FIFA claim it was a loan to help with the stadium.

This stuff can't get any stupider but will. Wait til Warners antics are outed.
    Delaney getting in first before the big stuff comes out to eclipse it. WP.

What's for tea?

How do I bring the fucker down. Must be handy enough to do in this country if a few people were bothered. Nobody ever is.

Couple of clever cunts and a social media whizz and you'd cause a mini public stir at the very minimum.

How do I bring the fucker down. Must be handy enough to do in this country if a few people were bothered. Nobody ever is.

Couple of clever cunts and a social media whizz and you'd cause a mini public stir at the very minimum.
          You'll need some tea to keep you going during all that. What are you having?

Nothing yet m8. What are you having for tea?

Our landlord said we can get a cat. This is the best news ever.

Raise and ask him if you can get a dog.

Delaney first got the top job in 2004 , his current tenure continues until 2020 . When an interviewer on morning Ireland asked him if he intended to seek re-election , he said if the members were happy with him blah blah blah. Interviewer then nailed him with " some might consider you have had a good run yourself " . An assertion he had levelled at Blatter.

Nothing yet m8. What are you having for tea?
                    Nothing yet m8. Keep you posted.

2 Big Al's 1/4 pounders on a floury bap with cheese and relish with a bottle of chocolate mooju. Strange combo was nice.
                      Last edited by dobby; 04-06-15, 20:19.

I am sure they would, they seem to have a similar philosophy, but Tesla is in it's infancy and their vehicles are too expensive so I can't see how they would suddenly morph into a high output manufacturer at reasonable prices in a short space of time.
                        They have a 3 series competitor coming next year. Also toyota own a hefty amount of them. I have no doubt they can ramp up the volume in a very short amount of time.

Don't do it!

In fairness to Blatter you have to be a bit of legend to get away with what he has for so long 79 and looks great, A few years in a white collar min security prison and pop your clogs. Happy Out. Delaney just doing a lower scale Irish Version of it and must be admired how he keeps getting away with it.

You are wrong by an order of magnitudes. The technology is already present, google have already proved the concept, and there are such huge incentives involved (financial and moral) that is a question of years rather than decades away. Consider how much a trucking company will save when they can reduce or eliminate labor from the equation.

The analogy with hybrid vehicles falls flat because of the differing nature of the incentives involved. Nobody makes any money saving the environment.
                            I am not denying that the technology is there and it could be fastracked in a short space of time. I am talking about how long it will actually take.

Even if legislation wasn't a stumbling block, a trucking company would have to invest heavily in the new technology. And if a company decided to replace it's drivers, do you think that professional drivers would sit back and let it happen? French people may be surrender monkeys but when it comes to fcuking with the trucking business the drivers would bring Europe to a standstill.

I enjoy Old El Paso fajitas which I usually make with mince. With much scepticism I tried it tonight with soya mince instead. Was about as satisfactory a substitute as I could imagine.

On a less annoying note, was reminded on Wednesday why I like living in Ireland. Was on Moore Street outside the Ilac Centre and there were three guards there. Had obviously chased away the tobacco sellers. A few girls walk past and one of the guards shouts to them "Cigarettes, Tobacco!" with much laughter all round.

They have a 3 series competitor coming next year. Also toyota own a hefty amount of them. I have no doubt they can ramp up the volume in a very short amount of time.

Don't do it!
                                  Seriously mate, they can't. You're talking about billions of dollars to get something like that going. You have to build a factory, train the workers, source the parts etc.
                                  They don't have empty factories, equipped with all the machines sitting around waiting for a new vehicle to be invented.
                                  And a 3 series competitor, what does that even mean? They are building a vehicle that'll be around the same size as the 3 series? It doesn't mean that they will compete in sales numbers.

Nissan brought out a new version of the Nissan Rogue at the end of 2013, they can't even provide this vehicle to fleet companies yet because they can't build enough of them to fulfill the potential numbers. We will be able to get it in October this year, a full 2 years after the initial release. That's just a normal $25k vehicle.

It's been pretty unedifying watching John Delaney laying claim to the moral high ground this past week
                                      Now he says Fifa paid the fai compo for not taking a case over the Henry handball. Won't say how much but rumours of 5 mill. Am I misreading this or does this not look really bad for Delaney. Presumably he is only telling us this as it was going to come out in the wash now anyway?
                                      http://www.the42.ie/john-delaney-hen...42978-Jun2015/
                                      Story came 'out in the wash' about two years ago, onto the back pages anyway, and nothing came of it. Whether there'll be a different outcome when it plays on the front pages tomorrow remains to be scene. Fairly sure it was all correct and proper on the yearly accounts and all that jazz.

I am not denying that the technology is there and it could be fastracked in a short space of time. I am talking about how long it will actually take.

Even if legislation wasn't a stumbling block, a trucking company would have to invest heavily in the new technology. And if a company decided to replace it's drivers, do you think that professional drivers would sit back and let it happen? French people may be surrender monkeys but when it comes to fcuking with the trucking business the drivers would bring Europe to a standstill.
                                          breaker one nine you got a copy ?
                                          does not compute, please repeat
                                          what's your handle there good buddy
                                          I am the property of DenisObrien transport

Primetime on 4 of property developers who stole all our money. Ronan, McDonagh, McKillen, Deirdre Foley. Nice touch playing baby I got your money as an intro song before giving a little speil how they robbed us. Has this story not gotten a bit old.

I enjoy Old El Paso fajitas which I usually make with mince. With much scepticism I tried it tonight with soya mince instead. Was about as satisfactory a substitute as I could imagine.

On a less annoying note, was reminded on Wednesday why I like living in Ireland. Was on Moore Street outside the Ilac Centre and there were three guards there. Had obviously chased away the tobacco sellers. A few girls walk past and one of the guards shouts to them "Cigarettes, Tobacco!" with much laughter all round.
                                              Thinly veiled 'What I had for tea' post. Glad to hear soy mince is better than it looks/sounds

Tar/etc Quorn vs soya, what is the difference?

all this robot car chat reminds me of this classic.

And this is clearly useless without pics, but the girls of this business school are beyond fantastic. Like one out of ten you'd think 'well maybe not her...' but the other nine... Wowsers. And the thing is they're all going to be rich as Croesus too. Hard to know where to look on a daily basis.
                                                  Cleary. Do the french not know about the time honoured tradition of the class photo taken by the professor one on one in his office.

And this is clearly useless without pics, but the girls of this business school are beyond fantastic. Like one out of ten you'd think 'well maybe not her...' but the other nine... Wowsers. And the thing is they're all going to be rich as Croesus too. Hard to know where to look on a daily basis.
                                                    Are the boys fit too? Had to google Croesus (hope I'm not the only one).

Back about 5 years ago when I was playing a lot of poker it'd be common enough to be transferring 4-figure and on occasion 5-figure sums between the lads. I think Rees or O'Shea started it but once after a Vegas trip Chub was transferring me about €2k and in the note put GAY PORN REFUND. That weekend I was out and lost my bank card and was on the phone to them confirming recent transactions and had forgotten about Chubs transfer a couple of days previous. She sounded like an older woman and read it out after some hesitation and I'm not sure what she thought when I tried to explain it was just one of the lads joking while I confirmed that the transaction was correct. Considered hanging up on and closing my account due to the embarrassment of the conversation. Sound Chub.
                                                      Someone from on here?!

There doesn't seem to be any mention of driving as an enjoyable pastime.

Although commuting can sometimes be a pain, driving a car is generally an enjoyable thing to do, for me anyway.

Sure an autonomous car would be convenient and in certain circumstances preferable, but I think I'd prefer to be driving it myself for the most part.

Maybe a dual purpose, auto/manual type car would fare better in the marketplace, if such a thing was possible.

Showing your age m8. Our folks said the same about washing the dishes by hand.

That Jamie xx album is something fucking great.

Showing your age m8. Our folks said the same about washing the dishes by hand.
                                                              I still say the same thing. Dishwashers are the work of Satan, and it's been downhill ever since.

Uggh, memories of being forced to 'do the delph' every night, taking turns washing or drying. shudder.

The dishwasher is mankind's greatest technological achievement imo.

Colleague of mine (female) was on phone with customer when she had to go through some recent transactions. Penis pump refund was the last transaction (Transfer from a friend taking the piss) I actually had to leave the building for 10 mins.

Although commuting can sometimes be a pain, driving a car is generally an enjoyable thing to do, for me anyway.

Sure an autonomous car would be convenient and in certain circumstances preferable, but I think I'd prefer to be driving it myself for the most part.

Maybe a dual purpose, auto/manual type car would fare better in the marketplace, if such a thing was possible.
                                                                    For the last 8 months i have driven at least 1k a week. Aside from the fuel bill it has not bothered me at all. I do my best reflecting, planning, and daydreaming when driving.

I still say the same thing. Dishwashers are the work of Satan, and it's been downhill ever since.
                                                                      ah heyor
                                                                      Uggh, memories of being forced to 'do the delph' every night, taking turns washing or drying. shudder.

The dishwasher is mankind's greatest technological achievement imo.

m8

1. Desktop Computer 2. DSLR 3. Flashgun (assuming it doesn't get lumped in under number 2?) 4. Mobile Phone 5. Television

so all ye cunce have fucked off to bed now have ye, gr8 stuff m8s

Gotta love the politics here in N. Ireland. Wonder if a newspaper coins the phrase ' DUP / SF Welfare Wars, The Phantom Menace'

Northern Ireland's secretary of state has given her support to a DUP proposal for a so-called "phantom budget" in the absence of a Stormont deal on welfare.

Theresa Villiers told the BBC's The View it was "well worth pursuing".

The DUP Finance Minister Arlene Foster is to present spending plans to the Executive, on the basis that welfare reform has already been agreed.

The phantom budget will include cuts, but not the £600m cuts the DUP argued is needed if there is no welfare deal.

Hopefully one of you can give me some info on Malta....... Friend of mine's hubby wants to go on holidays there, but she thinks 3K for a week in August is way too steep.(even if it is all-incl 2 adults and one 10 year old).

So, one of you good gents kindly tell me,.....
                                                                            Where's the best areas/resorts to stay.
                                                                            How cheap/dear is it.
                                                                            What to look out for.
                                                                            Where would you stay.

Looking at you Iago please.

Thanks.

TodayFM are running a competition giving away 10k a day Mon-Fri during June but you need to be listening 5 times a day from very early through to 5.30. .......
                                                                              Handy new App called 'Radioplayer' - has all the Irish Independent Stations and RTE owned stations on it. AFAIK individual stations have playback function on it.

In fairness to Blatter you have to be a bit of legend to get away with what he has for so long 79 and looks great, A few years in a white collar min security prison and pop your clogs. Happy Out. Delaney just doing a lower scale Irish Version of it and must be admired how he keeps getting away with it.
                                                                                Delaney must surely have gone way up in the public estimation with these revelations? 5 million to, essentially, 'piss off and stop acting the twat': great bit of business imo.

Soz m8, had to grab the zeds.

Seriously mate, they can't. You're talking about billions of dollars to get something like that going. You have to build a factory, train the workers, source the parts etc.
                                                                                    They don't have empty factories, equipped with all the machines sitting around waiting for a new vehicle to be invented.
                                                                                    And a 3 series competitor, what does that even mean? They are building a vehicle that'll be around the same size as the 3 series? It doesn't mean that they will compete in sales numbers.
                                                                                    3 series size and cost competitive. As far as I can see 348,540 3 series were produced in 2013 (I think for worldwide). Obviously tesla have to build a market but you can't say they aren't a competitor just because they can't immediately sell BMW numbers.

The major capacity limiter is really going to be access to the heavy metals for the batteries. They are already in a factory that produced 500k cars a year at previous peak under a joint GM/Toyota initiative so there is no reason they can't achieve the same (or better with more investment). Ramping up personnel,etc is no big deal for large industry and with the long design phases for cars is easy to plan for.

In the case of the nissan you mention... maybe they didnt have capacity to begin with or maybe they made a mess of the forecasts. It certainly wouldnt be the first time. It is also a little unfair to use one anecdote of a very different company to tar another with.

One edit here: Tesla have publicly stated they expect it to be 2020 before they can meet the predicted demand for the model 3.
                                                                                    Last edited by bp_me; 05-06-15, 08:09.

Delaney must surely have gone way up in the public estimation with these revelations? 5 million to, essentially, 'piss off and stop acting the twat': great bit of business imo.
                                                                                      It takes some brass neck to pull that shit. I think at the time the FAI were really struggling paying his €300k+ salary a year and selling of corporate seats was way behind the IRFU for payment of the stadium. He must be thinking if he can just wrangle his way to a VP in FIFA sky's the limit.

Where's the payment/loan/grant in the FAI accounts John?

Its fairly hellish that 6 years on everyone is talking about the fucking handball again.

It went to the Irish Diaspora Soccer Foundation.

The account just happened to be controlled by him.

It went to the Irish Diaspora Soccer Foundation.

The account just happened to be controlled by him.
                                                                                              That money was just resting in that account.

Its fairly hellish that 6 years on everyone is talking about the fucking handball again.
                                                                                                It was the second lead on BBC's Today programme this morning FFS!

And it seems its old news, the jist of it having been published before in =some sports pages.

Delaney was on a news programme last week and teed it up for the cretin of a journo interviewing him who missed that he was being fed a scoop so he had to go on the Ray Darcy show where he could spoon feed it... LOL @ pisspoor meejia types
                                                                                                Last edited by Strewelpeter; 05-06-15, 09:12.

Was chatting to a lad from Napoli the other day and asked him about Rafa.

Nice guy, really like him etc...

Would you go for a drink\dinner with him?

Oooh I'd love to, he is a really nice guy

You sad he left Napoli?

NO!

My namesake has some info here...

..Yet there appears to be no mention in the accounts for 2009 or any of the next four years of any money coming in from Fifa, whether as a loan, grant or legal settlement...
                                                                                                    ..In a statement released on Thursday night, the FAI insisted that the payment “is fully reflected in our financial statements which are audited independently”.
                                                                                                    This suggests that the money was included under the heading “Operating Income,” a catchall section in which just about all income not specifically required to be listed elsewhere is lumped together.
                                                                                                    If so, it seems remarkable that such a huge sum – more than 10 per cent of total income in an average year – would not have merited a specific mention and explanation from an organisation that claims to be transparent...

written off

I agree, there's only so many photos of Paul McShane a man can take

Imagine how Roy Keane feels. In fairness Henry should be shot. Not for the handball but his ludicrous performance as a pundit (as bad as Ray tTacey when he had a stint)

RIP All Black legend Jerry Collins

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/33017982

3 series size and cost competitive. As far as I can see 348,540 3 series were produced in 2013 (I think for worldwide). Obviously tesla have to build a market but you can't say they aren't a competitor just because they can't immediately sell BMW numbers.

The major capacity limiter is really going to be access to the heavy metals for the batteries. They are already in a factory that produced 500k cars a year at previous peak under a joint GM/Toyota initiative so there is no reason they can't achieve the same (or better with more investment). Ramping up personnel,etc is no big deal for large industry and with the long design phases for cars is easy to plan for.

In the case of the nissan you mention... maybe they didnt have capacity to begin with or maybe they made a mess of the forecasts. It certainly wouldnt be the first time. It is also a little unfair to use one anecdote of a very different company to tar another with.

One edit here: Tesla have publicly stated they expect it to be 2020 before they can meet the predicted demand for the model 3.
                                                                                                              So you are comparing a company that sells more cars in a month than the other has sold in it's lifetime.
                                                                                                              That's like comparing Supermacs to McDonalds, yes there is some competition on O'Connell street at 3am on a Saturday but somehow don't think think McDonalds are that worried.

And so they are talking about 2020 before they can meet the predicted demand, did they happen to mention the predicted numbers? This proves my point anyway.

Examples that I can think of similar to the Nissan one from earlier:

Ford Fusion Energi (Production limited)
                                                                                                              Nissan 350Z/370Z (Restricted due to redesign)
                                                                                                              Nissan Rogue (currently restricted)
                                                                                                              Nissan Murano (currently restricted)
                                                                                                              Audi TT (Restricted due to redesign)
                                                                                                              Audi Q7 (Restricted due to redesign)
                                                                                                              Audi Q3 (2 year Restriction due to production capability)
                                                                                                              VW Golf R (Limited production not available to order)

These are just the recent ones I can think of but there have been loads over the years. My point is, even when the market is there and the planning is years ahead, and the money is there, it still takes a long time for the motor industry to do anything.

@gorrrr72, I think you're underestimating the difference that real innovation makes here. There's a world of difference between the power you can get behind a re-modelling / renewal of an existing technology, and the emergence of a genuine ground-breaker.

You're comparing issues that Nokia had with selling the 3310 over the 3210, everyone else is talking about how Apple managed to push the iPhone ahead and kill all other handset makers for quite some time.

You're right in what you're saying, and there is a 'tempering' logic that people should refer to, but I think the effect of a game-changer is far greater than you might be considering.

Watched timbuktu last night, really enjoyed it:

Am I the only one that washes dishes by hand, I've never even turned on the dishwasher. I mean I use one plate at a time, it;s just easier than waiting around to fill the infernal machine. #justoldmanthings

There's a lot of different brands of fake meat and no two things will be alike, which is pretty nice to have. I'm a fan of the frys and linda mccartney minces, tesco in third.

I mostly don't have fake meats in my dishes any more, I've now replaced it with wine
                                                                                                                  last night was cashew cream white wine sundried tomato and mushroom tagliatelle.

Thinly veiled 'What I had for tea' post. Glad to hear soy mince is better than it looks/sounds

Tar/etc Quorn vs soya, what is the difference?
                                                                                                                  If you want something that tastes really meaty you buy seitan (it's also 80% protein)
                                                                                                                  Quorn products are made from mycroptein which is basically protein sourced from fungus. Soy is just made from soy beans, some are ready to cook, some you soak then cook. There are probably hundreds of different minces/sausages/rashers/burgers, some much better worse than others and most people cook them shite when they start. Some tastse like shite. Of course other countries get all the great things the bastards. My brother was eating a mince pie before making fun of me that I couldnt have it, mmm meat etc, it was one of my vegan ones the idiot.

That veggie burger ye liked the look of, I had their rasher now, it's class. I've ordered 20e of it

There's a class fake chicken i can get in Netherlands, wish it was here, yet to find somebody that thought it wasn't chicken.
                                                                                                                  Friend recently made "scrambled egg" for their farmer parents and they thought the eggs were amazing, asking how did they do it like that? It was made from tofu, the look on their faces was class.

In the future it will be considered reckless for people to driver and will be illegal on roads, to the track with you. That won't be fora at least 700 years though using my patented gorr estimate™.
                                                                                                                  Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 05-06-15, 09:45.

I'm so sorry m8. I would love to be up all night bantzing, but these cunce who pay my rent insist I turn up at their cunt office, in the morning, 5 days a week. Not only that, but they expect me to be vaguely productive during that time. It's a sham of a mockery of a sham, but there's nothing I can do about it except go to bed at Reasonable O'Clock.

I think the reporting of it is worse. The goal is described as the one that stopped Ireland from qualifying. Were Ireland dead certs to win if they hadn't scored? I can't remember the scoreline but I think it would have gone to penalties?

So you are comparing a company that sells more cars in a month than the other has sold in it's lifetime.
                                                                                                                        That's like comparing Supermacs to McDonalds, yes there is some competition on O'Connell street at 3am on a Saturday but somehow don't think think McDonalds are that worried.
                                                                                                                        Something seems a little off about this analogy to me. Anyway Im sure even McDonalds started with a single 'restaurant'.

And so they are talking about 2020 before they can meet the predicted demand, did they happen to mention the predicted numbers? This proves my point anyway.
                                                                                                                        Im sure it's in an investor/market briefing somewhere but Im not inclined to go looking for it. Not actually sure what point you think not knowing the number proves.

These are just the recent ones I can think of but there have been loads over the years. My point is, even when the market is there and the planning is years ahead, and the money is there, it still takes a long time for the motor industry to do anything.
                                                                                                                        Im not going to disagree with this. It's a problem in lots of huge organisations and isn't limited to the automotive industry.

I would suggest that this particular manufacturer shouldn't be so caught up with those issues being a young and relatively small company. Sadly I could be wrong based on how many times they have pushed back release of the model x.

Of course full electric vehicles are a somewhat disruptive technology and it's going to take time for the general public to accept them and learn to live with them. There are also issues around range anxiety, charging times, etc that right now means they only work if you happen to use them in a certain way. I expect and hope that these issues will diminish with advances in technology and roll out of charging infrastructure. That said I am seeing a lot of Nissan Leafs around the place these days.