mcgregor

Biggins = Jeff Rudd right?
      Aye.

How is he backtracking m8
        well sounds like "Sorry Daddy, i was only messing, can i has ufc 200 back please?"

hope he doesn't get it back tbh. he needs to sit in the corner and have a good think about things.
        Last edited by shrapnel; 21-04-16, 15:14. Reason: spelling

Dana white doesn't seem like the backing down type,he will lose face of he backs down. McGregor has just generated a shit ton more publicity for UFC 200 then the 10 mill they had earmarked for the promos ever would ( don't buy that figure either)
          He has complained about the promo tiring him out before (after the mendes or Aldo fight) so he's not pulling it out of his hole)
          He's also managed to completely overshadow the comeback this week of one of the UFC's most dominant and popular champs
          Last edited by Guest; 21-04-16, 15:22.

well sound like "Sorry Daddy, i was only messing, can i has ufc 200 back please?"

hope he doesn't get it back tbh. he needs to sit in the corner and have a good think about things.
            You know how football makes fans droolers and not see sense at the best of times?

Why does McGregor do that to you m8

I think he has a point.

They look to promote him and he gets a bad injury.
            Comes back to break records in Dublin and TKO's Brandao.
            Gets his PPV spot and says he will KO Poirier in 1, he does it.
            Headlines a Fight Night and destroys Siver.
            Gets his title shot, goes on a world tour. Moves his camp to Vegas as he is dragged around USA for Reebok launch and Press.
            Aldo pulls out and he instantly accepts a fight against his supposed kryptonite, Knocks him out.
            No break after all that, they throw him straight into TUF with Faber. Was clearly to boost TUF, no fight at the end of it. Useless exercise for him.
            Aldo shows up, Knocks him out.
            Gets the Lightweight shot, RDA pulls out. Fights Diaz and makes the UFC millions. Loses.

18th biggest PPV v Mendes, then gets the second biggest v Aldo. For the Diaz fight he breaks his own previous record and gets 1.5M buys. Only 100k short of the biggest PPV ever which was pumped up with wrestling fans buying to see Brock Lesnar. A company man who has made them hundreds of millions and never been a problem wants to miss bullshit promotion months before the event. IMO he has earned leeway. Dana and his power trips are robbing UFC 200 of the biggest draw and a great rematch.

He probably should have just gone and done it and requested to be left alone for 2 months but it's class seeing someone stand up to Dana for a change. Will be interesting to see how this goes.

Kavanagh getting in on the one liners now!

"Fights or press conferences, what do you want?"

Just quietly jack up VAT by 1% in the next budget and hit them (all the gobshites) for 5* water charges that way.
                Good news is it'll also drag up inflation - everyone's a winner!!

The national debt is running at 93% of GDP which is ahead of target and will likely be >85% of GDP or lower by the end of 2017 according to the nice man from the NTMA I was listening to this morning.

Just stick Irish water in the debt mix and do it right since it's causing such aggro. The Socialists/pinkos/lefties will have their win and the world will carry on. At this stage it'll ultimately cost less doing it that way anyway. Mean while no real change until the next sideshow comes along..

You know how football makes fans droolers and not see sense at the best of times?

Why does McGregor do that to you m8

I think he has a point.

They look to promote him and he gets a bad injury.
                  Comes back to break records in Dublin and TKO's Brandao.
                  Gets his PPV spot and says he will KO Poirier in 1, he does it.
                  Headlines a Fight Night and destroys Siver.
                  Gets his title shot, goes on a world tour. Moves his camp to Vegas as he is dragged around USA for Reebok launch and Press.
                  Aldo pulls out and he instantly accepts a fight against his supposed kryptonite, Knocks him out.
                  No break after all that, they throw him straight into TUF with Faber. Was clearly to boost TUF, no fight at the end of it. Useless exercise for him.
                  Aldo shows up, Knocks him out.
                  Gets the Lightweight shot, RDA pulls out. Fights Diaz and makes the UFC millions. Loses.

18th biggest PPV v Mendes, then gets the second biggest v Aldo. For the Diaz fight he breaks his own previous record and gets 1.5M buys. Only 100k short of the biggest PPV ever which was pumped up with wrestling fans buying to see Brock Lesnar. A company man who has made them hundreds of millions and never been a problem wants to miss bullshit promotion months before the event. IMO he has earned leeway. Dana and his power trips are robbing UFC 200 of the biggest draw and a great rematch.

He probably should have just gone and done it and requested to be left alone for 2 months but it's class seeing someone stand up to Dana for a change. Will be interesting to see how this goes.
                  in any contract for any fight there is promo. which he signed up for...then he said fuck it, can't be arsed...need to train...

Dana says "look, you signed here, get over here and do what you're paid to do" (promo work is an integral part of the sport).

McG says "fuck it, i retire", then says almost litterally "i was only joking, i am not retired, i just want to train and not do all the other stuff".

he tried to bluff a gambler, it didn't work, he then needs to explain himself.

Where the fuck is the drool? he gambled and lost. end of story. i really don't give a shit about him.

As for backtracking:

Day 1: I am retired!

Day 2: I am not retired!

Pretty damning if you ask me

As for backtracking:

Day 1: I am retired!

Day 2: I am not retired!

Pretty damning if you ask me
                      If you thought he was really retired you're one of the few and that's on you.

Yesterday: Purposely ambiguous statement guaranteed to drum up some furore
                        Today: Some clarity around the statement ("I did it to drum up some furore cause I can't be fucked doing it your way")

shrapnel the hate burns strong in you!

in any contract for any fight there is promo. which he signed up for...then he said fuck it, can't be arsed...need to train...

Dana says "look, you signed here, get over here and do what you're paid to do" (promo work is an integral part of the sport).

McG says "fuck it, i retire", then says almost litterally "i was only joking, i am not retired, i just want to train and not do all the other stuff".

he tried to bluff a gambler, it didn't work, he then needs to explain himself.

Where the fuck is the drool? he gambled and lost. end of story. i really don't give a shit about him.
                          You never have a level head when it comes to McGregor m8

He had asked to have the promotion moved and they wouldn't do it. He said he isn't interrupting his camp and they pulled him.

He takes to twitter and shows them what they are missing.

Big difference between making the tweet cause he didnt want to do promo and what actually happened of them pulling him first. No chance he was actually retiring either, maybe looking for a break but its all out there now.

If you thought he was really retired you're one of the few and that's on you.
                            obviously i didn't think it was true, it was just a tantrum. Following a tantrum, you usually need to apologise and fix the damage, which is what he is doing

oh gawd who gives a fuck

obviously i didn't think it was true, it was just a tantrum. Following a tantrum, you usually need to apologise and fix the damage, which is what he is doing
                                Has he apologised?
                                His statement, pretty much is summed up as I'm not doing the crazy promotional work for this fight and I'm still training for it. Your move if you want me to fight.

oh gawd who gives a fuck
                                  The people talking about it m8

Reckon he will get the fight back.

Both parties will talk, resolve as they both want the same thing. He'll go to New York, do that promo as he said and then back to training as he said. Other fighters and some others will be butthurt that again, Dana has coddled and bent to Conor but he hasn't he's bent to the good business sense and the money.

Only thing is, is all of this shit not as much of a distraction as actually just doing the promo? I don't know, guess only he does.

I think its a class statement but I don't agree with him shirking his promo responsibilities. I can see both sides but at the end of the day fights and the UFC are all about promo. The big trade off for Dana here is the success of UFC 200 and the cash that comes with it, or the precedent set or other fighters. Dana will choose the money but long term the precedent (and the UFC's probable refusal to follow the precedent with less money making fighters) will likely cause the UFC issues with fighters revolting or unionising.

Interesting times. Dana's move.

Kavanagh getting in on the one liners now!

"Fights or press conferences, what do you want?"
                                      He knows to go along to get along. McGregor doesn't go to him for council even though he sees himself as the high king of SBG which he is but these type of views arent his own real feelings.

Mcgregor might sounds like a thick scanger but he is very very savvy

I'd be inclined to buy his line of it was the endless promotion that made me tap out like a little bitch if he wasn't spending so much time peddling beer to kiddies.

People who spew the tapping out like a bitch line about anyone in MMA are worse than Liverpool and United fans full of drink debating a 3-3 draw that had sending offs and penalty claims.
                                            Last edited by CHDad; 21-04-16, 16:41.

Wonderful statement.

Seems to be caught in limbo between wanting to be a sportsman / martial artist who competes and to be an entertainer who makes money. I imagine it isn't easy to get that balance right. He went too far with the latter last time, and, if genuine, I really respect him for wanting to go back to what he really values and is passionate about - being the best that he can be at MMA.

People who spew the tapping out like a bitch line about anyone in MMA are worse than Liverpool and United fans full of drink debating a 3-3 draw that had sending offs and penalty claims.
                                                What does tapping out mean?

oh gawd who gives a fuck
                                                  True that. You can see knackers punching the head off lads on the ground for free easily enough.

Prince is dead? Fuck

Few bibs to be dished out around here wha

Reckon he will get the fight back.

Both parties will talk, resolve as they both want the same thing. He'll go to New York, do that promo as he said and then back to training as he said. Other fighters and some others will be butthurt that again, Dana has coddled and bent to Conor but he hasn't he's bent to the good business sense and the money.

Only thing is, is all of this shit not as much of a distraction as actually just doing the promo? I don't know, guess only he does.

I think its a class statement but I don't agree with him shirking his promo responsibilities. I can see both sides but at the end of the day fights and the UFC are all about promo. The big trade off for Dana here is the success of UFC 200 and the cash that comes with it, or the precedent set or other fighters. Dana will choose the money but long term the precedent (and the UFC's probable refusal to follow the precedent with less money making fighters) will likely cause the UFC issues with fighters revolting or unionising.

Interesting times. Dana's move.

Will he? I don't much about him but from what I've seen he strikes me as being fairly stubborn. I think he'll probably try to break his back(and bank) to get GSP instead.

Prince is dead? Fuck
                                                          Just about to post this. News says a 'death at his estate', did you read somewhere it was him?

Indo notification on phone. Top half of my phone screen broken so can't get into the article

Massive clearout of celebs this year

A cynic might say:

*dons tinfoil hat*

*does up apartment Saul's brother style*

What is the one story that could have knocked MMA = death brawling off the front pages except their biggest star threatening to quit?
                                                                      That's only really a story in Ireland

holy shit Prince is dead
                                                                        Legendary musician Prince has died at the age of 57

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 21-04-16, 17:14.

TXFM playing Purple Rain. True so.

A cynic might say:

*dons tinfoil hat*

What is the one story that could have knocked MMA = death brawling off the front pages except their biggest star threatening to quit?
                                                                              Outside of Ireland and niche MMA reporting it didn't get much traction.

An MMA fighter in the US on a big show (Bellator) which pulled 2.5m viewers had a a heart attack during/after his fight and nearly died a few months back. Didn't get too much news attention outside of niche MMA reporting though.

A cynic might say:

*dons tinfoil hat*

Irish front pages aren't even a big deal in Ireland never mind the world of MMA.

Jesus Christ. .....Prince gone now.

WTF .

Wonderful statement.

Seems to be caught in limbo between wanting to be a sportsman / martial artist who competes and to be an entertainer who makes money. I imagine it isn't easy to get that balance right. He went too far with the latter last time, and, if genuine, I really respect him for wanting to go back to what he really values and is passionate about - being the best that he can be at MMA.
                                                                                      The biggest issue he has unfortunately, and the reason why he is worth millions and has made millions for the UFC, is because of all the great promo work he has done. He's worked incredibly hard at it and so has the UFC. He gets more money than anyone because he sells fights and generates interest like noone else.

Now he's saying enough is enough, and the UFC, rightly so, are saying no it's not, this is why we are paying you a fortune, so get back to work. we can renegotiate next time if you want to do less promo.

He can't have it both ways.

It's a black and purple day.

RIP to a true genius.

One hates to go all tabloid on this but presumably 'having a flu' is code for aids?
                                                                                          A big disease with a little name.

In honour of both Prince and today's posting, thread name change to: let's party like it's twenty nought
                                                                                            would we not put, "let's party like it's one thousand nine hundred and ninety nine"?

The biggest issue he has unfortunately, and the reason why he is worth millions and has made millions for the UFC, is because of all the great promo work he has done. He's worked incredibly hard at it and so has the UFC. He gets more money than anyone because he sells fights and generates interest like noone else.

Now he's saying enough is enough, and the UFC, rightly so, are saying no it's not, this is why we are paying you a fortune, so get back to work. we can renegotiate next time if you want to do less promo.

He can't have it both ways.
                                                                                              He asked to postpone the promo m8.

Stick some salt on that chip on your shoulder and gobble it up.

He asked to postpone the promo m8.

Stick some salt on that chip on your shoulder and gobble it up.
                                                                                                    ah yes, everyone should change their schedule because he says so. Wipe your chin fanboy, something just dribbled out.

Surely you respect the fact that as a sportsman first and PR man sexond he actually wants to get in good enough shape to win?
                                                                                                    absolutely, all the fighters do, but when UFC says we need you now, they all have to show up unfortunately.

Ramsey to score tonight, with news like that, has to be a bet.

ah yes, everyone should change their schedule because he says so. Wipe your chin fanboy, something just dribbled out.

No, they shouldn't. Either let him off with one or do what they did. His management also asked this weeks ago. It's almost like you know nothing about this and just jumped on the hate train. SHOCK!

...I know it has been mentioned several times this year, but if the celebrity death pool was done for 2016 it would have been extremely interesting...
                                                                                                          ...Wonder would there be any interest in a 2016 Part deux competition?...start it in July :-)...

...How can Ozil be one of the 6 players up for player of the year, but not in the team of the year?... reminds me of a few years ago when Ronaldo was nominated for player of year and young player of year...he was voted player of year but not young player, absolutely stupid...oh and that whole thing of how Messi wins player of the month once, and Ronaldo has yet to win it is funny as fuck...

I dunno, UFC200 is going to be pretty damn big at this stage with or without McG. Wouldn't surprise me to see DW stick to his word and show some backbone here and push mcg out until later in the summer.

McGregor now 1/4 to fight at UFC 200 with PP, 5/2 to not.

What does tapping out mean?
                                                                                                                  Conceding / throwing in the towel when you're in a position that you can't win from., so called because the motion of tapping is used to indicate to the referee that you are done.

I think I know one Prince song.

3 for sure you know

Purple rain. Kiss. And nothing compares to you.

3 for sure you know

Purple rain. Kiss. And nothing compares to you.
                                                                                                                          Purple rain, might know the second one if I heard it? Thought that was a Sinead O'C original?

Edit: looked on YT at Kiss...don't know it.