Prince Harry is such a fucking boss!

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/...arkle-coverage
    comment piece in last weekend’s Mail on Sunday, by Rachel Johnson, said: “Genetically, she is blessed. If there is issue from her alleged union with Prince Harry, the Windsors will thicken their watery, thin blue blood and Spencer pale skin and ginger hair with some rich and exotic DNA.”
    Aside from the general reaction to that... What has any kid of Harry's got to do with the Windsor DNA

the web summit is a nasty little thing, it may grow to be something of intrinsic value but more likely it will get exposed for being a shill's paradise

Dublin as a brand would be damaged by being linked to it

Ireland as a people would have had to deal with the "stupid Paddy fell for that, oooh stupid Paddy how Irish of you"

Does advanced corporate finance have a metric to understand the value of that?

Aside from the general reaction to that... What has any kid of Harry's got to do with the Windsor DNA
        Boris's scumbag sister (the one that makes him look nice), so best to just ignore her and her shit, especially when you consider her blood line and how watery thin it all is!

'What's your lowest fee, unmanaged index fund available?' would be mine
          Was told current fund charged at .75 and the above would be .65.

Don't need to be a quant to know the lottery is bad value.

The guy quite literally wanted the state to close streets and remove parking restrictions, supply Gardaí instead of him hiring security and logistics staff, and compel/pressurize (or subsidise?) another organisation to massively upgrade their own infrastructure so that he could avail of it. Oh, and he wanted them to do all of the organising of all of this and pick up the bills too.
              We closed road, diverted buses and laid on extra police and security for fitness fanatics to run round the city over a much larger area than they wanted for the conference - hardly an unusual or incredible occurance that couldnt have been done.

Upgrades to infra need to be done and a commitment to do them over a certain number of years was all that was required - the voters of dublin already want this and it will most likely happen anyway.

We currently pay semi states and full state bodies to bring the people in these rooms to the country so subsidising the event is something we are already paying people to do but they are not delivering - putting the summit on payroll seems reasonable to me and would allow us to negotiate putting more of a pro irish agenda in place - it already had one.

the web summit is a nasty little thing, it may grow to be something of intrinsic value but more likely it will get exposed for being a shill's paradise

Dublin as a brand would be damaged by being linked to it

Ireland as a people would have had to deal with the "stupid Paddy fell for that, oooh stupid Paddy how Irish of you"

Does advanced corporate finance have a metric to understand the value of that?
              It is indeed a shills paradise with lots of people self promoting and telling everyone how great their product is and others trying to schmooze heads of large companies to increase or setup their base in Ireland. It was a positive.

We closed road, diverted buses and laid on extra police and security for fitness fanatics to run round the city over a much larger area than they wanted for the conference - hardly an unusual or incredible occurance that couldnt have been done.
                For free?
                Upgrades to infra need to be done and a commitment to do them over a certain number of years was all that was required - the voters of dublin already want this and it will most likely happen anyway.
                The voters of Dublin have never indicated anything whatsoever about the WiFi in the RDS. That is what Paddy Cosgrave was freaking about most.
                We currently pay semi states and full state bodies to bring the people in these rooms to the country so subsidising the event is something we are already paying people to do but they are not delivering - putting the summit on payroll seems reasonable to me and would allow us to negotiate putting more of a pro irish agenda in place - it already had one.
                We would not have been putting the summit on payroll. We would have been doing Paddy's work for him pro-bono. He would have had the state doing Jobsbridge for him, and paying for the 'privilege'.
                It is indeed a shills paradise with lots of people self promoting and telling everyone how great their product is and others trying to schmooze heads of large companies to increase or setup their base in Ireland. It was a positive.
                I know. But the costs to retain it were building, and the actual capacity wasn't plausible either. Paddy needed an excuse to go somewhere bigger with bigger brown envelopes available, and he got one.

Them's the breaks.

Free month of Netflix by using the new Revolut card. Will use Paypal for another free month to get me through the Christmas. Sweet.

..Bill Clinton has just voted for Trump #rumornumber7...

Am still looking for 2/3 Ireland Austria tickets if anyone knows someone. Some struggle!

Clinton out to 1.25. Only have access to Fox News where I am, and even then it's dubbed in Portuguese!

Also, my friends in Vienna said that they were selling tickets to the Austria Wales for a fiver the week before the game because they couldn't get anyone to go.

They are sold out for Ireland game for a week now

For free?

The voters of Dublin have never indicated anything whatsoever about the WiFi in the RDS. That is what Paddy Cosgrave was freaking about most.

We would not have been putting the summit on payroll. We would have been doing Paddy's work for him pro-bono. He would have had the state doing Jobsbridge for him, and paying for the 'privilege'.

I know. But the costs to retain it were building, and the actual capacity wasn't plausible either. Paddy needed an excuse to go somewhere bigger with bigger brown envelopes available, and he got one.

Them's the breaks.
                            I have no idea how much the runners of Dublin and the IRFU pay but I would think it is for free yes.

The RDS should upgrade their WIFI if they want to be a conference center in fairness which is relatively minor in the grand scheme of national infra projects. He also wanted certain arteries into the city improved and a rail line to the airport - these I want and are common sense.

I dont get what you mean by we would have been doing his job for him - yes we would have been paying him but his job is to market and sell tickets and stands which he would have been doing. Yes we would have been giving him money to cover the cost of employing the staff, big deal if he is getting the results it was an inconsequential amount of money when compared to the value of the conference in the long term imo - this is purely subjective however and an opinion.

If the building became too small then could we have offered a bigger venue or split it over 2.

There's nothing wrong with the RDS wifi.

How the fck would I (or you) know the value? But Lisbon ran the numbers and they came up rosy.
                                      Is this another attempt to try and change the question?

What's the value to the people going? That's what I asked you. Lisbon afaik haven't done any 'cost-benefit analysis' to attending/presenting at Web Summit. Nor would they, nor does it matter to them whatsoever. Recall the 'Sting' analogy.
                                      Finance's versions of EV - NPV or scenario analysis - are woeful techniques in terms of how they are applied because they overweight easily monitised things and hugely underweight things that aren't easy to think of in terms of money. Hence why in advanced corp fin courses we try to integrate strategy a lot more and minimise the finance/EV mindset side.
                                      Jargon Bingo.
                                      What is the value? What is the cost? Why is there such a difference between the two?
                                      In this particular situation, we might e.g. overweight the cost of free wifi and underweight the value of someone in San Fran thinking 'those Dublin lads really have it going on'.

tl;dr don't listen to finance people for strategic direction
                                      Again, trying to make it about some sort of 'Dublin'/'Lisbon' thing when the contention has always been that Websummit offers little more than a fantastic example of irrational exuberance and bubble thinking. That it is pretty much a scam.

Offer a retort which explains why there exists any value. Start a cohesive argument.
                                      Last edited by Emmet; 08-11-16, 14:09.

On a sidenote emmet. You were arguing with me last week about whether or not i'm unionised - something which I'd presumably know,
                                        Did I?
                                        Or was it that I correctly informed you that even though you are not a member of the union, that the union is legally obliged to represent you and so you therefore reap the benefits without the direct costs or need for membership of a union?

Hmm, yes. Yes I did.

and now you are arguing with a tech recruiter as to whether a tech conference is a good thing or not. You're either a man of a million skills or spreading yourself a bit thin!
                                        You really struggle to stay on point. First it's the misrepresentation of my opinion on the Web Summit being woeful value to attendees as being somehow able to be measured by whether or not there is value in a city hosting an event. (1 post above). Now we're onto the straw man that I'm supposed to somehow defend the idea of a specialist conference?

I'll just leave it burn instead, and ask you once more to offer anything whatsoever to change my opinion of the utter lack of value in the event to the attendees, given the makeup of who attend, what they are all seeking, the costs incurred etc. It's a fantastic example of irrational exuberance. It will make a great case study when people sit down with the numbers and realize that the rake was astounding.
                                        Last edited by Emmet; 08-11-16, 14:21.

We give you the opportunity to prove yourself and let your career take off. It’s down to you how high you go!

oh and on the first time buyers grant in the budget: 'there is no way, i repeat NO WAY, that this can be counted as part of the deposit to buy a house, and only an idiot would think otherwise' [60 seconds later] 'okay, so it is part of the deposit, let me not acknowledge that though and hope no-one noticed'. You'd argue with a brick wall about whether it was made of concrete.
                                              Past performance is no indicator of future results. (Always useful to simply link to a post instead of paraphrasing poorly btw)

I'm an analytical and skeptical person. I'm open to changing my mind on a raft of positions. When the facts change, my opinion changes and all that.

Why don't you make present some arguments in favour of Web Summit's value?
                                              Last edited by Emmet; 08-11-16, 14:32.

I think it's success is evident by the continued growth in attendance and international reception it receives. Don't see any need to prove its success, beyond that. To my mind, its more a salutatory tale of letting a few lowbrow blogs and biased newspaper articles distract from a fairly evident bigger picture of success. On a purely bayesian perspective the odds that something very successful is a scam is very small, and its best assuming that most things that are very successful are successful because they are of benefit, unless you've got really really really good evidence to the contrary.
                                                  What are you measuring success in? Consider who I am talking about here (again). The attendees, the 'startups', the 'growth hackers'. What objective measure of success for them are you using?

Here's an idea, % of attendees that attract investment at the summit? % of attendees that 'synergise' with other attendees that they would meet there. € Total Investments made.

The Emperor's New Clothes fairytale should give you your Bayesian A-Priori given the amount of hand waving that is done when these kind of questions are asked.

Best take this guy off ignore. Old news to us Chadders

Whose involved in the Macau Dublin? Why are they texting me when I have never been near any Macau. I will slit their throats and burn the place down.

On a sidenote emmet. You were arguing with me last week about whether or not i'm unionised - something which I'd presumably know, and now you are arguing with a tech recruiter as to whether a tech conference is a good thing or not. You're either a man of a million skills or spreading yourself a bit thin!
                                                          Oh I am in no way putting forward my opinion as any type of fact - it is purely opinion based and I do not know the inner workings of venture capitalists, startup incubators, b 2 b lead generation or the benefit of partner creation.

I am merely saying that in my opinion these are all possible and likely benefits which I can only see as upside and I would presume that if measured over a medium to long term would have a much higher upside than the cost of running the event.

Purely opinion based with no figures and indeed expertise to back them up - not that those minor issues should get in the way of making an argument on the internet

Websummit is a pile of wank, lads.

Nice attempt to bury the biggest story by slipping it out on election day.

Toblerone fans reacted with horror on Tuesday after discovering that the distance between the triangular chucks in their favorite chocolate bar had expanded overnight.

I've a sneaking suspicion Emmet doesn't like Websummit.

It would be my idea of hell for the weekend and I would say that for 99% of people who attend it is pointless day out except for being a pretty nice trip away to get lashed with colleagues and friends from other companies.

The 1% is where the money is made and a benefit is gained - this I would imagine is the same as any of these mega conferences.

Web summit is not the only massive tech conference where most of the people who attend are meat in the room who will gain nothing more than a vague excuse to justify expenses of x spoke really well on y and it has brought up some interesting avenues of product management that we will explore.

Expecting everyone in a conference of 10's of thousands to get value is crazy and to be honest expecting everyone in a meeting of 10 to get value is as crazy a proposition.

My opinion is that it would have been a shite weekend and really pissed me off again but it was a plus for the tech sector in Ireland because 1% would have gotten benefit and 89% would have pretend to have with just 10% pissing and moaning about how it is a shitty event as if those are not the industry standard.

Pendulum summit must be the nut worst.

Nice attempt to bury the biggest story by slipping it out on election day.

http://money.cnn.com/2016/11/08/news...nge/index.html
                                                                      how do the people who come up with this kind of idea sleep at night.

Random conversation with a drinking buddy from Maynooth. Turns out he is now working with Strewelpeter(possibly taken over Keane's role as strewelpeter's bitch) and found it random I was a fb friend.

May also have made an enemy by saying Strewelpeter was a guy in his 60's and he saw the comment. I was being generous tbf.

Triangular almonds from triangular trees and triangular honey from triangular bees.

Was chatting to Tony last night about how the soles of my feet are not usually as sore in the morning after I have been to ballet class he night before. I mentioned the condition Plantar Facilitis.

On FB on the laptop there and what comes up? An advert for Stutz sole angel for the exact thing!

If it means anything Websummit getting loads of bad press ver here, opening day was a disaster apparently and Wifi isn't working properly.

since its not in Dublin we can all agree that we hope that Paddy has a shit storm of epic proportions and fucks off never to heard from again.

Was chatting to Tony last night about how the soles of my feet are not usually as sore in the morning after I have been to ballet class he night before. I mentioned the condition Plantar Facilitis.

On FB on the laptop there and what comes up? An advert for Stutz sole angel for the exact thing!
                                                                                  On a very much tentatively related point.......

Anytime I open my facebook app now, after a second or two my phone makes a sound like I've taken a photo?! Da Fuq is that?

Is it screenshotting?

What phone do you have? My nexus 5 started doing that a while back. Wasn't when I was opening FB but when I was opening my phone.

Is it screenshotting?
                                                                                        Now I think on it, is that not one of the new sounds? mine made a clicking noise but I turned sounds off

Guys I developed small app to allow write collabortive stories, jokes etc. Idea is to let friends play game like story writing..someone starts a story and invites their friends to continue the story. Still in very early stage but thought to try see if people would use it.
                                                                                          Here is the link
                                                                                          Buy and Sell bitcoin in Ireland with Bitireland Broker Ltd.
                                                                                          www.bitireland.ie

Originally posted by Stoko View Post
                                                                                            Guys I developed small app to allow write collabortive stories, jokes etc. Idea is to let friends play game like story writing..someone starts a story and invites their friends to continue the story. Still in very early stage but thought to try see if people would use it.
                                                                                            Here is the link
                                                                                            http://www.storywithfriends.com/
                                                                                            There once was a man named Chadley.....

The fella he played poker badly

Still better than you and that Dice fella too
                                                                                                  He'd watch all you cunts in here burn, gladly.

I can't think of summit

What TV station for tonight folks? When does it all kick off?

Have a PITA qualitative data analysis assignment to be working on (and hopefully completing) while watching this later.

What TV station for tonight folks? When does it all kick off?

Have a PITA qualitative data analysis assignment to be working on (and hopefully completing) while watching this later.
                                                                                                            I'm gonna go back and forth with Sky and BBC with a sprinkling of Fox/CNN and CNBC.. I'll settle on whichever British one is best as the base though, prob BBC.

Have CNN on now.

I'm gonna go back and forth with Sky and BBC with a sprinkling of Fox/CNN and CNBC.. I'll settle on whichever British one is best as the base though, prob BBC.

Have CNN on now.
                                                                                                              What time does the CNN results coverage kick off?

Exit poll projections around 11pm I'd guess, East Coast results start coming in around midnight I think.

fox for the pure seethe surely

Michael Graham on Newstalk today saying that North Carolina is the one to watch, that Trump has no credible path to 270 EC votes without winning it.

So if Hillary wins NC you can slip off to bed, but if the Donald wins it grab the popcorn.

Today FM news reporting earlier on some guy who punted 22k on a Trump win with Boyle's.

Denny?

Edit, punted today
                                                                                                                      Last edited by Lazare; 08-11-16, 20:49.

Random conversation with a drinking buddy from Maynooth. Turns out he is now working with Strewelpeter(possibly taken over Keane's role as strewelpeter's bitch) and found it random I was a fb friend.

May also have made an enemy by saying Strewelpeter was a guy in his 60's and he saw the comment. I was being generous tbf.
                                                                                                                        Sending him to Iran this weekend on the basis that I'm too old to travel

Top lad, I'm surprised he'd associate withe the loikes of you