I always liked Brady. Used to get a lot of air time on the Strawberry alarmclock when I listened to it back in the day.

Barney Franks a Gay Democrat Congressman from Boston gets stopped by some repulsive creep with a microphone who wants to talk about the forthcoming changes on no ask no tell rules on sexuality in the military.

Chris, none of the developers had limited companies! This was deliberate strategy on their part.

thus, when they were busy shifting assets into their wives names, setting up trusts etc - they were actually circumventing the law with the purpose of defrauding creditors
        Sorry I was not very clear there... what I ment was people form Ltd companies and therefore there is more risk attached to lending to that company therefore the money costs more.
        When Yeats put up the family silver as collateral he was also reducing the cost of borrowing.

Re the developers.... when they were borrowing the money they had no intention of pulling off a scam but when the shit hit the fan they used every trick in the book to keep what they had, most people (imo) would do the same......

Pretty much everybody in this country will pay little or nothing when given the opportunity.

eg.... I pay for sky every month, how much would my sky bill be reduced if nobody stole/streemed the match's for free? (same could be said for music obv)
        twitter
        moneybookers

^^^^^^^

Same could be said for all building work and a lot of service industries.
          twitter
          moneybookers

Even though my 12 month contract is up this month?

A one-time loss of a tenner isn't too bad anyway considering it'll save me over €40 a month going forward...
            Sorry, different story to mine, I thought you just wanted to get rid of a service half way through.

Re: Celtic, the way I see it is that the company failed despite not getting in the FOBT legislation, rather than because of it.
              The company was the most appallingly managed from the looks of it. He got long term leases in large properties beside the main competition, and yet spent feck all on making the place comfortable for the customers. The places were dumps.
              They made zero effort at gaining an online presence, which economies of scale mean they are often the most profitable arm of a bookmakers business.

OK, if Yates wasn't so focused on the FOBT legislation and as a result acquired smaller premesis, fitted them out better, and made more of an effort of the online side of things, perhaps they could have continued, but I doubt it.

Paddy Power have had massive growth over the last number of years, and in the same period Celtic have lost 50% of revenue despite expanding (according to radio yesterday). There must be a reason for this. PP have no FOBTs here either, and they are the biggest Irish company in the country. Mismanagement is the only answer.

Emmet , his greatest hits have it, unless you want the specific albums it's released on this will do ya.

Guy I know HATES him (oh no he doesn't) well that's what he said. Then I ask name some tunes and he says, well apart from those tunes I HATE him. LOL. Same fellow was in my car once and told me John Martyn was murdering 'GLORY BOX'
                By Portishead. WTF. It's amazing. Here is that tuen for those of you who've never heard this fantastic cover.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv2J09XgO2g"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pv2J09XgO2g[/ame]

Originally posted by BallymoreChris View Post
                  Re the developers.... when they were borrowing the money they had no intention of pulling off a scam but when the shit hit the fan they used every trick in the book to keep what they had, most people (imo) would do the same......

Pretty much everybody in this country will pay little or nothing when given the opportunity
                  Fair enough, but the Irish people aren't asking too much by expecting developers / bankers / other business failures who attempt to defraud their creditors (usually the banks, which are now ours, so ultimately the ordinary taxpayer) be dealt with swiftly and severely by the powers-that-be. The authorities have said that they will chase these people to the ends of the earth to get what they can but...talk is cheap, isn't it?

Even the business friendly Americans have managed a few perp walks to make it seem that the wheels of justice eventually move against even the most well-connected business failures! What happens in Ireland remains to be seen and as a pessimist regarding the true intentions of the cosy club of political and business classes in this country I am not sure that many of those owing millions yet living the high life will ever give up the greater portion of their remaining wealth. Sigh...

On the FOBT issue, I really hope these machines are never legalised in Ireland, growing up in Salthill I knew a good few folk addicted to the poker machines in the 'casinos' at the end of the Prom, those machines are a curse!

Hey, any other current account holders with BOI planning to move in the aftermath of the new fees? I'm looking at Ulster Bank but wonder what others think of their current account?

what happened with these btw? (haven't been keeping up with the news obv.)

just saw that we had €30 in charges applied to our current account (never had fees applied before - let the raping commence I assume?)

Ole, would you, or anyone else, know about any classic scifi series along the lines of Forbidden Planet? Can't stand all the modern 'go where no man has gone before' stuff. Really want a series from maybe the 60s or 70s when people actually seriously believed we were going to live on different planets.

/ a tv series along the lines of Barbarella would be fine as well
                      Off the top of my head, early outer limits and twilight zone.

actually, here is a good article.

what happened with these btw? (haven't been keeping up with the news obv.)

just saw that we had €30 in charges applied to our current account (never had fees applied before - let the raping commence I assume?)
                        Well, the charges aren't being introduced until Feb so you need to check out those charges ASAP! Basically BOI are getting rid of the fee-free banking I've enjoyed for many a year (by keeping a minimum of €500 in the current account at all times) and now you need to keep a minimum of €3k in there at all times (no way I'm leaving that in a current account) OR do a load of transactions per quarter, which I know I won't do. Some details here: http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1222/boi-business.html

Basically they are going to rely on customer inertia to commence serious raping; I thought about jumping ship previously but inertia and the fact I've a credit card there with a high limit (never know when that might be useful) has stopped me in the past, no chance I'm sticking with them now. Ulster Bank and TSB are still fee-free current acounts I think.

I wonder if I can close my BOI current account but keep the credit card account, just link the monthly payments to the new non-BOI account? That would be the best of both worlds, god knows if my new bank will even offer a basic credit card to me, considering my lack of gainful employment at the moment!

Trying to do my end of year self-assessment at work - my first time doing one, it sucks!

Only a couple of days until kick off for the prem predictions comp lads, 5star needs some proper competion this time!

The revised start day is this Saturday. Will take entries until the first game kicks off.

Edit: I think that next Wednesdays Blackpool v Liverpool game is the first prem game due to FAcupness this weekend.

Well, the charges aren't being introduced until Feb so you need to check out those charges ASAP! Basically BOI are getting rid of the fee-free banking I've enjoyed for many a year (by keeping a minimum of €500 in the current account at all times) and now you need to keep a minimum of €3k in there at all times (no way I'm leaving that in a current account) OR do a load of transactions per quarter, which I know I won't do. Some details here: http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1222/boi-business.html

Basically they are going to rely on customer inertia to commence serious raping; I thought about jumping ship previously but inertia and the fact I've a credit card there with a high limit (never know when that might be useful) has stopped me in the past, no chance I'm sticking with them now. Ulster Bank and TSB are still fee-free current acounts I think.

I wonder if I can close my BOI current account but keep the credit card account, just link the monthly payments to the new non-BOI account? That would be the best of both worlds, god knows if my new bank will even offer a basic credit card to me, considering my lack of gainful employment at the moment!
                              thanks, will check out Ulster. It is a pain to move accounts with having to set up new direct debits etc so you're right in that inertia and laziness will trap many into paying these fees. Feckers. Maybe counter by sending them a bill for your share of the recapitalisation costs?

we probably dipped below 500 in Dec which might explain fees being applied

requiring a 3k balance on a current a\c is nuts

Trying to do my end of year self-assessment at work - my first time doing one, it sucks!
                                "I am mighty altogether, so I am"

there you go

UGH, self assessment sucks so much - it is more a case of 'what do I think the management thinks I should put down' rather than being completely honest. Plus for those of us who don't like bigging ourselves up, we can do ourselves serious disservice by being modest or level-headed in assessing our achievements; you have to also factor in what our colleagues are writing about themselves!

If I had to assess the concept of self assessment, I would assign it a grade of D- and note that it is largely a waste of time

Fair enough, but the Irish people aren't asking too much by expecting developers / bankers / other business failures who attempt to defraud their creditors (usually the banks, which are now ours, so ultimately the ordinary taxpayer) be dealt with swiftly and severely by the powers-that-be. The authorities have said that they will chase these people to the ends of the earth to get what they can but...talk is cheap, isn't it?
                                    I agree with you... the banks are now ours and we should go after these guys, what I am also saying is we all take advantage and defraud/steal every day and as a nation we do it to the max based on the circumstances we find our self in.
                                    twitter
                                    moneybookers

"I am mighty altogether, so I am"

there you go
                                      I had that down as a sort of banner headline along the top

UGH, self assessment sucks so much - it is more a case of 'what do I think the management thinks I should put down' rather than being completely honest. Plus for those of us who don't like bigging ourselves up, we can do ourselves serious disservice by being modest or level-headed in assessing our achievements; you have to also factor in what our colleagues are writing about themselves!

If I had to assess the concept of self assessment, I would assign it a grade of D- and note that it is largely a waste of time
                                      You reckon talking yourself up as much as you can get away with is better than the moderate approach then?

I agree with you... the banks are now ours and we should go after these guys, what I am also saying is we all take advantage and defraud/steal every day and as a nation we do it to the max based on the circumstances we find our self in.
                                        the two highlighted items are totally different things

I'll 'take advantage' (e.g. avoid tax by legal means) but I won't 'defraud\steal' (i.e. evade tax)

I don't believe that we all 'defraud\steal' to the max. Maybe you do?

This is released today for those of you interested

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=orxtqKeHEOs[/ame]

Just home from seeing it and its very good Danny Boyle does the movie good James Franco is terrific in it but that scene were he cuts his arm off is pretty intense was surprised myself it aint for the faint of heart.

the two highlighted items are totally different things

I'll 'take advantage' (e.g. avoid tax by legal means) but I won't 'defraud\steal' (i.e. evade tax)

I don't believe that we all 'defraud\steal' to the max. Maybe you do?
                                            I know they are 2 different things......thats why I put both in!

My grandmother never stole anything but if she was about to buy the "Three Tenors" cd and I stopped her and told her I could download it for free she would take it?

Everybody has their own comfort zone as to where they draw the line, but everybody does it to some degree, we only argue about where the line is.
                                            twitter
                                            moneybookers

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJqSjzSKZpM&feature=player_embedded[/ame]

Boss ask's his new pretty assistant would "she sleep with him for a million dollars?"

She smiles and asks is he "serious?"

He laughs and says "no sorry I don't have the mil. What about if I give you a $100?"

She gets upset and says "what type of girl do you think I am?"

He responds "I've already established what type of girl you are, we are just discussing a price"
                                                twitter
                                                moneybookers

thanks, will check out Ulster. It is a pain to move accounts with having to set up new direct debits etc so you're right in that inertia and laziness will trap many into paying these fees. Feckers. Maybe counter by sending them a bill for your share of the recapitalisation costs?

we probably dipped below 500 in Dec which might explain fees being applied

requiring a 3k balance on a current a\c is nuts

was there not something about 4years ago that made it easier to move banks, it was in the papers and the news at the time, something to do with people being "trapped" as it was a nightmare to move from one bank to another and the banks were not very helpfull when you wanted to move.

i remember a few years back we were going to move from boi to halifax, and halifax were doing everything for us as regards d/d's, s/o's and any other payments. there was only one or two d/d that we would have to transfer ourselves as they couldn't do it for some reason or another. anyhow we never moved in the end which was probably for the best.

Off the top of my head, early outer limits and twilight zone.

actually, here is a good article.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Science..._on_television
                                                    loved Blake 7(bbc cheapo effects..)and Buck Rogers. Wilma in buck rogers ........mmmmmmmmm
                                                    Last edited by westlife; 05-01-11, 16:00.
                                                    D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

Probably not what Hitch is looking for, but my favourite Sci-fi evar is Babylon 5.

They fucked up the last season due to a number of things, but 1-4 were fucking unbelievable in terms of story arcs.

Boss ask's his new pretty assistant would "she sleep with him for a million dollars?"

He laughs and says "no sorry I don't have the mil. What about if I give you a $100?"

He responds "I've already established what type of girl you are, we are just discussing a price"
                                                        yeah but it dosn't ever work out

I wanted to dl something so just spent the tenner for 500 rapids, no idea what it means. It says I've 500gigs of dl's left.

Let us know if the speeds have increased on hotfile.
                                                          Yeah was thinking about doing that myself but said may as well give Hotfile a shot instead.

Basically 500 rapids gets you another month of RapidPro as it costs 495 rapids a month to keep it active.

Just got my 3V card topped up so gonna give Hotfile a shot in a few minutes fingers crossed.

Is that not from a Churchill quote?

Robbie Keane close to signing for Birmingham according to Sky Sports...

Paul Brady's best album imo, and has the best Arthur McBride version. Planxty also have a great version, Andy Irvine (possibly the most underated Irish musician) on there comeback tour few years back does a cracking version too. Also started listening to some of Sweeney's Men for first time in ages, love this tune below.

Paul Brady: The (Missing) Liberty Tapes, vocals, fiddle, flute, tinwhistle, uilleann pipes, concertina, mandolin, harmonica, hurdy-gurdy, guitar bouzouki

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTZZgovSEYQ[/ame]

Is that not from a Churchill quote?

Could be... I'm only telling you what she said to me
                                                                  twitter
                                                                  moneybookers

Something strange going on with Betfair Pokers twitter

Who are the best people to follow for transfer rumours and gossip on Twitter too?

It being the season for New Year's Resolutions and all I might as well point people to this thread on boards.

Tbh, I'm actually blown away with the quality and quantity of information gem has compiled there, just a brilliant resource for anyone looking to get fitter/healthier.

I've posted some of Thierry Legault's awesome photos of the ISS and the recently undocked Shuttle passing in front of the Sun before.
                                                                        Thierry outdid himself yesterday when he travelled to Oman to be in just the right spot for the partial solar eclipse.

Large image

Is that a tie-fighter passing in front of the sun

As an ex BOI customer I can confirm you can keep your credit card no problem. Even the standing order to pay it off monthly should transfer seamlessly. As an ex halifax customer who switched to ptsb I can confirm that banks are a lot less helpful to switchers then they were 36 months ago.

The 3k limit isn't relevant to you RD III because I assume the monthly influx into the account exceeds the required amount. Therefore no need to keep 3k in there.

Personally I think its probably pointless to switch from BOI at this stage as all banks will be introducing fees asap now that dem furreign banks have been shown the door. Better to game the BOI rules and do some proxy transactions once a quarter if necessary. Pay your visa in installments in advance for example.

Danny is prob gonna kill me and ban me for this!
                                                                              But I couldnt help it. he has admitted on face book that he love his uggs!!!

Oh lol - the way the boot covers the timestamp is absolutely wonderful

PP shops having great enhanced odds sales today if anyone is interested, Tevez 7/1 first goal scorer, Drogs 9/2 among others...

Oh lol - the way the boot covers the timestamp is absolutely wonderful
                                                                                    no that was actually on the floor in vegas nothing to do with the photo

lool he is deffo gonna block me!!!!

Homeless man with 'golden radio voice' gets his chance

The homeless man with the "golden radio voice" wanted a second chance -- and did he ever get it.

As soon as Ted Williams, a panhandler who became an online hit after video of him begging on an Ohio roadside was posted to the Internet, appeared on a local radio show this morning the offers began pouring in -- including a dream job with the Cleveland Cavaliers and a free house.

Obviously im not very happy about it but its not the worst thing in the world.

Its ok Michelle I will forgive you soon...

Spent last several hours teaching my nana how to use a computer, never used one before. Incredibly difficult!

did that with my dad at xmas wanted to punch him the computer myself.

I signed up for Hotfile today, couldn't be bothered having to do two searches to find the rapidshare stuff.

They have a bonus offer until Jan 10th of 15 months for $55. Seems pretty decent.

The worst is if you try to do something completely irrelevant to them for two seconds without explaining to them:

"What are you doing there now? See how am I supposed to learn if you won't even tell me what's going on"

"I'm closing iTunes you fucking mong! Shut the fuck up!"

End of lesson.

I signed up for Hotfile today, couldn't be bothered having to do two searches to find the rapidshare stuff.

They have a bonus offer until Jan 10th of 15 months for $55. Seems pretty decent.
                                                                                                  y

i think they are brill, i have a direct debit for a fiver a month with them!
                                                                                                  My hubby downloaded an app movies on his ipod and uses my hotfile account to get all his movies straight onto his ipod! class

I use hotfile 123 its brill

Im just signing up for 1 month to see what its like just got it all done there so gonna start to download in a few minutes.

Robbie Keane close to signing for boyhood team Birmingham according to Sky Sports...
                                                                                                        fyp

Something strange going on with Betfair Pokers twitter

Who are the best people to follow for transfer rumours and gossip on Twitter too?
                                                                                                        All the guardian football journalists, basically. Sean ingle, rafa honingstein, barry glendenning, jonathon wilson, sid lowe, paolo bandini etc, throw in zonal marking and you'll have all your possible football news, discussion and rumour sorted
                                                                                                        Last edited by Sledgejammer; 05-01-11, 17:21.

wow.....
                                                                                                          D15 CASINO, Mulhuddart Village (opp Blanchardstown shopping centre)

hehe
                                                                                                            I did this for a living a few years back
                                                                                                            Teaching elderly and back to work how to use a computer and the internet.
                                                                                                            Was fun to say the least.

lol, HMV blaming snow, as opposed to the pointlessness of their product range, for why their sales were disappointing over Christmas. Also they're thinking of selling Waterstones to concentrate their efforts on the HMV stores. Seems slightly misguided strategy-wise given that easily the best choice would be to dump the lot on some cocksure private equity group and liquidate.
                                                                                                              that's kinda funny, I only ever go into HMV to have a look at the books.
                                                                                                              They used to have a half decent line of graphic novels

You Rapidshare abandoners will get your come-uppance!!!

hehe
                                                                                                                  I did this for a living a few years back
                                                                                                                  Teaching elderly and back to work how to use a computer and the internet.
                                                                                                                  Was fun to say the least.
                                                                                                                  Any video tutorials or something I can leave her with?

Have teamviewer setup so I can put stuff on it when I get home too

You Rapidshare abandoners will get your come-uppance!!!
                                                                                                                    Pot Kettle Black?

Just fired up a few there seems to be going ok connection is maxed out but did notice when I used a premium link (one link) it didnt max out at all and went up to only half while it would max out a premium link with Rapidshare

Trial and error I suppose.

Edit: I see its only giving me a maximum of 5 connections on each link even thou I have it set to 10 by default
                                                                                                                    Last edited by tylerdurden94; 05-01-11, 17:46.

Any video tutorials or something I can leave her with?

Have teamviewer setup so I can put stuff on it when I get home too
                                                                                                                      I might have lesson plans floating around somewhere.
                                                                                                                      tbh, probably not it was years ago.
                                                                                                                      there are a few good ideas here
                                                                                                                      Get inspired with snack ideas and tips for healthy, tasty and easy snacking recipes.

generally, hand outs, visual aides,BASIC analogys and patience are your friends here

Pot Kettle Black?

Just fired up a few there seems to be going ok connection is maxed out but did notice when I used a premium link (one link) it didnt max out at all and went up to only half while it would max out a premium link with Rapidshare

Trial and error I suppose.

Edit: I see its only giving me a maximum of 5 connections on each link even thou I have it set to 10 by default
                                                                                                                        Lol i got mine though.

How fast is your connection??

Lol i got mine though.

How fast is your connection??
                                                                                                                          30meg with UPC