News just said a metre of snow coming
    In places. You won't get a metre of snow I'd imagine.

My colleague in Boston nearly shat himself laughing when he was told we'd shut down the entire country for this.
      Tell your colleague in Boston that us v them for handling snow is hardly a fair comparison

Fucking Irish

Every other country on planet-> "Thank fuck we didn't get the worst of it"

Irish-> "Aaaahhh for fuck, none of the neighbours have frozen to death yet!"

I know the bread thing has been done to death but it's to the forefront of many peoples mind.

This morning i was clearing the car of snow and guy living across the road was parking his van, had few supplies.

I'd know him to see but never spoken to him, he proceeded to tell me tescos was closing at 12.00, it was 9.30, and i should get there now for bread. i thanked him and made some small talk about the weather, he told me another 3 times over the 90 second conversation that tescos was closing at 12 and i better get there quick to get bread. Really did well to keep a straight face.

It's only little snow dust and seems almost like rain but it's quite effective out my way, D15. Poured a bucket of hot water into the garden to melt a patch down to the grass and the dust had it filled up again in 20 minutes. It's not sticking to cars though for whatever scientific reason.

My colleague in Boston nearly shat himself laughing when he was told we'd shut down the entire country for this.
              Point out to him that we can get a game of football finished in less than two hours without the need for an army's worth of specialist equipment and a team of spinal surgeons on standby.

Bird from the wire was letting aer lingus have it on the news earlier

Just say Trump to that Boston lad laughing at Ireland.

Point out to him that we can get a game of football finished in less than two hours without the need for an army's worth of specialist equipment and a team of spinal surgeons on standby.
                    Also point out that our primary school children don't have to do mandatory active shooter drills in school.

Bird from the wire was letting aer lingus have it on the news earlier
                      Like a drunk in a midnight quoir?

Leonard Cohen m8. No as in the character Bird from The Wire tv show. Also a rapper in a group called Onyx

Ach, I knew that.

Music video by Onyx performing Slam. (C) 1993 The Island Def Jam Music Group

airport were fucking up big time today, telling people to go home that their flight was cancelled and the flights weren't. Another brother was moving to London today, or so he thought. Bit disheartening to be told to leave and then your plane takes off haha.

Heard a good line today...

In 2018, Easter Sunday and April Fools are on the same day. Get the kids to hunt for eggs... that you don't hide...

Never mind all that , tis hard to get a late beer in Boston , so fk you. Still though we are weather lightweights. Which is a good thing as normally nothing happens .

SP and SatNav making an appearance on rte 1 now

Just say Trump to that Boston lad laughing at Ireland.
                                        That works. He is constantly apologising for him.

This is a really interesting watch, and pretty scary...

Support CaspianReport on Patreon:https://www.patreon.com/CaspianReportBitcoin: 1MwRNXWWqzbmsHova7FMW11zPftVZVUfbUEther: 0xfE4c310ccb6f52f9D220F25Ce76Dec0493d...

Not necessarily. While it doesn't correlate exactly with embarrassment its our best indicator - President Trump won 46.1% of the vote, Trudeau's party only won 39.47% of the vote in their most recent elections.
                                            Genuinely can't tell if this is a troll job or just a very poor grasp of numbers. wp or lolJack whatever the case may be.

Power out sigh. Fire alarm started going off too. American guy downstairs was in a serious quandary about disabling the system.

"I'd say we'll be ok for tonight mate"

Power out sigh. Fire alarm started going off too. American guy downstairs was in a serious quandary about disabling the system.

"I'd say we'll be ok for tonight mate"
                                                He was probably confusing the sound with the active shooter alarm from his high school days.

Now that is snow, holy moly. 1982 again.

5 foot drifts out my way.

Now that is snow, holy moly. 1982 again.

5 foot drifts out my way.
                                                    Its grand in town, spooky because its so quite but only about 2 inches.

Foot in some spots here. Stuck in a pub all night. Doesn't even make it better. I'm still here.

Not as much here as expected, although still a good bit more than yesterday. I'm a little disappointed that the car isn't almost snowed under though. It almost like cars have anti snow properties there is so little on a lot of them.

Oldie but goodie

These are sentences exactly as typed by medical secretaries

1. The patient has no previous history of suicide.

2. Patient has left her white blood cells at another hospital.
                                                          3. Patient's medical history has been remarkably insignificant with only a 40 pound weight gain in the past three days.

4. She has no rigors or shaking chills, but her husband states she was very hot in bed last night.

5. Patient has chest pain if she lies on her left side for over a year.

6. On the second day the knee was better and on the third day it disappeared.

7. The patient is tearful and crying constantly. She also appears to be depressed.

8. The patient has been depressed since she began seeing me in 1993.

9. Discharge status:- Alive, but without my permission.

10. Healthy appearing decrepit 69-year old male, mentally alert, but forgetful.

11. Patient had waffles for breakfast and anorexia for lunch.

12. She is numb from her toes down.

13. While in ER, she was examined, x-rated and sent home.

14. The skin was moist and dry.

15. Occasional, constant infrequent headaches.

16. Patient was alert and unresponsive.

17. Rectal examination revealed a normal size thyroid.

18. She stated that she had been constipated for most of her life until she got a divorce.

19. I saw your patient today, who is still under our care for physical therapy.

20. Both breasts are equal and reactive to light and accommodation.

21. Examination of genitalia reveals that he is circus sized.

22. The lab test indicated abnormal lover function.

23. Skin: somewhat pale, but present.

24. The pelvic exam will be done later on the floor.

25. Large brown stool ambulating in the hall.

26. Patient has two teenage children, but no other abnormalities.

27. When she fainted, her eyes rolled around the room.

28. The patient was in his usual state of good health until his airplane ran out of fuel and crashed.

29. Between you and me, we ought to be able to get this lady pregnant.

30. She slipped on the ice and apparently her legs went in separate directions in early December.

31. Patient was seen in consultation by Dr. Smith, who felt we should sit on the abdomen and I agree.

32. The patient was to have a bowel resection. However, he took a job as a stock broker instead.

33. By the time he was admitted, his rapid heart had stopped, and he was feeling better.

For the sake of your health - stay away from hospital

How long did the snow hang around in 2010? Seem to remember there were still big piles of dirty snow more than a week after the last big snowfall - wonder will this year's dump hang around as long? I'm guessing there will be flooding one way or the other.

Not looking forward to another day of captivity.

John Higgins vs Ronnie O'Sullivan on Eurosport at 10 am should be decent.

Not looking forward to another day of captivity.

John Higgins vs Ronnie O'Sullivan on Eurosport at 10 am should be decent.
                                                                Eh?. That's the evening game?

Fuck sake...Last I checked Flashscore last night it was showing 10:00!

My Romanian friend is supposed to fly back to Duin today, rescheduled until Tuesday. I tell him it's not too bad as he gets an extra weekend at home, he says no its bad, it's the same in Romania but cars still drive and planes stil fly. Don't think he's happy

You been out for a walk today? Is Aldi open?

The outcome of the coalition vote in Germany on Sunday going to be very interesting. The youth wing of the Socialists is very anti the Grand Coalition with Merkel but most predictions saying it will pass by a small majority. However, even the Guardian calling for it not to pass as if it does the AfD will be the opposition and get significant airtime and speaking time. So Germany in sort of a no win situation on this.

Throw in the very exciting Italian election on Sunday as well, big day!

cabin fever starting to exert pressure now.
                                                                          reduced to playing with wrapping paper to keep daughter amused.
                                                                          You would think a house full of toys and unlimited media would do the job

The IT are trying to put V out of business. "Forget about the pension, buy a gaff!"

reduced to playing with wrapping paper to keep daughter amused.
                                                                              You would think a house full of toys and unlimited media would do the job
                                                                              We started playing football. I might break out the laundry basket and the brush and start pushing her up and down the hall. A guaranteed winner!

Waist high drifts around the house here and I had to dig out to get out the front door. Wood chopped and in by the fire now.

Went out to the hotel around the corner for lunch yesterday, good atmosphere. Was v tempted to forget about going back to work from home, if I've learned anything from Le Carre it's that something interesting is bound to happen hanging out in the hotel bar with stranded tourists.

The IT are trying to put V out of business. "Forget about the pension, buy a gaff!"

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/...7XCcsP5Q%3D%3D
                                                                                  You probably missed the pension announcement by the govt on their plans for pensions on the 28th. The industry is golden for the next few years.

A decent summary here.

You probably missed the pension announcement by the govt on their plans for pensions on the 28th. The industry is golden for the next few years.

A decent summary here.
                                                                                    he Government intends to introduce legislation to increase the compulsory retirement age for the public service workforce to 70 for public servants recruited before 1st April 2004
                                                                                    The scene in full metal jacket with the crazy door gunner." Any person that runs is a VC anyone that stands still is a well disciplined VC"

The difference between your company having their IT shit sorted and not sorted

Yesterday
                                                                                      ----------------
                                                                                      Mrs Lao Lao
                                                                                      Got up at 10:30
                                                                                      Made some breakfast
                                                                                      Went to meet her mate, had a coffee, played snow angels with her mates kids
                                                                                      Wandered to the shops
                                                                                      Came back and had a snowball fight with neighbours
                                                                                      Had a bath and did some home made facial malarkey
                                                                                      Snuggled up on the couch and binged watched TV
                                                                                      Watched a movie at 8:30PM

Me
                                                                                      Up and at my laptop at 8:30AM
                                                                                      Two conference calls
                                                                                      4 RFQs fully priced up
                                                                                      All shipments with Asia arranged/few problems resolved
                                                                                      Resolved issues with shipment going to Germany
                                                                                      About a dozen small ad hoc quotes issued
                                                                                      Shipments ex USA arranged
                                                                                      Problems with shipments in India resolved
                                                                                      Problems with shipment ex The Netherlands resolved
                                                                                      Watched a movie at 8:30PM

Up again since 8:30 this morning. She hasn't even stirred yet. I'm not jealous at all, honest...

A decent summary here.
                                                                                        Any impact on the executive pension type things? I any regs relating to trustees there won't be subject to the same f&p rules as proper funds trustees?

Banged up my knee pretty good playing hurling last Saturday. My knee was bent 90' and smacked straight into a thin 3G pitch - was tripped and running at full pelt. Played on like a clown as we had no subs and another guy already went off injured. Could barely walk for the next three days without keeping my leg straight. Swelling has gone down now but still not able to bend it without significant discomfort and pain inside the knee. There's still some yellow bruising from my shin all the way up to my knee. Any medical heads here know the procedure where I can skip A+E/GP and go straight for a scan when hospitals are back to normal?

Any impact on the executive pension type things? I any regs relating to trustees there won't be subject to the same f&p rules as proper funds trustees?
                                                                                            I think they’ll have to change how they treat one person arrangements and take them out of the trust net. Probably mean it’ll cost you more and more waivers etc.

Bust 4th for $320k

Marc Macdonnell (pictured) moves all in from the button for 1,105,000, and Toby Lewis calls from the big blind with 9h9d. Macdonnell turns over Ac7h, and needs to improve to stay alive.

The board comes Qc9s7d5d8d, and Lewis flops a set of nines to win the pot and eliminate Macdonnell in fourth place.

Seat 2. Marc Macdonnell - Eliminated in 4th Place ($319,310)
                                                                                              Seat 3. Dennis Blieden - 9,745,000 (195 bb)
                                                                                              Seat 5. Toby Lewis - 2,765,000 (55 bb)
                                                                                              Seat 6. Derek Wolters - 2,270,000 (45 bb)

You been out for a walk today? Is Aldi open?
                                                                                                Yeah just back. It's closed. Tesco, lidl, Dunnes, super value all closed. That little campus garage is open and the little newsagents beside super value is open. Everything else closed

Went out to the hotel around the corner for lunch yesterday, good atmosphere. Was v tempted to forget about going back to work from home, if I've learned anything from Le Carre it's that something interesting is bound to happen hanging out in the hotel bar with stranded tourists.
                                                                                                  The man with the neat red beard leaned back against the bar, his eyes flickering amusedly over the stranded hen party from Newcastle. A sharpeyed observer would have noted his shoes; shined to within an inch of their life and clearly handmade by a master craftsman. He sipped his whiskey and waited. He was good at waiting, he'd been doing it all his life.
                                                                                                  The revolving door rotated in a complaining fashion and a short, dumpy figure emerged from the snowstorm outside. The figure was so swaddled in scarves and outer garments as to be unrecognisable. A purple nose protruded and sniffed the air suspiciously. The figure walked towards the man with the red beard, stopped a foot short and emitted in a guttural Dublin growl 'the roses in Saint Annes are blooming'.

The red-bearded man smiled.

'Howarya Bertie', he said. 'Come through to the dining room and we'll chat'.

Upon such seeming inanity was the Counter-Revolution of 2018 launched.

I think they’ll have to change how they treat one person arrangements and take them out of the trust net. Probably mean it’ll cost you more and more waivers etc.
                                                                                                    I should know this but what's the future looking like in terms of everyone getting an annualised statement of all fees applied?

The man with the neat red beard leaned back against the bar, his eyes flickering amusedly over the stranded hen party from Newcastle. A sharpeyed observer would have noted his shoes; shined to within an inch of their life and clearly handmade by a master craftsman. He sipped his whiskey and waited. He was good at waiting, he'd been doing it all his life.
                                                                                                      The revolving door rotated in a complaining fashion and a short, dumpy figure emerged from the snowstorm outside. The figure was so swaddled in scarves and outer garments as to be unrecognisable. A purple nose protruded and sniffed the air suspiciously. The figure walked towards the man with the red beard, stopped a foot short and emitted in a guttural Dublin growl 'the roses in Saint Annes are blooming'.

Ah heyor, it's a four star hotel!

I should know this but what's the future looking like in terms of everyone getting an annualised statement of all fees applied?
                                                                                                          KIIDs and PRIIPs don’t apply to pensions at the minute. I’m sure they will in time. I’m sure the autoenrolement rollout will help the fee transparency side of things.

you're up

Jaysis Jack, your boy Trump is making a thick of himself again.

Tweets this morning childishly slating Alec Baldwin, but spells his name wrong, while also spelling 'dying' 'dieing'.

Then a couple of hours later deletes the tweet and retweets it with the correct spellings.

The President of The United States of America.

As "Cabin Fever" sets in it just proves the therory that Dog is a man's best friend. Pets don't talk back.

More costs and paperwork are always a good incentive to save more alright.

Properly snowed in, its a meter deep in the housing estate I'm in and even if I could get the car out the road to home is blocked because of gobshites who wouldn't follow the warnings last night.
                                                                                                                    No real prospect of getting home for a couple of days, stuck here with phone broadband and a 25 year old tv.
                                                                                                                    Got a text from the homecare company this morning saying they will be offline until Monday.
                                                                                                                    I'm happy enough with them taking their people offline yesterday and today but think they were overreacting on Wednesday and would be happier if they said they'd be reviewing tomorrow rather than just closing down.

Brought enough food in with me but only ground enough fresh coffee to do me for two normal days having to ration it now.
                                                                                                                    Just finished getting my study at home all hygged up perfect for a day like this, that
                                                                                                                    I'm getting a clear run at some really tricky shit I'm way behind on in work is the only very small positive in the overall bleak FML
                                                                                                                    Last edited by Strewelpeter; 02-03-18, 13:29.

Tweets this morning childishly slating Alec Baldwin, but spells his name wrong, while also spelling 'dying' 'dieing'.

Then a couple of hours later deletes the tweet and retweets it with the correct spellings.

It's all oddly old-fashioned isn't it?

Trump blethering on about steel. That horse bolted decades ago!

A spelling mistake? Meh makes him seem more human appeals to the masses IMO. Your stíll at the stage of thinking everything the POTUS does must be this polished rehearsed masterpiece, President Trump has changed the game.

Any chemists open around Dun Laoire/Glenageary? I have water trapped in my ear thats driving me crazy. Have tried all the methods google suggests, no joy.