Yiz ill all still vote Orange or Green next week, even if you didn't want to there is literally no choice.
    Ridiculous little statelet that is going to be so fucked over by Brexit it is going to be horrible.

As someone who has vigorously defended the right of NI to go its own way, mainly on the principal of not wanting any hand act or part in a state that a million Unionists are dragged kicking and screaming into, I am just about on the point of changing my mind.
    Now is the time for our own bananna republic to make itself an attractive enough place for those people to want to live when they find them abandoned by the 'mainland' at the first sight of them failing economically in the years following Brexit.
    The peace process only ever made sense in the context of Europe and without it, well where you have a border you will have a border campaign and they haven't gone away you know
    Some craic up here all right atm. I heard Gerry saying SF dont worry about a crisis as a crisis can be exploited which I feel is their agenda atm. They are stating requirements which need met during talks after election that will not fly with the DUP ( assuming both are top of the pile). This will end up with direct rule if they cant cant come to an agreement, which will suit SF more as UK will be talking with ROI with regard to Brexit and thats when more concessions can be obtained. Arlene will likely play hard ball ( nicknamed Chucky Arlene by some here ) and claim high moral ground but when her ministers refuse to shake hands with SF I cant see any moral victory there. Its a real mess but does throw up some amusing videos

Arlene and the fraudsters are back with another great hit !The RHI scandal song is emotional tail of lies greed and wood pellets which all take place in Nort...

Oh, and Cheltenham comp.

Once in a lifetime opportunity etc etc

Ranieri sacked

That feels very wrong indeed. Hope they get fucking relegated now.

Ranieri sacked

That feels very wrong indeed. Hope they get fucking relegated now.
                    I hope they get stuffed by Liverpool the weekend. yep I'm that mad.

will transfer that 50 disevening/tomorrow for the horsey thing.

Good read, potentially a great read:

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck
                        Kittens for no reason is a sign of wisdom. I'M SOLD!

Last edited by Guest; 23-02-17, 22:46.

Well its country-dependent, but 4% fixed for 7 years is woeful. Standard across a few continental european countries at the moment is 2% fixed for life of mortgage. But then again if its all you can get...
                          Is there a chance you are being overly influenced by your geographic situation .

Unless you have the option to take out international mortgages (I'm assuming you don't) there's little benefit comparing different countries. Getting 2% everywhere is of no use if you don't want to live there.

Cash rate here is Oz is 1.5% vrs maybe 0.5% in Europe. Meaning that sub 4% is a decent rate here and usually have to meet certain conditions to reach it (10-20% deposit for example).

95% mortgages still readily available here, but you'll pay LMI on anything over 80% in most cases. Even though it's wasted money, it's probably +EV to take the hit on it if you can.

Well as you know that is far from standard here and not available. The only downside to fixed I can see at the moment is lack of ability to pay off a lump sum should one wish to without incurring a large penalty. I'll be going for either 3 or 5 year fixed initially probably. I flirted with the idea of longer but can't convince myself to pull the trigger.
                          Do you have the option to split the principle?
                          I'm about to pull the trigger on a mortgage, all approved with the bank, papers signed. Just waiting on settlement.

We fixed the majority of the principle, and but went variable on a decent proportion.
                          That allows us to make extra repayments when we can, including paying off a large lump sum if we come into extra money during the fixed period.
                          It also means that we can offset all money in savings and current accounts vrs the variable mortgage without have to actually pay into the mortgage.

Obviously there's an upper limit to the above. But there's 0% chance we'll have more cash than the variable lying around.

Fast foward two years, I arrive in Oz and spent the first 2 months moaning about how shite the coffee is until my taste buds adopted. I now drink coffee every day and also tea depending on mood and work load
                          Wait until you next no home. I missed my coffees a lot at Christmas.

Guy measured his heart rate when coming off coffee in work a while back, was like 10 beats lower afterwards. If I ever have an espresso I get even more giddy than normal and my lip twitches just wanting to laugh for no reason, find it hard not to laugh (more than usual).

People in work are so addicted, if the coffee machine is out of order you'd swear it was the end of the world and is top priority.
                          I drink coffee every day, 2 cups average and my resting heart rate is 48-50 BPM. I'd be surprised if coming off the java made it drop any lower.

I read recently that occasional coffee drinkers have a much higher reaction to it, and it only takes a few days to build up a tolerance where you have as stable but reduce BP increase.

That's a dog!

Those types of split mortgages aren't common here. My current one is an offset one as is, and a tracker but those mortgages aren't available any more sadly.

One thing that is being offered is most places giving 2% cashback on drawdown. This applies to mortgage switching too, so it might be worth a gamble to fix for a year then hope those type of offers are still available and switch, getting 2% back on the remaining principal. I doubt it's that simple though.

Wait until you next no home. I missed my coffees a lot at Christmas.

I drink coffee every day, 2 cups average and my resting heart rate is 48-50 BPM. I'd be surprised if coming off the java made it drop any lower.

I read recently that occasional coffee drinkers have a much higher reaction to it, and it only takes a few days to build up a tolerance where you have as stable but reduce BP increase.
                                Which reminds me, I was in melbourne the other weekend, and really didnt get the whole sydney v melbourne stuff. Thought Melbourne was ok enough but sydney seems better to me (helps that the ladies are hotter in sydney )

Those types of split mortgages aren't common here. My current one is an offset one as is, and a tracker but those mortgages aren't available any more sadly.

One thing that is being offered is most places giving 2% cashback on drawdown. This applies to mortgage switching too, so it might be worth a gamble to fix for a year then hope those type of offers are still available and switch, getting 2% back on the remaining principal. I doubt it's that simple though.
                                  I only found out the split was possible when I went into fine detail on my own.
                                  Seamed like a easy decision, benefits of fixing a low rate against the bulk, and still being able to offset.
                                  The variable is only 0.03% higher atm, so very little cost incurred by splitting.
                                  Offsetting everything makes everything a lot less messy.

Which reminds me, I was in melbourne the other weekend, and really didnt get the whole sydney v melbourne stuff. Thought Melbourne was ok enough but sydney seems better to me (helps that the ladies are hotter in sydney )
                                    People always seem to prefer one or the other. I prefer Sydney personally. The weather, being near the water, the women, etc.
                                    If you are more into AFL/Formula 1, and being a bit of a hipster then you'd like Melbourne (or Newtown).

But mainly it's trivial stuff. Pints vrs schooners for example. Mostly fabricated down to typical aussie rivalism. The reality is the city most like Sydney in the world is Melbourne and vis versa. Nothing like the differences between Dublin, London, Paris or Cork which are about the same distance apart.

Perth and Darwin you'd see a difference.

How do you feel about catfish?
                                      what about sea creatures in general?

Posted a couple nights ago where I said this guy who took over from Letterman was getting rude and couldn't believe primetime US tv show his stuff but latest show has sunk to a new low imho. Obviously hes anti Trump but this 'sketch' is soo bad and insulting you can even hear the audience are shocked and laugh embarrassingly. I admit he was funny but lately hes been borderline crass. I defy anyone who finds this funny! WTF is going on?

Kid Rock is running for Senate in Michigan, and there's only one man standing in his way.Subscribe To "The Late Show" Channel HERE: http://bit.ly/ColbertYouT...

In comparison how Americans with some class do talk shows getting across same message.

Jimmy talks to Dan Rather about his rise to Facebook fame, Trump's immigration ban and the White House's feud with the press.Subscribe NOW to The Tonight Sho...

In comparison, this is how an Irish agent of the Russian propaganda machine looks at it the state of the world

Over in Glasgow for the day and sheparding a few people around to various things.

18 pounds to rent a mid-size car for the day, begob. Forgot how cheap the non-london stuff is.

Dont mix different RAM speeds, go for higher resolutiom monitor, or dual/triple setup. The 2p2 guides for poker pc setups would apply very accurately to home data crunching setups. Nred to put some thought into what will be the bottlenecks, eg if the CPU only churns through a certsin amount then harddrives supplying it faster than that are irrelevant. In all honesty, a server is the way to go if you have somewhere to put it. R710 off ebsy for £300 and build your desktop then to control it over thr network. What you are aiming at here is like towing a huge trailer with a BMW instead of using a lorry.

Noise more likely to be an issue in an apartment. Is there anywhere in work you could put one? A friendly IT minion could get excited by something like that and help immensely. Did something like this for a casino owner a few years ago, spare server in onsite rack, he remotes into it and starts whatever report he wants. Server does the crunching without breaking sweat. Off top of my head it had 48gb RAM, 2 x CPU and RAID 10, hardware cost me deffo less than £300.

Not sure what is going on with the two types of memory.
                                                            Get a 2tb hdd for backing up the ssd and photos and movies and stuff. Install OS and number fiddling apps on ssd.
                                                            Could go with an 8gb video card for future proofing.

Build it yourself for the satisfaction.
                                                            Last edited by Wombatman; 24-02-17, 09:28.

Future proofing is an odd concept, just make sure you get a motherboard that allows you to upgrade in the future, better off upgrading the other components over time as everything gets cheaper and faster than spending big now.

one for SP

Singles Only. Paddy Power decision is final.

Trump refers to Ivanka as 'my wife' in a press conference 50/1

No Soup for you!

one for SP

Singles Only. Paddy Power decision is final.

Trump refers to Ivanka as 'my wife' in a press conference 50/1
                                                                        Those's kids all have the look of someone who has had some awful shit done to them. Only reason I don't think they have is that Ivana doesn't strike meas the type who would let it happen! (or would have kept quiet about it when they divorced)

Hitch, make sure you need everything there, look into what processing is needed to be done and what it really needs, I imagine the price could be brought down a fair amoount depending on what you need. The boards forum might be better for you as they will piece together a PC but also build your basket so you can buy the parts from the best place.

Future proofing isn't as important as you think, do what Denny says. After you are done with your build subsequent ones will just be lego to you. Parts come down in price a lot. My PC was for high end gaming and cost €800 (Not including monitor - 1440p 120hz 27 inch was around €230 from Korea), it's still running fine after 6 years. I just didn't buy the very top end, usually second tier is perfect for price/value. Even if I wanted it to go back to being top tier I would need to replace one part, that's it.

I'm gonna guess 2 cups is pretty low judging by the people around me. I am not sure if it's because I drink it infrequently or because of some biological quirk but I very rarely have coffee and have never drank tea, and it affects me a huge amount when I do. Especially espresso. However some chemicals/sugars seem to do the same thing. Exacerbated by the fact I never stop laughing ever anyway so am predisposed to giddiness. It's makes me hyper.
                                                                          Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 24-02-17, 10:23.

ah that ram is two different types by accident, as the baby was starting to scream. Smaller but higher resolution dual monitor system sounds like a great plan.

Must check out that 2p2 guide. The above is largely an adaption of this for DNA data crunching.

Will have to look into the server thing. The problem is my wifi is woeful due to the apartment building being old and heard that creates a problem when you have a server. Is that right?
                                                                            Get two drives. One smaller, cheaper SSD for your OS and programs, one bigger HDD for your data. For your number crunching I guess you're using SSIS? It will fit alongside Windows on a 200GB drive with room to spare.

You don't need that graphics card unless you plan on playing GTA5 or doing some serious floating point operations equivalent to mining bitcoins. That said, it's the same one as mine and it's fucking class.

The new AMD chip apparently lives up to the hype so if you're not pulling the trigger right now, get one of them.

Also the stock cooler that comes with the intel chip is adequate.

This article about Mich Channon is fun. When men were real men.

Got the hat trick there.

You need the hat trick of thanks for the triple bonus!

Rigger will be along shortly to take care of business.

Lost my (future) brother in law to the roads this week

On his way to coach under 16 GAA he was hit head on by a speeding drunk driver who fled the scene.

He is survived by a beautiful wife 2 children and one on the way (wife 7 months pregnant)

Just venting here as the sadness turns to anger

RIP

Oh Man! Thats too much.
                                                                                            So sorry for you and the whole family.

Beyond awful. Condolences.

No words for that. Condolences T.

Life can be so horribly cruel at times, that's heartbreaking. Condolences Tony.

Fucking hell. So sorry BK.

You should be able to keep your tracker rate when moving house, i think they add 1% to it.

That was the advice i was given recently, AIB.

My condolences Tony.

Condolences BK, shocking news.

Hope they catch the fucker and throw away the key.

You should be able to keep your tracker rate when moving house, i think they add 1% to it.

That was the advice i was given recently, AIB.
                                                                                                              I'm not getting rid of that mortgage.

Very sorry to hear that BK

One of the new episodes they will be charging for will be Ken Early on politics,I'd keep quiet about that one if I were them.
                                                                                                                    They will do well to get many paying for it I think,off the ball does the trick tbh,especially since woolly left,we are saturated with sports talk these days,I'd pay to hear less of it tbh
                                                                                                                    Couldn't get past the first 10 mins of this podcast today...and it wasn't even really about politics

Some BBV help required -

1 week trip from Dublin at the start of June? Where should I consider? Will have a canadian with me.

Shortlist right now -

Barcelona
                                                                                                                      Dubrovnik
                                                                                                                      Lisbon

But I am open to any and all suggestions.

Also the stock cooler that comes with the intel chip is adequate.
                                                                                                                        No stock cooler with that chip AFIK.

Some BBV help required -

1 week trip from Dublin at the start of June? Where should I consider? Will have a canadian with me.

Shortlist right now -

Barcelona
                                                                                                                          Dubrovnik
                                                                                                                          Lisbon

But I am open to any and all suggestions.
                                                                                                                          That sailing around Greece trip I did last year was outstanding. It was 2k between four of us for the yacht including skipper and you'd do well to spend €500 in the week. Possibly a bit steep if you can't get two others to tag along.

I plan on doing a trip to Lisbon this year as I haven't been before and it's meant to be great.