And if you had to be born in China or India today where would you choose to be born?

For the purpose of answering this question, please assume that you will grow up indifferent to cricket.
    India does have an amazing collection of mustaches

And if you had to be born in China or India today where would you choose to be born?

For the purpose of answering this question, please assume that you will grow up indifferent to cricket.
      India. For all its faults, it's making a reasonably good fist of democracy.

As an Indian, it's relatively unlikely that my government will decide to torture, murder or otherwise oppress me.

heh. China hasn't been communist for a few decades at this stage.

But yes they do value collectivist ideals. That doesn't preclude democracy in any way. To my mind they're smart enough as a nation to know the time when they need open competition for political ranks. Although maybe that won't be the case, and they'll continue down their own route. But even then its very likely to be some variant of the Singaporean way of running things, which seems very much like a democracy to me.

So its not naive to think they'll become a democracy. But take care of your leg is the main thing. Ouch.
        Singapore isn't much of a democracy. Unless you think having the same party (and family) ruling uninterrupted for 60 years qualifies.

Think Ireland with 70 years of constant FF rule and every Taoiseach called de Valera.

Next Hitch will be proclaiming the amazing democratic structures of Russia.

As an Indian, it's relatively unlikely that my government will decide to torture, murder or otherwise oppress me.
            As a Hindu man, probably not, but as their increasingly nationalistic state governments swing further rightward in the near future things may change.

Singapore isn't much of a democracy. Unless you think having the same party (and family) ruling uninterrupted for 60 years qualifies.

Think Ireland with 70 years of constant FF rule and every Taoiseach called de Valera.
              Ray Dalio refers to the great leadership of Lee Kuan Yew in his "autobiography", I don't know much about the situation but as far as dictators go he seems to have done a pretty decent job.

He basically moved them from a 3rd world country into a 1st world country. Obviously it's not all down to him but it's hard to imagine another political system could have achieved as much in 30 years.

I assume we're all fairly on board with calling America a malevolent democracy for comparison with the malevolent dictatorship of China?
                I think you have to separate the government, particularly the executive, from the institutions there Keano.

So to apply the appropriate nuance missing from your post, Trump might be a malevolent actor but America is not a malevolent democracy.

As a Hindu man, probably not, but as their increasingly nationalistic state governments swing further rightward in the near future things may change.
                  Well beats living in the aftermath of the one child/no girls policy which I imagine is going to create millions of 40 year old virgins over the coming decades.

I think you have to separate the government, particularly the executive, from the institutions there Keano.

So to apply the appropriate nuance missing from your post, Trump might be a malevolent actor but America is not a malevolent democracy.
                    Probably depends which part of Central America you live in.

Ray Dalio refers to the great leadership of Lee Kuan Yew in his "autobiography", I don't know much about the situation but as far as dictators go he seems to have done a pretty decent job.

He basically moved them from a 3rd world country into a 1st world country. Obviously it's not all down to him but it's hard to imagine another political system could have achieved as much in 30 years.
                      Mussolini made the trains run on time.

having a quick browse through the live tournament forum and was reminded of the proposed tournament where 20k people were going to bring their laptops to play in Wembley arena.

Golden days.

Mussolini made the trains run on time.
                          Say what you want about CJ and Bertie but the roads in Ireland are great, they fixed that roads, well my road anyway.

...Came to Reykjavik on New year's day for 4 nights, booked it 10 days before I came as didn't fancy starting the New year in work...I think this is gonna be a yearly plan to start the year abroad...It's a lovely place here, but holy shite It is expensive...Also, the Northern lights tour is a scam!, will rant about this when I'm home...

Next Hitch will be proclaiming the amazing democratic structures of Russia.

To be honest, I dont think I personally know a person more likely to be kompromat-ed
                                Still true today

Greggs doing a solid PR job on this

The next generation of sausage roll technology, introducing the Greggs Vegan Sausage Roll.Features include;Pastry layers: 96Flake resolution: optimalLength: ...

Sassy:

They sent their sausage roll out to newspapers in iphone style boxes with the sausage roll specs on it:

This is also great, Luas hacked, they had their IT guy on TV saying they could not confirm it was hacked:

Infant mortality is what drives those averages. Once you get over that hurdle you can expect to grow a lovely big grey moustache.

And yet despite all the lack of murdering you'll still die ten years younger in India at the grand old age of 64 on average.
                                          Reincarnation baby!

Gonna live for ever, many times.

Say what you want about CJ and Bertie but the roads in Ireland are great, they fixed that roads, well my road anyway.
                                            You asked for it

THE, SAVAGE, EYE, SERIES, 'POLITICS', 'DAVID, MCSAVAGE', 'RTE', 'COMEDY', 'SKETCH'

That's a bit off IMO, more elections does not a democracy make.

There is an argument that through the way the party works and how decision making operates at a local level that China operates well as a democracy up to provincial levels.

Those trapped by the caste system and the majority of women live their short and impoverished lives in deep oppression.

Yep. Raoul is on a weird one. Democracy is not always the best system at each point in time in a country. It has destroyed India for example as they can't do a fcking thing. Singapore is decently democratic now.
                                                'Decently democratic' in a 'politics is a monopoly, controlled by a single family' kind of way?

Singapore isn't really a country anyway.

Paxman has Michael Howard the former home secretary as a team capitan on Christmas University challenge
                                                    Would be class if he asked a question:

"Did you threaten to overrule him?"

Those trapped by the caste system and the majority of women live their short and impoverished lives in deep oppression.
                                                      But indian food tho

How did we get from China not being a democracy and probably not going to be one in the very distant future to whether you'd want to be born in China or India?

Nobody in their right mind would want to be born in either country.

How did we get from China not being a democracy and probably not going to be one in the very distant future to whether you'd want to be born in China or India?

Nobody in their right mind would want to be born in either country.
                                                              I can give you worse choices.

Narrator: When every last shred of dignity and final braincells were deserting him, his meme game still remained like a lightning dagger.

lol, that is good in fairness.

That was a cracking game of football.

I can give you worse choices.
                                                                    Absolutely worse places to live than China or India.

I just don't know how we got there

"China will be a democracy real soon"

"No it won't"

"Yeah, well, would you rather be born there or India?"

[emoji848][emoji848]

Probably the best way to go

Absolutely worse places to live than China or India.

I just don't know how we got there

"China will be a democracy real soon"

"No it won't"

"Yeah, well, would you rather be born there or India?"

[emoji848][emoji848]
                                                                        You need to speak to my colleague, Professor Hiker.

Narrator: When every last shred of dignity and final braincells were deserting him, his meme game still remained like a lightning dagger.

The Dems would want to be insane to run Warren. Or Sanders.

Chairman Lao. Lol WP HH .

ab-sa-fookin-lootly. As a naive outsider who once blindly followed your advice and bet on little marco - all my dosh will be on Beto. That man has the look and feel about him of a contender. He might not get a chance though. There's just no chance that Warren could win as nice as she is. Luckily the selection system is quite good at weeding out people who only play to certain audiences.
                                                                                My liberal friends are already sharing articles about how not supporting Warren is sexism.

Just got back to dallas after 5 days in savannah and charleston. Savannah was an incredible place, open container policy so walking around town with a G&T visiting museums at 9am

Watched the last of the Mohicans (1992ish movie)

I never took to Daniel Day Lewis as Hawkeye (too puny) . Great movie though and the end scene was perfect. I remember reading this as a kid. Has anyone read all of the Leatherstocking tales by J F Cooper. Rate ? Was thinking of giving the other 4 books a read for 2019 ( Hawkeye - nostalgia reasons)

Is it too old fashioned to stick in an RIP now? The guy died last Wednesday

6 days left to get your entry in for the 2019 Multi Sport Competition.
                                                                                          Test your skill in picking winners of 40 events from the top soccer and rugby events down to novelty sports like wrestling and horse-racing.

Testimonials.
                                                                                          Originally posted by Chairman Lao View Post
                                                                                          For anybody who didn't play this in 2018, you really should get involved in 2019.
                                                                                          It's by far the best sports competition I've played. It gives you a good interest in a lot of different sports that you probably wouldn't have any interest in, all in a good way.
                                                                                          You get a full years sweat out of it!

He did a really good podcast with bill simmons a few months ago, well worth checking out

His podcasts are top class. Although I like The Ringer, I miss Grantland, it's a pity it's gone.

Didn't know he was dead, and never knew Al Brooks was his brother

Going to Belfast on Sat, was hoping to fit in a visit to Deanes (seems to be called Epic now) for lunch or pre-threatre but that isn't available. Any recommendations?

The Dems would want to be insane to run Warren. Or Sanders.
                                                                                                      My liberal friends are already sharing articles about how not supporting Warren is sexism.
                                                                                                      ab-sa-fookin-lootly. As a naive outsider who once blindly followed your advice and bet on little marco - all my dosh will be on Beto. That man has the look and feel about him of a contender. He might not get a chance though. There's just no chance that Warren could win as nice as she is. Luckily the selection system is quite good at weeding out people who only play to certain audiences.
                                                                                                      What is so terrible about Warren

Got a new phone from work today and it's the first that hasn't had a headphone port, sad times. Comes with a usb-c adapter that looks silly. I use wireless mostly and still don't like it.

On the plus side the Huawei P20 seems pretty great. Must test out this "use AI to understand the subject of your photo in real time"
                                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 04-01-19, 11:45.

And again

His podcasts are top class. Although I like The Ringer, I miss Grantland, it's a pity it's gone.
                                                                                                              I like the BS Podcast too.

Always wrecks my head the way he kisses the hole of everyone that comes on though.
                                                                                                              And Sal licks his hole too.

Strange for a man who made his name disagreeing with people to agree with every point of every guest he has on.

The 7/5 available on UK leaving EU in March 2019 seems like a bargain. MPs have just no option except to capitulate in the Jan 15th vote. Delaying seems pointless as EU just isn't going to reopen negotiations.

Labour Blairites led by Starmer are committed to only accepting a deal which passes their '6 tests', so they have to Vote No.
                                                                                                                  Corbynistas have agreed to go along with Starmer on this, so have to vote No also.
                                                                                                                  So there is still only around 5 votes (Hoey, Field etc) for May in Labour.

On the government side, David Davis and his cohorts are still sticking to 'the EU will capitulate, hold your nerve' line. Johnson, Raab and McVey resigned because of this deal (or Chequers) so can hardly vote for it now. So many other Tories have said it's a terrible deal that it would be very humbling to suddenly vote Yes.
                                                                                                                  On the not-quite-government side, the DUP still seem to intend to vote against.

Her deal still looks doomed, and I doubt the vote will go-ahead on the 15th Jan.
                                                                                                                  Though ironically your 7/5 bet may still come up just because they are too bloody minded to avoid a crash out.

Do you use Medium much? I might have asked you this already. I have been subscribing to it for a couple of months and come across some good stuff on it but if anyone has any good people to recommend following or anything like that I would be obliged to hear about them.

Hitch is overlooking the significant number of Tory MPs who actually want a no deal brexit.

What is so terrible about Warren
                                                                                                                          She won't win in the swing states. Too easy to paint her as an out of touch 'East coast liberal'.