Surely penalty taking style is a legitimate and important variable. In a one off situation I would rather my most accurate takers go in the moderate pressure condition and that the most pressurised position be someone who shoots hard and high down the middle.

Some interesting non-scientific articles with data:

Data shows more spot-kicks being hit down the centre but goalkeepers resist standing still

Surely penalty taking style is a legitimate and important variable. In a one off situation I would rather my most accurate takers go in the moderate pressure condition and that the most pressurised position be someone who shoots hard and high down the middle.

Some interesting non-scientific articles with data:

https://www.premierleague.com/news/317996
      Im not sure there is any excuse for a professional footballer not just being able to score at least 90%. I mean they have f all else to do only practice. 40% of the huge goal just cant be saved by any keeper when hit with a bit of pace.

And as for not being able to hit a corner to the correct spot as well , i mean for feck sake .

If they all just practiced them enough the pressure would be vastly reduced when needed then. 10,000 hours and all that.

Rant over soccer is a silly game.
      Longshotvalue.com

By the way if anyone would like there eyes opened . I just read Mathew Sayed's book Black Box Thinking and it would open your eyes, particularity to the health profession.

Good read for those who dont like fiction, or like Malcom Gladewell etc.
        Longshotvalue.com

...No matter what theory people reckon is best for penalty taking...They were 3-0 down with 3 penalties left...Surely he has to take the pk instead of nani if he is best taker...was shocked nani walked up and Ronaldo watched his country exit...

You pick your order of takers before the start of the shootout

Originally posted by aidankk View Post
              By the way if anyone would like there eyes opened . I just read Mathew Sayed's book Black Box Thinking and it would open your eyes, particularity to the health profession.

Good read for those who dont like fiction, or like Malcom Gladewell etc.

Sound interesting, Want to do a bookswap? I dont like reading my kindle or computer versions

etc... Can post first, id normally just buy them, but starting to build up books and I dont like throwing away books either

Product that I have all been breaking my balls on for the last 9 months went live with a big bang today. Big Data, new paradigm blah blah (probably not that exciting on a purely technical level but industry-leading in our space).

Celebrated by going to Funtasia waterpark with the kids. And plotting.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/c...-35870535.html

What an unseemly charade from sending 8 Gardai to arrest Paul Murphy at dawn to pushing for the most serious charges available. Thankfully the efforts to quell political dissent and discourage peaceful protest have failed. That the Gardai statements were contradicted by their own video footage will unfortunately not be followed up on of course.

That Joan Burton and the Labour Party were consigned to political irrelevancy in the interim is a cherry on top of the whole thing.
                  Do you really think the whole trial was politically motivated?

El Tren runs in the 8.50 at Tipperary.

Gotta say wp to Jermaine Defoe's agent bagging the almost 35 year old a 3 year deal with Bournemouth on 60k a week!

Anyone know anywhere that sells beetroot juice?

Edit: just spotted Supervalu do it. Little on the punchy side though at €5.30 per litre. May have another go at blending it.
                        Last edited by Lazare; 29-06-17, 18:28.

El Tren slashed to 5's from 16's on Boyle now.
                          Trainer Johnny Levins sent out winner of 6:10
                          which was backed at fancy prices down to 16.

Yowzer

Last edited by Guest; 29-06-17, 18:32.

Yowzer

What a world.

No luck then?

FFS

At a wedding today, sharing a table with all the Fahey's and el tren does us for the treble... Doubles and ew trebles all-round.
                                          Some craic when Ja's horse won... Ronan will get some reception when he calls in later.

No luck then?

it'll pay for a few bottles of vino in France anyway

then I got greedy

Gotta love how gambling fecks with your head.
                                                Place a bet ..... Lose ..... Wow I'm an idiot.
                                                Could've kept that money for something sensible.
                                                Place a get ..... Win ..... Wow I'm an idiot.
                                                Why didn't I have more on.

WP No idea what I'll send the loots on,
                                                but it definitely WON'T be something sensible.

Damn you RD, Why didn't I have more on.

Anyone know anywhere that sells beetroot juice?

Edit: just spotted Supervalu do it. Little on the punchy side though at €5.30 per litre. May have another go at blending it.
                                                  Tesco its fucking rank

wait that seems like an accusation of gullibility
                                                    Hoping Hitch is on a proper old fashioned bender, and not just mia, or bored.

Thursday night, despite having to work Friday, really is the nut night for a few drinks

Polished off a bottle of this over dinner, great value for under €30, velvety smooth

Thursday night, despite having to work Friday, really is the nut night for a few drinks

Polished off a bottle of this over dinner, great value for under €30, velvety smooth

currently dug into second bottle of aldi shite , also velvety smooth for 5.79

I am no longer getting bogged down by expensive wine, some fucking lovely wines out there for less than a tenner

....I am no longer getting bogged down by expensive wine......

When the fuck were you ever bogged down by expensive wines?

....I am no longer getting bogged down by expensive wine......

terrifying

your vino pretty amazing that you posted twice

Speaking of taking penalties, read this the other day from Anderson:
                                                                  http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/f...-a7810771.html
                                                                  Closing your eyes seems ill advised. Plonker.

You pick your order of takers before the start of the shootout
                                                                  They should change it so you can decide on the fly, sure why not.

terrifying

Closed fist of truth? What's that meant to mean?

I do kinda agree with the start of the ad though, there's a large section of the US that has been pushing the narrative that Trump is Hitler, that it's correct to oppose him with force, and even creating the suggestion that killing Trump is acceptable. Even noted peace activist SP who loathes any kind of terrorist violence has posted a few times that Trump should be assassinated.
                                                                    Last edited by Denny Crane; 30-06-17, 00:48.

your vino pretty amazing that you posted twice
                                                                      Its a Lidl Gavi - €6.49

7 hours into server repair and the plug is pulled...grrrrr

18 day weekend baby.

A mere 10 day weekend for me before I start my new job monday week. Now for my last day of handover meetings and drinking tea all the while hoping that I get told I can knock off early.

Closed fist of truth? What's that meant to mean?
                                                                                Nobbling a jury with Twitter threats perhaps

26 day weekend, Australia and Bali bound, couldn't be happier.
                                                                                  18 day weekend baby.
                                                                                  A mere 10 day weekend for me before I start my new job monday week.
                                                                                  2 day weekend for me yiz cunts!

A mere 10 day weekend for me before I start my new job monday week. Now for my last day of handover meetings and drinking tea all the while hoping that I get told I can knock off early.
                                                                                    You leaving us m8?

Couldn't wait to get away from Andy?

You leaving us m8?
                                                                                        I am indeed, back to agency work - I miss having money

26 day weekend, Australia and Bali bound, couldn't be happier.
                                                                                            18 day weekend baby.
                                                                                            2 day weekend for me yiz cunts!

... never mind

In an unrelated karma incident missed the El Tren tip last night so no free money to rub on titties for me

Anyone get a decent price for Car Insurance lately. Chill coming up with €731 best they can get

123 are good if you have home insurance with them. Otherwise cornmarket

Saw a classic on fb yesterday.

Nigerian man dies with 46 billion in his garage. Said he tried to give it away but no one answered his emails

7 degrees with windchill on the beach.

Heatwave here, last day in work, got paid out nearly a month in unused annual leave. Not majorly rushed to find a new job tbh.

I am indeed, back to agency work - I miss having money
                                                                                                        Best of luck. Odd that you didn't get any commission out of us. Would of thought that was standard for your role. Let me know about your next DBA positions.

... and they made fun of my tinfoil hat.

"Passwords can be stolen through our brainwaves, new study claims"

When it comes to cybersecurity, not even your brainwaves are safe, according to a new study that analysed the latest EEG headsets.

€1,500 for three-days two-nights in DisneylandParis without even a morsel of food thrown in. The prices are outrageous.
                                                                                                                We've just flat-out refused to ever bring the kids there. They've given up asking!

€1,500 for three-days two-nights in DisneylandParis without even a morsel of food thrown in. The prices are outrageous.
                                                                                                                  Stay local in the Aran islands for a week house for 350 caught a couple of fish dinners. Can't justify paying 15 euro for pollock when the sea is full of them in casting range. Lovely place locals sound arse sore as hell from cycling wedding in an hour.

Congratulations Mick

A friend's just back. Mum , dad and the three kids, over €1200 just for admission alone for four days and 90 min queues for everything. Madness.

Pro tip - go to Portaventura world near salou in Spain (not far from Barcelona). Way cheaper and can get cheap accom nearby. The rollercoasters etc. are also way better

Best of luck. Odd that you didn't get any commission out of us. Would of thought that was standard for your role. Let me know about your next DBA positions.
                                                                                                                          Nah no commission in house, just the standard profit share. Makes the job a lot harder to stay motivated.