@ MikeHunt . Where are you based?

My fav bottle shop in Dublin is the Mace outside of James' Hospital.
    The two boys that run it are seriously into their beer.

It's just a scaldy mace apart from that. But trust me the craft selection is outrageous.
    Where abouts? The James st side? Can't picture it.

Drink store in stoneybatter is quite good. Augestenier Lager Bier has been missing from there for a while and I can't find it anywhere else. Any ideas?

Must have a look. There's a place just down from the entrance to Tivoli Theatre that's worth mentioning, always has a good supply.

Quite a selection,wish my local supermarkets would take note,so much bandwagon fake craft beer shite like mcgargles,journeyman etc
        Have to say re craft beer it's hard to beat the 330ml cans of Franciscan well chieftain and it's very widely available.
        Anything by Galway bay brewery or kinnegar usually hits the spot too. Sierra Nevada torpedo for the nightcap.
        Tried some hophouse 13 over Christmas,Guinness literally taking the piss

Must have a look. There's a place just down from the entrance to Tivoli Theatre that's worth mentioning, always has a good supply.
          That's Molloys on Francis st. Very good alright. I have the Mace as better.

The standard of Off Licenses is fcuking horrendous.

I guess the old 'finders keepers' excuse is at the heart of it all right Though for me it is just a reality of the world flowing from property rights, inheritance, national sovereignty, all the rest of it; if we decide that immigration should be totally free and that the people living in a certain area of the world, whether they've been there since time immemorial or only a few decades, shouldn't have control regarding access to the territory they live in, I'd see the practicalities of that being extremely problematic in the short and medium terms.

A world where immigration wherever you like, whenever you like is an unalienable human right seems unworkable to me, though I haven't given it much thought so of course am happy to be proved incorrect!

I am kinda a trolling with a lot of the trump posts and I do look at some of my posts and go " what a fkn dick" like I'm sure many others do but when you hear the likes of Colm o Gorman come out with gems like "Ireland's pre famine population was 8 million,so we can afford to just open the gates" (paraphrasing)it does make you stop and go ,hang on a sec,quite a few people who grew up here have had to leave ,and not nearly as many by choice as some would lead you to believe . Believe me when I was 21 I was on the same bandwagon of everyone's a racist ,I'm so high and mighty blah blah but reality does and should start to intrude when you get older. I just genuinely don't understand the whole open borders movement,it seems so naieve,Sven if it is coming from a good place

Then again you have guys like the fella in Quebec going off on one and it's hard not to read the likes of The Donald,politics.ie or the journal comments section without thinking we should bring back Victorian style asylums so there's that.
            Last edited by Guest; 31-01-17, 18:22.

Posting this for a friend. I know she'd be very appreciative if you work in customer service/support and could take the time to complete this survey for her thesis.

http://www.lauraprado.net/research
              Done there

Just to be clear, I can actually carry 5kg weights.

It was more the shock of trying to do exercises while trying to carry such yokes. Not something I had tried before but physio has convinced me.
                You'll improve really fast regarding how much weight you can handle, and core strength is great for back pain. At first it seems heavy, a month later you are thinking how did you even struggle with these little twigs.

Foam roller is great for back pain too, good one like this (don't directly foam roll lower back if that is where the pain comes from)

Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 31-01-17, 14:23.

Really is shocking. Craft beer and trendy bars everywhere you look but off licences are terrible. Basically none with any decent selection in city centre

The Molloys in Ballyfermot for the longest time had no idea what they were selling and/or noone was buying it.
                    I used to love dropping in and picking up 50 quid of beer for a score from the discount isle.
                    5 8 degrees for a tenner is a usual one and they didnt notice the limited edition.

The offy in the granite is pretty good as well.
                    Large Bottles of Mountain Man for 3.20 when it's 4.50 is most other places
                    The dude running it is an odd sort but likes to chat about beer and will get in anything you want

Been meaning to reply to this for ages.

Aside from the absolute classics, Beatles, Bowie, Dylan, Bush, Beach Boys and their likes below are albums (in no particular order) over the last 20 or so years that I always go back to time and time again.

Vampire Weekend - Vampire Weekend
                      Modest Mouse - Good news for people who like bad news
                      Kings of Leon - Aha Shake Heartbreak
                      Elbow - The Seldom Seen Kid
                      The National - High Violet
                      Cake - Fashion Nuggett
                      Tom Baxter - Feather & Stone
                      Albert Niland - Downtown Exit
                      Bloc Party - Silent Alarm
                      Joe Chester - A Murder of crows
                      Interpol - Antics
                      Villagers - Becoming a jackal
                      Death cab for cutie - Plans
                      Richard Hawley - Coles corner
                      LCD Soundsystem - Sound of silver
                      Air - Moon Safari
                      Flaming Lips - Yoshimi battles the pink robots
                      Richard Ashcroft - Alone with everybody
                      Hot Chip - The warning
                      The Bravery - The Bravery
                      The Streets - Original Pirate Material
                      Declan O Rourke - Since Kyabram

great list....you reminded me I havent listened to a grand dont come for free in ages.

Interpol have like one good song, two max. We went into length about this recently while drunk

That's insane.
                          How likely is he to pull it off?
                          Originally posted by OlafTheSnowman
                          Martin Shkreli estimated the 100 puts at 1% and unsuccessfully tried to convince the guy to sell his position for a 10% profit. The crazy guy audio starts at 6:30-7ish
                          https://www.facebook.com/martinshkr/...1376433632925/

"What you're doing is stupid!"
                          "I'm an apple specialist, I've been trading it since the 90s!"
                          "Then why don't you have any money?"

Last edited by Denny Crane; 31-01-17, 14:37.

Posting this for a friend. I know she'd be very appreciative if you work in customer service/support and could take the time to complete this survey for her thesis.

http://www.lauraprado.net/research
                            Thanks to SatNav + Pat Mustard plus others who did the survey. Laura is much closer now to reaching the target.
                            Last edited by coillcam; 31-01-17, 16:24.

V4V or any other pension knowers.

Is there any reasonable way to compare a typical corporate pension (as an employee of a generic US company for example) with a self employed persons executive pension they have themselves? I know there are probably loads of 'it depends' bit I'm not great at this sort of thing.

V4V or any other pension knowers.

Is there any reasonable way to compare a typical corporate pension (as an employee of a generic US company for example) with a self employed persons executive pension they have themselves? I know there are probably loads of 'it depends' bit I'm not great at this sort of thing.
                                Kinda vague question...

Self employed investment options are generally more exotic/have more choices etc. etc. Which are generally a waste of time for most folk and a good way of losing\burning money. The fees are generally fixed but hefty as a percentage of the assets for anyone with less than 250k imo. The fixed fee is to cover trusteeship, reporting, compliance, administration. Asset management fees are in addition and depend on what you choose.

A standard corporate offering should have lower investment management fees as a percentage for the standard asset classes (equities, bonds etc) but less investment choice (which is no harm for most people). The fixed overheads are generally met by the employer and you, as a member, only pay for the investment management and the admin of the scheme (in some cases the employer will pay the admin fee as well). If you want to get into more detail drop me a pm or give me a call.

I hope the new job is going well!
                                Last edited by V for Vendetta; 31-01-17, 15:36.

White House claims five-year-old boy detained in US airport for hours 'could have posed a security threat'

“To assume that just because of someone’s age and gender that they don’t pose a threat would be misguided and wrong.”

You would this is parody. But it's not

Ok, less vague question I guess is what is the tipping point financially when it makes sense to be a regular employee with built-in benefits like pension, etc rather than a self employed contractor type.

Obviously there are other considerations but I'm mostly interested in financials and pension specifically as I'm dumb when it comes to that.

I've only read the start of your reply so far (thanks for that) so will go and read it now.

I'll probably send a pm later with more detail, cheers.

Ok, less vague question I guess is what is the tipping point financially when it makes sense to be a regular employee with built-in benefits like pension, etc rather than a self employed contractor type.

Obviously there are other considerations but I'm mostly interested in financials and pension specifically as I'm dumb when it comes to that.

I've only read the start of your reply so far (thanks for that) so will go and read it now.

I'll probably send a pm later with more detail, cheers.
                                      Think that's much broader than pension tbh.

As an employee you have salary + perks (which may or may not include a pension) you also, in Ireland, have a lot of security as it's very hard to fire someone even if they are incompetent. Therefore the likely end to employment is a payoff unless you choose to go. Add in potential raises/promotions etc and that can mean a lot financially.

Now, if you go contracting then you do so with the knowledge that you're giving up these perks. You have far less job security and guaranteed employment. You don't get a pension (if there is a company one) you don't get healthcare or annual leave days. You don't get a Mobil phone/laptop, you don't get a car or car allowance. In addition you don't get PRSI paid which limits your access to social supports and/or government pension when you're done. These are all extra costs that you need to factor in from a financial perspective.

The plus side is that you should be commanding a daily/project rate that's a good bit in excess of what a salary would pay and you can write off a lot of costs against any potential tax liability. You have more flexibility with your pension and where you invest it and you can invest more of your earnings tax-free in a pension than you can when you're employed by someone else.

Really, the financial side comes down to how much extra you can charge and still be in regular work as a contractor v's the security of being an employee. The other benefits are good too though, choosing your own projects, taking regular sabbaticals/breaks, working on new and different things regularly etc.

A lot of the latter is about what kind of life/balance you want and how much of a network you have and can utilize to allow you to pick and choose work.

Edit: The tipping point is going to vary for everyone, but I'd of thought that 25-30% more per day should be the minimum you're charging as a contractor to justify the lack of security.
                                      Last edited by Iago; 31-01-17, 15:58.

Oh I know there is much more to it financially (as well as non financial reasons) than pension, but that's the bit I really don't know how to quantify properly.

Cash out or let it ride? Wonder if they're giving him the option of cashing one and letting one ride.

Gonna back Bournemouth for lols anyway.

A Dublin punter faces an anxious night by the television with the result of tonight's Premier League clash between Crystal Palace and Bournemouth deciding whether he is €132k richer by this time tomorrow.

I would have thought tipping point was more like 50%+ tbh - for all those reasons you listed above.

Oh I know there is much more to it financially (as well as non financial reasons) than pension, but that's the bit I really don't know how to quantify properly.
                                              Can I keep my filthy tax haven contractor directors pension now I'm in a full time gig ?

reminds my I must get my pstb rep out to me to sort pension plan

So I was answering something else entirely!

Let's put some numbers on your actual question!!

220 working days in the year (assuming annual leave and bank holidays are taken in both scenarios)

Let's say the job is paying you €50kp.a. (scale to whatever salary you are on).

Employers PRSI is 10.75% = €5,375

Employer Pension contribution lets say 10% = €5,000 (don't count employee contributions as they'll be coming from salary so that would be double counting)

Financial benefits of a staff pension scheme versus exec plan. Small enough imo and hard to judge without a lot more detail but staff scheme likely better value. ~few hundred per annum up to €1,500 depending on fund size and contribution level.

Bonus as an employee lets say 5% on average (a wide variable) = €2,500

Study package/car allowance/car parking/mobile/work from home support = €3k (let's assume)

Cost of Life cover and Income protection = €1,500 (depending what the terms are)

Total cost of employment ~ €68-69kp.a.

Then you weigh up job security versus flexibility and tax benefits of self employed versus employee. Generally works out at 20-30% extra on the employment cost which means another 17k (~25% more) so that's ~ €84k or a daily rate of €380 per day.

Scale accordingly...
                                                Last edited by V for Vendetta; 31-01-17, 16:49.

I would have thought tipping point was more like 50%+ tbh - for all those reasons you listed above.
                                                  It generally is 50% on the pure salary but more like 20-30% on the cost of employment. Get's a bit more funky at the higher pay rates and down to how badly they need your unique skillz!!
                                                  Last edited by V for Vendetta; 31-01-17, 16:51.

Cash out or let it ride? Wonder if they're giving him the option of cashing one and letting one ride.

Gonna back Bournemouth for lols anyway.

http://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer...-35411983.html
                                                    I'd cash out the 23K one or whatever it is and let the smaller one ride.

Pension thing is tricky in my view because of the length of time until you can get your hands on the cash. That lack of flexibility is a potential issue depending on what investment options might open up to you in the medium term. Also worth bearing in mind that barring the tax free lump sum pension is taxable as income once you are receiving the income so they're not really as tax efficient as the industry implies.

For example if you put 100 in to your pension as a PAYE worker today -
                                                      Assuming you are a marginal rate tax payer it costs you something around 50.

However you can't get it back till your 65 so you need to discount that 100 by some amount to reflect the inflation impact let's say that's around 1%. There are some issues with that assumption but given fee's, volatility etc it's not wildly unlikely.

At that point for your 50 you get 78 in today euros however your pension income is taxed so it's more like 60 in today euro's by the time it's your hand.

There are a lot of assumptions in there but to me it suggests you get something like .07% pa compound. For tying up your cash for 25 years.

On the flip side self employed souls can weight their contributions to later in their careers which resolves the time value of money problem much more neatly.

I know V4V is going to be around shortly to talk about the long term gains on investments which accrue which negates my deflationary point earlier.

3 points on that
                                                      1. Returns to capital have been disproportionate for the last 30 odd years it seems courageous to imagine that will continue.
                                                      2.Demographics - falling birth rates in Western economies potentially imply the need for an increased return to labour.
                                                      3. Automation and low cost information transmission dent the margins of incumbents which is pretty much what you invest in as a pension saver.

Lastly wouldn't have though 30% was enough to cover you for the generalised uncertainty in contracting. The PRSI employers pay alone is 10% add in another 10% for pensions and a further 10% in cross charging for HR and you are probably revenue neutral to a given cost centre at a 30% premium to your salary. That alone implies it's insufficient.

Originally posted by Western_Sean View Post
                                                        Pension thing is tricky in my view because of the length of time until you can get your hands on the cash. That lack of flexibility is a potential issue depending on what investment options might open up to you in the medium term. Also worth bearing in mind that barring the tax free lump sum pension is taxable as income once you are receiving the income so they're not really as tax efficient as the industry implies.

However you can't get it back till your 65 so you need to discount that 100 by some amount to reflect the inflation impact let's say that's around 1%. There are some issues with that assumption but given fee's, volatility etc it's not wildly unlikely.

At that point for your 50 you get 78 in today euros however your pension income is taxed so it's more like 60 in today euro's by the time it's your hand.

There are a lot of assumptions in there but to me it suggests you get something like .07% pa compound. For tying up your cash for 25 years.

On the flip side self employed souls can weight their contributions to later in their careers which resolves the time value of money problem much more neatly.

I know V4V is going to be around shortly to talk about the long term gains on investments which accrue which negates my deflationary point earlier.

3 points on that
                                                        1. Returns to capital have been disproportionate for the last 30 odd years it seems courageous to imagine that will continue.
                                                        2.Demographics - falling birth rates in Western economies potentially imply the need for an increased return to labour.
                                                        3. Automation and low cost information transmission dent the margins of incumbents which is pretty much what you invest in as a pension saver.

Lastly wouldn't have though 30% was enough to cover you for the generalised uncertainty in contracting. The PRSI employers pay alone is 10% add in another 10% for pensions and a further 10% in cross charging for HR and you are probably revenue neutral to a given cost centre at a 30% premium to your salary. That alone implies it's insufficient.
                                                        Tax relief is only 40% now so to invest 100 costs 60.

No comment on the rest as it's not relevant. The guy is planning to save for the long term either as a contractor or an employee so the discussion on value for money of pension saving versus non pension saving versus more salary now and spending it (which is what you seem to be proposing) doesn't arise as that's not the decision he's considering.

I'd cash out the 23K one or whatever it is and let the smaller one ride.
                                                          I was thinking the same. But surely PP tell him he has to cash both or let both ride. Think I tap the cash myself tbh

So I was answering something else entirely!

Let's put some numbers on your actual question!!

220 working days in the year (assuming annual leave and bank holidays are taken in both scenarios)

Let's say the job is paying you €50kp.a. (scale to whatever salary you are on).

Employers PRSI is 10.75% = €5,375

Employer Pension contribution lets say 10% = €5,000 (don't count employee contributions as they'll be coming from salary so that would be double counting)

Financial benefits of a staff pension scheme versus exec plan. Small enough imo and hard to judge without a lot more detail but staff scheme likely better value. ~few hundred per annum up to €1,500 depending on fund size and contribution level.

Bonus as an employee lets say 5% on average (a wide variable) = €2,500

Study package/car allowance/car parking/mobile/work from home support = €3k (let's assume)

Cost of Life cover and Income protection = €1,500 (depending what the terms are)

Total cost of employment ~ €68-69kp.a.

Then you weigh up job security versus flexibility and tax benefits of self employed versus employee. Generally works out at 20-30% extra on the employment cost which means another 17k (~25% more) so that's ~ €84k or a daily rate of €380 per day.

Scale accordingly...
                                                            This will be a very handy reference for more than one person here I suspect!

Jesus fuck Im a disaster of a human being.

Lost my wallet with drivers license.
                                                              Sent my passport back to Ireland to get replaced as it was cracked and "not valid for travel".

Now I've no photo ID and can't re-register my car or legally drive it.
                                                              I can't drink as everywhere needs ID.

Bright side Im gonna save a tonne.

"You're not an adult at all, you're just a tall child holding a beer having a conversation you don't understand".

I was thinking the same. But surely PP tell him he has to cash both or let both ride. Think I tap the cash myself tbh
                                                                Why would PP take that line? Two unique contracts and he would absolutely be allowed to cash out just one.

Originally posted by Western_Sean View Post

3 points on that

Maybe I'm wrong, but I thought there was no employers prsi liability for a Ltd with only a director/owner in place, same goes for HR assuming he's just going out on his own. The additional 10% for pensions is also a misnomer imo as he should be doing that anyway in employment, though I'll grant that the company match % lost is certainly a factor to consider.

Healthcare is much of a muchness as both are tax deductible and you have access to company plans even if you aren't in a company so that's a wash.

You do/should allow for holiday leave so allowing for 22 days a year which are in effect unpaid then that should add 10% on its own. I guess it comes down to how confident you are of getting regular work and what effect a higher/lower price structure has on that.

I could probably have commanded close to 50% on certain contracts and on others I'd of been happy to take 20%. I suppose it comes down to what you feel the value of your time is and how well you can cope with occasional downtime.

I definitely take the point on board that closer to 50% covers your 'downtime and potential loss of benefits' I'm just not sure many perspective clients will have the same view Though I will point out that I said 25-30% at a Minimum

Why would PP take that line? Two unique contracts and he would absolutely be allowed to cash out just one.
                                                                    Why wouldn't they? They can try and broker whatever deal they want to minimise losses surely?

And that's what they are doing with their cash out facility

Why avoid free weights? Best exercise in there
                                                                        Used to use them when I was young and fit but guy says for an overweight 53 yr I was more likely to pull a muscle rather than grow one.
                                                                        Start off on the controlled apparatus till I have rebuilt my core strength and then start into lunges with barbells etc ..............................

Kudos of the highest order

Interpol have like one good Album. We went into length about this recently while drunk

Antics was quality throughout. After that, they have been a bit hit and miss alright

Used to use them when I was young and fit but guy says for an overweight 53 yr I was more likely to pull a muscle rather than grow one.
                                                                                Start off on the controlled apparatus till I have rebuilt my core strength and then start into lunges with barbells etc ..............................
                                                                                Doesn't really make sense because free weights build core strength when machines don't, if anything that means your other muscles will grow more out of line with your core strength!

anyone a good stream for pool Che. Everything so far very choppy, keeps buffering. ta

Took me approximately 10 seconds to find this one. /r/soccerstreams always has great ones for these games.

acestream://2bdaeeb245c769f5617b36d9cd79a75f00eddf58

Protests would be 20% of what they are if not for selfies, status updates and the hope that one's unoriginal sign gets shared.

Took me approximately 10 seconds to find this one. /r/soccerstreams always has great ones for these games.

acestream://2bdaeeb245c769f5617b36d9cd79a75f00eddf58
                                                                                        Thanks, that's the one I had but only get 30 seconds and buffers for ages everytime. Maybe its my broadband but never have any issues with it. Fuck it, pub will be hit in a min.

Poor Wenger

Protests would be 20% of what they are if not for selfies, status updates and the hope that one's unoriginal sign gets shared.

Bit like the water protesters all there for the day out.

That F.S Comeau is a troll!

This guy is trolling.

Hopefully the Moneymaker of the trading world

'Do you worry about haters?'
                                                                                                      'yea these guys might just buy just to piss me off'.

This guy is a deluded gobshite. Any evidence to suggest he isn't FOS anyhow?

Jerry Yang levels of tilting this guy. wp.

Antics was quality throughout. After that, they have been a bit hit and miss alright
                                                                                                          Ah... our Love to Admire was good. No I in Threesome is a goooood tune.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/wo...=facebook-post

White House claims five-year-old boy detained in US airport for hours 'could have posed a security threat'

You would this is parody. But it's not
                                                                                                            The Onion might as well shut up shop.

Originally posted by ToothSayer
                                                                                                              Hilarious. Confirmed as fake 45 minutes ago - he had a margin warning pop up but it had a "DU" account number, which is a play money account. Wall Street Bets shut down because they looked like total morons. Some financial press fooled as well

The Onion might as well shut up shop.
                                                                                                                Lol, it can't be true that they handcuffed him. How would that even work? Maybe some cable ties and or duct tape

You could tell from the way he wrote about the uncle who left him the money,sounded like a 13 year olds essay,just like most of the stories that get posted on those Most xxxxx thing that's happened to you threads on Reddit

Scrolling through Reddit my major difficulty is not clicking into every second story and writing 'r/ThatHappened' in the comments.

I'm not sure if I am impressed or disgusted by the elaborateness of the lie.

cheers for the beers info, Off to South Circular road Mace tomorrow when I visit the ol dear.