Nice to have da back.

So i see Madigan is now our Gazza with the tears. Must really irk the Strewelpeter types to see rugby slowly moving to the masses a bit. Whats next - Paul o 'Connell taking longer than a chavball player to get off the pitch with a little hamstring injury

Would irish people have been so thankful if irish cities and ports were being bombed to bits.
          Im not sure if the full atrocities of Nazi germany were known in the early years of the war.
          One empire the british or on german can see how was hard to differentiate at the start.
          The necessity of britain due to blockade was a good thing it helped build moral and every household grew there own food they were never so well fed.

A united ireland what would tens of thousands of loyal Irish unionists thought of that?
          Would have been unreal scenes not good.
          1000s of irish men deserted and joined the british army and they were treated horribly when they came home unable to get jobs and shunned sometimes.
          The level of atrocities may have not been know but the fact that the Germans were definitely the aggressors having invaded in the east initially and then taken over France would not have gone unnoticed. This in the same way that we found German spies. In terms of bombing Ireland - that is more a range issue of the Luftwaffe - we would have been fine apparently.

Pretty obv one at the time to see which side we should have been on from a moral standpoint in this one. We could have said we wanted to support our french revolutionary brethren or later our Russian socialist pals.

In terms of the rest of the stuff it all seems terrible really so I dont get your point. I have always thought Dev was pretty fondly remembered in Ireland. I think my main problem is that I cant see how socialism or isolationism could ever be a good idea for this country or really any other.

One thanks off 23,000 thank yous. Who will be the lucky person to put me over the top.

there ye go, son.

So i see Madigan is now our Gazza with the tears. Must really irk the Strewelpeter types to see rugby slowly moving to the masses a bit. Whats next - Paul o 'Connell taking longer than a chavball player to get off the pitch with a little hamstring injury
                Don't be fooled by Strewelpeter, he.is like those gay bashing republican politicians in the states who privately love a bit of strange except in strewels case he is in denial of his.love of ' chavball'. Always quick with a comment here when there is a big match on,its a lot of time to devote to something you hate.
                I'm sure he hides it from his family and friends, lucky he has all those foreign trips to allow him indulge his fetish for cheering on Chelsea in his mombasa hotel roomwhile wearing a full kit with terry on the back.

I make no moral equivalence.

How would their actions from 1916-1922 have been regarded at the time? What has changed since then?

Is shooting at soldiers as part of an illegal organisation ok once a number of years has past?

If Collins had access to c4 would he have hesitated to use it?

We love to claim pieces of history. FF with the Good Dev bits, FG with Collins. Nobody claims all their actions. But it's 100 years ago now. We can have a big military parade and put on the revolutionary hat and nod and wink and appeal for votes.

I'd be far more concerned with our culture of hiding mental health and domestic violence than wether the person who shot and killed 3 people and injured 2 more before himself, rather than what flavour of politics he followed.
                  I'm normally all for your rants, but your a bit off kilter today. Zod dismantling you rather well above, for example
                  No dismantling of me there, I completely agree with all Zod says and would especially concur with the last sentence.
                  We may well have different opinions about how the history of 1916 to 1925 was seen at the time and what it means both now and then but thats a different days work.

In the 23,001 club now mates.
                    Who wants to help me tick over to the 23,002 club?

In the 23,001 club now mates.
                      Who wants to help me tick over to the 23,002 club?
                      Swap you one for one?

Time for a budget chat?

What's going to happen, what should happen, where's my NAMA Joe?

2% cut to USC, rise in the old reliables take the sting out of the hit for Revenue.

Rise in the pension, restoration of the single parent allowance, press to make it seem like everyone will be showered in money.

we get this until the election:

FG/FF government after the next election, and the world keeps on spinning.

Sometimes good news in just good news. We didn't have money now we do, so its being given back to people. What would make you happy as an alternative?

They've given the wrong money back imo.

I hate electioneering.

Sometimes good news in just good news. We didn't have money now we do, so its being given back to people. What would make you happy as an alternative?
                                      Put all the excess money into repaying the deficit would be the most prudent for the future of the Irish economy.

Putting it into health or keeping the junior cert the best for the Irish people long term.

Putting it as capital investment into housing probably the best short term to stop overheating the property market.

Giving it back to voters is obv the best move for the govt however but those would probably be my preferred usages in order.

anyone ever stayed in copenhagen for an extended amount of time? Looking to find a decent place to stay for a few weeks over christmas and new years?

Solid start to the new season of The Walking Dead.

Whynotall.jpg

There's a lot to be said for just giving people back cash and let them do with it what they will. It's a debatable point though, and your ideas are maybe better.
                                              I would say that you can make a good improvement to one but the impact you will make if you divide the cash would be proportionally less.

This is supposed to be a one off windfall, basically as we performed better this year than expected. Instead of putting a cushion in place for the year where we do worse than expected we have signed up for expenses that will cost every year. When that bad year comes we will be worse off in both ways.

I understand that by giving people back the money, they spend it and so the economy grows so that is where the debate comes in I guess.

We are still running a structural deficit.

Not one caused by large capital projects and investments either...

Govt needs to cover its ass or downsize. Reducing its income without reducing its current expenditure is a bit bananas still.

We are still running a structural deficit.

Not one caused by large capital projects and investments either...

Govt needs to cover its ass or downsize. Reducing its income without reducing its current expenditure is a bit bananas still.
                                                  Is a big part of our deficit no tied to the fact that we are paying huge interest bills. By paying of the capital of our loans we reduce the interest therefore reducing the deficit.

I may have taken up the figures wrong but I thought we would be running positively if we took the bailout and attached costs out which is one of my big reasons for getting it paid off.

Is a big part of our deficit no tied to the fact that we are paying huge interest bills. By paying of the capital of our loans we reduce the interest therefore reducing the deficit.

I may have taken up the figures wrong but I thought we would be running positively if we took the bailout and attached costs out which is one of my big reasons for getting it paid off.

Anyone been to Wicklow Gaol, think i might head Saturday for the spin. Have a weird thing for jails.

Anything else worth seeing or doing out that way?

CHD I will avoid Bray.

RichieM starting to take on his WW mantel and being the BBV Voice of Reason.
                                                          it might be the right thing to do but it would be political suicide to do it now. if this budget was used to pay off the deficit, then more and more people would vote left wing which in the long run could add even further to the debt (if that makes sense).

Anyone been to Wicklow Gaol, think i might head Saturday for the spin. Have a weird thing for jails.

Anything else worth seeing or doing out that way?

CHD I will avoid Bray.
                                                            Group from work went there once. We did a games thing there where we had to work out clues etc and it was only alright. Maybe if you did a tour it might be more interesting.

Ruddock in for O'Mahony. still no news for the other 2.

in other news PSA pretty pissed off the SOB incident wasn't caught by the TMO

Originally posted by Allez Les Verts View Post
                                                                Ruddock in for O'Mahony. still no news for the other 2.

in other news PSA pretty pissed off the SOB incident wasn't caught by the TMO
                                                                Would've only been a yellow, wouldn't have been enough to swing the game.

I'd have preferred it had been caught too, as it would reduce the chances of him getting a game off!

anyone ever stayed in copenhagen for an extended amount of time? Looking to find a decent place to stay for a few weeks over christmas and new years?
                                                                  Copenhagen is painfully expensive and, bar one or two parts, exceedingly dull.

Have a great Xmas though

For those of you who don't venture outside the BBV Irish lad gonna be on PokerStars Shark Cage this week - HERE

Would've only been a yellow, wouldn't have been enough to swing the game.

I'd have preferred it had been caught too, as it would reduce the chances of him getting a game off!
                                                                      not sure it would've only been a yellow, and could very well have been a red. there was no scuffle, and just a really cheap shot (i know pape was holding on to his jersey, but still!)

Not in first minute. It was stupidity defined, but it wouldn't have been a red. If he'd hit him in the face absolutely, but don't think a red would've come out from almost any referee's pocket there.

Pocock seems to have 'gotten away' with a pretty weird knee to the body in the Welsh game, so perhaps the citing commisioners have been told to avoid getting rid of any players that'll get bums on seats (tinfoil hat on).

David Pocock (Australia) - Citing Commissioner Warning

David Pocock (Australia) has received a Citing Commissioner Warning from independent Citing Commissioner Steve Hinds (New Zealand) for a breach of Law 10.4(a) during the Rugby World Cup 2015 Pool A match between Australia and Wales at Twickenham on Saturday, 10 October.

Under the Rugby World Cup 2015 disciplinary programme, a Citing Commissioner Warning equates to a yellow card for the purposes of sanction. A combination of three yellow cards or Citing Commissioner Warnings accumulated during the tournament will result in a hearing. Pocock is therefore free to play in Australia’s quarter-final against Scotland.
                                                                        Three players have been cited or received Citing Commissioner Warnings after matches on 10 October

Under the same Law that the SOB incident would be looked at.
                                                                        Last edited by Emmet; 12-10-15, 14:55.

@AllezLesVerts and LeHitch.
                                                                          Is there a secret way to get reasonably priced train fares in France - they always seem to come up surprisingly expensive for something I thought would be subsidised, e.g., even a one hour trip like Paris to Lens comes in at €45 return in a few weeks time.
                                                                          Is there a sweetspot timewise for bookings, or some leap card discounter that all the locals have? Or a secret website with the discounted fares.

Trying to get an idea of pricing for a two game trip to France next summer if Ireland qualify, and a long train journey would be likely necessary between games.

Fair play to Shrapnel changing his name for the weekend that's in it. Great sportsmanship

Have a great Xmas though
                                                                              That's all of Scandinavia really..

Still a nice city for walking around in, Tivoli Gardens are cool and night life is decent in the right places.

Clueless on places to stay, Airbnb most likely?

Have a great Xmas though
                                                                                not my first choice either but the missus and kid both want to go there, other choice was iceland but the 4 hours of daylight wasnt ideal.

Fair play to Shrapnel changing his name for the weekend that's in it. Great sportsmanship
                                                                                  as you can see, i did it out of the goodness of my heart, and am vying for the sportsmanship of the year award which i will no doubt win at this years IPB awards

Cunts
                                                                                  Had to be done

Not in first minute. It was stupidity defined, but it wouldn't have been a red. If he'd hit him in the face absolutely, but don't think a red would've come out from almost any referee's pocket there.

Pocock seems to have 'gotten away' with a pretty weird knee to the body in the Welsh game, so perhaps the citing commisioners have been told to avoid getting rid of any players that'll get bums on seats (tinfoil hat on).

you're probably right, re yellow/red, we've seen stranger things happen though

Re pocock, my understanding is he wasn't even cited but just received a warning, which is the equivalent of a retrospective yellow card. It wasn't that bad tbf, and looks like he is still driving through and pumping his legs

@AllezLesVerts and LeHitch.
                                                                                    Is there a secret way to get reasonably priced train fares in France - they always seem to come up surprisingly expensive for something I thought would be subsidised, e.g., even a one hour trip like Paris to Lens comes in at €45 return in a few weeks time.
                                                                                    Is there a sweetspot timewise for bookings, or some leap card discounter that all the locals have? Or a secret website with the discounted fares.

Trying to get an idea of pricing for a two game trip to France next summer if Ireland qualify, and a long train journey would be likely necessary between games.
                                                                                    there are cards for the young, the old, and the families which are great value and amortised after one or 2 trips only. I believe you don't fit into any of those categories so booking well in advance and off peak should sort you out with cheapish tickets.

it might be the right thing to do but it would be political suicide to do it now. if this budget was used to pay off the deficit, then more and more people would vote left wing which in the long run could add even further to the debt (if that makes sense).
                                                                                      Yup and in this lies the problem with democracy, the least terrible way to run a country.

The correct course of action is generally fiscally right and morally left.

you're probably right, re yellow/red, we've seen stranger things happen though

Re pocock, my understanding is he wasn't even cited but just received a warning, which is the equivalent of a retrospective yellow card. It wasn't that bad tbf, and looks like he is still driving through and pumping his legs
                                                                                        I've ninja'd in the Pocock ruling.

Are you sure you're looking at the right area of the gif? (Pocock in scrum hat at back right - wearing 8). He's being held in a ruck and in order to get out he knees the guy in the chest!

not my first choice either but the missus and kid both want to go there, other choice was iceland but the 4 hours of daylight wasnt ideal.
                                                                                          Since when do kids get voting rights on holiday destinations?
                                                                                          Parents in general should have taken a leaf out of employers books in using the downturn to lower expectations (or renege on commitments altogether)

Since when do kids get voting rights on holiday destinations?
                                                                                            Parents in general should have taken a leaf out of employers books in using the downturn to lower expectations (or renege on commitments altogether)
                                                                                            it's her christmas present and flying her and her bf over from dallas.

It wasn't that bad tbf, and looks like he is still driving through and pumping his legs
                                                                                              You must be looking at something different to what I am. It's a text book cheap shot.

I've ninja'd in the Pocock ruling.

Are you sure you're looking at the right area of the gif? (Pocock in scrum hat at back right - wearing 8). He's being held in a ruck and in order to get out he knees the guy in the chest!
                                                                                                oops you're right, was looking at the wrong welsh player getting kneed

very strange he didn't get cited for that.

Arguably, Pocock's offence is a more serious one, though it probably doesn't have quite the venom of SOB's.

I'd have gone 1 game ban each tbh. But if Pocock gets away with it, we should be campaigning alongside Paul Murphy and the Anti-Citing-Alliance to get SOB off the hook too!

oops you're right, was looking at the wrong welsh player getting kneed

very strange he didn't get cited for that.
                                                                                                    Probably because the welsh player isn't a massive baby and can take a slap like a real man.

Let me know when you go and tell Pape he's a big soft "can't take a punch baby". I'll have the camera ready!

Arguably, Pocock's offence is a more serious one, though it probably doesn't have quite the venom of SOB's.

I'd have gone 1 game ban each tbh. But if Pocock gets away with it, we should be campaigning alongside Paul Murphy and the Anti-Citing-Alliance to get SOB off the hook too!
                                                                                                      Not defending either obviously but Pocock was being held so turned back to free his leg. SOB just lashed out for no reason. big difference. i'd be shocked if SOB walks with a warning.

Let me know when you go and tell Pape he's a big soft "can't take a punch baby". I'll have the camera ready!

Not defending either obviously but Pocock was being held so turned back to free his leg. SOB just lashed out for no reason. big difference. i'd be shocked if SOB walks with a warning.
                                                                                                        Pape had his arm behind Sobs back,was up to something,ref should probably have smelled his finger tbf

Mitigates one but not t'other?

It's a really pretty city in my opinion. Most of the key sight seeing can be done in 1 or max 2 days. I would recommend doing a boat tour from Nyhavn to orientate yourself. Tivoli Gardens is a cool spot the kids would like it espically. As mentioned though extremely expensive! Bring lots of loots. Carlsberg brewery is worth checking out think it was about 11 euro which is cheap for Copenhagen included two small beers too. Christiania is also an interesting spot even for just a bit of people watching!

Mitigates one but not t'other?
                                                                                                              SOB wasn't trying to get away. they were both standing there idle when he lashed out. it was a massive, and no doubt costly, over reaction.

It was an overreaction absolutely. Do I see much difference between him and Pocock? Not really.

Both should have a week off, given that they both got away with it mid game.

Whats your dates and is it for 3 you are looking?

Sons place might be empty for a while around christmas

Put all the excess money into repaying the deficit would be the most prudent for the future of the Irish economy.

Putting it into health or keeping the junior cert the best for the Irish people long term.

Putting it as capital investment into housing probably the best short term to stop overheating the property market.

Giving it back to voters is obv the best move for the govt however but those would probably be my preferred usages in order.
                                                                                                                    You sound suspiciously like a man who thinks the government can be trusted to spend money wisely.

Any nice spots in the Midlands for a weekend away?

It was an overreaction absolutely. Do I see much difference between him and Pocock? Not really.

Both should have a week off, given that they both got away with it mid game.
                                                                                                                        both bosch and SOB cited. hearing tomorrow at 1pm

Any nice spots in the Midlands for a weekend away?
                                                                                                                          Lol.