[–]fscomeau[S] 27 minutes ago
    I used a demo account for quotes as I did not my real name/account showing up by accident during the stream. I just copied the position on that paper account.

Ah... our Love to Admire was good. No I in Threesome is a goooood tune.
      Yeah, I like No I in Threesome but didn't think the album was anywhere near as good as Antics, it was just ok

I'm not sure if I am impressed or disgusted by the elaborateness of the lie.
        I only waded in after the fact, but why did people believe he was legit from the start.

Also what exactly is r/wallstreetbets, ELI5 please

Got a new laptop recently (a silver metal one with black trim) and embedded video on chrome doesn't work (most noticeably on twitter). A google suggests clearing the cache, which fixes it once and then it goes back to not working. The box where the video should be just says media cannot be played. Any ideas?

Doesn't really make sense because free weights build core strength when machines don't, if anything that means your other muscles will grow more out of line with your core strength!
            I would tend to agree as I used to use free weights. I have spent a few sessions in multi-gym and next day I am a wee bit 'aware' of having done something wheras with free weights I used to get up in morning and go " Ah Fuck" as my aching body suffered but took day off ( usually a jog done though) and went back at it day after.
            I am just more careful nowadays when heartbeat gets to 160+and have not got to the mindset I used to have when I was a few stone lighter but working weights twice as heavy and twice as long and pushing the pain barrier.
            Never getting back to stage where I could invite people to punch me in stomach, do 80-100 push ups, sit ups, 60-80 pull ups a min but happy just that I can see my toes and privates when I look down and also dont snore as much or sweat as much.
            Wife thinks its making me hornier but thats a waste as beginning to believe she thinks sex is for procreation not pleasure

The problem with having more money is that Mr. Martingale is still only a step or two away.

Still working an average of 80+ hours a week, as of 7pm tomorrow I will(no joke) have worked 60 hours out of 68 hours.

This even disgusts me. Quitting time.

I only waded in after the fact, but why did people believe he was legit from the start.

Also what exactly is r/wallstreetbets, ELI5 please
                I read the link when Denny posted it because I like a good crash and burn yarn as much as the next man. I know next to nothing about that world though so I took it at face value.

The problem with having more money is that Mr. Martingale is still only a step or two away.

Still working an average of 80+ hours a week, as of 7pm tomorrow I will(no joke) have worked 60 hours out of 68 hours.

Get a job paying more money for less hours. Although I do feel your pain to some extent, 12hr days becoming disturbingly normal atm.

Cunning plan to hire some smart but non-threatening minions in play though.

Get a job paying more money for less hours. Although I do feel your pain to some extent, 12hr days becoming disturbingly normal atm.

Hire motivated people who want to do your work instead of trying to motivate people to do their own work while you still need to do your own. This way your work will be excellent, you can take credit for being a legend of a manager and get a promotion based on your strategic thinking.

Might make a management book or at least put it into a LinkedIn post with a picture of a horse running through a field or a guy on a mountain.

Never hire anyone smarter than you

Thats terrible advice btw but it was for decades a guiding principal in allsorts of business and probably still rules in the civil service.
                      Last edited by Strewelpeter; 01-02-17, 10:48.

We can be sure we are not in Kansas any more when the nomination of a 'True Believer' in the repulsively regressive Anton Scalia is greeted by a response of at least he didn't nominate Steve Bannon ....

FFS!

We can be sure we are not in Kansas any more when the nomination of a 'True Believer' in the repulsively regressive Anton Scalia is greeted by a response of at least he didn't nominate Steve Bannon ....

FFS!
                          Scalia was sound. Just a bog standard rights-of-the-invidivual conservative. Even Slate liked him:
                          When news of Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia’s death at age 79 broke on Saturday afternoon, the partisan split over the justice’s legacy was...

This new pick doesn't seem so bad on the face of it, but we've yet to hear his opinions on much of anything. He has to be confirmed by the senate which will require the approval of at least 8 Democrats, so he will get a sound grilling at least.

Might make a management book or at least put it into a LinkedIn post with a picture of a horse running through a field or a guy on a mountain.
                            The 'guy standing on top of a mountain looking confidently across his domain' seems to be the image du jour.

I fucken hate that guy. Would love to punch him in his smug face.

yeah defo the biggest drawback of recruitment is looking at linkedin a lot so having see a lot of that shite

Hire motivated people who want to do your work instead of trying to motivate people to do their own work while you still need to do your own. This way your work will be excellent, you can take credit for being a legend of a manager and get a promotion based on your strategic thinking.

yeah defo the biggest drawback of recruitment is looking at linkedin a lot so having see a lot of that shite
                                    Please tell me that's an instant "do not hire".

of course and it is also an instant avoid ever talking to or being in the same room as

Is being an active member of linkedin actually useful?
                                        Bar the plethora of recruitment mass invites and mails, I barely use it.
                                        Every now and then, I'll endorse a few people and get the same back.

Gotta admire this guys moxy

Hadn't seen you post in a while, and then i read this this morning and thought 'Ah, there's mdoug'

Mine says I went to college, where I work and that's it. Not even what I do here. I get called and bombarded by people all the time. I have to think there are diminishing returns over having a very basic profile.
                                              Most of it paints people as asinine to me more than anything.

Some people use it as a lot of technical whitepapers get posted up, tech blogs and all that side so there is a lot of good content there but buried under a ton of shite from recruiters, maths problems and motivational sudo psychology.

Essentially its the internet so there is a ton of opinion and people being people with a small amount of useful information.

Great for jobs tho

The major drawback with Linkedin is people being able to see when you're creeping on them

Almost as bad a pic of some dude driving a boat. Like you are captain of your own destiny.

Takes skill, innit. Any cunt with legs can walk up a hill and take a pic at the top.
                                                      Last edited by AndyFatBastard; 01-02-17, 13:15.

Meeting RichieM for lunch. The excitement here is palpable.

Mine says I went to college, where I work and that's it. Not even what I do here. I get called and bombarded by people all the time. I have to think there are diminishing returns over having a very basic profile.
                                                          Most of it paints people as asinine to me more than anything.
                                                          Some recruiters still won't read your profile properly (even when you have more detail) but I find it's less of a problem as you become more specialised/senior and you are dealing with more experienced and competent recruiters.

It's a great shop window at the end of the day and for very little effort can deliver quite a decent level of industry specific profile and job offers/exploratory meeting invites.

It's got to be a real boon for quality recruiters who are prepared to do a bit of work and not just carpet bomb folk.

The major drawback with Linkedin is people being able to see when you're creeping on them
                                                            Apparently a lot of women get creepy/stalker type messages on it. Just crazy when you think about it.

I must be doing something awfully wrong with this linkedin carry on so! Not a single bit from a recruiter in flippin' ages!

Apparently a lot of women get creepy/stalker type messages on it. Just crazy when you think about it.
                                                                Click into any hot woman, look at the "also looked at" column on the right.

But surely tinder or some other dating app is a better way to go? Stalking someone on a professional personal shop front website is just bizarre. And if they are just looking for pictures of good looking women they are on the internet they have options!! Bizarre stuff.

I must be doing something awfully wrong with this linkedin carry on so! Not a single bit from a recruiter in flippin' ages!
                                                                    Ah I'd only get something genuinely interesting on average twice a year say but that's plenty in my niche. Actually probably loads given how small this town is.

To be fair it's also probably the combination of Waterford and engineering... not exactly a hot bed of activity.

Fully agree! Just showing how rampant it is.

there is a function to make your viewing anonymous but LinkedIn creeping one of the most bizarre internet phenomenons.

Few women at work have lads mainly from the middle east hitting on them constantly

Meeting RichieM for lunch. The excitement here is palpable.
                                                                            I hope it lived up to the build up.

Just pulled the trigger on my flights and accommodation for Superbowl LI. Once in a lifetime chance to see my team possibly win their first Superbowl

I'll pick up a game ticket on stubhub a few days before the game. Cheapest ticket at the minute is 3.3k. Hoping to get one for 2.5k. Willing to take the gamble judging by the stats on previous Superbowl pricing trends.

This is going to be fucking unreal
                                                                              Ticket purchased. Up high but bang on the 50 yard line on the Falcons side of the stadium.

Roll on Sunday

It's got to be a real boon for quality recruiters who are prepared to do a bit of work and not just carpet bomb folk.
                                                                                I think I found the problem

Ticket purchased. Up high but bang on the 50 yard line on the Falcons side of the stadium.

Roll on Sunday
                                                                                  Try get us a decent photo of Bobby Kraft lifting that trophy.

I'll be the pasty Irish guy crying in the stands whether we win or lose.

I promise I'll upload some pics during the game. Presuming the wifi works

Deadly , Lurker.

Enjoy

I have some semi private mode set on linked in, I can't see who viewed me and I imagine they can't see I looked at them, must take it off to see what the craic is.

EDIT: I can now see a lot of people who look at me work at rival companies, ha.
                                                                                        I also see the accounts manager at the corkscrew wine place just added me, he has a far better chance than any recruiters of getting my custom
                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 01-02-17, 15:33.

I have some semi private mode set on linked in, I can't see who viewed me and I imagine they can't see I looked at them, must take it off to see what the craic is.

EDIT: I can now see a lot of people who look at me work at rival companies, ha.
                                                                                          I also see the accounts manager at the corkscrew wine place just added me, he has a far better chance than any recruiters of getting my custom
                                                                                          Thought you could only see the people that looked at your profile after you changed?

I know people who have gotten job offers on it. Not even interviews offers. But they were known in the industry.

Thought you could only see the people that looked at your profile after you changed?
                                                                                              Just showing me the companies they work at and their positions, their names will come after my change yeah.

I saw this on BBC news. I thought it was so sad. It makes the point that men who use prostitutes usually at some point will use underage children. And even if they don't they are contributing to underage children being trafficked. And the vast majority of prostitutes start as children. It's a sick business. What am I saying it's not business. These girls in the video have the name of their pimp tattooed on them.

People who use prostitutes contribute to child prostitution.
                                                                                                This video shows the other side ..it's not going to be what you thought.

♥ Hello beautiful .^_^. ♥I took this video down after YT expressed there could be consequences.. BUT this video has helped SO MANY people! I will stand with ...

Her account is echoed in the news report.

By the way ...she got the guys in court. They were convicted and sentenced. One for the little guy.

I hope it lived up to the build up.
                                                                                                  Did you pay and did AFB fall asleep?

Cancelled upc. Take that satnav.

there is a function to make your viewing anonymous but LinkedIn creeping one of the most bizarre internet phenomenons.

Few women at work have lads mainly from the middle east hitting on them constantly
                                                                                                      I was creeping on fellow parkrunners, male and female to see what they did for a living. Until I copped they could see I was.

Need some urgent cooking advice.

I have a small pork belly cut. I've cooked this a few times but can never manage to get the crackling right. Problem is the cut is too small, by the time it takes the skin to crisp up the meat would be well over done.

What are my options? Was thinking of cutting the skin off and roasting seperatly, would this work?

Don't think I can grill it, be too spitty I'd say.

What colour is the pork?

It's a fair to middlin shade of human.

Found a vid with a tip I'm trying.

Need some urgent cooking advice.

I have a small pork belly cut. I've cooked this a few times but can never manage to get the crackling right. Problem is the cut is too small, by the time it takes the skin to crisp up the meat would be well over done.

What are my options? Was thinking of cutting the skin off and roasting seperatly, would this work?

Don't think I can grill it, be too spitty I'd say.
                                                                                                              Need a cooking torch ideally. Which I imagine is plenty of help to you

That would be the job alright.

Trying this, although not gonna cook for as long ...

Against common beliefs that pork skin needs to be dried out before getting into the oven to get the perfect crackling - watch this and be convinced otherwise...

Interested to hear how that turns out. Makes it look easy

TrumpDonald.org

Saw that last night. Works well on the phone

Hard few days teaching. It went okay, very well even, but the French system of living seems vastly better. Think I might accept the higher taxes for a clearly better country (hence presumably why I left and purely my personal perspective). Ugh - all kid based reasons to follow as that's my main consideration - schoolkids having their lunch in McDonalds (why no proper lunches in school?), the huge number of roads that don't have right of crossing for pedestrians (how is a kid meant to cycle to school?), and that horrible idea of forcing schoolgirls to wear short dresses as their 'uniform'. (why do they need to wear uniforms in the first place - are they trainee army staff?) There's a lot of disturbed features there!
                                                                                                                          I'm kinda ok with uniforms as it removes the competitive edge you'd find at some schools. I'd imagine, could well be wrong, that certain fee paying girls schools would make it hard to keep with the jones' in a fashion sense and bullying would be prevalent because of it. No data to back that up mind just my opinion