when you think of the giants of history who have held that office and then you think of Trump....

words rarely fail me but come on. Seriously.
    One of the greats

<>
      Yup, thats about it. Any attempt too try and put context on it gets a response from the Trump Chumps that I'm being hysterical... Ah shure its comedy gold isn't it, what are you complaining about aren't you being royally entertained.
      It's not that mate, when Trump says something that previous POTUS's have said in the past then he is vilified yet it was ok when they said it. We know he is an oaf but the further the media push him the further he pushes back. If they tried to find some common ground then at least we might have a chance of getting through his term. That'll never happen because mainstream media are owned by big business and they don't want Trump so they'll keep fueling the fire with fake news. I mean they are openly asking for him to be assassinated, WTF is that all about? He's the POTUS, can you not see how fxxked up that is?
      I don't like him and I don't agree with what he is doing but I haven't swallowed the propaganda from the mainstream media.
      I haven't heard any good counter arguments, just name calling, when I hear someone in opposition making sense then I would happily agree with them. Bernie was the closest thing to a sensible candidate but the DNC wouldn't let him run which was proved by the Wikileaks email from the DNC.

President Trump watches on as former presidents Bill Clinton and Barack Obama agree with him on immigration reform.

It's not that mate, when Trump says something that previous POTUS's have said in the past then he is vilified yet it was ok when they said it.
          like what exactly? How many former POTUS have expressed themselves constantly - every day - in full public view like Trump, in the manner Trump is doing?

We know he is an oaf but the further the media push him the further he pushes back.
          Bullshit. He's the one doing the pushing

If they tried to find some common ground then at least we might have a chance of getting through his term.
          what? Why should they find 'common ground'? Look at the shit he has pulled in his first two weeks - it's the Fourth Estate's job to shine a light on those in power, not to lick their holes and tell them they're great lads.

That'll never happen because mainstream media are owned by big business and they don't want Trump so they'll keep fueling the fire with fake news.
          Now I know you are either trolling (I hope so for your own mental state) or an imbecile. Trump is Mr Big Business! He has surrounded himself with billionaires, he is a billionaire - he wants to cut corporate tax, reduce red tape and slash employment legislation.

And somehow you think 'big business' is against this agenda? Go and shite.

I can't even read the rest of your drool. I just hope you don't believe it.

Jesus wept.

Enjoy it.

It's not that mate, when Trump says something that previous POTUS's have said in the past then he is vilified yet it was ok when they said it. We know he is an oaf but the further the media push him the further he pushes back. If they tried to find some common ground then at least we might have a chance of getting through his term. That'll never happen because mainstream media are owned by big business and they don't want Trump so they'll keep fueling the fire with fake news. I mean they are openly asking for him to be assassinated, WTF is that all about? He's the POTUS, can you not see how fxxked up that is?
              I don't like him and I don't agree with what he is doing but I haven't swallowed the propaganda from the mainstream media.
              I haven't heard any good counter arguments, just name calling, when I hear someone in opposition making sense then I would happily agree with them. Bernie was the closest thing to a sensible candidate but the DNC wouldn't let him run which was proved by the Wikileaks email from the DNC.
              Sweet mother of the lamplighting Jaysus, what on earth are you on about?

One of these mornings I'm going to wake up and it will be last June and all this has been a nasty dream.

Also I have absolutely no clue if that photo is real or fake its an pure flip.

Just landed in Iom, white Knight has a disgusting porn 70s looking tash. Told him cover it for pic. Anyhoo drinks flowing. Dinner at 7.30,karaoke at 9pm. Pray for SatNav

Saw a poster for the debate soc yesterday entitled 'This house would assassinate Donald Trump.'

Snowflakes losing the run of themselves.

Saw a poster for the debate soc yesterday entitled 'This house would assassinate Donald Trump.'

Snowflakes losing the run of themselves.
                    TrumpChumps are the real Snowflakes M8, didn't ya get the memo?

like what exactly? How many former POTUS have expressed themselves constantly - every day - in full public view like Trump, in the manner Trump is doing?

None, but I don't know what point you are making. He's an oaf, that's what oaf's do.

Bullshit. He's the one doing the pushing

That's from your prospective, still not a good counter argument.

what? Why should they find 'common ground'? Look at the shit he has pulled in his first two weeks - it's the Fourth Estate's job to shine a light on those in power, not to lick their holes and tell them they're great lads.

Find common ground like they did with Obama for the last 8 years, I think there was plenty of hole licking done there mate.

Now I know you are either trolling (I hope so for your own mental state) or an imbecile. Trump is Mr Big Business! He has surrounded himself with billionaires, he is a billionaire - he wants to cut corporate tax, reduce red tape and slash employment legislation.

And somehow you think 'big business' is against this agenda? Go and shite.

Again, you're argument falls flat, it's a fact that most of mainstream media are owned by a handful of massive corporations, if what Trump is doing affected them in such a positive way why are they so against him?

I can't even read the rest of your drool. I just hope you don't believe it.

This is what I am saying, flat counter arguments, ignore facts and resort to name calling. What's your opinion on the video I posted where Clinton and Obama are talking about illegal immigration? Nobody called them racists when they said they were going to push for more deportation and tighten up the borders.

Jesus wept.
                      Don't believe in Jesus mate

TrumpChumps are the real Snowflakes M8, didn't ya get the memo?

Any tea?

I think a resurrection of werewolf in the current climate would be top drawer. Perhaps some sort of impeachment theme. May even run with Chadders.

Gorrrr you have tied yourself in circularity.

You are fully aware that Trump is a chump:

None, but I don't know what point you are making. He's an oaf, that's what oaf's do.
                            Then you wonder why the media is holding him to account.

Perhaps you should, in your own words, consider that it might be because:

He's an oaf
                            And if someone in the position of the most powerful man in the world is acting like, to use your own words again:

an oaf
                            Then it is the job and indeed the responsibility of the Press to call him out. There's no big business agenda here. Trump is drawing negative press because, well:

He's an oaf
                            Stop being:
                            an oaf
                            and maybe he might get some better press. High level stuff this. Consider it awhile.

Every press conference he does is gold.
                              As in , the price of Gold goes up.

...Whiskey help...Looking to get a couple of bottles of Old Crow Whiskey as a present if possible...Would anyone know where to buy it in Dublin?...

I think a resurrection of werewolf in the current climate would be top drawer. Perhaps some sort of impeachment theme. May even run with Chadders.
                                  Would be craic but no hope I'm modding again m8.

Just landed in Iom, white Knight has a disgusting porn 70s looking tash. Told him cover it for pic. Anyhoo drinks flowing. Dinner at 7.30,karaoke at 9pm. Pray for SatNav
                                    2 and a half days without shaving
                                    Sure she has as much going herself

2 and a half days without shaving :rolleyes
                                      Look at the kip she brought us to. Not allowed vape but can smash glasses off each before 9pm

But but we prefer the way bill and barry said it.
                                        Irish folk prefer to get soft soaped up the wazoo a la Fianna Fail.

Look at the kip she brought us to. Not allowed vape but can smash glasses off each before 9pm

They've worked you out fairly quickly imo

2 and a half days without shaving
                                            Hidden cam or she flashed you a glimpse already

Any tea?
                                              No time for tea, ate a leftover stir fry in a house I was visiting.

You'd be best modding I think, your last few attempts playing had you showing your age

...Whiskey help...Looking to get a couple of bottles of Old Crow Whiskey as a present if possible...Would anyone know where to buy it in Dublin?...
                                                  jesus why

jesus why
                                                    I'd guess it's some nostalgia thing. Fancy a few cans of Harp sometimes myself

The only thing worse than a hot pharmacist is a hot pharmacist that is dizzy as fuck.

As a bloke, when you go into a chemist looking for diarrhoea tablets, the second last thing you want to see is a ridic hot young one waiting to serve you. You want to see a grumpy 'aul lad who gives zero fucks as to why you're there and who dispenses the necessary drugs without any fuss or drama.

The absolute last thing you want is that ridic hot young one to be dizzy as hell and start to talk you through different options of diarrhoea tablets looking to see which ones you'd prefer.

Eh, I'd prefer if you just gave me the best ones that'll stop the shites asap without having to go through a lengthy conversation about it in front of these six other people who now know why I came in here

The Nazi's a warning from history BBC4 now

Great documentary series, everyone should see it.

Tara Palmer too.

IT's report of the OCI election is amusing.
                                                            Good luck to Sarah Keane, she'll need it,

Travel ban suspension upheld. Should be some good tweets

Got home this morning after a long journey, slept most of the day so tonight will be a struggle.

Overall an amazing trip and have absolute 0 regrets.

Shout out to lurker who is an absolute gent, very nice to meet you sir.

Might try get some sort of small trip report in over the weekend.

The only thing worse than a hot pharmacist is a hot pharmacist that is dizzy as fuck.

As a bloke, when you go into a chemist looking for diarrhoea tablets, the second last thing you want to see is a ridic hot young one waiting to serve you. You want to see a grumpy 'aul lad who gives zero fucks as to why you're there and who dispenses the necessary drugs without any fuss or drama.

The absolute last thing you want is that ridic hot young one to be dizzy as hell and start to talk you through different options of diarrhoea tablets looking to see which ones you'd prefer.

Eh, I'd prefer if you just gave me the best ones that'll stop the shites asap without having to go through a lengthy conversation about it in front of these six other people who now know why I came in here
                                                                    After a 5 day stag in the West Midlands of England coming back to an awkward conversation with a grumpy old female pharmacist about treatment for the clap. Have to say, she was very professional and sympathetic but I would have preferred to be asking her about diarrhea treatment.

Gorrrr you have tied yourself in circularity.

You are fully aware that Trump is a chump:

Then you wonder why the media is holding him to account.

Perhaps you should, in your own words, consider that it might be because:

And if someone in the position of the most powerful man in the world is acting like, to use your own words again:

Then it is the job and indeed the responsibility of the Press to call him out. There's no big business agenda here. Trump is drawing negative press because, well:

Stop being:
                                                                      and maybe he might get some better press. High level stuff this. Consider it awhile.
                                                                      Yeah, Trump is an oaf and a chump. If that's the only argument against him then that's good. It means people will soon get over that and let him get on with his job.
                                                                      Too much credence is given to slick politicians who have the gift of the gab. I'd rather have an oaf in power who delivers rather than a dishonest politician who says one thing and does another.

I'd rather have an oaf in power who delivers rather than a dishonest politician who says one thing and does another.
                                                                        Those aren't really the only options on offer at here.

Much more outcome is a Dishonest Oaf in power, who says one thing, does whatever he wants, and delivers mostly the stuff that people hoped he was joking about.

Sweet mother of the lamplighting Jaysus, what on earth are you on about?

One of these mornings I'm going to wake up and it will be last June and all this has been a nasty dream.

Also I have absolutely no clue if that photo is real or fake its an pure flip.
                                                                          Holy lord lantern of jaysus, told you I don't believe in that stuff.

Tony, I like you but you have said nothing about Trump except jump on the CNN hate bandwagon.
                                                                          Trump is a wife beater, Trump is a rapist, Trump wants to fuck his daughter, blah blah blah, with not one iota of proof, it's pathetic.
                                                                          I tried to engage you in conversation a couple of months ago and all you could say was "you don't have a fucking clue". Great debate strategy mate.

This just in. According to gorrrr72;
                                                                            Trump is a wife beater, Trump is a rapist,
                                                                            Case closed folks.

#AlternateFacts

Those aren't really the only options on offer at here.

Much more outcome is a Dishonest Oaf in power, who says one thing, does whatever he wants, and delivers mostly the stuff that people hoped he was joking about.
                                                                              Ok man, you are not really pointing out anything of substance but if you have examples by all means post it up.

All I am saying is he's not a politician so don't expect him to act like a politician. He's an oaf, and he's impulsive, he can't take a slagging and fuck knows he's been slagged.
                                                                              Anyone who wants to point out that 99% of media is against him when they should be impartial is immediately branded a tin foil hat wearing racist or white supremacist or if they happen to be black they're an uncle tom. I just don't think that's right. It's like you can't have an independent opinion, you either follow what the left want or you are a racist, fascist, bigot, or whatever else they want to call you.
                                                                              It's like the "tolerant" left is completely upside down, they're the ones rioting on the streets, where is the tolerance now?

This just in. According to gorrrr72;

Case closed folks.

#AlternateFacts
                                                                                Fake news

I would thoroughly recommend this book.

It's about the Cholera outbreak in Sunderland , social injustice and is incredibly well written.

I can't say it changed my world view. It simply confirmed it. You'll enjoy every moment of it. Even though it's so very very sad. It presents itself as a box of chocolates filled with fondant Dickens centers. It isn't. It speaks to the wisdom shame and sadness of humanity. Little boys know a hundred ways to sell bad fish for a reason. A young girl has a baby who she must support alone through selling her soul at night and her labour by day. She has a night prison warden who in the end lends her the power to leave this horrid life. But not before this life takes everything from her including her baby who has a purple heart that beats outside his body and is a spot you must absolutely not poke. She survives even losing him to live and learn that you must never labour in vain and yet there is nothing without labour.

Also watership down. It's not just for rabbits.

After a 5 day stag in the West Midlands of England coming back to an awkward conversation with a grumpy old female pharmacist about treatment for the clap. Have to say, she was very professional and sympathetic but I would have preferred to be asking her about diarrhea treatment.

Ok man, you are not really pointing out anything of substance but if you have examples by all means post it up.

All I am saying is he's not a politician so don't expect him to act like a politician. He's an oaf, and he's impulsive, he can't take a slagging and fuck knows he's been slagged.
                                                                                      Anyone who wants to point out that 99% of media is against him when they should be impartial is immediately branded a tin foil hat wearing racist or white supremacist or if they happen to be black they're an uncle tom. I just don't think that's right. It's like you can't have an independent opinion, you either follow what the left want or you are a racist, fascist, bigot, or whatever else they want to call you.
                                                                                      It's like the "tolerant" left is completely upside down, they're the ones rioting on the streets, where is the tolerance now?
                                                                                      You need to read the book I suggested.
                                                                                      You are all the villains in it.
                                                                                      I hope it pokes you in the purple spot that in babies you ABSOLUTELY MUST NOT POKE.

Also do you have to tell us everything?? EW ...imma terrified just reading !!!!! Trauma!

But but we prefer the way bill and barry said it.
                                                                                        Irish folk prefer to get soft soaped up the wazoo a la Fianna Fail.
                                                                                        You can't compare Trump shit to Irish party shit unless you're going to blow your load on a poster of theirs like you do to pics of Trump, m8.

You had the chance to troll but all you did was become a red sheep.

Nail your colours to a mast in Irish politics.

I'm not trying to say he is and isn't anything in particular. I'm just pointing out that painting the options as;
                                                                                          • An Oaf delivers on promises, or
                                                                                          • A dishonest politician who says one thing and does another.

Is exactly the kind of false dichotomy that the media is constantly playing up to.

The thing is just a series of informal fallacies at this point. Strawmen everywhere. Reductio ad Hitlerum is getting a great run out too.

Written & Presented by Ruby WaxAir date on BBC1: June 25, 2000NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT INTENDED

At the end ..the people who lost most to Trump at his Casino...buy his book..one woman says 'I gave him 2 million of business' or something...what she means is ..she lost it in his casino and she says she is his biggest fan ...and buys his book

I don't get that ..i hate people i loose monies to ..and i am lovely! I couldn't be THAT lovely!
                                                                                            Last edited by Guest; 10-02-17, 04:04.

If you look back at interviews with the Trump family over last 15 yrs it's like sadolin. Does what it says on the tin . knowing that I assume the free world has continuancy plan

I don't get that ..i hate people i loose monies to ..and i am lovely! I couldn't be THAT lovely!
                                                                                                Losing money in his casino is a very strange thing to hold against Trump. It's not like he was there goading you in the gambol.

I don't care ..still would..and I don't even gamble at all. I don't even play poker that much really..and I am a fish and not very good but at least I know I am... so be nice..

I wouldn't take advantage of people ..i would try not to. He takes advantage.
                                                                                                  Last edited by Guest; 10-02-17, 06:49.

Also watership down. It's not just for rabbits.

I would thoroughly recommend this book.

It's about the Cholera outbreak in Sunderland , social injustice and is incredibly well written.

I can't say it changed my world view. It simply confirmed it. You'll enjoy every moment of it. Even though it's so very very sad. It presents itself as a box of chocolates filled with fondant Dickens centers. It isn't. It speaks to the wisdom shame and sadness of humanity. Little boys know a hundred ways to sell bad fish for a reason. A young girl has a baby who she must support alone through selling her soul at night and her labour by day. She has a night prison warden who in the end lends her the power to leave this horrid life. But not before this life takes everything from her including her baby who has a purple heart that beats outside his body and is a spot you must absolutely not poke. She survives even losing him to live and learn that you must never labour in vain and yet there is nothing without labour.
                                                                                                    Absolutely no help. I've been between the two for ages to read.

The Nazi's a warning from history BBC4 now

Great documentary series, everyone should see it.
                                                                                                      I watched that Night Will Fall doco that AJ recommended last night. Fascinating story of the film itself - I didn't learn anything new about the camps although the footage was visceral.

How the Allies didn't execute the SS on the spot is beyond me. The Russians did.

Yeah, Trump is an oaf and a chump. If that's the only argument against him then that's good. It means people will soon get over that and let him get on with his job.
                                                                                                        Too much credence is given to slick politicians who have the gift of the gab. I'd rather have an oaf in power who delivers rather than a dishonest politician who says one thing and does another.
                                                                                                        Oh, well you're in trouble in that case. Because his first few weeks have been chaos, wild shouting and an absolute inability to follow through.

'Politics is the art of the possible'.

He absolutely does not understand how the political system works. You need friends and allies. On the Hill, in the Press, in business, even in the judiciary. He has managed to turn lots of these people against him through his ranting and intemperate tweeting. This is stupid.

The press is against him (mostly) because of Donald's own actions. He just attacked the independence of the judiciary and pissed off his own Supreme Court nominee. Look at the clownish rowbacks on lies told by the White House every day. Look at him insulting McCain - a genuine war hero when he's a cowardly draft dodger himself?

You reckon the media should give him a free pass on all these things? That's what would happen in Putin's Russia, thank fuck it doesn't in America.

Now stop trying to be a contrarian for the sake of it. Examine the facts and apply some critical analysis.

I tried to engage you in conversation a couple of months ago and all you could say was "you don't have a fucking clue". Great debate strategy mate.
                                                                                                          All you are saying is it is a big joke and it doesn't matter because Hillary...

It does matter what the character of the POTUS is, it matters to all of us , a lot.

You cannot debate with a moron he'll drag you down to his level and then beat you with experience.
                                                                                                          Trumps level of debate is furious imbecilic all caps tweets in the middle of the night at any perceived personal slight. Its irrelevant what the slight is, a picture on the internet that reveals his intense personal ugliness or the facts of the constitution of the USA and the independence of the judiciary. Its mind blowing in its potential consequences.

The Trump Chumps like to justify their wrong headed support for this monster by claiming there is some great intelligence or a super clever genius behind this. There isn't, all there is is a pathetic dumb schoolyard bully.

Hmm...have an interview for a permanent position at another college in 2 weeks. Just found out that my mentor here is doing a single candidate interview for a senior position meaning his job here would be vacant and advertised probably in April. I don't see how they could legitimately not give it to me.
                                                                                                              Waiting years for a permanent job and then two come along at once ffs.

"tolerant" left
                                                                                                                The left has never been tolerant, that's why millions more died under left wing governments than any other form of government, it's why they're violently protesting on the street because they didn't get the result they wanted, and why they shut down free speech in university, they're pathetic authoritarian thugs.

Do we not see some overall merit in having this Trump experience?

I see less talk about micro aggression, a growing appreciation for an independent judiciary and a general appreciation in Ireland of how we live here versus the UK and US for example. We have a lot to be grateful for even if we don't often express gratitude and the Trump lessons seem to have improved our own awareness and provoked some good general debate.

Now we do have some Irish people saying "we need our own Trump to stand up for us" etc. etc. but as both the Trump presidency and Brexit plays over the next few years I think people will cool on that idea and appreciate the benefits we have more but also "lazy" liberals will start to work a bit harder to explain and share the benefits of society in a more intelligent manner.

Isn't there a large benefit to the collective in having complacency challenged??

I find it hard to get upset about Trump at all and the stupidity of his actions. I've spoken to Americans who have voted for him and support him and didn't even bother discussing the stupidity and contradictions in what he says. I don't know what that says about me at all. I hear Irish people everywhere I go discussing his presidency and I rarely even feel the need to comment much less get upset etc. I don't know what this says about me...

Oh, well you're in trouble in that case. Because his first few weeks have been chaos, wild shouting and an absolute inability to follow through.

'Politics is the art of the possible'.

He absolutely does not understand how the political system works. You need friends and allies. On the Hill, in the Press, in business, even in the judiciary. He has managed to turn lots of these people against him through his ranting and intemperate tweeting. This is stupid.

The press is against him (mostly) because of Donald's own actions. He just attacked the independence of the judiciary and pissed off his own Supreme Court nominee. Look at the clownish rowbacks on lies told by the White House every day. Look at him insulting McCain - a genuine war hero when he's a cowardly draft dodger himself?

You reckon the media should give him a free pass on all these things? That's what would happen in Putin's Russia, thank fuck it doesn't in America.

Now stop trying to be a contrarian for the sake of it. Examine the facts and apply some critical analysis.
                                                                                                                  All you are saying is it is a big joke and it doesn't matter because Hillary...

It does matter what the character of the POTUS is, it matters to all of us , a lot.

You cannot debate with a moron he'll drag you down to his level and then beat you with experience.
                                                                                                                  Trumps level of debate is furious imbecilic all caps tweets in the middle of the night at any perceived personal slight. Its irrelevant what the slight is, a picture on the internet that reveals his intense personal ugliness or the facts of the constitution of the USA and the independence of the judiciary. Its mind blowing in its potential consequences.

The Trump Chumps like to justify their wrong headed support for this monster by claiming there is some great intelligence or a super clever genius behind this. There isn't, all there is is a pathetic dumb schoolyard bully.

off to wedding for first time in about 4/5 years....what is normal cash gift these days?

guessing €200 but no idea really

SP, have thought considered taking up any new hobbies lately? Might be an idea.

€150 for a couple still I think. Also haven't been to many lately though.

The left has never been tolerant, that's why millions more died under left wing governments than any other form of government, it's why they're violently protesting on the street because they didn't get the result they wanted, and why they shut down free speech in university, they're pathetic authoritarian thugs.
                                                                                                                          I think we, as sentient adults, can distinguish between constitutional 'left\right' (Corbyn vs May for example, Clinton vs Trump - although they are both right) and authoritarian 'left\right' (Stalin vs Hitler)

can't we?

as for 'violently protesting on the streets'....jesus, talk about snowflaking. No-one has died. This isn't Belfast in the early 70s. People have moccachinos to drink.