All this house talk... I might buy a house for the craic. I know nothing about it at all though, just gonna glean it all from you guys instead of looking it up.

Look for one that has fresh paint and smells of bread!

That recovery in unemployment is ridic. Was 15% a few years ago. Now 6.8% after a massive drop in last few months. Should be about 5.8% by the end of the year. It's very hard for unemployment to drop much below 5% (around 4% is essentially full employment), so either (a) big pay increases on the way, or (b) loads more Polish needed.

Hopefully they'll be sensible and push up minimum wage over €10 an hour, but leave social welfare rates unchanged, and then there's massive incentives for even the most workshy to hop on the unemployment bandwagon and you might be able to see employment down near 3% which would be astronomical.
          I am happy that more people are getting jobs, but can't help thinking that this will drive up rents and the cost of living even more!

Crash will happen about 18 months after terms like 'soft landing' become the norm in the papers. Run to da hills time then.

On a serious note trying to call the top (and deciding to sell-to-rent) is madness, every year you are wrong will cost you a lot in rent and a bit more in short term house price increases, double whammy.
            Remember that those property pin guys were calling the previous top from around 2001 and they weren't actually correct until ~Sept 2008. And even then it never turned out quite as bad as many of them had prophesized.
            There's not much money to be made in picking tops especially with high transaction costs. Burry in the Big Short predicted the blow up and only managed to double or treble his money?

I am happy that more people are getting jobs, but can't help thinking that this will drive up rents and the cost of living even more!
              Early bird and pretheatre menus are fast disappearing and getting brunch in a decent place at short notice to ease away my weekend hangovers are gone for about 2 years at this stage.

Q's at good brunch places is definitely an issue. Completely defeats the purpose of having a nice leisurely, relaxed brunch. There are still a few spots that you can pull it off but the number is dwindling. The fact that a lot of them won't take brunch bookings can be a pain also.

#1stworldproblems

This is a decent eviceration of yet another pisspoor bookies marketing stunt

Like any self respecting economist will do, predict 8 of the last 1 recessions.
                    In fairness posts by the likes yourself, V, RDIII, hitch and some others long since forgotten were a not insgignificant factor in a move I made to cash out of property investments ten years ago this month

Currently in Tempe Arizona! GO SUN DEVILS!

Our office is in some spot - right beside ASU, on the main thoroughfare. Weather is phenomenal. Some amount of beautiful people around. Standing out like a deformed thumb.

Re: interview.They'll let me know in a month. Never change public sector.

Anyways, important stuff.

Investigating buying wardrobes, and 2 things strike me.
                          1. They seem to be phenomenally expensive things to get built in.
                          2. Finding exactly how much they might even cost is very difficult. Every website seems to be the "we'll give you a quote" type places which I really dislike.

Anyone got any tips on buying these things? I'd like a middle ground between a bargaintown free standing wardrobe and a 2 grand cost for a decent built in one for a 2 metre wide space (and smaller).
                          We need wardrobes in 3 bedrooms. All measurements in cm.

Room 1: approx 215 wide, 70 deep.
                          Room 2: approx 144 wide, 70 deep.
                          Room 3: approx 100 wide, 70 deep.

I didn't measure the height, but probably 2 metres, give or take.

I wouldn't want you to put him to any trouble, we might not even get them in for a while as they aren't a must have immediately, but I'd like to get an estimate. I'd imagine most of the estimates for decent quality would be much higher than I would instinctively think they should be, but I have no idea about wardrobes. Sliderobes in the 2 bigger rooms might be alright, but I'd be perfectly happy with normal doors that swing open. I know that there are huge variables to take into account depending on material and style, but still, I'd like to have some idea.

If he could give a quick ballpark figure that would be great, if he'd have to spend time on it, I'd feel bad about taking up his time. Where is he located by the way?
                          Just sent a message to my old work asking for a quote as well. They are reasonable enough. Will PM you and I know from experience they do a damn good job!

City of Manchester Stadium not even close to full for champions league night.

Crazy open start to the game, hard to see City keeping them out playing gung ho against a side with their counter attacking pace.

This is entertaining tbf.

Huge call.

Looking forward to the 2nd half.

In fairness posts by the likes yourself, V, RDIII, hitch and some others long since forgotten were a not insgignificant factor in a move I made to cash out of property investments ten years ago this month
                                    Feel free to repay in salami.

Champions league continually proves itself to be the best competition in sport.

I think even at my vintage I could roll back the years and do a job at centre-half better than those two...

MrsDIII got the keys to the executive suite today. Mildly bollixed after celebratory dinner at local eaterie.

Now obviously completely reversed my previously hawkish position on public sector pay.

We are dopes - http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/20...ange-our-minds

Fact

Not sure if the link will work. My friend took this while over and it is entered into a comp to be on a new stamp in Malta if ye can give it a wee like...

Jesus. Premiership is so shite. So badly exposed at this level.

Think I saw that Drake fella today. Lots of people making a fuss around the Fitzwilliam hotel over a cool looking black guy in sports wear.

Originally posted by DennyCrane
                                                    It's part of the reason why I don't hate Trump the way a lot of people do. I'm very grateful for the way he's demonstrated that facts and reality don't matter when it comes to persuading people, if anything they're counterproductive. And so many people call him stupid for demonstrating an understanding of human behaviour that's far beyond anything you'll see anywhere else.
                                                    Thats insane!

Whether Trump's election is a planned exploitation of cognitive dissonance and human weakness as you seem to think or an accident of his having run good at screwing people in court and being a reality TV star as I believe there is nothing to celebrate about either.
                                                    We've known for centuries how stupid and exploitable people are, we aim higher and do better not exploit them better.
                                                    He's an apalling pwerson because he is a user, a rapist , a taker, an abuser of women not because he uses the age old pschyological tricks of the snake oil salesman.
                                                    Again you will criticise me and get hysterical when I remind you that those are the same bag of tricks that the unmentionable Austrian painter used in the 1930's

Never lost it tbf.

They're still shite.

Not a penny on this match. Great entertainment....

Fecking Jesus must be smiling down on this match. (Pity about the ol toe )

The 2-4 in the other game looks a bore by comparison.

Bbc4 Russian Holligans

Currently in Tempe Arizona! GO SUN DEVILS!

Our office is in some spot - right beside ASU, on the main thoroughfare. Weather is phenomenal. Some amount of beautiful people around. Standing out like a deformed thumb.
                                                                We have a new office in Tempe (opened up last year).

Half tempted to try to get a transfer there tbh. Friend of mine working over there loves it.

Saw Jacques Brel is Alive... at the Gate tonight.
                                                                  Super entertainment and would recommend though its only got another 4 shows before it closes.
                                                                  Very different show than the usual Pinter/Beckett stuff for the Gate - its a series of clever catchy songs telling stories of life and love and death in Brussels and Paris in the 20th century, only one line of dialogue in the whole 80 minute show.

Hmmmm, watching recording of what appears epic City and Monaco game on return from theatre, 2-3 at moment. Can't claim Jacques Brel show was as good as this in fairness.
                                                                    Afraid to read up for spoilers.

Was reading in that Gut book this morning that if your bacteria gets washed out - e.g. with diarrhea - then you should go to the pharmacy to get new good bacteria. What's that now? You can just buy fresh specially selected bacteria to populate your gut?
                                                                      I'd be very surprised if diarrhea cleaned out our gut of bacteria. Seeing as all sorts of chemicals are need to rid them for everything else. Might cause the numbers to drop a bit, but I'd imagine a normal shit drop a load of microbes off at the pool.
                                                                      But we have literally shit-loads of the bacteria in out body, and they procreate rapidly. Probiotics can only help of course.

Fun fact: Only about 10% of the cells in our body are our own cells. Bacteria and the similar cells out number almost 10 to 1.

#IrishPooBoards

C-3PO had a silver leg
                                                                      It's Sex AND the City not Sex IN the City
                                                                      My all time, shit has changed one is there is no "...of the world" at the end of we are the champions
                                                                      I'm not sure I'm misunderstanding your point, or missing the game here. But;
                                                                      C-3PO did have a silver leg. What's the change there?
                                                                      It was always Sex and the City, Sex in the City is likely the porno parody.
                                                                      Did know that about We are the champions though

Super entertainment and would recommend though its only got another 4 shows before it closes.
                                                                        Very different show than the usual Pinter/Beckett stuff for the Gate - its a series of clever catchy songs telling stories of life and love and death in Brussels and Paris in the 20th century, only one line of dialogue in the whole 80 minute show.
                                                                        I am sure a certain mechanic from Kildare was there. Some fantastic tunes.

Was hoping to catch that, still might get to it. I saw a production of it when I was very young, it was powerful stuff.
                                                                          Google telling me it was in the theatre festival of 1974 but I think it must have been brought back a few years later.

Spoken like a lad who hasn't a clue what city are this year or what Monaco are as a club this season.

Luckily clowns like yourself keep proving themselves, there is many of you, not just singling you out.

Stick to pretending you follow rugby m8. Champions league was sensational even if you followed a team involved that lost tonight . Anyone who took the opportunity to knock football instead of saying wow is a fake news nobody. Failing. So big. Might be the worst. Soccer did big things. Big big things. Maybe the greatest things. Working together. So good OK. Great. OK? So much money let me tell you. Great entertainment ok. Some of the biggest soccer. Bigly.

City of Manchester Stadium not even close to full for champions league night.
                                                                              Apparently game was actually a sell out and reason looked not full was due to major delays due to security checks.

Prime example of fake news. Shame. Tell the truth. CAPITAL LETTERS. failing. So bad.

No holds barred these days in Late Show these days. Letterman wouldn't be as blatantly rude! 2nd video from Monday night has content I would never expected on mainstream US tv.

Even the world's most ruthless terrorist organization can't displace the mainstream media as President Trump's most despised group.Subscribe To "The Late Sho...

In response to Trump's false claims of a terror attack, Sweden's Prime Minister asked, 'What has he been smoking?' Stephen has a theory.Subscribe To "The Lat...

Seems like a decent deal for anyone looking to get a car
                                                                                        Dude was my wedding car driver and is a good skin

I'm not sure I'm misunderstanding your point, or missing the game here. But;
                                                                                          C-3PO did have a silver leg. What's the change there?
                                                                                          It was always Sex and the City, Sex in the City is likely the porno parody.
                                                                                          Did know that about We are the champions though
                                                                                          Just things that people ascribe to the mandala effect
                                                                                          ie. C-3PO is all gold

Spoken like a lad who hasn't a clue what city are this year or what Monaco are as a club this season.

Luckily clowns like yourself keep proving themselves.
                                                                                            eh? pints?

the record of Premiership teams in the CL over the last few seasons:

2015-16: one team (MC) made semis
                                                                                            2014-15: no English team made last 8
                                                                                            2013-14: 2 English teams made last 8, one made semis
                                                                                            2012-13: no English team made last 8

Based on this massive underperformance (Spain, Germany, France and Italy outrank them) by the richest and most overhyped League in the world, I think I'm fully justifed in my statement that:

on a rate of return basis for €€€ invested, English clubs suck.

Ask Ipbeeeves.com*

TLDR – In short need to get a toy car wash .

*

My 3 year old is obsessed with car washes* and I promised him a toy car wash due to his outstanding performance by a toddler in ‘toilet training’ .** I thought I’d mosey to Smyths and pick one up , but alas my mosey was in vain.

Do ye lot know somewhere I may purchase a toy car wash in the greater Dublin/Kildare/Wicklow area.** **He speaks Finnish and English* and when he was 1 ½ he saw his 1st car wash and instantly called it *Kylpy (bath)* Auto and dived under my shirt.

He grew terrified of them and we couldn’t figure out why.* Then one day as we groaned through an episode of Peppa the pissy Pig the ol grandpa pig got stuck in a carwash and was shouting like he was stuck in a lift with Peppa the Pissy Pig.* (still with me)

Then we twigged where this fear emanated from. ****Now it’s Kylpy Auto 100 times a day since, watches them on youtube transfixed. ***He needs to be cured before he ends up driving a very scruffy Laguna when he’s older. **

Also one of the clips of a carwash on youtube had 4 million hits.** Who the feck watched these things?* It can’t be all Peppa the pissy Pig victims.

Just things that people ascribe to the mandala effect
                                                                                                ie. C-3PO is all gold
                                                                                                What about his red arm?

Wasn't his name Mandela? I must be a victim of the Mandala effect.

@MikeHunt, is this any good for you?

That have that one (Hitch's) on Argos.co.uk

Thanks mellor/ hitch. Bbv>interwebby no?
                                                                                                          You get added info from bbv heads.

but no delivery from argos.co.uk to Ireland, and not on argos.ie. pfft, do you take me for an amateur searcher?!!
                                                                                                              Belfast + Parcel Locker = Delivery from U.K.

there is also a few things on adverts.ie if you fancy as well

Looking for a ticket (or two but I'd go on my own) for the France game on Saturday if anyone hears of any. Getting worried at this stage as they seem pretty scarce. Cheers.

Various people saying this is staged. Still funny but probably not real.