Been bing watching the 1st season of The Expanse today. Watched 8 episodes in 1 sitting. Man, what a great show, highly recommend.
    Watched this on your recommendation and really enjoyed it. Heads up that season 2 started airing in the last few weeks.

Could it be that he has done so many things by the age of 30 compared to the rest of us that thats what really pisses people off?!
      Don't know much about him but in political terms all he really did was get himself elected and lick some arse. He has done fuck all as the minister of health, albeit a poisoned chalice but saying he is 'running the health system' doesn't really amount to much.

Heard he likes his pints though, so I'll give him credit for that anyway.

Watched this on your recommendation and really enjoyed it. Heads up that season 2 started airing in the last few weeks.

Just googled it to see if I'd get into it.

"A police detective in the asteroid belt, the first officer of an interplanetary ice freighter..."

I'm out.

Rescue remedy is just brandy. Cheaper to buy a naggin.
            It is actually. I still use it though occasionally just a few drops under the tongue. I remember when someone told me that.

My aunt used to take four drops in the morn and four at night.

Anywhere I can check the prices of Real and Bayern to win last night with both teams to score? PP prices if possible but I'm sure they will all be similar. Cheers

Just ask a gp first though if you use anything ..incase it interferes with anything.

It's brilliant. Proper hard scifi, innit.

Lol ...am I the only one not stoned on here :P

I'll use it against ya if peeps say i hyper post too much :P

I'm kidding of course!

It's brilliant. Proper hard scifi, innit.
                        Sounds good.

My ShowRSS feed has been empty for weeks now which never happened before. Am I missing anything else worthwhile that is current?

Only thing I've seen recently that doesn't seem to have got much attention and was worth recommending was Atlanta. It was class, worth it for the firing range scene alone

He's definitely making positive changes in health anyway. But if you really think anyone in the world can change a health system's fundamental problems in a few months then you might be expecting too much from your politicians

I do know for a fact that that he was highly respected in the finance industry in his previous role for his clear competence. Remember one talk he gave to the financial compliance association of Ireland (a rather niche group!) and it was mad how much he knew about the issues and challenges and regulatory needs given nothing in his background would have made him knowledgeable about the topic. Its that type of hard work and ability to master the brief that makes him stand out imo.
                          I did say I didn't know much about him so I may be doing his career in general a disservice. With regards to health though I don't really see the benefits of those positive changes. I'd agree with him that managers should be held accountable in the HSE but what is he going to DO about it. Going around telling people he is sorry won't change the fundamental issues. If the Government collapsed tomorrow (likely) would we remember him as a good Minister for Health in 10 years time?

It is actually. I still use it though occasionally just a few drops under the tongue. I remember when someone told me that.

My aunt used to take four drops in the morn and four at night.
                            It's grand when people know, but I remember seeing parents pouring it down kids' throats before sending them up on stage for recitals and things.

People drink it before exams to 'calm them down'

He's definitely making positive changes in health anyway.
                            How's that? Genuine question. From the snatches of news I'm unable to avoid it sounds like it's worse now than it ever was.

Most of my exposure to Harris was in his role of 'junior minister talking at floods'. He did a great job making the storms go away.

He's definitely making positive changes in health anyway. But if you really think anyone in the world can change a health system's fundamental problems in a few months then you might be expecting too much from your politicians

I do know for a fact that that he was highly respected in the finance industry in his previous role for his clear competence. Remember one talk he gave to the financial compliance association of Ireland (a rather niche group!) and it was mad how much he knew about the issues and challenges and regulatory needs given nothing in his background would have made him knowledgeable about the topic. Its that type of hard work and ability to master the brief that makes him stand out imo.
                                I liked this http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakin...ve-776242.html

Most of my exposure to Harris was in his role of 'junior minister talking at floods'. He did a great job making the storms go away.
                                  Talking is a key skill in politics if not THE key skill.

No that I love him or anything.I don't like FG.

And the budget for the new children's hospital is a mess.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 16-02-17, 12:27.

I don't follow Yankee politics but seem to remember him saying Hilary was unelectable a long way out when I was considering backing her at evens, He's not all bad!
                                      That is true. Should have made a fortune laying her to the max.

Can't sing in peace anymore now that the mornings are brighter and other drivers can see me. Getting too self conscious in me old age.

Sounds good.

My ShowRSS feed has been empty for weeks now which never happened before. Am I missing anything else worthwhile that is current?

Only thing I've seen recently that doesn't seem to have got much attention and was worth recommending was Atlanta. It was class, worth it for the firing range scene alone
                                          Can recommend Taboo, which i've not heard mentioned yet. Tom Hardy's new show on BBC. great stuff so far

There's a spike in trolleys every winter, so health news is never good at this time of the year. That's not an excuse, as its predictable, but it perhaps explains why the news at the moment isn't good.
                                            Well to be fair it seems to be 'all time record number of people on trolleys' rather than 'more people on trolleys than in July' - I'm not a complete moron

Nationally, there were 517 patients waiting for admission this morning, down from Wednesday’s near-record of 601.

According to the HSE, today’s trolley figures are 26 per cent worse than the same day last year.

The big changes I noticed:
                                            - NPTF opened up again with new rules to ease access. This is a no-brainer. Why the fck would anyone except unions care whether you are treated public or private. Closing it was a sop to unions at the expense of patients
                                            - Quite a number of specialist units (e.g. scorliosis?) are being speeded up for upcoming opening
                                            - Securing a lot of extra funding for healthcare in the last budget to solve infrastructure problems
                                            - Extending GP care up to 12, so continuing the move towards universal healthcare

I realise he hasn't individually done all these things, but meh if he gets the blame for everything that goes wrong he should also get the credit for everything that goes right.
                                            I actually found the scoliosis thing quite repugnant personally. A Primetime investigation into the absolute tragedies people are living through and 24 hours later it was a case of 'oh we can get that specialist unit open way quicker for ye actually cos media'.

They were either delaying that scoliosis unit because the resources were better used on something else, or they were delaying it for nothing. If it was the former then the media driven reallocation of resources is bad, if it was the latter then it's probably worse, but close.

The lot of extra funding sends my mind back to 'worst ever trolley crisis' and wondering how it keeps getting worse when we keep spending more money.

The NPTF and extension of GP care for kids both sound good.

I obviously don't expect Harris to fix the whole thing and am glad to head there's some good news.

From a perspective of a healthcare system that works (France), the big thing lacking in Ireland is adequate primary care facilities that avoid people having to go to A&E (the main cause of the trolleys problem) and insufficient use of the private sector. Here there's so many options that mean you don't need to go to the hospital A&E if you e.g. have a severe flu, as they have specialist units (at much lower cost) to go to with something like that. That means A&E deals with the real emergencies. Also they rely heavily on private sector provision integrated seamlessly within the system so there's loads of capacity and efficiency. Ireland, because of unions, seems to view the private sector as something wrong. Plus Ireland pays nurses like doctors and then has them cleaning up patients shitting the bed when they are vastly more qualified than what they are used for. Given the pay and expertise of senior nurses they could be much better utilised in the health system, rather than constantly getting stuck in this bottleneck of patients waiting on doctors to assess them.
                                            I was under the impression that they employ assistants to do all of the bedpan stuff and nurses don't deal with any of that. Maybe it's changed again.

I don't know much about the public/private issues, thanks for explaining about it.
                                            Last edited by Keane; 16-02-17, 12:52.

The expanse is very good for something on Syfy! Thought the writing was pretty pants at first, really got it though, especially as it was about searching for a sexy vegan girl, could relate.

Why did I write pants, I'd never say pants? I meant I felt it was SHIT.
                                              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 16-02-17, 13:02.

Actually it seems like a country thing. Dublin is about like what it always is, but huge spike in non-Dublin trolleys. That's just 2006-2016 trends, but 2017 approximately the same. Must be just not enough regional funding for hospitals, or perhaps they're not well run compared to the Dublin ones due to small sizes, or maybe funding is set based on national health profiles which doesn't take account of the greater proportion of elderly people living in the countryside with the associated greater healthcare needs. Maybe if they set funding based on age-weighted healthcare costs for the catchment area there would be an improvement.
                                                    Your link isn't working but I take your word for it.

Dublin not improving, everywhere else getting worse over the course of ten years, despite AFAIK ever increasing spending.

Unless we're getting sicker at a rate of knots we must be wasting a lot of money. You would think in ten years between technology and pharmacology things would improve whether you were trying to make them or not.

I believe we've dramatically improved our outcomes in some specific areas (e.g. cancer?) in that sort of timeframe, so it sounds like a huge part of the problem is either overall capacity in the hospitals, or the lack of alternatives to A&E for people as you mentioned.

The 'no doctor, no village' thing Michael Harty got elected on seems like the lampooning was a bit OTT in that context. I wouldn't be surprised if people in a village where the GP has closed down head straight for hospital when they get sick rather than trying to find a doctor in the city.

EDIT: Obviously I'm not complaining about Harris specifically here.
                                                    Last edited by Keane; 16-02-17, 13:21.

Just reminded... I heard it's great for anxiety so just took the plunge.

Just a bit wary, don't want to be high off it like in work? I I have idea what to do with it. Vape or drops under tongue?
                                                      Be great to drop the valuim if this works.

it's kinda funny how hesitant I am about getting this for me dad yet had very little problem using the real thing on him

Haven't we learned sufficiently over the last few years that we should judge leaders on competence, not whether we would like to have a beer with them? Bertie was repeatedly reelected because he was a man of the people. Harris is clearly extremely talented. Just a bit young for the leadership.
                                                        Has recent elections around the world not confirmed that nobody has learned that lesson?

Just reminded... I heard it's great for anxiety so just took the plunge.

Just a bit wary, don't want to be high off it like in work? I I have idea what to do with it. Vape or drops under tongue?
                                                          Be great to drop the valuim if this works.

You won't get high of CBD. THC content is next to zero.

Hadn't realised that difference between medical and fun marijuana. That its the CBD that helps medically, whereas CBD is barely present in fun marijuana due to the concentration of getting the THC up in breeding. Looks really handy.
                                                          Not all medical marijuana is CBD oil though. CBD is an extract that has specific benefits, probably the most benefits. THC get you high, but it also has its own benefits.
                                                          Medical marijuana might be just CBD oil, but it could also be normal weeding its natural glory.

Is that Dublin Tech Summit thing meant to be like a replacement for that thing that moved to Lisbon?

This letter to the New York Times is perfect:

Thankfully I've very little experience with Irish hospitals apart from the wife spending a few hours on a trolley in the corridor covered in blood after giving birth, and then woeful care afterwards (no-one taking the baby for a few hours to allow sleep, burnt toast as food, acting impatient when she didn't know how to bathe the baby as if thats something you innately know). Might be biased as a result, but think the attitude to care is a problem.

Better primary care is definitely the solution. We have a great service here called SOS Medecin. Can ring the doctor (all A&E trained as its an A&E outreach service) at any time 24/7 if you're very worried about your kid (as opposed to regular sickness), or yourself less usually. They'll be out to you in 15 minutes. The thing is - that actually saves a fortune - have a few doctors on call for 300,000 people, and as a health service you save maybe 100 unnecessary trips to A&E each day.

Think Ireland lacks some of that healthcare smartness and is still running a healthcare system that thinks hospitals are the be-all and end-all of healthcare, when most people who go there should never have to touch them.

E.g.

1. Drunks on a Friday / Saturday night could easily be treated in specialist centres (like they have at concerts) as all you need to do usually is monitor and maybe give fluids. They shouldn't be brought to A&E.

2. Most broken bones surely don't need A&E as its an incredibly basic form of medical diagnosis and care.

3. Kids with high temperatures outside of GP hours could be diagnosed at home to see if they really need to be brought to hospital (its mainly recommended to go to hospital as a precaution against meningitis afaik).

Take those three out, at much less cost than A&E care, and that's probably 30% of people who normally go to A&E gone, meaning time for better diagnosis and care of the others.
                                                                  And way fewer people on trolleys of course.

Any sense of the reason we don't do this?

Talking is a key skill in politics if not THE key skill.
                                                                      This is wrong.

Feels good to be back though.

This letter to the New York Times is perfect:

TL;DR

He's not 'insane', he's just a dick

This is wrong.

Feels good to be back though.

You won't get high of CBD. THC content is next to zero.

Not all medical marijuana is CBD oil though. CBD is an extract that has specific benefits, probably the most benefits. THC get you high, but it also has its own benefits.
                                                                            Medical marijuana might be just CBD oil, but it could also be normal weeding its natural glory.

So was my purchase a waste? Could you link me to what would help?
                                                                            Edit think I picked you up wrong.??
                                                                            Last edited by SatNav; 16-02-17, 14:39.

Has recent elections around the world not confirmed that nobody has learned that lesson?
                                                                              Yeah, and how do you judge how competent someone is at running a country?

That some people in a meeting said he knew his stuff is a pretty low bar

No, don't think he said that. CBD - which is presumably whats in that oil you got is the part thats good for treating anxiety.

Yeah read it all wrong. Be great if it helped but according to manager a complete waste of time and acc to my father I may as well eat a shoe lol.

Ah look even a placebo effect will do at this stage, anything worth a try

it's kinda funny how hesitant I am about getting this for me dad yet had very little problem using the real thing on him
                                                                                        You could buy him the keyring

Closing Harold's Cross actually makes a lot of sense. It was an awfully depressed jaded feeling on a quiet night there. Put everything in Shelbourne and make it great, rather than have two shabby places.
                                                                                          absolutely. It was probably good one night a year (think puppy derby is still run there) and apart from that very small crowds. Trainers giving out about not having a place to run their dogs either need to up their game or travel (newbridge, mull, etc).

fond memories of losing my bollocks there on a Monday night though, 3 days before pay day and having to walk past Peggy Kelly's on the way home wishing I had the price of a pint

The idea that being good at getting elected to office and the being good at serving in office are directly related is pretty naive.

To all those (RDIII) extolling the virtues of Reagan being a genius - he was far from just a good actor who played the part of president. His cabinet wrote his lines and he delivered them - he was basically senile at the end of his presidency and couldn't have decided what he wanted for breakfast but he could still deliver a speech like a pro.

What nights are Shelbourne running now, looking at the website it's still just Thursday and Saturday.

The idea that being good at getting elected to office and the being good at serving in office are directly related is pretty naive.
                                                                                                Au contraire.

For (b) to be assessed, there is an absolute depency on (a).

Yeah read it all wrong. Be great if it helped but according to manager a complete waste of time and acc to my father I may as well eat a shoe lol.

Ah look even a placebo effect will do at this stage, anything worth a try
                                                                                                    Should look into changing medication (assuming you are on some) if it's not helping out. I'm sure your doctor will fills you in anyway as I think I remember you mentioning taking something before.

as a result of shutting Harolds Cross they're going to be upping Shelbourne to 4 nights a week
                                                                                                      Have they upped it yet?
                                                                                                      I was going to bring niblings to the races for the first time in a while this month and Fridays was the most suitable night for all. Was kind of looking forward to them seeing the abject misery of HaroldsX as it was always the relative luxury of Shelbourne they were taken to when young.

Probably rearrange to a Thursday but no harm done. This month it's €11.95 if prebooked for entry, racecard, food (burger and chips) and alcoholic drink so happy enough.

We took our dying sister out to Harolds cross as a treat last year (she loved an ol gambol).** It was pretty bleak.** They tried their best to emulate the Shelbourne Identity but failed.

Lots of dodgy people there also (and I’m from Drimnagh) . *The eldest brudder lost his rag with a cashier who go his bet wrong and cost him some bobs.* I told him he should be checking his ticket (and ticker)

but he seemed unimpressed with this latent advice.* Fierce amount of favs getting beaten too that night which coincided with my new ‘back the favs plan’.*** Thing is ,* I’d pay a kings ransom to be back to that night

losing my bollx and watching a dying woman’s eyes light up as her randomly selected mutt* flew by my odds on shot that won her a paltry few quid but best of all a fair ol ribbing to the man with a plan.

*

Bye by Harolds Cross .**

One of the major difficulties we have as a society is that we have never had a genuine discussion about what we actually want from politicians and, even if we had that discussion, I doubt we would reach a consensus.

In a republican democracy we elect people, theoretically, to make decisions for us because we believe they have the judgment necessary to make good choices for our society. That is directly at odds with the reality of politics, however, where local considerations are paramount to the average politician. Even within the Dail there are four levels of representative.

1. The Government: No choice but to act nominally in the national interest. Generally struggles with the balance between generally beneficial national policies and feathering the local nest. Country doing well in the short, medium and long term is all to their benefit.

2. The Opposition (Potential Govt): Can't promise the moon and the stars and has to act at least somewhat responsibly. Can afford to focus on constituency issues a bit more so generally not too worried about losing ground. Has an eye on national interest as it benefits them in the medium to long term if the country does well. Benefits them more if the country seems in turmoil in the short term, therefore tends towards making matters outside the basics of the national interest more scandalous than they really are.

3. The Back Bench of Govt: No role in decision making and a tiny public profile. Focuses almost exclusively on feathering their personal nest, whether that be by looking after the constituency or ingratiating themselves to senior party colleagues. Will defer their voting in the Dail to national interest where the Govt tell them to.

4. Never-Govt TDs: Will say whatever the hell they like. Do a decent chunk on a constituency level but doesn't give a fig about national interest. Primarily focused on profile building and securing their seat.

So the question is, what do we want? Well some of us want long term thinking with sound fundamental government. Some of us want a focus on narrower parochial matters that we feel have been ignored by previous governments. Some of us want to move the national conversation from the centre-right moderate level of current Irish politics to the left. Some of us just want to elect someone "to show dem lads up in Dublin".

As long as we don't know what we want we won't like what we get.

^^^^^^^^

welcome back

Bach's rescue remedy is good @sat

Also there is a homemade anxiety blend oil I have I bought it from a girl who makes her own. https://draxe.com/essential-oils-for-anxiety/

You can experiment with making your own.

I thought i would share this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-tW0CkvdDI
                                                                                                                That was fabulous!

Nursing an injury after my last class. Glad we had a weeks holiday this week as my right hip is still sore. Had a fall doing pirouettes on my worst leg. Too many attempts at perfection and lost my balance and went down. Thankfully hair was in a bun and that was what hit the wall bellow the barre and not my head which would have been bad!

Ship the first job in Malta

Joining a pension firm as a financial administrator. Something different. Be good to be earning money again after 8 months of a break here on this wonderful Island

I say it every week but Trump's press conferences really are tremendous.

Referees cashing in on big money transfers now. Clattenburg gone to Saudi Arabia.

Ship the first job in Malta

Joining a pension firm as a financial administrator. Something different. Be good to be earning money again after 8 months of a break here on this wonderful Island
                                                                                                                          Congrats . Hols over now

You be out for dinner now with v4v GAB and RD next

Welcome to the horse head elite