Could deffo draw our way to a WC against Sweden

No sweat for me like an irish football sweat.technically have stakes in irish rugby and Kerry gaa by birth but really I sleep pretty easy even when the lose.being an Italian 90 kid though and remember going to bed bawling cod of schillaci it’s like I have the life loot on on nights like tonight

Am I the only one who found Blade Runner 2049 boring and emotionally vacuous?

No sweat for me like an irish football sweat.technically have stakes in irish rugby and Kerry gaa by birth but really I sleep pretty easy even when the lose.being an Italian 90 kid though and remember going to bed bawling cod of schillaci it’s like I have the life loot on on nights like tonight
          If the rugby team could borrow half the spirit and character of our soccer lads down the years they may have made an impression on one of the world cups.

Defo rooting for a Portugal win tomorrow.

According to RTE, this is how seedings look as of now, but rankings will be officially released before the draw. Probably won't be far off this anyhow.

Seeded teams:
              Portugal (3)/Switzerland (7)
              Italy (16)
              Croatia (17)
              Denmark (18)

Unseeded teams:
              Sweden (21)
              Northern Ireland (23)
              Republic of Ireland (26)
              Greece (49)

Defo rooting for a Portugal win tomorrow.
                It won't quite feel right if Switzerland win 9 out of 10 qualifying games and don't make the World Cup!

Jesus those paddy power ads are absolutely tilting too

When you're 2-0 up and have this chance, and then your team goes on to lose 3-2. It must sting a little!

According to RTE, this is how seedings look as of now, but rankings will be officially released before the draw. Probably won't be far off this anyhow.

Seeded teams:
                      Portugal (3)/Switzerland (7)
                      Italy (16)
                      Croatia (17)
                      Denmark (18)

Unseeded teams:
                      Sweden (21)
                      Northern Ireland (23)
                      Republic of Ireland (26)
                      Greece (49)
                      Can't see how the Sweds would miss out on being seeded if they beat Holland tomorrow. They were ahead of Denmark in last rankings and Denmark only drew with Romania.
                      Last edited by The Situation; 09-10-17, 22:13.

Can't see how the Sweds would miss out if they beat Holland tomorrow. They were ahead of Denmark in last rankings and Denmark only drew with Romania.
                        Sweden beat Luxembourg last time out, that'll give them next to no ranking points. If they beat Holland tomorrow they might well be seeded though, perhaps RTE are figuring they won't.

Armani being conspicuously quiet, doesn't want to make the big call?

The Deuce shaping up to be a really good series. Hopefully it won't go the way of Vinyl.

Armani being conspicuously quiet, doesn't want to make the big call?
                              Lol. I genuinely don't know what influence each match has on exact ranking points so couldn't call the seedings.

Worth pointing out that something that people forget is that its not just what results you got in this month that matter (the simple X beat Y so they'll surely go up concept). What is as important is that results 4 and 2 years ago in the same month are now slipping off the ranking or being halved in value.

Memory is a bit hazy at the moment but how come we had to play Iran in 2002 at the same stage?

Was it the case of an open draw for all the qualifiers back then, and now it's just Europe?

A euro team played an Asian team for a place. Kinda like how South America played Oceania.

I think.

A euro team played an Asian team for a place. Kinda like how South America played Oceania.

I think.
                                    IIRC we had the most points of the 2nd place teams so got the plum draw (pretty impressive considering we had Portugal & Holland)

Memory is a bit hazy at the moment but how come we had to play Iran in 2002 at the same stage?

Was it the case of an open draw for all the qualifiers back then, and now it's just Europe?
                                      Confederations can have a half place, which uefa had then (so for example 12.5 spots) which meant that one team had to play off against a team from another confederation. Europe doesn't have any half spots any more, but south America does so the 5th place team there plays off against Australia or Syria I think, although be a bit more convoluted than that perhaps.

Yeah, we'd 13.5 slots for that tournament with the .5 against Asia.
                                        So 9 group winner, 8 of the group runners up played against each other in play-offs and the other runner up played Asia.
                                        Our group was allocated to be the one that played the xth place Asia team.
                                        It was a random draw done halfway through the qualifiers, though lots of people said it was a fixed draw to ensure that Holland & Portugal both got through but then we finished ahead of the dutch anyway.

Not getting the euphoria around last night. Chances are we are fucked in the playoff. Picking up 7 points in the 3 away matches v Austria, Wales and Serbia should have meant we topped the group. Scraping into the playoffs after that is nothing to celebrate.

Is it not worth celebrating making the playoffs given we are arguably the 4th best team in the group on paper

5/4 to qualify on PP seems a bit skinny alright.

Interesting tweet from the Fitz, HJ's bonuses must be putting them under pressure.

Rigger in charge of their twitter account?

Ah they're still.potential. opponents. Idgaf. I'm buzzing here. Shite game, first half especially shocking but job done. Tiocfaidh ar la
                                                    Sure you’re English m8, thought you qualified last week?

Is that a famous Irish poker player I spot on the latest tax defaulters list?

The September one? Link?

2nd q to end of June. A to z , try G

Interesting tweet from the Fitz, HJ's bonuses must be putting them under pressure.

I'm enthusiastic about this strategy.

2nd q to end of June. A to z , try G
                                                              I was expecting something more dramatic. Late return is pretty mild reason to be included there.

Originally posted by JamieCarra View Post
                                                                  Sure you’re English m8, thought you qualified last week?
                                                                  Nice of you to send a pic of you celebrating northern Ireland reaching the playoffs

nah, you only end up on that list if you've proper fucked up and are given a large number of chances to not be on the list. Late return is code for 'wasn't going to pay until was caught'
                                                                    I'd love to know what the lad from near me (who I incidentally knew a bit when I was a kid) did to end up in jail!

Makes a bit of a mockery of the socialist campaign to not name welfare cheats given that tax cheats are named and shamed.
                                                                        It does but there are more glaring mockerys within the socialist campaign that should be addressed first.

Originally posted by Sickpuppy
                                                                          One the best bits of comedy I have seen was Hickson saying in live tv that his staff members are trained in helping problem gamblers. Ya if that means spinning the wheel or dealing the next hand of blackjack or whatever.Cadinos like bookmakers simply prey on the sickos.
                                                                          "Our staff are trained to recognise problem gambling"

Kind souls like yourself would be forgiven for inferring that there was help involved.

"Our staff are trained to recognise problem gambling"

Kind souls like yourself would be forgiven for inferring that there was help involved.
                                                                            To the naive viewer it would seem if someone was punting to much a kind staff member would pull you aside and give you advice and or help. You could be standing in a pool of your own piss abd no one would bat an eyelid. As long as you're betting no one cares. Also think the customer service there is poor and the poker dealing is a very mixed bag.

Barred again Mick?

Wales Day 2

I can't remember when I was as nervous for a game as I was yesterday. It was a bit of a sluggish start as two of our group were in a bit of a heap from the previous nights excess. I was buzzing, literally couldn't keep still, was bouncing all over the place to the point that Mrs Lao Lao was looking at me thinking, Jesus Christ, what have I signed up for here.

After getting a good feed into us, we hit the pub for 1pm which was later than we planned. Again, the pub was a bit of a shambles, running out of beer and not huge staff numbers. After queing for about 25 minutes for the first round, we ditched the pub and hit up the Spar (Tesco had already been pretty much cleaned out) for beers and drank out on the street.

Maybe it's just me or maybe the Welsh are shit business people but if I owned one of those pubs and there was several thousand Irish people descending on my town, I would have had multiples of the staff they had on and the whole operation would have been smooth as fuck with pints being pre pulled (within reason) to get people served quickly.

The atmosphere was great, everybody in good nature, good banter with the Welsh fans and the police who were going out of there way to swap hats for photo opportunities. After a good 5 hours we decided to hit up Pie Minister for a good feed before the 25 minutes wall to the stadium.

The atmosphere inside was off the charts, everybody and I mean everybody was well up for it. We outsung the Welsh hands down who were like a bunch of damp squids. There was officially only 3000 of us in there but they could have sold multiples of that to Irish fans. Every group of lads that we spoke to hadn't enough tickets. I reckon there was at least 6000 Irish here, others reckon it was closer to 10000 plus I knew of a few people who didn't travel as there knew it would be impossible to get tickets over here.

It was at least 30 minutes after the final whistle before the Irish fans even started to leave the stadium, we just stayed there and sung. The stewards all thought we were mad. At first they were laughing at us (in a good way) and then I reckon they were, ah heyor, will ye go home, I was meant to knock off work 30 minutes ago.

The walk back into Cariff was a bit surreal as the win sunk in. There was talk that coming second is nothing to celebrate but I disagree. From being 4th seeds in the group, we've finished second. Over the last two campaigns we have consistently played above our ranking and all expectations. We are a very small country where football comes behind GAA (Football and Hurling) and Rugby. Yes, we had hoped to get more points from the latter games but the loss of Coleman was huge on the team.

I'm looking forward to the playoff draw and whoever we draw is irrelevant. Deep down, I reckon there is quite a few teams who won't want to be drawn against us. We are very organised, hard to break down, we have the big heart, every man on the pitch fights for each other and can play a bit of ball every so often.

This is the beer shelf in Tesco ☺

Last edited by Lao Lao; 10-10-17, 14:53.

yes yes
                                                                                  Last edited by poprock; 19-12-17, 02:40. Reason: qed

2/10 for that rant.

shove your review up your hole

Looks like Robbie Brady will miss playoffs. He brushed his head into Williams' back last night but by rules of game that will be a definite suspension.

shove your review up your hole
                                                                                          No room with that extra fiver I'll be getting soon.

Looks like Robbie Brady will miss playoffs. He brushed his head into Williams' back last night but by rules of game that will be a definite suspension.
                                                                                            It was beyond retarded attempt of a head butt. Do players not know you can't get away with that shit anymore.

Yeah if you're committing to it you may as well give him a decent Glasgow kiss.

Hollywood types (esp Meryl Streep) claiming they had no inkling of what Harvey Weinstein was up to are full of shit,absolutely no way they didn’t know,ffs I could have told them years ago,it’s been heavily hinted at. Suppose she did give a standing ovation to Polanski. Wonder if it will blow up into an industry wide scandal,plenty of other open secrets I’d say

Mick

Matt Damon and russel Crowe getting dragged in now,rang a reporter asking her to stop working on a story about Weinstein’s antics.this is only getting going

If you can't even spell aspartame how are you gonna judge what the health implications are in comparison to sugar?

Decent budget. Seems a lot of smartness hidden under the cover, with a few legal changes made. I had massively underestimated Pascal, as was convinced he was a gimp of the highest order until a year or so ago.
                                                                                                          Do you agree welfare dole pension Christmas bonus should be given? Personally hate to think that that poor kids have a miserable xmas as the folks can't afford anything. Should welfare be given in vouchers not allowed buy fags or booze. Any person who is physically capable should be able to find work now. Therefore if long term unemployed payments should be cut in incriments.

yes yes put 30 cent per litre on soft drinks, dont they know the fat fucks are drinking diet coke which who knows the health implications of asspartme.

Can you imagine working on the fast food counter as the local fattie comes in on a tuesday afternoon with their welfare paids shits in tow.
                                                                                                            yeah il have a double mcdouble with grease and curry garlic bacon fries , and the yougin will have mcno nutrition kids meal with the toy, not that one, sure he bleedin got that yesterday.
                                                                                                            oh yeah and il have a large diet coke, dont want to be getting fat or giving the government me bleedin hard earned form filled money, as they pull a toothy grin showing teeth coloured similar to the company's logo.
                                                                                                            I might just jump in the fryer and end it all right there.

Well I only drink the odd time says you, Well you shortsighted knob, this is the start of it,
                                                                                                            you think companies take this shit lying down, first they introduce more asspartme diet fucking drinks, then another fucking retard in government comes up with another scheme with unintended consequences say subsiding a crop that is more green friendly to the environment.

Now when Im hungover after working all week and go to buy a fucking sugar drink , all thats available is stevia diet kale soda while I queue up behind all these lazy fucks with an extra 5 euro shoved up their hole.
                                                                                                            WTF are you talking about?

also lol at the bold part.

WTF are you talking about?

also lol at the bold part.
                                                                                                              And the thick cunt wonders why his rant only got 2/10

We already had a tax on sugary drinks

Cliff's on the budget?

Just bought a new laptop and it's being cunt to set up any chance somebody here can add me on Skype and Skype call to set it up like chrome
                                                                                                                          Has installed
                                                                                                                          But wont Fucking open etc