Screw them

Britain may have forgotten the past, but across the Irish Sea, the troubled relationship – from the Great Famine to the War of Independence – still shapes attitudes.

Over in Brighton & Hove for the weekend. Such a cool place.

Hove in this weather is so like Nice.
      I bet you're looking around for me

Sometimes you need to learn things the hard way.

Taking the kids to the Livarot cheese fair.

I expect this to be something they will remember for many years.

I love how so many French websites still live in the 90s.

All the talk about sky yesterday, I basically stopped watching cricket for years when they got it but they do a real good job... The half hour they spend before the start going through batter and bowler fields/options and the masterclasses they do are brilliant.

Must be great for a kid or someone who coaches kids to see stuff like that when sitting on couch stuffing their face

*They do need to hire the BBC or RTE music guy though, as their music choices, while nice, are always fairly obvious
              Last edited by Guest; 03-08-19, 10:00.

Only 1 week for entries to the fantasy football league. Now with extra pain and misery thrown in.

I'm not saying it's easy to win money but my wife won one of the leagues last year

Old boy is on the ifi. Absolutely wonderful Korean revenge film.

Seems like an implied insult of Brighton there dude.
                    Ha! Definitely a noticeable difference when you cross the border.

I bet you're looking around for me
                    Yeah, I was thinking of you.

Got a nasty bout of food poisoning, guessing from 3x oysters I had as a starter.

Went to bed relatively early, idea being not to peak too early in the long weekend. Was looking forward to running Brighton and Hove parkrun.
                    Woke at 3am doubled up in pain. Spent the next four hours camped on our host's bathroom floor trying to get some sleep in between bouts of my body violently evacuating everything from it from both ends.

Nasty. Body did a good job of clearing it though as I feel ok now. Horrible shit.

I love how so many French websites still live in the 90s.
                      The country often seems stuck in a bit of a time warp. Although that's part of the charm imo.

Got a nasty bout of food poisoning, guessing from 3x oysters I had as a starter.

Went to bed relatively early, idea being not to peak too early in the long weekend. Was looking forward to running Brighton and Hove parkrun.
                        Woke at 3am doubled up in pain. Spent the next four hours camped on our host's bathroom floor trying to get some sleep in between bouts of my body violently evacuating everything from it from both ends.

Nasty. Body did a good job of clearing it though as I feel ok now. Horrible shit.
                        In Shanahans with GAB and a few from here during Cheltenham last year.

GAB - We'll get oysters to start, how many you want?
                        Dice - 0
                        GAB - full on Mrs Doyle, ya will ya will go on go on ya will - I'll get ya 4.
                        Me -

Cue 3 days later me crawing to the start of Day 2 of the IO coz I had prepaid in the week before and couldn't even get out of the jacks for any Day 1.

Only slight solice was GAB had been in the same boat.

In Shanahans with GAB and a few from here during Cheltenham last year.

GAB - We'll get oysters to start, how many you want?
                          Dice - 0
                          GAB - full on Mrs Doyle, ya will ya will go on go on ya will - I'll get ya 4.
                          Me -

Cue 3 days later me crawing to the start of Day 2 of the IO coz I had prepaid in the week before and couldn't even get out of the jacks for any Day 1.

Only slight solice was GAB had been in the same boat.
                          I wouldn't mind but they were delicious.

The smell of them coming out of a jacks at 5am causing me to puke more than I probably would have means they were the last oysters I've ever ate.

I wouldn't mind but they were delicious.

The smell of them coming out of a jacks at 5am causing me to puke more than I probably would have means they were the last oysters I've ever ate.
                            thats odd, you'd usually know bad oysters immediately either by taste or smell.

Robin Hood is one of the good guys right?

If they want to do stuff like region block content or lock customers into shite contracts while giving new customers better deals, I'll continue streaming.

Watching a perfect (paid but not legal) streams of Mayo Donegal as I type.

The two guys have battled through to get to the final and spent time choosing six tracks out for us. Get out and vote!

Steve Smith must be cursing his luck being part of this Aussie side. One of their greatest of all time in one of their worst sides.

He is one of the last proper 5 day players on the planet, he would probably feel the same frustration in almost every other team about at the moment

Loving Tool being on streaming platforms now. All their albums are in the top 10 on iTunes already.
                                        Finally a bit of Spotify action with them.

In the 6star camp here, never heard of them. Any particular song worth a first listen?
                                            Sober, clearly not something you've experienced recently

In the 6star camp here, never heard of them. Any particular song worth a first listen?
                                              I doubt most people here will like them at all.
                                              As for hearing of them, they haven't had an slbum for 13 years, have never been on streaming platforms until yesterday. have an album coming out in a few weeks so the streaming stuff was great marketing.
                                              The albums are pretty different, here is some person's view on reddit:

Everyone will have different opinions, because the albums all have different vibes and people enjoy them in different orders.

Here is an easy break down (that is subjective, and largely my own interpretation. Grain of salt needed). Choose what you think you'd enjoy most and perhaps start there.

Opiate: Earliest work. Very rough around the edges, and not a good point of entry. It's good, of course, but not where you should begin in my opinion. The theme mostly centers around resentment toward religion and ideology.

Undertow: The first major release, recorded at Sound City (a legendary studio if you aren't familiar). Not as musically complex as later works, which has a lot to do with having the original bass player on this album. He was replaced with our beloved Justin, who really did bring a new dimension to the music. This album focuses on pain, abuse, anger, and sort of wallowing in the muck of it all. It's about acknowledging issues and bringing them to the surface. Notable tracks are Bottom, 4 degrees, and Prison Sex. There is an incredible duet between Maynard and Henry Rollins in Bottom.

Aenima: From this point forward, Tool has really developed and favorite albums can range from any of these going forward for most people. Their talent in Aenima on, musically, is (arguably) unmatched in their own way. Aenima is about purging the inner demons brought up in Undertow, and then some. It's full of Jungian psychology and acknowledging the need for inner growth. Songs like Pushit, Jimmy, H, and 46+2 specifically tackle these issues beautifully. They are some of Tool's best work (again, in my opinion). This album is absolutely a prime starting point, and my recommendation.

Lateralus: The spiritual album. This is after the inner work, and the realizations that came of it. This is the awakening. Songs like Lateralus, the Grudge, Parabola - just incredible masterpieces. Most fans that I've spoken to consider this their greatest album and work to date. I can't say I disagree. This entire album is a masterpiece.

10,000 Days: The album of reflection and healing, and the most mature of the albums. Incorporating all of what the others went through, which are direct reflections of Maynard's journey and mental state. That's why he hides on stage. He has said that he is only 1 of 4 instruments, and not a focal point or a front man in the traditional sense, but also that these songs are incredibly personal and raw for him. They are not frivilous. They're personal. Through his albums, we've watched him evolve, grow, and heal, and he helped many of us to do it alongside him through interpreting of the songs in a way that works for you. a TOOL for your own growth, if you will.

Notable songs on 10,000 Days (a reference to how long his mother suffered in her condition following an aneurysm that occurred when he was 11 years old - also referenced in a handful of other songs, like Jimmy, "Judith" by A Perfect Circle, etc.) are Wings for Marie 1+2 (listen to them back to back as it's intended), Reflection, Rosetta Stoned, and Vicarious.

Salival is a live album, with some variation on past songs. Notably, Pushit is amazing on this short, live album. Not a good starting point, but Tool porn for fans.

That's my own breakdown, and FULL of my own subjective opinion, but I hope it helps you decide where to start. Welcome to Tool, man.
                                              Aenima, lateralus or 10,000 days albums. With the latter being the softest.

Some cool fan made videos here:

Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 03-08-19, 20:53.

Any entries for IPB Golf next Friday?

Still a few slots left for those interested

He'll be remembered for being a cheating scumbag like Lance Armstrong.

And having the batting style of an epileptic on speed.

I'd say oysters get blamed for far more food poisoning than they're responsible for. They just *look* guilty. And the three-day old rice that was also served with the meal gets off scot-free.

Had oysters in Cancale recently. As I'd say most people know it's the most famous home of oysters. Couldn't shake the feeling that Howth's oysters are better. Where does Howth get their oysters from? (please don't say Cancale)
                                                    Carlingford you would think.

I'd say oysters get blamed for far more food poisoning than they're responsible for. They just *look* guilty. And the three-day old rice that was also served with the meal gets off scot-free.

Had oysters in Cancale recently. As I'd say most people know it's the most famous home of oysters. Couldn't shake the feeling that Howth's oysters are better. Where does Howth get their oysters from? (please don't say Cancale)
                                                      I've normally an iron stomach, had monkfish and pork belly main but oysters have got to be the culprits.

Menu the other night had 3 options, Jersey, Carlingford and Cornish.

Cornish was the nicest imo.

Class place..

The Salt Room, Brighton's is an award winning modern British seafood and grill restaurant. Experience the best seafood and grilled meat in the city.

I've normally an iron stomach, had monkfish and pork belly main but oysters have got to be the culprits.

Menu the other night had 3 options, Jersey, Carlingford and Cornish.

Cornish was the nicest imo.

Class place..

https://www.saltroom-restaurant.co.uk/
                                                        Which were the nicest coming back up

I was too late with the coming up, they were fast tracked out the rear exit. Had all blended into one by then.

Old boy is on the ifi. Absolutely wonderful Korean revenge film.
                                                            Have tickets booked for Wednesday night as am out west until Tuesday. Can't wait, have only seen it before on DVD so really looking forward to seeing it on the big screen.

Decent article in the IrishTimes today about Uigher situation in Xinjiang.
                                                              Journalists & diplomats allowed a state visit to some centres recently, the numbers are staggering, nothing about the organ harvesting but incredible how much the region is monitored by Chinese government

2nd series starts Friday night BBC2 8pm.
                                                                Bob Mortimer really is something else

Bob Mortimer: “For the past 15 years,I have performed my own dentistry.“ Series 11 Episode 4. The guests are Susie Dent, Bob Mortimer, Ore Oduba and Stacey S...

Genius!

Rio Ferdinands beird looks a bit wrong

Looks a bit drawn on and bit too far away from the jawline

Rio Ferdinands beird looks a bit wrong

Looks a bit drawn on and bit too far away from the jawline
                                                                      Cricket season m8

Had a bet on it!

When Woakes and Broad were batting Aus were 7/2, 4/1

As I saw the price and was thinking , Broad got out and it halfed

That 2/1 looking big now!!!

Great to see Diarmuid Connolly back in the blue jersey.

Delighted to see him again. Wonder will we see him in a competitive game instead of this procession. Played well too

Why such a late declaration from Australia today. England wouldn't have been able to chase 330 at the very least they should have stopped once the lead was 350.

Women's golf was amazing

20 yr old Girl who won; Japanese rookie; first major; never even played outside Japan; smiling and playing with crowd and caddie whole way round; eating sweets into camera lens every chance she got!

Front 9 level par for week
                                                                                Back 9 18 under

20 ft Putt on last to win, hits it like a rocket, it it missed it would have went miles

Gonna be a superstar, her and the Korean girl could make women's golf!
                                                                                Last edited by Guest; 04-08-19, 18:03.

'Smiling Assassin' would be a great nickname like Laura Davies said

Why such a late declaration from Australia today. England wouldn't have been able to chase 330 at the very least they should have stopped once the lead was 350.
                                                                                    Modern test cricket very rarely ends in draws anymore unless there's significant weather delays. They'll fancy their chances England wont manage to bat through the day.
                                                                                    Last edited by The Situation; 04-08-19, 21:07.

Modern test cricket very rarely ends in draws anymore unless there's significant weather delays. They'll fancy their chances England wont manage to bat through the day.
                                                                                      The point still remains that the last 30 runs (which is ~30 minutes, 8 overs) that they added seem fairly pointless. And it's still true even if they skittle England out in a session.

Aussies have pretty much always waited for massive leads

Crowd the bat, get spinner on, wickets tumble!?

The point still remains that the last 30 runs (which is ~30 minutes, 8 overs) that they added seem fairly pointless. And it's still true even if they skittle England out in a session.
                                                                                          I dunno, Jason Roy is pretty aggressive top of the order, not sure he was gonna daudle along holding out for a draw like Cook would have in the past. A better safe than sorry score seemed smart to me considering oppositions cavalier batting lineup

As soon as the other team have a chance of winning, defensive field, strangle their run rate, create a different type of pressure and try Nick an important wicket

Extra 20 minutes at England could have put the shits up them
                                                                                            Last edited by Guest; 05-08-19, 02:20.

Aussies have pretty much always waited for massive leads

Crowd the bat, get spinner on, wickets tumble!?
                                                                                              During the Pointing era they were always willing to make a risky declaration as they went for the win first

True

What is Roy thinking there. Looked like he was trying for a 6. These modern lads do not know how to play defensive final day of tests.

He's a product of his time. Boom, bash but technique not up to five day cricket.

could you do a brief explanation of what the difference is? I've never really followed test cricket, how does the different ball impact it for example?

Scumbag needs to go the the theater or go for drive in an open top car!

Hard to bate a good old fashioned England collapse all the same

It's like he's a comedian reacting to a heckler!

God grant me the serenity to accept a week of people whining about the Mayo V Donegal match not being on free to air tv. Though in fairness to the people moaning at least they had the morals to resist streaming it
                                                                                                              Last edited by Guest; 05-08-19, 13:49.

Bees and wasps seem to like sunflowers

God grant me the serenity to accept a week of people whining about the Mayo V Donegal match not being on free to air tv. Though in fairness to the people moaning at least they had the morals to resist streaming it
                                                                                                                  The latter would be so much harder to listen to imo.
                                                                                                                  I've never heard any person in real life moaning about the latter though. Probably says something for the company I keep.

could you do a brief explanation of what the difference is? I've never really followed test cricket, how does the different ball impact it for example?
                                                                                                                    Test cricket batting is about occupying the crease and maintaining focus for hours. You need close to perfect technique and mentality. Conditions play a huge part.

One day cricket is about scoring quickly. It doesn't much matter how but you have to attack.

Test cricket is chess. One day cricket is snap.

It's like he's a comedian reacting to a heckler!
                                                                                                                      That's exactly what it is

I come to you in search of a word.

We have a kids bed that looks a bit like this. As it is drab as fuck, we got a cover for the top of the bed to drape down over the sides and make it feel nice.

What is the word for something like that?

IKEA suggests 'bed tent' but thats a whole different idea to what this thing is. The type of thing I'm looking for fits like a fitted sheet on the top.

The closest I got was 'canapy', but that seems like a whole different idea.
                                                                                                                          Might be valence sheet.