Yo folks, I've not been very active on the site the last while but when I checked from time to time I seen some political stuff about Trump etc, got pretty caught up with it all and my Twitter went from following pornstars & page 3 models to activists/political commentators/journalists etc.

I've had some debate/discussion with a friends brother on Facebook and he seems to have gone from being a liberal to a right wing. Lot of Breitbart articles/Fox News and he likes Tucker Carlson, trying to keep a healthy debate going but my brain hurts if I try to read it it's too toxic. How do I engage with him without meting my brain?
    Was watching this previously and reading some of the opinions and thought of your post. Might be of something of interest, might not....

This new documentary about a Nazi rally in New York City in 1939 lasts just six minutes. But if you truly see it, your fear will continue long afterward.

Yo folks, my best mate is getting married this year and I'm his bestman I've seen some bestman stuff posted here over the years, any pointers/tips on writing the speech greatly appreciated.

What's the general etiquette when it comes to the gift seeing as I'm part of the wedding party? I'm gonna get him a nice watch but should there also be something for both?
      Some stuff off the top of my head. Some of it is obvious, but you never know.

- it's ok to have one or two lines that are specific to your group of lads, but generally, keep away from in jokes as most of the audience won't have a clue, so it'll just be tumbleweed stuff.
      - don't mention past women of his in your speech.
      - most of the speech should be kind of funny, slightly embarrassing but not fairly mild, in parts. The rest of the speech should be sincere compliments to both bride and groom.
      - Have a list of those you want to thank written out.
      - Best to have a few bullet points rather than full speech,but if you aren't confident enough to remember it when you're there, full speech is ok.
      - Don't read most of the time or talk entirely just to your mate, make sure to look around the room. If you appear relaxed, it will actually relax you.
      - Don't tell your mate your speech content, but do go over the generic bits, i.e. whether he doesn't want you to thank people as he wants to thank them only, or to make sure you thank everyone he wants thanked.
      - Some best men think they should be the centre of attention. Don't be that one, but being light and humourous is always preferable for best man.
      - Chill out. As mentioned before, you won't get a more understanding audience. Even if you are a bumbling idiot, no one will care or remember in a few days.
      - Practice it at least once, even if just to roughly time it. If it's longer than 15 mins, it's too long (imo), under 5 too short.
      - There is usually someone from the venue who will tell you when to stand up, and who to introduce next if ye are doing the traditional thing, so you don't need to worry about that generally.

On the present thing, it's up to you what you want to do. I would have just given a slightly larger than normal wedding present to the couple, but if you want to get him something specific too that's all good.

Yes it's hard to know what his motivation was here.

Although Wikipedia says this about him during the same time period of 03/04 (when he was, in fact, approaching his mid-30s)

"O'Connor supported the 2003 invasion of Iraq by the United States government.

He wrote frequent articles about the model Katy French, who died on 6 December 2007. French publicly announced her disdain for O'Connor, deeming him a "gutter journalist."[citation needed].

In early 2004, O'Connor enraged some of his colleagues by strongly supporting management during an industrial relations crisis over forced redundancy."
        Think O'Connor was a fully fledged troll in his earlier years. Nice to see him grow out of it. Unlike Ian O'Doherty.
        He appeared to do a lot of growing up and copping the fuck on around about the time he had a child born who has Downs Syndrome.

Something good has come out of the Spacey story, with Netflix deciding to no longer flog HOC to death and cancelling it after the next season.

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-en...-a8028421.html
            Stupid paedophiles. That's why we can't have nice things

I think he lives around the IFSC, quite frequently see him walking about. He looks unhealthily cavernous and gaunt.
              He works in Independent House on Talbot St. most days so he'd be in the area plenty i suppose.

I sat around the corner from him for six months and barely heard him mutter a dozen sentences.

He was there to write and edit so no big surprise i suppose. I never saw more than about 8 or 10 people (at the busiest time towards the end of the week as deadlines loomed) work in the Sunday Indo section which says much about the outsourcing of newspaper work these days. The Sindo especially given its powerful bent towards comment rather than discovery.

Had a meeting with the editor once who warned me off doing anything too cool on digital with their print product and indeed tried to nobble one project the morning it went live fearing he'd lose a few sales.

Amazing how far a once noble profession has fallen. Morale in that building was shocking at every level.

Yo folks, my best mate is getting married this year and I'm his bestman I've seen some bestman stuff posted here over the years, any pointers/tips on writing the speech greatly appreciated.

What's the general etiquette when it comes to the gift seeing as I'm part of the wedding party? I'm gonna get him a nice watch but should there also be something for both?
                no nothing on speech but regards present , should be 200 cash min as hes your best friend.

150 to 200 would be the norm in cards nowadays.

because you are getting the watch maybe just a gift voucher for both for something worth 100 to 150 ?

A boy Jeff.

10/1, hope Ole cashed in!

http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-en...-a8028421.html
                      Saw that earlier . Seems like a convenient excuse came along for something they were planning to do anyway? I don't watch the show but they were fairly quick out of the blocks.

Probably, may aswell and attempt to cash in on a few "fair play to Netflix" points

Yup, many high fives going around that office today I'd imagine.

More Netflix related stuff. Is there a (sufficient) recap at the start of Stranger things season 2 or would I be better served watching the last episode before diving in?

Yup, many high fives going around that office today I'd imagine.

More Netflix related stuff. Is there a (sufficient) recap at the start of Stranger things season 2 or would I be better served watching the last episode before diving in?
                                Watch the last episode imo. I watched it, sister didn't and she was all questions on s2e1

Ah ya, but women.

Sound. I have a notoriously bad memory when it comes to these things . I should probably watch the whole of season one back again.

10/1, hope Ole cashed in!
                                      Nope. Bust the account again 2 weeks ago. Hoping to never deposit again...

I watch sport now for fun.

Although, I did get some entertainment last night watching the Seahawks, some last quarter !

Nope. Bust the account again 2 weeks ago. Hoping to never deposit again...

I watch sport now for fun.

Although, I did get some entertainment last night watching the Seahawks, some last quarter !
                                        I was watching the other game for some reason. Which was pretty good to be fair but missed the shootout

Most recent wedding was at the best man lost his speech just before the dinner (he's still. Sticking to that story) and the speech was only a few mins long then cos he didn't know what to say. Was better than most I've seen so can always try that route

Hi.... How's things?? What have I missed???

alot of late

Lol.... I read that and then randomly went back like 10 pages and see something about twitter and Dice

I would just like to say that Dice never Sexually Harassed me... But I can't be sure I'm not always awake

Lol.... I read that and then randomly went back like 10 pages and see something about twitter and Dice

I would just like to say that Dice never Sexually Harassed me... But I can't be sure I'm not always awake
                                                  good to see ya back, kids are 2 beauts btw!

you and dice have a lot in common

good to see ya back, kids are 2 beauts btw!

you and dice have a lot in common
                                                    Thanks... Yeah don't know if I posted that here... We had twin girls in March of 2016... Was the most boring day every up till like 8pm... I didn't know what we were having (everybody else knew) only knew that they were little monsters... And now they are larger little monsters who are just the best fun! I still believe that our health service is in bad shape... Anyone that let's me walk out of the place with children has to be questioned!!

PS anyone getting into PJ masks... It is top draw!!

Butter going to the moon.

Originally posted by Frank Gibney View Post
                                                        Who are you Frank Gibney? and why are you pushing your pro-dairy agenda on me? With Milk is for closers avatar and creamy butter tales???

Have you been following Swedish submarine guy who is still denying murder story. 'Ah yeah I did chop up her body, and dump it at sea, But she was already dead like'
                                                          Wasn't that basically the Robert Durst (The Jinx) defence?

The Jr/III pertains to the first name so the wife is unaffected. e.g. Golfer Davis Love III's wife is just called Robin Love.
                                                          Except in formal situations where they are referred to as Mrs [Husbands Name].
                                                          So either Mrs Duke, or Mrs Raoul Duke III.

I'd say Louie might be sweating some bullets if the current trend of open secrets being made public continues

A guy wants me to go into work tomorrow* as a file he needs to give me is too large to be emailed, so he feels he needs to physically hand over a USB. When your technological retardation is that bad that its affecting other people you should get yourself off to a bootcamp pronto.

* not a bank holiday as weirdo france has bank holidays on the actual day they naturally occur - in this case Wednesday
                                                              sounds like an ideal case for;
                                                              Simple and secure file sharing with Hightail. Send large files, preview visual assets, collect precise feedback and keep creative projects moving in one easy and secure cloud-based software. Try Hightail for free.

or even easier an instruction on google drive sharing to keep the educational slant going

Don't mention the ex, don't mention anything overly shady, the time he crapped himself, the time he got arrested, the time he got in a fight with a bouncer and had his nose broken: have heard all of those in best men's speeches and not good.

The audience will want it to be good so if you pause after anything that is meant to be a joke, it will give them time to laugh.

Try not to rush through it, try to learn it or the bullet points rather than read it and don't forget to mention how you are also friends with the bride and she has improved him at the end before toasting them.

Just packing for my honeymoon now and the best man at mine made a cracking speech that was much more compliments and safe territory than trying to be walk the line of hilarious and dangerous.

In other news, I got married on Saturday

One of the many nicer things about the Italian wedding was the lack of bullshit speeches. There was no best man or bridesmaids instead they had two witnesses each and speeches were confined to a brief but meaningful toast from each of the bride and groom.

Some stuff off the top of my head. Some of it is obvious, but you never know.

- it's ok to have one or two lines that are specific to your group of lads, but generally, keep away from in jokes as most of the audience won't have a clue, so it'll just be tumbleweed stuff.
                                                                    - don't mention past women of his in your speech.
                                                                    - most of the speech should be kind of funny, slightly embarrassing but not fairly mild, in parts. The rest of the speech should be sincere compliments to both bride and groom.
                                                                    - Have a list of those you want to thank written out.
                                                                    - Best to have a few bullet points rather than full speech,but if you aren't confident enough to remember it when you're there, full speech is ok.
                                                                    - Don't read most of the time or talk entirely just to your mate, make sure to look around the room. If you appear relaxed, it will actually relax you.
                                                                    - Don't tell your mate your speech content, but do go over the generic bits, i.e. whether he doesn't want you to thank people as he wants to thank them only, or to make sure you thank everyone he wants thanked.
                                                                    - Some best men think they should be the centre of attention. Don't be that one, but being light and humourous is always preferable for best man.
                                                                    - Chill out. As mentioned before, you won't get a more understanding audience. Even if you are a bumbling idiot, no one will care or remember in a few days.
                                                                    - Practice it at least once, even if just to roughly time it. If it's longer than 15 mins, it's too long (imo), under 5 too short.
                                                                    - There is usually someone from the venue who will tell you when to stand up, and who to introduce next if ye are doing the traditional thing, so you don't need to worry about that generally.

On the present thing, it's up to you what you want to do. I would have just given a slightly larger than normal wedding present to the couple, but if you want to get him something specific too that's all good.

do all this.
                                                                    Or do what I did and write my wedding speech the night before the wedding whilst 'tired and emotional'
                                                                    I'd suggest option a.

Congrats Richie. Where are you off to ?

Is there any easy way (besides actually paying) to get around the Irish Times paywall?

Use incognito/clear cookies to get around 10 max articles. Opinion articles etc dont think theres anyway. Is there a specific article i could copy and paste to you?

Incognito and changing browsers doesn't seem to work for me for some reason. Clearing cookies either.

Not to worry anyway, I can do without them. Surprised I've actually clicked on ten times.

The Irish Times online. Latest news including sport, analysis, business, weather and more from the definitive brand of quality news in Ireland.

I pay my 3 euro a week. Only readable Irish media source even if it's not without its faults

RIP rugby world cup bid

We finished last in all categories except "vision and hosting concept" where we finished 2nd.

RIP rugby world cup bid
                                                                                          This was destined to collapse whenever the judges tried to travel between Cork and Limerick.

RIP rugby world cup bid
                                                                                            Huh, I really thought we were favourites to that ahead of sa.
                                                                                            More vuvuzales in our future so

yikes, this is like that one time laz spent €50 to watch a 20-second UFC fight rather than stream it. Excellent stuff DP.
                                                                                              Still not even top 10 ways I waste my money. Wasn't aware of dps link though

RIP rugby world cup bid
                                                                                                Balls. This was our best chance. Basically no small country (bar NZ) will ever be in the frame to host the RWC from now on as you need the population and the infrastructure that entails to score well. I really thought we’d grow into it like the special Olympics hosting, and that it would have been a huge boost for the country. Basically it’s the third biggest sporting event and we had a realistic chance of doing it even if when you reflect on the scoring system and the other host candidates we had little realistic chance.

A real shame as you can’t see us going for anything like this ever again. Basically small european football nights and some euro club rugby events, and some golf stuff, will be the height of our hosting ambitions from here on.
                                                                                                Last edited by V for Vendetta; 31-10-17, 11:29.

Balls. This was our best chance. Basically no small country (bar NZ) will ever be in the frame to host the RWC from now on as you need the population and the infrastructure that entails to score well. I really thought we’d grow into it like the special Olympics hosting, and that it would have been a huge boost for the country. Basically it’s the third biggest sporting event and we had a realistic chance of doing it even if when you reflect on the scoring system and the other host candidates we had little realistic chance.

A real shame as you can’t see us going for anything like this ever again. Basically small european football nights and some euro club rugby events, and some golf stuff, will be the height of our hosting ambitions from here on.
                                                                                                  Yes but

Vuvuzelas are a soccer thing only aren't they? Don't really recall them being an annoyance in the 95 RWC.

Just pulled the trigger on a pair of these bad boys

https://www.johnlewis.com/sony-wh-10...9?colour=Black
                                                                                                      Family gave me vouchers for 40th to be spent on a treat. Had a lend of a workmates for an afternoon a while back and they are a stellar piece of gadgetry

Vuvuzelas are a soccer thing only aren't they? Don't really recall them being an annoyance in the 95 RWC.
                                                                                                        The majority of the local black population who use the vuvuzelas won’t be able to afford to attend the games. They tend to support soccer anyway and not the rugby. It’ll be foreign tourists and the local wealthy folks who will primarily be attending these games...

Big games order last night: Blokus, two Exit The Games, Patchwork, Waldschattenspiel, Takenoko, and one other which I can't quite remember right now. Much obliged for the recommendations!
                                                                                                          Cool, let me know how you get on.

Sorry for the slow reply, i only post here when paid to do so

Congrats Richie. Where are you off to ?
                                                                                                            South Africa then Mauritius so 3 weeks in all. Married life is grand so far.

Just pulled the trigger on a pair of these bad boys

https://www.johnlewis.com/sony-wh-10...9?colour=Black
                                                                                                              Family gave me vouchers for 40th to be spent on a treat. Had a lend of a workmates for an afternoon a while back and they are a stellar piece of gadgetry
                                                                                                              Any reason you went with them over the Bose? I got the QC35s and they're great. From the reviews I read there isn't much between the two.

Mostly the fact that I had the use of those exact ones for 3/4 hours and I honestly didn't want to hand them back. Got far more stuff done, zero distractions and great calm/task focus.
                                                                                                                I tried the Bose in airport (left my laptop with a nervous looking sales guy as security while I rambled around lol) That was only for 10 mins odd, noise cancelling I couldnt tell much difference, the Sonys fitted a bit better. Dont think I would have been horribly disappointed by either truth be told.

Sounds amazing. Have a fantastic honeymoon and marriage !

RIP rugby world cup bid
                                                                                                                    SA 1/6 on PP to host. Free monies?

Did the same honeymoon 10 years ago next week. Enjoy.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 31-10-17, 12:32.

Limerick is only 95,000 people. A small town by non-Irish standards. Surely thats not enough of a population to support a motorway? Not that it shouldn't be built, having said that. But you can also see why it might not be an absolute priority.

Thought you need something like 20k vehicles a day each way at an absolute minimum traffic for a motorway to be financially feasible (although upon googling, I can't find any citations for that).

Hard to see how there would be enough traffic to support 20k each way a day if Limerick itself is so small, not that Limerick would be the only destination for users, but Dublin is already served.
                                                                                                                        That isn't worth a shite to RWC judges looking at people trying to travel for matches between two cities on a road that is way over capacity and extremely dangerous.

There are about 120 serious accidents a year on that road, it is a deathtrap. Add a bunch of match goers in campers or whatnot driving on the opposite side of the road to what they're used to and I shudder to think what the body count would end up at.

That isn't worth a shite to RWC judges looking at people trying to travel for matches between two cities on a road that is way over capacity and extremely dangerous.

There are about 120 serious accidents a year on that road, it is a deathtrap. Add a bunch of match goers in campers or whatnot driving on the opposite side of the road to what they're used to and I shudder to think what the body count would end up at.
                                                                                                                          We seem to have comfortably passed the 'transport' section in the report so I don't think it was an issue.