Pubs don't want the off licence closing times changed I bet.

Most pubs sell off sales after hours anyway. Pubs that don't have an off licence get away with charging ridiculous amounts for cans.

What you need to do is drop the price of drinking in pubs. Guaranteed to be in the next government.

Pubs don't want the off licence closing times changed I bet.

Most pubs sell off sales after hours anyway. Pubs that don't have an off licence get away with charging ridiculous amounts for cans.

What you need to do is drop the price of drinking in pubs. Guaranteed to be in the next government.
      Was in a pub in town this weekend and wanted a bottle of whiskey for the walk home. Offered them €50 as I only had 50 cash left.. €50 for a bottle they can just replace tomorrow in the local offie for ~20 and they wouldn't give it to me for less than €80, I had spent at least 100 in there that night too fwiw. I hate pubs.

#Offies4lyf

Was in a pub in town this weekend and wanted a bottle of whiskey for the walk home. Offered them €50 as I only had 50 cash left.. €50 for a bottle they can just replace tomorrow in the local offie for ~20 and they wouldn't give it to me for less than €80, I had spent at least 100 in there that night too fwiw. I hate pubs.

#Offies4lyf
        It isn't really worth their while to sell it for 50 tbf. Should have robbed it.

If they accepted laser at that hour I'd have paid with my card but they wouldn't and closest atm was 10 minute walk. If I wasn't a somewhat regular and spent so much there already I wouldn't have even asked tbh.

At the time I did have a feeling they wouldn't sell it because my friends were too pissed and were kicked out and didn't want to give us more booze.. but then they said they would give it to me for €80 which really pissed me off. Even more-so as nobody was near enough to borrow the 30 from.

Probably spunked off a good few hundred in there in the last month, 100% won't be back there again anyway. We should buy our own pub in Bray for the bants.

OK, I am genuinely willing to entertain huge swathes of opinion on this topic but can we please avoid this kind of argument? I'm sure your northern Catholic mate has a visceral attachment to Sinn Fein. What that has to do with a discussion about a party vying for control of the Republic during a highly sensitive economic period in our history is beyond me.
            He doesn't vote SF actually, not that it matters. It obviously matters when elements of the media down here and politicians constantly drag up history as a reason not to vote for SF.

If they accepted laser at that hour I'd have paid with my card but they wouldn't and closest atm was 10 minute walk. If I wasn't a somewhat regular and spent so much there already I wouldn't have even asked tbh.

At the time I did have a feeling they wouldn't sell it because my friends were too pissed and were kicked out and didn't want to give us more booze.. but then they said they would give it to me for €80 which really pissed me off. Even more-so as nobody was near enough to borrow the 30 from.

Probably spunked off a good few hundred in there in the last month, 100% won't be back there again anyway. We should buy our own pub in Bray for the bants.
              Bray is a kip m8

What pub? Yea let's open a pub, I was remembering that tiny one in temple bar over the weekend.

Morning winners.

Are you #winning m8

#winning
                    #chocolatemuffin

How about you m8?

#winning
                      #chocolatemuffin

How about you m8?
                      I am #drawing

Fair play Lloyd always interested in hearing your responses.

I take it from your posts that you are more a supporter of Sinn Fein than Adams himself even if the two are so closely linked. My question if you would indulge is would you prefer Adams to stay or do you think the party would be better without him in order to distance themselves from the actual men who were involved in the troubles while maintaining the historical link? Would it automatically be Mary-Lou who follows?

He sits in an incredibly safe sf seat so whoever comes in will walk an election after anyway and he could move back from the public eye and into a policy/advisory role.

The other question I always wonder is are you a sf supporter due to the history and the united Ireland stance or is it for the socialist policies or the fact that the politicians are good speakers and put the man hours in door to door?

Sorry if this feels like answering the same old questions and understand if you don't fancy answering them
                        I think Adams has made a huge contribution to this island throughout his career. I also think he's an inspirational leader in a way most Irish politicians are not. His statement when released from police custody earlier this year or the likes of his late late appearance in 1994 demonstrate capabilities that the nature of parish pump politics fail to produce within our TDs. I don't think he should resign over this, and I think the suggestion that he is a liability for the party lacks substance. If he was a liability it would surely have been impossible for SF to go from ~1% of the vote to topping opinion polls in the State over two decades.

I would imagine his retirement is imminent over the coming years all the same. I would expect a transition to be conducted after the next GE. It would seem that Mary Lou McDonald is likely to be the successor, yes. My support for SF is not inextricably tied to McGuinness or Adams. Ultimately, it will possibly be easier in ~10 year's time when there are no lowest common denominator arguments to be made about things 30 years in the past by that stage.

My support for SF is built upon elements of all those points. One thing I'd disagree with is the suggestion SF politicians are all "good speakers". As I said after the recent by election the party does have a problem in terms of its candidate pool and often SF politicians might be weakest infront of a camera. That is something that will improve over time as the experience level throughout the party increases, but it's a potential issue ahead of the next GE.

I am #drawing
                          What you @#drawing m8? Send me a photo.

No need for that pre-sale shite. It won't sell out THAT quickly if it does at all . . .
                            You'll get tickets without presale. But the presale cide will let you get you better seats in a given section

What you @#drawing m8? Send me a photo.
                              You have misunderstood m8

I am not losing or winning. I am #drawing.

Mary Lou tying herself in Gordian knots on Newstalk atm.

Taking the long view those kids will pay for your pension and incontinence pads when you are droolingly senile. Given the alarming demographic trend of the dependency ratio in Europe, procreation should be encouraged by governments as much as possible.
                                  There was a time when this might have been true but I'm not sure its the case anymore. In theory a portion of that which we pay in taxes is going to some sort of 'social fund' that will provide us with welfare benefits if unemployed, when retired etc... . Reality of course is that instead a lot of that money gets used on current spending, which of course includes the kind of things I was mentioning, like Education, Child Benefit, free healthcare for the under fives.

More importantly, by the time I and others have reached drooling stage there won't be enough of those whose education, child benefit etc we have paid for unwillinging over the years to subsidise our inconintencnce pads at that point. i.e. the proportion of older dependents to younger workers is going out of skew in relation to the 'model' on which we have traditionally supported older people.

Condom breakages don't lead to booked holidays or cars.

If Carlsberg did condoms.

Originally posted by Lplated View Post

More importantly, by the time I and others have reached drooling stage there won't be enough of those whose education, child benefit etc we have paid for unwillinging over the years to subsidise our inconintencnce pads at that point. i.e. the proportion of older dependents to younger workers is going out of skew in relation to the 'model' on which we have traditionally supported older people.
                                      Ryanair will be offering weekend trips to Dignitas at that stage though.

We're all fecked..Subscribe to our channel : http://goo.gl/yEIawCFacts on social networks :Twitter : http://goo.gl/ddcDSGFacebook : http://goo.gl/xnkHkHBehin...

Mary Lou tying herself in Gordian knots on Newstalk atm.
                                          I thought SF were adept at the Alexandrian solution?

LFC 12/1 on Boyles vs Real is the lock of the week.
                                            Back the truck up.

Last edited by Lord Sir Banter; 03-11-14, 11:00.

@Honda

7.50 flight Ryanair on Sat to Liverpool. What time do I need to be in Airport? Ta.

Did I read here that Irish Water are semi private or not for profit? What is Denis O'Brien involved for so?

He's not involved with Irish water.
                                                    A company he part owns, site serv, tendered for and won the contract to install water meters.

Irish Water are a limited company subsidiary of Bord Gais.

Looking to go to a Real Madrid match over Xmas/January. Looking at celtichorizontours.com, anyone have any other recommendations of where to look or the best way to go about things?
                                                        Bump for the crew that's not the night crew and not the breakfast club crew and operates mainly during the day

LFC 12/1 on Boyles vs Real is the lock of the week.
                                                          Back the truck up.

Ugh...that price is so tempting they might sucker me in

Bump for the crew that's not the night crew and not the breakfast club crew and operates mainly during the day
                                                              Gap in the market obviously.

Anybody here lactose intolerant? Any insights?
                                                              Man up.

Looking to go to a Real Madrid match over Xmas/January. Looking at celtichorizontours.com, anyone have any other recommendations of where to look or the best way to go about things?
                                                                  We went to a February game a few years ago, just bought the tickets from the Real Madrid official website a few weeks beforehand and collected them at the Bernabeau.
                                                                  Tickets go on sale to gen public in the 2/3 weeks before the game after members have had their pick, but seemed to be no problem getting tickets if its a home game against anyone other than Barcelona or AM.
                                                                  Maybe check the website now for tickets for games this month just to see if that's still the way the system operates.

Flights and accommodation we just booked ourselves, may or may not be cheaper/better to do a package via a tour company. Package holidays are for weirdos though.

Yo.

- Almond milk is really good for cereal.
                                                                    - Learn to drink tea/coffee black. It's fine once you get used to it.
                                                                    - Get in the habit of reading the ingredients on everything. You'd be surprised how much stuff has milk in it for no good reason.
                                                                    - Spar's fruit square thingies are dairy free if you must have cakes.
                                                                    - Plain Hobnobs if you're a biccy fiend like me.
                                                                    - Knockoff jaffa cakes have no milk in them, but McVities ones do.
                                                                    - After Eights FTW.
                                                                    - Lactofree cheese in Tesco. It's terrible, but after ~a year without cheese it will taste like ambrosia.

Last edited by Hitchhiker's Guide To...; 03-11-14, 11:58.

No Cheese?

We went to a February game a few years ago, just bought the tickets from the Real Madrid official website a few weeks beforehand and collected them at the Bernabeau.
                                                                          Tickets go on sale to gen public in the 2/3 weeks before the game after members have had their pick, but seemed to be no problem getting tickets if its a home game against anyone other than Barcelona or AM.
                                                                          Maybe check the website now for tickets for games this month just to see if that's still the way the system operates.

Flights and accommodation we just booked ourselves, may or may not be cheaper/better to do a package via a tour company. Package holidays are for weirdos though.
                                                                          It's the game against Espanyol on the 10th/11th January I was looking at but only VIP tickets are available on the Real Madrid site. What you say about tickets being available 2/3 weeks before the game makes sense, I'll just wait till then to buy tickets - and yeah it still seems to be that way, tickets for the Rayo Vallecano game this weekend seem to be on sale from €30. Yeah will probably just book everything separately ourselves so, wasn't sure what to think when tickets only seemed to be available for the tour providers. Cheers AJ.

Interesting thought. With the improvements in technology and medicine it is likely that the human race has reached its peak in evolution and now we are in regression. We will eventually implode and destroy ourselves anyway

Yo.

- Get in the habit of reading the ingredients on everything. You'd be surprised how much stuff has milk in it for no good reason.
                                                                              - After Eights FTW.
                                                                              - Lactofree cheese in Tesco. It's terrible, but after ~a year without cheese it will taste like ambrosia.
                                                                              Bastards

Interesting thought. With the improvements in technology and medicine it is likely that the human race has reached its peak in evolution and now we are in regression. We will eventually implode and destroy ourselves anyway
                                                                                for real? Do you mean like biological evolution (like in 100,000 years - assuming we're still around - the human will evolve to not have an appendix any more etc.) or that mankind has reached a peak and the average life span will never be 130 years say?

Not at all, 150+ years of age will be the new norm in a few hundred years time, and then there will be a new killer disease found which kills otherwise healthy individuals in their 160s. A cure will be found for this in the following millenium and then onwards and upwards to 200+ years of age.
                                                                                    Wondrous things may be discovered then, body parts may have functions and purposes that we can currently not imagine, our bodies may regenerate with new hair/skin/marrow/wings etc.

Coming a bit earlier than expected isnt it?

A lot of people have it to some extent, one thing you will notice is a lot less chest congestion if you stop having dairy and feel a lot better in general.

People I know that have it drink almond, coconut, hazelnut, rice, oat, soy milk.
                                                                                        Of these tehre are different brands and types that all taste different too, types would be unsweetend, sweteened, roasted etc.

Yo.

- After Eights FTW.
                                                                                        Drink soy milk in tae and coffee, unsweeted. I drink the likes of hazelnut/almond milk in cofee sometimes as ti makes it taste like a fancy schmancy flavoured coffee.

There are plenty of tasty fake cheeses in health food shops these days, there is even fake cheese taste competitions. Prices range from 3-8 euro.

Cornucopia sell a vegan blue cheese made from spirulina, nuts, coconut etc that is delicious. 5 euro a pop.

I've even started growing my own cheese, tastes fantastic.

can make a decent Parmesan kinda cheese in a few minutes.
                                                                                        Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 03-11-14, 12:33.

Technology and medicine is not evolution. We could grow all sorts of bits yet.

Some BBV knowledge on Boston please.
                                                                                            Heading over in Jan Thursday 15th - Tuesday 20th. Friday plan on Celtics Vs Bulls and Sunday the UFC. Both events in TD gardens. Any recommendation's on hotels? Things to do and see etc.
                                                                                            Also NFL Boston 17th one time please.

Given the red meat eating and the cheese eating, it might be a handy unintentional escape from gout.
                                                                                              Wiki reveals for Gout
                                                                                              Dietary causes only 12% of cases
                                                                                              And in those cases, related to consumption of alcohol, fructose-sweetened drinks, meat, and seafood.

While;
                                                                                              The consumption of coffee, vitamin C, and dairy products, as well as physical fitness, appear to decrease the risk

Ervia dude. Joining that fine new lineup of reinvigorated state and semi-state bodies including Solas (Fas) and Intreo (job centre).
                                                                                                And I'll bet you call Opal Fruits 'Starburst'

Originally posted by Lplated View Post
                                                                                                  There was a time when this might have been true but I'm not sure its the case anymore. In theory a portion of that which we pay in taxes is going to some sort of 'social fund' that will provide us with welfare benefits if unemployed, when retired etc... . Reality of course is that instead a lot of that money gets used on current spending, which of course includes the kind of things I was mentioning, like Education, Child Benefit, free healthcare for the under fives.

So we agree.

Don't make me bash you over the head with a Marathon Bar!
                                                                                                        Do you remember the time they tried to change Coco Pops to Choco Crispies?

Has more to do with the improvements in information-sharing allowing much greater proliferation of bullshit. There is simply too much information out there for people to be able to process it all adequately, so a myriad of gross over-simplifications have arisen. Not all of these are bad, but too many are well meaning but potentially harmful when taken too far. A fair few are actually dishonest in a harmful way, although there are appropriate backlashes appearing for the most egregious examples (e.g. vaccination, conspiracy theories).

Meanwhile, actual technology is improving exponentially due to the above improvements in information sharing, where that information is being critically analysed by experts. This is leading to further complexity which will exacerbate the problem. I don't know which way it will go, but we're heading into a situation where it will be literally impossible for one person to be adequately knowledgeable about most things.

Democracy as a successful system of government will start to fail in a world where 90% of people are incapable of understanding the complexities required in good decision making. This gets even worse when actual experts get mired in groupthink, and malignant operators can take every minor disagreement and turn it into a giant shitshow. We will need lots of clever, strong communicators to broadcast their messages as strong as they can. It will be an uphill struggle, but we can see it happening with movements such as the "I Fucking Love Science" Facebook page, and the likes of our own David Robert Grimes discrediting as much bullshit as they can find.

So it's not so much that we are regressing to a time of ignorance, more that we are reaching a point of excessive complexity. And I have a new comic for that:

tl:dr; People are going to have to start trusting experts, so experts are gonna need advocates. There's a good chance ignorance will win, and we will simply fail to save ourselves from our own excesses.

While we are still subject to the forces of Evolution by natural selection, we continue to collect mutations and pass them on through the generations the extent to which they affect our ability to reproduce and to survive within our environment is miniscule relative to the other factors at play.

Coming a bit earlier than expected isnt it?

it's actually madness. It reminded me of this tweet:

Throw in people now thinking Pardew is a good manager because of three games and you really see how mad the whole thing is.

tl:dr; People are going to have to start trusting experts, so experts are gonna need advocates. There's a good chance ignorance will win, and we will simply fail to save ourselves from our own excesses.
                                                                                                                read this - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showp...postcount=2068

Especially the bits about doubt, the cigarette company and it's flow into ID proponents arguments.

Science gonna need PR.

Fuck. Maybe I should do some work.

is coilcam about? Did he shave his smig?

I have lost 10/14 years and will certainly be getting ID'd for things like matches, knives and bleach on a regular basis. Fucking Movember has ruined my life.

@Honda

7.50 flight Ryanair on Sat to Liverpool. What time do I need to be in Airport? Ta.
                                                                                                                      I pat little attention to terminal 1, hour and a half hour and 20 should be plenty with just hand luggage

1hr50mins?

Pizza with no cheese, few funny looks the first couple times