In work , not depressed. I want to make this country great again.

Storm's a comin'.

Originally posted by mtcranium
      Looks ready to blast in, the developing centre can be seen on radar just west of Newport. Ocean buoy data from around 49N 16W confirm that strong winds are already underway south of the tighter isobar structure (which has not been sampled yet) and M6 recently gusting to 52 knots but the pressure wave passed them several hours back.

Would expect this to produce a swath of damaging wind gusts to 125 km/hr in exposed areas from Clare and Galway Bay across to Louth, Meath and Dublin, also some distance into east Ulster. However outside of that swath further to the south local gusts could also reach 120 km/hr, although I think it may be less concentrated there.

Jesus Christ I feel like a car crash victim. Good long 4 hour lesson today. If somebody told me yesterday I'd be flying down the blue slope today, I prob would have said nah honestly can't see it!
        Even jumping off the button seat thing is a feat in itself
        We started mid way :
        Poor mia got some slap. She was going well as we ski across the slope then do left and right hand big turns ( putting big pressure on opposite leg of said turn) really fucking difficult to master.
        She was going nice and slow and then just heading straight down slope, I can't even begin to describe the speed she was going. My fucking heart was in my mouth. She crash landed right down bottom into a fence type thing. I panicked so much over her, I did more or less same thing and busted my shoulder.
        When instructor said cmon we go. Again a little higher I was about to bow out and say fuck this. I just can't master it. Then said ffs this hol cost a fucking fortune get the fuck up.

So I did as did mia, he took mia with him across and down etc etc really really slow she managed it. But refused to get up again and said she'd rather practice a bit lower down.

On my third attempt and several falls later,i finally mastered the turning slowly but got there. It fucking isn't for the faint hearted or unfit people like me!
        Tomorrow now I need to go faster smaller circles and I should be perfect lol

Bit if I caved in that time, I know would not be able to ski! I'm delighted I pushed myself because usually I'm useless in situations like that.

So finally tomorrow I am actually really looking forward to really getting to grips with it and hopefully make the red slope

I would imagine well iv been told actually your first ski hol is learning, any hols after are awesome and obv cheaper.

Weather absolutely fantastic, the views spectacular too. Such a qaint place!

Typing from bed big swollen legs on pillows while nursing a sore shoulder and battered body
        Last edited by SatNav; 02-01-18, 16:56.

Red slopes are far more difficult than the gentle blue ones Michelle. Best of luck, I love ski holidays, but don't go for the red slope if you can't comfortably do the blue ones.

There's a big really wide red one right beside the blue so my plan is tomorrow to get off chair midway and get off on red side which leads you down to bar / exit area as the fucking walk up to that point is horrific. Would be nice to ski to the exit.
            100% will not attempt unless I feel I can and if I do it will be at end of day.
            I'm. Sorry I didn't go to kiltirenan for maybe 3/4 lessons now!

Just cancelled Sky; who is best for replacement TV\BB provider between Eir and Vodafone?

There's a big really wide red one right beside the blue so my plan is tomorrow to get off chair midway and get off on red side which leads you down to bar / exit area as the fucking walk up to that point is horrific. Would be nice to ski to the exit.
                100% will not attempt unless I feel I can and if I do it will be at end of day.
                I'm. Sorry I didn't go to kiltirenan for maybe 3/4 lessons now!
                The sucky thing is once it clicks, it clicks... and if its just a week long holiday the clicking and leaving intersect.

"Trust your edges" is the best advice I ever got.

Just cancelled Sky; who is best for replacement TV\BB provider between Eir and Vodafone?
                  Very brave of you, cancelling while SatNav is out of the country

With Vodafone for tele and broadband no problems in last year and a half ring you the odd time with offers for sky and other items

Eir TV is awful. Gave it back within the 14 day cooling off period.

Very brave of you, cancelling while SatNav is out of the country
                        I was going to post the same, she is going to be so piste off

Obviously gaming her via IM

or maybe she is gaming me

Remember the advice I gave you? Wasn't I right.?
                            Iv just pmd the fucker telling him he will be sorry. And RD of all people I know for a solid fact he will hate Vodafone tv. Someone book mark this post!!!

Ffs I'm. At dinner, table of 15 and talking sky ffs

Iv just pmd the fucker telling him he will be sorry. And RD of all people I know for a solid fact he will hate Vodafone tv. Someone book mark this post!!!

Yep, you were dead right about it.

Depending on what you want to watch on TV, getting the combi saorview/freeview (for UK channels) box using your sky dish could be all you need. No bills for ever then. Here are all the fully free to air channels you can get (plus the usual Irish ones).

Welcome to Freesat.ie, Ireland's leading independent satellite TV retailer, specialising in the sale and installation of satellite and aerial equipment including Saorview and Freesat. 132 Philipsburgh Avenue, Fairview, Dublin 3, Ireland. | Contact us on (01) 6852090 | E-mail: info@freesat.ie |

Shane Long just scored.

Michelle's story reminds me of a couple of years ago. Was in Val Thorens and one of our group was a complete beginner and completley shite at skiing. Anyways there was this class bar (la folie douce) halfway up the mountain which had a fairly tame, but beyond beginner intermediate type (blue?) slope down. Yer man was determined to join us, so got the ski lift up, got steamed in the bar but couldn't get down on the ski lift so sure enough took well over an hour to get down the mountain after on the skis, I'd say about 70% of it on his arse.

Shane Long just scored.
                                        more goals than harry kane this year

Shane Long just scored.
                                          on purpose?

Anyone see Molly’s Game? Looks like it could be good

Reading the book at the moment.

I suspect they all die in the end.

Remote any use?

I don't really watch tv at all so I'm grand

Of course this is all part of the 'save a k here and there so you can take on several hundred k more in mortgage debt' strategy so I'm fucked anyway.

Huge intel processor architecture bug that exposes huge security risk going to cause lots of problems for many. Basically a flaw in the processor has to be fixed in the Operating System.
                                                    Few people would ever have heard about it except that when the linux lads implementing the necessary changes mapped out exactly what they needed to do and as always in computing an acronym fell out.
                                                    To fix it they need to Forcefully Unmap Complete Kernel With Interrupt Trampolines

loads of work

Salyut-7 is a great movie.

Originally posted by Morihei View Post
                                                          Salyut-7 is a great movie.
                                                          Do our cousins have it ?

I did have a crack at it but gave up. Too much for me without looking at oddschecker
                                                            Eh, it's fine to use oddschecker, it's handy to get a guide or at least know that your selection isn't dead already.
                                                            You should put an entry in, otherwise I suspect people will be saying 'ah that dobby didn't think he'd be able to beat mdoug'.

Huge intel processor architecture bug that exposes huge security risk going to cause lots of problems for many. Basically a flaw in the processor has to be fixed in the Operating System.
                                                                Few people would ever have heard about it except that when the linux lads implementing the necessary changes mapped out exactly what they needed to do and as always in computing an acronym fell out.
                                                                To fix it they need to Forcefully Unmap Complete Kernel With Interrupt Trampolines

loads of work
                                                                Kinda odd the ceo of intel sold all of his shares recently no?

This could be a huge thing 30% impact on performance is crazy

Do our cousins have it ?
                                                                  Believe it or not, I've never fully understood that phrase. I watched it here:

g o mo v i es . te ch

It looks like we can no longer buy non-Ucits ETFs in Ireland.

Basically makes any type of index investing nonviable at the moment with the state of the revenue rules for EU based funds.

Probably should have read more of the information around Mifid II but didn't realise this would be an impact of it. Not sure where we go from here with investments.

Eh, it's fine to use oddschecker, it's handy to get a guide or at least know that your selection isn't dead already.
                                                                      You should put an entry in, otherwise I suspect people will be saying 'ah that dobby didn't think he'd be able to beat mdoug'.
                                                                      Ah yeah I know. Was a light joke aimed at the situation after his silly oddschecker comment. I'll let mdoug have one. Would hate to see him whinge about this too.

Kinda odd the ceo of intel sold all of his shares recently no?

This could be a huge thing 30% impact on performance is crazy
                                                                        Yeah, could well be wrong and it turns out to be a damp squib but with the way the game is being played at nation state level you'd have to assume that the exploits are at least in preparation if not in the wild. The way I read it the security hole would be devastating leaving no choice but to patch it quickly and just take the hit, but it sounds like a hit that would be close enough to killing a lot of live systems.
                                                                        Very hard to know how easy it will be to usefully deploy an attack but the cure being speculated about is going to be a very difficult pill to swallow.

A spokesperson for Intel was not available for comment.
                                                                        Good thing we have our own insider to clarify matters for us.

Fake news.

Folk on reddit are talking about it being an intel killer, I'd be surprised it it will go that far but more info will be needed to be made public. I imagine they want Patch Tuesday out of the way before saying more.

Ah stop. Stock will drop a few points, then go back up in a few months.

read the rest of my post....there's not a lot to read but I did say it was unlikely.
                                                                                however, you do seem to be downplaying the impact somewhat

read the rest of my post....there's not a lot to read but I did say it was unlikely.
                                                                                  however, you do seem to be downplaying the impact somewhat
                                                                                  I don't really know anything about it I just think droolers on reddit talking about the end of Intel is a bit stupid. Stock is down ~2% pre-market after rising by 1.5% yesterday.

We'll probably see a chunky decline over the next week and in six months time price will be around $42 a share.

Who else's chips are anyone going to put in their servers?

Best black mirror episodes? Ideally ones without pig sex and similar that a someone might label disgusting.
                                                                                    #NetflixNChill

Folk on reddit are talking about it being an intel killer...
                                                                                      I doubt it too.
                                                                                      Whatever the scale of the impact the outcome is probably a huge increase in demand for cores and even if it makes AMD look like a short term winner there is no way to satisfy demand without Intel.
                                                                                      but more info will be needed to be made public. I imagine they want Patch Tuesday out of the way before saying more.
                                                                                      Dunno if there will be very much more said by intel until they release new cores that don't have the problem.
                                                                                      Then again when you think about it that way it does look very bad for them. How long would it take them to get a finished CPU without the issue on the shelves? Is Leixlip equipped to make the change or indeed is anywhere? Might they have to shut down production in the meantime?
                                                                                      They are going to have to sell the OS performance hit as being minor but you change a load command thats using 5 cycles and make it use 200 its going to be noticed, not to mention all the levels of fucktardery that MS will add to the party.
                                                                                      Right now I wouldn't feel too comfortable to be an economy heavily dependant on the success of intel

My heart goes out to the victims of the Dundalk attack this morning. Very sad.

Be better if you just said what's on your mind.

Quite the stir this is going to cause I'd imagine.

Best black mirror episodes? Ideally ones without pig sex and similar that a someone might label disgusting.
                                                                                            #NetflixNChill
                                                                                            Havent seen too many episodes but enjoyed White Bear and USS Callister and both should fit your requirements.

#prayfordundalk

#NetflixNChill
                                                                                                That kinda goes against the genre

#NetflixNChill
                                                                                                  Be right Back, San Junipero and Hang the DJ would all would all be on the nicer/female friendly end of the scale.

Originally posted by Steve Bannon

They’re going to crack Don Junior like an egg on national TV.”
                                                                                                    The three senior guys in the campaign thought it was a good idea to meet with a foreign government inside Trump Tower in the conference room on the 25th floor – with no lawyers. They didn’t have any lawyers.

Even if you thought that this was not treasonous, or unpatriotic, or bad shit, and I happen to think it’s all of that, you should have called the FBI immediately.”
                                                                                                    Bannon gives up Kushner and Junior, his line seems to be something like I may well be a low life scumbag but at least I'm not dumb enough to be caught red handed being a traitor

Be right Back, San Junipero and Hang the DJ would all would all be on the nicer/female friendly end of the scale.
                                                                                                      San Junipero, Nosedive, White Christmas, maybe shut up and dance.

#NetflixNChill
                                                                                                        Funnily enough, this was also a reply to you over a year ago

I loved it.

Some of the other episodes are pretty close to reality, like 'Nosedive' from Season 3, and 'Where's Waldo' from Season 1, and you'll notice other similarities from others too.

You can watch them in any order across all 3 seasons because they are all just a tale of short stories that making you feel very uneasy about modern society and it puts you in some weird situations.

This is probably my episode ranking for each series (NO SPOILERS), but it would probably change again if i re-watched them.

Fifteen Million Merits (S1, E2)
                                                                                                        People living in a glass box reality world have to pedal bikes to earn merits to purchase stuff and get through life.

The Entire History of You (S1, E3)
                                                                                                        A world where people have implants that allow them to record and rewind previous life events.

The National Anthem (S1, E1)
                                                                                                        The prime minister is blackmailed to have sex with a pig live on TV or else his kidnapped daughter will be killed.

-----------------

White Christmas (S2, E4)
                                                                                                        Feature length episode. Two guys in a log cabin discuss their history with each other.

Be Right Back (S2, E1)
                                                                                                        A guy passes away but his social media history enables him to be 'brought back to life'.

White Bear (S2, E2)
                                                                                                        A woman wakes up no recollection of where she is, and is alone in a world where people follow and film her.

The Waldo Moment (S2, E3)
                                                                                                        A comedian who is the voice of an animated bear becomes a political candidate. (Trump anyone..)

------------------------------

San Junipero (S3, E4)
                                                                                                        2 woman from different ends of the spectrum meet in a bar and strike up a friendship.

Playtest (S3, E2)
                                                                                                        An American guy gets involved in test the to closest to reality 'virtual reality' video game ever made.

Hated in the Nation (S3, E6)
                                                                                                        Feature length episodes about a reporter that ends up dead after picking up a lot of hate over social media.

Nosedive (S3, E1)
                                                                                                        People rate each other on a Trip Advisor style app to determine their role in society.

Shut Up and Dance (S3, E3)
                                                                                                        A teenager is blackmailed when his laptop records him whacking off, and he must take part in a series of tasks.

Men Against Fire (S3, E5)
                                                                                                        The military wage war against a group of 'people' known as roaches, using emhanced eye surgery to help locate them.
                                                                                                        And from the new season:

USS Callister (S4, E1)
                                                                                                        Jessie Plemons stars a quiet CFO for a gaming company where nobody pays him any attention, but back in the comfort of his own home, he has created a unique 60s style Star Trek gaming experience where he flips everything on it's head.

Black Museum (S4, E6)
                                                                                                        A woman stops off a museum of death and torture, and the museum owner fills her full of tales of the different artifacts, until finally showing her the museums 'pièce de résistance'

Hang the DJ (S4, E4)
                                                                                                        An advanced Tinder type app sets people up on dates where they are told how long their relationship will last, as it's all part of the global app to match the best people up for their long term relationships.Stars Peaky Blinders' Jon.

ArkAngel (S4, E2)
                                                                                                        A mother implants the ultimate child monitor system into her daughter, where she can track her with GPS, see through eyes, distort her reality and feel her anxiety.

Crocodile (S4, E3)
                                                                                                        Many years after a couple are involved in a hit and run, their secret shows signs of rearing it's head due to new technology that allows people to view your memories.

Metalhead (S4, E5)
                                                                                                        Eh, a woman goes on the run from robotic dogs who try to hunt her down.

So, non fucked up episodes that you can chill watch during the day? In order..

San Junipero (S3, E4)
                                                                                                        Hang the DJ (S4, E4)
                                                                                                        Be Right Back (S2, E1)
                                                                                                        USS Callister (S4, E1)
                                                                                                        Nosedive (S3, E1)

He's fat and a clown, Bill, a fat clown for all to see

San Junipero, Nosedive, White Christmas, maybe shut up and dance.
                                                                                                            Nope. Hard nope. Paedophilia, murder, pissing yourself.

It looks like we can no longer buy non-Ucits ETFs in Ireland.

Basically makes any type of index investing nonviable at the moment with the state of the revenue rules for EU based funds.

Probably should have read more of the information around Mifid II but didn't realise this would be an impact of it. Not sure where we go from here with investments.
                                                                                                              Pile it into Crypto.

@Tar have you bought many altcoins? I am unsure how to secure them as it seems a tonne of hassle. I don't want to leave money on the exchanges either. I presume with having a few different alts that I have no choice but to secure them in separate wallets for each one?

I see a few stories around now about this being a temporary lack of availability while the various ETF providers etc get the required documentation ready.

Seems strange that they wouldn't have just gotten it ready in advance.

He's fat and a clown, Bill, a fat clown for all to see
                                                                                                                  A spoofer, Bill. a Bengal Lancer.

Who else would ever have thought to claim credit for airline safety though.

@Zod, I did an IPB Bitcoin search and you were the first to talk about it way back in 2011 . Did you get any back then?

from 13th 6th 2011
                                                                                                                        I'm thinking of building a rig & just leaving it run for a month or so.
                                                                                                                        https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig

I did not do this.

Doubt it

if you buy bitcoin you deserve every to lose every penny. The whole system was designed to be corrupted.