Are the manufacturers going to go through all that cost and red tape for autonomous vehicles if (as the article suggests) it is going to spell disaster for sales due to car sharing etc. That doesn't make sense at all.

imo it's a publicity stunt and they will continue to develop and control the technology but they won't be in a rush to make it mainstream or affordable.
    I think this was probably all true in the past and certainly technological evolution has been held back in certain areas for the very reasons that you point out. I don't think the current big name manufactures though have any choice in whether this comes to market or not. One of the reasons the autonomous car seems to be hurtling along at breakneck pace seems to be the major involvement of companies like google. They don't give a fuck about controlling the technology, they want to make it mainstream, be the first to market and be the dominating force within it.

They have been the ones at the very forefront of the technology, pushing the boundaries and trying to get to market. That has hugely forced the hand of the existing car manufactures who have all realised they need to get involved now or be left behind. With the major tech players involved this has become somewhat of a space race to get to market.

Any other Nils Frahm fans here? Gutted I'm missing his Dublin concert as I'm away
      I wouldn't have put you down as a guy who likes music.

Or anything really.

Rafa will be gone by Christmas as sure as Renault will never have a car that works automatically for longer than a month .

Be it my foot or a robotic foot, stopping distance is still stopping distance.
            Robot reactions and braking + steering ability >>>> Oleras reactions and braking + steering ability
            for example, they are approaching a junction and there is a clear view of a car approaching from the left, robot car has right of way of course, its not going to jam on because a car is approaching a junction and could keep going rather than stop/yield.
            Neither will you until you have to.

Just coming in the Naas road there and just at the new bridge where the limit moves to 80 some moron who drives for a living in a medium sized removals van travelling at 120 KMPH and typing text into his phone undertakes me while I have my left indicator on, ducks back out 1 - 2 M in front of me to pass another car before he ducks back in for the M50. GTFO

I for one welcome our new robot overlords and the sooner cunce like that are out of work the better.
            Last edited by Strewelpeter; 04-06-15, 12:46.

Robot reactions and braking + steering ability >>>> Oleras reactions and braking + steering ability

Neither will you until you have to.
              Will female robots let you out ?

Yup, big fan, though missing out on him to see Beck that night
                Very poor choice there IMO, I'll be away too else I'd be going to the NCH.

I've seen him before so made it a closer decision, swayed by Jonny Greenwood supporting beck

I think this was probably all true in the past and certainly technological evolution has been held back in certain areas for the very reasons that you point out. I don't think the current big name manufactures though have any choice in whether this comes to market or not. One of the reasons the autonomous car seems to be hurtling along at breakneck pace seems to be the major involvement of companies like google. They don't give a fuck about controlling the technology, they want to make it mainstream, be the first to market and be the dominating force within it.

They have been the ones at the very forefront of the technology, pushing the boundaries and trying to get to market. That has hugely forced the hand of the existing car manufactures who have all realised they need to get involved now or be left behind. With the major tech players involved this has become somewhat of a space race to get to market.

Yep, you are right, it is like a space race, and once they get to the moon like they did 46 years ago they will build colonies and we will all be going on holiday there.

If Google do manage to figure out all the potential problems in the technology and want to bring it to the mainstream, who is going to provide the vehicles? Last time I looked, Google don't manufacture vehicles.

I guess we will see mate, 10-15 years go by very quickly. If we are all using autonomous cars for our transport needs then I guess I will be eating humble pie.

Yep, you are right, it is like a space race, and once they get to the moon like they did 46 years ago they will build colonies and we will all be going on holiday there.

If Google do manage to figure out all the potential problems in the technology and want to bring it to the mainstream, who is going to provide the vehicles? Last time I looked, Google don't manufacture vehicles.

I guess we will see mate, 10-15 years go by very quickly. If we are all using autonomous cars for our transport needs then I guess I will be eating humble pie.
                      You hardly believe that fake moon landing shit?

I have got this email about 6 times today, it got the bin every time.
                        I know its spam, just to let people know about it.

After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity , we determined that you
                        are aligible to receive a tax refund of 223.56 EURO .
                        Please submit the tax refund request and allow us 10-14 days in order to process it.

To access your tax refund, please follow the steps bellow:

- Download the Tax Refund attached to this email
                        - Open it in a browser
                        - Follow the instructions on your screen

NOTE: A refund can be delayed a variety of reasons , for exemple submitting invalid
                        records or applying after deadline.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                        Copyright © 2015, Revenue - Irish Tax & Customs. All rights reserved.

You hardly believe that fake moon landing shit?
                          Correct. He doesn't.

Gorrrrrr you are completely wrong on this one. Google bought Motorola to give themselves a sufficiently large manufacturing arm for Android phones. There is no reason why they can't do the same thing with a car manufacturer when the timing is right.

Tesla is working hard on it too, they could make a good fit with google.

My father always rings me but has nothing to say, he hates the phone, he cares but he is just like "how are you, good, yep, talk to you again"
                                My mother rings and when I don't answer leaves a voicemail "Hello I was just ringing you but you didn't answer, mum"
                                Her emails are hilarious, you never know what you are going to get, I received this yesterday:

"Thanks so Much son. Did Laura enjoy her day. We HAD GOOD FUN. I THINK YOU ENJOYED IT TOO.

Luv your loveliest mother"

She also constantly replies to those automated emails that say do not reply to this email, and complains that they won't reply.

Ye coming by here again mate? They have burgers now

Would take some major shift to be healthier, 90% of people will just get worse in the coming years. We are already a hugely fat country, if food wasn't fortified half would be in comas. As for working less, also won't happen for foreseeable years, even though it could. It's not in the human mindset to make something like that happen right now. Realistically we are all just simple tribes out for ourselves still.
                                I do like me a tasty burger, and a three hour wait.

Fool me once and all that.

Rafa will be gone by Christmas as sure as Renault will never have a car that works automatically for longer than a month .
                                Tenner? On the first bit, not the second.

I've seen him before so made it a closer decision, swayed by Jonny Greenwood supporting beck
                                  Supporting as in playing with him or the support act

Greenwood is class , something from the Master soundtrack came up on my spotify this morning and I hit the radio button from there, some great stuff came up.

I do like me a tasty burger, and a three hour wait.

Fool me once and all that.

Tenner? On the first bit, not the second.
                                    In memory of a legend . Okey dokey

Cliffs on the cheating for those of us unable to load 2+2?

Originally posted by blanconegro
                                        Hey 2+2, it's Connor. We (the players that were beaten by this Valeriu Coca guy in the $10k HU) were trying to keep things quiet until we gave the WSOP adequate time to investigate the situation and come up with a solution, but since there are a lot of rumors circulating and a lot of people know bits and pieces already, I might as well clear things up.

Pratyush Buddiga was the first to lose to him. He is my good friend but seemed pretty tilted so I didn't ask details until I found out he was my next opponent. I asked for reads and whatnot and he basically told me he was really slow and passive in the beginning and then picked up the pace as the match went on as far as speed of play and aggression. He thought he was stalling in the beginning to give himself a better shot to win at a higher blind level. He said he would stall by rechecking his cards at a bunch of different angles when it was clear he made up his mind to fold already.

He did the same thing in my match. For the first 10 hands or so, he folded to most of my button opens and either limped or folded the button (doing the same obnoxious card checking tactics). I was thinking "man this guy is going to be a breeze." From that point on I won very few pots the rest of the match. Every time I had a good starting hand he folded. If I had a bad one he raised or re-raised. If I whiffed a flop he attacked my c-bets. If I whiffed and went for a delayed cbet, he blasted turn into me every time. If I hit and bet, he folded. Hit and checked, he checked ect ect ect.

It was probably the most frustrating match of my life and I've played a ton of HU. He grinded me down to 80k at bb4k from 240k starting. At this point I was playing super passive as his aggression was out of control. I made my first button raise in a while which was a shove with 33 and he snapped me with k5o for 20bb. I held and won my only significant pot of the match but he went back to work grinding me down to 60k and then won a flip to end the match.

I remember him folding 4 times total preflop once blinds got big. 1) He walked me when I had AA. 2) he folded to my min when I had AJs. 3) I capped my cards and waited for him to look at his cards first for the first time in the match as I was starting to get really skeptical. He acted surprised and flustered and walked me before I uncovered my hand. 4) After checking my hole cards (J9o i think) I looked behind me to see if there was a chance he had a friend on the rail who could see my cards but there was no way. He seemed very weirded out that I did that and again walked me.

I stormed out of the rio as tilted as I've ever been after busting a tournament and immediately messaged prat saying I felt like something major was off with the match. It didn't make sense that a guy grinding 300 euro mtts in eastern europe who has never played WSOP before would come here for the $10k HU and be such a beast. I ranted to Prat all the things that were weird, both mannerisms and plays he made vs me. Prat said he felt the exact same about his match but didn't say anything at first because he figured he was just being a sore loser and got owned. I then messaged the other 2 players he beat, Matt Marafioti and Aaron Mermelstein and they both had similar "yeah i felt totally owned, couldn't win a pot, thing he was doing with his cards was really weird, ect" type responses.

I called my other good friend Byron Kaverman and warned him about everything as they were scheduled to play in the round of 16 the next morning. We figured we should also tell Jack Effel so they could be on the lookout. Byron said he knew Jack well so he would talk to him. I went to bed questioning myself and wondering if I was just being a sore loser.

I then woke up this morning to a message on facebook from a czech friend of mine that read "Hey man just woke up and found out u were in HU with a guy who made a lot of money in cash games in Prague. He has ban in czech poker casinos for cheating. Guy was marking cards. We can talk in person little bit later when Im on sngs in Rio and u can forward it to floors players etc so they can do smtng about it I guess"

I instantly passed this along to Byron and he said that Jack was on it and they were monitoring him via cameras and also switching up the decks frequently. My friend also sent me this article which you have to translate to english with your broswer: http://www.pokerzive.cz/zpravodajstv...azskych-kasin/

I spoke with Byron after his match and he said he was 100% sure the guy was trying to cheat and was watching the cards very closely as the dealer dealt off the deck but that he did a pretty good job covering his cards and the decks were being switched up so it was hard for Coca to work his magic. Unfortunately he couldn't fade an 80/20 and the guy advanced. His next opponent, Keith Lehr, was also warned about Coca. At this point, Coca probably knew that he had been exposed based on the attention his matches were receiving from the floor, the way Byron and Keith were protecting their hands so well, ect ect. He finally lost to Keith in 5th place.

Our speculation is that he was using some sort of invisible ink in combination with special sunglasses. We haven't heard much from WSOP since the match, but what little I have heard I would rather keep to myself for now and allow WSOP time to finish the investigation and make their own statement.

What compound can be used as ink and can only be seen with special glasses?

Supporting as in playing with him or the support act

Greenwood is class , something from the Master soundtrack came up on my spotify this morning and I hit the radio button from there, some great stuff came up.
                                            He's the support act with Greenwood being backed by the London Contemporary Orchestra

What compound can be used as ink and can only be seen with special glasses?
                                              Loads probably, glasses would work with any aul invisible ink from an invisible pen. Other ways to see it without glasses.

An example would be polarizing ink.
                                              Last edited by Tar.Aldarion; 04-06-15, 15:09.

thanks shane

Cliffs on the cheating for those of us unable to load 2+2?
                                                  Sore American losers who think Prague is in Cyprus and fancy themselves as modern day Columbos.

Loads probably, glasses would work with any aul invisible ink from an invisible pen. Other ways to see it without glasses.

An example would be polarizing ink.
                                                    Would most of these not be instantly caught when staff are alerted to a possible problem? They took the cards out of regular circulation from the matches which means they had ample time to check them. You would expect a Las Vegas casino to have the very latest in detection means so the fact they allowed him to play on surely means they were coming up with nothing?

Irish live games are very susceptible to cheating, nearly every dealer in the country rolls the deck.

How fucked is the whole football system if there are so few top class managers?

Makes a bit of an arse of the whole "you have to be a football man to fully understand football"

Good supermarket manager delegating to a solid coaching team would do better than half of them
                                                        Well no, the issue is that people's perceptions are skewed. Unless you win titles regularly you are viewed as flawed to some extent of another. The Situation "doesn't rate" anything Benitez has done since Valencia, and thinks he was a disaster at Napoli. If we're viewing 3rd, 5th, a trophy and a European semi final as a disaster then probably the issue is the expectations and rating systems rather than the managers.

There are 92 professional managers in the English system alone. It can't be a case that 99% of the profession are muppets, but frequently that's what fans imply when they criticise all but a very select few. And then even the likes of Ancelotti have their haters (a guy on here thinks he's shite).

If you want to see disastrous management check out Newcastle under Carver the last few months. That's what abject incompetence and failure looks like.

What are the criteria you wish to apply to define "top level"? I see so often people having pseudodebates about such classification as if it were an actual feature of the existing world. It has the appearance of being an actual debate, and feels like it when you are making points, but it is actually nonsense.

Rafa is a top level manager. No he isn't. That is not a meaningful debate, it just uses English words to give the appearance of it being one.
                                                        Top class: has won leagues / European trophies in multiple locations and / or has consistently kept a club at the elite level for decades. Think Ferguson / Mourinho / Heynches / Pep

Thereafter you have tiers. Rafa Benitez has won European trophies with three different clubs and managed two third place finishes in different leagues within the last three years. He's not a sure bet like the above names were / are but he has a very solid pedigree.

A couple of tiers down you might have a Sam Allardyce tier, i.e. a track record of doing acceptable jobs with mid tier clubs.

There is the complicating fact of context of course: Mourinho is never taking a job at West Ham and Allardyce is never getting offered a job at Chelsea.

The only point I'm really making is that the amount of names in that uppermost tier at any time is very small and yet every manager outside it tends to be criticised savagely for their missteps. I've done the same. That's sport I guess.

Irish live games are very susceptible to cheating, nearly every dealer in the country rolls the deck.
                                                          They rape the pots. In a lot of games there is rake, dealers own little rake and tips.

Lloyd, you are probably one of the few people getting more joy from his appointment than me. I've gotten so much pleasure from watching people work themselves up into a frenzy over Rafa's appointment to Madrid. It has put such a huge smile on my face. I almost shed a tear with him watching his unveiling to the Spanish press

This is why Liverpool fans have the reputation they do.

m8pr

thats a statement and a half

I am enjoying it just a little. Would love to see him win something this year.

bitta tea and toast

This is why Liverpool fans have the reputation they do.

m8pr
                                                                      Ah would you give over. Anyone who can't see why most Liverpool fans hold him in such high regard have little knowledge of what was going on behind the scenes at the club while he was in charge. I'm delighted for him personally that he has landed a job he has probably wanted ever since he got into coaching. I mean when you have Sit calling him a moneymaker, what can you do only laugh? This is a guy who has been in seven semi finals in Europe in the last 12 years, two of which he wasn't managing a club. He should start playing the world series with that kind of luck!

It's been pretty unedifying watching John Delaney laying claim to the moral high ground this past week
                                                                        Now he says Fifa paid the fai compo for not taking a case over the Henry handball. Won't say how much but rumours of 5 mill. Am I misreading this or does this not look really bad for Delaney. Presumably he is only telling us this as it was going to come out in the wash now anyway?

Ah would you give over. Anyone who can't see why most Liverpool fans hold him in such high regard have little knowledge of what was going on behind the scenes at the club while he was in charge. I'm delighted for him personally that he has landed a job he has probably wanted ever since he got into coaching. I mean when you have Sit calling him a moneymaker, what can you do only laugh? This is a guy who has been in seven semi finals in Europe in the last 12 years, two of which he wasn't managing a club. He should start playing the world series with that kind of luck!

Completely understand why Liverpool fans would be happy for him.

The pleasure and tears stuff is a little dramatic imo. You should be cursing your luck that he isn't replacing Rodgers, not getting emotional over a job he got elsewhere.

thats a statement and a half
                                                                            Its a fact that most dealers roll the deck most of the time. Rolling the deck does not mean that there is anything dodge going on but it does mean that the games are more susceptible to it.

In the bad old days of 5 card draw poker classics which were all self deal there would have been talk and innuendo about one guy or another. Since we moved on to having dealers the assumption has always been that the world was a much safer place and TBH it probably is.

Tomorrowland is quiet enjoyable, albeit a bit preachy towards the end, but a future classic Sunday matinee in front of a big fire.

I can imagine the Stargate lawyers along with the united colours of beneton ones are busy writing letters to Disney...

In other news, the sexiest man on TV is back tonight.

Its a fact that most dealers roll the deck most of the time. Rolling the deck does not mean that there is anything dodge going on but it does mean that the games are more susceptible to it.

Yeah exactly 100%.

Sitserv writedown 9 million more than previously thought.

I know I shouldn't be bothering my little pleb head with these big numbers, but this stinks. Alan dukes looks like a man who knows he is betraying his country but the payoff isn't quite enough to help him get a proper nights sleep.

Same. He always opens with either 'hello...hello!!!' or 'i know you probably wont listen to this'. lol old fellas.
                                                                                    Sitserv writedown 9 million more than previously thought.

I know I shouldn't be bothering my little pleb head with these big numbers, but this stinks. Alan dukes looks like a man who knows he is betraying his country but the payoff isn't quite enough to help him get a proper nights sleep.
                                                                                    What's for tea?

Why would Fifa pay FAI 5 Mil they had no case. Ref missed a foul happens every game?

John Delaney claims they were paid compo. I wouldn't have thought they had a case either tbh but a couple of Mill would be chump change to Fifa

What's for tea?
                                                                                          Had salmon and rice there. Was fine man. I did have half a lamb phall at 11am though. Hot as fuck. I was kind of impressed with myself tbh. Thanks for offering me the opportunity to share!

What's for tea?
                                                                                            Couscous and tea

Had salmon and rice there. Was fine man. I did have half a lamb phall at 11am though. Hot as fuck. I was kind of impressed with myself tbh. Thanks for offering me the opportunity to share!
                                                                                              That lookes nice, what recipe did you use ?

Justeat.ie m8

TodayFM are running a competition giving away 10k a day Mon-Fri during June but you need to be listening 5 times a day from very early through to 5.30. Any interest in setting up a private access group that only a mod can let us view and we can share the answers/clues as we get them? I generally hear it in work after 10am but am never up early to get the first one. Only condition should be that if someone wins from the group that they give 1k or 2k as a raffle or poker freeroll for other group members. Obviously have to rely on faith there. All members need to post at least one clue or let others know. I know you can listen back on podcasts but don't really have the time for that myself.

Gorrrrrr you are completely wrong on this one. Google bought Motorola to give themselves a sufficiently large manufacturing arm for Android phones. There is no reason why they can't do the same thing with a car manufacturer when the timing is right.
                                                                                                    I know it would be nice for Google to just get the technology right, buy a manufacturer, or create a new one, then shoot out a million vehicles a year and we will all have autonomous vehicles at our beck and call through our smartphones/watches. I am not saying that this will never happen, I am saying it won't happen in the next 10-15 years as that article suggests.
                                                                                                    Manufacturing cars is nowhere near the same as manufacturing phones.

Tesla is working hard on it too, they could make a good fit with google.
                                                                                                    I am sure they would, they seem to have a similar philosophy, but Tesla is in it's infancy and their vehicles are too expensive so I can't see how they would suddenly morph into a high output manufacturer at reasonable prices in a short space of time.

Tesla is also a good example of the resistance to change in the US in particular. A lot of states don't allow them to have showrooms and put huge obstacles in the way which prevents sales.

If one or all of the big car manufacturers decided to put all of their future into autonomous vehicles I still think it would take 40-50 years to happen in the way that the article suggests.
                                                                                                    I think we will see improvements in cars that auto-drive in certain situations, moving to almost 100% self drive (with a driver behind the wheel), this will take 20-30 years alone.

Yes in the meantime manufacturers will roll out concept autonomous vehicles and make you think that they are just around the corner but the reality is we will still be talking about them in 10 years in terms of small numbers and very expensive. Not big fleets of inexpensive autonomous vehicles.

TodayFM are running a competition giving away 10k a day Mon-Fri during June but you need to be listening 5 times a day from very early through to 5.30. Any interest in setting up a private access group that only a mod can let us view and we can share the answers/clues as we get them? I generally hear it in work after 10am but am never up early to get the first one. Only condition should be that if someone wins from the group that they give 1k or 2k as a raffle or poker freeroll for other group members. Obviously have to rely on faith there. All members need to post at least one clue or let others know. I know you can listen back on podcasts but don't really have the time for that myself.
                                                                                                      Theres a public thread on boards where you can just get the answer every day

A lad I know got 10k out of that the other day. Obv involves no skill if he won it.

If one or all of the big car manufacturers decided to put all of their future into autonomous vehicles I still think it would take 40-50 years to happen in the way that the article suggests.
                                                                                                          I think we will see improvements in cars that auto-drive in certain situations, moving to almost 100% self drive (with a driver behind the wheel), this will take 20-30 years alone.
                                                                                                          You are wrong by an order of magnitudes. The technology is already present, google have already proved the concept, and there are such huge incentives involved (financial and moral) that is a question of years rather than decades away. Consider how much a trucking company will save when they can reduce or eliminate labor from the equation.

The analogy with hybrid vehicles falls flat because of the differing nature of the incentives involved. Nobody makes any money saving the environment.

Cause the fai behaved In the same pathetic manner as the fans who went to protest outside the French embassy?

Easier to pay them off with chump change than go through a lengthy process which will lead to nothing in any event and more than likely cost just as much

At least the fans and FAI didn't cheat like those cheese eating surrender monkeys.

Cause the fai behaved In the same pathetic manner as the fans who went to protest outside the French embassy?

Easier to pay them off with chump change than go through a lengthy process which will lead to nothing in any event and more than likely cost just as much
                                                                                                                5 millie was a good deal when nothing was going to come of it...

You can't call 5 million Euros chump change, it would be a substantial portion of the FAIs turnover

Yeah I'd say it just about covered delaneys wages and expenses since

FIFA claim it was a loan to help with the stadium.

This stuff can't get any stupider but will. Wait til Warners antics are outed.

Meant chump change for fifa obviously.

Delaney is being ripped to shreds all over the internet. Hopefully he gets caught for something since daylight robbery seems perfectly fine.

Delaney's salary is almost €100,000 more than the combined salaries of his Spanish and Italian counterparts. His Yearly Salary €360,000. League of Ireland Champions Dundalk got €100,000 last season.
                                                                                                                          Last edited by CHDad; 04-06-15, 19:31.