After seeing it would cost €2k+ a month to stick two into creche when herself heads back to work at the end of the year, in a moment of madness perhaps, i declared i would look after them till we can ship them off to school. Whilst running a business. Cant back down now. Luckily i can get away with 10-12 hours a week with a few hours evening/weekend paperwork thrown in but id say its going to be fun. Should get the cameras in for the lols - "Keeping up with the Dice(s)"
    You absolute lunatic Dice I work from home about 60% of the time and have on occasion had to mind our daughter when she's off sick from creche... suffice as to say it was pretty unproductive from a work point of view. Ended up working eves and wkends each time to make up for it.

Can imagine you sorting out sanitary ware logistic nightmares over the phone with some client whos shiny new shitter is lost in the post with 2 young wans tearing the gaf apart hysterically roaring for you to play peppa pig on your phone... plz keep us updated
    Last edited by NoRiverRequired; 24-03-16, 10:55.

When my sister had her child and returned to work, she was earning far less than she was paying for child minding / crèche.

She's had two fairly significant salary bumps since so it's not quite as difficult, but there's got to be an awful lot of people in the position where it costs more to work (and have a child) than to not work and be the carer yourself.

Fair play to Dice to give the hybrid option a shot!
      Last edited by Emmet; 24-03-16, 11:02.

The Luas workers who went on strike should have been sent to work in Creches for a day to see what being a highly qualified exploited workforce looks like.

Dice, I decided to look after our kid instead of creche but not just for financial reasons.
          I wanted to spend time with my kid rather than strangers looking after him. It's the best decision I've ever made. Watched all his milestones as they happened and we have a great bond. I'm itching now to go back working but now she wants another one. (cue sp rant on old decrepit daddies) Not sure I'll be employable if I give it another 2/3 years though. I think it's a great decision and the time flies by.

The Luas workers who went on strike should have been sent to work in Creches for a day to see what being a highly qualified exploited workforce looks like.
            Hmm was there not a programme which showed widespread abuses in creches?
            Not sure what qualifications you need babies toddlers can be hard work of course like school going to be disruptive ones.
            If people are getting paid poorly its there fault get another job get qualifications turn to fucking crime this crap of quoting the luas workers for everything is draining.

Our next flag should be an animated gif. Possibly of a pint of stout being drunk.
              Just sent an all staff email full of animated gifs announcing that the easter bunny had visited the office. It was very well recieved. Cheers for the inspiration, BBV!

Possibly not consistently the case but I would agree completely. Delighted with the one we chose and kid absolutely in love with the staff which is great.

Plus kids need socialisation outside of their own family unit.

Solk's young lad will likely end up a complete wierdo

like the auld lad

I cant think of any only children i knew growing up or as adults who are not greedy selfish and a bit odd.

This does not make children seem appealing. #DINK bois

like the auld lad
                        Yea any of my mates kids who don't go to creche are psychos. It's very good for teaching them to share and that they're not the centre of the universe.

like the auld lad

Kids need it but do babies?. Did you go to a creche ? Anyone on here ? We do give him two mornings a week to gather bugs and distribute them around the family. As for being a weirdo his dna almost guarantees it.

This does not make children seem appealing. #DINK bois
                            I'm sticking to cats and the hope that my wife outlives me.

After seeing it would cost €2k+ a month to stick two into creche when herself heads back to work at the end of the year, in a moment of madness perhaps, i declared i would look after them till we can ship them off to school. Whilst running a business. Cant back down now. Luckily i can get away with 10-12 hours a week with a few hours evening/weekend paperwork thrown in but id say its going to be fun. Should get the cameras in for the lols - "Keeping up with the Dice(s)"
                              There was a couple of years in the early 90's when I was self employed that I managed that kind of arrangement. Great craic driving around with a couple of toddlers strapped in to the front of the HiAce. Best days of them all IMO.

Hmm was there not a programme which showed widespread abuses in creches?
                                Not sure what qualifications you need babies toddlers can be hard work of course like school going to be disruptive ones.
                                If people are getting paid poorly its there fault get another job get qualifications turn to fucking crime this crap of quoting the luas workers for everything is draining.
                                The programme showed there was abuse in some crèches which was disgusting. Not sure that it was representative of widespread abuse It did show that regulation and inspection was light touch and sub standard and that has improved since the programme.

Perhaps I didn't need to reference the Luas workers to make the point but if you think people will hand a baby for 8 hours a day to someone who hasn't qualifications you are wrong.

The Ecce free pre school year requires a minimum Fetac level 7 qualified person to lead a room of 22 children assisted by another person with fetac level6.

A fetac level 8 qualified worker gets in the region of € 11 ph and those below that level normally on close to min wage. They usually do it because they love children and that is exploited by their employers Imo and many do end up leaving as they cant make it pay.

They usually have no contract or certainty around the hours they will work each day and have their expected hours cut short without notice if the numbers that turn up on any given day are down.For most it really is more a vocation as long as they can stick it out.

The get another job / turn to crime is as lazy as my Luas ref so we will call that a draw.

When my sister had her child and returned to work, she was earning far less than she was paying for child minding / crèche.

She's had two fairly significant salary bumps since so it's not quite as difficult, but there's got to be an awful lot of people in the position where it costs more to work (and have a child) than to not work and be the carer yourself.

Fair play to Dice to give the hybrid option a shot!
                                  My missus wouldn't be that high an earner (ryanair, what can you say?), we are seriously considering moving to a single income status as the difference between the cost of creche vs her wage mightn't be worth the extra stress of leaving her.
                                  Of course we are still early days where every fart is greeted with cheers

edit....my maths may be off, €700 a month is the fees roughly, not €1700?

Still get a good laugh\shudder when I see Little Harvard creche in the papers. Last spotted on the Revenue settlement list last week

Johan Cryuff to the list of legends passing away this year

@honda 8:45 flight to the UK tomorrow morning with Aer Lingus . Do I need to give a bit more time for security than usual?

I've been off for the past 2 weeks but I wouldn't think so, then run a good show at all times the events wouldnt change much there. My brother was flying out yesterday and he went through as quick as normal.

Can anyone tell me where the best selection of fresh fruit and veg is in the south Dublin area?
                                                Preferable somewhere that does the odd bit of obscure veg.

Around the Walkinstown,Crumlin,Tallaght,Knocklyon,Templeogue area.

Happy Birthday Danny
                                                  Shares his birthday with the Undertaker

My missus wouldn't be that high an earner (ryanair, what can you say?), we are seriously considering moving to a single income status as the difference between the cost of creche vs her wage mightn't be worth the extra stress of leaving her.
                                                    Of course we are still early days where every fart is greeted with cheers

edit....my maths may be off, €700 a month is the fees roughly, not €1700?
                                                    700 would be pretty good for Dublin, probably more like 1k

1700 definitely not right

Our place is €45 a day including meals.

There yis are

You have to name it. Rolling with the dices if we are to get it on tv3 or E news

Can anyone tell me where the best selection of fresh fruit and veg is in the south Dublin area?
                                                              Preferable somewhere that does the odd bit of obscure veg.

Around the Walkinstown,Crumlin,Tallaght,Knocklyon,Templeogue area.
                                                              SuperValu knocklyn is pretty good I think

Just an hour left to get involved in the Irish Open Fantasy IPB Special

700 would be pretty good for Dublin, probably more like 1k

1700 definitely not right
                                                                  she may get her arse out to work so

SuperValu knocklyn is pretty good I think
                                                                    Not bad, it's fcuking daylight robbery in there though. As are any former Superquinn.

We're a 20 second commute from the crèche and popping in and out unannounced all the time. Absolutely no issues with the standards of care and interaction.

We're paying 1k a month under age 1. That includes a 10% corporate discount. We pay for 5 days a week to give ourselves maximum flexibility and have just increased our cleaners hours to also include ironing but as I said we're very fortunate to be able to afford all of that.

But for those who are struggling to pay for it all the stress of what should be the highlight years of your life is just crazy. Very fucking sad that we've set our society up this way. Labour were really on to something with all their childcare policies but unfortunately the message got drowned out.

Not bad, it's fcuking daylight robbery in there though. As are any former Superquinn.
                                                                          Get Fresh in Ballyroan have great selection, unlikely to be valooo though. Superquinn prices would have caused Fortnum&Mason shoppers to wince.

get some veg youve never had at any asian supermarket

Its essentially an indirect state policy of encouraging families to just have one kid. Which is a woeful policy that is probably furthest from their minds, but there you go thats what they've done.
                                                                              Not working though - Ireland has the highest fertility rate in the EU (edit; I lied, France is higher)

How much longer though?! I'd say if we didn't have such a fine history of pregnancy-through-drunkeness we'd be down near the Baltics in terms of reproduction, and unfortunately the second kid seems to be a lot more thought out than the first 'whats the worst that can go wrong?' kid. You being an honourable exception.
                                                                                  the rate actually went up during the depression

we like having children and reasonably large amounts of them - it's cultural

the rate actually went up during the depression

we like having children and reasonably large amounts of them - it's cultural
                                                                                    Yep, i often hear people talking about how they want three at least etc, and definitely both boys and girls.

you don't always get the choice

I used to have a girlfriend back in the day who was the fourth of six daughters - the auld lad was a farmer and wanted to keep going until they got a boy but the mother shut up shop after six. Dems de breaks.

Bought some jackfruit last week in Asian place on Moore Street beside Ilac entrance. Here is a comparison of their size to a fat man wearing green:

I was rather a fan of the explanation that the rate of pregnancy went up at the beginning of the recession as couples worked out it would be incredibly hard to fire the woman of the house from a company making cutbacks if they were pregnant. Fired = Equality Tribunal + A Few Tears = Payday

There was quite a few reasons why kids were a good reason during the recession:

'Oh Joe its inhumane, the big bad bank are going to evict me and here's me with my little baby'

or the more mundane:

'well if I'm going to be on the dole anyway I may as well get this nasty business over with and pretend to apply for work for a few years'
                                                                                            hold off on publishing any sociology papers for a while imo

Went to one in Rathmines a few weeks ago. Fantastic. Rubbish for parking and on the cycle on the way home i can only fill about half a rucksak.

I'd love to find a decent one out in the burbs.

Went to one in Rathmines a few weeks ago. Fantastic. Rubbish for parking and on the cycle on the way home i can only fill about half a rucksak.

I'd love to find a decent one out in the burbs.
                                                                                                  there's a massive one (or there used to be ) near citywest/raheny

Listen to all the breeders trying to get the state to pay for their poor life choices. Lowsey spongers these RDIII, Hitch and V lads imo. Stats and graphs all trying to justify there procreational addictions.

Bad enough that we have to pay for the schools and playgrounds, suffer the noise pollution and cant go on holidays during the summer months because they will be pissing in the swimming pools but now they want us to pay to pick up the pieces by minding them while they go off to the relative quite of an office.

Where is Andys state funded cat park and minder thats what I want to know.

Also appears to be one in Stillorgan if that's any better. Came across a thread on boards about a place in Artane doing a Kg of chicken breasts for under €6 which may also be worth a look.

there's a massive one (or there used to be ) near citywest/raheny
                                                                                                          Covering quite the area there , Shrap

Listen to all the breeders trying to get the state to pay for their poor life choices. Lowsey spongers these RDIII, Hitch and V lads imo. Stats and graphs all trying to justify there procreational addictions.

Bad enough that we have to pay for the schools and playgrounds, suffer the noise pollution and cant go on holidays during the summer months because they will be pissing in the swimming pools but now they want us to pay to pick up the pieces by minding them while they go off to the relative quite of an office.

Where is Andys state funded cat park and minder thats what I want to know.
                                                                                                            oh, we piss in the pools all year round

These have a place in Ballymount ind estate

I'll give it a bash over the weekend.
                                                                                                              Last edited by Silver-Tiger; 24-03-16, 16:40.

Covering quite the area there , Shrap
                                                                                                                geography not great round those parts

here's the link (citywest is close enough!!)

you don't always get the choice

I used to have a girlfriend back in the day who was the fourth of six daughters - the auld lad was a farmer and wanted to keep going until they got a boy but the mother shut up shop after six. Dems de breaks.
                                                                                                                  A mate of mine is nicknamed Sissy Dick
                                                                                                                  (4 girls)

LOL @ Luas drivers. Sack the lot of them.

Bought some jackfruit last week in Asian place on Moore Street beside Ilac entrance. Here is a comparison of their size to a fat man wearing green:

Never been in that Asian place, cheers, in I go. I usually can only get it in cans.

here's buzzfeed and some hipsters to tell you how to make pulled jackfruit that supposedly tastes like pulled pork. I never ate pulled pork bu the pulled jackfruit I made was class

I have been training for the past while as a teacher of the eight week Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction programme. I decided to train in it because I wish to give others an opportunity to experience the benefits of mindfulness.

If anyone here has any interest in learning mindfulness give me a shout, if you wish, and I'll let you know when a class is starting. Or if there's a few of us around Dublin I could run an IPB one. Keep out the riff raff.

Here's a video that gives a little about the history of the programme:

Sounds good, interested.