommendations for fragrances..........................

******************nsfw**************************

what an age we live in

lol Hanafin in Arts and Coughlan in Education. Crazy world!
                                                                                maybe the bould Mary C can introduce the study of evolution onto the cirriculum

and Hanafin has a track record in creativeness, for example how she justifies holding on to her teachers pension

it all makes sense you know, that Cowen lad isn't some drunken gobshite from the back of beyond, nosirree

Need some help BBV.. whats a good sample size for 5nl?

@ Coughlan. Although then again I don't remember learning evolution in school - in fact, fairly certain we didn't learn it. Was that an anomaly for my school, or has it only started being widely taught? (dropped all science subjects after Junior though so maybe that's it)
                                                                                      I was jesting....

@ Coughlan. Although then again I don't remember learning evolution in school - in fact, fairly certain we didn't learn it. Was that an anomaly for my school, or has it only started being widely taught? (dropped all science subjects after Junior though so maybe that's it)

At least Hanafin has an element of brightness to her (and imo a good record). Scary thought though that school teachers get to run these huge departments. Can't imagine how a degree in Arts can help you in that situation!

ECONOMICS OR LAW OR NOTHING AMIRITE?

silence you arty-farty type, keep your dangerous counter-revolutionary talk to yourself

it was arts grads who got the country in the state it's in, dontchaknow

Originally posted by hitchhiker's guide to... View Post
                                                                                              well those are fairly obvious places to start. Plus add in some business school people also. If we look at big companies, i can't imagine anyone at the top has an english degree tbh.
                                                                                              lol, narrow views on forms of education / training and the value of practical experience ftw

Lloyd I have a degree in Arts and have worked as a teacher and I can tell you that neither of those thing would be any use whatsoever in the logistical management of an enormous government department. Now, if she was a principal of a school (I honestly don't know if she was) then that would help to some degree but I can assure you an Arts degree would give her no tangible benefit.

That said I also have a law degree and am about to have my BL (touch wood) and I can tell you that neither of those would be much use either other than they require a FAR higher level of discipline and time management to achieve imo.

I cannot see how Hitchhikers post is in any way wrong. An Arts degree would give you no tangible skill set that would benefit you when asked to run a Government department.

Reminds me of an old joke:

Two travelling community ladies are "shopping" for new perfumes in boots. Mary is there trying a few tester bottles out and finally finds one which appeals to her. She turns to the Shop Assistant and asks" Whats this one?"

The Shop Assistant replies: "Thats the new Calvin Klein fragrance called Come To Me"

Mary, amazed, asks her friend Brigid "Jeez, brigid, does that smell like cum to you.....!"

Sorry, grabs coat/

Lloyd I have a degree in Arts and have worked as a teacher and I can tell you that neither of those thing would be any use whatsoever in the logistical management of an enormous government department. Now, if she was a principal of a school (I honestly don't know if she was) then that would help to some degree but I can assure you an Arts degree would give her no tangible benefit.

That said I also have a law degree and am about to have my BL (touch wood) and I can tell you that neither of those would be much use either other than they require a FAR higher level of discipline and time management to achieve imo.

I cannot see how Hitchhikers post is in any way wrong. An Arts degree would give you no tangible skill set that would benefit you when asked to run a Government department.
                                                                                                    Keith, the very point (that ye have both missed) is that NO UNDERGRADUATE COURSE is training for such a task. Educational training doesn't qualify you in or out for such a role. Suitability would be based on an entire career's worth of learning and experience / intangible skills / honed skills / etc.

As such, why I find his original post ridiculous is the assertion that she would be unsuitable or under qualified on that specific basis. Very lol narrow way to look at things.

Kayroo and Hitchy online at the same time, good. Now I can ask ye boyz a question.

The other half was approached to do a PHD, she sat down and discussed it. However the money was shite. She has a good few years business experience and would be ideal to partake in this research. The guy she chatted with sez mostly PHD are people who come stright through academia and don't have any real business experience . Surely this is not the best way to develop you store of research/information. Also it seems she will be over qualified for most jobs out there when finishing the 4 years. Hitchy what are your views on this?

Jays Hanafin got truely shafted. She should have walked.

Anyone interested in a months membership to www.dragthebar.com?

I have a few coupons to give away as long as you are happy to give me some feedback.

Any collegiates interested in a €13 game in Voodoo next Tuesday?

Log into Facebook to start sharing and connecting with your friends, family, and people you know.

Edit: "For Charity"
                                                                                                            Last edited by Emmet; 23-03-10, 17:06.

I have a few coupons to give away as long as you are happy to give me some feedback.
                                                                                                              Never mind work, Trip Report please of your Thailand adventure?

I'll take one of those from Ciaran, cheers

Keith, the very point (that ye have both missed) is that NO UNDERGRADUATE COURSE is training for such a task. Educational training doesn't qualify you in or out for such a role. Suitability would be based on an entire career's worth of learning and experience / intangible skills / honed skills / etc.

As such, why I find his original post ridiculous is the assertion that she would be unsuitable or under qualified on that specific basis. Very lol narrow way to look at things.
                                                                                                                  I didn't miss that point at all, although perhaps I didn't communicate that very well.

The point I made which YOU missed is that Hitch's original point (an Arts degree isn't much use for that job) is a valid one. In fact, it's so valid that you yourself have accepted it.

I was mostly taking umbrage with the way you think his point was condescending. I actually have those qualifications and I did not find it so. However, having read his subsequent post and your clarifying one (before the one I have quoted) I accept my post reads differently and does not address all the points raised in total.

We are actually totally in agreement, other than I thought your immediate jump to assume Hitch was shitting on us Arts graduates was a bit much.

This tbh.

I learned more in my first 6 months running a business than in two undergrads worth of university education.

Kayroo and Hitchy online at the same time, good. Now I can ask ye boyz a question.

The other half was approached to do a PHD, she sat down and discussed it. However the money was shite. She has a good few years business experience and would be ideal to partake in this research. The guy she chatted with sez mostly PHD are people who come stright through academia and don't have any real business experience . Surely this is not the best way to develop you store of research/information. Also it seems she will be over qualified for most jobs out there when finishing the 4 years. Hitchy what are your views on this?
                                                                                                                      I'm not qualified to comment on this intelligently at all so I'll leave it to Hitch. Great ego boost to be approached though I am sure, congrats to Mrs. Solskjaer.

Would like one of these if possible, really interested in the IggyMcFly vids. Cheers.