Legendary guitarist Arty McGlynn died earlier in the week.

He played with, among others, Van Morrison, Planxty, Enya and Christy Moore.

Had the pleasure of seeing him play many times during the late 80s and early 90s.

He was an effortless, elegant and refined player and a gentleman to boot.

Liam O'Flynn, arty McGlynn, Christy Moore and Rod McVey @ The Point, Dublin 1997. A set of jigs.

It has been suggested on Twitter that our British cousins, when applying for an Irish passport post Brexit should have to answer questions about us. Suggested questions include:

1. Please explain why the national news is broadcast at exactly one minute after 6pm.

2. Fill in the blank..."roll it there ______"

3. Whose job is it to put a bit of butter on the spuds? Is it a)Andrew b) Andrea or c) André?

4. How are you?
      If the answer doesn’t contain “grand”, it’s an immediate fail.

5. Which member of the family was missing after the water safety advert?

6. Boxing Day or Steevenses Day?

7. How many items of something do you need before you can use "rake" as a collective noun?

8. “Mammy is gone to get the messages.”
      Explain.

9. What and where is Hill 16?

10. Sean: "You wouldn't put the kettle on would you?"

Mary: "I will yeah"

Is Mary going to put the kettle on for Sean?

If you’re not Irish you won’t have the first idea how to answer the above!
      Applying for my kids early next year. less painful than settled status. pretty sure about 5, can take a crack at some of the others!

Has anyone been watching The Boys on Amazon Prime (or wherever you get your TV)? Watched episode 1 last night, was very impressed. Read the graphic novels a few years ago, seems like a faithful interpretation plus it has Karl Urban.

Karl Urban improves everything he is in (bit like Jason Statham). Should be a much, much bigger star.
        i see it's rated 18. How 18 is it? looks like the kind of show i like to watch with the kids. violence and swearing we don't mind, it's the full on sex scenes they struggle to watch with their parents

jojo rabbit screener now available. Been dying to see this one-massive fan of Waititi

Holy fuck Vietnam!

First two days in Ho Chi Minh was spent figuring out one of life's most fundamental questions... How to cross the road . Place is bonkers. Some seriously good nightclubs though and food is excellent.

Now chilling in Nha Trang... Really don't get the hate for it. Great beaches and nice change of pace after ho chi Minh. Sometimes a guy just wanna relax and you can't do that in Ho Chi Minh. Gotta find a roasted duck though, dying to eat one
            I thought the traffic was worse in Hanoi than Ho Chi Minh. I found the best thing to do was just walk straight and don't stop, they generally weave in and out of you.

*this advice may or may not be endorsed by your travel insurance.

Also, just seen Cian Healy and Tadgh Furlong hail a taxi in Ranelagh, both dressed in their finest Christmas jumpers.

I hope PSV isn't out and about in our fair city tonight, he could unwittingly end up having a golden shower.

i see it's rated 18. How 18 is it? looks like the kind of show i like to watch with the kids. violence and swearing we don't mind, it's the full on sex scenes they struggle to watch with their parents
                In episode one there is full frontal male nudity. A pre- and post-blowjob scene as well (nothing visually graphic but might be very uncomfortable!). Am expecting more nudity, hopefully female as the series goes on.

Leicester are 6/1 to beat City

Is there a decent NLH cash game anywhere in Dublin on a Saturday evening?

Jps in Tallaght usually gets ome going as lads get knocked out of the 3pm tourney.

Also used to have a pretty deep game that started at 8pm, not sure if it still runs. I used to deal it and it was a pretty juicy game with plenty action

Must be bad that I've watched this a few times. Still seems nuts.

Anneka meets a pack of wolves at the most Northerly wildlife reserve in Norway - Polar Park. She is accepted into the pack and howls alongside them. Norway o...

Applying for my kids early next year. less painful than settled status. pretty sure about 5, can take a crack at some of the others!
                              I'd be interested to see your answers for the craic.

Is the poker in Casino Royale a cash game or a tournament. I just watched it again and I still can't figure it out!

Tournie, I think it was a 10 mill buyin with a 5 mill rebuy.

Very bad night tonight, had a real decent young greyhound who was seriously fast but was getting things wrong at the traps (won his first 2 races and then walked out the next 3 times). Anyway gave him a break and thought I might have him sorted. He was running tonight and I went for the Christmas money. Done everything right, kept him really calm and away from the other dogs, made sure I stalled things to make sure he was the last dog into the traps. He was absolutely bouncing, if I could have doubled down at the last moment I would have.
                                    Anyway, traps open and he comes out pretty decent, at least level and then explodes to the bend and shot clear, absolutely bolted in. I ran to the pickup to get him and he was still flying. He put the breaks on at the last second and kinda skidded to a stop and fell on his side, not a bad looking fall at all. Broke his neck and was gone in about 10 seconds flat!

Very bad night tonight, had a real decent young greyhound who was seriously fast but was getting things wrong at the traps (won his first 2 races and then walked out the next 3 times). Anyway gave him a break and thought I might have him sorted. He was running tonight and I went for the Christmas money. Done everything right, kept him really calm and away from the other dogs, made sure I stalled things to make sure he was the last dog into the traps. He was absolutely bouncing, if I could have doubled down at the last moment I would have.
                                      Anyway, traps open and he comes out pretty decent, at least level and then explodes to the bend and shot clear, absolutely bolted in. I ran to the pickup to get him and he was still flying. He put the breaks on at the last second and kinda skidded to a stop and fell on his side, not a bad looking fall at all. Broke his neck and was gone in about 10 seconds flat!

Very sad news
                                      It’s a tough game unfortunately
                                      Hard luck young man

Very sad news
                                        It’s a tough game unfortunately
                                        Hard luck young man
                                        Thanks sir, yeah very harsh.

Sorry to read that man. Thought at first the bad night meant you lost a few bob, not the poor dog.

That's lousy, hard to find a good one and harder to keep them sound.

I'd be interested to see your answers for the craic.
                                              1. Please explain why the national news is broadcast at exactly one minute after 6pm.

No idea

Roisin

3. Whose job is it to put a bit of butter on the spuds? Is it a)Andrew b) Andrea or c) André?

Andrea?

4. How are you?

Grand loike

little Timmy

Stevenses day (although i asked a few Irish people why, and they couldn't tell me)

7. How many items of something do you need before you can use "rake" as a collective noun?

Explain.

No clue

standing stand Croke park behind the goal. (was on the hill when France beat Ireland in the first rugby game at Croke park! the try line at the other end of the pitch was so far away, it felt like the roar of the Frenchies at the other end took 2 seconds before it hit us and then we were jumpong up and down screaming surronded by disgusted Irishmen, twas brilliant!)

me bollocks she will

Shrap

Your score:

Yer allowed in the Pale and the Queens Cork but stay out of Connaught

And surely you grew up on KerryGold? The Popes RTE didn't lie to us did it?

The now-famous Kerrygold "Fishing" ad. With something to 'elp, and a bit of butter on the spuds and everything. That André - he's a saucy French bugger.
                                                Last edited by Guest; 22-12-19, 12:38.

No.1 HH . The Angelus

No idea

Roisin

Andrea?

4. How are you?

Grand loike

little Timmy

Stevenses day (although i asked a few Irish people why, and they couldn't tell me)

Explain.

No clue

standing stand Croke park behind the goal. (was on the hill when France beat Ireland in the first rugby game at Croke park! the try line at the other end of the pitch was so far away, it felt like the roar of the Frenchies at the other end took 2 seconds before it hit us and then we were jumpong up and down screaming surronded by disgusted Irishmen, twas brilliant!)

me bollocks she will
                                                    Not bad, 5/10, allowing for the fact that there are two correct answers to number 2.

For the craic here are what I have believe are the intended answers.

1. The angelus is on at 6 for a minute.
                                                    2. Colette or Roisin (from the late late show when gay Byrne was on it)
                                                    3. Andre
                                                    4. "Grand" , or something like "ah sure, you know yourself"
                                                    5. Where's Grandad?
                                                    6. Steveneses day, obviously. Dec 26th here is St Stephen's day, and often gets the extra - es for the craic/intentional exaggeration or just put there out of habit.
                                                    7. More than you can easily count at a glance
                                                    8. My mother has gone to the shop to get some items.
                                                    9. Standing area at croke Park, originally built from the rubble after the failed 1916 rising, hence the name.
                                                    10. Me hole she will.

When was the water safety ad?

My English wife got 6/10. Was very proud of her last answer which was "Ask me hole"

Grand stretch in the evenings.

Think you're a day early this year? As today is the solstice, not the 21st as usual.

Far be it for me to question you and happy to be wrong but just keeping you honest

Think you're a day early this year? As today is the solstice, not the 21st as usual.

Far be it for me to question you and happy to be wrong but just keeping you honest
                                                                The inaccuracy annoys Zuutroy each year, which makes it better.

Hell is a city centre car park at Christmas. Stuck in the down ramps at 20 mins a turn. I told her . I tooollld herrr . Cranky 3 years old .
                                                                  It's the most wonderful time of the year .

Gwan the Adonis

He's about a week late, as he well knows.

Did you delete my earlier post?

Anyone know how easy/viable it is to get a taxi on Christmas morning?

In Ireland? Unless you're riding a driver I'd put the chances at zero

Various factors at play. Where abouts in the country? To go from where to where? What time?

I'm sure if you ring some local companies they will tell you if you can pre book it. I got a taxi one time from Carlow to Tullow with a local guy I pre booked with. Same story in Killarney, just pre book it and they will turn up.

The inaccuracy annoys Zuutroy each year, which makes it better.
                                                                                Fuuuuuu!

Edit: nice video about the whole thing here: https://youtu.be/s_NN8pZxTP8

Sixty Symbols is a class channel
                                                                                Last edited by Guest; 22-12-19, 20:54.

Originally posted by Skankhunt42 View Post
                                                                                  In Ireland? Unless you're riding a driver I'd put the chances at zero
                                                                                  Various factors at play. Where abouts in the country? To go from where to where? What time?

I'm sure if you ring some local companies they will tell you if you can pre book it. I got a taxi one time from Carlow to Tullow with a local guy I pre booked with. Same story in Killarney, just pre book it and they will turn up.

Should have added it's South Dublin at like 8am sort of time.

Well then I'd be very confident of you getting a taxi. Like I said, ring ahead, ring tomorrow and book one. It's just another day these days and you might be giving a poor taxi man a break from the wife and kids lol.

Here ya go. These lads say they are available 24 hours, 365 days and you can pre book em

Just use free now app, you'll get one within minutes. Always plenty on Christmas day.

Report back on Boxing day. I think these lads are yanking your chain.

Originally posted by Skankhunt42 View Post
                                                                                            Report back on Boxing day. I think these lads are yanking your chain.
                                                                                            First of all, its Stevenses day. And why on earth would I "yank his chain" about something as trivial as getting a taxi, it's just another day

I'm as surprised that you'd be bothered replying, as much as I'm surprised at replying. There must be Greyhounds we could spend our time saving.

Originally posted by Silly Gilly View Post
                                                                                                Looks like it and I, for one, am glad he did. Listening to venomous zealots trying to force their opinions down other peoples throats is not what I signed up here for

Someone did, I didn't. If you wanted to get your point across there were better ways to put it.

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post
                                                                                                    Looks like it and I, for one, am glad he did. Listening to venomous zealots trying to force their opinions down other peoples throats is not what I signed up here for
                                                                                                    What did you sign up for though? Twas hardly poker.

Even tho pretty much anything goes here with very light moderation. Dont be a cunt dude

Originally posted by The Istanbul View Post
                                                                                                        Aw diddums, I'm sorry for upsetting you and anyone else. I just have contempt for anyone involved in that venal yet thankfully dying industry. Arazi seems to be an intelligent individual which makes his participation even more egregious.

Perhaps if you don't want to hear differing opinions you should not sign up to public websites.

Even tho pretty much anything goes here with very light moderation. Dont be a cunt dude
                                                                                                          What about being a cunt by being involved in an industry that is responsible for the unneeded deaths of thousands of dogs per year?

Someone did, I didn't. If you wanted to get your point across there were better ways to put it.
                                                                                                            Someone being who exactly?

What about being a cunt by being involved in an industry that is responsible for the unneeded deaths of thousands of dogs per year?
                                                                                                              Hes hardly single handedly responsible for that. Sounded like a genuine post by Arazi to me. Not all owners are the bad guys, I know owners that sleep beside the dog if they're sick or anything just to keep an eye on them. Feel.your general anger at the industry is misplaced in this instance

Me.

Me.
                                                                                                                  Good man! As if they would give you admin rights. You probably would have deleted the forum by now.

I have very limited moderator abilities in the community and games forum I'll have you know.

Despite this I run a tight ship and it's easily the best moderated forum on the site.

What use would that information be to you?

Hes hardly single handedly responsible for that. Sounded like a genuine post by Arazi to me. Not all owners are the bad guys, I know owners that sleep beside the dog if they're sick or anything just to keep an eye on them. Feel.your general anger at the industry is misplaced in this instance
                                                                                                                        If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.

Animal exploitation for human entertainment is not acceptable. The fact that said animal exploitation only exists for a gambling industry that preys on the mathematically challenged members of society makes it doubly worse.

I have very limited moderator abilities in the community and games forum I'll have you know.

Despite this I run a tight ship and it's easily the best moderated forum on the site.
                                                                                                                          No doubt. The fact you've been overlooked so long for promotion is frankly scandalous.

What use would that information be to you?
                                                                                                                          It would be of no use, I was just curious. As dobby said there seems little mod intervention, not a bad thing, so I was surprised to see a post vanishing without explanation.